Skip to main content

Full text of "History of western Maryland : being a history of Frederick, Montgomery, Carroll, Washington, Allegany, and Garrett counties from the earliest period to the present day ; including biographical sketches of their representative men"

See other formats


ICtbrarg 
Imtiprattg of Pittaburglj 

Darlington Memorial Library 

OIlaHB. .c^IF....ll..S>.l. 

SBDk - ^h\ 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2010 with funding from 

University of Pittsburgh Library System 



http://www.archive.org/details/historyofwestern02scha 



HISTORY 

WESTERN lAIARYLAND 



I 



BKING A HISTORY OF 



lULL^ nnuliiumiuii^ 



COUNTIES 

FROM THE EARLIEST PERIOD TO THE PRESENT DAY; 



INCLUDIXtJ 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES 

OF THUIR 

REPRESENTATIVE M E ?| 

BY :'''\ 

J.THOMAS 8CHARF, A.M./"''- -^^-^ •;■■*•; 

ITHOn OF "CHROMICI.KS OP BALTIMORE," " HISTORV OF BALTIWOUK CITV AND COUNTY," "HISTORY OF MARYLAND;" MF.MBF.R'uF *rH 
MARYLAND HISTORICAL SOCIETY AND ACADEMY OP SCIENCES; MEMBER OF THE HISTORICAL SOCIETY OP PENNSYLVAIfRV,* • 
HONORARY MEMBER OF THE GEORGIA HISTORICAL SOCIETY; CORRESPONDING MEMBER OP THE HISTORICAL SOCIETIES' ••• • 
OF NE\V YORK, WISCONSIN, MINNESOTA, SOUTH CAROLINA, AND VIRGINIA; OP THE HISTORICAL AND PHILO- 
SOPHICAL SOCIETY OF OHIO; OF THE NEIY ENGLAND HISTORIC-GENEALOGICAL SOCIETY, ETC., ETC. ..•■• 



IN TWO VOLUMES, ILLUSTRATED. 



•VOIj. TI. 



I'll I LA DE LPH I A: 

I.OUIS H. EVERTS. 

1882. 






PRESS OF 

.1. 1!. LIPPINOOTT & CO., 

PHILADELPHIA. 






•> 



53^ 



Copvriglit, 1882, by Lours H. Everts. 



CONTENTS OF VOLUME II. 



CHAPTER XXXVIII. 

PAGE 

Carroll County : Introductory — First Settlers — Land 
Grants — Erection of County — Bench and Bar— Dis- 
tinguished Men — County Officers — School Statistics 789 

CHAPTER XXXIX. 
Taneytown District, No. 1 830 

CHAPTER XL. 
Washington County : General Character — Agriculture — 
Education — Finances — County Created — Soils and Cli- 
mate — Land Grants and Surveys — Indian Antiquities. 973 

CHAPTER XLL 
Public Officials 987 

CHAPTER XLIL 
Roads — Bridges — Turnpikes — Stage-Coaohes — Mails — 
Railroads "S-* 

CHAPTER XLIIL 
Representative Men and Families of Washington County 1011 

CHAPTER XL IV. 
Hagerstown — The First Settler, Jonathan Hager — 
Cresap's Fort — Incorporation of the Town — The First 
Officers — Reminiscences — Prominent Events 1057 

CHAPTER XLV. 
Religious Denominations 10^6 

CHAPTER XLVL 
Bench and Bar of Washington County — The Court-House 
— Early Trials and Executions — Jails — Early Court 
Notes — Distinguished Judges and Lawyers 1105 

CHAPTER XLVII. 
Medicine and Physicians 1132 

CHAPTER XLVII I. 
The Press of Hagerstown 1141 

CHAPTER XLIX. 
Schools and Libraries 1153 

CHAPTER L. 
Public Institutions of Hagerstown : Marliet-House — 
Almshouse — Water- Works — Telegraph — Street-light- 
ing — Street-paving 1161 



CHAPTER LL 

PAOE 

Trade and Industries of Hagerstown, and Financial In- 
stitutions 1170 

CHAPTER LI I. 
Miscellaneous Societies and Events 1183 

CHAPTER LIII. 
Sharpsburg District 1202 

CHAPTER LIV. 

Allegany County : Introductory — Topography — Geology 
— Coal Basin and Iron Ores — Clays — Names of Moun- 
tains — Manufactures of Cumberland 1311 

CHAPTER LV. 

Early Settlements and Education— First Settlers — County 
Officers and Public Buildings— Early Courts and Offi- 
cials — Executions — Political Statistics 1342 

CHAPTER LVI. 

Religious Denominations — Charitable and Benevolent 
Associations — Secret Orders and Societies 1410 

CHAPTER LVII. 

Railroads — Leading Industries — Coal Companies — Banks 
and Financial Institutions — Prominent Citiiens — Ne- 
crology 1*^® 

CHAPTER LVII I. 
Allegany County Districts— Orleans District 1457 

CHAPTER LIX. 
Garrett County and Districts l^H 

Appendix: 

Executive Officers 1^47 

Barons of Baltimore 1^47 

Governors of Maryland 1^47 

Senators from Maryland 1^48 

Members of Constitutional Conventions 1548 

Maryland Judiciary 1^^2 

Population of Maryland 1^52 

" " " by Counties 1553 

" '' Baltimore 1554 

Index 1*^* 



CONTENTS. 



ILIjTJSTI^J^TIOlsrS I3Sr "^OXjTJIMIE II. 



PAGE 

Allegany County Court-House 1361 

Alvey, Richard A 1121 

Anders, C. B., Residence and Mills facing 900 

Bellevue Asylum 1163 

Biggs, Augustin A 1217 

Brace, Charles H 1407 

Brace, William between 1402, 1403 

Braddock's Grave 1473 

Browu, Frank facing 874 

Brown, George W 1239 

Brown, Thomas C facing 870 

City Hall and Academy of Music. Cumberland 1376 

Combs, H. Wheeler 1542 

Confederate Monument 1102 

Crawford, Francis J facing 896 

Cushwa, William 1246 

Cunningham, S. S facing 1233 

Deer Park Hotel •' 1443 

Dorscy, Frederick 1134 

Doyle, F. C 1245 

Elliott, Commodore Jesse D 1029 

Embrey, Theodore facing 1225 

Farrow, J. H " 1227 

Federal Monument 1216 

Fort Cumberland in 1755 facing 1324 

Fountain Inn, Baltimore 1000 

Garrett, John W facing 1515 

Gist, Gen. Mordecai 920 

Gist, Mordecai 922 

Greene, A. C facing 1444 

Grimes, Wm. H " 1286 

Hagerstown Seminary " 1159 

Hamilton, William T " 1117 

Hayden, William N 956 

Hints, William M 877 

Hood, J. M facing 1007 

Humrichouse, C. W " 1237 

Humrichouse Building " 1175 

Hamill, P 1521 

Keller, Bayard T 1538 

Lefever, Samuel facing 1231 

Longwell, J. K " 953 

Lowndes, Lloyd " 1448 

Manro, George W 876 

Map of Coal Basin facing 1446 

Map of Hagerstown " 1059 

Mayer, Charles F " 1443 

McKaig, Thomas J " 1398 

Moore, Joseph " 967 

Negley, Peter " 1145 

Newcomer, B. F " 1038 

New Windsor College " 910 

Nicodemus, John " 1260 



PAGE 

Oakland Hotel facing 1539 

Ohr, C. H 1404 

Old Fort Frederick 1298 

Parke, Joseph M 944 

Paul, Thomas H facing 1488 

Peddicord. T. J 1539 

Penrose, E. G facing 964 

Piper, W. J 1468 

Porter, G. Ellis facing 1504 

Porter, J. M 1478 

Potomac River and Canal at Williamsport 1221 

Queen City Hotel facing 1340 

Rentch, Andrew " 1308 

Rhind, John 1395 

Rinehart, Samuel 1257 

Ringgold, Maj. Samuel 1024 

Roberts, Charles B facing 817 

Robinson, William 1340 

Rogers, Commodore John 1091 

Roop, Samuel, residence of. facing 962 

Ryan, John 1505 

Sohindel, D. M 1406 

Schley, George 1128 

Schley, Frederick A 1112 

Schley, James M 1402 

Shafer, Robert J facing 1267 

Sharpe, Governor Horatio " 1204 

Shaw. A. B 1467 

Slingluff, L. P 905 

Smith, Samuel P between 1402, 1403 

Stonebraker, D. H 1310 

Stonebraker, J. W facing 1179 

Stonebreaker, Samuel A " 1310 

Stonebraker, Samuel " 1203 

Strawbridge's Log Meeting-House 903 

Swartz,JohnD facing 1182 

Syester, A. K " 1124 

Tice, Henry K " 1160 

Towson, Gen. Nathan 1029 

Turner, Benjamin L 1461 

TJpdegratf, William facing 1176 

Walsh, William " 1396 

Ward, J.T " 933 

Ward, William 1475 

Watson, Col. William H 1332 

Welfley, D. P 1405 

Welty, John facing 1275 

Whitson, Moses 1294 

Williams, Gen. O.H 1232 

Williams, J. M 1510 

Witmer, P. A 1151 

Zeller, Henry facing 1238 



HISTORY 

OF 

WESTEEN MAKYLAND. 



CARROLL COUNTY. 

CHAPTER XXXVIII. 

INTRODUCTORY. 

First Settlers — Land Grants — Erection of Carroll County — 
Elections — Bench and Bar — Distinguished Men — County 
Ofiicers — School Statistics. 

The territory embraced within the limits of Car- 
roll County was settled at an early period in the his- 
tory of Maryland. The first settlers were Scotch-Irish, 
Germans, and the descendants of the English from 
Southern Maryland. The Indians, before the advent 
of the whites, had retired across the South Mountain 
into the Cumberland Valley. A remnant of the " Sus- 
quehannocks,'" numbering between sixty and seventy, 
lived within less than a mile of Manchester (then a part 
of Baltimore County) until 1750 or 1751, and were 
probably the last aborigines residing in the county. 
About that period, without any stir or apparent prep- 
aration, with the exception of two, they all disappeared 
in a single night. The exceptions were a chief named 
Macanappy and his wife, both old and infirm, and 
they survived the departure of their race but a few 
days. The similarity of names has given rise to the 
impression that this tribe found its way to Florida, 
and that Miconopy, the celebrated chief, who after- 
wards gave the United States so much trouble, was 
one of the descendants of the old Indian left to die 
near Manchester. In the Land Office at Annapolis 
patents are recorded for land grants in this portion of 
the State as early as 1727. In that year " Park 
Hall," a tract of land containing two thousand six 
hundred and eighty acres, was surveyed for James 
Carroll. This land .was then situated in Prince 
George's County, between New Windsor and Sam's 
Creek. In 1729 " Kilfadda" was irranted to John 



Tredane, and subsequently sold to Allan Farquhar. 
It now embraces a part of the town of Union Bridge 
and the farm of E. J. Penrose. " Brierwood" was 
surveyed for Dr. Charles Carroll in 1731. " White's 
Level," on which the original town of Westminster 
was built, was granted to John White in 1733. 
" Fanny's Meadow," embracing the " West End" of 
the present town of Westminster, was granted to 
James Walls in 1741. "Fell's Retirement," lying 
on Pipe Creek, and containing 475 acres, was granted 
to Edward Fell in 1742. " Arnold's Chance," 600 
acres, was granted to Arnold Levers in 1743. 
" Brown's Delight," 350 acres, situated on Cobb's 
Branch, near Westminster, was granted to George 
Brown in 1743. " Neighborly Kindness," 100 acres, 
to Charles Carroll in 1743. " Cornwell," 666 acres, 
on Little Pipe Creek was patented in 1749, and after- 
wards purchased by Joseph Haines and his brother. 
"Terra Rubra" was patented to Philip Key in 1752, 
for 1865 acres; "Ross' Range" to John Ross in 
1752, for 3400 acres; " Spring Garden," on part of 
which Hempstead is built, to Dunstan Dane in 1748; 
" Brothers' Agreement," near Taneytown, to Edward 
Diggs and Raphael Taney in 1754, for 7900 acres; 
" Foster's Hunting Ground" to John Foster, 1439 
acres ; " German Church" to Jacob Schilling and 
others in 1758, for a German Reformed and Lutheran 
church at Manchester; "Five Daughters" to Car- 
roll's daughter, 1759, for 1500 acres; "New Mar- 
ket,'' on which Manchester is built, to Richard 
Richards in 1754 ; " Rattlesnake Ridge" to Edward 
Richards in 1738; " Caledonia" to William Lux and 
others in 1764, for 11,638 acres; " Bond's Meadow" 
to John Ridgely in 1753, for 1915 acres (Westmin- 
ster is partly situated on this tract) ; " Brother's In- 
heritance" to Michael Swope in 1761, for 3124 acres ; 
" Ohio," north of Union Mills, to Samuel Owings 
in 1763, for 9250 acres ; " New Bedford," near Mid- 
dlebury, to Daniel McKenzie and John Logsden in 



790 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



1762, for 5301 acres; " Gilboa" to Thomas Rutland, 
1762, for 2772 acres ; " Runnynieade," between 
UnioDtown and Taneytown, to Francis Key and Upton 
Scott in 1767, for 3677 acres; " Hale's Venture" to 
Nicholas Hale in 1770, for 2886 acres; "Windsor 
Forest" to John Dorsey in 1772, for 2886 acres; 
" Rochester" to Charles Carroll of Carrollton in 1773, 
for 4706 acres ; and " Lookabout," near Roop's mill, 
to Leigh Master in 1774, for 1443 acres. 

Amons; the earliest settlers in this section of Mary- 
land was William Farquhar, whose enerfry, thrift, and 
wisdom aided materially in the development of the 
country. His ancestors emigrated from Scotland to 
Ireland, where he was born July 29, 1705. When 
sixteen years of age he left Ireland with his father, 
Allen Farquhar, and settled in Pennsylvania. Allen 
Farquhar, as was mentioned above, acquired from 
John Tredane a large tract of land on Little Pipe 
Creek ; but there is no evidence that he actually re- 
sided there. In 1735 he conveyed this tract, known 
as " Kilfadda," to his son William, one of the condi- 
tions of the gift being that he should remove from 
Pennsylvania to " ye" province of Maryland. In 
compliance with the terms of the deed, William Far- 
quhar, with his wife Add, came to Maryland and en- 
tered into possession of his estate. The country wa.s 
then a wilderness and destitute of roads, except such 
paths as were made by wild beasts and Indians, and no 
little intrepidity was required for such a journey, 
clogged with a helpless family. Farquhar had learned 
the trade of a tailor, and by his skill and industry in 
making buckskin breeches, the garments then most 
in vogue, he prospered. He invested his savings in 
land, and in 1768 he was the possessor of two thou- 
sand acres, in which was included ail the ground upon 
which the present town of Union Bridge is built. 
He was a counselor and peace-maker, and it is related 
of him that upon one occasion he rode home in the 
evening and found his house surrounded with emi- 
grant-wagons belonging to settlers who had been 
driven from their homes by the Indians and had fled 
to him for protection. They had their stock and 
movable property with them, and were afraid to go 
back to their lands. Farquhar visited the Indians 
and soon pacified them, and the settlers returned to 
their homes and were never afterwards molested. 
Between the years 1730 and 1740 great advances 
were made in the settlement of what is now known 
as Carroll County. " The Marsh Creek settlement," 
in the western section of York County, Pa., in- 
cluding the region around Gettysburg, composed 
almost exclusively of Scotch-Irish, furnished a num- 
ber of industrious and enterprising immigrants, and 



Hanover and Conewago, in the same county, settled 
entirely by Germans, provided a large contingent. 
The latter located principally in the Manchester and 
Myers Districts, where many of their descendants now 
live. 

Many were attracted thither also from St. Mary's, 
Prince George's, Anne Arundel, and Baltimore Coun- 
ties, on the Western Shore of Maryland. The dispute 
concerning the boundary line between the provinces of 
Pennsylvania and Maryland was a fruitful source of 
trouble to those who possessed interests in the de- 
batable ground. A strip of land six or eight miles 
wide was claimed both by the province of Pennsylvania 
and the proprietary of Maryland. John Digges ob- 
tained a Maryland grant of six thousand eight hun- 
dred acres in the vicinity of Hanover, and Charles 
Carroll procured a similar grant in the neighborhood 
of Fairfield or Millerstown, and the latter now goes 
by the name of the Carroll Tract. Hanover, at that 
time known as McAllisterstown, or Kallisterstown, 
was within the disputed territory, and became a 
refuge for disorderly characters, and hence was called 
" Rogues' Harbor." 

This vexatious boundary question, which had agi- 
tated the two colonies since the arrival of William 
Penn in America in 1682, was decided, as we have 
shown elsewhere, in favor of the province of Penn- 
sylvania in 1709 by Mason and Dixon, two sur- 
veyors sent out from London for that purpose, and 
Mason and Dixon's line has ever since remained 
the unquestioned boundary between the two com- 
monwealths. The dispute having reached a definite 
conclusion, an impetus was given to development. 
Settlers multiplied, the country was cleared up, and 
convenient farm-buildings were erected. The inhab- 
itants soon learned to appreciate the fine water-powers 
so abundant in this portion of Maryland, and in 1760 
David Sliriver, the grandfather of the older members 
of the family of that name now living in Western 
Maryland, purchased a tract of land on Little Pipe 
Creek and erected a mill and tannery. Mr. Shriver 
was a prominent and useful citizen. He represented 
Frederick County in the convention called in 1776 to 
frame a constitution for the State of Maryland, and 
for a number of years he was the representative of 
that county in the Senate and House of Delegates. 
In May, 1765, a bateau loaded with iron was success- 
fully navigated from the Hampton furnace on Pipe 
Creek to the mouth of the Monocacy River, in Freder- 
ick County. There is no record of the establishment 
of this furnace, but that it must have been in operation 
for some time prior to the date given above is evident 
from the advertisement which appeared May 28, 1767, 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



791 



in which Benedict Calvert, Edward Digges, Normand 
Bruce, William Digges, Jr., and James Canady offer 
for sale the " Hampton Furnace, in Frederick County, 
together with upwards of three thousand acres of land. 
The furnace (with casting-bellows) and bridge-houses 
were built of stone, also grist-mill and two stores, the 
whole situated on a branch of Monocacy River." 

The entire stock of negroes, servants, horses, 
wagons, and implements belonging to the works were 
offered for sale. There was on hand at the time coal 
for six months, fourteen hundred cords of wood, five 
hundred tons of ore at the side of the furnace and 
four hundred tons raised at the banks. The adver- 
tisement concludes with the announcement that 
Normand Bruce lived near the works. 

Solomon Shepherd, grandfather of Thomas, Solo- 
mon, and James F. Shepherd, married Susanna Far- 
quhar, the youngest child of William Farquhar, Oct. 
27, 1779, and settled on a portion of the Farquhar 
estate, about three-quarters of a mile east of Union 
Bridge. Mr. Shepherd was a wool-comber and fuller, 
and established a fulling-mill where the factory now 
stands. For some time after the construction of his 
mill he was without a house of his own, and boarded 
with his father-in-law, at some distance down Pipe's 
Creek ; and it is related of him that in walking back 
and forth along the banks of the stream from the 
mill to the house at night he was wont to burn the 
ends of a bunch of hickory sticks before he would 
set out on his hazardous journey, and when the wolves 
(which were savage and ravenous) approached too near 
he would whirl his firebrand about him to drive them 
away. He afterwards moved into a log house, which 
is still standing, and in 1790 built the brick house in 
which Shepherd Wood now resides. Tiie latter was 
at that time considered a palatial extravagance, and 
the neighbors dubbed it " Solomon's Folly." In 1810 
he built the present factory, and put in carding and 
spinning-machines and looms for the manufacture of 
cloths, blankets, and other fabrics. In 1815 he pur- 
chased land of Peter Benedune, and removed to the 
place now owned and occupied by E. G. Penrose, where 
he lived until his death in 188-1:. 

In 1783, David Rhinehart and Martin Wolfe 
walked from Lancaster County, Pa., to Sam's Creek, 
where they purchased a tract of land and soon after- 
wards settled on it. Wolfe was the grandfather of 
Joseph, Samuel, and Daniel Wolfe. He was some- 
what eccentric after a very unusual fashion, and is 
said to have been unwilling to dispose of property for 
a price which he believed to exceed its real value. 
David Rhinehart was the grandfather of David, 
Daniel, William H., E. Thomas, J. C, and E. F. 



Rhinehart. William H. Rhinehart, the great Amer- 
ican sculptor, received his first le.s8ons on the farm 
now owned and occupied by Daniel Rhinehart, twelve 
miles southeast of Union Bridge. 

Joel Wright, of Pennsylvania, married Elizabeth 
Farquhar, daughter of William Farquhar, and settled 
on a part of the land acquired by his father-in-law. 
He was a surveyor and school-teacher, and superin- 
tended a school under the care of Pipe Creek Monthly 
Meeting, at that time one of the best educational in- 
stitutions in the State. His pupils came from all 
parts of the surrounding country, and many were sent 
to him from Frederick City and its vicinity. It was 
common in those days for ladies to make long jour- 
neys on horseback to attend religious meetings or to 
visit friends. Mrs. Wright traveled in this way to 
Brownsville, then called " Red Stone," in Pennsyl- 
vania, to attend meeting and to visit her relatives. 
She brought back with her, on her return, two small 
sugar-trees and planted them, and from these have 
sprung tlie many beautiful shade-trees of that species 
which adorn the vicinity of Union Bridge. 

Francis Scott Key, whose name the " Star-Spangled 
Banner" has made immortal, was born at Terra 
Rubra, near the Monocacy, in what is now the Mid- 
dleburg District of Carroll County, Aug. 9, 1780. 
In his day he was well known as an able lawyer and 
Christian gentleman, but with the lapse of time his 
reputation as a poet has overshadowed his n)any other 
excellent qualities. 

Col. Joshua Gist was an early settler in the sec- 
tion of Maryland now embraced within the limits of 
Carroll County. He was an active partisan in the 
Revolutionary war, and during the administration of 
President John Adams, near the close of the last cen- 
tury, was marked in his disapproval of the riotous and 
insurrectionary proceedings of those opposed to the 
excise duty laid upon stills. The disturbance, known 
in history as the " Whisky Insurrection," became so 
formidable, especially in Western Pennsylvania, that 
Mr. Adams appointed Gen. Washington commander 
of the forces raised to suppress it. The excitement 
extended to this region, and the Whisky Boys in a 
band marched into Westminster and .set up a liberty- 
pole. The inhabitants of the town becoming alarmed 
sent out for Col. Gist, who then commanded a militia 
regiment. The colonel, a very courageous man, 
mounted his horse, rode into town, drew his sword, 
and ordered the pole to be cut down, which was at 
once done, and placing his foot on it, he thus re- 
mained until it was hewn in pieces. The Boys, con- 
cluding discretion to be the better part of valor, stole 
out of.town, and the incipient revolution was stayed 



792 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



by the coolness and judgment of a single individual. 
In 1748, Frederick County was created by the Colo- 
nial Legislature, and that portion of the present 
county of Carroll which had previously belonged to 
Prince George's was embraced within its limits, as 
was almost the whole of Western Maryland. Col. 
Gist and Henry Warfield were elected to the House 
of Delegates of Maryland towards the close of the 
eighteenth century, for the express purpose of secur- 
ing a division of the county into election districts 
for the convenience of the inhabitants, who were at 
that time compelled to cross the Monocacy and go all 
the way to Frederick City to vote. 

Joseph Elgar, in the latter part of the last century, 
established a factory at Union Bridge for the manu- 
facture of wrought nails, — that is, the nails were so 
designated, but in reality they were cut from the 
bar of iron, lengthwise with the fibre of the bar, 
which gave them ductility and clinching qualities 
equivalent to wrought nails. Elgar subsequently re- 
moved to Washington and entered the service of the 
United States, where his genius was duly appreciated. 
About the year 1809, Jacob R. Thomas, a neighbor 
of Elgar, conceived the idea that the very hard' labor 
of cutting grain in the harvest-field could be done by 
machinery driven by horse-power. Prior to this time, 
and for some years afterwards, the old system of 
cradling grain was the only process generally known 
for harvesting, and the reaping-machine may be truth- 
fully said to have been invented by him. Thomas 
worked at his machine with great assiduity, and added 
to it an automatic attachment to gather the cut grain 
into sheaves, it being substantially the self-raker of 
the present day. During the harvest in the summer 
of 1811 his machine was so far perfected as to admit 
of a trial. It had not been furnished with a tongue 
and other appurtenances for attaching horses, and was 
therefore pushed into the harvest-field and over the 
grain by a sufficient number of men. Thomas Shep- 
herd, recently deceased, and William Shepherd, his 
brother, and father of Thomas F. Shepherd and Sol- 
omon Shepherd, and Rudolph Stern, father of Reuben 
W. Stern, of Westminster, were three of the men 
who aided in the trial, and their testimony is unani- 
mous that it cut the grain well and perfectly, but that 
its delivery was defective and did not make a good 
sheaf. There is no evidence on record as to the man- 
ner in which the gathering attachment was con- 
structed, whether it was like or unlike any of the 
automatic rakes of the present day, but the cutting 
apparatus was the same in principle as those now in 
use on the best reapers, mowing in the same shears- 
like manner, which has been universally approved 



and adopted as the best method of cutting grain, 
and diifering only in the manner of attaching the 
knives to the sickle-bar. In modern machines the 
knives are short and broad and riveted fast to the 
sickle-bar, while in Thomas' machine the knives were 
longer and pivoted in the middle, and attached to 
the sickle-bar by a pivot at the rear end. Thomas 
was extremely sensitive, and unable to bear"up against 
and overcome the incredulity and ridicule consequent 
upon the partial failure of the machine, and it was 
never finished by him. He afterwards built a factory 
for the manufacture of flax into linen, but it did not 
prove remunerative. He subsequently removed to 
Baltimore, where he kept the Globe Inn, on Market 
Street, and theu to Frederick City, where he kept the 
City Hotel, and afterwards to Point of Rocks, on the 
Potomac River, where at the time of his death he 
was engaged in the consti'uction of a steam canal- 
boat invented by himself. Obed Hussey, the pio- 
neer in the manufacture of practical reaping-machines, 
was a cousin of Jacob R. Thomas. They were inti- 
mately acquainted, and Hussey afterwards perfected 
Thomas' invention, and from that McCormick's, and 
all others cutting on the same principle, were framed. 
The pathetic story of Jacob R. Thomas is the same 
so often repeated in the lives of inventors and dis- 
coverers. The spark of genius went out amid the 
vapors of poverty, while his quick-witted imitators 
reaped the golden showers which should have been 
poured into his own lap. The region of country 
afterwards known as Carroll County now grew apace. 
The lands were cleared of their dense forests, the 
magnificent water-courses were utilized for mills and 
manufactures, towns sprang into existence, and the 
inhabitants, following the motto of the commonwealth, 
increased and multiplied. Taneytown, Westminster, 
Manchester, Hampstead, Union Bridge, Middleburg, 
and New Windsor became prosperous villages. At 
the close of the last war between Great Britain and 
the United States agricultural products commanded 
excellent prices. Wheat-flour was sold in the Balti- 
more markets for fourteen dollars per barrel, and other 
commodities realized proportionate prices. The value 
of land had greatly appreciated. In April, 1814, 
Peter Benedune sold out all his land in the vicinity 
of Union Bridge at prices ranging from one hundred 
to one hundred and twenty dollars per acre, and re- 
moved to the Valley of Virginia. About this time 
also the spirit of progress was abroad. The West- 
minster Fire-Engine and Church Lottery was drawn 
in Frederick City, July 10, 1813. A bank was 
established in Westminster, and it is learned from the 
newspapers of the day that the old martial spirit, 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



793 



fanned into a flame during the Revolution, and re- 
kindled in 1812 by the invasion of the British, was 
still active and vigorous. Under date of Oct. 13, 
1821, the Frederick Herald says, " At a meeting of 
the Columbian Independent Company, commanded by 
Capt. Nicholas Snider, of Taneytown, and the Inde- 
pendent Pipe Creek Company, commanded by Capt. 
Thomas Hook, at Middleburg, in Frederick County, 
. . . information of the death of Gen. John Ross 
Key was received." 

The people were virtuous and God-fearing. The 
corner-stone of the German Reformed and English 
Presbyterian church was laid in Taneytown, Sept. 5, 
1821. It was about this date also that the inhabit- 
ants awakened to a sense of the value of regular 
postal communication, and a postal service on horse- 
back was established from Frederick City to West- 
minster via Union Bridge and back once a week. The 
people were gradually becoming sensible of the over- 
grown bulk and unmanageable interests of the im- 
mense counties of Frederick and Baltimore, and the 
leading men residing in either county in the vicinity 
of Westminster began to take an active interest in 
polities. Joshua Cockey became a prominent poli- 
tician in this end of Frederick County, and repre- 
sented his constituents in the Senate and House of 
Delegates. Isaac Shriver also represented the county 
several times. William P. Farquhar and John 
Fisher were also members of the House of Delegates. 
Peter Little and Elias Brown, of Freedom District, 
represented the Baltimore District in Congress be- 
tween the years 1818 and 1828. In 1832 the feel- 
ing, which had been gaining strength for years, that 
a new county was absolutely needed for the con- 
venience and prosperity of those dwelling in the east- 
ern portion of Frederick and the western portion of 
Baltimore Counties culminated in a memorial to the 
Legislature of Maryland petitioning for a division of 
these counties and the establishment of a new one to 
be called " Westminster." 

When the area and population of Frederick and 
Baltimore Counties are considered it seems extraordi- 
nary that this movement should have been so long 
delayed or that it should have met with such decided 
opposition when inaugurated. The two counties con- 
tained nearly one-filth of the territorial area of the 
State, and, exclusive of the city of Baltimore, they 
possessed a population of upwards of eighty-tive thou- 
sand inhabitants, or very nearly one-fifth of the whole 
number of inhabitants in the State. The bounds of 
the new county, as proposed by the memorialists, were 
as follows : " Beginning at Parr's Spring, at the head 
of the western branch of the Patapsco River, and 



running with said branch, binding on Anne Arundel 
County, to the north branch of said river ; thence 
running up said north branch, excluding the same, to 
the old mill on Dr. Moore Falls' land, including said 
mill ; thence north seventeen degrees east to the 
Pennsylvania line ; thence, binding on said line, west- 
wardly to Rock Creek, one of the head-waters of the 
Monocacy River ; thence with said creek and river, 
excluding the same, to Double Pipe Creek ; thence 
with said creek, and with Little Pipe Creek and 
Sam's Creek, including their waters, to Maurois' mill, 
excluding said mill, and thence with a straight line to 
Parr's Spring, the beginning." 

It was estimated that the new county would contain 
about twenty-five thousand inhabitants. The town of 
Westminster, beautifully situated in the valley between 
the head-waters of Little Pipe Creek and those of the 
north branch of the Patapsco, on the road leading from 
Baltimore to Pittsburgh, generally known as the Reis- 
terstown turnpike road, and containing a population 
of seven hundred souls, was to be the county-seat. 
The people in some of the districts were now thor- 
oughly aroused. Complaints were frequent and vehe- 
ment of the distance to be traversed to reach the seats 
of justice in Baltimore and Frederick Counties re- 
spectively, and the difficulties and delays encountered 
because of the overcrowded dockets of the courts. 
The Star of Federalism, a newspaper, was established 
at Uniontown, and at different periods three papers 
were published at Westminster by George Keating, 
Mr. Burke, and George W. Sharpe, all strenuously 
advocating a division. The latter afterwards removed 
to Frederick and established the Frederick Citizen. 
The support of these papers was small, and they were 
soon discontinued. Although the sentiment in favor 
of a division was general, the people were very much 
divided in opinion as to how it should be done. Some 
favored a division of Frederick County alone, some 
were in favor of separating Baltimore County from 
the city and locating the seat of justice at a central 
point, while the inhabitants of Westminster and its 
vicinity, which was on the dividing line between the 
two counties, were anxious to take a portion of each 
of those counties and form a new one with Westmin- 
ster as the county-seat. The memorial mentioned 
above was presented to the Legislature of Maryland 
in 1833, and referred to a committee of which William 
Cost Johnson, of Frederick, was chairman. Mr. John- 
son was a man of great ability and popularity. He 
introduced a bill into the Legislature which created a 
county with the metes and bounds prayed for by the 
memorialists, and it was mainly through his eflForts 
that it passed both houses. It had been the original 



794 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



intention of the petitioners to give the name of West- 
minster to tlie new county, but the bill as passed 
named it " Carroll," in honor of Charles Carroll of 
Carrollton, then recently deceased, a man who in char- 
acter, ability, patriotism, and usefulness has never been 
surpassed in Maryland. 

The act of Assembly was clogged with a provision 
requiring its submission to the vote of the people who 
lived in the sections of the two counties proposed to 
be cut off, and further exacting a majority of the 
voters in its favor in each segment. The vote was to 
be taken viva voce, at the October election in 1833. 
The people were now fully alive to the importance of 
the question, and the issue was fairly joined. Col. 
John K. Longwell established the Carrolltonian at 
Westminster, June 28, 1833, a journal whose aim was 
to advocate the division and educate the people up to 
a full knowledge of the advantages likely to accrue 
from the creation of the new county. The paper was 
conducted with marked ability and zeal, and the divi- 
sion, which occurred four years later, was measurably 
due to its unflagging energy and fidelity. As the fall 
election approached public meetings were held in the 
districts interested and the merits of the proposed 
division very thoroughly discussed. A very large 
meeting was held at Westminster and an able address 
issued, which was published in pamphlet form in the 
English and German languages and very freely cir- 
culated in the counties. A committee composed of 
the following-named gentlemen was appointed to fur- 
ther the object of the meeting : C. Birnie, Sr., William 
Murray, Edward Dorsey, Joshua C. Gist, Thomas 
Hook, John McKaleb, Archibald Dorsey, William 
Sheppard, Mordecai G. Cockey, John McKellip, Jo- 
seph Steele, John Baumgartner, Nicholas Algire, 
William Shaw, of H., George Richards, William 
Roberts, Frederick Ritter, Samuel Gait, Nicholas 
Kelley, James C. Atlee, Washington Van Bibber, 
Evan L. Crawford, Peter Hull, Philip G. Jones, Peter 
Erb, Jacob Shriver, William Brown, Evan McKinstry, 
Basil D. Stevenson, Philip Englar, Abraham Bixler, 
Jacob Landes, William Caples, David Kephart, Sr., 
Joshua Sellman, William B. Hebbard, John Male- 
horn, J. Henry Hoppe, Michael Miller, John Swope, 
George Warfield, William Jordan, George Crabbs, 
Sebastian Sultzer, John C. Kelley, David Foutz, Jesse 
Slingluff, Nathan Gorsuch, Joseph Keifer, Abraham 
Null, Jesse L. Warfield, George Cassell. 

It would seem that with such an array of citizens 
of worth and excellence in its favor there should have 
been no difficulty in securing the passage of the bill, but 
a strong opposition was developed in the districts which 
belonged to Baltimore County. Their attachment to 



the county clouded their judgments, and they refused 

I to listen to reason or to consult their own interests. 

The campaign in behalf of the new county was one of 

the most memorable and exciting that had ever taken 

place in Western Maryland, and after a canvass which 

embraced every nook and corner of the districts in 

Frederick and Baltimore Counties to be segregated 

the election took place, and the new county failed to 

receive a majority of the votes in the Baltimore 

t County segment, and the division was consequently 

I defeated, as the following vote by districts will show : 

FREDERICK COUNTY. 

Districts. For. Against 

WestmiDstei- 610 1.39 

Timejtown .398 187 

Liberty 4 101 

New Market 22 

1012 449 

BALTIMORE COUNTY. 

Districts, For. Against. 

Dug Hill 150 304 

I Freedom 141 20.S 

Woolery's 250 53 

Wise's U 

Reisterstown 13 17 

554 593 

The election was a severe blow to the friends of the 
new county. They had not anticipated defeat : indeed, 
they thought that the measure would be approved by 
a large majority of the voters. They did not make 
sufficient allowance for county attachments and the 
influence of tradition, nor did they properly esti- 
mate the jealousy of other villages and the prej- 
udice and fear of increased taxation, but they were 
not dismayed by the disaster. They now knew both 
their weakness and strength, and they went manfully 
to work to retrieve their mistakes. More meetings 
were called, the people were reasoned with, and a 
public sentiment created in favor of the measure in 
places where the stoutest opposition had been developed. 
In 1835 the Whigs nominated Dr. William Willis 
as a member of the House of Delegates from Frederick 
County, and the Democrats nominated Isaac Shriver. 
They were both elected, many of the friends of the 
new county voting for them. Willis and Shriver, 
with their colleagues, Robert Annan and Daniel Du- 
vall, originated and boldly pressed another bill on the 
attention of the Legislature. By this act a large por- 
tion of the Liberty District in Frederick County and 
all of the New Market District were excluded from the 
limits of the new county by making the Buffalo road 
the line from Sam's Creek to Parr's Spring, and thus' 
were removed the objections of the people residing in 
those districts, who were almost unanimously opposed 
to separation from the old county. The delegates 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



795 



were supported in their action by a petition containing 
1800 names, and after laboring diligently during the 
whole session they had the satisfaction of procuring 
the passage of the bill by both branches of tlie Legis- 
lature. 

A confirmatory act by the next Legislature was 
necessary before the bill could become a law, and it 
was expected that the measure would have to encoun- 
ter determined opposition, especially from the repre- 
sentatives of Baltimore County, as the project was 
strongly opposed there, and her representatives con- 
sidered themselves under obligations, if possible, to 
defeat it. 

The political campaign of 1836 was one of the 
most exciting and closely-contested struggles that has 
ever taken place in the State, and resulted in im- 
portant changes of the organic law. Senatorial elec- 
tors were to be chosen, two from each county, who 
were to meet in Annapolis and select the Senate, then 
consisting of fifteen members. The Whigs of Fred- 
erick County nominated Evan McKinstry and Gideon 
Bantz, and the Democrats, John Fisher and Casper 
Quynn. A strong party in favor of reform in the 
State Constitution caused the election of Fisher and 
Quynn. Of the whole number of electors the Whigs 
elected twenty-one and the Democrats nineteen. The 
constitution prescribed that twenty-four electors should 
constitute a quorum. The electors met in Annapolis, 
but the nineteen Democrats claimed a majority of the 
senators as Reformers, inasmuch as they represented a 
large majority of the popular vote of the State, and 
declined to enter the electoral college until their 
proposition was granted. The Whigs indignantly re- 
fused to accede to their demand, and the Democrats left 
for their homes in a body, receiving from their friends 
the appellation of the " Glorious Nineteen." 

The withdrawal of the Democrats from Annapolis 
produced a profound sensation in Maryland. By the 
Whigs it was considered revolutionary, and many per- 
sons became alarmed. The Whig friends of the new 
county were afraid that it would cause the rejection 
of their favorite scheme. 

When the Whig and Democratic senatorial electors 
were nominated in Frederick County a ticket was 
named by each party for the House of Delegates. 
The Whig ticket was composed of Jacob Matthias, 
Francis Brengle, Joshua Doub, and George Bowius. 
Isaac Shriver was again placed on the Democratic 
ticket. Francis Thomas, afterwards Governor of 
Maryland, was at that time the leader of the Democ- 
racy in the western portion of the State. The action 
of the Democratic electors, and the feeling in the 
party consequent thereupon, led him to believe that 



the time was ripe for a change in the constitution. 
He therefore advised the withdrawal of the Demo'- 
cratic legislative ticket, and proposed instead the 
selection of delegates to a Constitutional Convention at 
the regular election. This was done, and the Whig 
delegates in Frederick County were elected without 
opposition. In other portions of the State the seces- 
sion of the 'Glorious Nineteen" was not regarded 
with favor, and the reaction in public sentiment gave 
the Whigs a large majority in the House of Delegates, 
a number of counties in which they had been defeated 
at the September elections sending solid Whig delega- 
tions to Annapolis. 

Five of the Democratic senatorial electors consid- 
ered themselves instructed by this decisive manife.'-ta- 
tiou of the will of the people, and agreed to unite with 
the twenty-one Whigs and elect a Senate. William 
Schley, of Frederick, and Elias Brown, of Baltimore 
County, were chosen as two of the fifteen senators. 
The propo.sition to hold a Constitutional Convention 
was abandoned. It was conceded, however, that some 
reform was needed, and accordingly, upon the assem- 
bling of the Legislature, Governor Veazy, in his an- 
nual message, recommended that the election of Gov- 
ernor and senators should be given to the people, and 
that Carroll County be created, so as to diminish the 
size of the largest two counties and give an addition 
of four members to the popular branch of the Legis- 
lature. These measures received the sanction of pub- 
lic approval, the constitution was amended to meet the 
views of the Governor, and the confirmatory act cre- 
ating Carroll County passed the House of Delegates 
by a majority of twenty-eight, and every senator, 
with the exception of Pjlias Brown, cast his vote in 
favor of it. It was signed by the Governor, and be- 
came a law Jan. 19, 1837, so that in all probability 
the course pursued by the " Glorious Nineteen," in- 
I stead of proving adverse to the creation of the new 
; county, had the tendency to bring to its support, as a 
I conciliatory measure, many of the representatives 
I from the smaller counties of the State. This long- 
! deferred victory was hailed with demonstrations of 
I delight by the citizens of Westminster and the sur- 
j rounding country. It was celebrated by a procession, 
with arches, banners, and an illumination, and an 
address was delivered in the Old Union church by 
James Raymond. 

The following is the act of Assembly, passed March 
25, 1836, for the creation of Carroll County: 

" Whereas, a considerable body of the inhabitants of Balti- 
more and Frederick Counties, by their petition to this General 
A ssenibly, have prayed that an act may be passed for a division 
' of said counties, and for erecting a new one out of parts there- 



796 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



of; and whereas, it appears to this General Assembly that the 
erecting of a new county out of such parts of Baltimore and 
Frederick Counties will greatly conduce to the ease and con- 
venience of the people thereof; therefore 

Sec. I . lie it enacted by the General Assembly of Maryland, 
That after the coniirmation of this act such parts of the afore- 
said counties of Baltimore and Fredericlt as are contained 
within the bounds and limits following, to wit : beginning at 
the Pennsylvania line where Rock Creek crosses said line, 
thence with the course of said creek until it merges in the 
Monocacy river, thence with the Monocacy to the jioint where 
Double Pipe Creek empties into Monocacy, thence with the 
course of Pijie Creek to the point of junction of Little Pipe 
Creek and Big Pipe Creek, thence with the course of Little 
Pipe Creek to the point where Sam's Creek empties into Little 
Pipe Creek, thence with Sam's Creek to Warfield's mill, Ihence 
with the road called the Buffalo road, and to a point called 
Parr's Spring, thence with the western branch of the Patapsco 
Falls to the point of its junction with the northern branch of 
the Patapsco Falls, thence with the northern branch of said 
falls to the bridge erected over said falls on the turnpike road 
leading from Reisterstown to Westminster, thence with a straight 
course to the Pennsylvania line, running north seventeen de- 
grees east, thence with the Pennsylvania line to the place of 
beginning, shall be erected into a new county by the name of 
Carroll County, and that the seat of justice thereof be estab- 
lished at Westminster. 

" Sec. 2. And be it enacted, That the inhabitants of Carroll 
County shall have, hold, and enjoy all the immunities, rights, 
and privileges enjoyed by the inhabitants of any other county 
in this State. 

" Sec. a. And be it enacted. That the taxes which shall be 
levied by the commissioners of Baltimore County, prior to the 
confirmation of this act, on such parts of Baltimore County as 
are to constitute a part of Carroll County shall be collected 
and paid to the treasurer of Baltimore Countj', and the same 
be applied precisely as if this act had not passed ; and that 
the taxes which shall be levied by the justices of tlie Levy 
Court of Frederick County, prior to the confirmation of this 
act, on the parts of Frederick County as are to constitute Car- 
roll County shall be applied precisely as if this act had not 



** Sec. 4. And be it enacted, That all causes, processes, and 
pleadings which shall be depending in Frederick County Court 
and Baltimore County Court when this act shall be confirmed 
shall and may be prosecuted as eifeotually in the courts where 
the same be depending as if this act bad not been made. 

"Sec. 5. And be it enacted, Ibal the county of Carroll shall 
be a part of the Third Judicial District of this State, and the 
justices of the s.aid district for the time being shall be the 
judges of the County Court of Carroll County, and the said 
County Court shall be held as may be directed by law, and 
shall have and exercise the same powers and jurisdiction, both 
at law and in equity, as other County Courts of this State. 

" Sec. 6. And be it enacted. That the election districts in 
Carroll County shall be nine in number, and their limits, as 
well as the limits of the election districts in Baltimore and 
Frederick Counties, shall be established after the confirmation 
of this act as shall be directed by law. 

"Sec. 7. And be it enacted. That after the confirmation of 
this act by the next General .Assembly, a writ of election shall 
issue for holding an election in said county for four delegates 
to represent said county in the General Assembly which shall 
then be in session. 

" Sec. 8. And be it enacted, That if this act shall be con- 
firmed by the General Assembly, after the next election of dele- 



gates at the first session after such new election, according to 
the constitution and form of government, that in such case this 
alteration and amendment of the constitution and form of gov- 
ernment shall constitute and be valid as part thereof, and every- 
thing therein contained repugnant to or inconsistent with this 
act be repealed and abolished." 

The county was created, but much remained to be 
done. Carroll was in an embryotic condition. She 
was as lielpless as a newly-born babe. Public build- 
ings were to be erected, courts of justice established, 
officers chosen, and the county must be districted. 
Mr. Matthias, who had labored zealously for the crea- 
tion of the new county, now applied himself to bringing 
order out of chaos. Bills were introduced into the 
Legislature for the working machinery and to set it 
in motion. At that time the register of wills was 
chosen by the Legislature. After a sharp contest be- 
tween a number of candidates, John Baumgartner, of 
Taneytown District, was elected. Acts of Assembly 
were introduced and passed providing for the appoint- 
ment of county commissioners, for the assessment of 
real and personal property, for the meeting of the 
County Court, for the establishment of the Orphans' 
Court, for the opening of public roads, for the pur- 
chase of sites and the erection of public buildings 
thereon, for the election of a sheriff and the appoint- 
ment of subordinate officers, and for the election of 
four delegates to the General Assembly, and at the 
end of the session of 1837 Carroll County was fairly 
on its legs and provided with the necessary legislation 
for the career of prosperity and progress upon which 
it was about to enter. 

The following-named gentlemen were appointed to 
lay ofi' the election districts : Samuel Gait, James C. 
Atlee, Thomas Hook, Samuel W. Myers, Joshua 
Smith, Abraham Wanipler, Daniel Stull, Mordecai 
G. Cockey, Stephen Gorsuch, Joseph Steele, George 
W. Warfield, Frederick Ritter, and William Mcllvain. 
They divided the county into nine districts as follows : 
Taneytown, Uniontowu, Myers', Woolery's, Freedom, 
Manchester, Westminster, and Franklin. Since then 
the districts of Middleburg, New Windsor, and Union 
Bridge have been added. The districts were marked 
out Feb. 15, 1837, and the report of the commission 
was filed with the county clerk June 20, 1837, but not 
recorded until May 18, 1846. In March, 1837, an 
election was held for sheriff, the first that had taken 
place in Carroll County, and as a matter of interest 
the judges and clerks of election are given : 
District No. 1, John Clabaugh, Jacob Correll, John Thomson, 

Jacob Wickert, James McKellijt. 
District No. 2, Moses Shaw, Sr., Israel Norris, David Foutz, 

John Hydcr, Wm. C. Wright. 
District No. 3, Wm. Coghlan, Peter Bankard, David B. Ear- 
hart, John Erb, Jacob H. Kemp. 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



797 



District No. 4, A^^ni. .Jameson, Edw.-iid E. Hall, George Jaoi.bs, 
Will. Jordiin, Win. Stansberry. 

District No. 5, Kobert Hudson, Nicholas Dorsey, Benjamin Ben- 
nett, Wm. Whaien, Otlio Shipley. 

District No. 6, Henry N. Brinkman, Fredericlt Ritter, Jivrrett 
Garner, John Kerlinger, .Joseph M. Purine. 

District No. 7, Joshua Smith, David Uhler, Lewis Waiiipler, 
.Jonathan Norris, Charles W. Webster. 

District No. 8, Wm. McIIvaine, George Riobards, Joliii I.amotte, 
John Fowble, George Richards, .Jr. 

District No. 9, James Douty, Thomas Barnes, Robert Bennett, 
Joshua C. Gist, Thomas E. D. Poole. 

A number of candidates .soufrht. the sufiV;iges of the 
citizens, and the contest between Nicholas Kelley, 
Isaac Dern, and Basil Root, the leading aspirants, was 
very close, resulting in the election of Nicholas Kelley 
as the first sheriff of the county. The inauguration of 
the county government took place the first Monday 
in April, 1837. On that day the Circuit Court, the 
Orphans' Court, and the county commissioners all met 
in Westminster. 

The Circuit Court met in the dwelling of Dr. Wil- 
lis, now owned by Mr. Boyle, Judges Dorsey and 
Kilgour on the bench. After an appropriate intro- 
ductory address, Judge Dorsey announced the appoint- 
of Dr. William Willis as county clerk, which was re- 
ceived with unqualified approval by those present. 
The court then appointed James Keiffer court crier, 
and accepted the bonds of the clerk and sheriff. Wil- 
liam P. Maulsby, James Raymond, James M. Shellman, 
A. P. Shriver, and T. Parkin Scott were admitted as 
attorneys of the Carroll County bar. Mr. Maulsby 
was appointed and qualified as State's attorney for the 
county. The court then adjourned to meet in the old 
Union church, where its ses.sioDS were afterwards held 
until a court-house was built. 

The Orphans' Court of Carroll County convened 
for the first time April 10, 1837, in the Wampler 
mansion, on the corner of Church Street, which 
building it occupied until the erection of a court- 
house. The commissions of Judges Abraham Wamp- 
ler, William Jameson, and Robert Hudson were re- 
ceived from Theodoric Bland, chancellor of the State 
of Maryland, and read and recorded, after which the 
judges qualified and proceeded to business. John 
Baumgartner was qualified as register of wills, and 
appointed George B. Shriver assistant register. The 
first business of a general nature transacted by 
the court was the appointment of Peter Gettier and 
Peter Utz to view and estimate the annual value of 
the real estate of Julia, Mary, George, Joseph, Peter, 
and Amos Sauble, minors, in the hands of Dr. Jacob 
Shower, their guardian. A notice was filed from 
Elizabeth, widow of Peter Sauble, refusing to admin- 
52 



ister on decedent's estate ; also a similar notice from 
John and Michael, brothers of the deceased. 

April 17th. The court directed Nelly Demmitt to 
dispose of the personal property of William Demmitt 
as administratrix. 

May 1st. James Raymond was admitted as an at- 
torney in this court, the first mentioned in the pro- 
ceedings, and William P. Maulsby was admitted at 
the same time. 

May 8th. Nancy Koutz was appointed guardian 
to Joshua Koutz. 

June 5th. In the case of Jacob Sellers, adminis- 
trator of Philip Sellers, decea.scd, vs. George Ware- 
ham, a citation was issued, the first citation going out 
of this court. 

June 12th. On application of Jesse Lee, John 
Barney, a colored boy, aged six years, was bound to 
said Lee until the said boy arrived at twenty-one years 
of age. 

The first administrators mentioned at the April 
term were Dr. Jacob Shower, of Peter Sauble's es- 
tate; Nelly Demmitt, of her husband, William Dem- 
mitt ; Adam Feeser, of Elizabeth Peeser. 

The first executors were Jo.seph Cookson, of the 
estate of Samuel Cookson, deceased ; Karahappuck 
Towson, of James Towson ; and Peter Nace, of Peter 
Nace, Sr. 

The first petition filed in any suit was that of 
George Wareham vs. Jacob Sellers, administrator of 
Philip Sellers, deceased. The first suit was indorsed 
"No. 1." 

The following is a list of the wills admitted to pro- 
bate during the first two years subsequent to the or- 
ganization of the county : 

1. Elizabeth Tawney, April 10, 1S37. Witnesses, David 
Roop, John Schweigart, John Roop, Jr. Before John Baum- 
gartner, register, and the judges of the Orphans' Court. 

2. Samuel Cookson, April 17th. Witnesses, Joseph, Samuel, 
and John Weaver. 

3. James Towson, April 17th. Witnesses, John Philip and 
Jacob Frine. 

4. Peter Nace, the elder (dated 1827), and admitted to pro- 
bate in Baltimore County, Dec. 27, 1831. Certified copy re- 
corded in Carroll County, April 17, 1837. 

3. Lauranty Freed, of Baltimore County. Certified copy of 
its probate there. Recorded April 17, 1837. 
f>. Lydiii Hatton, April 17th. 
7. Jacob Hofi'man, May 1, 1837. 

5. Solomon MoHanney, June 5th. 

9. Elizabeth Ann Howard, July 25th. Witnesses, Samuel 
Greenhalt, Asbury 0. AVarfield, D. W. Naill. 

10. Henry Wareham, July 22d. Witnesses, J. Henry Hoppe, 
Jacob Matthias, of George, Daniel Stowsifor, John Baum- 
gartner. 

11. David Geirman, August 9th. Witnesses, David Lister, 
of Jacob, George Croul, David Myerly. 



798 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



12. Ann Brown, August 30th, Witnesses, N. Dorsey, Abel 
Scrivenar, Geo. W. Warfield. 

13. Eliza C. Doisey, August 30th. Witnesses, Edward Friz- 
zcll, Joseph Black, Thomas Bea^man. 

14. Aquila Uarrettson, September 5th. Witnesses, George 
Bramwell, Mordecai G. Cockey, John Malehorn. 

15. Jonathan Parrish, September 11th. 

16. John Jlenche, October 17th. Witnesses, Peter Sawble, 
Michael Getticr, Jacob Kerlinger. 

17. John Foltze, November 6th. Witnesses, Jacob Gitt, 
George Weaver, of H., James Marshall. 

18. John Krumine, November 27th. Witnesses, Jacob 
Baumgartner, Philip Wentz, Jonathan Sterner. 

19. Adam Frankforter, Jan. 1, 1S38. Witnesses, Henry N. 
Brinckmnn, .Jacob Gitt, Jacob W. Boesing. 

20. Mary Ann Engel, January 2d. Witnesses, John Baum- 
gartner, George Hawk. 

21. John Oilliss, January 13th. Witnesses, Augustus Riggs, 
Wni. Curlien, James L. Riggs. 

22. Archibald Barnes, January 22d. Witnesses, Joshua C. 
Gist, Joshua Franklin, Benjamin Bennett. 

23. Joseph Arnold, February 12th. Witnesses, David Leis- 
ter, George Cruul, John Baumgartner. 

24. Richard M.anning, Sr., February 19th. Witnesses, Wm. 
Jameson, David Tawney, Peter Flater. 

25. Catharine Manro, February 26th. Witnesses, Joshua C. 
Gist, Joseph Harden, Jacob Hiltabeidel. 

2fi. John Lambert, March 26th. Witnesses, John Smelser, 
David Smelser, David Gorsuch. 

27. James Steele, April 2d. Witnesses, N. Browne, Beale 
Buckingham, Vacbel Buckingham. 

28. Ezekiel Baring, May 7th. 

29. Rachel Wentz, May Uth. 

30. Mary Hooker, June 25th. 

31. Baltzer Hesson, July 9th. Witnesses, Sterling Gait, 
Josiiih Baumgartner, F. J. Baumgartner. 

32. Nicholas H. Brown, July 13th. 

33. George Tener, July 30th. 

31. Jacob Brown, September 3d. Witnesses, Michael Sholl, 
Jr., John Streavig, George Kuons. 

35. Peter Shriner, September 4th. Witnesses, Evan Mc- 
Kinstry, David Engler, John P. Shriner. 

36. Patrick Hinds, October 8th. 

37. Margaret Reid, October Sth. Witnesses, A. B. R. McLine, 
Samuel Naill, James Maloney. 

38. Veronica Peters, October Sth. 

39. Margaret Durbia, October Sth. 

40. Hannah Wampler, October 15th. Witnesses, Jacob 
Tingling, Wm. Tingling, Wm. Zeppe. 

41. Peter Arbaugb, October 29th. Witnesses, Solomon Woo- 
ley, William Loekard, Siephen Ourslers. 

42. Jacob Reid, October 29th. 

43. Elizabeth Keys, October 29th. 

44. Mary Lampert, November 19th. Witnesses, James H. 
Gorsuch, Henry Long, Jacob Frine. 

45. Susannah Loveall, Jan. 14, 1839. Witnesses, Henry 
Ebaugh, of George, George Kbaugh, John Rinehart. 

46. Peter Shoemaker, Dec. 31, 1S3S. Witnesses, John Nus- 
baum, Abraham Hesson, Jacob Sell, Peter DehofiT. 

47. Solomon Foutz, Feb. U, 1S39. Witnesses, Abraham 
Myers, John Flegle, Philip Boyle. 

48. Michael Wagner, March 4th. Witnesses, John Hyder, 
John Smith, John Nusbaum. 

The first death was recorded April 4, 1837. It 
was that of Basil D. Stevenson, surviving executor of 



Samuel Stevenson, deceased, to Hannah Shipley for 
four hundred and sixty-nine acres, adjoining " Fell's 
Dale;" consideration, $2665. Dated April 1, 1837. 

The first mortgage was recorded April 5th, and 
was from John Knox to James Knox et al, and 
dated March 2, 1837. 

The second deed was from J. Mason Campbell, 
trustee, to the president and directors of the Union 
Bank of Maryland, and was recorded April Sth. 
Dated April 1, 1837 ; consideration, one dollar. The 
land conveyed was Lot No. 6, of ninety acres, and 
was called " Legh Castle," being part of the late Legh 
Master's estate. It adjoined tracts called " Bond's 
Meadow Enlarged,"' " Long Valley," and " Brown's 
Delight." It was a part of the tract issued to the 
late William Winchester and his heirs by James 
Clark and Joseph G. J. Bend, surviving trustees of 
Rev. Legh H. Master, by an indenture of March 14, 
1812. 

The third deed was recorded April 8th, and was 
from Basil D. Stevenson, surviving executor of Sam- 
uel Stevenson, deceased. Its date of execution and 
record were the same. It conveyed one hundred and 
forty-seven acres, three roods, and twelve perches, and 
was parts of tracts called " The Resurvey' on Father's 
Gift," " Rich Meadows,'' and " Pigeon's Hill." Con- 
sideration, $1034.76. 

The second mortgage was recorded April 11th, and. 
was from William Jordan to Richard Johns. It was 
on one hundred and thirty-nine and a half acres 
called " Curgafeigus," and two hundred and fifty 
acres called " Mount Pisgah." 

The fourth deed was recorded April 11th, from 
Jacob Reese and wife to Jacob Roop, dated March 
25, 1837. It was for one-half acre of " Bond's 
Meadow." Consideration, $600. 

The following are the first marriage licenses issued 
by the clerk of the court for a period of two years 
after the creation of the county of Carroll : 

1837. 

April S. John Ki-oh and Julia Weaver. 

May 1. Thomas Bosley and Elizabeth Wheeler. 

" 9. Samuel Diiyhoffe and Nancy Wheeler. 

" 14. Silas M. Horner and Elizabeth McAlister. 

" 17. Samuel L. Linah and Maria Si.x. 

June 5. Shadracb Bosley and Serepta Sater. 

" 6. Joseph Bowers and Elizabeth Cullison. 

6. Wm. F. Smyth and Elizabeth Bi.'sler. 

" 8. Jeremiah Robinson and Ann Smith. 

" 16. Geo. B. Shipley and Ann Shipley. 

" 20. Wm. Naill, Jr., and Mary A. Rudisel. 

July 8. Abraham Reaver and Catharine Jones. 

" 15. Jacob Michael and Eve Grogg. 

" 26. Wm. W. Warfield and Jemima Formwalt. 

" 26. Daniel Lampart and Julian Loveall. (Rev. E. 
Keller.) 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



799 



9ept. 1. Conrad Koons and Mary E. Zunbunn. 

'* 15. Porcius Gilleys and Rachel Evans. (Rev. Lloyd 

Selby.) 
" 23. David Haines and Sarah W. Durbin. 
" 25. Thos. C. Thomson and Mary Shunk. (Rev. E. 

Keller.) 
Oct. 2. James Shneffer and Margaret Cottrider. 
" 7. George Bixler nnd Mary Grittier. 
" 9. Andrew C. Fowble and Elizabeth Murray. 
" 16. Nicholas Dorsey and Rachel CIcmson. (Rev. Dr. 

Reese.) 
" 16. Peter Rinamon and Margaret Strickling. (Rev. J. 

Geiger.) 
" 25. George W. Manro and Elizabeth Kelly. (Rev. 

Samuel Gore.) 
Nov. 11. John Sweeden and Charlotte Weaver. 

" 28. Josiah Roop and Elizabeth Shafer. (Rev. William 

Prettyman.) 
Dec. 6. Elisba Shreeve and Minerva Bennett. 
" 20. D. W. Houck and Rachel F. Allgire. 
" 22. Aaron Goswell and Ann Leatherwood. 
" 26. Elisha Wheeler and Sarah Shambarger. 
" 27. Bcall Sellman and Mary B. Weaver. 
" 29. Thoniiis Rudisell and Ann M. Snyder. (Rev. E. 

Keller.) 
1S38. 
Jan. 15. John Weist and Elizabeth Mouse. (Rev. Jacob 

Geiger.) 
Feb. 1. Jacob Lynn and Louisa Crabbs. (Rev. D. Zol- 

lickoffer.) 
" 3. George W. Grimes and Eliza Buffington. (Rev. E. 

Keller.) 
" 8, George W. Litzenger and Martha A. Kcefer. 
" 10. Samuel Myers and Eliza C. Dagen. (Rev. Daniel 

Zollickoffer.) 
" 12. Jacob Gieuian and Julian Haines. (Rev. Jacob 

Geiger.) 
" 28. Joseph Kelly and Naomi Ross. (Rev. N. Harden.) 
March 3. William E. Shipley and Mary A. Dorsey. (Rev. 

Hood.) 
" 6. Samuel Price .and Catharine Ripple. 
" 7. James Smith and Catharine Dilfenbaugh. (Rev. 

Israel Haines.) 
" 8. Jacob Flatter and Elizabeth Bush. 
" 12. Jacob Smith and Angeline Christ. (Rev. Miller.) 
" 18. Thomas Loveall and Jane A. Cashing. (Rev. Jona- 
than Forrest.) 
" 19. John Mycrly and Emmaline Little. (Rev. Israel 

Haines.) 
" 22. George Richards, Jr., and Lucinda Allgire. 
" 26. Henry S. Black and Rachel Maring. (Kev. E. 

Keller.) 
" 30. N.B.Stocksdale and Elizabeth Cover. (Rev. Lloyd 

Selby.) 
April 3. Noah Brown and Bartholow Richards. (Rev. 

Aaron Richards.) 
" 3. Christopher Weisman and Mary A. Guthing. (Rev. 

Jacob Geiger.) 
" 5. Peter Nace :ind Susanna Meyselman. 
" \i. Lewis J. Grove and Carrilla Barnes. (Rev. Hunt.) 
May 9. Alexander H. Senceny and Lavinia Englar. (Rev. 
David Englar.) 
" 14. John Roberts and Catharine A. Boyle. (Rev. N. 

Zocchi.) 
" 21. Joseph Wilson and Sarah E. Vanzant. (Rev. 

Samuel Grove.) 



May 21. 



-lune 11. 
" 23. 
" 26. 



July 25. 

Aug. 1.3. 

" 13. 



Sept. 12. 
" 15. 



Nov. 6. 
" 20. 



" 


19. 


" 


22. 


" 


24. 


« 


28. 


1839. 


Jan. 


17. 


" 


23. 


Feb. 


8. 


" 


14. 


" 


18. 



Elisha Bennett and Rachel Prugh. (Rev. Jona- 
than Forrest.) 

John Warner and Susanna Fisher. 

Ephraim Lindscy and Eliza Fringev. (Rev. Sam- 
uel Gore.) 

Benjamin W. Bennett and Margaret Clemson. 
(Rev. Daniel Zollickoffer.) 

John Loveall and Elizabeth Houck. 

Aaron Wheeler and Matilda Barnes. 

Washington Wilson and Margaret Smith. (Rev. 
Daniel Zollickoffer.) 

Robert Collins and Honor Elder. (Rev. William 
Hunt.) 

David Shipley and Mary A. Wheeler. 

Jacob Ocker and Barbara Flcegle. 

John W. Ogborn and Eliza Pole. (Rev. Daniel 
Zollickoffer.) 

Larkin Shipley and Rebecca Shipley. (Rev. S. 
Gore.) 

Giles Cole and Mary Merryman. (Rev. William 
Hunt.) 

John Baile and Sarah L. Eby. (Rev. Boyle.) 

Obadiah Buckingham and Mary A. Barlow. 

Dones Gruff and Mary S. Biggs. (Rev. William 
Prettyman.) 

Ephraim .Shultz and -lane Crawford. 

John M. Blizzard and Ann Welsh. 

John SlyJer and Catharine Wentz. 

Thomas Wright and Caroline Frizzell. 

Dr. David Diller and Ann E. Matthias. (Rev. N. 
Zocchi.) 

Washington Senceney and Mary A. Grimes. (Rev. 
Daniel Zollickoffer.) 

Henry Nicodemus and Margaret McCreery. (Rev. 
William Prettyman.) 

Williiim S. Brown nnd Carrilla Manning. 

Samuel B. Shipley and Leah Shipley. 

William Otter and Elizabeth Lathem. 

John Reigle and Catharine Reaver. (Rev. E. 
Keller.) 

John Omergoast and Barbara Leister. 

John Elder and Rebecca Selby. (Rev. Samuel 
Gore.) 

Jacob Ecker and Sarah Dudderar. (Rev. Web- 
ster.) 

Dennis Grimes and Sarah A. Pool. (Rev. Nich- 
olas Harden.) 

Levin Williams and Susan Haines. (Rev. N. 
Harden.) 

John Walker and Mary A. Tucker. (Rev. Lloyd 
Selby.) 

Minhiiel Smith and Maria Haines. 

W. W. G.arner and Harriet Murray. 

Joseph Marriott and Sarah Shipley. 

Benjamin Davis and Mary Ward. 

Wm. Warner and Rebecca Warner. (Rev. Daniel 
Zollickoffer.) 

Abraham Wilson and Delilah Hervey. 

Jesse Baker and Eliza E. Bailey. (Rev. S. Gore.) 
John T. Fisher and Sophia Stansbury. (Rev. 

Harple.) 
JoDas Eogler and Hannah Stoner. 
Geo. Croft and Anne Ruby. (Rev. Richnrds.) 
Levi Iliner and Mary Medcalf. {Rev. Daniel Zol- 
lickoffer.) 



800 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



March 



Feb. 26. James Thompson and Mary A. Hitterbridle. (Rev. 
Robert S. Grier.) 
" 28. Conrad Moul and Lydia A. Kesselring. (Rev. 
Josiah Vftrden.) 
Michael Bartholow, Jr., and Elizabeth A. Plaiten. 
9. Hanson Carmack and Harriet Clabaugh. 
11. Josiah Baugher and Mary Babylon. (Rev. Daniel 

Zollickoffer.) 
13. Levi Davis and Julian Shriver. (Rev. Josiah 

Varden.) 
13. James Parrish and Ruth Creswell. 
15. Samuel Shriner and Mary A. Merring. 
1. Isaac Magee and Margaret DayhofFe. 
1. Henry E. Beltz and Julian A. Motter. 
4. Michael Hubbard and Rachel Durbin. (Rev. D. 
Zollickoffer.) 
" 15. John Roop, Jr., and Lydia Engle. 
On Oct. 5, 1840, at Annapolis, Hon. James G. Berrett, of 
Carroll County, was married by Rev. Mr. Mcllheney to Miss 
Julia W., only daughter of the late John W. Bordley, of the 
former place. 



April 
May 



The following is the first marriage license issued in 
the new county : 

" Whereas, application has been made to me by John Kroh, 
of Carroll County, and Julia Weaver, of Carroll County, for 
License to be joined in Holy Matrimony. 

" These are therefore to authorize and license you to solem- 
nize the Rites of Matrimony between said persons according to 
law, there appearing to you no lawful cause or just impediment 
by reason of any Consanguinity or .-Vffinity to hinder the same. 

"Given under my hand and the seal of my office this Sth of 
April, in the year 1837. 

r , "George Mackubin, 

[seal] 

" Treasurer Western Shore. 

" To the Rev. Jacob Geiger or any other person authorized 

by law to celebrate the marriage in the State of Maryland. 

"William Willis, 

" Cleric C. a, Md." 

Sheriff Kelley converted a portion of the brick 
mansion in Westminster now owned by William 
Reese into a jail, and used it as such until the present 
prison was built. There was but one prisoner con- 
fined in it, and he is said to have made his escape by 
sliding down the spouting. The county commission- 
ers met in a room of the Wampler tavern, and organ- 
ized with Otho Shipley as clerk, and Thomas Hook 
county collector. A number of places were suggested 
as sites for the. public buildings, including the land on 
which they now stand, the lot at present occupied by 
the Dallas mansion, and the ground on which the 
Reformed church is built. The advantages of all 
were fairly considered by the commissioners, and on 
May 25, 1837, they accepted for the site of the court- 
house an acre of ground from Isaac Shriver, imme- 
diately in rear of his tavern-stand, and about three 
hundred yards from Main Street, with ground for 
streets on three sides of it. For the jail they ac- 
cepted an acre of land a short distance northeast of 



the court-house site, and about four hundred yards 
from Main Street. This was donated by the heirs of 
David Fisher. 

The jail was built in 1837, by B. F. Forester and 
Johnzee Selby, at a cost of four thousand dollars, and 
since that time the jail-yard and other improvements 
have been added. 

The second term of the Circuit Court was held 
Sept. 4, 1837. Chief Justice Thomas B. Dorsey 
presided, with Thomas H. Wilkinson as associate 
judge. The grand jury, the first in the new county, 
appeared, and was sworn as follows : William Brown 
(foreman), Jonathan Dorsey, Charles Devilbiss, Daniel 
Stull, John T. Mathias, William Mcllvain, David Z. 
Buchen, Jacob Kerlinger, Daniel Horner, Nathaniel 
Sykes, Frederick Ritter, William Caples, William 
Fisher, John Jones, Jacob Grove, Michael Sullivan, 
Andrew C. Fowble, Thomas Sater, Samuel L. Swarm- 
stead, Edward Dorsey, Joseph Shaffer, Isaac Dern, 
and John Henry Hopper. 

Nicholas Kelley was sheriff, William Willis, clerk, 
and Emmanuel Gern and Henry Geatty, bailiffs. The 
grand jury returned true bills against George Rams- 
bery for resisting an officer ; Jacob Boring, breach of 
the peace ; Whitfield Garner, the same ; Charlotte 
White, colored, larceny ; Michael Wagner, assault ; 
B. Eck, maltreatment to his slave "Poll;" Wil- 
liam Coghlan and Peter Bankert, misdemeanor in 
office ; William Grimes, Benjamin Davis, Resin 
Franklin, Jacob Gilavier, Nimrod Booby, Jacob San- 
ders, selling liquor without a license. The present- 
ments against the last four were withdrawn by the 
grand jury and not returned. It will be observed 
from the perusal of the above that the offenses com- 
mitted in 1837 did not differ materially from those 
of which the county courts take cognizance nowadays, 
though there was a commendable absence of the higher 
crimes, such as murder, arson, burglary, and robbery, 
which too frequently deface the present records of 
judicial tribunals. James Keifer was appointed court 
crier. James Mybrea filed a declaration of his inten- 
tion to become a citizen of the United States and 
renounce his allegiance to the King of Great Britain. 
Henry Short, a native of Holland, also appeared and 
gave notice of his intention to become a naturalized 
citizen of this country. The following was the petit 
jury, the first in the county : John Cover, Jacob Gitt, 
John Kuhn, Sr., Basil Root, Evan L. Crawford, Wil- 
liam Shaw, Joshua F. Copp, Robert Crawford, Isaiah 
Pearce, Nicholas H. Brown, Elijah Bond, Henry H. 
Harbaugh, Benjamin Bennett, Daniel Yeiser, Evan 
Garner, Thomas Smith, Thomas Bartholow, Nimrod 
Frizzell, Benjamin Yingling, Mordecai G. Cockey, 



CARROLL- COUNTY. 



801 



Hezekiah Crout. The first case tried was that of an 
appeal of William Naill vs. Jesse Reifsnider. The 
witnesses for appellant were Elias Grimes and Elias 
Naill, and for appellee, Samuel Reiudollar and Israel 
Hiteshue. The jury found for the appellant without 
leaving the box. The next cause was that of James 
Smith vs. Samuel Gatt, William Shaw, Silas Hauer, 
Washington Hauer, and Jacob Shoemaker, trustees 
of the church, an appeal. The witnesses were John 
W. McAlister for appellant, and James Bar, David 
Kephart, John Thompson for appellee. Judgment 
was affirmed with costs. Godfried Guyser, a native 
of Wiirtemberg, Germany, John Reisly, of the same 
place, and Jacob Lewis and Philip Yoost, natives of 
Darmstadt, Germany, all filed their intentions to be- 
come American citizens. Fifty-six witnesses testified 
before the grand jury, among whom were the follow- 
ing constables: John Shockney, Jacob Frankfortder, 
Thomas Brummel, Andrew P. Barnes, George Ogg, 
Emanuel Gernand, Warren P. Little, Evan Black, 
John Krantz, William Grunbine, Abraham England, 
William Stansbury, Samuel Lammott, John Clabaugh, 
David Kephart, George Willott, Frederick Yingling, 
Joseph Smith. On the petition of John S. Murray 
to inquire whether George Ecklar was an insane per- 
son and a pauper the jury refused an inquisition. 
The first criminal case tried was that of the State of 
Maryland vs. Charlotte White (colored), indicted for 
larceny, and the jury found a verdict of not guilty. 
The second State case was that of George Ranisbery 
for resisting a constable, in which a verdict of guilty 
was returned. The defendant was ordered to pay a 
fine of five dollars and be imprisoned sixty days. The 
third session of the County Court met Sept. 3, 1838, 
when the following grand jury was sworn : Jacob 
Landes (foreman), John A. Byers, John Adiisperger, 
Josiah Shilling, Peter Lippy, George W. Manro, Eli 
Hewitt, George Miller, Thomas Shepherd, Nimrod 
Woolery, Robert J. Jameson, Richard Smith, Samuel 
W. Myers, Robert B. Shipley, Joseph Poole, William 
Lookert, Solomon Myerly, Lewis Shuey, Benjamin B. 
Forrester, Henry Cover, Martin Krole, Adam Beiser. 
The petit jury were John McCollum, David Weaver, 
Julius Bennett, Nelson Norris, David Buffington, 
Isaac Powder, John Fowble, Francis Haines, David 
P. Deal, Henry W. Ports, Daniel Hoover, Micajah 
Rogers, Richard Owings, Denter Shipley, Horatio 
Price, Beal Buckingham, David Fowble, John Krouse, 
John Gornell, Michael Sullivan, John H. Hoppe, 
Francis Shriver, George Bramwell, Jacob Null. 

The cornerstone of the present court-house of Car- 
roll County was laid in June, 1838, with appropriate 
military and civic ceremonies. It was an occasion of 



general rejoicing, and a large concourse of people as- 
sembled to mark the event. Four military companies 
marched in the procession, commanded by Capts. Skin- 
ner, of Hanover, Swope, of Taneytown, Bramwell, of 
Finksburg, and Longwell, of Westminster. The 
stone was laid by Andrew Shriver, assisted by Col. 
Joshua Gist, then in his ninety-fourth year, a brother 
of Gen. Mordecai Gist, of Maryland, who won an 
imperishable name during the Revolution as a sol- 
dier and patriot, he having especially distinguished 
himself in the battles of Long Island and Camden. 
An address was delivered by Samuel D. Lecompte, and 
a number of impromptu speeches were made by 
prominent citizens. Conrad Moul was the contractor 
for the building, and the masonry of both the court- 
house and jail was done by Ephraim Swope and 
Thomas W. Durbin. The court-house was built at a 
cost of eighteen thousand dollars, and notwithstand- 
ing it was erected more than forty years ago it is now 
a substantial and durable edifice, and a credit to the 
commissioners under whose administration it was 
constructed. 

In 1838 the county government was perfected, all 
necessary subordinate officers had been elected or ap- 
pointed, those who had opposed the creation of a new 
county had become reconciled to the situation, and 
thenceforward Carroll took its proper place among the 
older organizations as one of the most vigorous, pro- 
gressive, and influential counties of Maryland. 

Carroll County is bounded on the north by Penn- 
sylvania, on the south by the Patapsco River, which 
separates it from Howard County, on the east by 
Baltimore County, and on the west by Frederick 
County. Its natural advantages are great. The sur- 
face is undulating, the gently sloping hills, like the 
billows of the ocean, swelling gradually in the direc- 
tion of the Catoctin range, a spur of the Blue Ridge. 
The tributaries of the Patapsco and Monocacy Rivers 
permeate the soil in every direction, not only supply- 
ing abundant water for farming purposes, but affording 
to the miller and manufacturer unlimited power for 
their handicrafts. The soils comprise all the varieties 
of the Blue Ridge division of the State, as white and 
red isinglass, slate, mica, limestone, and the " Red 
Lands." They are for the most part exceedingly fer- 
tile, the county posses.sing probably a smaller propor- 
tion of poor land than almost any other in Maryland, 
and where impoverished they are readily susceptible 
of improvement by careful cultivation and the use of 
lime, which exists in such abundance beneath the 
surface. The county is well wooded, and the scenery 
picturesque and beautiful, abounding in charming 
valleys, hemmed in by hills, on which the growth of 



802 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



the heaviest forest-trees gives the necessary shading 
to the landscape, and where a view of the distant 
Blue Ridge can be obtained, which is the case in 
many portions of the county, very happy effects are 
produced. The inhabitants have always been thrifty 
and energetic, and agriculture has received here its 
most perfect development. Fine farms abound. 
Wheat, rye, oats, and corn, the various grasses, fruits, 
and vegetables are grown, and magnificent herds of 
cattle and improved breeds of horses, sheep, and hogs 
are the principal productions of the farmers, while 
much attention is paid to the dairy business, the prox- 
imity to the city of Baltimore by means of the railroads 
and turnpikes insuring profitable returns to those en- 
gaged in it. 'J'obacco has been grown to some extent, 
and small crops are still raised in parts of the county, 
but the expense and uncertainty attending its produc- 
tion have been so great as to render it unpopular with 
the majority of farmers. Well-tilled farms and fine 
residences are confined to no particular district, but 
are freely distributed through the county. There are 
numerous mills and manufacturing establishments, 
and a large number of tanneries in the county, the 
last induced, doubtless, by the heavy growth of oak 
timber, which forms the body of the woods in that 
section of country. Large supplies of granite, mar- 
ble, limestone, and brick clay are to be had for build- 
ing purposes. 

There are also large quarries of the best variety of 
soapstone near Marriottsville, adjacent to the Balti- 
more and Ohio Railroad. The stone is of the purest 
quality, and at the factory is sawed into every imag- 
inable shape, and used for many varied purposes, its 
uses having multiplied greatly of late years. Even 
the refuse stone and dust are valuable in various ways. 

Some of the finest hematitic iron ore in the United 
States, and also some excellent specimens of oxide 
of manganese, have been found in Carroll. The cli- 
mate is salubrious, and the lay of the land and purity 
of the water favorable to health, so much so as to make 
many portions of the county favorite places of resort 
for the citizens of Baltimore during the summer 
months. The county is rapidly increasing in popula- 
tion, wealth, and enterprise, and the public-spirited 
citizens who have managed its affairs have adopted all 
judicious means for social and material advancement. 
The Baltimore and Ohio Railroad on its southern bor- 
der, the Western Maryland Railroad which passes 
almost directly through the centre of the county, the 
Frederick and Pennsylvania Line Railroad which runs 
across the northwestern portion, and numerous fine 
turnpikes, as well as an admirable system of public 
roads, constitute the means of transportation, and few 



sections of the country possess gieater conveniences in 
this regard. Through these channels it is placed in 
direct communication with the city of Baltimore, where 
a ready market is found for its productions, and the 
rapid transportation furnished by the railroads has 
enabled its citizens to build up a trade in the products 
of the dairy unsurpassed probably elsewhere in Mary- 
land. The prices of land vary of course with the 
quality of the soil and its proximity or remoteness to 
the highways of travel, but one hundred and fifty 
dollars per acre is not unusual, and many who have 
purchased land at that rate have had no cause to regret 
it. As far back as April, 1814, Peter Benedune, who 
was a restless speculator, sold out all his land in the 
vicinity of Union Bridge at from one hundred to one 
hundred and twenty dollars per acre, and removed to 
the Valley of Virginia. The accessibility of the lands 
in Carroll County, their healthfulness, and the social 
advantages in many of the neighborhoods, render them 
desirable either as residences or safe investments. The 
brown sandstone, so highly valued for building pur- 
poses, is found in the western part of Carroll, and will 
compare very favorably with the Connecticut sand- 
stone, so generally in use in the construction of the 
finer class of edifices in large cities. In Emmittsburg, 
among the upper layers of brown sandstone are found 
strata of flagging. Some of it separates into flags 
from two to four inches thick, with smooth surfaces 
ready dressed for paving. The boundaries of Carroll 
County were made for political convenience and not 
as divisions between distinct varieties of soil or differ- 
ent geological formations. The " Red Lands," begin- 
ning in the northwestern part of the county and 
extending through the Taneytown and Middleburg 
Districts into portions of the Union Town District, are 
similar in geological formation to those found in Fred- 
erick County, differing only in their agricultural 
value, the former being more decomposed, thereby 
insuring a deeper soil. These lands are underlaid by 
compact shales, among which red sandstone is fre- 
quently found sufficiently durable for building pur- 
poses. The value of these lands is materially influ- 
enced by the proximity of these shales or sand- 
stones to the surface. When they are immediately 
beneath it the soil is unproductive, being easily af- 
fected by droughts, as there is not sufficient depth to 
retain the necessary supply of water for the crops. 
When this is the case the remedy is always at hand. 
The land should be subsoiled and heavily manured 
with lime. 

Slate soils are a continuation of those found in 
Frederick County, and differ materially from the red 
land described above. The slates from which the 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



803 



soils overlying them are formed are mica slate, talc 
slate, chlorite slate, and blue, or roofing slate, the 
composition of all of which is, in an agricultural point 
of view, so nearly allied as to reader any separate de- 
scription of them unnecessary, and they are so inti- 
mately mixed that it would require almost an innu- 
merable number of analyses to determine the special 
composition of each. 

The lands drained by the waters of the Little Pipe 
Creek and its tributary branches are composed mainly 
from the disintegrated particles of these rocks or 
slates. They have by various influences become thor- 
oughly decomposed, have been well manured and 
well cultivated, and are equal in productive value to 
the average of the best in the State. These land.s are 
formed from the same rocks, and have the same com- 
position in every particular, as all the lands in this sec- 
tion of the State are underlaid by the slates above 
spoken of; and the question naturally arises, why should 
some of them be so barren and some so productive ? 
Why should the soils of the same formation on Parr's 
Ridge, running through the county to Manchester 
and the Pennsylvania line, be generally unproductive ? 
Their mechanical texture must be examined for an ex- 
planation of their different degrees of fertility. Most 
of the soil in this part of the county, as it has 
been formed, has been washed off, and there has 
not been enough of it left to meet the wants of plants, 
by retaining a sufficiency of moisture for their support, 
or a proper quantity of nutrient materials to develop 
their growth and structure. To obviate these dififi- 
culties the soil must be deepened, decomposed, and 
the mineral set free which it has in a crude state. 

There are also the light red sandy loams of this 
county, at the foot of Parr's Ridge, represented by 
the lands which extend over the whole county in a 
line more or less directly parallel with Parr's Ridge. 
They are famous for producing a variety of tobacco 
known as the Bay Tobacco, which sells at a very high 
price. 

The red clay loam begins at the eastern border of 
the above-described lands, and extends eastward to 
where they meet the granite or isinglass soil. The 
next varieties met after going eastward from these are 
the white isinglass, soils formed from the disintegra- 
tion of granite rocks. These are easily recognized, 
the bright shining spangles of mica, or isinglass, glis- 
tening everywhere. They are exceedingly light and 
dry, and are occasionally very barren. These com- 
prise the chief soils of Carroll ; they follow each other 
in regular succession, from west to east, in the order 
in which they are named, and can be readily recog- 
nized by their location as well as by their description. 



The limestones of Carroll are fully equal to those 
found in any other portion of Western Maryland. 
Many of them are used only in the neighborhood 
where they are located, but there are many excellent 
limestone-quarries both for agricultural and building 
purposes. The principal limestones in the upper part 
of the county are as follows : 

No. 2, a white limestone of fine crystalline texture, 
Uniontown, Maryland. 

No. 2, a dark gray variety, slatish, with crystals of 
calc spar imbedded. 

No. 3, a dark gray and homogeneous mass of fine 
crystalline texture, and small white veins of calc spar 
traversing. They were found to be composed as fol- 
lows : 

No. 1. No. 2. No. 3. 

Carbonate of lime 99.5 68.3 98.8 

Carbonate of magnesia 11.5 0.5 

Sand slate, etc , U.5 20.2 0.7 

100 100 100 

and will, therefore, produce, when burnt, of 

Caustic lime 56.0 .38.3 55 

Caustic magnesia 5.5 0.2 

and when water-slacked, of 

Water-slacked lime 73.7 50.6 73.10 

Water-slacked magnesia 8.0 0.3 

The second series are those of the western flank of 
Parr's Ridge. They usually have a fine grain re- 
sembling that of Carrara marble, and they vary in 
color from white to grayish blue. They contain little 
silicious matter, and in general but small proportions 
of magnesia or other impurities. They have some- 
times a slaty structure. Near the southern limits of 
the formation the proportion of magnesia is somewhat 
larger. 

Iron ores occur in immense quantities in connec- 
tion with the limestones before mentioned. They 
range from the Pennsylvania line (north of Westmin- 
ster) southwesterly for ten or twelve miles. West- 
minster lies on the eastern edge of the range. There 
are the ruins of an iron-furnace about two and a half 
miles southwest of Westminster, on the property of 
Mr. Vanbibber, where these ores were smelted many 
years ago. The Western Maryland Railroad reaches 
this range of ore at Westminster, and passes through 
it for several miles. This affords every facility for 
transporting the ore or the iron that may be made 
therefrom. 

The magnetic oxide of iron is the richest of iron 
ores, and when pure (as is sometimes the case in 
Sweden) contains seventy-two per cent, of metal. It 
is usually, however, more or less mixed up with 
earthy matters, and sometimes contains the oxides of 
titanium and manganese. 



804 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



It has a metallic lustre and a dark gray or almost 
black color, the latter being also the color of its pow- 
der. It strongly attracts the magnetic needle, and 
when in small grains it is attracted by the magnet. 
Some of its varieties are sufficiently magnetic to at- 
tract iron filings and needles, hence the name of load- 
stone, which was formerly applied to it. These char- 
acters distinguish it from all other ores of iron. 

It occurs in small quantities about seven miles west- 
northwest from Baltimore, near the Bare Hill's Copper- 
Mine, and again near Scott's mills, about eighteen 
miles north-northwest of Baltimore. It is found in 
massive as well as in octahedral crystals and grains. 
An iron-furnace at Sykesville is in part supplied by 
ore which is mined in that vicinity. 

When the northwestern edge of the mica slates is 
reached, there is found what may be termed a metal- 
liferous range, extending from the northern part of 
Cecil County through Harford, Baltimore, Carroll, 
Howard, and Montgomery Counties. 

In addition to the magnetic iron ores of this range 
already referred to, there are ores of copper, chrome, 
and gold. Indications of copper may be seen at various 
points, and several mines have been opened in this 
county, one of which, at Springfield, near Sykesville, 
continues to be profitably worked. Near Finksburg 
a copper-mine was successfully worked during several 
years, and, if proper skill and sufficient capital are 
applied, it will probably prove productive. The ore 
consists of yellow or pyritous copper and still richer 
quartz, called purple copper ore. 

Sulphuret of cobalt was discovered among the 
products of this mine, but this rare and valuable 
material occurred in very small quantity, and has not 
been found elsewhere in this State. Other mines have 
been opened in this range, between Finksburg and 
Sykesville, and at one of them native gold was dis- 
covered. 

Northeastward from Finksburg there are indica- 
tions of copper at many points, especially near the 
forks of the Gunpowder River, about twenty-two 
miles north of Baltimore. Some explorations and 
diggings have been made without discovering the ore 
in quantity. It appears to be associated with the 
magnetic oxide of iron of this formation. 

There are also abundant traces of copper in the 
northwest part of the county, in the red shales. 
They give so little promise of profitable mines, how- 
ever, that it is almost useless to expend money in dig- 
ging for the ore. 

Copper ore accompanies (in very small proportion) 
the magnetic oxide oi' iron, which is associated with 
steatite in veins in mica slate rock. Some years ago 



certain parties caused a shaft to be sunk on one of 
these veins with the hope that copper might be ob- 
tained in available quantities beneath, but they were 
disappointed. The Springfield mine was a success, 
and a similar result might happen at the Gunpowder 
veins, but the cost of sinking deep shafts is too great 
for the chances of a favorable result. In following this 
metalliferous range southwestward no indications of 
either chrome or copper are encountered until the 
vicinity of Finksburg is reached. From this point 
for about seven miles, to Springfield (one mile and a 
half north of Sykesville, on the Baltimore and Ohio 
Railroad), there are numerous indications of copper 
ores. A mine was opened near Finksburg about 
thirty years ago, and for some time was worked 
with success. The ore was found in a true vein, 
and consisted at first principally of carbonate of cop- 
per, which, as usual, was succeeded by a sulphuret 
of copper ore, containing sixty per cent, of metal 
when free from gangue, or about thirty per cent, after 
bring prepared for sale. At depths of from fifty to 
one hundred feet the ore was abundant, and it was 
usual for them to mine thirty tons a week. 

Subsequently the vein became thinner, or pinched 
off, to use a mining term, but there is every reason to 
believe that with more knowledge of such matters on 
the part of the owners the vein might have been 
reached at a lower depth as rich as it was above. 
Veins of this kind are irregular in thickness, but 
mining to depths of two to three thousand feet has 
never yet reached the bottom of one of them. 
Another vein was slightly explored a short distance 
from this opening, but the owners became discouraged 
and suspended operations. 

Another mine ivas opened at Mineral Hill, about 
seven miles southwest of Finksburg, in the same 
range. It was penetrated to a considerable depth. 
Cobalt ore has been found at Mineral Hill in small 
quantity, and native gold in the outcrop in inappreci- 
able amount. The veins were opened and some work 
done about two miles southwest of this point. In 
the Springfield mine the main shaft has been carried 
down on the large vein to a distance of seven hundred 
feet, with much better indications at the greatest 
depth penetrated than near the surface, where there 
was little copper, but a considerable thickness of 
magnetic oxide of iron. In fact, this mine was origi- 
nally worked for iron, but as it progressed in depth 
the proportion of copper continued to increase, so 
that for several years it was worked as a copper-mine, 
and turned out better than any other in the State. 

The ore consisted of pyritous copper, which, when 
pure, contains usually about thirty-three per cent, of 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



805 



the metal, but owing to the mixture of vein-stone, or 
gangue, the proportion of metal was about thirteen 
per cent. The ore sold for about fifty dollars per ton 
to the copper-smelting works of Baltimore. Chrome 
ores occur at many points in a serpentine formation 
which stretches from New Lisbon four miles west to 
Rockville, Montgomery Co., and nearly to the Poto- 
mac River. The ore has been worked at several points, 
and is found to vary considerably in quality. 

The range of limestone, useful as marble, is on the 
western flank of Parr's Ridge, extending southwest- 
ward from a little northwest of Manchester, passing 
near and west of Westminster, and extending into 
Frederick County. They are usually stratiQed, and 
consist of very small crystalline grains, and ore gen- 
erally white or some light shade of blue. It is found, 
however, towards the southern limits of this range 
more variegated, with shades of red less pure, and the 
stratification more disturbed. The different layers of 
this vary considerably, and even in the same quarry 
there are strata of pure white and light blue, and 
sometimes variegated with light and dark shades of 
red. They take a fine polish, and are free from the 
grains or masses of quartz and other minerals which 
sometimes exist in the older limestones. The quar- 
ries, with cheap transportation, will increase their 
depths. The eficct of this will be to bring to light 
the marble, less acted upon by the weather, at less 
cost than when large quantities of stone have to be 
quarried and thrown aside in order to get unaltered 
blocks of marble of large size. 

Carroll County is well supplied with railroad facili- 
ties. The Western Maryland Railroad was chartered 
in January, 1852, and work was commenced on it in 
July, 1857. It was completed to Union Bridge in 
1861, and to Williamsport, on the Potomac River, in 
1873. In its inception it was a Carroll County en- 
terprise, the inhabitants of that section subscribing 
for nearly all of the original stock of the company. 
William Roberts, the president, and William W. Dal- 
las, John Smith, Samuel McKinstry, J. Henry Hoppe, 
and John K. Longwell, directors, contracted with 
Messrs. Irwin, Taylor & Norris to build the road to 
Union Bridge, the contractors to receive the stock 
subscription, amounting to one hundred and sixty 
thousand dollars, and six hundred thousand dollars in 
first mortgage bonds. It was subsequently completed 
to its present terminus on the Potomac River by 
Baltimore capitalists, who were very materially aided 
by Baltimore City. The presidents of the company 
have been Robert Magraw, Nathan Haines, William 
Roberts, Augustus Shriver, Robert Irwin, John 
Smith, John Lee Chapman, Wendell Bollman, George 



', M. Bokee, Robert T. Banks, James L. McLane, 
Alexander Reiman, and the present very able and 
efficient executive, J. M. Hood. The value of this 
road to Carroll County can scarcely be overestimated. 
It passes directly through the centre of the county, 
entering Woolery District on its eastern border, and 
passing up through the northern corner, it skirts the 
southern extremity of Hamp.stead ; thence through 
the centre of Westminster District, and taking in the 
county-seat, it crosses the New Windsor District, 
passing through the town of New Windsor ; thence 
across the Union Bridge District, embracing the town 
of that name, and then along the southwestern por- 
tion of Middleburg District into Frederick County. 

1 At Bruceville, in Middleburg District, it intersects the 
Frederick and Pennsylvania Line Railroad, through 

I which Frederick City, Taneytown, and points in Penn- 
sylvania are reached. The scenery along the line of 
the road in Carroll County is exquisitely beautiful, 
and afibrds to the tourist in the summer months 

i abundant opportunities for the study of nature in her 
loveliest and most varied forms. The land through 
which it passes is fertile, productive, highly cultivated, 
and teeming with the fruits of the earth. The road 
is intersected at many points by rapid, sparkling, and 
limpid streams, which promise in the near future to 
furnish power for innumerable mills and factories. 
Already the spirit of progress has manifested itself 
Many mills have been erected along the course of the 
road, and the tanneries and ore-mines show that the 
confidence of the projectors of the enterprise was not 
misplaced. Property of every description in the 
vicinity of the railroad has greatly appreciated in 
value, and an unmistakable impetus has been given to 
all industries which the county is capable of sustain- 
ing. The stations in Carroll County are Carrollton, 
Gorsuch Road, Westminster, Avondale, Wayside, 
New Windsor, Linwood, Union Bridge, Middleburg, 
Frederick Junction, York Road (Bruceville), and 
Double Pipe Creek. 

The Bachnian's Valley Railroad begins at the 
Chestnut Hill iron ore mines, about the centie of the 
Manchester District, and runs almost due north across 
the line into Pennsylvania until it intersects the Han- 
over Branch Railroad. Immense quantities of iron 
ore are transported over this road to furnaces in 
Pennsylvania. The officers for 1881 were: President, 
Capt. A. W. Eichelberger ; Directors, Stephen Keifer, 
H. C. Shriver, Joseph Dellone, Joseph AlthoflF, C. L. 
Johnson, J. W. Gitt, Levi Dubbs, Perry Wine, Ed- 
win Thomas, Samuel Thomas, E. W. Henidele, and 
Adam Newcomer. The Hanover Railroad was built 
from Reisterstown, on the Western Maryland Rail- 



806 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



road, to Hanover in 1870. It passes tlirough Hamp- 
stead and Manchester Districts. Its oflBcers are : 
President, Capt. A. W. Eiehelberger ; Directors, 
Stephen Keifer, Mr. Meltheimer, W. H. Hoffman, 
William Slagle, Calvin C. Wooden, and J. W. Gitt. 

The Frederick and Pennsylvania Line Railroad 
runs from Frederick City, Md., through Middleburg 
and Taneytown Districts, in Carroll County, taking 
in the extreme western corner of Myers District, to 
Hanover, in Pennsylvania. It intersects the Western 
Maryland Railroad at Bruceville, in Middleburg Dis- 
trict, and furnishes several outlets for the produce of 
the remarkably fertile grain-growing and grazing 
country through which it passes. 

Prior to the building of railroads turnpikes were 
the readiest means of commercial intercourse between ' 
the great centres of trade and the outlying districts. 
So important were they considered that the policy of 
a great party in this country was to some extent based 
upon the advisability of their construction by the 
national government, and many severe contests were 
waged over this question in Congress. 

At an early period in the history of the section 
now known as Carroll County the increase in popula- 
tion and trade made it necessary to secure greater 
facilities for transportation, and in 1805 the Balti- 
more and Reisterstown Turnpike Company was char- 
tered. The capital needed for its construction, six 
hundred thousand dollars, was subscribed for by the 
merchants and capitalists of Baltimore, and in 1807 
the road was constructed through this county. It 
entered Woolery District near Finksburg, and passing 
through Westminster, connected with the Hanover 
Branch. It is sixty miles in length, including the 
latter. The goods and produce carried over this road 
in early days was immense. The large Conestoga 
wagons, so familiar to denizens of the West as 
" schooners of the desert," passed each other, hun- 
dreds in a day, on their way to and from Pittsburgh 
and Baltimore, and the jingling of bells, the cracking 
of whips, the horses gayly caparisoned, and the drivers 
in picturesque costumes constituted an animating and 
enlivening spectacle, the recollection of which occa- 
sionally excites regret in the bosoms of the old-timers, 
and arouses a fleeting wish for the populous roads and 
the good old country inns which have been so effect- 
ually superseded by the trailing smoke and lightning 
dash of the steam-engine. 

The Westminster and Hagerstown turnpike was 
begun about 1824, but before much progress had been 
made railroads had become a question of absorbing 
interest to enlightened people all over the world, and 
doubtless occasioned a lukewarmness with reference to 



pikes which materially interfered with the completion 
of the enterprise. At many points on the line sec- 
tions of road were made, but the only portion finished 
was between Westminster and Uniontown. 

The Liberty turnpike passes through the southern 
portion of the county, and there are short turnpikes 
at Union Bridge, New Windsor, and Finksburg. In 
1851, about the time that the mania for plank-roads 
was at its height in the United States, it was deter- 
mined to build one from Westminster to Emmittsburg, 
but, fortunately perhaps, it was never completed. 

The following is a correct list of the judges, county 
clerks, sheriffs. State's attorneys, registers, and sub- 
ordinate oflBcers of Carroll County since its creation 
in 1837 to this present writing : 

Judges of the Circuit Court. 
1837-52, Thomas B. Dorsey, Thomas H. Wilkmson, Nicholas 

Brewer;! 1851-64, Madison Nelson; 1864-67, John E. 

Smith; 1867-81, Oliver Miller, Edward Hammond, Wm. 

N. Hayden. 

CounUj Clerks. 
1837-41, Dr. William Willis; 1841-49, Dr. Jacob Shower 

1849-57, John B. Boyle: 1857-62, George E. Wampler 

1862-67, William A. McKellip; 1867-73, John B. Boyle 

1873-81, Dr. Frank T. Shaw. 

Sheriffs. 

1837-39, Nicholas Kelly; 1839-42, Jacob Grove; 1842-45, J. 
Henry Hoppe ; 1845-48, Lewis Trumbo; 1848-51, Han- 
son T.Webb; 1851-53, William S. Brown; 1853-55, John 
M.Yingling; 1855-57, Joseph Shaeffer; 1857-59, William 
Wilson; 1859-61, William Segafoose; 1861-63, Jeremiah 
Babylon; 1863-65, Joseph Ebaugh ; 1865-67, Jacob D. 
Hoppe; 1867-69, Thomas B. Gist; 1869-71, John Tracey; 
1871-73, George N. Fringer; 1873-75, Edward Devilbiss; 
1875-77, James W.White; 1877-79, Peter Wood; 1879- 
81, George N. Fringer. 

Court Criers. 

1837-57, James Kieffer; 1857-68, Benjamin Tingling; 1868- 
81, William S. Brown. 

State's Attorneys. 
1837-46, William P. Maulsby ; 1846, James Raymond; 1847- 

49, William N. Hayden; 1849-51, Charles W. Webster; 

1S51, A. N. Hobbs; 1852-56, Daniel L. Hoover; 1856-67, 

Charles W. Webster; 1867-71, Charles T. Reifsnider; 

1871-75, Richard B. Notment; 1875-81, David N. Hen- 

ning. 

Registers of Wills. 
1837-53, John Baumgartner; 1853-65, Joseph M. Parke; 

1865-67, Henry H. Herbaugh ; 1867-73, Joseph M. Parke; 

1873-79, Henry E. Beltz; 1879-81, J. Oliver Wadlow. 

Judges of the Orphans' Court. 
1837-39, Abraham Wampler, William Jameson, Robert Hud- 
son ; 1839-42, Nimrod Frizell, Michael Sullivan, Michael 
Barnitz; 1842-45, Michael Sullivan, Jesse Manning, John 



• Judge Charles J. Kilgour attended the first court, but was 
killed by an accident in August, and was succeeded by Judge 
Brewer. 



CARllOLL COUNTY. 



807 



B. liovlc: ISI.-.-IS, .Tncob MiUlliiiis. Willi,uii Shoi.lieiil, 
Moidecai (J. C'uukuy ; 1848-51, Basil lliiyaen, William 
Fisher, George W. Manro; 1851-55, George W. Mnnro, 
Levi Buffington, Michael Suliivan; 1855-59, Michael Sul- 
livan, Horatio Price, Tliomas S. Brown; 1859-63, Horatio 
Price, John Thomson, Joshua C. Gist; 1863-67, John 
Thomson, Joseph Schaeffer, Thomas S. Brown, Michael 
Baughman (part of 1863); 1867-70, Jacob PowJer; 1867- 
71, Levi Buffingion, Hanson T.Webb: 1870-71, Irn E. 
Crouse; 1871-79, Adam Shower, Isaac (.'. Baile; 1871-72, 
Upton Roop; 1872-79, L. P. SlingluB', Granville T. Ber- 
ing (chief justice), William Frizell, Milchour F. Ailgirc. 

Auditors to the Circuit Court as a Court of Equity. 
September term, 1837, James M. Shellman; April term, 1851, 
Abner Ncal; April term, 1862, Charles T. Reifsnider; 
Jan. 1, 1867, Augustus'D. Shaeffer; Nov. 29, 1867, John 
J. Baunigartner. 

County Surveyors. 
Charles W. Hood, Jacob Kerlinger, James Kelly, J. Henry 
Hoppe, J. William Everhart, Francis Warner, J. Henry 
Hoppo (deceased in 1S8I). 

County School Commissioners. 
Aug. 7, 1865, to April 27, 1868, Jacob H. Christ, Washington 
Senseney, Zachariah Ebaugh, Andrew K. Shriver, Joshua 
Yingling, Andrew J. Wilhelni, James V. Cresswell, Peter 
Engel; Secretary, William A. AVampler. April 27, 1863, 
to Jan. 3, 1870 (nppointed by county commissioners). 
Sterling Gait, Reuben Saylor, Isaac Winchester, L. A. J. 
Lamotte, Dr. J. W. Steele, George A. Shower, John K. 
Longwell, Lewis Green, W. P. Anderson, Jacob Sharrets, 
Peter Shriner; Joseph Davis, counsel ; Joseph M. Newson, 
secretary, treasurer, and examiner. Jan. 3, 1870, to Jan. 
3, 1872 (elected by the people), Daniel H. Rudolph, Robert 

C. McKinney, Charles H. Gilbert, Jacob H. Cranmer, W. 
N. Matthews, Dr. J. W. Steele, David T. Schaeffer, Isaac 
Winchester, Joseph B. DehoH", W. P. Anderson, Solomon 
Shepherd, Job Hibberd; Counsel, R. B. Xorment; Secre- 
tary, Treasurer, and Examiner, J. M. Newson. Jan. 3, 
1872, to 1881 (appointed by the court). Dr. William Rein- 
dollar vice R. C. McKinney, Alfred Zollickoffcr, Francis 
H. Bering, David Prugh, William Reese; Counsel, John 
E. Smith; Secretary, Treasurer, and E.xaminer, Joseph 
M. Newson. 

County Commissioners. 
1837-39, William Shepherd, Sterling Gait, John Erb, Joshua 
C. Gist, Joseph Steele, Jacob Reese, John Lamotte, Nimrod 
Gardner, Henry N. Brinkman ; 1839 to 1843, William 
Shaw, John Roop, of Joseph, Daniel Stall, Peter Hull, Eli 
Hewitt, Frederick Ritter, Jacob Shaeffer, William Houek, 
Joshua Barber; 1843-45, William Shaw, John Adelsperger, 
John Roop, Lewis Shue, Peter Hull, George Brnmwcll, Eli 
Hewitt, .James Morgan, Frederick Ritter, Jacob Shaffer, 
William Houck, Larkin Buckingham; 1845-48, Henry 
Carter, Samuel Evans, Peter Geiger, Richard Richards, 
David B. Earhsirt, David Cassell, Frederick Bauchman, 
Elias Grimes, G. W. Gorsueh; 1848-51, James Crouse, Cor- 
nelius Eaust, David Fcever, Daniel Bush, John H. Lindsey, 
George Crouse, Joseph OrendorfT, George Richards, Jr., 
Bennett Spurrier; 1851-54, James Crouse, Thomas Smith, 
George L. Little, Jacob Wiekcrt, Julius B. Berrett, 
George Crouse, Jacob Grove, George Richards, Jr., Bennett 
Spurrier; 1854-56 (now elected by the people), John 
Cover, Jonathan Dorsey, Michael Baughman; 1856-58, 
Benjamin Shunk, Jacob H. Christ, John Malehorn ; 1858- 



60, Andrew K. Shriver, Jacob Morelock, G. W. Gorsueh; 
1860-62, A. K. Shriver, H. W. Dell, Zachariah Ebaugh; 
1862-64, Benjamin Shunk, Thomas F. Shepherd, John H. 
Chew; 1861-06, same board; 1866-68, Thomas Paytitcr, 
John H. Chew, Thomas F. Shepherd; 1808-70, Josiah 
Adelsperger, Upton Roop, Jabez A. Bush; 1870-72, Jacob 
Sharretts, Josiah Adelsperger, Upton Roop; 1872-74, 
Jusephus H. Hoppe, G. K. Frank, Joseph Spurrier; 1874- 
76. M. C. McKinstry, John W. Murray, John 0. Devries; 
1876-78, s'lme board; 1878-80, Jonas S. Harner, John J. 
Abbott, Dav.d Fowble; 1880-82, J. K. Longwell, W. C. 
Polk, Francis A^arner. 

Clerks to Commissioners. 

1837-39, Othu Shipley; 1839-45, Basil Root vice Andrew 
Grammer, resigned; 1845-48, Otho Shipley; 1848-56, 
Jacob Myerly; 1856-64, James Blizzard; 1864-68, Levi 
Valentine; 1868-72, James Blizzard; 1872-78, James A. 
Bush; 1878-80, L. C. Trumbo; 1880-82, Joseph A. 
Waesche. 

Collectors of Taxes. 

1837-39, Thomas Hook; 1839-45, Tobias Cover; 1845-48, Jo- 
siah Baumgartner ; 1848-51, Richard Manning; 1851-54, 
Tobias Cover; 1856-58, S. R. Gore; 1858-60, .John T. Dif- 
fenbaugh; 1860-62, James Campbell;' 1874-78, Jabez 
Bush; 1878-30, L. C. Trumbo; 1880-82, Joseph A. 
Waesche. 

Attorneys to Commissioners. 

1837-39. James Raymond; 184.3-45, William P. Maulsby ; 1845 
-43, C. Birnie, Jr.; 1848-51, Joseph M. Parke; 1851-56, 
E. F. Croat; 1856-60, C. W. Webster; 1868-76, Charles B. 
Roberts; 1876-31, Richard B. Norment. 

Members of Con.jress. 
Peter Little, Elias Brown, Dr. Jacob Shower, Charles B. Rob- 
erts. 

Members of Constitutional Conrentions. 
1851, Elias Brown, Dr. Jacob Shower, Joseph M. Parke, A. G. 
Ege, Mordecai G. Coekey; 1864, Dr. John Swope, John 
E. Smith, Jonas Ecker, William S. Wooden; 1867, Wil- 
liam N. Hayden, George W. Manro, Thomas F. Cover, 
Sterling Gait, Benjamin W. Bennett, John K. Longwell. 

State Senators. 
1838-44, William P. Maulsby ; 1844-50, William Roberts; 1850 
-55, John K. Longwell; 1855-57, Dr. Francis T. Davis; 
1857-62, John E.Smith; 1862-64, Jacob Campbell ; 1864 
-67, Dr. James L. Billingslea ; 1867-70, Dr. Nathun Brown ; 
1870-74, John K. Longwell ; 1874-78, James Fenner Lee; 
1878-82, Henry Vanderford. 

Members of the House of Delegates. 
1837-38, Dr. Jacob Shower, James G. Berrett, John B. Boyle, 
Jacob Powder ; 1839, Joseph M. Parker, George Bramwell, 
George Crabbs, Thomas Hook; 1840, John B. Boyle, Dr. 
Jacob Shower, Samuel D. Lecompte, Daniel Stall ; 1841, 
John B. Boyle, Jacob Powder, Dr. Francis T. Davis, Daniel 
Stall; 1842, Elias Brown, Samuel D. Lecompte, Jacob 
Powder, William Shaw ; 1843, Samuel Ecker, Jacob Pow- 
der, William Shaw, Daniel Stall; 1844, James Raymond, 
John Thomson, Micajah Rogers, Joseph Ebaugh; 1345, 
Thomas Hook, James M. Shellman, Abraham Wampler ; 
1346, A. G. Ege, James M. Shellman, Upton Scott, 
Charles Devilbiss; 1847, John B. Boyle, Nicholas Kelly, 

' A collector for each district was then appointed, which sys- 
tem remained in force until 1374. 



808 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



Tobias Cover, Jacob Powder; 1849, Elias BrowD, Sam- 
uel A. Lauver, George Motter, Lewis Trumbo; ISol, 
Elijah F. Crout, Dr. J. E. H. Ligget, Daniel Stall ; 1854, 
Thomas Smith, Robert T. Dade, Josiah Baugher; 1856, 
Stephen T. C. Brown, David Buffington. John E. Smith ; 
1858, Samuel McKinstry, Milton Day, Samuel Reindollar; 
1860, Dr. B. Mill-s John W. Gorsuch, David Roop ; 1861, 
Somerset R. Waters, George Everhart, Warren L. Little 
(December session): 1862, Jonas Ecker, John N. Starr, 
Somerset R. Waters: 1864, Moses Shaw, George Everhart, 
John W. Angel, William S. Wooden, N. D. Norris : 1865, 
William A. Wampler, Benjamin Poole, James V. Criswell, 
E. F. Benton, S. R. Gore: I86S, Henry S. Davis, John H. 
Jordon, John W. Hardin, Benjamin Worthington : 1870, 
William H. Crouse, Airhart Winters, George A. Shower, 
John H. Jordon ; 1872, James H. Steele, Lewis A. J. La- 
motte, Trusten Polk, H. H. Lamotte; 1874, Henry Van- 
derford, Henry Gall, Dr. S. R. Waters, Thomas C. Brown; 
1876, Frank Brown, H. H. Lamotte, Dr. Jacob Rinehart, 
Dr. S. R. Waters; 1878, Frank T. Newbelle, T. Herbert 
Shriver, Robert Sellman, Sr., Frank Brown ; 1880, William 
T. Smith, T. Herbert Shriver, Robert Sellman, Sr., Benja- 
min F. Crouse ; 1882, Henry Gait, Edward W. Leeds, David 

A. C. Webster, Joseph W. Berret. 

MUcellalieoui, Officials in 1881. 
Assistant School Examiner, Orlando Reese ; Deputy County 
Clerks, George A. Miller, N. Bruce Boyle, James A, Diifen- 
baugh ; Deputy Register uf Wills, George M. Parke. 

Justices of the Peace in Carroll Countij giiice its Organization 
as ,1 Counly—When Appointed or Elected. 

1839, John Manning, Basil Root, James Keefer, John C. Kethy, 
Adam Fieser, Michael Smith, Josiah Shilling, Henry 
Drach, Jonathan Dorsey, Jacob Wickert, Thomas B. 
Owings, Wilton Burdett, John Jones, of John, Michael 
Lynch, .John Kerlinger, John F. Reese, Charles Denning, 
Jacob Farver, Thomas Ingels, George W. Manro; 1840, J. 
Henry Hoppe; 1841, Jabez Gore, Jesse Brain, John Lock- 
ard : 1842, Benjamin Williams, Samuel Moffett, Jabez 
Gore, Thomas J. Carter, J. Henry Hoppe, John Potherer, 
Jacob Grove, Abraham Larnott, Josiah Shilling, George 
Williams: \U'A, Thomas Grisley, John Malehorn, Jacob 
Kerlinger, John Rinehart, Samuel Lamott, James Heind, 
David Roop, Basil Hayden : 1844, Jacob Myerly, Julius 

B. Berret, Elijah Woolery, Michael Smith ; 1845, Otho 
Shipley, James Smith, Benjamin Shook, John Lochitz, 
Washington Van Bibber, Isaac Dern, Jeremiah Bartho- 
low, Daniel Stonesifer, William Ecker, James Kelly, David 

C. Frankforter, George D. Klinefelter, Abraham Bixler, 
Henry H. Herbaugh, Stephen Oursler, Ximrod Stevenson, 
Charles Devilbiss, Abraham England, James McKellip, 
John K. Longwell, Henry V. Buchen, Richard A. Kirk- 
wood, Jacob Stone, Archibald Dorsey, Frank Tingling, 
Joshua H. Shipley, Zachariah Ebaugh, James Douty, 
John Hood. Jr., Solomon Stocksdale, Geo. E. Wampler, 
Richard Owings, Charles Stevenson, William Shaw, Wash- 
ington Barnes, Samuel Swarmstedt, Warren L. Little, 
Alexander Gilliss, Nicholas Dorsey, Thomas Hook, Hora- 
tio F. Bardwell, David B. Earhart, Moses Myers, Joshua 
Smith, G. Ogg, Henry Stamf; 1846, John Leatherwood, 
James Rodgers, Jonathan Morris, David Kephart, Wm. 
Jordan, John Delaplane, Peter E. Myers, Thomas 
W. Durbin, Daniel Banker, Joshua Stansbury, Jacob 
Zumbrun, Franklin J. Smith ; 1847, Geo. W. Wilson, Ste- 
phen Gorsuch; 1S4S, Jabez Gore, Jacob Grove, Jacob 



Myerly, Joseph Gernand, George Everhart, James Baker, 
J. Henry Hoppe, Geo. W. Manro, Jonathan Dorsey, Ell 
Hewitt, George Foster, William Fisher, Thomas Hook, 
George Miller, Daniel L. Hoover, Samuel A. Lauver, 
Daniel J. Geiman, D. F. Lamott, Thos. S. Brown, John 
Mouss, Geo. L. Little, Michael Sullivan, David Bussard, 
Samuel Mcssinger, Michael Smith, Kelpher Crawmer, Ju- 
lius B. Berrett, Francis J. Crawford, D. W. Houck, John 

C. Price, Charles Denning, Jacob Kerlinger, Joseph Spur- 
rier, George Bramwell, William Lockard, George P. Al- 
baugh, Joseph Creager, John Rinehard, Thos. B. Bucking- 
ham, George Williams, Jesse Planning, David Bussard, 
James Rodgers. William Tagg, Samuel Messinger, Geo. 
W. Daniel, Peter B. Mikesell, David Hope, Richard Har- 
ris, Larkin Buckingham; 1849, Michael Sullivan, Joseph 
Stonesifer; 1850, David Wolf, Geo. L. Little, Jacob Wic- 
kert, Michael Smith, D. F. Lamott, John Rinehart, Charles 
Dunning. David Bussard, Elijah Woolery, D. W. Houck, 
George Foster; 1851, John W. McAllister; 1852, Jacob 
Myers, Jesse Manning, J. Henry Hoppe, David Wolf, 
Wm. Jordan, David Feeser, James Rodgers, John Mauss, 
Eli Hewitt, George Miller, William Tagg, James Baker, 
Jacob Kerlinger, Larkin Buckingham, George Foster, 
Basil Hayden, William Fisher, George Everhart, Thos. B. 
Owings, George Ogg, Joseph Spurrier, John W. McAlister, 
George Bramwell, D. F. Lamott, Thos. S. Brown, Kelpher 
Crawmer, Joshua Lamott, Peter B. Mikesell, Henry W. 
Deel, Henry H. Herbaugh, E. L. Crawford, David Hape, 
Richard Harris, John C. Price; 1853, Jesse Hollingsworth, 

D. W. Houck, Richard Deel, Mordecai G. Cockey, Benj. 
Shunk, J. Henry Hoppe, David B. E^irhart, Wm. Gens- 
fribe. Jesse Manning, Wm. A. Wampler. Ch.arlcs Denning, 
James McKellip, AVm. Haugh, AVm. R. Currey, Wm. Wal- 
ter, Jacob Kerlinger, Richard Harris, John U. Price, F. 0. 
Franklin, H. II. Herbaugh, John Koontz. Isaac Dern, 
David Otto, Joshua Switzer, John Hood, Thomas B. 
Owings, Alex. Gilliss, Abraham Lamott; 1854, Bennett 
Spurrier ; 1855, Wm. Walter, Henry Fleagle, George Mil- 
ler, Jiicob Kerlinger, Henry Motter, John Fowble, of Jacob, 
Edwin A. Atlce, W. A. Wampler, J.acob Shurve, Abraham 
Albaugh, H. H. Herbaugh, Reuben Conaway, Mordecai G. 
Cockey, Aquila Pickett, J. Henry Hoppe, A. H. Jenkins, 
Geo. Richards, John T. Lowe, Joseph Matthias, David 
Otto, Nathan Gorsuch, Nicholas D. Norris, M. B. L. Bas- 
sard, John Delaplane, Wm. Crouse, Elijah Woolery, Daniel 
Stonesifer, Geo. L. Little: 1856, Daniel L. Hoover, John 
C. Price; 1857, J.Henry Hoppe, F. O.Franklin, Wm. 
Crouse, David B. Flegal. M. G. Cockey, Hanson M. Drach, 
Joseph Matthias, Reuben Conaway, Aquila Pickett, Ben- 
jamin W. Bennett, N. D. Norris, W. G. Shipley, Peter B. 
Mikesell, Daniel Stonesifer, Henry Glaze, Jesse B. Christ, 
F. A. Switzer, Elijah Woolery, Benj. Shunk, Geo. Miller, 
Frederick H. Crabbs, John C. Price, Wm. Haugh, Geo. 
Richards, Jr., Wm. Walter, Abraham Albaugh, John Dela- 
plane, Nathan Gorsuch, D.Otto, H. H. Herbaugh, H. Geatty; 
1859, E. A. Atlee, Joseph Mathias, A. S. Tentz. W. A. Wam- 
pler, James Lockard, J. Henry Hoppe, Wm. Walter, H. M. 
Drach, D. B. Flegal, John T. Young, Henry Motter, John 
Mauss, P. B. Mikesell, Jacob Zumbrun, Jacob Shriver, 
Benjamin Shunk, John Delaplane, Samuel A. Lauver, 
Aquila Pickett, W. G. Shipley, John C. Price, William 
Crouse, Joshua Switzer, F. A. Switzer, M. G. Cockey, H. 
H. Herbaugh, Jesse Braun, Israel Norris, Evan Thomp- 
son; 1861, J. Washington Cochr.tn, Joseph Mathias, W. A. 
Wampler, John Hesson, Emanuel Gernand, John Mauss, 
Jacob D. Hopple, John Delaplane, William Lockard, H. 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



809 



H. Herbaugh, John G. Way?, M. G. Cockey. William Lens- 
field, J. William Everhart, Nathan Gorsiich, E, A. Atlee, 
George P. Albaugh, George Miller, John Fultz, Jacob Zum- 
brun, Joshua S>?itzcr, John T. Young, AVilliam llaugh, 
Henry Motter, A. Pickett, Eli Hewitt. John C. Price, Jet- 
son L. Gill, D. B. Flegal, Thomas Tipton, Solomon S. 
Ecker, AVilliam Fisher: 1863, William Tensfield, W. J. 
Mitten. .Joseph Mathias, William E. Shriner, Richard Har- 
ris, George Miller, William Haugh, Amon Brice, Aquila 
Pickett, John Hesson, .loseph Briimmcl, Joseph H. Gilliss, 
J. C. Price, Henry Frack, H. II. Ilerbaugh, J. W. Cochran, 
Nathan Gorsuch, S. B. Stocksdale, Thomas Tipton. Levi 
U. Frock, Eli Hewitt, George E. Buckingham, John Dela- 
plane, William Fisher, Henry Motter, Francis Warner, 
Joshua Switzer, Solomon S. EcUer, John Mauss; 1S64, 
William Lockard, George E. Buckingham; 1S65, John S. 
Wampler, William Lockard, Benjamin Shunk, James 
Kelly, William llaugh, George Miller. John T. Ways, J. 
Williams, D. E. Earhart, David Otto, J. William Everhart, 
Thomas Tipton, Henry Glaze, Aquila Pickett, George E. 
Wampler, Joshua Switzer, Joshua Gain, J. L. Gill. Peter 
A. Shipley, John Hesson, .Solomon S. Ecker, John Fultz, 
John W. Cochran, Nicholas S. F. Harden, Eli Hewitt, 
Michael Babylon,- 1806, George E. Wampler, J. L. Gill, 
Thomas Demoss. Michael Babylon, Joshua Cain, Peter 
Bitter; 1867, John W. McAlister, John Lauiott, Cornelius 
Jenkins, William Fisher, Henry Gait, W. H. Stocksdale, 
Levi Yingling, Joshua Cain, Francis Warner, John Maus, 
Nathan Gorsuch, Azariah Oursler, A. Neal, Stephen Gor- 
sueh, W. J. Milten, J. Henry Hoppc, Eli Hewitt, John W. 
.Tones, D. H. Iloffacker, J. B. Summers, William T. Smith, 
J. Oliver Wadlow, Henry Bussard. Henry Motter, David 
Otto, Michael Babylon; 1868, Peter B Mikesell, William 
Fisher, W. L. Tracy, Henry Gait, Simon Bange, Charles 
Denning, Joshua .Switzer, Joshua Cain, W. H. Stocksdale, 
W. T. Smith, Levi Yingling, C. W. Hood, Henry Bussard, 
J. W. McAlister. Chiirles .Sykes, David Otto. John Lamott, 
J. Henry Hoppe, J. B. Summers, W. J. Mitten, .John 
Maus, J. Oliver Wadlow, C. Jenkins, Henry Motter, J. 
W. Jones, A. Neal, Nathan Gorsuch, Thomas B. Bucking- 
ham, G. W. Gilbert; 1870, W. L. Tracy, G. A. Flicking, 
G. W. Gilbert. C. W. Hood, A. Oursler. N. Gorsuch,. Henry 
Bussard, William Fisher, T. C. Jenkins, W. G. Byers, J. 
Henry Hoppe, J. Oliver Wadlow, Stephen Gorsuehj Wil- 
liam T. Smith, W. H. Stocksdale, Henry Motter, John W. 
Jones, Henry Gait, Thomas B. Buckingham, George L. 
Stocksdale. J. B. Dehoff, John W. McAlister, A.J. Houck, 
P. B. Mikesell, Charles Denning, E. Legore, W. J. Mitten, 
A. Neal, Joshua Switzer, .\ndrew Grauinier; 1872, Ezra 
Legore, Stephen Gorsuch, Henry (!alt, William Fisher, J. 
William Everhart, C. Jenkins, William J. Mitten, Abner 
Neal, Joshua Switzer, J. Oliver Wadlow, AVilliam T.Smith, 
William L. Tracy, Azarinh Oursler, George A. Flickinger, 
Henry Motter, A. J. Houek, Henry Bussard, Charles W. 
Hood, James Morgan, William Stocksdale, Nathan Gor- 
such, Peter B. Mikesell, Thomas B. Buckingham, George 
L. Stocksdale, George W. Gilbert, Samuel Shunck ; 187.3, 
John W. Abbott; 1S74, Charles W. Hood, James Morgan, 
S. B. Stocksdale, Henry Gait. Joel Brown, J. Henry Hoppo, 
J. F. Malehorn, J. Oliver Wadlow, Charles Denning, Lewis 
Dielman, William T. Smith, Henry Motter, Joshua Switzer, 
Ezra Legore, William J. Mitten. William L. Tracy, (i. A. 
Flickinger, A. Oursler, Jacob P. Baltover, J. W. Abbott, 
Eli Erb, Vincent Brown, G. W. Gilbert, C. W. Hood, J. B. 
Summers, Thomas B. Buckinghain, Abner Neal, Stephen 
Gorsuch, Peter B. Mikesell, William H. Grouse, Samuel 



Shunk, Henry A. MoAtee; 1875, Francis Warner; 1876, 
J. P. Baltozer, Francis Warner, Louis Dielman, G. A. 
Flickinger, Joab Brown, John B. Summers, W. T. Smith, 
Joshua Switzer, W. H. Fogle, G. W. Matthews, Jesse A. 
Legore, Samuel Messinger. J. K. Kearney, Thomas Tipton, 
W. J. Mitten, J. Henry Hoppc. li. W. Crapster, J. E. 
Ward, A. Oursler, James Morgan, J. W. Abbott, J. Oliver 
Wadlow. Charles Denning, Henry Gait, Stephen tiorsuch, 
Henry Motter, William Fisher, Dr. H. M. Drach, J. E. 
Christ, John Elgcn. Howard Mctiill, Isaiah Hann, C. W. 
Hood, G. F. Y'ingling, Thomas Jones, Charles R. Favour; 
1877. Richard Dell; 1878, Jacob P. Baltozer, .Samuel S. 
Spalding, Dr. 11. M. Drach, Peter B. Mikesell, Azariah 
Oursler, J. Henry Hoppe, J. U. Legore, J. H. Knipple, G. 

A. Flickinger, Henry Gait, Louis Dielman, W. J. Mitten, 
Joab Brown, John W. Abbott, P. Bennett, William Fisher, 
Gustavus W. Crapster, H. McGill. Thomas Jones, Thomas 

B. Buckingham, J. B. Summers. Francis Warner, John 
Elgcn, James Morgan, J. K. Kearney, J. Bowman, Isaiah 
Hann, Daniel E. Christ, William T. Smith. J. Oliver Wad- 
low, W. H. Stocksdale, Richard Dell, Henry Motter, Thomas 
Tipton, Nathan Gorsuch, John P. Fowler, Charles R. 
Favour, D. Calvin Warner, J. Frank Shipley ; 1880, Joab 
Brown, Henry Gait, Azariah Oursler, J. P. Baltozer, Wil- 
liam Fisher, James C. Davis, S.S. Spalding, Richard Dell, 
Thomas Tipton, John W. Abbott, Dr. Hanson, M. Drach, 
Louis Dieliuan. Thomas Jones. William J. Mitten, S. H. 
Hofl'acker, G. W. Crapster, John Burguon, E. E. Lovell, 
John Elgcn, Ira E. Crouse, John P. Fowler, Thomas B. 
Buckingham, Peter B. Mikesell, Henry Motter, John Bow- 
man, D. Calvin Warner, W. H. Stocksdale, J. Henry Knip- 
ple, Charles R. Favour, Nathan Gorsuch, J. F. Shipley, J. 
K. Kearney, John B. Summers, David H. Rciudollar, Jesse 
F. Billuiyer, Henry Crook; 1881, Joseph Arnold, Andrew 
J. Dougherty. 

liei/iuWra ,>/ Volcrg. 

1866-67.— 1st District, W. A. Hiteshue, Washington Gait; 2d, 
J. H. Jordan; :!d, Peter E. Myers, Abraham Long; 4th, 
Thomas Gorsuch ; 5th, Jesse Hollingsworth ; 6th, Jacob 
Linaweaver ; 7th, Benjamin Williams, George W. Shriver; 
8th, Richard Harris; 9th, Abraham Albaugh; 10th, David 
Otts ; nth, Jesse Lambert. 

1868.— R. B. Warden, W. H. Lamott, John M. Yingling, Abra- 
ham Albaugh, George Shower, S. G. Harden, W. A. Hites- 
hue, Pttcr E. Mj-ers, Jeremiah Malshorn, Jesse Lambert, 
William Valentine, G. M'. Crapster. 

1869.— Uriah B. Mikesell. 

1870.— Jesse Lambert, G. W. Cr.npster, W. H. Lamott. Abra- 
ham Albaugh, George Shower. William H. Hull, Uriah B. 
Mikesell, John R. Haines, William Valentine, Samuel G. 
Harden, Jeremiah Malshorn. 

1871.— 8th District, Jacob Coltrider. 

1872.— 1st District, G. W. Crapster: 2d, John R. Haines: U, 
Eli Erb: 4th, William H. Lamott: 5th, S. D. WarBeld ; 
6th, George Shower; :th, Uriah B. Mikesell; 8th, Jacob 
Coltrider: 9th, Abraham Albaugh; 10th, William Valen- 
tine; II lb, Jesse Lambert; 12th, John Ilartsnck. 

1873.— 7th District, Lee McElroy. 

1874.— 1st District, William Fisher; 2d, John R. Haines; .3d, 
Jonas Frock; 4th, Daniel Ebaugh ; 5th, SurraU D. War- 
field : 6th, George Shower; 7th, Lee McElroy; 8th, Jacob 
Coltrider; 9th, Abraham Albaugh ; 10th, Levi Buffington ; 
nth. Jesse Lambert; 12th, John Hartsock. 

1876.— 1st District, William L. Rudisel : 2d, John R. Haines; 
3d, Jonas Frock : 4th, Daniel Ebaugh ; 5th, Samuel S. 
Spalding ; 6th, George Shower ; 7th, Lee McElroy ; 8th, 



810 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



Francis L. Hann ; 9th, Abraham Albaugh ; 10th, John 

Shunk; 11 tb, Jesse Lambert ; 12th, John Hartsock. 
1877.— 4th District, Noah Stocksdale. 
1878.— 1st District, W. L. Rudiscl ; 2d, John R. Haines; 3d, 

Jonas Frock; 4th, Noah Stocksdale: 5th, Dr. Joseph W. 

Steele: 6th, George Shower; 7th, Lee McElroy, G. W. 

Matthews; 8th, Francis L. Hann: 9th, Abraham Albaugh; 

10th, John Shunk; 11th, Jesse Lambert; 12th, John 

Hartsock. 
1880.— 1st District, Charles A. Waesche; 2d, John R. Haines; 

3d, Willinm G. Byers ; 4th, John Frick ; oth. Dr. J. W. 

Steele; 6ih, George Shower; 7th, George W. .Matthews; 

8th, James W. Hann; 9th, Lewis C. Franklin; 10th, John 

Shunk: 11th, Jesse Lambert; 12th, John Hartsock. 

Tax Collectors. 

1866.— 1st District, Samuel T. Clingan ; 2d, T. H. Routson ; 3d, 
Benjamin Hesson ; 4th, Stephen Oursler; oth, William D. 
Frizzell ; 7th, Henry Shreev ; 8th, David Grogg ; 9th, John 
Hood; 10th, John Root; 11th, Mordeeai Engler. 

1867.— 1st District, S. T. Cling.an ; 2d, T. H. Routson; 3d, 
Benjamin Hesson; 4th, Stephen Oursler; oth, W. T. Friz- 
zell; 6th, Jesse Schultz; 7th, Henry Shreev; 8th, David 
Grogg; 10th, Jacob Shriner; 11th, Mordeeai Engler. 

1868. — 7th District, Jacob Holmes; 8th, Benjamin Jackson; 
9th, Joseph Spurrier; Edward Spalding, Henry T. Eck, 
Niithan Hanna, G. K. Frank, Samuel A. Lauver, James 
Gilbert, James White, Freeborn Gardner, Edward Spald- 
ing. 

1869. — Henry T. Eck, James Gilbert, Freeborn Gardner, Na- 
than Hanna, Samuel A. Lauver, Benjamin Jackson, James 
W. White, George K. Frank, Jacob Holmes, Edward Spal- 
ding, Joseph Spurrier. 

1870.— 1st District, A. F. Arndorff; 2d, James Gilbert; 3d, W. 
T. Feeser; 4th, Samuel A. Lauver; 5th, Freeborn Gard- 
ner : 6th, George K. Frank ; 7th, Jacob Holmes ; 8th, Ben- 
jamin Jackson; 9th, Joseph Spurrier; 10th, William A. 
Grimes; 11th, D. W. Snader. 

1871. — Same, excepting Isaiah Hann in 10th and John N. 
Selby in 9th, vice Grimes and Spurrier. 

1872. — 1st District, Edward Spalding; 2d, Dennis Cookson ; 
4th, Jesse Long: Oth, John J. Abbott; 7tb, George P. Al- 
baugh ; Sth, Benjamin Jackson ; 9th, John N. Selby ; 10th, 
Isaiah Hann. 

1873.— 1 St District, Edw.ard Spalding; 2d, Dennis Cookson; 
3d, Daniel Myers; 4th, Jesse Long; 5th, Freeborn Gard- 
ner; 6th, John J. Abbott; 8th, Benjamin Jackson; 9th, 
Henry S. Davis; 10th, Isaiah Hann; 11th, D. W. Snader. 

1S74.— 1st District, Edward Spalding; 2d, J. Hamilton Singer; 
3d, Daniel Myers; 4th, Jesse Long; 5th, Freeborn Gard- 
ner; Oth, Joseph Weimer; 7th, George P. Albaugh; Sth, 
W. H. Armacost; 10th, Jacob Sharretts; 11th, D. W. 
Snader. 

1875.— 1st District, Edward Spalding; 2d, J. H. Singer; 3d, 
Daniel Myers; 4th, Jesse Long; Oth, Joseph W'eimer; 7th, 
G. P. Albaugh; Sth, J. Thomiis Green; 9th, Byron S. 
Dorsey; 10th, Jacob Sharretts; 11th, D. W. Snader. 

1876. — 1st District, Edward Spalding; 2d, J. H. Singer; 3d, 
Daniel Myers; Sth, Freeborn Gardner; 6th, Joseph Wei- 
mer; 7th, G. P. Albaugh; Sth, J. Thomas Green; 9th, 
Byron S. Dorsey; 11th, Joseph A. Waesche. 

1877. — 1st District, Washington Reaver; 2d, J. H. Singer; 3d, 
Daniel Myers; 4th, Jesse Long; 5lh, 11. H. Wadlow; 6th, 
Joseph Weimer; 7th, G. P. Albaugh ; Sth, Isaac T. Green ; 
9th, B. S. Dorsey; 10th, Jacob Sharretts; Uth, J. A. 
Waesche. 



1878. — 1st District, W. Heaver; 2d, Benjamin Reaver; Sth, G. 
W. Manro; 6th, G. K. Frank; 7th, W. 6. Rineh.art; Sth, 
Isaac T. Green; 9th, B. S. Dorsey; ipth, J. H. Diffendal; 
11th, J. A. Waesche; 12th, George P. Buckley. 

1879.— 1st District, W. Reaver; 2d, Benjamin Reaver; 3d, 
Daniel Myers; 4th, Jesse Long; 5th, G. W. Manro; 6th, 
G. K. Frank ; 7th, W. G. Rinehart ; Sth, J. T. Green ; 9th, 
B. S. Dorsey; 10th, J. H. Diffendal; llth, J. A. Waesche ; 
12th, G. P. Buckley. 

1880-81.— Same, save D. P. Smelzer in llth. 

It is sometimes interesting to glance over the results 
of successive elections held during a given period and 
to note the gradual changes effected in public senti- 
ment by the lapse of time, the march of enlighten- 
ment, or the happening of exciting events which 
exert an influence on the minds of electors. A philo- 
sophic study of such statistics will enable a careful 
student to evolve the outline of the history of a 
people, the bent of their minds, and even their char- 
acter and habits. 

The names of the principal candidates for office 
at every prominent election held in Carroll County 
since 18-t7 to the present time (1881) is given below, 
together with the number of votes cast for each can- 
didate : 

Gubenmtorial Vote, 1S47. 



Districts. 



Francis Thomas. Goldsborougli. 

(Democrat.) (Wl.ig.) 

Taneytown 203 296 

Uniontown 261 358 

Myers' 205 79 

Woolery's 195 94 

Freedom 106 208 

Manchester 352 72 

Westminster 262 203 

Hampstiad 159 64 

Franklin 109 150 



Total 1S54: 



Vote for Delegates, 1S47. 



1524 



Boyle.... 

Ege 

Powder.. 
Ecker.... 



1831 
1493 
1791 
1538 



Kelly 1785 

Hood 1465 

Cover 1512 

Wampler 1513 



Third Coiigr. 



at District. 
Ligon. 



Baltimore County 2401 

Five Wards of Baltimore 2509 

Howard District 726 

Carroll County ISOl 

Total 7447 



Phil pot 
1902 
1612 
661 
1531 

5706 



Districts. 



Vote for Sheriff, 1848. 

Sullivan. Gore. Webb. Earhart. Bishop 

(Democrat.) (Dem.) (Whig) (Whig) (lud.) 

T.aneytown 132 173 261 186 5 

Uniontown 148 166 324 114 14 

Myers' 117 109 79 124 5 

Finkshurg 122 163 131 28 19 

Freedom 37 95 249 103 7 

Manchester 286 246 60 28 5 

Westmin.-ter 222 237 200 70 10 

Hampstead 119 115 73 10 29 

Franklin 95 78 131 59 2 



Total. 



1278 



1382 1508 



722 



96 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



811 



Vote for President, 1848. 

Districts. Lewis Cass. Zachary Taylor. 

Tane.Ttown 195 318 

Uniontown 208 37:i 

Myers" 181 100 

Woolery's 142 1.^4 

Freedom 8S 258 

MnnchesTer.r. 362 75 

Westminster 245 262 

Hampsleod 154 73 

Franldin 97 170 

Total 1672 1763 



GuhmiatorUd and Senatorial Vole, 1850. 

Governor. Senator. 

Districts. Clarli. Lowe. Langwell. Liggett. 
(Wljig.) (Democrat.) (Wliig.) (Democrat.) 

Tnneytown 321 162 293 189 

Uniontown 358 218 357 217 

Myers' 80 157 82 155 

Woolery's 116 155 120 149 

Freedom 215 88 221 80 

Manchester 79 361 SO 359 

Westminster 261 250 2S8 226 

HamiJStead 77 146 81 140 

Franklin 157 74 160 71 

Total 1664 1611 1682 1586 



Vote for Delegates to ConstUutwnnl Convention, 1850. 

Democratic Ticket. 

Districts. Cockey. Brown. Edge. Parke. . Shower. 

Taneytown.. 273 268 328 288 283 

Uniontown.. 171 135 190 185 180 

Myers' 114 100 116 115 113 

Woolery's.... 153 126 135 133 134 

Freedom 74 61 65 66 70 

Manchester. 273 271 273 280 282 

Westminster 225 197 220 232 217 

Hampstead.. 117 112 115 116 119 

Franklin 51 41 31 64 68 

Total 1431 1309 1473 1479 1466 





Wh 


ig Ticket. 






Districts. Wampler. 


Ecker. 


Swope. 


Frank- 
foiter. 


Grimes 


Taneytown.. 


96 


98 


134 


79 


91 


Uniontown.. 


230 


287 


236 


239 


232 


Myers' 


48 


54 


45 


50 


48 


Woolery's.... 


97 


93 


90 


85 


90 


Freedom 


154 


161 


161 


156 


166 


Manchester. 


61 


59 


60 


81 


56 


Westminster 


236 


222 


221 


218 


225 


Hampftead.. 


50 


48 


45 


46 


45 


Franklin 


114 


142 


128 


127 


157 


Total 


10S6 


1164 


1117 


1081 


1110 



Vole on the Adoption of the New Conatitiitiun, June 4, 1851. 

Districts. For. Against. 

Taneytown 227 124 

Uniontown 145 274 

Myers' 90 97 

Woolery's 205 39 

Freedom 73 201 

Manchester 287 37 

Westminster 227 162 

Hampstead 151 40 

Franklin 66 121 

Total 1071 1095 



Vote for Congresamati, Oct, 1, 1851. 

-.. ^ . . nammond. Lynch. 

I'""'"'"- (Democrat.) (Whig.) 

Taneytown 1S5 100 

Uniontown 112 80 

Myers' 158 27 

Woolery's 94 6 

Freedom _ 59 89 

Manchester 253 33 

AVestminster 191 131 

Hampstead 211 

Franklin 115 86 

Total 1378 652 

Vo(c/or State Comptroller, Nnremher, 1851. 

,,..., P. F. Thomas. G. C. Morgan. 

'''^"'"=''- (Democrat.) (Whig.) 

Taneytown 246 277 

Uniontown 250 370 

Myers' 204 89 

Woolery's 170 128 

Freedom 82 206 

Manchester 317 90 

Westminster 269 269 

Hampstead 170 73 

Franklin 87 146 

Total 1795 1654 

For Court of Appeals, John T. Ma.son 1604, Fred'k A. Schley 

1672. 
For Circuit Judge, Madison Nelson 1732, R. H. Marshall 865, 

W. M. Merrick 153, J. M. Palmer 724. 
For Clerk of Court, John B. Boyle 1882, John McCollum 1596. 
For Sheriff, W. S. Brown 2199, S. J. Jordan 1491, Otho Shipley 

973. 
For Register of Wills, Joseph M. Parke 1607, J. J. Baumgard- 

ner 1902. 
For State's Attorney, D. L. Hoover 1807, C. W. Webster 1543. 
For Orphans' Court, M. Sullivan 1707, G. W. Manro 1800, Levi 
Bulfington 1784, J. C. Gist 1398, H. Price 1493, John 
Thomson 1362, D. B. Earhart 214, B. Ilayden 378. 
For Assembly, E. F. Crout 1730, D. Stull 1702, J. E. H. Ligget 
1793, Thos. Hook 1505, E. G. Co.\ 1346, G. E. AVampler 
1668, B. R. Booth 234, A. Lamott 300. 
For Surveyor, J. Henry Hoppe 1582, James Kelly 1828. 
Vote for President, 1S52. 
Districts. Pierce. Scott. 

Taneytown 153 236 

Uniontown 244 341 

Myers' 201 79 

Woolery's 182 103 

Freedom 94 236 

Manchester 423 89 

Westminster 279 252 

Hampstead 166 83 

Franklin 108 163 

Middleburg 69 120 

Total 1019 1702 

Vote for School Cominiieionere, Nov. 3, 1852. 



Taneytown 62 59 63 101 

Uniontown 54 17 51 37 

Myers' 85 40 52 9 

Woolery's 56 59 54 2 

Freedom 25 30 25 28 

Manchester 1D2 104 104 14 

Westminster 96 99 100 73 

Hampstead 25 24 24 20 

Franklin 28 29 29 17 

Middleburg 19 14 21 30 

Total 552 475 523 331 

Average Democratic majority 193. 



60 


$8.62 


31 


5.00 


72 


.20 


1 


4.75 


27 


1.78 


14 


5.00 


74 


13.34 


7 


6.00 


19 


1.32 


18 


2.05 


323 


$48.07 



812 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



Gubernatorial Vote, 1853. 

T,. . ■ , T. Vf. Ligon. 

D's'no's- (Democrat.) 

Taneytown 1.36 

Uniontown 2S9 

Myers' 216 

Woolery's 202 

Freedom 100 

Manchester 410 

Westminster 300 

Hampstead 180 

Franklin 134 

Middleburg 79 

Total 2046 



K. J. Bowie. 
(Whig.) 
221 
329 
91 
121 
202 



184 
103 



1702 



For Congress, Dr. Jacob Shower 2053, John Wethered 1654. 
For Delegates, Josiah L. Baugher 1882, Thomas Smith 1909, 

Robert Dade 1 9 1 8, G eorge E. Wampl er 1 859, Joseph Ebaugh 

1744, Stephen Oursler 1648. 
For Register of Wills, J.J. Baumgardner 1782, J. M. Parke 

1903. 
For Sheriff, J. M. Yingiing 2077, S. J. Jordan 1751. 
For School Commissioners, Samuel Ecker 1669, J. H. Shipley 

1498,J. W. Earhart 1730, J. C. Cookson 2009, A. K. Shriver 

2061, Jacob Holmes 2011. 
For County Commissioners, J. B. ChenoWith 1731, J. C. Gist 

1780, John Cover 1853, Michael Baughman 2038, Jona- 
than Dorscy 1927, Isaac Appier 1726. 

Vote/or Slate Comptroller, 1855. 

_. . . , W. H. Purnell. W. W. W. Bowie. 

I*'""'^'«- (Americau.) (Democrat.) 

Tanevtown 249 134 

Uniontown 487 180 

Myers- 110 183 

Woolery's 216 119 

Freedom 306 85 

Manchester 103 444 

Westminster 303 313 

Hampstead 123 146 

Fnanklin 221 134 

Middleburg 134 73 

Total 2252 1811 

Presidential Vnte, 1856. 

Districts. Buchanan. Fillmore. 

Taneytown 147 270 

Uniontown 154 343 

Myers' 227 113 

Woolery's 175 207 

Freedom 105 314 

Mancliester 494 122 

Westminster 334 274 

Hampstead 171 133 

Franklin 99 195 

Middleburg 71 ' 156 

New Windsor 122 221 

Total 2099 2348 



Ihilernatorial Vote, 1857. 

_. . . . J. C. Groome. 

»'«'"'=«''■ (Democrat.) 

Taneytown 161 

Uniontown 165 

Myers' 230 

Finksburg 186 

Freedom 118 

Manchester 502 

Westminster 336 

Hampstead 186 

Franklin 107 

Middleburg 74 

New Windsor 114 

Total 2176 



260 
343 
108 
207 
294 
135 
270 
126 
204 
145 
224 



Fo(e/or State Comptroller, 1859. 

„. . . A. L. Jarrett. W. H. Puruell. 

I""™«»- (Democrat.) (American.) 

Taneytown 157 279 

Uniontown 176 351 

Myers' 252 106 

Finksburg 220 208 

Freedom 139 290 

Manchester 501 139 

Westminster 373 324 

Hampstead 184 132 

Franklin 122 186 

Middleburg 73 165 

New Windsor 128 228 

Total 2325 2408 

For County Officers. 
Sheriff, William Legafoosc 2417, M. F. Shilling 2319. 
State's Attorney, Edmund O'Brien 2322, C. W. Webster 2333. 
Register of Wills, J. M. Parke 2435, Jacob Campbell 2293. 
Judges of Orphans' Court, D. S. Herring 2301, G. W. Manro 
2314, Jonas Ecker 2361, John Thompson 2393, J. C. Gist 
2376, Horatio Price 2401. 

Presidential Vote, 1860. 
Districts. Breckenridge. Bell. Douglas. Lincoln. 

Taneytown 126 289 18 7 

Uniontown 155 292 6 36 

Myers' 209 100 7 1 

Woolery's 110 189 59 

Freedom 95 323 26 1 

Manchester 431 137 49 

Westminster 247 295 85 9 

Hampstead 133 133 47 

Franklin 109 171 18 

Middleburg 60 152 11 4 

New Windsor 122 214 8 1 

Total 1797 2295 334 59 

Gubernatorial Vote, 1861. 

AW. Bradford. ^ ^ toward. 
Districts. (Republican (Democrat.) 

Taneytown 375 94 

Uniontown 452 86 

Myers' 195 172 

Woolery's 268 184 

Freedom 398 98 

Manchester 319 323 

Westminster 478 245 

Hampstead 215 113 

Franklin 259 68 

Middleburg 188 45 

New Windsor 260 94 

Total 3405 1522 

Vote for County Commissioners. 
Benjamin Shunk 3371, Thomas F. Shepherd 3348, John H. 
Chew 3376, H. S. Davis 1531, Samuel A. Lauver 1568, 
George K. Frank 1522. 

Vote/or Comptroller of Stale, 1863. 

HH. Golds- s s jiafflt. 

Disl'icts. i'"™"f ,, (Unionist.) 

(Independent.) '^ ' 

Tanevtown 268 147 

Uniontown 294 86 

Myers' 10 275 

Finksburg 61 299 

Freedom 232 13 

Manchester 97 257 

Westminster lOS 501 

Hampstead 135 134 

Franklin 106 83 

Middleliurg 133 37 

New Windsor 177 80 

Total 1617 1912 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



813 



Vole for Sheriff. 

Joseph Ebaugh 2054, J. M. Yingling 1406, R. W. Stern 1138, 
H. P. Albaugh 161. 

Presidential Vote, 1864. 

Districts. Lincoln. McClellan. 

Tivneytown .303 119 

Uniontown 287 173 

Myers' 90 243 

Finksburg 124 180 

Freedom 211 121 

Manchester 156 375 

Westminster 325 315 

Hampstead 107 169 

Franklin 136 67 

Middleburg 149 62 

New Windsor 169 61 

Total 2057 1885 

Vote for Sheriff, 1865. 

y.. . . . Jacob D. Hoppe. J. A. Bush. 

"'""'^"- (Repnlilican.) (Independent.) 

Taneytown 237 14 

Uniontown 252 17 

Myers' 86 19 

Finksburg 90 47 

Freedom 151 13 

Manchester 97 30, 

Westminster 289 51 

Hampstead 77 22 

Franklin 75 16 

Middleburg 69 9 

New Windsor 106 8 

Total 1529 250 

For Commiasioners. 

T. F. Shepherd 1421, Thomas Paynter 1471, John H. Chew 
1728, Israel Norris 372, John H. Jordan 268. 



Vote for Calling Couatilutiomil Convention, April 10, 1867. 



James Kelley 1749. 
H. H. Harbaugh 1800. 



Surveifor, 
Reginter. 



W. J. Leonard. 
(Democrat.) 

55 
145 
127 
204 
135 

78 
309 
138 



Vote for State Comptroller, 1866. 

Districts. ,5°'"k?'''"""; 

(Republican.) 

Taneytown 322 

Uniontown 339 

Myers' 123 

Finksburg 166 

Freedom 223 

Manchester 153 

Westminster 371 

Hampstead 129 

Franklin 131 

Middleburg 159 

New Windsor 143 

Total 2259 



Vote on the Adoption of the Constitution, Sept. 18, 1867. 

Districts. For. Against. 

Taneytown 103 293 

Uniontown 145 269 

Myers' 251 91 

Finksburg 217 157 

Freedom 156 195 

Manchester 441 124 

Westminster 383 334 

Hampstead 166 102 

Franklin HI 115 

Middleburg 66 105 

New Windsor 148 135 

Total 2187 1920 

53 



Taneytown., 
Uniontown.. 



245 

Finksburg 166 

Freedom 116 

Manchester 373 

Westminster 307 

Hampstead 123 

Franklin 69 

Middleburg 39 

New Windsor 107 



Total . 



1721 



Against. 



137 
164 
142 
308 



1755 



Vote for Delegates. 
Districts. Longwell. Manro. Gait. Bennett. Cover. Hayde: 

Taneytown 79 79 79 79 79 79 

Uniontown 96 96 96 96 96 .96 

Myers' 245 

Finksburg 166 

Freedom 115 

Manchester.... 378 

Westminster... 310 

Hampstead 123 

Franklin 69 

Middleburg 39 

New Windsor.. 108 

Total 1723 1717 1720 1723 1721 1721 

The Republicans voted against calling a convention, 
and placed no candidates for delegates in the field. 



245 


243 


245 


244 


245 


166 


166 


166 


166 


166 


116 


115 


115 


115 


114 


372 


372 


372 


372 


373 


309 


309 


309 


309 


309 


123 


123 


123 


123 


123 


68 


69 


70 


69 


69 


39 


39 


39 


39 


39 


104 


109 


109 


109 


108 



Guhe. 



Districts. 



Hugh L. Bond. 



(Democrat.) (Republ: 

Taneytown 143 336 

Uniontown 245 316 

Myers' 283 106 

Finksburg 290 173 

Freedom 243 222 

Manchester 483 167 

Westminster 475 366 

Hampstead 204 144 

Franklin 160 145 

Middleburg 95 150 

New Windsor 195 166 

Total 2815 2291 

For Senator, Nathan Browne 2789, D. H. Swope 2352. 

For Delegates, H. S. Davis 2806, J. H. Jordan 2786, Benjamin 
Worthington 2799, John W. Harden 2777, Robert Russell 
2334, W. W. Naill 2324, Jesse Andrews 2352, Jacob C. 
Turner 2327. 

For Clerk, John B. Boyle 2716, William A. McKellip 2406. 

For Register of Wills, Joseph M. Parke 2710, H. W. Herbaugh 
2358. 

For State's Attorney, C. T. Reifsnydcr 2780, A. D. Sohaeffer 
2350. 

For Sheriff, Thomas B. Gist 2804, Washington Gait 2327. 

For Surveyor, Francis Warner 2707, James Kelley 2340. 

For Orphans' Court, H. T. Webb 2786, Jacob Powder 2719, 
Levi Buffington 2770, Joseph Shacffer, 2370, Jacob Camp- 
bell 2378, David Pugh 2350. 

Presidential Vote, 1868. 

Districts. Seymour. Grant. 

Taneytown 122 32S 

Uniontown 216 306 

Myers' 272 108 

Finksburg 241 174 

Freedom 215 216 

Manchester 463 173 

Westminster 469 375 

Hampstead.. 201 1.36 

Franklin 140 158 

Middleburg 81 149 

New Windsor 187 177 

2300 



Total. 



2607 



814 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



Vote for State Comptroller, 1869. 

Levin Walford. Wm. A. McKillip. 

Taneytown 119 302 

Uniontown 235 278 

Myers' 248 105 

Finksburg 221 169 

Freedom 160 180 

Manchester 459 144 

Westminster 419 394 

Hampstead 208 138 

Franklin 150 132 

Middleburg 77 134 

New Windsor 162 174 

Total 2458 2150 



Vote for Sheriff, 1869. 

.John Traoey (Democrat) 2522, Michael Baughman (Republi 
can) 2073, John M. Yingling (Independent) 42. 



Congressiotial Vote, 1870. 

Districts. John Kichie. John E. Smith. 

Taneytown 138 309 

Uniontown 266 349 

Myers' 280 104 

Finksburg 307 159 

Freedom 251 268 

Manchester 473 164 

Westminster: Precinct No. 1... 288 285 

" No. 2... 262 228 

Hampstead 218 119 

Franklin 192 193 

Middleburg 86 160 

New Windsor 205 220 

Total 2966 2558 



Gubernatorial Vote, 1871. 

_. , . , W. P. Whvte. Jacob Tome. 

'^'^"■"='*- (Democrat.) (Eepublican.) 

Taneytown 144 322 

Uniontown 236 354 

Myers' 256 92 

Finksburg 284 169 

Freedom 256 266 

Manchester 486 172 

Westminster: Precinct No. 1... 278 285 

No. 2... 255 229 

Hampstead 211 123 

Franklin 180 185 

Middleburg 71 157 

New Windsor 195 234 

Total 2858 2583 



PresidentM Vote, 1872. 

Districts. Greeley. Grant, 

Taneytown 127 325 

Uniontown 177 295 

Myers' 249 105 

Woolery's 235 154 

Freedom 162 276 

Manchester 474 156 

Westminster: Precinct No. 1... 260 269 

" No. 2... 247 231 

Hampstead 192 128 

Franklin 117 193 

Middleburg 43 141 

New Windsor 162 195 

Union Bridge 60 139 

Total 2505 2587 



Vote for State Comptroller, 1873. 

Levin Wol- H. H. Golds- 

' Districta. ford. borough. 

(Democrat.) (Republican.) 

Taneytown 155 315 

Uniontown 213 289 

Myers' 278 108 

Finksburg 296 < 178 

Freedom 249 272 

Manchester 493 180 

Westminster: Precinct No. 1... 302 295 

" " No. 2... 257 241 

Hampstead 200 131 

Franklin 181 177 

Middleburg 62 132 

New Windsor 207 214 

Union Bridge 71 134 

Total 2964 2666 



Congressional Vote, 1874. 

Charles B. John T. 

Districts. Koberts. Ensor. 

(Democrat.) (llepublican .) 

Taneytown 123 299 

Uniontown 188 230 

Myers' 239 81 

Woolery's 252 138 

freedom 183 210 

Manchester 490 141 

Westminster: Precinct No. 1... 289 181 

No. 2... 264 256 

Hampstead 167 117 

Franklin 141 137 

Middleburg 61 93 

New Windsor 185 170 

Union Bridge 82 102 

Total 2664 2155 



Gubernatorial Vote, 1875. 

John Lee J. Morrison 

Districts. Carroll. Harris. 

(Democrat.) (Republican.) 

Taneytown 124 355 

Uniontown 197 292 

Myers' 267 135 

Finksburg 291 182 

Freedom 222 295 

Manchester 464 191 

Westminster: Precinct No. 1... 267 237 

" " No. 2... 260 325 

Hampstead 195 162 

Franklin 163 222 

Middleburg 66 138 

New Windsor 171 250 

Union Bridge 76 130 

Total 2753 2914 



Presidential Vote, 1876. 

Districts. Tilden. 

Taneytown 148 

Uniontown 213 

Myers' 294 

Woolery's 346 

Freedom 304 

Manchester 544 

Westminster: Precinct No. 1... 307 

No. 2... 303 

Hampstead 247 

Franklin 215 

Middleburg 86 

New Windsor 204 

Union Bridge 94 

Total 3305 



CARKOLL COUNTY. 



815 



Vote for State Comptroller, 1877. 

Tii-.H-... T. J. Dr. G. EIIiB 

!''■'"<='•• Keating. Porter. 

Taneytown 148 S.'iS 

Uniontown 184 275 

Myers' 265 108 

Finksburg 280 172 

Freedom 272 215 

Manchester 477 168 

Westminster: Precinct No. 1... 280 237 

" No. 2... 257 293 

Hampstead 216 135 

Franltlin 179 164 

Middleburg 62 114 

New Windsor 178 209 

Union Bridge . 75 121 

Total 2873 2549 

Vote for Sheriff, 1877. 
Peter Woods 2725, Edmund A. Ganter 2563, Abraham Greider 
104. 

Congreeaional Vote, 1878. 

jjigt^ij^ J. Fred. C. Tiilbott. G.B.Milligan. 

(Democrat.) (ludcpendent.) 

Taneytown 104 94 

Uniontown 120 49 

Myers' 221 27 

Finksburg 178 45 

Freedom 163 112 

Manchester 393 92 

Westminster: Precinct No. 1... 213 170 

" " No. 2... 205 197 

Hampstead 147 54 

Franklin 160 4 

Middleburg 56 36 

New Windsor 147 104 

Union Bridge 68 66 

Total 2175 1050 

The vote was 2000 short. McCombs also received 89 votes, 
Morling 27, and Millerjl. 

Gubernatorial Vote, 1879. 

Districts. W T. Hamiltoa. J. A. Gary. 

(Democrat.) (Republican.) 

Taneytown 179 399 

Uniontown 241 348 

Myers' 295 124 

Finksburg 327 253 

Freedom 322 290 

Manchester 545 186 

Westminster: Precinct No. 1... 329 276 

" No. 2... 304 348 

Hampstead 253 147 

Franklin 229 227 

Middleburg 98 144 

New Windsor 188 230 

UnionBridge 107 149 

Total 3417 3121 

Presidential Vote, 1880. 

Districts. Hancock. Garfield. 

Taneytown 190 375 

Uniontown 234 348 

Myers' 297 127 

Finksburg 335 229 

Freedom „ 307 326 

Manchester 570 194 

Westminster: Precinct No. 1... 339 249 

" No. 2... 298 348 

Hampstead 281 160 

Franklin 228 238 

Middleburg 91 147 

New Windsor 206 248 

UnionBridge 116 149 

Total 3492 3138 

Weaver (Greenback candidate) received 42 votes. 



Vote For or Againet Liquor License, 1880. 

Districts. For. Against. 

Taneytown 182 336 

Uniontown 224 310 

Myers' 321 77 

Finksburg 286 242 

Freedom 286 288 

Manchester 591 138 

Westminster: Precinct No. 1... 301 238 

" " No. 2... 335 269 

Hampstead 262 148 

Franklin 239 188 

Middleburg 103 123 

New Windsor 133 185 

UnionBridge 102 146 

Total 3375 2688 

Bench and Bar. — The bar of Maryland sioce the 
days of Luther Martin has enjoyed a national reputa- 
tion for the ability, eloquence, and sound opinions of 
its members. It has been mainly recruited from the 
counties of the State, and some of its most eloquent 
advocates have been reared amid rural surroundings 
and their pure influences. The local bars at the 
smaller county-seats are seldom heard of beyond the 
circumscribed area of their practice, and yet men 
frequently pass their lives at these provincial points 
whose energies and abilities, exerted in wider fields, 
would have commanded fame and wealth. They are 
useful in their day and generation, and perhaps, after 
all, the approval of their own consciences, and the 
esteem of those who know them best, is a more en- 
during reward than the fleeting praises of the multi- 
tude, or the honors which leave canker and corrosion 
behind. 

At the first meeting of the Circuit Court of Car- 
roll County in 1837, William P. Maulsby, James 
Raymond, James M. Shellman, Arthur F. Shriver, 
and T. Parkin Scott were admitted to practice. Of 
these but one now remains. 

Col. William P. Maulsby, in the fullness of years, 
but with unabated vigor, still represents the interests 
of his clients in the leading courts of the State, and 
many a more youthful attorney envies the elasticity 
of mind and knowledge of law which he displays. 
Col. Maulsby was born in Harford County, Md,, and 
after careful training selected law as a profession. 
He removed to Frederick, where he practiced until 
the creation of the county of Carroll, when he removed 
to Westminster, and was appointed by the court the first 
State's attorney of the new county. He filled this 
position with great credit until 1846. He was also 
the first State senator from Carroll, and was an active 
and influential member of the higher branch of the 
State Legislature for eight years. At the breaking 
out of the civil war Col. Maulsby's convictions were 
decidedly in favor of the Union, and he gave practi- 
cal direction to his opinions by taking command of a 



816 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



Maryland regiment in the Army of the Potomac, where 
he saw much active service. Upon his retirement 
from the army he resumed the practice of his profes- 
sion in Frederick City, and he was appointed by the 
Governor, Jan. 20, 1870, chief judge of the Sixth 
Judicial District of Maryland, composed of the coun- 
ties of Frederick and Montgomery, to fill the vacancy 
occasioned by the death of Judge Madison Nelson. 
He filled'this position acceptably until his successor 
was chosen at the November election. He is now the 
senior member of the bar in Carroll County, has an 
extensive practice, and stands deservedly high in the 
legal profession. 

Thomas Parkin Scott, one of the pioneers of the 
Carroll County bar, was born in Baltimore in 1804, 
and educated at St. Mary's College. He studied law 
with an elder brother, and was admitted to the bar in 
Baltimore, where he soon acquired a large practice. 
He was the auditor of the Equity Court for many 
years. He was at one time a member of the City 
Council of Baltimore, and served several terms in the 
Maryland Legislature, of which body he was a mem- 
ber at the breaking out of the war in 1861. He was 
arrested by the military because of his sympathies 
with the South, and confined successively in Forts 
McHenry, Lafayette, and Warren during a period of 
fourteen months. It is related of him that while 
confined in Fort Warren a Northern preacher re- 
quested to be allowed to preach to the Southern 
prisoners, which was acceded to provided the latter 
were permitted to select the text. Judge Scott se- 
lected Acts XXV. 27 : " It seemeth to me unreasona- 
ble to send a prisoner and not withal to signify the 
crimes laid against him." The prisoners did not re- 
ceive the benefit of the clergyman's ministrations on 
that occasion. Judge Scott was elected judge of the 
Circuit Court of Baltimore City in 18(J7, and was 
made chief judge of the Supreme Bench in the fol- 
lowing year, both of which positions he held until 
his death, Oct. 13, 1873. In politics he was a stern, 
uncompromising Democrat, and in religion a sincere 
convert to the Catholic faith. As a judge, he was 
upright, impartial, and wise, and as a man, he was 
beloved and lamented by the community in which he 
had lived. 

Col. James M. Shellman was born in Louisville, 
Ga., Sept. 8, 1801. His wife was a daughter of 
Philip Jones, of the " Gallipot" farm, in Baltimore 
County, who was a soldier in the war of 1812. The 
grandfather of Mrs. Shellman was the first register of 
wills for Baltimore County, and her great-grandfather 
was Philip Jones, the surveyor who laid out the town 
of Baltimore in 1730. Col. Shellman was the auditor 



of the court of Carroll County from its organization 
in 1837 until his death, which occurred Jan. 14, 1851. 
His long service is suflBcient evidence of the faithful 
performance of the duties appertaining to the posi- 
tion. He was an active and influential member of the 
House of Delegates of Maryland in 1845 and 1846. 

James Raymond was State's attorney from 1846 
to 1847, and a member of the House of Delegates of 
Maryland in 1844. 

Samuel D. Lecompte was a member of the House 
of Delegates in 1842. 

Charles W. Webster was a son of Rev. Isaac 
Webster, a pioneer preacher, and served several years 
as deputy attorney-general. 

John E. Smith was judge of the Circuit Court 
from 1864 to 1867, and his law-partner. Col. Wil- 
liam A. McKellip, was clerk of the court from 1862 
to 1867. 

Hon, John E. Smith was born at Westminster, on 
the 19th of January, 1830, and received his education 
at Pennsylvania College, Gettysburg, where he grad- 
uated in 1849. Returning home he determined 
to study law, and entered the office of the distin- 
guished lawyer, J. M. Palmer, at Frederick City. 
After a thorough course of study he was admitted to 
the bar at Westminster, on the 2d of September, 1851, 
and at once secured the respect and esteem of the 
profession and the confidence of his fellow-citizens. 
His success at the bar was rapid and pronounced, and 
he soon acquired an extensive popularity and influence 
in politics. In 1856 he was elected to the State 
Legislature, and took a very active and prominent 
part, with Hon. Anthony Kennedy, William M. Tra- 
vers, William T. Merrick, and others, in securing the 
repeal of the stamp tax and in efiecting other reforms. 
In 1857 he was elected to the Senate of Maryland, 
and in 1859 re-elected to the same body. In 1864 
he was elected a member of the Constitutional Con- 
vention which abolished slavery in this State. Upon 
the adoption of the constitution of 1864, Judge 
Smith was elected judge of the Fourth Judicial Cir- 
cuit, comprising the counties of Carroll and Howard. 
During the three years he occupied a position on the 
bench he discharged his duties in so careful and im- 
partial a manner that when the State was redistricted 
under the constitution of 1867, he retired with the 
confidence and respect of the people of the two coun- 
ties without reference to party. In 1870 he was the 
Republican candidate for Congress in the Fourth, now 
the Sixth, Congressional District, but was defeated. 
During the session of the Legislature of that year, 
upon the election of Governor Whyte to the United 
States Senate, Judge Smith was unanimously selected 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



817 



by the Republican members and voted for as Gov- 
ernor of the State, but was defeated by Governor 
Groome. Judge Smith has repeatedly served as 
elector at large upon the Republican Presidential 
ticket, and as delegate to various district, State, and 
National Conventions. On the death of Judge Giles 
he was prominently mentioned for United States Dis- 
trict Judge of Maryland, and again in 1879 as Re- 
publican candidate for Governor of Maryland. On 
the latter occasion he publicly announced that he was 
not an aspirant for any office, and that he intended 
thenceforth to devote himself exclusively to the pur- 
suit of his profession. This declaration was received 
with regret by the general public, as well as by his 
many friends of all shades of political opinion through- 
out the State, as Judge Smith had always borne, and 
still bears, the highest reputation as a lawyer and a 
man. He is now in the prime of life, and in the 
active practice of his profession, which is very large 
and lucrative. Judge Smith is regarded as being one 
of the soundest and ablest lawyers in the State, and 
enjoys a personal influence in his community which 
is the legitimate fruit of a life of the strictest recti- 
tude in all his relations, and of scrupulous fidelity in 
discharging every trust that has been confided to him. 
He has never sought office, and all the nominations 
bestowed upon him were entirely without any solici- 
tation on his part. In fact, it was only after repeated 
and urgent requests that he ever consented to serve 
the people. He has never been a bitter partisan, but 
at the same time has always been a zealous and con- 
sistent member of the Republican party ; and to his 
uniformly conservative and temperate course is to be 
ascribed much of the well-earned popularity which he 
enjoys. 

Hon. Charles Boyle Roberts, ex-congressman and 
one of Carroll County's leading lawyers, was born in 
Uniontown, Carroll Co., April 19, 1842. His father 
(John Roberts) and his mother (Catharine A. Boyle) 
were natives of Uniontown, and his ancestors were 
among the earliest settlers of the vicinity. Charles 
B. Roberts was educated at Calvert College, New 
Windsor, where he graduated in 1861. Directly 
thereafter he began the study of the law with Hon. 
William N. Hayden (now one of the associate judges 
of the Circuit Court for the Fifth Judicial Circuit), 
and in 1864, being admitted to the bar, made his 
residence in Westminster, where he has lived and 
practiced his profession ever since. In 1868 he was 
chosen on the Democratic ticket as one of the Presi- 
dential electors from Maryland, and six years later 
(in 1874) was elected to Congress from the Second 
District of Maryland, composed of the counties of 



Cecil, Harford, and Carroll, and all of Baltimore 
County save the First and Thirteenth Election Districts. 
His majority over John T. Ensor, the Republican 
candidate, was 2444 in a total vote of 18,920. Dur- 
ing his term he served on the Committee of the Levees 
of the Mississippi River and on the Committee of 
Accounts, of which latter he became the chairman 
upon the transfer of the former chairman (James D. 
Williams) to the Governorship of Indiana. Mr. 
Roberts introduced a bill providing for the equaliza- 
tion of the tax on State and national banks, and sup- 
ported his measure in a speech that attracted marked 
attention. His record in the Forty-fourth Congress 
was so creditable that he was nominated by acclama- 
tion for a seat in the Forty-fifth, and out of a total 
vote of 27,017, gained over J. Morrison Harris, the Re- 
publican candidate, a majority of 3149. His earlier 
experience and the generous development of his capa- 
city as a statesman rendered his service in the Forty- 
fifth Congress singularly useful not only to his own 
district but to the State of Maryland. He served as 
chairman of the Committee on Accounts, and dis- 
charged his duties with rare discrimination and 
judgment. He was likewise a member of the Com- 
mittee on Commerce, and in that capacity accomplished 
much beneficial work for the State. He secured lib- 
eral appropriations for the improvement of Baltimore 
Harbor, and was chiefly instrumental in the passage 
of the bill granting a portion of the Fort McHenry 
reservation as the site of the new dry-dock. He bent 
his best energies to efl'ect a revision of the tarilF law, 
under which Baltimore has suffered the loss of her 
sugar and cofi^ee trade, and opposed with earnestness 
and vigor the proposed subsidy to John Roach's line 
of Brazilian steamers. In a strong speech against 
that measure he concluded as follows : 

"In conclusion, Mr. Speaker, permit me to say that while 
the pending amendment may possess attractions for some 
because of the supposed advantages which are expected to 
accrue to the localities named in it, and while the pros- 
perity of a thrifty and enterprising city may be destroyed 
by the exercise of an unjust, arbitrary, and doubtful power of 
the Federal government in seeking to build up and foster a 
trade which private enterprise has failed to develop, I yet sin- 
cerely question whether the victory thus gained will commend 
itself to the plain, sober second thought of those who are its ad- 
vocates to-day. The wrong thus accomplished will not fail to 
seek a compensation. Time will furnish the opportunity, and 
circumstances will shape the occasion. We are not here to leg- 
islate for any particular locality, but we come here under the 
provisions of the Constitution, which in phain terms de- 
clares that 'no preference shall be given by any regulation 
of commerce or revenue to the ports of one State over those of 
another.' It is but a few weeks since we passed the inter-State 
commerce bill, in obedience to a public sentiment which de- 
manded that unjust discriminations should not be imposed upon 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



the citizens of one State or locality in favor of those of another; 
and if this amendoient is to become a law it will very mani- 
festly appear that we do not object to the general government's 
crushing the prosperity of a great and flourishing city, but we 
will not permit the corporations of the country to exercise any 
such right, that being a special reservation of Congress. How 
different was Mr. Webster's view of this subject, as presented 
in his speech in the Senate, March 7, 1850, when he said, — 

'*'If there be any matter pending in this body, while I am 
a member of it, in which Massachusetts has an interest of her 
own not averse to the general interests of the country, I shall 
pursue her instructions with gladness of heart and with all 
the efficiency which I can bring to the occasion. But if the 
question be one which affects her interest, and at the same time 
equally affects the interests of all the other States, I shall no 
more regard her particular wishes or instructions than I should 
regard the wishes of a man who might appoint me an arbitrator 
or referee to decide some question of important private right 
between him and his neighbor and then instruct me to decide 
in his favor. If ever there was a government upon earth it 
is this government; if ever there was a body upon earth it is 
this body, which should consider itself as composed by agree- 
ment of all, each member appointed by some, but organized by 
the general consent of all sitting here, under the solemn obliga- 
tions of oath and conscience, to do that which they think to he 
best for the good of the whole.* . 

"Sir, when we shall have reached the conclusion that the 
highest obligations we owe to the government is to make it sub- 
serve the wants of one State, utterly disregarding the rights of 
the others; when we shall resort to combinations of doubtful 
propriety to purchase successful legislative action : when we can 
afford to ignore past friendly relations, and upon mercenary mo- 
tives seek new alliances, personal and political, it will not be 
long ere we shall realize — 

*How nations sink, by darling Bchemes oppreaeed, 
When Vengeance listens to the foora request.' " 

As chairman of the Committee on Commerce, Mr. 
Roberts perfected a measure for a thorough reorgan- 
ization of the United States Life-Saving Service, and 
enjoyed the gratification not only of securing the 
passage of the act, but of receiving the warmest ap- 
proval of his work abroad as well as at home. At 
the close of his term in the Forty-fifth Congress he 
decided to resume the practice of the law and to re- 
tire from public life. In recognition of his valuable 
services in Congress he was tendered, in the spring 
of 1879, by leading citizens of Baltimore, a compli- 
mentary banquet at the Mount Vernon Hotel. The 
following is the letter of invitation : 

" Baltimore, March 7, 1879. 
"Hon. Charles B. Roberts, Westminster. Md. : 

" Dear Sir, — A number of your friends here among our 
business men have been desiring for some time to make you 
some acknowledgment of the earnestness and ability with 
which you have dedicated yourself in the House of Represen- 
tatives to the furtherance of the business interests of this com- 
munity. There has been no measure of importance to the pros- 
perity of Baltimore in the promotion of which you have not 
taken an active and useful part, or in which we have not had 
occasion to be grateful to you for your accessibility and cour- 
tesy, as well as for the intelligence and great efficiency of your 
labors. The adjournment of Congress affords us the desired 



opportunity, and we beg that you will do us the favor to meet 
us at dinner on Thursday, the 13th of March, at 7 p.m., or a^ 
such other time as may better suit your convenience. 

** It will he agreeable to you, we are sure, to know that while 
the gentlemen whom you will oblige by accepting this invita- 
tion represent all shades of political opinion, they are of hearty 
accord in their estimate of your impartial fidelity as a public 
servant, and in their high personal respect and esteem for you. 
"We are, dear sir, with great regard, 

" Truly yours, 
" S. T. Wallis. William H. Perot. 

John W. Garrett. Henry C. Smith. 

Decatur H. Miller. Christian Ax. 

Enoch Pratt. Daniel J. Foley. 

James Hodges. J. D. Kremelberg. 

Washington Booth. S. P. Thompson. 

Robert A. Fisher. James A. Gary. 

John I. Middleton. John S. Gilman. 

Israel M. Parr. Robert Garrett. 

Stephen Bonsai. Walter B. Brooks. 

0. W. Humrickhouse. Charles D. Fisher. 

Richard D. Fisher. Charles A. Councilman. 

James Carey Coale. James E. Tate. 

Robert T. Baldwin. William Keyser. 

John E. Hurst. Louis Muller. 

William H. Graham. F. C. Latrobe. 

R. W. Cator. H. M. Warfield. 

George B. Coale. Basil Wagner. 

John L. Thomas, Jr. P. H. MacGill. 

George P. Frick. S. E. Hoogewerff." 

James Sloan, Jr. 

Although he has not been a candidate for public 
oflQce since the close of his last congressional term, 
Mr. Roberts has nevertheless been frequently called 
to occupy positions of prominence in connection with 
public and private enterprises. In June, 1880, he 
was sent as a delegate to the National Convention at 
Cincinnati that nominated Gen. Hancock to the Presi- 
dency, and as a member of the Democratic State 
Convention of 1881, was appointed one of the com- 
mittee selected to draft a new registration bill for the 
State. He is one of the managers of the Maryland 
House of Correction, and in his own town and county 
occupies a prominent place in connection with projects 
devoted to the public welfare. He is a director of 
the Union National Bank of Westminster, as well as of 
the Westminster Gaslight Company, and of the Mu- 
tual Fire Insurance Company, and president of the 
recently-organized Westminster Water- Works Com- 
pany. In 1875 Mount St. Mary's College, of Emmitts- 
burg, Md., conferred upon him the degree of Doctor 
of Laws. His chosen profession has ever found in 
him an ardent devotee, and to its pursuit he gives 
his warmest efforts and most zealous ambition, en- 
couraged by the knowledge that his labors find ample 
reward and bear abundant fruit. He was married 
Nov. 10, 1863, to Annie E., daughter of Col. John 
T. Mathias, of Maryland. At his home in West- 
minster he dispenses a genial hospitality that is widely 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



819 



known and warmly esteemed among the many who 
have from time to time been privileged to share it. 

Politically, Mr. Roberts has always been a zealous 
but conservative Democrat, and while he has steadily 
adhered to the regular organization of that party, he 
has exhibited on all occasions an independence and 
conscientiousness in the discharge of his duties, both 
as a member of the Democratic party and as a public 
official, which have secured him the highest confidence 
and respect of the best elements in both parties. He 
has frequently been mentioned in various quarters as 
the Democratic candidate for Governor. With ex- 
ceptional abilities as a lawyer Mr. Roberts combines 
the qualities of a sound and practical judgment and 
remarkable business energy and tact, qualities which, 
together with his attractive personal characteristics, 
have secured him an enviable popularity throughout 
the State as well as in his own immediate community, 
where he is best known and most thoroughly appre- 
ciated. In fact, he is one of the most enterprising, 
progressive, and influential gentlemen in the State, not 
only as a public man of the best and most honorable 
type, but also as a sound and well-read lawyer and 
a highly-successful and prosperous busine.ss man. 

The three attorneys who have been longest at the 
bar of Carroll County are Judge Maulsby, C. W. 
Webster, Joseph M. Parke, the last having been 
register of wills from 1869 to 1873. 

The list given below includes all the attorneys who 
have been regular practitioners at the Carroll County 
bar, together with the names of eminent lawyers from 
other parts of the State who have been specially 
admitted for the trial of particular causes : 



18.S7. 
April 3. William P. Maulsby. 
" .3. James M. Shellman. 
" 3. James Raymond. 
" 3. Arthur F. Shriver. 
" 3. T. Parkin Scott. 
Sept. 7. Samuel D. Lecompte. 
** 7. Isaac Van Bibber. 
1838. 

Madison Nelson. 
Edward Shriver. 
George Schley. 
Joseph Breck. 
R. J. Bowie. 
1839. 
Sept. 6. Charles W. Webster. 
" 6. James M. Coale. 
" 6. B. S. Forrest. 
" 6. Wm. Cost Johnson. 
1840. 
Sept. 7. Joseph M. Parke. 

1843. 
Sept. W. H. G. Dorsey, 
John T. B. Dorsey. 



1844. 
Sept. 2. 



1845. 
April 7. 



July 1. 
1846. 
April 7. 



William N. Hayden. 
John H. Ing. 
Nathaniel Williams. 
G. Eichelberger. 

W. T. Palmer. 
John J. McCulIough. 
Elijah F. Crout. 
Clothworthy Birnie. 



Elbridge G. Kilbourn. 
" 7. R. Willson, Jr. 
" 7. Wm. McSherry. 
" 7. James McSherry. 
" 8. Covington D. Barnitz. 
" 15. Wm. G. Matthias. 
Sept. 9. J. J. Baumgardner. 
" 9. Michael G. Webster. 
1847. 
April 6. Geo. E. Shellman. 
Sept. 7. Joseph C. Boyd. 
" 7. Will Motter. 



1848. 
April 4. 
Sept. 5. 

1849. 
April 7. 
Sept. 4. 



Dec. 3. 
1850. 
April 1. 
" 1. 

1851. 

April 7. 

Sept. 1. 

" 2. 

" 2. 

1852. 
April 5. 



H. F. Bardwell. 
James Cooper. 

Daniel L, Hoover. 
Edmund L. Rogers. 
Wm. C. Sappington. 
Thomas Whelan, Jr. 
G. W. Nnbb. 
R. G. McCreary. 

E. Holloway. 
E. G. Day. 

A. H. Ilobbs. 
Robert Lyon Rogers. 
Wm. M. Merrick. 
John E. Smith. 



M. B. Luckett. 
** 6. James Hungerford. 
** 7. Ephraim Carmack. 
" 15. Dennis H. Poole. 
" 15. John S. Tyson. 
Sept. 7. Worthington Ross. 
" 7. Bradley T.Johnson. 
Frederick Nelson. 



" 7. 

1854. 

April 8. 

Sept. 6. 

" 8. 

1855. 

April 2. 



Isaac E. Pearson. 
Thomas Donaldson. 
J. T. M. Wharton. 

Oscar Baugher. 
W. H. Dallam. 
M. P. Galligher. 
John Ritchie. 



" ID. 
1856. 
Sept. 1. Wm. G. Read. 

1858. 
April 6. Wm. A. Fisher. 
" 8. John A. Lynch. 
Sept. 8. E. O'Brien. 
" 8. W. Scott Roberts, 
James T. Smith. 



" 9. 
1859. 
April 4. 
" 6. 
Sept. 5. 
" 8. 
1860. 
Sept. 4. 
" 4. 
1861. 
April 1. 



John T. Ensor. 
E. Louis Lowe. 
T. S. Alexander. 
S. Morris Cochran. 

Samuel E. Kuch. 
J. S. Tellott. 



C. C. Raymond. 
" 4. Wm. Schley. 
Sept. 4. R. R. Boarman. 
" 4. W. P. Preston. 
C. H. Busby. 



" 9. 
1862. 
July 15. 
" 16. 
1863. 

S.J 
1864. 
April 5. 
Sept. I. 



David Wills. 

D. McConnaughy. 



Charles B. Roberts. 
Milton G. Urner. 



1865. 
May 10. 



" 31. 

" 31. 
Nov. 14. 

" 14. 
1866. 
Nov. 12. 

" 28. 
1867. 
May 13. 

" 13. 

" 14. 
Aug. 1. 
Oct. 28. 
Nov. 13. 

" 13. 



W. C. Griffith. 
C. T. Reifsnider. 
Milton Whitney, 
Abner Neal. 
H. Winter Davis. 

A. Stirling, Jr. 

W. E. McLaughlin. 
Peter W. Grain. 
Joseph Davis. 

Isaac E. Pearson, Jr. 
W. Fernandis, Jr. 

S. D. Webster. 
James A. C. Bond. 
Wm. Price. 
James AV. McElroy. 
R. B. Norment. 

B. F. M. Hurley. 
Wm. A. MoKellip. 



1868. 
June 11 
" 11 

Sept. 



Wm. Reynolds, Jr. 

W. W. Sullivan. 

Wui. Waterman. 
" D. W. Zepp. 

Dec. 1. F. C. Latrobe. 
" 4. D. H. Roberts. 
" 4. J. A. C. Bond. 
" 4. A. D. Schaeffer. 



Nov. 8. 
" 29. 
Dec. 11. 
1870. 
Feb. 14. 
May 17. 

" 17. 

" 31. 

Nov. 14. 

1871. 

May 13. 

" 16. 
Nov. 7. 

" 28. 

" 28. 

1872. 
May 13. 
Aug. 12. 
Nov. 23. 

1873. 
May 12. 

" 24. 
Nov. 10. 

" 17. 

1874. 
May 14. 

" 14. 

" 18. 

" 18. 

" 18. 

" 18. 
Aug. 13. 

1875. 
May 11. 

" 25. 



D. G. Wright. 
R. G. Keene. 
.John W. Breaver. 

W. W. Dallas. 
Orville Horwitz. 
R. J. Gittings. 
Thos. R. Clendinen. 
Wm. Rowland. 

A. K. Sy ester. 
A. H. Norris. 
A. S. Diller. 
T. Sturgis Davis. 
W. H. Cowan. 

D. N. Henning. 
Harris J. Chilton, 
W. J. Jones. 

Z. S. Claggett. 
Henry A. McAtee. 

E. J. D. Cross. 
George Freaner. 

James Fenner Lee. 
J. Q. A. Jones. 
T. H. Edwards. 
T. Q. Kennedy. 
Wm. T. Hamilton. 
H. K. Douglas. 
J. E. K. Wood. 

A. H. Robertson. 
Edward Stake. 



820 



HISTOKY OF WESTERN MARYLAND 



May 25. 


K. Chemfours. 


May 


12. 


Charles K. Fink. 


July 15. 


L. L. Cunard. 


" 


19. 


Benj. I. Cohen. 


" 2U. 


J. J. Alexander. 


June 


6. 


Wm. L. Seabrook. 


Aug. 9. 


M. B. Settle. 


" 


10. 


L. L. Billingslea. 


Nov. 17. 


B. Frank Crouse. 


" 


17. 


G. W. Pearce. 


1876. 




Nov. 


10. 


Charles L. Wilson. 


May 31. 


Trueman Smith. 


'■ 


19. 


Frank L. Webb. 


June 1. 


James W. Pearre. 


^j 


28. 


Shull. 


Aug. 15. 


Thos. W. Brundige. 


Dec. 


8. 


.John Sterrat. 


Nov. 15 


S. L. Stockbridge. 


" 


15. 


John McClean. 


Dee. 11. 


W. M. Busey. 


" 


23. 


William Walsh. 


" 14. 


W. A. Hammond. 


" 


23. 


D. D. Blackeilton. 


1877. 




" 


23. 


James £. Ellegood. 


May 25. 


William Grason. 


1880. 




" 25. 


D. G. Mcintosh. 


May 


10. 


W. J. Keeoh. 


" .SO. 


0. F. Mack. 


" 


10. 


John F. Courep. 


June 2. 


John S. Shillson. 


" 


10. 


N. W. Watkins. 


Nov. 27. 


0. P. Macgill. 


June 


3. 


Douglas B. Smith. 


Deo. 12. 


J. T. Mason. 


Aug. 


9. 


H. W. Crowl. 


1878. 




Nov. 


8. 


0. P. Meredith. 


May 13. 


S. F. Miller. 


" 


9. 


H. M. Clabaugh. 


" 14. 


John R. Buchanan. 


" 


10. 


George Whitelook. 


" 17. 


T. W. Hall. 


" 


16. 


A. Hinton Boyd. 


" 20. 


W. C. N. Carr. 


1881. 




June 17. 


Frank X. Ward. 


May 


20. 


John S. Donaldson. 


Aug. 13. 


Jas. A. Diffenbaugh. 


" 


20. 


Thos. K. Bradford. 


Nov. 12. 


George E. Cramer. 


" 


20. 


Joseph C. Boyd. 


" 30. 


W. H. Washington. 


" 


20. 


John 11. Handy. 


1879. 




" 


30. 


Frederick E. Cook. 


May 12. 


John Berry. 









Literature and art are essentially the products of 
life in the countr}'. The freedom of the woods and 
fields, the rippling streams, the hills and valleys, and 
the health-giving atmosphere uneontaminated by the 
thousand impurities of large cities, seem necessary for 
the nurture and development of genius. Nature in 
her simplest and grandest forms there excites the im- 
agination and fosters the creative faculty in man. 
However great may be the influence of culture and 
accumulated experience and example, only to be ob- 
tained in great cities, the narrow ruts of life in a me- 
tropolis and the concentration of all the powers of 
body and mind in one direction are unfavorable to the 
production or early development of genius, and hence 
it is found that a very large proportion of the really 
great poets, painters, and sculptors of the world have 
been born in the country, and very many have passed 
their early years there. Carroll County in this regard 
has been no exception to the rule. Artiste and poets 
have been born within her borders whom the world 
will not willingly let die, some whose works have re- 
ceived the approval of distant lands and whose names 
are spoken with homage in all cultivated households. 
The aggregations of books and master-pieces in large 
cities and the splendid advantages which wealth has 
extended through the instrumentality of schools of 
design, conservatories, and colleges makes it of the 
first importance that the devotees of art and literature 



should seek the great centres of civilization and avail 
themselves of the resources so lavishly supplied. 
True genius is never appalled by obstacles, and so it 
generally liappens that those who recognize its prompt- 
ings sooner or later work their way to the attainment 
of their wishes, and the city rather than the country 
is a gainer by their reputation. Few countries can 
present nature to the inspired student of art in more 
beautiful or more varied aspects than are to be found 
in Carroll County. Almost every phase of natural 
scenery is illustrated within her borders, from the land- 
scapes of simple pastoral beauty to the rugged and 
sublime outlines of the lofty peaks of the Blue Ridge, 
and some of these scenes have been faithfully reflected 
in the works of her sons, who have sought the distinc- 
tion elsewhere that they could not expect at home. 

In 1850 there was to be seen at the Chesapeake 
Bank a sculptured bust of Andrew Jackson, which 
had been presented to Col. J. S. Gittings by the 
Messrs. F. M. & H. F. Baughman. It was the work 
of an apprentice to the Messrs. Baughman, named 
Reinhart. It was executed chiefly at night, after the 
hours of labor, and was the first eSbrt of his chisel. 
" The excellence of the work gives promise of high 
attainment in this beautiful art, and leads us to hope 
that Maryland may yet be able to give to the world 
some enduring memento of the age in one of the 
most admirable departments of human genius." Such 
was the greetings of encouragement which the first 
work of young Reinhart received, and the contempo- 
raneous description of the first work of his chisel. 

William H. Reinhart was born in Carroll County, 
Md., about the year 1826 ; his father was a well-to-do 
farmer of German descent, living near Westminster, 
in that county, and characterized by thrift, persever- 
ance, and economy. All the children were actively 
employed about the farm, and received the rudiments 
of an English education at a school in Westminster. 
When a mere boy young Reinhart evinced very great 
interest in the working of the marble quarries that 
abounded in the neighborhood, and in this particular 
he found opportunity for the bent of his genius in 
the quarry and stone-cutting yard on his father's farm. 
At the age of sixteen, with his father's consent, 
he came to Baltimore, and presented himself at the 
store of Andrew Gregg, on Franklin Street, to whom 
his father was in the habit of consigning produce of 
his farm. He told Mr. Gregg that he desired to ap- 
prentice himself to some useful trade, and preferred 
that of marble-working, with which he already had 
some familiarity. He was immediately taken to the 
marble-yard and stone-cutting establishment of Baugh- 
man & Bevan, and engaged as an apprentice by that 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



821 



firm. He proved himself to be a steady and indus- 
trious youth, with a taste for reading and study which 
he gratified at night by regular attendance at the 
Maryland Institute and School of Design, where his 
favorite studies were mythology, ancient history, anat- 
omy, architecture, and books on art and artists. He 
continued the improving studies for several years, and 
before his majority his chisel and proficiency obtained 
for him the execution of all the fine work on mantles 
of the establishment of the Messrs. Baughnian. When 
twenty-three years of age he was made foreman of 
the establishment and gave full satisfaction to his 
employers. In 1855 he left Baltimore for Italy to 
prosecute the higher studies of his art with a full 
knowledge of practical marble- working. He prosecuted 
his studies with great diligence at Florence, where 
he went to reside, working with other young artists 
on trial for wages. He returned to Baltimore in 
1857, bringing with him two beautiful basso-relievos 
in panel of " Night and Morning," which were pur- 
chased by Augustus J. Albert. He returned to 
Italy in 1858, and made his residence at Rome, 
where he remained, with the exception of short trips 
to Baltimore, until his death in 1874. 

Probably the greatest event in the life of the young 
artist was the unveiling of the Taney statue at An- 
napolis, Dec. 10, 1872. This heroic statue of Chief 
Justice Roger B. Taney in bronze had been ordered 
by the Legislature of Maryland, and was erected in 
front of the State-House. On that occasion there 
were assembled in the Senate chamber the leading 
representatives of the State in politics, at the bar, in 
literature and art, to hear the addi'esses of S. Teackle 
Wallis and Governor William Pinkney Whyte. Mr. 
Wallis alluded to the fact that the appropriation by 
the State had not been sufficient compensation to the 
artist for such a work, and recognized the liberality 
and public spirit of the artist in accepting and exe- 
cuting the work notwithstanding. " The figure," Mr. 
Wallis said, " had been treated in the spirit of that 
noble and absolute simplicity which is the type of the 
highest order of greatness, and is therefore its grand- 
est, though its most difiicult, expiession in art." In 
1872 the statue of Clytie, which is Reinhart's master- 
piece in marble, was exhibited in Baltimore, attracting 
the admiration of thousands of her people. It was 
purchased by John W. McCoy, and placed in the 
Peabody Gallery of Art as a gift to the citizens of 
Baltimore. Among the other works of this artist are 
the bronze doors of the Capitol at Washington, begun 
by Crawford, and completed after four years of labor 
by Reinhart ; the statuettes on the clock of the House 
of Representatives, as well as the statue on the foun- 



tain in the General Post-oflSce at Washington ; En- 
dymion, now owned by J. W. Garrett ; Antigone, owned 
by Mr. Hall, of New York ; Hero, for A. J. Albert, 
of Baltimore; Leander, owned by Mr. Riggs, of Wash- 
ington ; the Woman of Samaria, for W. T. Walters, 
of Baltimore ; the bronze monumental figure at the 
tomb of Mrs. W. T. Walters, in Greenmount Ceme- 
tery; and the " Sleeping Children," in marble, in the 
lot of Hugh Sisson, as well as many other works 
in Mount Auburn Cemetery, Boston, Loudon Park 
Cemetery, Baltimore, and many busts of citizens of 
Baltimore. 

William H. Reinhart died in Rome on Wednesday, 
Oct. 28, 1874, in the forty-eighth year of his age, 
having fully enabled his native State, Maryland, " to 
give to the world" not only " some," but many 
" enduring mementoes of the age in one of the most 
admirable departments of human genius." By his 
will he attested further his great love for art ; after 
amply providing for relatives he directed that his 
executors, W. T. Walters and B. F. Newcomer, of 
Baltimore, should apply the residue of his estate, 
according to their best judgment, to the promotion of 
interest in and cultivation of taste for art, by the fol- 
lowing clause of his will : 

"Third, Being desirous of aiding in tbe promotion of a more 
liighly cultivated taste for art among the people of my native 
State, and of assisting young men in the study of the art of 
sculpture who may desire to make it a profession, but having at 
tlie present time no definite plan in view for the accomplish- 
ment of these objects, I give, devise, and bequeath all the rest 
and residue of my estate, real, personal, and mixed, and where- 
soever situated, unto my two personal friends, William T. Wal- 
ters and Benjamin F. Newcouier, of the city of Baltimore, or 
the survivor of them, or tbe heirs, executor, or administrator 
of such survivor, in trust and confidence, with the injunction 
that the whole of said residue of my estate or the proceeds 
thereof shall be devoted and appropriated by them, according 
to their best judgment and discretion, to the promotion of the 
objects and jiurposcs named above; and if in the opinion of my 
said trustees this can be best accomplished by any concert of 
action with the trustees of the Peabody Institute, or by the es- 
tablishment of a professorship in connection with the Gallery 
of Art, which at some future time is to be provided for by that 
corporation, or by the investment of any portion of the funds 
so held by them in trust, and aiding from the income derived 
from such investments deserving young men who are desirous 
of pursuing their studies abroad, but are without the means of 
doing so, they, my said trustees, are at liberty to adopt any or 
all or none of these methods, or to transfer the trust or the es- 
tate so held by them in trust to any corporation which in their 
judgment would best serve the pui-pose indicated." 

Willie T. Hoppe was the second son of Hannah 
and the late Jacob D. Hoppe, of Carroll County. 
His life in some important features resembled that of 
Chatterton, the boy-poet of England. At an age 
when most children realize their highest pleasure in 
a game of marbles or hide-and-seek, his mind was at 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



work like the piston-rod of a steam-engine, grinding 
out tales, editorials, and local histories in a ceaseless 
flow. His mental faculties and energy far outstripped 
his weak and sickly body, and absolutely wore it out 
before he arrived at man's estate. His first essay in 
literature was as the editor and publisher of an ama- 
teur journal entitled The Boys' Rights, which as- 
tounded the neighbors and friends of his family by 
the extraordinary precocity exhibited in its contents. 
He subsequently conducted the Amphion Journal 
and Cupid's Messenger, and, as president of the 
Amateur Press Association, still surprised his friends 
and the public not only by the marvelous maturity 
of his intellect, but by a display of executive ability 
which his years and experience did not appear to 
justify. In 1878 he entered the office of Charles 
Poe, of Baltimore, as a law-student, but it soon be- 
came painfully evident that while his mind was ripen- 
ing and brightening with study and training, his body 
was gradually wasting away before the inroads of 
some insidious malady, and he died July 24, 1880, 
in the twentieth year of his age. In his literary 
efforts and on his papers he was frequently assisted 
by Miss Mary Shellman, a lady of rare literary at- 
tainments, whose historical contributions to the press 
have earned for her a merited reputation as a writer. 
Dr. Washington Chew Van Bibber was born in 
Frederick, now Carroll, Co., Md., July 24, 1824. 
His family settled in that section very early in the 
history of the State, and soon acquired influence and 
prominence. After a thorough course of study at 
a number of colleges, Dr. Van Bibber entered the 
office of Prof Nathan R. Smith, of Baltimore, and 
matriculated at the University of Maryland, from 
whence he graduated in 1845. After some years 
spent in the South, where he had an opportunity to 
familiarize himself with the yellow fever in all its 
phases, — that dread pest of Southern cities, — he re- 
turned to Baltimore and began the practice of his 
profession. His practice rapidly increased, and with 
it his reputation as a skillful and excellent physician, 
and to-day he is fully the equal of any of the galaxy 
of physicians who have made Baltimore famous as 
a centre of instruction in the healing art. As a 
writer. Dr. Van Bibber deserves especial mention. 
Few have recently added more to the literature of 
medicine. From 1856 to 1859 he was associate edi- 
tor of the Virginia Medical Journal, and from 1859 
to 1861 he was associate editor of the Maryland and 
Virginia Medical Journal, and he has contributed a 
large number of papers to the various medical period- 
icals of the day, replete with interest and valuable 
scientific information. 



Thomas E. Van Bibber, a relative of Dr. Van 
Bibber, is a native of Carroll County, but is now a 
resident of California. He early developed a taste 
for literature, and many of his youthful efforts will 
compare favorably with those of more pretentious 
poets and authors. He is best known by his poem, 
" The Flight into Egypt," a work exhibiting consid- 
erable power, a beautiful fancy, and a true conception 
of the poet's vocation. It was very favorably received 
by American critics, and has stood the test of time 
remarkably well. His many miscellaneous prose ef- 
forts have added to his reputation as a cultured and 
popular writer. 

For many years the meetings of the " Addison 
Reunion Association" constituted a delightful feature 
of society in Westminster. The organization was 
literary in character, and a number of the most 
cultivated and influential citizens were members and 
contributors. The intention was to combine social 
with literary recreation, and for a longer time than 
usually occurs to such associations the effort was suc- 
cessful. The papers read before it took a wide range, 
embracing poetry, history, art, science, and the various 
branches of polite literature. In 1871, Dr. Charles 
Billingslea compiled " The Addison Reunion Papers," 
a neat volume of three hundred pages, containing the 
choicest of the papers delivered before the society 
during its existence, and embracing selections from 
the writings of Emma Alice Browne, the poetess, and 
authoress of '' Ariadne," Rev. Josiah Varden, Rev. 
James T. Ward, D.D., Mrs. Albert Billingslea, Rev. 
David Wilson, D.D., Dr. Charles Billingslea, Isaac 
E. Pearson, Mrs. Carrie Brockett Anderson, Miss 
Ada Billingslea, and Thomas E. Van Bibber. The 
" Addison Reunion Association" gave its closing en- 
tertainment June 9, 1871, at the " Montour House," 
a noted hostelry, which derived its name from the 
famous Indian chief of that name who flourished in 
colonial times. 

The religious denominations of Carroll County 
recognizing the paramount value of religious instruc-^ 
tion through the instrumentality of Sabbath-schools, 
and anxious to extend their influence and usefulness, 
consulted together as to the best method of accom- 
plishing this desirable result. Their deliberations 
culminated in 1867 in a county Sabbath-school asso- 
ciation, to be composed of delegates from all the Prot- 
estant denominations in the county. The second 
annual convention of the society was held in the 
Lutheran church at Westminster, Sept. 8, 1868. 
Rev. J. T. Ward, of the Methodist Protestant Church, 
was called to the chair, and H. B. Grammer appointed 
secretary. The districts were called, and the follow- 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



823 



ing delegates enrolled : Finksbure, John H. Chew, 
D. Ebaugh, A. Geisley, R. A. Smith, Wm. Cruise, 
Rev. W. T. Dunn ; Hampstead, S. Ruby, Joseph 
Lippy ; New Windsor, Clinton Hanna, Wni. A. 
Norris, Isaac C. Baile, Rev. Mr. Scarborough ; Man- 
chester, Rev. R. Wei.ser, Jacob Campbell, Edmund 
Gender, D. Frankforter, Jos. Shearer, H. B. Lippy, 
D.JW. Banner, J. T. Myers, Misses F. Crumrine, S. 
Trump, Ellen Trump, V. C. Weizer, Lizzie Earle ; 
Myers, Jacob Wolfe, T. T. Tagg, J. Bankard ; Mid- 
dleburg, Thos. Newman, Wra. H. Boust, John W. 
Angell, Jacob Koons, A. E. Null, Albert Koons, 
John Feezer, Eli Hahn ; Taneytown, Peter Mark, 
G. Stover, J. T. ,Ciay ; Uniontown, Revs. P. A. 
Strobel, J. T. Ward, J. T. Hedges, Van Meter, E. 
H. Smith, J. Monroe, W. C. Creamer, H. B. Gram- 
mer, Wm. H. Cunningham, G. W. Cecil, F. Herr, 
M. Baughman, H. L. Norris, E. Koons, R. Gorsuch, 
Josh Sellman, N. Pennington, J. N. Williams, Mrs. 
M. A. Wagner, Mrs. M. Cunningham, Misses San- 
ford, Sue Cassell, Annie Ocker. The committee 
appointed to select permanent oflBcers reported the 
following nominations, which were unanimously con- 
firmed : 

President, Hon. John E. Smith ; Vice-Presidents, 

J. W. Angell, David H. Webster, Debough, 

Jacob Campbell, Alfred Zollicoffer, A. McKinney, 
C. D. Frieze, Joseph Ebaugh ; Secretaries, H. B. 
Grammer and Wm. A. Baker. 

The convention continued their interesting exer- 
cises until Thursday, June 10th, when they adjourned 
until their annual meeting in 1869. 

The German Baptists sought the region embraced 
in Carroll County very soon after its settlement by 
white people, conceiving it to be a favorable field for 
their ministrations. Congregations have been estab- 
lished at Pipe Creek, Meadow Branch, Sam's Creek, 
New Windsor, Union Bridge, and Westminster. 
They are all under the charge of an ordained elder, 
who has five or six assistants. Philip Englar was the 
first elder in charge of whom there is any record, and 
served in this position from 1780 to 1810, when he 
was succeeded by David J]nglar, who had been his 
assistant for some years. The latter .served from 1810 
to 1833, and was followed by Philip Boyle, who occu- 
pied the position for thirty-five years, having been 
assisted by Michael Petry, Jesse Royer, Jesse Roop, 
David Miller, Howard Hillery, Hanson Senseny, and 
Solomon Stoner. Rev. Mr. Boyle was succeeded by 
Hanson Senseny as ordained elder. He served in 
that capacity until 1880, and was assisted by Solomon 
Stoner, E. W. Stoner, William Franklin, Amos Caylor, 
Joel Roop, and Uriah Bixley. The denomination in 



the county numbers between four and five hundred 
members. 

Pipe Creek congregation, the mother of all the 
other German Baptist organizations in the county, and 
one of the oldest in Western Maryland, was established 
prior to the year 1780, and worshiped in a log build- 
ing which stood at Pipe Creek. In 1806 their present 
church edifice was erected, since when it has been 
used constantly by the congregation. The church was 
repaired in 1866, having been enlarged and remodeled. 
It is now a plain brick structure, thirty-five by seventy- 
one feet, with a seating capacity for six hundred per- 
sons. The congregation numbers about one hundred 
members, who are very active in the interests of their 
church. 

Meadow Branch church is situated about two miles 
from Westminster, on the plank road, and was erected 
in 1850. It is a stone structure, and was originally 
built thirty-five by fifty-five feet in dimensions, but 
was recently enlarged to the size of thirty-five by 
eighty feet. The congregation numbers about ninety 
members. 

Sam's Creek German Baptist church was erected in 
1860. It is situated on the old Liberty road, about 
two miles from Naill's Mill, up Sam's Creek, in 
New Windsor District. It is a frame building, very 
neat in appearance, about thirty by forty feet in size, 
and capable of holding one hundred and fifty people. 
About fifty members worship here. 

New Windsor church was built and the congrega- 
tion formed about the year 1873. It is a fine brick 
building, erected at a cost of sixteen hundred dollars, 
and is conveniently located on Church Street, in the 
town of New Windsor. The building in size is thirty 
by forty feet. About fifty members constitute the 
congregation at the present time, which is steadily 
increasing. 

Union Bridge church, a beautiful little edifice, was 
erected in the town of Union Bridge in 1877. It is a 
brick building, situated on Broidway Street, thirty by 
forty-five feet in size, and cost eighteen hundred dol- 
lars. The seats are so arranged as to comfortably seat 
about four hundred persons. Fifty members comprise 
the congregation. 

Westminster church was purchased by the German 
Baptist denomination from the Baptist Church in 
1879, at a cost of two thousand two hundred dollars. 

It has been several times attempted to divide the 
church in this county into three congregations or 
charges, viz. : Pipe Creek, to be composed of Pipe 
Creek and Union Bridge ; Meadow Branch, to em- 
brace Meadow Branch Church and Westminster; and 
Sam's Creek, composed of Sam's Creek and New 



824 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



Windsor. Although the efforts have thus far proved 
unsuccessful, doubtless this division will occur sooner 
or later. 

A short distance from the German Baptist church 
at Pipe Creek, and one and a quarter miles from 
Uniontown, is the large German Baptist Cemetery, 
the first grave in which was dug in the year 1825. 
Among the names of those buried are the following: 

Catharioe Garber, died Deo. 30, 1847, aged 73 years, 10 
months, 5 days. 

Lydia A. Garber, died May 4, 1861, aged 38 years, 10 months, 
10 days. 

Johannes Garber, born April 4, 1769, died Oct. 4, 1839. 

Christian Roop, Jr., died Aug. 14, 1825, aged 20 years, 9 
months, 13 days. 

Esther Roop, born Feb. 11, 1776, died July 2, 1850. 

Christian Roop, born Nov. 4, 1764, in Lancaster County, Pa. 
He removed in 1784 to the precinct in which he died, March 
18, 1855. 

Abraham Roop, died Sept. 11, 1871, aged 74 years, 7 months, 
12 days; Lydia, his wife, died Oct. 6, 1858, aged 56 years, 6 
months, 10 days. 

Isaac Slingluff, born Aug. 5, 1807, died April 30, 1852. 

Elizabeth Foutz, died July I, I860, aged 67 years, 11 months, 

12 days. 

John Stoner, born Feb. 21, 1796, died March 14, 1874. 

Mary Stoner, died May 19, 1853, aged 57 years, 11 months, 
1 day. 

Sarah, wife of John Stoner, died June 6, 1835, aged 38. 

Betsey, wife of William Warner, died Nov. 15, 1830, aged 58. 

Ann, wife of Otho Warner, died Oct. 1, 1836, aged 42 years, 
6 months, 22 days. 

Joseph Roop, Sr., died May 3, 1829, aged 69 years, 9 months, 
6 days; Mary Roop, his wife, born Feb. 15, 1767, died July 
25, 1853. 

Margaret Snader, born Aug. 7, 1794, died Aug. 27, 1877. 

Mary Snader, died Feb. 4, 1835, aged 65. 

Jacob Snader, died Dec. 2, 1847, aged 85 years, 3 months, 13 
days. 

Michael Garber, died Jan. 4, 1847, aged 53 years, 7 days. 

Hetty Garber, born Feb. 5, 1778, died March 2, 1857. 

Samuel Bare, born March 29, 1793, died Jan. 22, 1845. 

Jacob Rhodes, died July 26, 1846, aged 77 years, 7 months, 
9 days. 

Sarah Rhodes, born Oct. 15, 1763, died Jan. 8, 1854. 

Lydia Bare, died Aug. 16, 1858, aged 59 years, 11 months, 

13 days. 

Daniel Harman, born Jan. 1, 182], died Aug. 20, 1862. 

William Plaine, died May 4, 1847, aged 65 years, 8 months, 
1 days; and Margaret, his wife, Jan. 16, 1849, aged 65 years, 4 
months, 20 days. 

Daniel Plaine, born June 19, 1783, died July 2, 1872; and 
Penelope, his wife, Aug. 24, 1853, aged 76 years, 4 months, 17 
days. 

Catharine Wantz, died Aug. 14, 1866, aged 51 years, 6 
months, 20 days. 

Philip Boyle, died Aug. 15, 1872, aged 65 years, 6 months, 4 
days; Rachel, his' wife, and daughter of Jacob and C. Zim- 
merman, died Sept. 15, 1859, aged 74 years 10 days. 

William H. Shriner, died Feb. 14, 1856, aged 32 years, 3 
months, 16 days. 

John P. Shriner, died April 18, 1849, aged 32 years, 7 
months, 3 days. 

Eliza, wife of Joseph Stouffer, died June 20, 1855, aged 48. 



Jacob Roop, born Sept. 4, 1785, died Jan. 19, 1S60 ; Sarah, 
his wife, died June 20, 1866, aged 79 years, 2 months, 22 days. 

Jacob Shriner, died Dec. 28, 1866, aged 76 years, 16 days; 
Elizabeth, his wife, died Feb. 1, 1881, aged 85 years, 4 months, 
11 days. 

Isaac W. Shriner, born Dec. 13, 1818, died Dec. 3, 1872; 
Rachel Ann, his wife, died Aug. 2, 1875, aged 55 years, 11 
mouths, 23 days. 

Benjamin Bond, died Sept. 12, 1863, aged 72. 

Matilda Bond, died Dec. 17, 1860, aged 58 years, 11 months. 

Joseph Englar, died July 4, 1872, aged 72 years, 4 months; 
Susannah, his wife, died May 20, 1861, aged 59 years, 3 months, 
10 days. 

Elizabeth, consort of John Englar, died Feb. 2, 1879, aged 
54 years, 2 months, 6 days. 

Tobias Cover, died March 26, 1865, aged 65; Elizabeth, his 
wife, died Feb. 14, 1869, aged 69. 

David Gilbert, born Nov. 22, 1798, died Sept. 5, 1865. 

William Ecker, born Aug. 10, 1809, died Oct. 7, 1865; Mary 
A., his wife, born Sept. 6, 1813, died Oct. 2, 1869. 

Mary A., wife of William Bloxsten, born Nov. 11, 1804, died 
Sept. 6, 1879. 

William Blc-isten, born Sept. 2, 1802, died March 11, 1876. 

Henry Riael, died Dec. 4, 1867, aged 85; Mary, his wife, 
died July 10, 1869, aged 75. 

Eliza A., wife of Thomas A. Franklin, born April 15, 1812, 
died April 3, 1876. 

Ezra Stoner, born July 19, 1830, died June 4, 1867. 

Elizabeth, wife of William Gilbert, died March 22, 1870, aged 
49 years, 7 months, 1 day. 

Joaiah Englar, died Oct. 25, 1878, aged 69 years, 7 months, 1 
day. 

Elizabeth, wife of Daniel S. Diehl, died Aug. 6, 1879, aged 40 
years, 4 months, 6 days. 

Lucretia, wife of Levi N. Snader, died June 13, 1876, aged 
49 years, 1 month, 16 days. 

Nathan Crumbacker, born Aug. 27, 1811, died Aug. 31, 1880. 

David Cruuibacke'r, born Aug. 12, 1808, died Feb. 5, 1881. 

Ezra 0. Englar, born Aug. 10, 1845, died Oct. 31, 1879. 

Robert M. Jenkins, born May 12, 1811, died April 19, 1879. 

William Segafoose, died Aug. 29, 1876, aged 69 years, 9 
months, 22 days. 

David Engel, of D., born Jan. 13, 1784, March 31, 1854. 

David Engel, born Oct. 23, 1754, died July, 1802; Elizabeth 
Engel, his wife, died Oct. 2, 1841, aged 90 years, 10 months, 2 
days. 

Elizabeth, wife of Jacob Stem, died Sept. 19, 1836, aged 32 
years, 2 days. 

Hannah Ecker, died May 13, 1862, aged 71 years, 1 month, 
4 days. 

Elizabeth, daughter of P. and H. Myers, died Dec. 16, 1845, 
aged 20 years, 11 months, 23 days. 

Daniel Engel, died Jan. 16, 1874, aged 76 years; Thiriza A., 
his wife, died July 14, 1878, aged 64 years, 8 months, 22 days. 

Eleanor M., wife of George Ebb, born Oct. 28, 1820, died Jan. 
6, 1873. 

Anna M.. consort of Daniel Engel, died March 12, 1859, 
aged 53 years, 4 months, 27 days. 

William Hoffman, died March 7, 1838, aged 60 years. 

Peter Engel, died April 5, 1833, aged 53 years, 5 months, 17 
days; Hannah, his wife, died Feb. 8, 1867, aged 84 years, 10 
months, 25 days. 1 

John Engel, born Sept. 13, 1785, died June 21, 1870 ; Nancy, ' 
his wife, died May 11, 1871, aged 71 years, 8 months, 18 days. 

Jacob Smith, died Feb. 24, 1869, aged 87 years, 5 months, 2 
days. 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



825 



Jacob Highmiller, of Company F, Seventh Regiment Mary- 
land Volunteer Infantry, born Jan. 11, 1839, "died in the ser- 
vice of his country," Jan. 30, 1864. 

Daves Lightner, died Sept. 14, 1867, aged 67 years, 10 month?, 
2 days. 

Joseph Hoop, born July 24, 1810, died Oct. 3, 1877. 

Mary, wife of Daniel Petry, died June 16, 1865, aged 63 years, 
1 month. 

Jacob Erb, died April 1, 1862, aged 65 years, 3 months, 13 days. 

Nathan W. Stem, died Dec. 29, 1862, aged 46 years, 4 months, 

6 days; Eliza, his wife, died Dec. IS, 1854, aged 38. 

John Roop, died March 14, 1872, aged 76 years, 5 months, 8 
days. 

Upton Stoner, born March 24, 1796, died May 30, 1876. 

Joseph Myers, born July 7, 1801, died April 8, 1880; Eliza- 
beth, his wife, born Feb. 14, 1801, died Nov. 1, 1864. 

Mary Roop, died Nov. 10, 1847, aged 49 years, 6 months, 27 
days. 

Conrad Englar, born Oct. 13, 1804, died Sept. 3, 1842. 

Margaret Brown, born Sept. 1, 1800, died May 2, 1862. 

Mary Englar, died Jan. T, 1854, aged 81"years, 8 months, 22 
days. 

Abraham Englar, died March 13, 1879, aged 67 years, 7 
months, 12 days. 

Jacob Diehl, died Dec. 28, 1848, aged 49 years, 6 months, 5 
days. 

Rachel Warner, died Dec. 11, 1853, aged 47 years, 8 months, 
10 days. 

Samuel Leaming, died May 25, 1837, aged 48 years, 9 months, 
14 days. 

Alfred F. Mering, born Deo. 6, 1835, died Feb. 21, 1879. 

Lewis G. Lindsay, died Nov. 9, 1879, aged 65 years, 7 months, 
25 days. 

Deborah Weaver, died Dec. 25, 1871, aged 76 years, 9 months, 
22 days. 

John K. Weaver, died Dee. 13, 1878, aged 88 years, 26 days. 

Joseph Weaver, born Sept. 16, 1779, died Oct. 14, 1866. 

John Weaver, born 1753, died 1823. 

Susannah Weaver, born 1763, died 1833. 

Samuel Weaver, born May 25, 1786, died' May 21, 1863. 

Elizabeth Weaver, born Oct. 14, 1803, died June 15, 1856. 

Philip Weaver, died Jan. 10, 1873, aged 74. 

Ann Weaver, born June 24, 1827, died Aug. 23, 1837. 

Susie Weaver, born Oct. 10, 1844, died July 19, 1866. 

McKendrie Weaver, died May 29, 1870, aged 22 years, 10 
months. 

Jesse Weaver, died July 24, 1878, aged 48 years, 11 months, 

7 days. 

Frederick Englar, born May 10, 1811, died Nov. 17, 1878. 

Ann, consort of M. Smith, died Feb. 21, 1849, aged 37 years, 
7 months, 10 days. 

Catharine, wife of Jacob Zimmerman, died May 30, 1827, 
aged 63 years, 5 months, 19 days. 

■Jacob Zimmerman, died Sept. 30, 1834, aged 28 years, 4 
months, 5 days. 

David Johnson, born Oct. 19, 1800, died April 20, 1879 j Su- 
sanna, his wife, died Jan. 21, 1861, aged 64 years, 9 months, 
22 days. 

Anna, wife of William Zimmerman, and only daughter of Wil- 
liam and Anna Shirk, born Nov. 17, 1834, died Nov. 17, 1869. 

Catharine Martin, died Nov. 5, 1864, aged 91. 

John Hess, died Oct. 5, 1861, aged 76; Mary, his wife, died 
April 24, 1865, aged 67 years, 8 months, 25 days. 

Jacob Bower, born Nov. 19, 1761, died April 11, 1825. 

Margaret Bower, died March 25, 1835, aged 59 years, 4 
months, 14 days. 



Catharine, wife of J. P. Haines, and daughter of Christopher 
and S. Johnson, died Jan. 30, 1871, aged 77 years, 4 months, 
26 days. 

Jacob Switzer, died June 20, 1854, aged 84 years, 3 months, 
13 days; Susanna, his first wife, died Nov. 25, 1827, aged 52 
years, 6 months, 19 days; Elizabeth, his second wife, died Jan. 
1, 1865, aged 76 years, 4 months, 19 days. 

Samuel Switzer, died March 1, 1829, aged 27 years, 7 months, 

24 days. 

Esther, wife of Jos. Bower, died Oct. 31, 1834, aged 40 years, 
3 months, 28 days. 

Barbara, wife of John Hess, died Feb. 11, 1829, aged 46year3, 
1 month, 26 days. 

George Urner, died Oct. 7, 1830, aged 25 years, 8 months. 19 
d.ays. 

Margaret Walter, born Dec. 29, 1780, died Oct. 4, 1876, aged 
95 years, 5 months, 9 days. 

Elizabeth Urner, died Oct. 8, 1828, aged 28 years, 9 months, 
15 days. 

Jonathan Plaine, died April 27, 1835, aged 48 years, 6 
months, 26 days; Lydia, his wife, died Oct. 3, 1866, aged 85 
years, 1 month, 14 days. 

George Harris, Sr., died April 14, 1838, aged 40 years, 5 
months, 17 days. 

Margaret Harris, died July 24, 1870, aged 78. 

Samuel Plaini>, horn Dec. 10, 1778, died Oct. 5, 1865. 

Catharine, wife of David Plaine, died 26th of 9th mo., 1826, 
aged 76. 

Elizabeth NusbaUm, died April 17, 1851, aged 85 years, 8 
months. 

John Nusbaum, died Aug. 8, 1825, aged 70. 

Isaac Hiltabidlc, died Sept. 4, 1827, aged 27 years, 3 months, 

12 days; Mary Ann, his wife, died Sept. 19, 1845, aged 44 
years, 10 days. 

Joseph Englar, died Feb. 23, 1845, aged 64 years, 8 months, 

25 days; Esther, his wife, died June 27, 1867, aged 82 years, 
9 months, 9 days. 

David Englar, died Aug. 9, 1839, aged 66 years, 6 months; 
Elizabeth, his wife, died Nov. 12, 1849, aged 72 years, 4 months, 
22 days. 

Deborah, wife of Henry Cover, died Feb. 2, 1858, aged 74 
years, 9 months, 25 days. 

Henry Cover, died Nov. 20, 1857, aged 76 years, 4 months, 
20 days. 

Deborah, wife of Joseph McKinstry, died Dee. 14, 1845, aged 
32 years, 18 days. 

Elizabeth Stoner, died Oct. 24, 1851, aged 85 years, 11 days. 

Margaret Stoner, died April 19, 1849, aged 17 years, 2 months, 
17 days. 

Margaret Crumback, died Aug, 14, 1844, aged 67. 

Hannah Nioodemus, died Aug. 10, 1852, aged 48 years, 3 
months, 26 dnys, 

Philip Englar, horn May 13, 1778, died Dec. 19, 1852. 

Hannah Englar, born Nov. 22, 1799, died Jan. 20, 1873. 

John Stoner, died Sept. 2, 1852, aged 64 years, 1 month, 10 
days. 

Samuel Boightel, died Dec. 13, 1846, aged 43 years, 11 months, 
8 days. 

Ephraim Englar, born June 4, 1806, died Nov. 8, 1857 ; Ag- 
nes, his relict, and wife of Jos. Stouflfer, died Jan. 19, 1863, aged 
52 years, 9 months, 14 days. 

Samuel Johnson, born June 15, 1804, died March 13, 1869. 

Jacob Plowman, born Feb. 4, 1816. died Feb. 7, 1870. 

RufusK. Bowers, born Feb. 1, 183U, died April 30, 1875. 

Samuel Hoffman, died June 19, 1874, aged 53 years, 9 months, 

13 days. 



826 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



Daniel Ogle, born Aug. 16, 1805, died Deo. 8, 1865. 
Philip Snader, born Jan. 2, 1802, died Feb. 4, 1864, aged 
62 years, 1 month, 2 days. 

David W. Snader, died April 4, 1877, aged 47 years, 4 months 

10 daj'S ; Sophia, his wife, died April 7, 1875, aged 42 years, 

3 months, 14 days. 

Abraham Wolfe, born Dec. 21, 1782, died Oct. 22, 1863 
Sarah, his wife, born Oct. 24, 1786, died July 11, 1S80. 

Israel Rinehart, born June 25, 1792, died Nov. 21, 1871 
Mary, his wife, died Dec. 15, 1865, aged 68 years, 1 month, 26 
days. 

John M. Wolfe, died March 15, 1876, aged 54. 

Mary A., wife of Hiram Davis, died Oct. 9, 1878, aged 58 
years, 7 months, 5 days. 

Joseph Foutz, born Oct. 5, 1793, died Jan. 13, 1878; Mar- 
garet, his wife, born July 10, 1801, died May 26, 1869. 

Mary A., wife of Richard B. Foutz, died Sept. 8, 1857, aged 
56. 

Maria Naill, wife of Jacob Snader, born Sept. 26, 1806, died 
Dec. 21, 1875. 

Martha A., wife of J. T. Devilbiss, died Jan. 26, 1875, aged 
34 years, 9 months, 19 days. 

Eve E., wife of Jacob Souble, died Aug. 4, 1877, aged 70 
years, 25 days. 

Louisa, wife of Asa Zent, died Aug. 21, 1877, aged 77 years, 
2 months, 21 days. 

Hannah Little, born May 20, 1804, died Oct. 10, 1877. 

Jacob Harman, died Aug. 13, 1871, aged 76 years, 2 months, 
18 days; Mary, his wife, died June 28, 1875, aged 80 years, 

11 months, 19 days. 

Hannah, wife of John Warehime, born April 11, 1801, died 
March 2, 1873. 

Peter Utz, born Sept. 4, 1796, died July 27, 1878. 

Jacob Rider, died May 31, 1871, aged 58 years, 6 months, 5 
days. 

George Hess, died Dec. 20, 1863, aged 80 years, 5 days. 

Susanna Hess, died Feb. 24, 1870, aged 88 years, 5 days. 

George Kelly, born Deo. 21, 1834, died Sept. 24, 1874; Sarah, 
his wife, died April 24, 1868, aged 37 years, 1 month, 1 day. 

John Banlier, born Feb. 4, 1790, died Aug. 23, 1870. 

Catharine Banker, born Dec. 8, 1793, died Feb. 20, 1873. 

Mary, wife of S. Hamilton Shouser, born Jan. 30, 1828, died 
Dee. 4, 1869. 

David S. Golly, died Dec. 27, 1863, aged 50 years, 7 months, 

4 days. 

Eliza Golly, died Aug. 6, 1878, aged 67 years, 6 months, 28 
days. 

Samuel Bower, died January, 1867, aged 60 years, 5 months, 
13 days; Nancy Ann, his wife, died April 22, 1866, aged 54 
years, 6 months, 8 days. 

Ephraim Powell, died March 2, 1872, aged 52. 

Peter M. Calwith, died June 10, 1866, aged 74 years, 5 
months. 

Rachel Calwith, died Feb. 26, 1860, aged 35 years, 5 months, 
6 days. 

Washington Wilson, born Jan. 12, 1815, died Jan. 17, 1856. 

John M. Romspert, born May 7, 1838, and " was instantly 
killed while on duty by the e.'jplosion of No. 4 engine on W. 
M. R. R.," Oct. 24, 1876. 

Ulrick Messier, born June 30, 1811, died March 9, 1870. 

Martha Messier, died Dec. 27, 1858, aged 40. 

Julia Ann Shriver, died Oct. 29, 1861, aged 48 years, 5 
months, 18 days. 

Martin Billmeyer, born March 23, 1779, died Sept. 3, 1856. 

Salome, relict of Jacob Ton, born Dec. 10, 1769, died Nov. 
22, 1855. 



Hannah Yon, born April 3, 1793, died Oct. 11, 1868. 

Samuel Meyers, died Sept. 11, 1856, aged 35 years, 5 months, 
7 days ; Eliza C, his wife, died Dec. 30, 1875, aged 68 years, 
6 months, 3 days. 

Stephen Bower, died March 12, 1856, aged 76 years, 7 
months. 

Mary Bower, died Feb. 5, 1855, aged 71 years, 10 months. 

John Rheam, died June 25, 1853, aged 67 years, 6 months, 
18 days. 

Elizabeth Rheam, died Jan. 12, 1871, aged 81 years, 8 months. 

Eliza, consort of Abraham Myers, born Dec. 12, 1801, died 
Nov. 21, 1855. 

Anna Myers, died March 6, 1 847, aged 78 years, 6 months, 
6 days. 

Jacob Myers, died April 25, 1876, aged 69 years, 8 months, 
15 days; Lydia, his wife, died Sept. 5, 1866, aged 49 years, 
1 month, 13 days. 

John Englar, born March 11, 1812, died July 29, 1860. 

Daniel Englar, died June 12, 1840, aged 63. 

Mary A. Englar, died Oct. 6, 1867, aged 50 years, 4 months, 
27 days. 

David Englar, died Jan. 21, 1841, aged 64 years, 6 months. 

Ann Singer, born July 31, 1811, died Oct. 28, 1876; Jacob, 
her husband, born April 9, 1813, died Feb. 27, 1877. 

Magdalena Sherbig, died July 23, 1825, aged 87 years, 10 
days, 

Jacob Cowell, died March 23, 1841, aged 84 years, 5 months, 
27 days. 

Elizabeth Cowell, died Oct. 17, 1849, aged 74 years, 2 months, 
18 days. 

G. M. Jordan, died Aug. 20, 1841, aged 84 years, 5 months, 
27 days. 

Anna M. Jordan, born March 19, 1758, died July 17, 1825. 

Abraham Caylor, died May 25, 1857, aged 64 years, 5 
months; Anna, his wife, died March 24, 1841, aged 46 years, 
9 months, 5 days. 

Dorothy Wildermute, born Jan. 10, 1780, died Sept. 9, 1823. 

"M. R.," died 1827. 

Henry Fulkerth, died July 2, 1848, aged 84. 

Margaret Fulkerth, died Dee. 21, 1837, aged 69 years, 6 
months. 

Ebenezer Carlyle, died July 27, 1840, aged 66 years, 1 month ; 
Margaret, his wife, died April 26, 1839, aged 53 years, 9 months, 
18 days. 

Anna Carlyle, died Aug. 1, 1880, aged 68 years, 3 months, 

23 days. 

Rachel O'Brien, died Deo. 25, 1870, aged 70. 

Sarah Roman, died July 7, 1857, aged 71. 

Jacob Zimmerman, born Dec. 30, 1787, died Feb. 5, 1859. 

Peter Little, died Dec. 11, 1839, aged 37 years, 3 months, 15 
days. 

Sophia Little, died March 11, 1852, aged 50. 

John Moore, died Aug. 1, 1860, aged 86 years, 5 months, 19 
days. 

Rachel Smith, died July 28, 1840, aged 52 years, 1 month, 

24 days. 

Barbara Keim, born Sept. 15, 1786, died Aug. 30, 1852. 

Jacob Keime, died March 16, 1849, aged 80. 

Priscilla, wife of William Stoner, died March 25, 1864, aged 
38 years, 4 months, 10 days. 

Henry Row, born Dec. 10, 1812, died Dec. 10, 1871. 

George Row, died May 5, 1857, aged 84 years, 7 months, 10 
days: Margaret, his wife, born Aug. 1, 1793, died Feb. 11, 1870. 

Carroll County was not altogether free from the 
vicissitudes which characterized the war between the 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



827 



North and the South. At the beginning of the un- 
fortunate struggle there was the same diversity of 
sentiment which existed in the other counties of 
Maryland, but those who favored the South were far 
inferior in numbers to the supporters of the Union. 
The young men volunteered freely in defense of their 
opinions, and it is estimated that the Federal army 
was supplied with eight hundred recruits from this 
section, while two hundred enthusiastic young men of 
Southern sympathies made their way through the 
Union lines into the camps of the Southern army. 
The contingents of Carroll in both armies fully main- 
tained the character of her people for gallantry and 
true manhood. In June, 1863, the soil of Carroll 
echoed the tread of large bodies of armed men from 
both armies. A portion of the cavalry force belong- 
ing to the army of Northern Virginia passed through 
Westminster on its way to Gettysburg, and encoun- 
tered a battalion of cavalry, which it dispersed or cap- 
tured after a slight skirmish. The troops rested in 
the city during the night and proceeded on their way 
with the dawn. They had scarcely emerged from the 
city when the Sixth Corps of the Army of the Poto- 
mac entered from the opposite side. Much excite- 
ment prevailed among the citizens, who had seen but 
little of either army, but their fears were groundless, 
as both detachments behaved with exemplary courtesy 
and evidenced thorough discipline. For some days 
the transportation wagons of the Union army were 
parked around the town and the streets presented an 
animated appearance, but they were moved to the 
front prior to the battle of Gettysburg. The booming 
of the cannon on that fatal field was heard with con- 
flicting emotions by the friends of the combatants, and 
as the echoes died away the town relapsed into its 
wonted quiet. It was roused again in the succeeding 
year for a brief period by a raid of the Confederate 
forces under Gen. Bradley T. Johnson and Maj. Harry 
Gilmor, but as they had learned by experience that 
the presence of troops was not such a serious infliction 
as their fears had painted, the short visit of the Con- 
federates was made rather an occasion of rejoicing 
than sorrow. 

The ex-Federal soldiers from Carroll County met 
in Westminster, March 13, 1880, and formed a post 
of the Grand Army of the Republic, to be known as 
Burns' Post, after W. H. Burns, of the Sixth Mary- 
land Regiment. Col. William A. McKellip was 
elected Commander, Capt. A. Billingslea, Senior Vice- 
Commander ; Capt. Charles Kuhns, Junior Vice-Com- 
mander; Dr. William H. Rippard, Surgeon; Lee 
McElroy, Quartermaster; Sylvester Mathias, Adjutant; 
and John Matthews, Chaplain. The officers were in- 



stalled March 27th by department commander Gen. 
William Ross and staff, of Baltimore. 

The Carroll County Agricultural Society was incor- 
porated March 8, 1869, by John E. Smith, Jeremiah 
Rinehart, William A. McKellip, Richard Manning, 
David Fowble, Hashabiah Haines, George W. Mat- 
thews, and John L. Reifsnider. The object of the 
association was " to improve agriculture by attracting 
the attention, eliciting the views, and combining the 
efforts of the individuals composing the agricultural 
community of Carroll County, and aiming at the de- 
velopment of the resources of the soil so as to pro- 
mote the prosperity of all concerned in its culture." 
Grounds containing thirty acres of land were pur- 
chased on the Baltimore turnpike at the east end of 
Westminster, just outside of the corporation limits. 
They were inclosed with a substantial fence, and sta- 
bling was erected for the accommodation of five hun- 
dred head of stock. A race-track, half a mile in 
length, was made from a diagram furnished by George 
W. Wilkes, of the Spirit of the Times, and all the 
necessary preparations completed for the annual ex- 
hibitions of the association. The constitution of the 
society requires the members to meet three times a 
year, and Article III. of that instrument defines the 
aims of the association to be, in addition to others, 
" to procure and improve the implements of hus- 
bandry ; to improve the breed of domestic animals 
. . . ." The first officers of the society were John 
E. Smith, president ; Jeremiah Rinehart, vice-presi- 
dent ; William A. McKellip, secretary ; Richard Man- 
ning, treasurer ; David Fowble, George W. Matthews, 
Edward Lynch, Hashabiah Haines, and John F. Reif- 
snider, directors. At a meeting of the board of di- 
rectors in 1869, the following committees were ap- 
pointed to solicit subscriptions to the capital stock of 
the society : 

District No. 1, Samuel Swope, Jno. McKellip, Samuel Smith ; 
No. 2, Reuben Saylor, Thomas F. Shepherd, Jeremiah 
Rinehart; No. 3, H. Wirt Shriver, Geo. W. Shull, Samuel 
Cover; No. 4, James Lee, Jeremiah Babylon, P. A. (5or- 
such ; No. 5, S. T. C. Brown, David Prugh, J. Oliver 
Wiidlow ; No. 6, George A. Shower, Edwin J. Crumrine, 
P. H. L. Meyers; No. 7, Wni. A. McKellip, Richard 
Manning, Hashabiah Haines, Augustus Shriver; No. 8, 
David W. Houok, Wm. Houck, John W. Murray; No. 9, 
Dr. F. J. Crawford, Col. J. C. Gist, Robert D. Gorsuch ; 
No. 10, Geo. Harris, Joseph Davis, John Winemiller ; 
No. 11, L. P. Slingluff, Wm. A. Norris, Sol. S. Ecker, Jos. 
A Stouffer. 

Preparations having all been completed, and the 
society having fully realized their anticipations of sup- 
port from the people of the county, on the 3d of July, 
1869, the grounds of the association were opened 
with much ceremony and with a fine exhibition. 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



which embraced the varied productions of the county 
and admirable specimens of improved stock and 
horses. A grand tournament attracted a large con- 
course of people, after which some interesting trotting 
races took place. Among the cattle exhibited were 
beautiful selections from Durham, Devon, Ayrshire, 
and Alderney breeds. The exhibition of horses was 
worthy of careful inspection, the large majority of 
the animals having been raised by the enterprising 
farmers of Carroll County. 

The following is a list of the oflScers of the society 
during each year, includiug 1881 : 

1870. — President, .John E. Smith ; Vice-President, Jeremiali 
Kinehart : Secretary, Wni. A. MoKellip ; Treasurer, Rich- 
ard Manning! Directors, David Fowble, Edward Lynch, 
H. Haines, W. G. Rinehart, Joseph H. Hoppe. 
1871. — President, Augustus Shriver ; Vice-President, Jeremiah 
Rinehart; Secretary, Wm. A. McKellip ; Treasurer, Rich- 
ard Manning ; Directors, Edward Lynch, David H. Byers, 
Geo. W. Matthews, David Fowble, Josephus H. Hoppe. 
1872. — President, Augustus Shriver ; Vice-President, Jeremiah 
Rinehart; Secretary, Wm. A. McKellip; Treasurer, Rich- 
ard Manning; Directors, David Fowble, Edward Lynch, 
H. E. Morelock, Joseph Shaeffer, Louis P. Slingluff. 
1873. — President, Granville S. Haines; Vice-President, Jere- 
miah Rinehart; Secretary, Wm. A. McKellip; Treasurer, 
Richard Manning ; Directors, Edward Lynch, David 
Fowble, Joseph Shaeffer, Dr. C. Billingslea, Noah Shaeffer, 
E. 0. Grimes, Louis P. Slingluff, Lewis H. Cole. 
1874. — President, Granville S. Haines; Vice-President, George 
W. Matthews; Secretary, C. V. Wantz; Treasurer, Rich- 
ard Manning ; Directors, F. H. Orendorff, H. E. Morelock, 
Joseph Hibberd, Thomas F. Shepherd, E. J. Crumrine. 
1875.— President, Granville S. Haines; Vice-President, Jo- 
seph Shaeffer ; Secretary, C. V. Wantz ; Treasurer, Rich- 
ard Manning ; Directors, H. E. Morelock, F, H. Oren- 
dorff, David Fowble, Thos. F. Shepherd, Samuel Roop. 
1876. — President, Jeremiah Rinehart ; Vice-President, Noah 
Shaeffer ; Secretary, George W. Matthews ; Treasurer, 
Richard Manning; Directors, David H. Byers, Samuel 
Lawyer, Henry B. Albaugh, John Sellman, David Stoner. 
1877.— President, Col. William A. McKellip ; Vice-President, 
David Fowble; Secretary, G. W. Matthews; Treasurer, 
Richard Manning; Directors, Dr. Jacob Rinehart, Gran- 
ville S. Haines, L. P. Slingluff, Edward Lynch, Orlando 
Reese. 
1878.— (Same board.) 
1879. — Same board, save Francis H. Orendorff, secretary, vice 

G. W. Matthews. 
1880. — Same board; Assistant Secretary, Frank W. Shriver; 
Chief Marshal, Joseph W. Berret ; Assistant Marshals, 
Robert M. Hewitt, Wesley A. Steele, G. Edwin Hoppe, | 
William N. Sellman ; Committee on Grounds and Side [ 
Shows, David Fowble, Granville S. Haines, Edward 
Lynch ; Superintendents of Departments, Henry E. More- 
lock, Wra. J. Morelock, D. H. Byers, Thomas B. Gist, Elias 
Tingling, Charles N. Kuhn, Francis Sharrer, Lee McElroy, 
W. G. Rinehart; Vice-Presidents, Dr. Samuel Swope, 
Frank Brown, J. C. Brubaker, A. G. Houck, Emanuel 
Myers, Geo. W. Manro, P. H. L. Myers, John W. Murray, 
Solomon Shepherd, Lewis Dielman, Benj. Poole, David 
Rinehart; Committee of Reception, Hon. Charles B. Rob- 
erts, Hon. John E. Smith, Henry Gait, Thomas F. Shep- 



herd, Samuel Cover, John H. Chew, E. J. Crumrine, R. D. 
Gorsuch. L. A. J. Lamotte, A. Augustus Roop, A. H. 
Steele, E. H. Clabaugh. The fair this year was held Sep- 
tember 2Sth to October 1st, and in the trials for speed there 
were six trots, in which S77o were given as awards. 
1881.— President, Col. William A. McKellip ; Vice-President, 
David Fowble ; Secretary, Francis H. Orendorff; Treas- 
urer, Richard Manning; Directors, Edward Lynch, Dr. 
Jacob Rinehart, Jeremiah Rinehart, John B. Boyle, Wil- 
liam J. Morelock. 

The Agricultural Hall, for the productions requir- 
ing shelter, is eighty-five by forty feet, and two stories 
high. The pavilion seats over two thousand persons, 
and a music-stand, octagonal in form, is erected in the 
centre of the track. This society has a capital of 
nearly thirty thousand dollars invested in its proper- 
ties. The quality of horses, cattle, hogs, sheep, and 
mules in the county, as annually exhibited, is superb, 
and makes a good return in profits to the growers and 
owners. It is universally admitted that the generous 
rivalry in their exhibitions has stimulated the farmers 
to more active exertions, and the machinists have 
been aroused to the necessity of producing imple- 
ments of superior quality. 

As has been before observed in these pages, the 
inhabitants of Carroll County have always been a 
peaceful and law-abiding people. The records of the 
court have seldom been defaced by the more heinous 
oifenses which sometimes mar the moral symmetry of 
other communities. There have been but two exe- 
cutions in the county since its creation in 1837. 
Rebecca McCormick, a colored woman, was tried at 
the April term of the Circuit Court for 1859 for the 
murder of a colored boy, fourteen years of age. She 
was convicted of murder in the first degree, and 
executed in the month of June following. 

On the 5th of April, 1872, Abraham L. Lynn, a 
miller near Lynwood Station, was found dead in his 
grain-bin with his skull fractured in several places. 
It was at first supposed that he had accidentally fallen 
into the bin, but the suspicious movements of a young 
man named Joseph W. Davis, employed in the mill, 
attracted attention, and he was arrested and charged 
with the murder. Hamilton Shue, a shoemaker in 
the village, was also arrested as an accomplice. The 
trial of Davis before the Circuit Court of Carroll 
County, in June, 1872, resulted in a disagreement of 
the jury. His case was then removed to Washington 
County, where he was tried in September, 1872, and 
convicted of murder in the first degree. There suc- 
ceeded a series of delays almost unexampled in the 
history of jurisprudence. The evidence was entirely 
circumstantial, and his counsel. Col. Maulsby and J. 
A. C. Bond, believed implicitly in his innocence. 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



829 



The case was taken on a bill of exceptions to the 
C<iuit ot" Appeals, and the decision of the lower court 
affirmed. Subsequently, in deference to the appeals 
of counsel, the case was reopened by the highest court 
in the State and reargued, with the same result as 
before. An appeal was now made to the Governor 
for pardon, and the case elaborately argued before 
him, but he declined to interfere. Again, on the 
supposed discovery of new evidence, it was argued 
before the Governor with a like result. Some mis- 
takes were then discovered in the court papers, and a 
writ of error was sued out by the counsel of Davis, 
which was heard by the Court of Appeals, and de- 
cided adversely to Davis. As a last resort an appli- 
cation for interference was made to the Legislature, 
which was then in session, but while the proceedings 
were pending before this body Davis made a full con- 
fession, acknowledging his guilt and exonerating Shue, 
who had already been acquitted. Davis was executed 
in the jail-yard at Westminster, Feb. 6, 1874. A 
fearful storm of wind and snow prevailed during the 
day, but the case had become so generally known 
through the extraordinary efforts of counsel in his 
behalf, that thousands of people were drawn thither 
to witness the last act in the tragedy. He broke down 
utterly at the last, and had to be borne up the steps of 
the gallows. His confession was sold to the spectators 
while he was delivering his farewell to the populace, 
and appeared the next day in the morning papers. 

The financial exhibit of Carroll County for the year 
ending June 30, 1881, was very gratifying to the 
taxpayers. There was a reduction of $10,641.61 in 
the public debt over the previous year, and an in- 
crease of $5172.41 in assets, making a general im- 
provement of $15,787.02. The liabilities over assets 
were $12,532.82, which was about the actual debt of 
the county. The tax levied was fifty cents on a 
hundred dollars, the lowest in the State. The ex- 
penses of the Circuit Court for August and No- 
vember, 1880, and for February and May, 1881, 
were $8303.46; for sundry attorneys, $121.33; for 
the Orphans' Court, $1573.81 ; for county commis- 
sioners, $1868.50; for county jail, $2390.59; for pub- 
lic schools, $21,000; for registers of voters, $825; 
for collection of taxes, $2635 ; i'or justices of the 
peace, $457.68 ; for constables, $464.79 ; for public 
printing, $722.83; for taxes refunded, $14 10; for 
State witnesses, $41 58 ; for layinj; out and opening 
public roads, $109 ; for inquests, $166.94 ; for sundry 
minor expenses, $970.55 ; for county roads, small 
bridges, and culverts, $9369.90 ; for bridges, $3732,- 
88; for county indebtedness, $14,230.31 ; forjudges 
and clerks of election, $286 ; for out-door pensioners, 
54 



$2803 ; for special pensions by order, $619.60 ; for 
miscellaneous accounts, $2364.36 ; for the almshouse, 
$3822.70. The liabilities of the county on June 30, 
1881, were given by Joseph A. Waesche, the treas- 
urer, as follows : County certificates outstanding, 
$47,495; note due Union National Bank, $5000; 
Daniel Bush estate, $1200; George W. Armacort, 
$400 ; total, $54,095. The amount of liabilities June 
30, 1880, $64,709.61. The assets were stated as 
follows : Outstanding taxes in hands of collectors for 
former years, $38,230.71 ; cash in bank, $2396.97 ; 
due from Baltimore City and Allegany County, 
$935.50 ; total, $41,563,18. Amount of assets July 
30, 1880, $36,390.77. The commissioners were 
John K. Longwell, president ; Francis Warner, Wil- 
liam C. Polk. 

The following statistics in regard to Carroll County 
are furnished from the census bureau : Total value of 
real estate assessed for the year ended June 30, 1880, 
$11,215,3.34; personal property, $5,030,142 ; aggre- 
gate value of real and personal property assessed, 
$16,245,476. Receipts from taxes for all purposes 
except schools, $90,687.65 ; for school purposes, 
$37,245.47 ; total receipts from State taxes for all 
purposes except schools, $14,214.79; total receipts 
from State taxes (or apportionment) for schools, 
$16,245.47. Expenditures for schools, $37,245.47; 
State roads or bridges, $11,996.71; poor, $7590; 
all other purposes, $24,337.95. Total, $81,170.13. 
The bonded indebtedness is based on the issue of 
bonds bearing 6 per cent, interest in 1864 and 1865, 
as bounties for volunteer soldiers, which matured in 
1866 and 1867. The amount paid is $10,675; out- 
standing, $48,325. Assets, par value outstanding 
taxes in the hands of collectors, $36,390.17; alms- 
house property, containing 175 acres of land, $15,000. 
Total, $51,390.17; estimated value, $51,390.17. 

The total population of the county in 1880 was 
30,992, of which the males numbered 15,495, and 
the females 15,497. 

The population of Carroll County, according to 
previous census returns, has been as follows : 

1870. I860. 1860. 1840. 

White 26,444 22,525 18,667 15,221 

Colored .-.. 2,175 1,225 974 898 

Slave 788 975 1,122 

Total 28,619 24,53.? 20,616 17,241 

The cereal production of Carroll County, as returned 
by the census of 1880, was as follows: 

Acres. Bushels. 

Barley l.'i.S .3,724 

Buckwheat 972 12,543 

Indian corn 31,983 1,003,986 

Oats 11,972 262,458 

Rye 5,269 54,879 

Wheat 40,077 579,333 

Tobacco 162 137,171 



830 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



Summary of Sohool Statistics for 1880. 

Number of school-houses (frame 32, brick 63, log 

IS, stone 12) 125 

Number male teachers (principals) 82 

female " " 49 

" " " assistants 1 

" fenced lots 9 

" schools having outbuildings 105 

" ** " good blackboards 110 

" '* " " furniture 112 

Different pupils for the year (white) 6152 

" •' " " (colored) 307 

Receipts^ 

Balance on hand Sept. 30, 1880 $180.30 

State school tax 12,662.30 

" free school fund 1,942.02 

County school tax at 16 cents on the SlOO 20,000.00 

Book fees 7,811.60 

State appropriation to (jolored schools 2,171.88 

License 201.33 

Rent 25.00 

Total $44,994.43 

The total disbursements were $44,994.43, of which 
$36,991.40 were teachers' salaries, $1579.96 for fuel, 
$4902.89 for stationery ; $4033.12 for colored .schools 
(included in the above disbursements), and the bal- 
ance (save $3146.07 cash on hand) for various inci- 
dental and contingent expenses. 

According to the United States census of 1880, 
the total number of persons in Carroll County who 
cannot read is 1419, and of those who cannot write 
2125. Of the latter, 1209 are native white, 66 
foreign white, and 850 colored. Of the white popu- 
lation who cannot write, 95 males and 61 females, 
total, 156, are between 10 and 14 years of age; 43 
males and 49 females, total, 92, are from 15 to 20 
years of age ; and 383 males and 644 females, total, | 
1027, are 21 years and over. Of the colored popu- j 
lation who cannot write, 43 males and 51 females, 
total, 94, are from 10 to 14 years old ; 42 males and 
58 females, total, 100, are from 15 to 20 years; and 
320 males and 336 females, total, 656, are 21 years 
and over. 



CARROLL COUNTY DISTRICTS. 



CHAPTER XXXIX. 

TANEYTOWN DISTRICT, N<5. 1. 

The metes and bounds of this district are as follows: 

*' Beginning at the Pennsylvania line where Rock Creek 
crosses said line; thence with the course of said creek until it 
empties into the Monocacy River; thence with the Monocacy 
to the point where Double Pipe Creek enters the river; tbence 
with the course of Pipe to the point of junction with Little 
Pipe Creek and by Pipe Creek ; thence with the course of 



Little Pipe Creek to Eckart's Ford ; thence with a straight 
line to Sick's Ford on Big Pipe Creek ; thence up Big Pipe 
Creek to Grove's Mill ; thence with the stone road to Littlestown 
turnpike; thence with the turnpike to the Pennsylvania line; 
thence to the place of beginning." 

The district is bounded on the north by Pennsyl- 
vania, on the east by the Myers' and Uniontown Dis- 
tricts, on the south by the Uniontown and Middleburg 
Districts, and on the west by Frederick County. Its 
western boundary line is the Monocacy River, and Big 
Pipe Creek separates it from the Uniontown District. 
Alloway's Creek, which rises in Pennsylvania, passes 
through the northwest corner of the district and 
empties into the Monocacy River, and Piney Creek, 
whicii takes its rise in the same State, passes diag- 
onally through the district, dividing it into two nearly 
equal parts, and finds its outlet in the Monocacy. 
Upon the tributaries of these streams many mills 
have been erected, some of them prior to the Revolu- 
tionary war. Taneytown District was first settled by 
the Scotch-Irish Presbyterian Covenanter stock, who 
were either natives of the north of Ireland or tiie 
descendants of those who came to Pennsylvania very 
early in the history of the colonies. Among them 
were the Gwynns, McKalebs, McKellips, Gaits, Bir- 
nies, Kuoxes, and Rudesils. The Goods, Crouses, 
Swopes, Hesses, Nails, Hecks, ReindoUars, Thomp- 
sons, and Shunks are names intimately associated also 
with the first settlement of the district. Frederick 
Taney was the earliest settler of whom any record is 
preserved He took up a tract of land in the vicinity 
of Taneytown, at present the business centre of the 
district, in 1740, and in 1754 "Brother's Agree- 
ment," a tract of seven thousand nine hundred acres, 
was patented to Edward Digges and Raphael Taney. 
About 1750 a heavy tide of immigration set in from 
Pennsylvania. John McKellip, Sr., a sea-captain, was 
born in the County Antrim, Ireland, where his parents 
had removed from the neighborhood of Castle Stir- 
ling, England. He married, Nov. 9, 1780, Mary 
Drips, his first wife, and after her death, Ann Adams, 
of Maryland. He settled in the Taneytown District 
in 1780, whither he had come from Ireland in com- 
pany with Rogers Birnie. He died March 10, 1834, 
aged eighty years. His first wife died Feb. 15, 1799, 
and his second, Dec. 14, 1827, she being sixty-four 
years of age. Three of his brothers, William, Hugh, 
and David, .settled in America. John McKellip's son 
James by his second wife was born Nov. 5, 1805, and 
died May 4, 1859. He was the father of Col. Wil- 
liam A. McKellip, a prominent lawyer of West- 
minster. The early settlers were all stanch Whigs 
during the Revolution, and contributed largely in 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



831 



troops and treasure to its success. '• Brother's Inher- 
itance," a grant of three thousand one hundred and 
twenty-four acres, was patented to Michael Swope in 
1761. 

If longevity he an indication of the salubriousness 
of a climate, Taneytown District has reason to be 
proud of its record in this regard. John Welty was 
born in Eppingen, Germany, Sept. 4, 1722. He 
came to this country and settled in the Taneytown 
District, and died near Emmittsburg, Jan. 16, 1817, 
aged ninety-four years, four months, and two days. 
His son, Frederick Welty, was born on Piney Creek, 
near Taneytown, March 12, 1779, and afterwards re- 
moved to Deilsburg, York Co., Pa., where he died 
April 28, 1877, aged ninety-eight years, one month, 
and sixteen days; Elizabeth Knitz, a daughter of 
John Welty, lived to be one hundred and three years 
of age ; Su.sanna Hornaker died in March, 1855, aged 
eighty-four years, four months, and two days ; Casper 
Welty, a son of John, died Feb. 27, 1856, aged 
eighty-eight years, nine months, and twenty-one days ; 
Bernard Welty, another son, died April 1, 1856, aged 
eighty-two years, eight months, and eleven days; 
Mary Hoovs, another daughter, died Sept. 17, 1866, 
aged ninety-one years ; Abraham Welty, died May 2, 
1874, aged ninety-seven years, eleven months, and 
twenty-two days. Their aggregate ages amounted to 
six hundred and fifty-seven years, giving an average 
of ninety-four years to each member of the family, 
probably the most remarkable instance of longevity 
since the days of the patriarchs. 

Piney Creek Presbyterian Church. — " April 13, 
1763, Tom's Creek and Pipe Creek Churches ask leave 
to apply to the Presbytery of New Brunswick for a 
young man to supply them." The answer to this re- 
quest is not recorded, but the Rev. Samuel Thompson 
was appointed to preach at Tom's Creek, and the Rev. 
Robert MoMardil was at the same time appointed to 
preach at Pine Creek, on the fourth Sabbath of 
April. At this point in the history the name of Pipe 
Creek disappears from the record, and that of Pine, 
then Piney Creek, is substituted, showing that the 
congregation now adopted a new name, if it did not 
also change its place of worship. The church was 
supplied during the next autumn and winter by Wil- 
liam Edmeston and John Siemens, licentiates of the 
Donegal Presbytery, by William Magau, a licentiate 
of the Presbytery of Philadelphia, and by the Rev. 
Robert Smith. For the summer of 1764, Mr. Siem- 
ens had three appointments at Piney Creek. During 
the next five years Tom's Creek and Piney Creek 
had occasional supplies, appointed chiefly at the stated 
meetings of the Presbytery in April and October. 



Andrew Bay, John Slemons, John Craighead, Heze- 
kiah James Balch, Samuel Thompson, and Robert 
Cooper were among their preachers. Rev. John 
Slemons was born in Chester County, Pa. His 
parents were emigrants from Ireland. He was a 
graduate of Princeton College, and was licensed by 
the Presbytery of Donegal in 1762 or 1763. He 
was unanimously called to Lower Marsh Creek on the 
third Saturday of November, 1764. He also received 
calls from Tom's Creek and Piney Creek about the 
same time. At Philadelphia, May 8, 1765, the 
Presbytery desired his answer respecting the calls 
under consideration, when " he gave up that from 
Piney Creek and Tom's Creek." Not being " clear" 
with respect to the call from Lower Marsh Creek, the 
Presbytery " recommend him to come to a determina- 
tion as soon as he can in that matter." 

On the 23d of May he declared his acceptance of 
the call to Lower Marsh Creek, and was ordained 
and installed by the Presbytery of Carlisle. Oct. 3(), 
1765, Mr. Slemons frequently supplied Tom's Creek 
and Piney Creek, both before and after his settlement 
at Marsh Creek. His relation to this church had dis- 
solved in 1774. He was pastor of Slate Ridge and 
Chanceford from their organization until his death, 
Juno, 1814, in the eightieth year of his age. His 
remains, and those of his wife Sarah, who died June 
2, 1823, are interred in the Piney Creek burying- 
ground. Mrs. Slemons was the daughter of the Rev. 
Joseph Dean, a co-laborer of the Tennents, who was 
buried in the Neshaminy Church graveyard. Two 
brothers and a sister of Mr. Slemons, and the children 
of one of the brothers, are buried in the Lower Marsh 
Creek buryiug-ground. Piney Creek had meanwhile 
asked for the appointment of the Rev. Joseph Rhea 
" in particular" as supply, and had also requested that 
some member of the Presbytery be deputized to 
assist in the preparation of a call to Mr. Rhea. He 
had already been before the congregation, having be- 
come a member of the Presbytery, October, 1770. 
That Mr. Rhea's ministrations were highly acceptable 
is evinced by the fact that not only Piney Creek, but 
also Upper Marsh Creek (now Gettysburg) and the 
united churches of Tuscarora and Cedar Springs, all 
presented calls to him in April, 1771. Hanover, in 
Dauphin County, likewise asked for him as supply at 
the same time. The call from Tuscarora and Cedar 
Spring was withheld for correction. That from Upper 
Marsh was presented to Mr. Rhea, and taken into 
consideration by him. 

The commissioners from Piney Creek were Patrick 
Watson and Matthew Gait. They stated that sub- 
scriptions amounting to £110 or £112 had been 



832 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



secured for Mr. Rhea's support ; that if he became 
pastor they proposed to maintain his family for the 
first year in addition to the salary, and that this agree- ■ 
ruent had been entered of record in their " Book of 
Congregational Affairs." ' 

The Presbytery found the call to be regular and 
the people unanimous, but an existing difficulty be- 
tween Tom's Creek and Piney Creek was an impedi- ' 
ment in the way of placing it in Mr. Rhea's hands. 
Another committee was now raised to hear and deter- 
mine the matters now in dispute. This committee 
consisted of the Rev. Messrs. Thompson, Roon, Duf- 
field, and Cooper, and was directed to put the call j 
in Mr. Rhea's hands, if no sufficient objections arose 
out of the questions submitted for their decision. 

The committee was directed to meet on the Mon- 
day following their appointment, but in this they i 
failed, and so reported to the Presbytery in June, 
when the reasons assigned for the failure were sus- 
tained. During the delay occasioned by these efforts 
of conciliation Mr. Rhea declared his acceptance of 
the call to Upper Marsh Creek, but afterwards de- ! 
clined it under circumstances which led the Presby- 
tery to disapprove of his conduct " as having too ' 
great an appearance of inadvertency and instability," 
and recommending him to be " more cautious in the 
future with respect to such matters." 

Piney Creek now urged the Presbytery to put their i 
call into Mr. Rhea's hands, and in case of his accept- 
ance to have him installed as soon as convenient. The 
same obstacle being still in the way as at the April 
meeting, action upon this request was again deferred. 

But, in order to expedite the business, a new com- 
mittee, consisting of the Rev. Messrs. Cooper, Craig- 
head, and Duffield, with Robert Dill and Robert 
McPhersou as elders, was appointed to determine the 
matter in debate, and if the way should be clear, put 
the call into Mr. Rhea's hands and receive his an- 
swer. 

The committee met at Tom's Creek on the fourth 
Tuesday of June, 1771, all the members being present 
except Mr. Craighead and Elder Dill. Mr. Cooper 
was chosen moderator, and Mr. Duffield clerk. The 
commissioners from Piney Creek were Patrick Wat- 
son, Abraham Heyter, Benjamin McKinley, James 
Gait, and James Hunter ; from Tom's Creek a com- 
mittee of four. 

When the committee and the parties came together, 
there were two subjects of dispute to be considered. 
The first was that Piney Creek desired a separation 
from Tom's Creek and the settlement of a pastor of 
their own ; whereas Tom's Creek favored the continu- 
ance of the former union and a joint settlement of a 



pastor. After a full and patient hearing of the argu- 
ments on both sides, the committee decided this first 
question in favor of Piney Creek, and dissolved the 
union. 

The second subject of controversy was that of the 
boundary line between the two congregations. It will 
be remembered that in April, 1765, this question was 
considered and apparently settled. The following is 
the concluding part of the committee's decision : 

" The committee therefore determine that although Monocacy 
does appear to be a just and natural boundary to Tom's Creek, 
yet for the present such persons as live between the above- 
mentioned Stony Ridge and Marsh Creek, or Monocacy, and 
choose to join with Piney Creek, shall be at liberty so to do. 
But that in case of Tom's Creek obtaining a minister, it shall 
be deemed more regular in them to join with Tom's Creek 
(within whose reasonable bounds they are to be esteemed re- 
siding), as being more conducive to the general good of the 
church, even though they should still continue a connection 
with Piney Creek as being nearer to them as that house is 
now seated." 

In the judgment and determination of the commit- 
tee the commissioners of both congregations acqui- 
esced, and thus disposed of questions which had been 
sources of controversy and distraction. The way was 
now clear for presenting the call to Mr. Rhea. It was 
accordingly placed in his hands by the committee. 
After due deliberation he accepted it. The record 
omits the arrangements for his installation, but this 
doubtless soon followed, as from this time he dis- 
charged the duties of the pastorate. Thus after de- 
pending upon the Presbytery for supplies for nearly 
ten years, Piney Creek had, for the first time, a set- 
tled minister. At what precise time the first house 
of worship was erected at Piney Creek is unknown. 
It was, however, prior to the settlement of Mr. Rhea, 
as is shown by the deed conveying the lot of ground, 
and the house built upon it, to the trustees. The 
original Piney Creek church, as stated above, erected 
prior to Mr. Rhea's settlement in 1771, was a very 
plain log structure. Its pews were 

" Straight-backed and tall, 

Its pulpit, goblet formed, 
Half-way up the wall, 

The sounding-board above." 

It was removed about the year 1818, when the 
present brick church was built upon the same site, 
and much after the same fashion. It was remodeled 
and modernized in 1869, during the pastorate of Mr. 
Patterson. The number of pews in the second church 
before the last improvements were made were fifty- 
eight. 

The deed of the old church is dated Feb. 15, 1771, 
and was given for a consideration of five shillings, by 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



833 



Abraham Heyter, of Frederick County, province of 
Maryland, to Patrick Watson, James Gait, and John 
McCorkle, of the same county and province, and 
James Barr and James Hunter, of York County, 
province of Pennsylvania, in trust for a church and 
burying-ground. The grant contained two acres of 
land, and the use of a spring of water contiguous 
thereto, on the southeast side of the land, and was 
situated in Piney Creek Hundred, Frederick Co. 
In shape it was a parallelogram, with lines running 
north and south twenty perches, and east and west 
sixteen perches. The grantor restricted the use and 
privilege of the land to " a congregation of people 
called Presbyterians, who shall hold or continue to 
hold that system of doctrine contained in the West- 
minster confession of faith, catechisms, and direc- 
tory, as the same principles are now professed and 
embraced by the Synod of New York and Philadel- 
phia, to which they are now united." 

While Piney Creek was enjoying the regular min- 
istrations of a settled pastor, Tom's Creek was de- 
pendent upon the Presbytery for supplies. In 1772 
subscriptions to the amount of fourteen pounds were 
taken up in Piney Creek for the benefit of Nassau 
Hall College, New Jersey. In June, 1775, Mr. Rhea 
informed the Presbytery that he desired to visit some 
parts of Virginia, and that his people had given con- 
sent to his absence. The Presbytery permitted him 
to carry out his purpose, and fiirnished him with the 
usual traveling credentials. 

Mr. Rhea tendered his resignation as pastor of the 
Piney Creek Church in April, 1776. His reasons for 
doing so are not upon record, but subsequent proceed- 
ings show that his salary was in arrears. The com- 
missioners of the congregation were Robert Bigham 
and Adam Hoop. Upon their acceding to Mr. Rhea's 
request, the Presbytery, after due deliberation, dis- 
solved the pastoral relation. An agreement was, 
however, previously entered into whereby Mr. Rhea 
engaged to receipt in full for his salary upon the pay- 
ment of one hundred and fifty pounds. He also 
agreed that if upon examination of accounts it should 
appear that any moneys had been received for which 
due credit had not been given, the proper deductions 
should be made. The date of these transactions was 
April 11, 1776. 

Mr. Rhea obtained leave to spend the following 
summer in Virginia, and was furnished with the usual 
Presbyterial certificate. 

Being unable to effect a settlement with Mr. Rhea, 
the congregation applied to the Presbytery in October 
of the same year for a committee to adjudicate the 
matter. The Rev. Messrs. Balch and Black, with 



Elders William Blair and David McConaughy, were 
appointed said committee, and directed to meet at 
Piney Creek, when Mr. Rhea could be present. But 
as he had gone to Virginia, the meeting was neces- 
sarily delayed, and before it could be arranged for his 
convenience he died. This event occurred Sept. 20, 
1777. Mr. Rhea was a native of Ireland. Piney 
Creek was his only pastorate in this country. His 
remains lie in the burying-ground attached to this 
church. His tombstone bears the following inscrip- 
tion : 

"Sacred to the memory of the Rev. Joseph Rhea, who died 
in 1777, aged about sixty-two years. Erected at the request and 
the expense of a grandson of the deceased, in 1839, by the elders 
of the Piney Creek Church, where he preached seven years." 

In October, 1778, a paper signed by Patrick Wat- 
son, Robert Bigham, Samuel McCune, James Watson, 
and William Linn showed that the arrears due to the 
heirs of Mr. Rhea had been collected, and all the ob- 
ligations of the congregation to him honorably dis- 
charged. Supplies were appointed for Piney Creek 
at this meeting, and from time to time for the next 
two years. 

On the 22d of May, 1777, the Rev. James Martin, 
a member of the Associate Presbytery of Pennsyl- 
vania, was received by the Synod and assigned to the 
Presbytery of Donegal. He was enrolled as a member 
of this latter body June 18th. In 1780 he accepted 
a call to Piney Creek Church. The support prom- 
ised was " four hundred bushels of wheat per year, 
or the current price thereof in money, and as much 
more as the circumstances of the congregation would 
admit." He was installed Nov. 9, 1780, by a com- 
mittee consisting of the Rev. Messrs. James Hunt, 
John Siemens, and John Black. The pastorate of 
Mr. Martin was continued eight and a half years. 
In October, 1788, he applied to the Presbytery of 
Carlisle for a relief from his charge. The commis- 
sioners of the congregation had not been instructed 
to acquiesce in this application, but they presented a 
memorial showing that their financial affairs were not 
in a healthy condition. The church was cited to 
appear at the next meeting and show cause why Mr. 
Martin's request should not be granted, and a com- 
mittee consisting of Rev. Messrs. Black, McKnight, 
and Henderson, with Elders John Linn, Robert Mc- 
Pherson, and James McKnight, was directed to meet 
at Piney Creek on the first Tuesday of December and 
inquire into the condition of afiairs. 

The committee reported, April 15, 1789, that the 
whole amount paid Mr. Martin in nine years was 
£612 12s. 8d., that £297 7s. 4d. were still due, that 
for his future support they can only raise seventy 



834 



HISTOEY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



pounds per annum, and will only be responsible for 
forty pounds of the said sum. The pastoral relation 
was therefore unanimously dissolved, and the congre- 
gation was directed to use every honorable effort to 
liquidate their indebteduess to Mr. Martin. At the 
same meetinpj Mr. Martin accepted a call to East 
and West Penn's Valley, Warrior Mark, and Half- 
Moon, in Pennsylvania, within the present bounds of 
the Presbytery of Huntingdon. Here he labored 
until his death, June 20, 1795. He was a native of 
the County Down of Ireland. He came to this 
country before its independence was declared, and 
labored for a season in South Carolina. Piney Creek 
was his first settlement here, though he had preached 
for some years in his native land. He was one of 
the original members of the Presbytery of Hunting- 
don, which was constituted April 14, 1795. He died 
at the age of sixty-seven, and was buried in Penn's 
Valley, where he resided after he moved to Maryland. 
Tradition speaks of him as an able and popular 
preacher. He is said to have been a very earnest 
and animated speaker. Like all the preachers of that 
day, and those especially of the denomination from 
which he originally came, his sermons were long, 
perhaps seldom less than an hour and a half, and 
sometimes considerably longer. On a warm summer 
day it was not unusual for him to take off his coat 
and preach in his shirt-sleeves. In the pulpit he was 
very forgetful of himself and his personal appearance, 
so intensely was he taken up in his subject. He 
would first take off his coat, then begin to loosen his 
cravat, and conclude by taking off his wig, holding 
it in his hand and shaking it in the face of the con- 
gregation, and sometimes during the course of his 
sermon his wig would become awry, the back part 
turned to the front, and he utterly unconscious of the 
metamorphosis. Surely a man of such earnestness 
*as above and beyond the ridicule of the profane. 
Mr. Martin was twice married. His first wife was 
Annie McCullough ; his second, Ellen Davidson, of 
York County. After his death she returned to her 
home. She had no children. Mr. Martin had four 
sons, — James, Samuel, John, and Robert. 

The pulpit remained vacant for several years after 
Mr. Martin's resignation, and depended upon the 
Presbytery for preaching and the administration of 
the sacraments. The process of liquidating their in- 
debtedness went on slowly. 

In October, 1792, a statement of accounts between 
the congregation and their late pastor showed a re- 
maining indebtedness of £96 17.<i. lie?. The only 
other reference to the subject is in April, 1793, when 
the people are again directed to take all proper meas- 



ures to secure a speedy discharge of their obligations 
to Mr. Martin. 

In August, 1793, the advice of the Presbytery was 
sought in the following case : " A certain widow of 
Piney Creek, with her husband in his lifetime, ap- 
plied to a certain man who passed under the name of 
a gospel minister and had the ordinance of baptism 
in appearance administered to her two children ; but 
it was afterwards discovered that the said adminis- 
trator had never been authorized by any regular 
church of Christ to act as a gospel minister." The 
Presbytery decided the act of the impostor to be in- 
valid, and advised that the children be baptized by a 
regularly ordained minister. 

In October, 1801, the Piney Creek Church, which 
had been vacant since the resignation of Mr. Martin, 
April 15, 1789, extended a call to Mr. Davidson, 
offering him £87 10s. for one-half of his ministerial 
and pastoral services. A commissioner informed the 
Presbytery that Tom's Creek had been consulted, and 
had agreed that Mr. Davidson's services should be 
divided between the two congregations. The call was 
accordingly presented to Mr. Davidson, and upon his 
acceptance of it the arrangement was consummated. 

Tom's Creek and Piney Creek were now for the 
first time in a period of forty years united under the 
same pastor. The union then established has, how- 
ever, been continued with entire harmony through 
successive pastorates for three-quarters of a century. 
Mr. David.son's labors were continued in the two con- 
gregations until the autumn of 1809. 

At the Presbytery meeting at Carlisle, Sept. 26, 
1810, charges of a serious nature were made against 
Mr. Davidson by Mr. Emmit. " Only six were 
deemed relevant: 1. A charge of fraud and false- 
hood in a business transaction with said Emmit. 2. 
Of fraud towards the purchasers of certain lots of 
ground in the above transaction. 3. Of falsehood in 
renting to Anthony Troxel a brick house only, and 
afterwards giving him possession of orchard, clover, 
and garden, though said property was claimed by said 
Emmit according to contract. 4. Of fraud and false- 
hood (1) in settling an account with Robert Holmes, 
and (2) in his dealings with Lewis Weaver, wherein 
he promised to settle with said Weaver before he 
(Davidson) removed to Frederick, but violated said 
promise. 5. Of cruel and unchristian conduct in 
ejecting George Hockensmith, wife, and children, 
with beds and furniture, during a heavy rain, despite 
all said Hockensmith's entreaties to give him two or 
three days, for which he would pay him two dollars, 
and in refusing to give him time for his children to 
eat a mouthful of breakfast, though it was provided 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



835 



for them and already on the table. 6. Of a breach 
of the Sabbath, in June, 1805, in dealing with Solo- 
mon Kephart for harvest liquors." 

A cominittee consistin<; of the Rev. John Mc- 
Knight, D.D., chairman, and the Rev. Messrs. Wil- 
liam Paxton and David McConaughy, with Elders 
Alexander Russel, Walter Smith, and John Eadie, 
appointed to hear and take testimony in the case, met 
at the house of Patrick Reed, in Emmittsburg, on the 
first Tuesday of November, 1810, and entered upon 
an examination of the charges. Mr. Davidson de- 
clined to make any defense. The committee reported 
to the Presbytery April 11; 1811. The charges were 
taken up seriatim, and after mature consideration it 
was decided that none of them had been sustained. 
It was thereupon 

" Renolved, That the Presbytery declare their high disappro- 
bation of the conduct of William Bmmit, in instituting and 
prosecuting charges evidently unjust, slanderous, and vexa- 
tious." 

It was also ordered that an attested copy of this 
resolution be read from the pulpit of the churches. 

Of the internal and spiritual condition of Piney 
Creek during Mr. Davidson's pastorate little is known. 
In 1806 the total membership was 124 ; in 1807, 
113; in 1808, 108. In 1805 the additions to the 
church were 10; in 1807, 8; in 1808, 7; in 1809, 
9. The baptisms in 1806 were 14; in 1807, 8; in 
1808, 24; in 1809, 10 ; in 1810, 14. 

The next pastor of the united congregations was the 
Rev. Robert Smith Grier. A complete roll of the 
membership of Piney Creek was prepared in January, 
1824, from which it appears that there were then 
one hundred and forty-four communicants ; of these 
eighty-nine were females. Piney Creek had at that 
date thirty-seven members more than Tom's Creek, 
and was most probably as strong as at any period of 
its history. Emigration westward, by which it has 
been greatly depleted of late, had not then fairly set 
in. The elders were Alexander Horner, John McAl- 
ister, Samuel Thompson, and John Barr. Many 
names then on the list of members have since dis- 
appeared. The Adairs, the Baldwins, the Blacks, the 
Darbys, the Fergusons, the Heagys, the McCrearys, 
the Reids, the Wilsons, and others familiar doubtless 
to many now living are no longeV upon the register. 

In May, 1825, Catharine Harris, Susan Jamison, 
Sarah and William Thompson, Rebecca Wilson, 
Henry Dinwiddle, Amelia Rhinedoller, and Sophia 
Deukart were received, and in September Robert i 
Flemming and Miss Eliza Graham. In 1830 the ' 
Session received Jacob Shoemaker, who became a ' 
useful member of the church, and was ordained to ' 



the eldership in 1838. He died Feb. 4, 1869. Mrs. 
Margaret Shoemaker, wife of Jacob, was received at 
the same time ; she was a diffident though a sincere 
and humble Christian woman. At her death, which 
occurred Oct. 26, 1875, it was discovered that she had 
bequeathed two thousand dollars to the board of the 
church. 

John Adair was treasurer of Piney Creek Church 
from 1814 to 1822 ; James Barr, from 1822 to 1836. 
The position of doorkeeper was held by Abraham 
Shoemaker from 1815 to 1819; James Ross, from 
1819 to 1822 ; Elijah Currens, from 1823 to 1837. 
The number of persons subscribing to the pastor's 
salary in 1806 were 95; in 1810, 75; in 1816 and 
1817, 100, which appears to be the maximum num- 
ber so far as can be ascertained. The subscriptions 
ranged from one to ten dollars, the average being 
about three, and were paid semi-annually. 

The pastorate of Mr. Grier, though covering more 
than half a century, was quiet and uneventful. He 
lived during a large part of his ministry upon his 
farm, three miles north of Emmittsburg, and over the 
line separating Maryland and Pennsylvania. After 
the decease of Mr. Grier both churches were supplied 
for a few months by Rev. Daniel B. Jackson, then a 
licentiate, but now pastor of the Black River Falls 
Church, Wis. Early in the summer of 1866 they 
were visited by the Rev. Isaac M. Patterson, pastor of 
the Annapolis Church, and a member of the Pres- 
bytery of Baltimore. This visit resulted in a call to 
the pastorate of both churches. Mr. Patterson com- 
menced his labors early in August, and was installed 
at Piney Creek November 13th, and on the next day 
at Emmittsburg. Mr. Patterson's ministry lasted 
seven years. In the summer of 1873 he resigned 
his pastoral charge with a view to accept a call to 
Milford, N. J., which is his present field of labor. 
The relations of the present pastor to the united 
churches of Emmittsburg, Piney Creek, and Taney- 
town were constituted in December, 1873, by a com- 
mittee of the Presbytery of Baltimore. 

In January, 1824, there were in the church at 
Piney Creek four elders, — Alexander Horner, John 
McAllister, Samuel Thompson, and James Barr.^and 
the following are the names of the communicants : 

Ale.xander Horner, Sarah Horner, Eli Horner, Ann Walker, 
John Horner, Ann Thompson, Robert McCreery, Robert 
Thompson, Eleanor Thompson, Ann McCreery, Mary 
Thompson, Andrew Walker, Maria McCreery, Sarah 
Horner, .Tames Horner, James Black, Jane Black, Philip 
Heagy, Esther Hcagy, Jesse Quinn, Margaret Linor, Wil- 
liam Walker, William Stevenson, Peggy Stevenson, John 
McCallister, J. W. McCalistcr, Betsy McCalisler, Mary 
McCalister, Elizabeth Henry, Frances Weemes, Jane Cor- 



836 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



nell, Margaret Paxton, William Paxton, Caroline Harris, 
Jane McCrea, Elijah Baldwin, Matthew Gait, Mary Gait, 
Elizabeth Gait, Susan Gait, Rebecca Gait, Abraham Linor, 
Sterling Gait, Margaret Gait, Samuel Gait, Mary Gait, 
Mary Jones, Elizabeth McCrea, Thompson McCrea, Samuel 
Thompson, Archibald Clingan, Ann Clingan, William Clin- 
gan, Elizabeth Clingan, Hugh Thom|ison, Margaret Snyder, 
Elijah Baldwin, Elizabeth Baldwin, Mary Baldwin, Kizeah 
Baldwin, Rachel Miller, Sarah Drummond, James Smith, 
Sarah Smith, Alison, Martha Alison, Mary Ann Ali- 
son, Isabella Barr, James Barr, Margaret Barr, Sally Barr, 
Mary Cornell, Esther Cornell, Sarah Gait, Martha Breck- 
enridge, Margaret Birnie, Hester Birnie, Charles Birnie> 
Hester Birnie, Jr., Rose Birnie, John McKaleb, Mary Jane 
Annan, John McKillip, Ann McKillip, Mary Gillelan, 
Sarah Claubacb, Catherine Musgrove, John Ferguson, Sr., 
John Ferguson, Rebecca Ferguson, John Adair, Esther 
Adai'', Sarah Adair, Samuel Adair, Hannah Adair, Frances 
Alison, Margaret Reid, Margaret Reid, Jr., Mary Reid, 
Weemes Black, Elizabeth Larrimore, Lucinda McCalister, 
Thomas McCune. Thomas McCune, Jr., Mary McCune, 
John Thompson, Andrew Guin, Margaret Hunter, Susanna 
Hunter, .Jane Hunter, Elizabeth Hunter, John Hunter, 
Andrew Horner, Margaret Horner, William Horner, Eliz- 
abeth Horner, Nancy Bentley, John Darby, Catharine 
Darby, Elizabeth Smith, Mary Wilson, Jane Wilson, John 
Wilson, Betsy Larimore, George Guin, Elizabeth Baldwin, 
John McClanahan, Ann McClanahan, James McCalester, 
James McCalister, Jr., Mar}"- McCalister, Alexander Mc- 
Calister, James Mcllhenny, Maria McIIhenny, Sally Mc- 
Ilhenny, Robert McKinney, Susanna McKinney, Esther 
McKinney, James Smith, Jane Longwell. Sally Jamison, 
Miss Jamison, Kitty (colored), Jack (colored). 

The following is a list of the persons subscribing to 
the pastor's salary in the year 1817 : 



Adair, John. 
Adair, Samuel. 
Alison, Francis. 
Alexander, William. 
Armstrong, Isaac. 
Barr, James. 
Breckinridge, William. 
Black, James. 
Birnie, Clotworthy. 
Baldwin, Daniel. 
Beard, William. 
Breckinridge, Widow. 
BrannoD, Margaret. 
Cornall, Thomas. 
Cornall, William. 
Crabbs, John. 
Currens, Elijah. 
Currens, William. 
Cornall, Jesse. 
Cornall, Smith. 
Clingan, Archibald. 
Clingan, William. 
Crabster, John. 
Crabster, John, Jr. 
Darby, John. 
Dorborrow, Isaac. 
Drummond, James. 
Ferguson, John. 
Ferguson, William. 
Gait, John. 



Gait, Matthew. 
Guin, George. 

Gait, Moses. 
Gilliland, John. 
Guin, Andrew. 
Gordin, Mary. 
Horner, Alexander. 
Hill, Hannah. 
Hunter, Joseph. 
Horner, William. 
Horner, Andrew. 
Horner, John. 
Hunter, John. 
Heagy, Philip. 
Hays, Joseph. 
Hunter, Susanna, 
Heagy, George. 
Jamison, Widow. 
Jamison, John. 
Jones, John. 
Linn, James. 
Linn, Samuel. 
Love, Robert. 
Leech, Robert. 
Linah, Abraham. 
Larimore, Thomas. 
Linn, Samuel, Jr. 
Little, Susanna. 
McCreary, Robert. 
McAlister, John. 



McAlister, James. 
McKaleb, John. 
McKalip, John. 
McCune, Thomas. 
Mcllvane, Moses. 
Major, Robert. 
McKinney, John. 
McCune, Thomas. 
Mcllhenny, John. 
McCrea, Elizabeth. 
McCrea, Thomson. 
Musgrove, Samuel. 
Mcllhenny, James. 
Paxton, William. 
Paxton, Thomas. 
Paxton, Margaret. 
Ross, Jnmes. 
Robinson, Robert. 
Reed, Francis. 
Smith, Samuel. 
Smith, James. 

Rev. Sterling M. 
District. Carroll Co.. 



Stevenson, William. 
Shoemaker, William, 
Snyder, Nicholas. 
Shaw, Hugh. 
Six, George, 
Sink, George. 
Smith, Obadiab. 
Shoemaker, Abraham, 
Stevenson, James. 
Thomson, John. 
Thomson, Samuel, 
Thomson, Robert. 
Thomson, Hugh. 
Wilson, William. 
Walker, Mary. 
Walker, William, 
Wilson, Charles, Jr. 
Wharton, James. 
AVeems, Fanny. 
Walker, Andrew. 



Gait was born in Taneytowa 
Md., Feb. 28, 1837. He was 
the son of Sterling Oalt, a wealthy and influential 
citizen of the county and a descendant of one of the 
oldest settlers. He entered Princeton College, and 
pursued a thorough course of study both in the aca- 
demic and theological departments. He was licensed 
to preach by the Presbytery of New Brunswick in 
18G1. He began his ministrations at Newark and 
Red Clay Creek, Del., within the bounds of the 
Presbytery of New Castle, where he was ordained in 
1862 and installed pastor of these churches. After 
three years of incessant labor in this his only charge, 
he fell a victim to typhoid fever, Oct. 24, 1865. 

Piney Creek has done her share to replenish the 
ministerial ranks. John W, Smith was the only son 
of Stephen and Frances Smith. He entered him- 
self as a student of Pennsylvania College, at Gettys- 
burg, and studied at the same time for the Presby- 
terian ministry. He was a young man of talent, and 
gave promise of eminent usef\ilness, but was taken off 
by disease, May 26, 1872, in the twentieth year of 
his year. The inscription upon his tombstone in 
Piney Creek graveyard tells that ** he was a candidate 
for the ministry." 

Rev. James Grier Breckinridge, son of Robert and 
Mary Grier Breckinridge, and brother of Mrs, Ma- 
tilda Allison, of Emmittsburg, was born in Carroll 
County, Md,, May 30, 1808, His parents were mem- 
bers of the Piney Creek Church. His mother was a 
daughter of Rev. James Grier, a convert of White- 
field, and pastor of the Deep Run Church, Bucks 
County, Pa., from 1776 to 1791. Mr. Breckinridge 
received his collegiate education at Dickinson College, 
studied theology at Princeton, and was licensed by the 
Presbytery of Carlisle. In the autumn of 1831 he 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



837 



assisted in protracted services held at Bedford, Pa., 
after which he supplied the Bedford Church for some 
months. In May, 1833, a colony of thirty members 
from this congregation formed a new church at 
Schellsburg, of which Mr. Breckinridge became the 
first pastor. Accompanied by his wife he attended 
the sessions of the Carlisle Presbytery, at Chanibers- 
burg, in October, 1833. After the adjournment they 
visited their relatives in Carroll County, Md., and 
while there were prostrated by an attack of typhoid 
fever, from which neither of them recovered. Mr. 
Breckinridge died Nov. 1, 1833, when but twenty- 
six years of age, and Mrs. Breckinridge on the 19th 
of the same month, aged thirty years. They were 
both buried in the graveyard of Piney Creek Church. 

John Motter Annan, the son of Dr. Andrew and 
Elizabeth Motter Annan, was born in Emmittsburg, 
Md., March 17, 1841. Early in life he exhibited a 
decided predilection for the church, and with a view 
to prepare for the ministry entered Lafayette College 
Sept. 7, 1859. At the breaking out of the civil war 
ho left school and joined the Union army, enlisting in 
Company C, First Regiment of the Potomac Home 
Brigade, Maryland Cavalry, Capt. John Horner, of 
which company he was chosen first lieutenant. While 
at Camp Thomas, Frederick, Md., before the company 
had been in active service, he was accidentally killed 
by the discharge of a carbine in the hands of a soldier 
with whom he was conversing, Nov. 13, 1861. He 
was a young man of some talent, and possessed of 
moral qualities which would have made themselves 
felt in the community had he lived and carried out 
his original intentions. 

The pastors of the Piney Creek Church have 
been : 

1763-70, vacant, with occasional supplies; 1771-76, Rev. Jo- 
seph Rhea; 1776-80, vacant, with occasional supplies; 
1780-89, Rev. James Martin; 1789-1800, vacant, with oc- 
casional supplies; 1801-10, Rev. Patrick Davidson; 1811- 
13, vacant, with occasional supplies; 1814-66, Rev. Rob- 
ert S. Grier; 1866-73, Rev. Isaac M. Patterson; 1S73, 
Rev. William Simonton. 

Taneytown is the oldest village in Carroll County. 
It was laid out about the year 1750 by Frederick 
Taney, who came from Calvert County, Md. It is 
situated on the main road from Frederick to York, 
Pa., and prior to the Revolutionary war, and for many 
years afterwards, was the principal thoroughfare be- 
tween the North and South. Frederick Taney, the 
founder of the town, was a member of the family of 
Roger B. Taney, the late eminent chief justice of 
the Supreme Court of the United States, whose 
remains now repose in a cemetery in Frederick after 



a grand but stormy career, in which heroic devotion 

to duty and extraordinary judicial acumen were so 
faithfully illustrated that his bitterest enemies have 
united to do justice to his memory. The ancestors of 
Frederick Taney were among the earliest settlers in 
the province of Maryland, and were large landed pro- 
prietors in Calvert County for many generations before 
his birth. Raphael Taney, in conjunction with Ed- 
ward Digges, patented a tract of seven thousand nine 
hundred acres of land in this vicinity in 1754, but 
the Taney estate passed into other hands many years 
ago. The Good family succeeded by purchase to 
Taneytown. The land eventually fell into the hands 
of an old bachelor named Taney, who was a hard 
drinker. When not in his cups he was crusty and 
disagreeable, and could not be brought to entertain a 
proposition for the disposal of his property. Certain 
parties familiar with his habits, and anxious to secure 
the land, probably for speculative purposes, plied him 
with liquor, and when reduced to the convenient state 
of intoxication induced him to sign the papers which 
conveyed away his property. From the Good family 
the property descended by inheritance to the Gwinns, 
and from them, by sale and otherwise, to John Mc- 
Caleb. the most extensive owner, Crouse, McKellip, 
Swope, Knox, Birnie, Rudisel, Hess, Null, Gait, and 
other families, until to-day there are but few acres 
within a radius of several miles around the town 
owned by parties bearing the names of those who were 
the proprietors sixscore years ago. Exception must be 
noted in the case of Sterling Gait. His estate has been 
the homestead of the family for one hundred and 
thirty-five years. In the original plan of Taneytown 
it was intended that a public square should be placed 
at the intersection of York Street and the Emmitts- 
burg pike, now known as Bunker Hill, but the idea, 
an excellent one, was never carried out. 

On a lot at the southeast angle of the intersection 
above mentioned, and directly opposite the residence 
of John ReindoUar, stood the oldest house in the 
village, supposed to have been built one hundred and 
forly-five years ago. When Peter Heck was a boy, 
in ] 799, it was a verj' old house. It was owned by 
Mrs. Margaret Angel, and in 1876 it was taken down. 

In the latter part of the eighteenth century there 
stood on or near what is now the lime-kiln in Taney- 
town a long, low frame building, in which were manu- 
factured, by a Mr. Sroyer, such implements as fire- 
shovels, tongs, hoes, nails, and guns. The venerable 
Mrs. Elizabeth Thompson has in her possession a 
heavy pair of tongs made at this primitive factory, on 
which is inscribed the date of manufacture, 1796. 
The establishment was under the supervision of the 



838 



lISTOliy OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



government, or at least that portion which embraced 
the manufacture of firearms, and was annually visited 
and inspected by government officials. The machinery 
was very crude and simple. Instead of the belts, 
pulleys, emery-wheels, and ordinary appurtenances of 
a modern factory, regulated by steam, and by means 
of which a gun-barrel or other iron implements can be 
polished in a few moments, the only contrivance then 
known and used was a huge grindstone turned by an 
old horse. With these limited facilities, however, 
many guns were made for the government. The fac- 
tory burned down early in the present century, and 
was never rebuilt, the government factory having been 
subsequently transferred to Harper's Ferry, Va. 

Taneytown, situated on the great highway of travel 
between the North and South, doubtless witnessed 
more of the conflict between Tory and Federal parti- 
sans than has been recorded or remembered. On 
more than one occasion the British and their allies 
rendezvoused at the head-waters of the Elk, in Cecil 
County, and sent out marauding parties, who ravaged 
the country and committed many outrages which time 
has suffered to lapse into oblivion. It would be 
strange, indeed, if in some of their raids they had 
not directed their energies against the rich country 
now forming Carroll County, and the road passing 
through Taneytown offered inducements of no ordi- 
nary nature to the baser class of army followers. 
The most annoying feature of these raids must have 
been the idiotic search made for prominent patriots. 
Houses were entered, the inmates insulted, and the 
furniture ransacked and broken to pieces. The late 
Mrs. Elizabeth Gait, whose death occurred some thirty- 
five years ago, was wont to exhibit with pride to 
interested visitors several bed-quilts which in " the 
days that tried men's souls" had been perforated by 
the swords or bayonets of the soldiers in search of 
some victim. The fires of patriotism burned very 
brightly in the vicinity of Taneytown, and Tories 
were seldom rash enough to brave the anger of the 
people by an open expression of their sentiments. 
The martial spirit pervaded the neighborhood. A 
company of light horse was organized here, of which 
the father of Mrs. Elizabeth Thompson, an old and 
highly esteemed resident, was a member. They were 
accustomed to assemble for drill at stated times in full 
regimentals in what is now known as " the race-ground 
field," a short distance east of the village. As the 
country had need of every soldier that could be spared 
from the ordinary avocations of life, it is probable 
that this company took the field early in the struggle 
and combated gallantly for the rights of the people. 
On one occasion during the Revolution Gen. Wash- 



ington, accompanied by his wife, halted in Taneytown 
on his way North to join the army, and remained 
there overnight. The log house, since then covered 
in with a casement of brick, still stands where the 
general and his wife passed the night. It is the 
building on Frederick Street now owned and occupied 
by Ephraim Hackensmith, but at that time kept 
as a tavern by Adam Good. Many old citizens re- 
member the quaint sign which hung above the door, 
and whose creaking of a chill winter's night, accom- 
panied by the shrill blasts of wind, filled the souls of 
the small fry with awe and dread, suggesting ghosts 
and hobgobblins to their impressionable miuds. It 
is related of Washington that when asked what he 
would have for supper he replied " mush and milk," 
and Mrs. Washington having some leisure moments 
during the evening, drew from her reticule an unfin- 
ished stocking and began to knit. After the death of 
Adam Good, the proprietor of the inn where the dis- 
tinguished guests were entertained, liis furniture was 
sold at auction, and Matthew Gait, the father of Ster- 
ling Gait, purchased the table upon which the very 
modest supper was served to Gen. Washington and 
his wife. It has since then passed through a number 
of hands in the same family, and is now the property 
of John McKellip. 

As far as is known there are no other existing relics 
or vestiges of colonial times, save the almost undis- 
tinguishable remains of an old burial-ground about a 
mile and a half southwest of the village, in the woods, 
on the farm of William Brubaker. The only stone 
remaining upon which characters can be traced is one 
bearing the date 1764. Mr. Brubaker has a stone 
taken from there on which is inscribed the date 1701. 
Inasmuch as the oldest inhabitants have no knowl- 
edge of those buried there, and that there has been no 
mention made of the spot for several successive gen- 
erations, it is inferred that the pioneers of this section, 
persons who penetrated the wilderness before the ad- 
vent of Taney or the building of Taneytown, were 
laid to rest in this spot of ground, and that many 
friendly Indians are peacefully sleeping their last sleep 
in company with their white brethren. The tribes of 
Indians scattered through this region in early days 
were on the most friendly terms with the whites, and 
tradition tells of a iriendly contest in marksmanship 
which took place many years before the Revolu- 
tion between the whites and Indians in the vicinity 
of Taneytown. There were excellent marksmen on 
both sides, and the struggle was prolonged until all 
the lead was used up. An Indian offered to bring 
them within an hour an abundance of lead if they 
would provide a conveyance. He was furnished with 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



839 



a fleet horse. nnH tlie hour had scarcely expired wlieii 
he returned, bringing with him a huge lump of crude 
lead. Where he got it has always been a mystery. 
At the time eflForts were made to induce the Indians 
to reveal the whereabouts of this lead-mine, but the 
red men were too wary for the whites, and no expe- 
dient could draw from them a disclosure of their 
secret. This vein of lead is popularly supposed to lie 
somewhere near Monocacy Creek, but repeated at- 
tempts have been made to discover it without success. 

During the war of 1812 a company of volunteers 
was organized in Taneytown, and commanded by 
Capt. Knox and Lieut. Gait, and forty men responded 
to the call of the United States government during 
the war between the North and South, some of whom 
laid down their lives in defense of the Union. 

In 1836 an act was passed by the General Assembly 
of Maryland incorporating the inhabitants of Taney- 
town, and prescribing the following metes and bounds 
for the municipality: Beginning at the southwest 
corner of lot number one, at the public square of the 
town ; thence in a straight line to a stone planted at 
the fork of the road leading from Taneytown to West- 
minster and Uniontown ; thence a straight line to a 
branch where it crosses the main road leading from 
Taneytown to Fredericktown, at Ludwick Rudi.sel's 
tan-yard, and down the bed of said branch to its in- 
tersection with Spark's Run ; thence in a straight 
line to Piney Run, where said run crosses the main 
road leading from Taneytown to Gettysburg ; thence by 
a straight line to a spring run, where said run crosses 
the main road leading from Taneytown to Littlestown, 
where said run passes into John McKaleb's meadow ; 
thence in a straight line to a stone planted at the fork 
of the roads leading from Taneytown to Westminster 
and Uniontown ; thence in a straight line to the place 
of beginning. And that the taxable limits of the said 
town shall be as follows : including all that part of the 
town now improred, or which the citizens may at any 
time hereafter improve. 

In 1838 another act of Assembly was pas.sed sup- 
plementary to the above, and changing somewhat the 
boundaries of the town, but as both of the acts were 
allowed to expire by limitation it is not necessary to 
give the latter here. The village is accredited by the 
census of 1880 with a population of five hundred and 
nineteen. 

The Reformed Churcli was among the first places 
of worship established in Taneytown. There are no 
records preserved of a date prior to 1770. In that 
year Rev. W. Faber accepted the pastorate, and re- 
mained in charge of the church until 1785. The next 
pastor was old Mr. Nicodemus, who was deaf as a post. 



He ministered to the spiritual wants of the congrega- 
tion between 1790 and 1800. His successor was Rev.' 
W. Rabau.ser, a young man who remained but a short 
time. He was followed by llev. W. Runkle, who 
came from Germantown, Pa., and is reputed to have 
been an excellent preacher. He did not stay longer 
than one year. The congregation at that time num- 
bered about .six hundred members. Father Grecves 
succeeded Mr. Runkle. He remained several years, 
and was then called to Woodstock, Va. Jacob Hel- 
fenstein succeeded him, and was noted for his zeal and 
anxious-bench system. Rev. W. Aurand followed, 
and created some difficulty about his salary, which is 
still remembered in the neighborhood. Father Greeves 
was recalled, and remained in charge of the congrega- 
tion until his death, leaving a good name behind him. 
The church was now vacant for .some time. Rev. N. 
Habbert, of the Presbyterian denomination, was sub- 
sequently called, and promised to council himself with 
the German Reformed Church, but never did. At 
this time Rev. W. Leidy officiated, and preached in 
the German language. He is said to have been 
very eccentric. During this period the congregation 
thinned out considerably. After the departure of Mr. 
Leidy the charge was vacant until llev. W. Heiner 
settled in Emmittsburg and took the church under his 
pastoral charge. In 1838, Rev. Daniel Felte took 
charge of the congregation, and served until June, 
18-tl. He was followed by Rev. J. G. Wolf, who 
retired from the charge June 1, 1850, and was suc- 
ceeded by Rev. Charles M. Jameson in February, 
1851. Mr. Jameson remained only a year, when 
Rev. John G. Fritchey was called. He entered upon 
his duties April 1, 1852, and was installed pastor of 
the charge June 7, 1852, by a committee consisting 
of the following divines: William F. CoUiflower, M. 
Shuford, and George Hughenbaugh. Rev. W. F. 
CoUiflower preached the installation sermon. At a 
meeting in June, 1854, the number of elders was 
increased to four. 

At a joint consistorial meeting, held at Mount 
Union church on Nov. 28, 1864, Rev. John G. 
Fritchey tendered his resignation, which after some 
consideration was accepted with a great deal of re- 
luctance. A call was then extended to the Rev. N. 
E. Gibbs, of St. Clairsville, Bedford Co., Pa., who ac- 
cepted the same, and entered upon the pastoral work 
in May, 1865. After two years he re-signed the 
charge to accept a call to Mechanicstown. In Sep- 
tember, 1873, Rev. P. D. Long, of Navarre, Ohio, 
was called to the charge by a unanimous vote of the 
congregation. He took charge of the church Nov. 
14, 1873, and was installed March 25, 1874. 



840 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



This congregation worshiped in the " Old Yellow" 
Union church until 1822. On Sept. 6, 1821, the 
corner-stone of their present edifice was laid, the ser- 
mon and services being delivered by Rev. J. B. Wine- 
brenner. The estimated cost of their church was about 
three thousand five hundred dollars, the members num- 
bering about two hundred at that time. The church 
has since been remodeled and repaired, and now 
presents a handsome appearance. Their parsonage, 
which is occupied by the present pastor, was built in 
1848. The congregation numbers about two hundred 
members, and the ofiScers are David Buffington, Wm. 
Hough, Joshua Houtz, Abraham Shriner, elders ; 
Thomas Shriner, Jonas Harner, James Shriner, 
Michael N. Fringer, deacons ; Abraham Hess, Wm. 
Fisher, Americus Shoemaker, and Toba Fringer, 
trustees. 

Among the persons buried in the German Reformed 
Cemetery are the following : 

Elizabeth Blair, died Nov. 30, 1831, aged 14 years. 

John Shriner, born March 18, 1796, died July 24, 1874; and 
Susanna, his wife, March 12, 1S48, aged 4U years. 

Rachel Newcomer, wife of Samuel, died Jan. 29, 1849, aged 
38 years, 10 months, 2 days. 

Lydia, daughter of J. Shriner, born Dec. 26, 1837, died July 
6, 1865. 

Sarah Clabaugh, aged 64. 

Jacob Clabaugh, aged 48. 

John T., son of J. Hann, died Nov. 6, 1830, aged 2. 

Henry Hann, died Sept. 12, 1812, aged 71. 

Elizabeth Hann, died June 10, IS2I, aged 71. 

John Hann, died June 10, 1830, aged 34. 

William Hann, son of J. Hann, died Oct. 3, 1835, aged 20. 

Namary A. Lindin, died Sept. 11, 1787, aged 27. 

A. Bigal Lind, died June 23, 1819, aged 29. 

Nicholas Lind, died Feb. 21, 182.'i, aged 73 years, 3 months, 
4 days. 

Harmon Hersh, died November, 1818, aged 75. 

Susan E. Baemer, born .January, 1731, died September, 1804. 

Philip Baemer, born 1729, died 18116. 

Elizabeth Baemer, born Sept. 2, 1779, died Nov. 1, 1805. 

Elizabeth Baemer, born Oct. 26, 1806, died Dec. 20, 1S06. 

Catharine, wife of Jacob Hape, died Sept. 29, 1838. 

George Koons, born Jan. 21, 1790, died March 12, 1815. 

Matthias Hann, died Feb. 17, 1831, aged 92 years, 9 months. 

Mary Hann, died March 29, 1829, aged 72 years. 

Elizabeth Koons, died April 19, 1830, aged 35. 

John Fuss, died Feb. 4, 1826, aged 29 years, 2 months, 22 
days. 

Daniel Fuss, died July 29, 1834, aged 47 years, 2 months, 9 
days. 

John Fuss, born May 20, 1754, died Jan. 25, 1836. 

John Crabb, died Feb. 11, 1829, aged 62. 

Mary A. Fuss, died June 14, 1831, aged 38 years, 9 months, 
12 days. 

Catharine Fuss, died Sept. 20, 1849, aged 62 years, 5 months, 
12 days. 

Mary, wife of John Fuss, died May 27, 1840, aged 80 years. 

Elizabeth, consort of J. H. Hays, died Jan. 4, 1846, aged 30. 

James Slick, died Dec. 22, 1844, aged 33 years, 16 days. 

Nicholas Fringer, born Aug. 27, 1751, died July 12, 1840. 



Margaret Fringer, died Aug. 12, 1850, aged 86. 

George Fringer, died Oct. 20,1846, aged 43 years, 10 months, 
20 days. 

Wilhelm Slick, died March 20, 1804, aged 40 years. 

Rebecca Homer, died 1806. 

W. Hiner, died April 8, 1801, aged 32. 

Mary Hiner, died Dec. 15, 1808, aged 64. 

Herbert Hiner, died Oct. 16, 1806, aged 65. 

Henry Koontz, of John, died July 30, 1825, aged 50 years, 6 
months, 8 days j and Margaret, his wife, Jan. 27, 1835, aged 52 
years, 7 months. 

Peter Shriner, born Oct. 25, 1767, died Aug. 5, 1861. 

Mary Shriner, born Aug. 6, 1773, died March 17, 1814. 

Cot Munshower, born March, 1737, died in 1792. 

Nicholas Munshower, born 1743, died Oct. 1, 1814. 

Conrad Orndorff, born Sept. 16, 1722, died Nov. 26, 1795. 

Mary B. Shriner, born Aug. 9, 1770, died Sept. 1, 1825. 

Henry Shriner, born Feb. 15, 1763, died April 11, 1835. 

William Otto, died Dec. 26, 1806, aged 64 years, 2 months. 

E. Burke, 1866. 

John Kehn, died March 9, 1868, aged 80 years, 6 months, 27 
days. 

Louis Reindollar, died .Tan. 10, 1848, aged 67 years, 8 
months. 

Henry Reindollar, died July 7, 1830, aged 51 years. 

Rebecca Starr, died May 8, 1831, aged 21 years, 3 months, 1 
day. 

Eliz.abeth McKelUp, wife of James, and daughter of H. 
Reindollar, Sept. 2, 1851, aged 24. 

James Reindollar, died April 8, 1825, aged 22. 

John Kraus, born 1737, died 1777. 

Joseph Grouse, died May 1, 1850, aged 52 years, 11 months ; 
Elizabeth, his wife, died Oct. 26, 1850, aged 52 years, 2 months. 

George Krabbs, died March 27, 1810, aged 66. 

John Six, died May 15, 1869, aged 79 years, 9 days ; and 
Sarah A., his wife, born March 11, 1809, died March 26, 1874. 

Catharine Heagy, died March 8, 1852, aged 42 years, 6 
months, 7 days. 

Samuel Heagy, died Oct. 15, 1837, aged 36 years, 9 months, 
6 days. 

George Keefer, died Jan. 25, 1831, aged 55 years, 4 months, 26 
days. 

Joseph Shaner, died Aug. 24, 1880, aged 79. 

David Fleagle, died Jan. 4, 1865, aged 79 years, 7 months, 18 
days. 

Margaret, his wife, died Sept. 12, 1844, aged 48 years, 5 
months, 22 days. 

Benjamin Koons, died May 14, 1851, aged 44 years, 1 month, 
10 days. 

Polly Frock, born Oct. 9, 1817, died March 15, 1835. 

Philip Frock, born June 14, 1813, died April 10, 1863. 

Daniel Frock, born June 30, 1777, died May 30, 1857. 

Elizabeth, his wife, born Feb. 9, 1779, died May 22, 1857. 

John Frock, born Dec. 18, 1801, died May 14, 1858 ; and Mary, 
his wife, Aug. 5, 1875, aged 68 years. 

Ann, wife of J. Shaner, born Oct. 25, 1805, died March 20, \ 
1874. 

Abraham Haugh, died Oct. 17, 1835, aged 18 years, 5 months, 
IS days. 

Paul Haugh, Jr., died June 15, 1819, aged 1 year. 

Josiah Haugh, died March 13, 1829, aged 18. 

Susannah, consort of John Crapster, born July 1, 1766, died J 
June 23, 1855. 

Walter O'Nea, died June 27, 1827, aged 39 years, 6 months. 

Margaret Wilt, died Nov. 23, 1869, aged 58 years, 6 montha,J 
25 days. 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



841 



John Weant, died Sept. 11, 1858, aged 81 years. 

Catharine, his wife, died Aug, 26, 1853, aged 71 years. 

Jacob Weant, died July 25, 1850, aged 44 years. 

Peter Orndorff, died Jan. 16, 1847, aged 58 years, 5 months, 14 
days; and Elizabeth, his wife, died Nov. 20, 1851, aged 69 years, 
8 months, 20 days. 

Henry Kiser, died June 30, 1850, aged 47 years, 19 days. 

Phcebe, his wife, died Oct. 27, 1870, aged 65 years, 8 months, 
11 days. 

Mary Heiner, born May 28, 179.'i, died May 17, 1837. 

John Cover, born 1798, died 1864; and Susan, his wife, Oct. 3, 
1876, aged 78. 

Peter Ridinger, born Oct. 28, 1793, died May 11, 1842. 

Henry Keefer, died Aug. 30, 1848, aged 35 years, 8 months, 
28 days. 

Christiana Koons, died June 2.1, 1844, aged 33 years, 4 
months, 23 days. 

Jacob Koons, died May 22, 1879, aged 68 years, 5 months, 
21 days; and Elizabeth, his wife, March 2S, 1S61, aged 47 years, 
4 months. 

Catharine, wife of Jacob Koons, Sr., died Feb. 15, 1846, aged 
69 years, 11 months, 19 days. 

Jacob Koons, Sr., died Dec. 31, 1845, aged 68 years, 1 month, 
28 days. 

Margaret, wifeof Jacob Koons, Jr., died .Tune 8, 1848, aged 39. 

Thoraas Keefer, born Jan. 8, 1797, died aged 53 years, 4 
months, 29 days. 

Ephraiam Koons, died Oct. 14, 1856, aged 42 years. 

Rev. John Lantz, pastor of the German Reformed Church, died 
Jan. 26, 1873, aged 62. 

Daniel Sell, died Nov. 19, 1874, aged 90 years, 10 months, 10 
days. 

Mary, his wife, died Feb. 28, 1874, aged 85 years, 20 days. 

Samuel Longwell, Sr., died Aug. 24, 1854, aged 86 years. 6 
months, 15 days; and Margaret, his wife, Jan. 4, 1845, aged 
68 years, 3 months. 

Joseph Bargar, Sr., died June 17, 1842, aged 65. 

Robert Arthur, died Feb. 23, 1869, aged 88. 

Agnes Arthur, died March 11, 1846, aged 64. 

Paul Haugh, Sr.,died March 5, 1847, aged 67 years, 1 month, 

16 days. 

Elizabeth Rech, died Dec. 25, 1845, aged 55 years, 6 months, 

17 days. 

Abraham Hiteshew, born March 28, 1789, died Aug. I, 1873. 

Catharine, his wife, died April 3, 1858, aged 69. 

Henry Koons, born Jan. 18, 1789, died Dec. 25, 1853. 
i 
" Emily Koons, died April 2, 1867, aged 39 years, 11 months, 

18 days. 

Jacob Keefer, born March 28, 1780, died Sept. 28, 1855. 

Catharine Keefer, died March 29, 1859, aged 68 years, 6 
months, 15 days, 

Isaac Neiwcomer, died April 10, 1870, aged 55 years, 5 months. 
23 days, 

Jacob Newcomer, died Jan. 5, 1S69, aged 64 years, 8 months, 
6 days. 

George Crabbs, Sr., died Jan. fi, 1859, aged 65 years, 10 
months, 16 days, 

Hugh Thomson, died Dec, 18, 1852, aged 68. 

Nicholas Snider, born May 9, 1786, died June 11, 1856. 

Margaret, his wife, died July 20, 1865, aged 86 years. 

Ann, wife of George Shriner, died July 16, 1853, aged 72 
years. 

Elizabeth, wife of John Slogenhaupt, died March 18, 1865, 
aged 48 years, 2 months, 23 days. 

Elijah FIeagle,died March 19, 1871, aged 50 years, 4 months, 
20 days. 



Mary A., his second wife, died Oct. 17, 1854, aged 27 years, 1 
month, 11 days. 

Francis Slick, died Feb. 8, 1857, aged 63. 

Magdalena Slick, born Nov. 26, 1790, died April 6, 1853. 

John Fleagle, died Dec. 24, 1873, aged 93 years, 2 months, 

15 days. 

Susanna Fleagle, died April 23, 1851, aged 76 years, 2 months, 
n days. 

Samuel Newcomer, died July 4, 1848, aged 75 years, 7 months, 
1 day. 

Barbara Newcomer, died March 6, 1853, aged 75 years. 

John Henry, son of J. and B. Ocker, born Feb. 10,1843, died 
April 30, 1862, "of typhoid fever, whilst a volunteer in the 
defense of his country's honor." 

Jacob, son of .T. and B. Ocker, "killed on Maryland Heights 
by an explosion, June 30, 1863," aged 21 years, 10 months, 28 
days. " He was beloveil by his otticers and companions, and 
was a faithful and obedient son to a widowed mother." 

Mary Wilson, died May 16, 1864, aged 78, 

Michael Olt, born Oct, 16, 179.3, died May 20, 1872. 

Mary, bis wife, born Dec. 12, 1796, died Oct, 10, 1871, 

Isabella G, Reaver, died March 11, 1880, aged 45 years, 7 
months. 

Lewis Maus, born Nov, 8, 1777, died Sept, 26, 1826, 

"D, M.," died 1817, 

Daniel Hawn, born Sept, 9, 1802, died Jan, 30, 1877; Mag- 
dalena, his wife, born Oct. 9, 1801, died March 25, 1877. 

Wm. Shaner, born Feb. 2, 1798, died June 16, 1850; Ros- 
anna Shaner, died Feb. 12, 1868, aged 67 years, 10 months, 18 
days. 

Henry Hiner, born Jan. 28, 1836, died Oct. 23, 1873. 

Eleanor Fluegal, died March 31,' 1839, aged 43 years, 2 
montlis, 13 days. Sarah, wife of John Stockslayer, born July 
22, 1795, died June 13, 1865. 

Mary Hawn, died Dec. 19, 1872, at an old age. 

Henry Hawn, born Dec. 10, 1781, died Jan. 25, 1867; Anna 
M., his wife, died Aug, 9, 1859, aged 64 years, 7 months, 6 days. 

Matthias Hawn, born Feb, 20, 1794, died April 1, 1858. 

Jacob Hawn, born Nov. 6, 1785, died M.ay 25, 1878. 

Elizabeth, wife of Samuel Hough, died March 26, 1877, aged 
50 years, 9 months, 27 days. 

Reuben Stonesifer, died Dec. 1, 1876, aged 52 years, 8 months, 

16 days. 

Elizabeth Tracy, died Aug. 7, 1878, aged 90. 

John Angel, died April 16, 1872, aged 72 years, 5 months, 
9 days. 

Magdalena Angel, died Feb. 18, 1880, aged 42 years, 3 months, 
21 days. 

Elizabeth Angel, wife of John A., Sr,, died Jan, 18, 1864, 
aged 64 years, 7 months, 22 days. 

Elizabeth, wife of Samuel Hough, died March 26, 1877, aged 
50 years, 9 months, 27 days. 

Harvey T,, son of S, and M. Null, who fell at Loudon Heights, 
Jan. 10, 1864, aged 21 years, 4 months, 25 days. 

" Sweet be the slumbers of him who fell for his country fight- 
ing for liberty and law." 

Jacob Shriner, born Jan. 5, 1800, died April 13, 1874; Cath- 
arine, his wife, died Feb. 6, 1868, aged 63 years, 9 mos., 23 days. 

Mary Ann Stultz, died Aug. 4, 1879, aged 55 years, 4 months, 
19 days. 

Ann Stultz, born Jan. 31, 1804, died Jan. 28, 1875. 

Samuel F. Stultz, born Sept. 20, 1835, died Aug. 10, 1870. 

Maria Smith, died Feb. 13, 1871, aged 37 years. 

Eli Sowers, born Jan. 6, 1805, died Nov. 3, 1878; Elizabeth, 
his wife, and daughter of Peter Shriner, died Sept. 16, 1S38, 
aged 64 years, 3 months, 22 days. 



842 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



Wm. Newcomer, died Jan. 10, 1872, aged 40. 

Henry Peters, died Dec. 4, 1872, aged 63 years, 1 month, 28 
days. 

Samuel Newcomer, born Oct. 30, 1807, died April 19, 1877; 
Frances, liis wife, born July 16, 1807, died Feb. 14, 1878. 

Philip Hiinn, born Oct. 22, 1777, died Dec. 31, 1863; Eliza- 
beth, his wile, died March 10, 1860, aged 78 years, 10 days. 

Philip W. Hann, died April 8, 1867, aged 67 years; Susan- 
nah, his wife, died March 29, 1864, aged 78 years. 

Frederick Dotterea, died Aug. 2a, lSo4, aged 66 years, 1 
month, 5 days. 

Lydia, wife of John Shoemaker, born Aug. 14, 1798, died 
Feb. 15, 1867. 

Esther Shoemaker, died Nov. 20, 1861, aged 86 years, 1 month, 
15 days. 

Joseph Shoemaker, died March 28, 1863, aged 57 years, 2 
months, 1 day. 

John Davidson, born May 12, 1795, died Dec. 23, 1873; Mar- 
garet, his wife, born July 11, 1793, died March 30, 1872. 

Maria E., wife of George Baird, died Nov. 3, 1867, aged 72 
years, 12 days. 

Frederick Crabbs, died Oct. 3, 1861, aged 62 years, 4 months, 
23 days; Matilda, hia wife, died Jan. 13, 1878, aged 79 years, 
7 months, 8 days. 

George W. McConkey, born Sept. 20, 1799, died June 30, 
1880; Eliza, his wife, died Dec. 27, 1876, aged 71. 

Jesse Heck, born -March 3, 1807, died Sept. 4, 1866. 

James Grouse, died March 27, 1868, aged 68. 

Elizabeth Crouse, died Feb. 14, 1877, aged 68. 

Barbara, ivife of George Crise, died Nov. 3, 187.3, aged 82 
years, 4 months, 12 days. 

Sarah, wife of James Heck, died March 28, 1872, aged 63 
years, 3 months, 3 days. 

Susanna, wife of Philip Shriner, died Aug. 10, 1863, aged 
83 years, 10 months, 27 days. 

John Koons, died March 6, 1869, aged 51 years, 11 months, 

15 days. 

John Kuhns, died May 12, 1875, aged 58 years, 7 months, 2 
days; Lovey, his wife, died Feb. 8, 1868, aged 39 years, 11 
months, 22 days. 

Michael Fringer, died July 12, 1879, aged 72 years, 6 months, 

16 days. 

Nicholas Fringer, born Dec. 20, 1798, died Sept. 2, 1869. 

Israel Hiteshue, born Dec. 1, 1803, died Sept. 13, 1856. 

Gideon Hiteshue, died April 9, 1865, aged 71 years; Mary 
Ann, his wife, died June 26, 1879, aged 76 years, 8 months, 19 
days. 

Margaret Arthur, died July 22, 1870, aged 50 years, 4 months, 
10 days. 

Adam Tobias Hokensmith, died Oct. 27, 1865, aged 35 years, 
7 months, 11 days. 

George Crabbs, died Jan. 6, 1859, aged 65 years, 10 months, 
16 days. 

John Shoemaker, born March 11, 1822, died Feb. 2, 1878. 

Catharine Buffiugton, aged 44 years, 5 months, 11 days. 

John M. Cover, died Jan. 9, 1877, aged 46 years, 3 months, 
14 days. 

J. B. Harmish, died Feb. 23, 1879, aged 49 years, 6 months, 
26 days. 

Lutheran Church.^ — This congregation was organ- 
ized about the year 1780. They worshiped in the 
" Old Yellow" church, a structure weather-boarded and 
painted yellow, which was situated on the graveyard 
lot. No regular pastor was employed, but Dr. Me!- 



sheimer and Dr. Runkel, from Gettysburg, delivered 
sermons to the congregation occasionally in German. 
About the year 1800 the congregation removed to the 
church they now occupy. Rev. John Grubb was the 
regular pastor in 1815 and for some time before, 
and it was he that first introduced English preach- 
ing. About the year 1817 he nearly made a failure, 
owing to his not being familiar with the language. 
He would open his sermon in English, and in his 
eiforts to convey an idea in that language would be- 
come confused and finish his expression in German. 
Rev. John N. Hoff'man succeeded Mr. Grubb, and 
was the first regular English pastor. He continued 
in this charge for some years, and was followed by 
Rev. Ezra Keller, who upon resigning his position 
after some years' services was appointed a professor of 
the Wurtemburg College, Springfield, Ohio. Rev. 
Solomon Sentmen was their next pastor, and continued 
for seventeen years and a half to attend to the duties 
of the church. He was succeeded by Rev. Levi T. 
Williams, who occupied the pulpit about seven years. 
Rev. Bertgresser followed him, and was succeeded by 
Rev. Williams, whose failing health compelled his 
resignation, and Rev. W. H. Luckenbach was his suc- 
cessor. In 1878 their present pastor, Samuel G. 
Finckel, was called to the church. The salary of the 
pastors was always paid by voluntary subscriptions up 
to the new organization of the congregation and the 
remodeling of the church, since when the salary has 
been raised by assessment, each member paying ac- 
cording to his wealth or worth. The present ofiicers 
are Samuel Shriner, Jacob Sherratts, elders ; Charles 
Hess, Daniel Null, Jacob Mehring, William Clutz, 
deacons ; Dr. George T. Motter, John Reindollar, 
David Mehring, John Renner, Elijah Currans, Dr. 
Samuel Swope, trustees. The congregation numbers 
between four and five hundred members, and possesses 
a fine and substantial parsonage. 

The following names of persons buried in the 
Lutheran Cemetery are given : 

Jacob Snider, born Oct. 15, 1796. died Aug. 29, 1868 ; Hea- 
ter, his wife, died Nov. 9, 1871, aged 60 years, 6 months, 22 
days. 

George Snider, died Aug. 29, 1871, aged 74 years, 7 months,'^ 
14 days. 

Levi Snider, died May 24, 1874, aged 39 years, 6 months, 19| 
days. 

Sarah, wife of J. Angell, died Feb. 23, 1871, aged 62 years,| 
1 month, 25 days. 

Elizabeth Norris, born Aug. 20, 1820, died July 1, 1870. 

Jacob Clutts, died Sept. 4, 1870, aged 66 years, 7 months, 12 ' 
days ; Rosann.a, his wife, died Dec. 21, 1870, aged 65 years, 8 
months, 13 days. 

Wm. Reaver, died March 31, 1871, aged 58 years, 11 months, 
12 days. 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



843 



Mary A., wife of Daniel Null, died Feb. 1, 1877, aged iS 
years, 4 months, 25 days. 

David Kcphait, died Jan. 22, 1874, aged 77 years, 9 months, 
27 days. 

Susan, his wife, died April 15, 1872, aged 70 years, 8 months. 

Samuel Grouse, died May 31, iS71, aged 61 years, 3 months^ 
12 days. 

George Reifsnider, born April 22, 1803, died May 14, 1869; 
Catharine, his wife, born Sept. 21, 1807, died Deo. 1, 1876. 

Daniel H. Rudolph, bora Oct. 6, 1821, died Jan. 9, 1871. 

Amelia Jean, wife of Elijah Currens, died April 20, 1880, 
aged 71 years, 9 months, 7 days. 

Samuel R. Hess, born March 17, 182.3, died Sept. 12, 1871. 

John Hess, born Dec. 21, 1802, died March 22, 1876; Bar- 
bara, consort of John Heas, born Aug. 30, 1803, died April 3, 
1877. 

John Baumgardner, born Dec. 6, 1797, died Feb. 15, 1874. 

Dr. John Swope, died Sept. 3, 1871, aged 74 years, 1 month. 

Daniel H. Swope, died April 19, 1873, aged 64 years, 7 
months. 

Catharine, wife of John Renner, died Jan. 14, 1879, aged 59 
years, 10 months, 21 days. 

Andrew Harner, born Jan. 2, 1788, died March 12, 1873; 
Sarah, his wife, born May, 1801,' died Oct. 1, 1872. 

Jacob Sheets, died Jan. 27, 1826, aged 65 years, 5 months, 26 
days, *' A soldier of the war of 1776. Enlisted under Wash- 
ington as he passed through Taneytown." 

Hannah Sheets, died May 5, 1852, aged 85 years, 4 months, 
11 days. 

Jacob Sheets, died Nov. 11, 1866, aged 76 years, 4 months, 
6 days. 

Elizabeth, wife of Wm. Koons, died June 5, 1867, aged 74 
years, 3 months, 15 days. 

Mary Null, died Jan. 7, 1812, aged 71. 

Regina Noel, born 1745, died Dec. 5, 1812. 

Valentine Null, died Nov. 21, 1815, aged 79. 

Michiiel Null, died Feb. 15, 1817, aged 70 ; Anna Maria, his 
wife, died May 25, 1818, aged 80. 

Michael Null, born Nov. 5, 1770, died Deo. 11, 1850. 

Elizabeth Null, born May 7, 1778, died Oct. 19, 1856. 

Abraham Null, born Jan. 12, 1799, died April 26, 1851; 
Mary, his wife, died April 6, 1849, aged 49. 

Ulrich Kieber, aged 79. 

Margaret Wolf, born Aug. 4, 1799, died Dec. 5, 1 821. 

Elizabeth Kephart, died June 20, 1814, aged 80 years, 4 
months, 12 days. 

David Kephart, born Nov. 17, 1729, died June 5, 1792. 

Margaret Kephart, died Oct. 15, 1852, aged 73. 

David Kephart, died Nov. 24, 1836, aged 74. 

Joseph Davidson, died Aug. 15, 1801, aged 30 years, 6 
months. 

Phinehas Davidson, died March 16, 1798, aged 72 years, 11 
months, 20 days. 

Susan Davidson, died June 12, 1845, aged 64 years, 3 months. 

James Matthews, died Jan. 4, 1872, aged 74. 

Adam Black, died Dee. 18, 1S18, aged 74 years, 6 months. 

Margaret Black, born in 1752, died in 1773. 

John, son of Lawrence and Hannah Bowers, died Oct. 29, 
1S16, aged 11 days. 

Frederick Black, died Nov. 3, 1826, aged 85. 

Reliecca Black, daughter of Frederick Black, " who came 
into this world in the ye.ar of our Lord 1785, the 29th day of 
January, at 9 o'clock in the morning," and wife of George 
Houk, died Aug. 12, 1834, aged 49 years, 6 months, 12 days. 

Elizabeth Bernhart, 1791. 

Philip Rever, died Nov. 22, 1843, aged 78. 



Grilzena Rever, died August, 1841, aged 81. 

Elizabeth, wifeof .Tohn B. Grobp, died April 15, 1835, aged 69. 

Jacob Buffington, born Aug. 10, 1756, died Aug. 7, 1831; 
Mary Magdalena, his wife, died Dec. 15, 1840, aged 81 years, 
16 days. 

Peter Sohener, died Dec. 13, 1790, aged 52. 

Joshua Delnplane, died Oct. 14, 1830, aged 42. 

Hannah Delaplane, died Aug. 4, 1879, aged 93 years, 6 
months, 12 days. 

Wm. Cover, born July 1, 1814, died Oct. 4, 1824. 

Wm. Jones, born Aug. 20, 1796, died Jan. 12, 1818. 

Wm. Jones, died Sept. 25, 1824, aged 70. 

James Ickes, died March 4, 1852, aged 57 years, 2 months, 
24 days. 

M. M. Hess, died April 26, 1841. 

H. A. Hess, died April, 1833. 

Mary Hess, horn May 1, 1797, dieil March 5, 1850. 

Samuel Hess, born Nov. 11, 1796, died Dec. 24, 1873. 

George Ott, died July 23, 1834, aged 77. 

John Baumgardner, born Nov. 10, 1781, died Sept. 6, 1828. 

Margaret Ott, consort of George, born Sept. 8, 1764, died 
Sept. 5, 1828. Her maiden name was Margaret Sluthur. 

Nicholas Ott, died Dec. 16, 1833, aged 25 years, 4 months, 
21 days. 

Abraham Herner, born 1803, died 1825. 

Susan Neher, born 1802, died . 

Amanda E. Ott, died April 7, 1854, aged 18. 

Mary E., wife of Wm. L. Crapster, died April 17, 1848, aged 
45 years, 11 months, 7 days ; and five of her children, from one 
to ten years of age. 

Catharine Swope, daughter of H. and E., died Nov. 16, 1805, 
aged 1 year, 5 days. 

Jesse Swope, son of the same, died Sept. 21, 1805, aged 4 
years, 6 months, 21 days. 

Henry Swope, born April 5, 1767, died Feb. 13, 1842 ; Eliz- 
abeth, his consort, died June 13, 1843, aged 68 years, 8 months, 
18 days. 

Jacob Sheetz, died Oct. 27, 1806, aged 81. 

Catharine Sheetz, died May 5, 1803, aged 75 years, 4 mouths, 
11 days. 

Henry Clutz, died Sept. 10, 1831, aged 67 years, 14 days. 

Elizabeth Clutz, born March 12, 1762, died Oct. 6, 1821. 

John D. Miller, son of George and Eliza Miller, " who fell 
in the defense of his country near Petersburg, Va., June 22, 
1864," aged 24 years, 2 months, 16 days. 

Susanna Cover, born Nov. 26, 1775, died Feb. 7, 1824. 

Jacob Cover, died Sept. 29, 1873, aged 64 years, 9 months. 

Philip Rudisel, born March 20, 1785, died Nov. 21, 1810. 

Elizabeth Koberger, born 1763, July 23d, died Aug. 21, 1801. 

Lewis Rudisil, born Feb. 27, 1783, died Aug. 11, 1805. 

G. Rudisil, born March 15, 1770, died March 13, 1795. 

Maria Rudisil, born F?b. 15, 1765, died April 23, 1784. 

Tobias Rudisil, born April 4, 1736, died March 26, 1816. 

T. Louis Rudisil, born April 7, 1743, died December, 1821. 

Magdalena Weiwell, died Aug. 25, 1796, aged 25 years, 5 
months, and 26 days. 

Michael Sawyer, died Nov. 25, 1825, aged 63. 

Ann Mary, his wife, died Aug. 8, 1829, aged 65 years, 1 month, 
and 16 days. 

John Foire, died Dec. 13, 1827, aged 42 years, 11 months, and 
13 days. 

Anna B., his wife, died May 25, 1867, aged 75 years, 7 months, 
and 27 days. 

Peter Slyder, born July 25, 1769, died May 25, 1840. On 
his left are his two wives, Mary, born Sept. 8, 1763, and died 
Jan. 11, 1796 ; Elizabeth, born April 3, 1780, died Sept. 22, 1830. 



84-1 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



Jacob Cornell, died July 9, 1863, aged 66 years, 11 months, 
and 10 days. 

Mary Cornell, died Nov. 27, 1815, aged 59 years, 8 months, 
find 6 days. 

Conrad Shorb, died Oct. 16, 1863, aged 77. 

John Harman, born Sept. 8, 1792, died Aug. 7, 1870. 

Hezekiah Harman, born Feb. 1, 1831, died Aug. 15, 1866. 

Elizabeth, wife of John Good, died Sept. 29, 1865, aged 56 
years, 1 month, and 6 days. 

John Good, born Feb. 28, 1802, died May 11, 1879. 

Samuel Naill, died Oct. 19, 1869, aged 83. 

Elizabeth Naill, died Jan. 27, 1878, aged 76. 

Elizabeth Naill, wife of Samuel, died Aug. 28, 1826, aged 34 
years, 9 months, and 28 days. 

Anna Naill, wife of Jacob Mering, born Feb. 8, 1805, died 
February, 1824. 

Mary Naill, born Feb. 28, 1778, died Nov. 17, 1815. 

Dr. Wm. B. Hibberd, died March 14, 1839, aged 61; Ann, 
his first wife, died Feb. IS, 1835, aged 44. 

Christian Naill, born Jan. 5, 1747, died June 15, 1815. 

William Naill, died April 6, 1846, aged 67 years, 9 months, 
and 25 days. Eliziibeth, his wife, died Feb. 26, 1853, aged 73. 

William Naill, died June 28, 1868, aged 54 years, 9 months, 
and 16 days. Mary Ann, his wife, died July 11, 1869, aged 54 
years, 3 months, and 20 days. 

John Raitt, died Feb. 14, 1833, aged 31. 

Basil Raitt, died July 10, 1839, aged 32 years and 7 months. 
' John Rudisel, born Aug. 25, 1772, died March 25, 1840. 

Barbary Shunk, born 1757, died 1826. 

Peter Shunk, died June 19, 1834, aged 87 years, 10 months, 
and 14 days. 

Joseph Shunk, died May 28, 1840, aged 60 years, 3 months, 
and 5 days ; Aberrilla Shunk, his wife, died June 6, 1852, aged 
67. 

Elizabeth S. Sawyer, died Sept. 29, 1834, aged 45 years, 7 
months, and 29 days. 

.\bram Buffington, died Aug. 5, 1872, aged 85 years, 7 months, 
and 28 days; Anna, his wife, died April 19, 1854, aged 61 
years, 6 months, and 21 days. 

Hammond Raitt, died Feb. 1, 1858, aged 82. 

Harriet Raitt, died Jan. 22, 1852, aged 52. 

Eleanor, consort of Hammond Raitt, died June 9, 1847, aged 
69. 

Jacob Zumbrum, died Sept. 13, 1868, aged 74 years and 2 
months; Margaret, his wife, died Jan. 16, 1852, aged 57 years 
and 8 months. 

David Harper, died Feb. 28, 1844, aged 43 years, 5 months, 
and 15 days. 

Rachel, wife of Tobias Haines, died Feb. 1, 1852, aged 40 
years, 1 month, and 17 days. 

John K. Hilterbrick, born Sept. 27, 1796, died Nov. 18, 1869. 

Anna M. Slyder, born Dec. 21, 1800, died April 29, 1877. 

Sarah Reaver, died March 29, 1867, aged 66 years, 11 months, 
and 29 days. 

Maria Apolonia Hoeffner, born May 8, 1776, died May 2, 1841. 

Magdalena Mock, died Feb. 24, 1852, aged 66 years, 2 months, 
and 8 days. 

Daniel Harman, Sr., died Aug. 10, 1864, aged 64 years, 5 
months, and 15 days. 

Thomas Mathias Greaves, born Aug. 22, 1823, died Peb. 7, 
1853. 

Sophia Kregelo. died Aug. 30, 1872, aged 81 years, 11 months, 
and 15 days. 

Jacob Kregelo, born Oct. 28, 1865, aged 80 years, 6 months, 
and 26 days. 

Rev. J. M. Kregelo, died Nov. 11, 1854, aged 27. 



Isaac McGee, born Dec. 24, 1795, died Jan. 9, 1881. 

Dorothy McGee, died Jan. 2, 1836, aged 34 years, 2 months, 
and 6 days. 

John Kregelo, Sr., died Nov. 30, 1871, aged 87 years, 7 
months, and 27 days. 

John Kregelo, died May 29, 1837, aged 55 years, 8 months, 
and 5 days. 

John Kregelo, died Sept. 13, 1880, aged 70 years, 9 months, 
and 1 day. 

Margaret, wife of Isaac McGee, died Aug. 20, 1860, aged 52 
years, 3 months, and 13 days. 

Dorothy Harner, died May 27, 1851, aged 93. 

Christian Harner, died June 24, 1840, aged 91. 

Catharine, wife of Frederick Harner, died June 7, 1859, aged 
73 years, 6 months, and 9 days. 

Frederick Harner, died Sept. 18, 1S62, aged 79 years, 9 
months, and 12 days. 

Samuel Harner, died May 13, 1867, aged 60 years, 2 months, 
and 8 days. 

Susannah Null, born March 11, 1797, died Feb. 11, 1868. 

Samuel Null, born Feb. 15, 1793, died Feb. 4, 1853. 

Abraham Null, died Feb. 27, 1850, aged 78 years, 11 months, 
and 19 days. 

Catharine Null, died April 3, 1860, aged 88 years, 4 months, 
and 19 days. 

Tobias Rudisel, died Dec. 24, 1863, aged 50 years, 3 months, 
and 11 days. Mary J., his wife, died Jan. 21, 1873, aged 54 
years, 4 months, and 17 days. 

Nancy Rudisel, born Sept. 7, 1787, died Sept. 9, 1861. 

Ludwick Rudisel, born Feb. 25, 1778, died June 28, 1842. 

Susanna, wife of Samuel Babylon, died Dec. 6, 1861, aged 
52 years, 9 months, and 21 days. 

Elizabeth, consort of David Reifsnider, born July 25, 1783, 
died Oct. 19, 1844. 

David Reifsnider, Sr., died Feb. 26, 1841, aged 66. 

Joseph Reever, died Aug. 11, 1853, aged 65 years, 11 months, 
and 11 days; Margaret, his second wife, died January, 1852, 
aged 48; Mary, his first wife, died April 25, 1845, aged 49 
years, 2 months, and 13 days. 

Hanna Reven, died Feb. 14, 1848, aged 41 years, 2 months, 
and 25 days. 

Amelia, wife of Henry Picking, died Oct. 23, 1865, aged 51 
years, 1 month, and 3 days. 

Eliza L., consort of Rev. Solomon Sentman, born Sept. 28, 
1811, died Dec. 4, 1855. 

George Lambert, died Oct. 25, 1875, aged 89 ; Elizabeth, his 
wife, died Oct. 4, 1859, aged 64 years, 4 months, and 16 days. 

Anna M., wife of Jacob Lambert, died March 27, 1852, aged 
49 years, 2 months, and 4 days. 

Elizabeth N. Claljaugh, died May 25, 1852, aged 75 years, 
10 months, and 25 days. 

Margaret, wife of Henry Black, born May 24, 1799, died Dec. 
14, 1868. 

Elizabeth, wife of Henry Hess, died Oct. 13, 1860, aged 67 
years, 1 month, and 19 days. 

Henry Hess, born Feb. 20, 1794, died Aug. 20, 1874. 

Thomas Ohler, died Dec. 8, 1843, aged 63 years. 

Margaret Fair, wife of George H., died April 8, 1866, aged ] 
52 years, 11 months, and 5 days. 

Eliza, wife of John Cownover, born Jan. 26, 1812, died Deo. j 
16, 1871. 

John Cownover, died March 24, 1851, aged 42. 

Christian Naill, died July 13, 1869, aged 63 years, 8 months,] 
and 3 d.ays; Lydia Naill, his wife, died Aug. 14, 1868, aged 56 
years, S months, and 3 days. 

Margaret Hawk, born Oct. 12, 1802, died May 6, 1879. 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



845 



George Hawk, born Oct. 17, 1776, died Dec. 29, 1855. 
Sophia, wife of Nicholas Heck, born April 27, 1818, died May 

7, 1868. 

Mary A. Bower, died Dec. 14, 1880, aged 70 years, 7 months, 
1 days. 

John Shoemaker, born Aug. 19, 1803, died June 18, 1864. 

Lawrence Bower, died Nov. 30, 1 842, aged 69 years, 9 months, 
16 days. 

Hannah Bower, died April 11, 1855, aged 76 years, 5 months, 
8 days. 

Susanna Stoner, died March 24, 1843, aged 57 years, 7 months, 
24 days. 

Wm. Mering, died March 16, 1856, aged 50. 

Rebecca, wife of Jacob Snider, born Feb. 4, 1812, died Jan. 
20, 1860. 

Jacob Snider, died Jan. 30, 1S50, aged 81 years, 6 months, 5 
days. 

Thomas Rudisel, died Jan. IS, 1880, aged 68 years, 3 months, 
4 days. 

Anna Rudisel, died March 22, 1874, aged 50 years, 9 days. 

Anna M., wife of Thomas Rudisel, died June 7, 1S57, aged 44. 

AVilliam Rudisel, died Oct. 16, 1866, aged 56 years, 8 months, 

10 days. 

John Moring, born Dee. 4, 1795, died March 24, 1857. 

Henry Baumgardner, born Dec. 11, 1810, died Nov. 16, 1880. 

Jacob Null, died March 20, 1873, aged 68 years, 6 months, 
16 days. 

Wm. Shoemaker, born Dec. 24, 1817, died Jan. 11, 1864. 

Mary A., wife of James McKellip, born Oct. 11, 1811, died 
Jan. 25, 1854. 

Mary A., consort of Samuel Shriner. died Nov. 13, 1866, aged 
49 years, 6 months, 10 days. 

Mich-iel Mentzer, born Sept. 11, 1775, died Deo. 23, 1848; 
Magdalcna, his wife, and daughter of John and Ann Diller, 
born Sept. 28, 1787, died Oct. 29, 1846. 

Elizabeth, wife of John D. Woods, born Nov. 1, 1781, died 
Dee. 18, 1860. 

John D. Woods, born Dec. 23, 1786, died Jan. 29, 1869. 

Diiniel Shuok, born Jan. 15, 1788, died April 5, 1860. 

Euphemia Shunk, died Nov. 31, 1861, aged 76 years, 6 
months, 21 days. 

Benjamin Shunk, died Oct. 30, 1876, aged 70 years, 8 months, 
15 days; Rebecca, his wife, died Dec. 20, 1863, aged 61 years, 
7 days. 

John White, born Aug. 18, 1796, died March 31, 1863; Mary 
White, his wife, died Aug. 4, 1850, aged 57 years, 6 months, 26 
days. 

John Ott, died Dec. 14, 1857, aged 52 years, 2 months, 21 
days; Mary, his wife, died May 10, 1856, .iged 47 years, 9 
months, 28 days. 

Catharine Ott, died July 26, 1851, aged 64 years, 6 months, 

11 days. 

Elizabeth Baumgardner, died June 10, 1851, aged 66 years, 
1 month, 10 days. 

George Reed, born July 12, 1782, died Nov. 3, 1857. Mary, 
his wife, died Sept. 29, 1S56, aged 73 years, 3 months, 12 days. 

James Aring, born Dec. 29, 1S66, aged 67 years, 9 months, 
23 days. 

Jacob Valentine, born May 18, 1790, died Aug. 15, 1863. 

David Reifsnider, died July 20, 1858, aged 50 years, 6 months, 
3 days. 

Anna M. Mering, died April 29, 1867, aged 85 years, 5 
months, IS days. 

Jacob Heltibridle, died March 21. 1866, aged 79 years, 6 
days; Barbara, his wife, died July 21, 1863, aged 74 years. 

Jacob Slagenhaupt, died 1863, aged 73. 
55 



Elizabeth Slagenhaupt, died 1844, aged 52. 

Philip M. Smith, died Dec. 4, 1860, aged 43 years, 6 months, 
9 days ; Rebecca Smith, died Dec. 14, 1865, aged 46 years, 7 
months. 

Jacob Bushey, died Aug. 31, 1861, aged 75 years, 8 months, 
12 days. 

Mary Bushey, died Feb. 8, 1862, aged 72 years, 2! days. 

Susanna, consort of David Buffington, born in 1802, died in 
1859, aged 57 years, married in 1822. 

Magdalena Wolf, died March 10, 1869, aged 58 years, 3 
months, 10 days. 

The founder of Taneytown was a Catholic, and it 
is reasonable to suppose there were others of the same 
faith living in the vicinity of the town at an early 
period. As 'far back as 1790 there are records of 
mass having been said at private dwellings by Fathers 
Frambaugh, Pellentz, Brosuis, and Cefremont. In 
1804, Prince Geliven visited the village, and built 
St. Joseph's church. Father Zocchi, an Italian priest 
of great learning and remarkable executive ability, was 
the first pastor of St. Joseph's, and remained in 
charge of the parish during the extraordinary period 
of forty-one years. He died in 1845, regretted by 
all who knew him, and there was no priest regularly 
assigned to the charge until 1851. From the latter 
date until 1862 the parish was under the control of 
Father Thomas O'Neill, who was succeeded by Father 
J. Gloyd, who remained in charge until Jan. 1, 1879. 
Father Gloyd's first assistant was Rev. Richard Base- 
man, from May, 1871, to January, 1873; his second, 
Rev. Casper Schmidt, from 1873 to 1874; and his 
third, Rev. John T. Dulaney, from 1874 to Jan. 1, 
1879. At this date the mission was divided, Father 
Dulaney retaining charge of St. Joseph's, and St. 
Thomas', at New Windsor, while Father Gloyd took 
charge of St. John's, Westminster, and St. Bartholo- 
mew's, Manchester. Father Dulaney is a native of 
Baltimore, and was educated in that city. Though 
comparatively a young man he is a thorough classical 
scholar, and while scrupulously discharging the oner- 
ous duties of his pastorate is also a laborious student. 
His many engaging qualities and his unflagging zeal 
in the cause of religion and charity have not only 
endeared him to the people of his parish, but have 
won for him the confidence and respect of the entire 
community without reference to denominational lines. 
Taneytown was the headquarters of the mission 
until 1869, when the residence of Father Gloyd was 
changed to Westminster by Archbishop Spalding. 

The following persons are buried in the Catholic 
cemetery : 

Rev. Nicholas Zocchi, late pastor of Taneytown Catholic 
Church, died Dee. 17, 1S45, age i 72 years. 

Mary J., daughter of Dr. John Swope, died July 30, 1846, 
aged 43 years, 10 months. 



846 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



Robert MoGinnis, born Jan. 17, 1817, died Oct. 12, 1871; 
Catharine, his wife, born Jan. S, 1815, died June 24, 1874. 
Samuel P. Chase, born March 30, 1831, died Nov. 10, 1872. 
Susan McAllister, daughter of Lewis Eliot, born Nov. 23, 
1853, died Feb. 4, 1879. 

Lueinda, daughter of J. and M. OrndofF, died April 22, 1877, 
aged 23 years, 8 months. 

Anna, wife of Anthony Wivell, died June 12, 1876, aged 68 
years, 10 months, 14 days. 

Margaret, wife of Samuel J. Wivell, bom Aug. 26, 1819, died 
May 22, 1872. 

Joseph Hawk, born Jan. 31, 1811, died May 28, 1871. 
Margaret Hawk, born Oct. 20, 1809, died September, 1875. 
Honora Donnelly, died Oct. 29, 1874, aged 79. 
Wilhemina, wife of Joseph Ries, born May 14, 1814, died 
Feb. 25, 1878. 

Catherine Sebald, born in Berks County, Pa., July 11, 1786, 
died Deo. 27, 1827. 

Joseph Wivel, born Deo. 12, 1790, died Jan. 10, 1853. 
Phristena Wivel, his wife, died March 23, 1848, aged 55. 
George Spalding, born Oct. 4, 1792, died Aug. 9, 1854; Mary, 
his wife, born Aug. 10, 1797, died Feb. 22, 1875; Edward F., 
their son, died Feb. 16, 1878, aged 53 years, 4 months, 8 days. 
Mary Ditfendall, born Sept. 11, 1808, died Sept. 26, 1878. 
John Diffendall, born Aug. 14, 1788, died May 4, 1876. 
Andrew Kuhns, died July 8, 1874, aged SI ; Rachel, his wife, 
died July 18, 1864, aged 64 years. 

Paul Kuhns, died March 15, 1815, aged 55 years, 18 days. 
Mary A. Kuhns, born March 24, 1758, died June 23, 1844. 
Elizabeth Baumgardner, died June 23, 1819, aged 27 years, 
11 months, 29 days. 

Peter Diffendal, died March 19, 1849, aged 54 years, 19 
days; Mary, his wife, died April 20, 1863, aged 67 years, 6 
months, 9 days. 

Samuel Diffendall, born March 14, 1781, died July 11, 1855. 
Christiana Diffendall, died June 12, 1859, aged 88. 
John Eline, died Jan. 30, 1846, aged 83 ; Catharine, his wife, 
died Sept. 14, 1844, aged 56 years, 5 months, 4 days. 

Juliana, daughter of John Adlesperger, died Oct. 8, 1854, 
aged 40 years, 10 months, 13 days. 

John Adlesperger, born Jan. 17, 1785, died June 22, 1859; 
Margaret Adlesperger, born April 30, 1784, died Aug. 16, 
1867; Mary, their daughter, born March 15, 1812, died Aug. 
12, 1867. 

Magdalena, wife of Jacob Tingling, died September, 1855, 
aged 42. 

John Althoff, died Jan. 13, 1873, aged 85 years, 6 months, 

28 days; Mary C, his wife, died July 26, 1867, aged 86. 
Daniel Rose, died Nov. 9, 1815, aged 13 years. 

Peter Hamburg, died Jan. 24, 1869, aged 73 years, 2 months, 

29 days; Mary, his wife, died July 26, 1870, aged 71 years, 
11 months, 21 days. 

Mary Hamburg, died Oct. 6, 1863, aged 31 years, 11 months, 
15 days. 

James Taney, died Oct. 2, 1817, aged 19. 

Dorothy Taney, wife of Joseph, died April 17, 1817, aged 61. 

Catherine Boyle, died April 12, 1814, aged 97 years. 

Ann Boyle, died Sept. 16, 1811, aged 22 months. 

Roger Joseph Boyle, died Jan. 14, 1841, aged 25. 

Henry Boyle, died Feb. 14, 1855, aged 37 years. 

Mary H. Boyle, died May 2, 1821, aged 41 years. 

Daniel Boyle, died Dec. 5, 1830, aged 66 years. 

Jane, wife of Raphael Brooke, died Nov. 19, 1818, aged 67 
years. 

Raphael Brooke, died July 7, 1816, aged 69 years. 

Ann, wife of Francis Jamison, died Dec. 11, 1792, aged 35. 



Catherine Wilson, died Dec. 20, 1815, infant. 

Joseph C. Clements, died March, 1807. 

Francis Elder, died Oct. 1, 1809, aged 54 ; Catherine, his 
wife, died April 12, 1834, aged 67. 

Mary Mourie, born 174.S, died Jan. 30, 1810. 

James Clabaugh, died March 16, 1867, aged 80 years, 4 
months, 16 days; Monica, his wife, born July 22, 1787, died 
Nov. 30, 1851. 

Ann M., wife of John Classon, born Dec. 3, 1802, died Sept. 
4, 1864. 

Rebecca, wife of Levi Murren, died July 22, 1844, aged 23 
years, 5 months, 8 days. 

Caroline, wife of David S. Smith, died Jan. 3, 1857, aged 30 
years, 7 months. 

Barbara, wife of Joseph Gartner, died June 5, 1852, aged 27. 

Mary Gardner, died March 23, 1846, aged 25 years, 15 days. 

Joseph Gardner, died March 4, 1879, aged 69 years, 9 months, 
24 days. 

Jacob Eckenrode, died July 22, 1865, aged 81 years, 9 months ; 
Mary, his wife, died Feb. 10, 1859, aged 71 years. 

Mary Ann, consort of Christopher Storm, died Jan. 3, 1863, 
aged 88 years, 11 months, 13 days. 

John Burk, died Dec. 6, 1839, aged 46 years; Catharine, his 
wife, died Sept. 7, 1819, aged 22 years. 

Joseph Welty, born Aug. 8, 1810, died Jan. 24, 1864. 

Peter A. S. Noveel, died Jan. 23, 1837, aged 21. 

Elizabeth, wife of Basil Brooke, died Aug. 27, 1827, aged 34 
years. 

John Spalding, died Dec. 23, 1807, aged 28 years. 

Henry Spalding, died Feb. 19, 1816, aged 69 years^; Ann, 
his wife, died Jan. 17, 1800, aged 54 years. 

Cecila, daughter of Geo. and Mary Spalding, born Sept. 30, 
1836, died Feb. 25, 1856. 

Margaret Adams, died Sept. 8, 1805. 

Henry O'Hara, died June 14, 1815, aged 85 years. 

Elizabeth Stigers, died Feb. 17, 1828, aged 31 years, 11 
months, 14 days. 

Thomas Adams, died Jan. 18, 1826, aged 64 years. 

Magdalena Adams, wife of Thomas, who died at the age of 
104, "loaded with years and virtuous deeds," Jan. 21, 1826. 

Margaret, wife of John Dougherty, died Oct. 17, 1860, aged 
79 years. 

Margaret A., daughter of James and Rebecca Adlesperger, 
born Aug. 16, 1862, died May 12, 1880. 

" This stone laid by Capt. John Gwinn, U.S.N., and Dr. Wm. 
Gwinn," for their mother, Mary, who died April 8, 1837, aged 
60. 

P. Hinds, died Sept. 23, 1828, aged 79 years. 

Easter Hinds, died May 28, 1835, aged 65 years. 

John Eckenrode, born April 2, 1780, died Nov. 25, 1849; 
Elizabeth, his wife, born July 6, 1788, died Sept. 20, 1850. 

Lydia E., their daughter, and wife of Siimuel B. Horner, 
died May 13, 1871, aged 58 years, 10 months, 11 days. 

Ann Louisa, wife of Jos. A. Orendorff, died Aug. 15, 1872, 
aged 38 years, 2 months, 27 days. 

Elizabeth Eline, died July 14, 1873, aged 68 years, 10 months, 
25 days ; Wm. Eline, her husband, died Dec. 1 1, 1879, aged 79 
years, 4 months, 29 days. 

Louisa C, wife of John M. McCarty, born Oct. 9, 1843, died 
April 3, 1880. 

John Gonker, died Dec. 4, 1814, aged 71 years. 

Barbara Gonker, died Deo. 27, 1827, aged 77 years. 

Eliza Gonker, died Oct. 16, 1858, aged 75 years. 

Hannah Gonker, died April 21, 1878, aged 81 years. 

Mary Gonker, died Oct. 26, 1861, aged 86 years. 
J. Burk, died 1814, at an old age. 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



847 



Jacob Welty, died March 7, 1S16, aged 26 years. ' 

John, son of John and Eliza Welty, died March 25, 1816, 
aged 12 years. 

John Welty, died Sept. 15, 1816, aged 54 years. 

Mary Welty, died Dec. 20, 1816, aged 24 years. 

Elizabeth, consort of John Welty, died Nov. 22, 1843, aged 
72 years, 3 months, 18 days. 

Alexander Frazier, died Oct. 9, 1872, aged 59 years, 5 months, 
26 days; Polly, his wife, died June 30, 1854, aged 39 years. 

Ann C, wife of Henry Althoff, died Oct. 11, 1845, aged 92 
years. 

Frederick Shoemaker, died March 31, 1864, aged 48 years, 
11 months, 28 days. 

Wm. Clabaugh, died Nov. 7, 1855, aged 34. 

Sylvester N. Orndorff, died August, 1854, aged 19 years, 5 
months, 20 days. 

Joseph Eck, died Jan. 15, 1856, aged 62. 

Margaret Eck, born July 7, 1816, died July 15, 1853. 

Paul Eck, died Sept. 12, 1860, aged 63 years. 

Wm. Staubb, died Oct. 23, 1842, aged 43 years, 22 days. 

Peter Mathias, died Feb. 4, 1827, aged 37 years. 

Klara, wife of Francis J. Albrocht, born Dec. 2, 1819, died 
May 4, 1858. 

Catherine Snovell, died Oct. 17, 1761, aged 79. 

Elizabeth, wife of Daniel Snovell, died Feb. 11, 1852, aged 
37 years, 5 months. Elizabeth, his second wife, died Sept. 21, 
1853, aged 27 years, 2 months. 

Isaac T. Stonesifer, died Aug. 21, 1867, aged 26 years, 3 
months, 17 days. 

Elizabeth F. Watson, died Aug. 19, 1854, aged 24 yeors, 1 
month, 24 days. 

Wm. Watson, born November, 1798, died Feb. 16, 1861. 

Mary A. Sewell, died March 16, 1871, aged 39 years. 

John Hopkins, died June 20, 1833, aged 58. 

Wm. Cash, born Dec. 24, 1800, died April 3, 1872. 

Ann E. Cash, died Feb. 12, 1858, aged 22 years. 

Anthony Arnold, died April 3, 1854, aged 78 years, 7 months, 
11 days. 

Ann, wife of Augustine Arnold, died Dec. 30, 1863, aged 62 
years. 

Taneytown Presbyterian Church. — Prior to 
1820 German preaching was the rule in Taneytown, 
English the exception. Indeed, a strong prejudice 
existed against preaching in the English language. It 
is related that when the corner-stone of what is the 
original part of the present Lutheran church was laid, 
in 1812, the Rev. John Grope, pastor at that time, 
remarked to the bystanders, " This corner-stone is laid 
on a German foundation, and there is to be no English 
preaching here only when there must be." 

But the world moves, and men must move with it. 
Some of the persons who heard the remark to which 
reference has been made lived to hear the same min- 
ister preach in the English language. About the 
year 1820 the younger portion of the German-speak- 
ing part of the community began to manifest a desire 
to have preaching in the English language. This de- 
sire was strenuously opposed by the older persons. 

The house in which the German Reformed congre- 
gation worshiped at this time, known as the " Yellow 



Church," was in a very dilapidated condition. This, 
together with the desire of many members of the 
German Reformed congregation to have service in the 
English language, opened the way for the formation 
of certain " articles of association" between the mem- 
bers of the latter church at Taneytown and the mem- 
hers of the Presbyterian Church of the same place, to 
unite for the purpose of building a Union church. 

In virtue of the seventh of these " articles of as- 
sociation," the parties concerned, in March, 1821, 
elected five persons as a building committee, and vested 
in them full power to purchase a lot or lots in such 
locality as they might think would best suit the dif- 
ferent congregations, and to build thereon said church. 
This committee, the members of which were Nich- 
olas Snider, William B. Hilberd, George Shriner, 
Abraham Linn, and Samuel S. Forney, bought of 
Elizabeth Hughs, the widow of John Hughs, lots 
Nos. 78 and 80, situated in Taneytown, for the sum of 
eighty-nine dollars sixty-eight and a half ceiita 
($89.68J). These lots were conveyed to the persons 
composing said committee, to be held by them in trust 
for the German Reformed and Presbyterian congre- 
gations until such time when said congregations may 
become corporate bodies, and thus by law be author- 
ized to have and to hold the same by their trustees. 

The corner-stone was laid on the 5th or 6th of Sep- 
tember, 1821. Rev. John Winebrenner preached on 
the occasion from Zachariah iv. 7. Rev. Mr. Reilly 
also preached at the same time from Isaiah Ixvi. 1. 

The erection of the building progressed slowly. In 
the autumn of 1822 the church was dedicated. The 
Presbyterian element, during the interval between 
1822 and 1828, worshiped with the German Reformed 
congregation, which was during that time served by 
the following-named pastors: Rev. Jacob Helfenstein, 
Rev. Mr. Aurand, a short time, and Rev. Deatrick 
Graves. 
1 In the year 1828 the " Presbyterian Church of 
Taneytown" was organized. 

The Presbytery of Baltimore met in Taneytown on 
the 24th of February, 1828, and ordained Rev. Austin 
0. Hubbard, who had been licensed in 1826. On the 
30th of March, 1828, Rev. Mr. Hubbard ordained 
Philip Hann and William Cormack ruling eiders, and 
administered the communion. On Sabbath, June 22, 
1828, the church was regularly organized by the ad- 
mission of the following-named persons as members : 
Mrs. Elizabeth Hann, Mrs. Alah Clabaugh (probably 
Alice). Miss Mary Ann McCollough, Miss Mary Mus- 
grove on confession of their faith, and Miss Margaret 
Birnie, Miss Hester Birnie, Miss Margaret Ried, Miss 
Mary Ried by certificate. 



S48 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



Mr. Hubbard's pastorate extended from his ordina- 
tion, Feb. 24, 1828, until the 18th of November, 
1829, during which three persons were received into 
the church, two on confession of their faith and one 
by certificate. From the close of Mr. Hubbard's pas- 
torate to Jan. 13, 1838, a period of eight years, the 
church was ministered to by Rev. Greorge W. Ken- 
nedy, Rev. Nathan Harnad, Rev. Mr. Ammerman, 
and Rev. Jaleel Woolbridge. 

Rev. George W. Kennedy was licensed, received, 
and ordained by the Presbytery of Baltimore in 1831, 
and dismissed in 1833. From Sessional records he 
appears to have been in Taneytown Church during 
the year 1831, and may have been pastor. Of the 
others, they served here a short time as supplies. 
During these eight years twelve persons were received 
as members of the church. On Sunday, May 13, 
1838, Rev. John P. Carter, appointed by the " Gen- 
eral Assembly's Board of Missions," commenced 
preaching in Taneytown church. Mr. Carter was 
installed pastor Oct. 29, 1838. His pastorate ex- 
tended five years, to Dec. 17, 1843. After his resigna- 
tion the church was vacant until the 1st of September, 
1844, when Rev. Jacob Belville, a licentiate, was 
unanimously elected pastor, and soon afterwards or- 
dained and installed a pastor of the church by the 
Presbytery of Baltimore. He was pastor four year.s. 
His pastorate closed about the 1st of September, 1848. 
The pulpit was then supplied between September, 
1848, and June 2, 1849, by Rev. Mr. Connell. 

In a Sessional record Rev. James Williamson, pastor 
elect, is spoken of as being present. He was soon 
aiter installed as pastor, and served the church as such 
until some time during the year 1854. He was dis- 
missed from the Presbytery of Baltimore in 1854. 
It appears that the church was vacant from the close 
of Mr. Williams' pastorate to April 13, 1857, during 
which time the pulpit was supplied for a few months 
by Rev. Mr. Dodder, a licentiate. April, 1857, Rev. 
William B. Scarborough was ordained and installed 
pastor. Mr. Scarborough was pastor until the latter 
part of December, 1868, making a pastorate of eleven 
years and seven months. He handed his resignation 
to the Session 22d of November, 1868, to take effect 
in December. The Presbytery having grauted the 
congregation the privilege of supplying their own 
pulpit. Rev. Isaac M. Patterson was unanimously 
elected stated supply, and entered upon his duties on 
the first Sabbath of January, 1869. In October, 
1871 , Mr. Patterson was installed pastor by a com- 
mittee of the Presbytery of Baltimore. He resigned 
July, 1873, and preached his last sermon on the 27th 
of the same month. 



After the union between the Old and the New School 
branches of the church, changes in the bounds of 
Synods and Presbyteries threw Emmittsburg and Piney 
Creek into the Presbytery of Baltimore, thus opening 
the way for Mr. Patterson to become pastor of Taney- 
town, in connection with Emmittsburg and Piney 
Creek. Since Mr. Patterson's installation, October, 

1871, Emmittsburg, Piney Creek, and Taneytown 
have constituted, and at this time constitute, a pas- 
toral charge. When the church became vacant by 
Mr. Patterson's resignation it united with the other 
churches of the charge in unanimously calling Rev. 
William Simonton, of Williamsport, Pa. Mr. Simon- 
ton accepted and soon entered upon his duties. His 
pastorate dates from Oct. 1, 1873, and still continues. 

Philip Hann and William Cormack were ordained 
ruling elders at the organization of the church. Mr- 
Hann died Dec. 31, 1863, having served as an elder 
for a period of thirty-five years. Of Mr. Cormack it 
is recorded, " Did not apply for a certificate — joined 
the Methodists." Clotworthy Birnie, Sr., united with 
the church by certificate Sept. 8, 1832, and was 
ordained a ruling elder Aug. 8, 1838. He died 
June 2, 1845. He was a member of this church 
almost thirteen years, and a ruling elder seven years, 
four of which he was clerk of the Session. The 
members of the Session at present are Rogers Birnie, 
ordained Aug. 4, 1844; Andrew McKinney and Clot- 
worthy Birnie, M.D., ordained Nov. 27, 1864 ; John 
W. Davidson and Andrew Arthur, ordained May 5, 

1872. Rogers Birnie, the senior member, was clerk 
twenty-three years. Andrew McKinney has been 
clerk since 22d of November, 1868. Clotworthy 
Birnie, M.D., is a grandson of Clotworthy Birnie, Sr., 
who was a member of the Session during the earlier 
history of the church. 

Taneytown Church was organized with ten members. 
In 1840 it had increased to twenty-six; in 1850 to 
thirty-five ; and at present has a membership in full 
communion of forty-two. The whole number of per- 
sons who have been members of the church is about 
two hundred ; and while the number in communion 
at any given time has always been small, the fact may 
be noted that it was never less at any period than it 
had been at an earlier date in the church's history. 
Two of the original members still survive. 

In 1853, during Mr. Williamson's pastorate, the 
congregation bought a house and lot in Taneytown 
for the sum of nine hundred dollars ; this was 
conveyed by deed, executed by John K. Longwell 
and Sarah Longwell to Rogers Birnie and Philip 
Hann, elders, and their successors, in trust, to be held 
for the benefit of their congregation. The property 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



849 



was used most of the time as a parsonage, except the 
latter part of Mr. Scarborough's pastorate, during 
whicli he resided in New Windsor. After the con- 
gregation became part of the pastoral charge of Em- 
mittsburg and Piney Creek it was deemed best to 
di.spo.se of the parsonage, which was accordingly done 
on the 29th of October, 1870, and on the 1st of 
April, 1871, it was conveyed to Thomas Rudisel by 
Rogers Birnie, Clotworthy Birnic, and Andrew 
McKinney, elders, for the sum of $3126. The con- 
gregation was incorporated by the laws of the State 
of Maryland, January, 1871 ; previous to that time 
the members of the Session attended to the socular 
interests of the church, and since then it has been 
governed by a board of trustees. 

The pastors and stated supplies have been : 

1828-29, Rev. Austin 0. Hubbard; 1829-.S8, vacant, with sup- 
plies; 1838-43, Rev. Jolin P. Carter; 1843-44, vacant, 
with occasional appointments; 1844-48, Rev. Jacob Bell- 
ville, D.D.; 1848-49, vacant, with supplies; 1849-54, Rev. 
James Williamson: 1854-57, vacant, with occasional sup- 
plies; 1857-68, Rev. William B. Scarborough; 1868-73, 
Rev. Isaac M. Patterson, S. S. anil P. , 1873, Rev. William 
Simonton. 

Taneytown Academy. — This institution was in- 
corporated Jan. 25, 1844, with the following trustees : 
Solomon Sentman, Israel Hiteshue, Thomas Rudisel, 
John B. Boyle, John Thompson. 

The Church of the United Brethren in Christ was 
incorporated March 10, 1858, with the following 
trustees : Henry Shriner, Daniel Frock, Joseph 
Witherow, John Ridinger, and Peter Mark. 

A lodge of Knights of Pythias was organized in 
Taneytown Sept. 17, 1877. Their charter and para- 
phernalia were purchased from the Frederick City 
Lodge, and were issued to them in 1871. The first 
officers of the lodge were as follows : 

C. C, C. C. Steiner; Master at Arms, G. T. Crouse; Dr. C. 
Birnie, Prelate; David Fogle, V. C; L. D. Reed, K. of 
R. and S. ; J. E. Davidson, M. of E. ; Ezekiah Hawk, 0. 
G. ; Elwood Burns, I. G. ; E. K. Weaver, M. of F. The 
present officers are S. E. Reindollar, V. C; D. R. Fogle, 
C. C. ; J. E. Davidson, M. of E. ; E. K. Weaver, M. of F. ; 
C. C. Stuller, K. of R. and S. ; W. T. Hawk, P. ; L. D. 
Reed, 0. G. ; J. Hahn, I. G. ; B. B. Miller, P. C. 

They have twenty-one members in good standing, 
and hold their meetings in Reindollar's Hall. The 
lodge is in a very prosperous condition, and is steadily 
increasing in numbers. 

The Regulator and Taneytown Herald was pub- 
lished by Samuel P. Davidson, who was also the editor, 
" in Church Street, adjoining Mr. Sebastian Sultzcr's 
tavern, Taneytown, Md." The eighteenth issue, 
dated Sept. 7, 1830, contains among its news the 



names of Isaac Shriner, John Kinzer, Madison Nel- 
son, and Daniel Kemp, of Henry, who are published 
as candidates on the Jackson Republican ticket for 
members of the Assembly from Frederick County, 
and the candidates on the National Republican ticket 
were David Kemp, Jno. H. Melford, Evan McKinstry, 
and David Richardson. 

From the market reports, copied from the Baltimore 
American, we learn that wheat was worth 98 cents to 
$1.00 per bushel; rye, 47 and 50 cents; corn, 45 
and 47 cents ; whisky, 22 and 24 cents per gallon ; 
plaster, $3.80 per ton. 

But two marriages are published, one of which is 
that of Mr. Adam Bowers and Miss Mary Ann Cur- 
rans. 

A. Reck, secretary, gives notice that the Evangel- 
ical Lutheran Synod of Maryland and Virginia will 
assemble at Taneytown on the third Sunday of Octo- 
ber (1830). 

Michael Wagner advertises a .stray heifer. Nathan 
Hendricks announces a barbecue at Bruceville on the 
23d of September. Samuel Thompson, Sterling Gait, 
and David Martin, trustees, advertised for " a man of 
good moral character, who is well qualified to teach 
reading, writing, arithmetic, and mathematics in a 
school-house lately erected within one mile of Taney- 
town." The teacher secured was J. M. Newson, the 
present superintendent of public schools. Mathias 
E. Bartgis, Wm. H. Cannon, Abner Campbell, and 
Peter Brengle published cards announcing themselves 
as candidates for sheriif of Frederick County. John 
N. Hofi'man, agent, gives notice to the subscribers to 
the theological seminary at Gettysburg that three 
installments are due. David H. Fries, seven miles 
from Taneytown, near Smith's tavern, advertises public 
sale of personal property. James Raymond, trustee, 
advertises sale of land of Abraham Derr, near Taney- 
town. Nathan Hendricks, " desirous of leaving Fred- 
erick County," advertises Bruceville Mills at public 
sale. Louisa Rinedollar and Abraham Lichtenwalter, 
executors, give notice to the creditors of Peter Mick- 
sell. James Heird advertises the Fairview races to 
come off on the 6th, 7th, and 8th of September, and 
oflFers three purses, — $25, $15, $20. John Hughes 
nominates himself for the Assembly as the Working- 
men's independent candidate, " who is a friend to 
railroads, canals, and turnpikes," etc. " A valuable 
family of negroes" is offered for sale, " but not to 
traders," and another negro is also advertised for sale ; 
those desiring to buy are requested to inquire at the 
office of the Regtilafor. C. Birnie offers Merino rams 
for sale. Israel Hiteshew and James Ki'idler announce 
a dissolution of partnership " in tavern and tailoring." 



850 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



The American Sentinel, published in Westminster, is 
a combination of 77ie Regulator. The paper was 
bought from Mr. Davidson by Col. John K. Longwell, 
who moved the office to Westminster in May, 1833, 
and changed its name to The Cai-rolltonian. The 
paper was moved there solely to advocate the forma- 
tion of Carroll County. In 1838 a Democratic jour- 
nal called Tlie Democrat was established here by Wm. 
Shipley, Jr., when The Carrolltonian was announced 
as a Whig journal. Col. Longwell continued the 
publication of the paper until 1844, when Francis T. 
Kerr, a brother-in-law to the late John J. Baumgart- 
ner, Esq., succeeded to its proprietorship. Upon the 
death of Mr. Kerr in 1846 or 1847, George D. Mil- 
ler, of Frederick, took charge of the paper, and was 
shortly after succeeded by W. H. Grammer, in 1850. 
In 1854, upon the rise of Know-Nothingism, the name 
of the paper was changed to the American Sentinel, 
its present title. 

Among the early physicians were Dr. Joseph Sim 
Smith, a patriot in the Revolution and a brave sol- 
dier. He died Sept. 6, 1822. William Hubbert 
and Dr. Boyle were also among the first physicians in 
Taneytown. The latter and Henry Swope were 
among the earliest merchants. John White and Jo- 
seph Lanubert were the blacksmiths of the village in 
the olden time. A tavern was kept by Mary Crouse 
in the house now occupied by Mr. Stonesifer as a 
hotel, and the Crabsters kept the inn just opposite 
and across the street. The following advertisement 
appeared in a newspaper of Dec. 16, 1801 : 

*' For sale, the tavern ' American Coat of Arms,' in Taney- 
town. Apply to James McSherry, Littlestown, Pennsylvania, 
or Richard Coale, Libertytown, Maryland." 

Harney is a small hamlet about four and a half 
miles from Taneytown and near the Monocacy River, 
which is at this point a small stream. It was named 
in honor of the late Gen. Harney, of the United 
States army. The United Brethren, a Kligious de- 
nomination, have built a church in the village re- 
cently, of which Rev. J. Whitlock is pastor. D. L. 
Shoemaker is the village postmaster. A number of 
mills are located here, under the charge of William 
Starner, John Unger, and Peter Selt. There is a 
hotel in the village, kept by W. F. Eckenrode, and 
John Eckenrode keeps an assortment of general mer- 
chandise. There are also two excellent physicians, 
John C. Bush and E. B. Simpson. The population 
of the Taneytown District, according to the census of 
1880, is 2596. 

For many years the old free-school system, which 
obtained so extensively in the rural districts of Mary- 
land, was in vogue in Carroll County. At the public 



schools the children were taught the three R's, — 
" reading, 'riting, and 'rithmetic," — and if they de- 
sired further education, they either had to teach 
themselves or attend one of the many excellent pri- 
vate schools within reach. During the civil war 
there was an awakening of the public mind to the 
advantages of general education, and a cumbersome 
system, expensive in character, resulted from inex- 
perienced legislation. This was superseded by the 
present system, now general throughout all the coun- 
ties of the State, which gives all necessary advantages, 
and has the additional recommendation of simplicity. 
The following is a list of public school trustees for 
1881 and 1882 in the Taneytown District : 

1. Pine Hill.— William Clutz, Michael Humbert, Charles M. 

Hess. 

2. Piney Creek. — Franklin Keppert, Daniel Hesson, Richard 

Hill. 

3. Walnut Grove. — Samuel Brown, Upton Harney, David W. 

Bowers. 

4. Washington. — No appointments. 

5. Oak Grove. — Samuel P. Baumgartner, Henry Eck, Hezekiah 

Hahn. 

6. 7, and 8. Taneytown, Nos. 1, 2, and 3.— William S. Kudisell, 

Jesse Haugh, Ezra K. Reaver. 

9. Oregon. — Gabriel Stover, William W. Koontz, Ezra StuUer. 

10. Martin's. — Valentine Harman, Jacob Shriner, Martin L. 
Buffington. 

11. Shaw's. — Daniel Harman, Edward Shorb, William Smith. 

The teachers for the term ending April 15, 1881, 
were: 

1, H. C. Wilt, 53 pupils; 2, S. F. Hess, 48 pupils; 3, J. H. 
Lambert, 51 pupils; 4, J. Ross Gait, 44 pupils; 5, Calvin 
T. Fringer, 51 pupils; 6, Levi D. Reid, 55 pupils ; 7, Mrs. 
Emma L. Forrest, 54 pupils; 8, James F. Fringer, 47 pu- 
pils; 9, John T. Reck, 68 pupils; 10, George W. Hess, 51 
pupils; 11, C. A. Waesche, 29 pupils; 1 (colored school), 
C. H. Stuiler, 20 pupils. 

The following is the vote for local officers from 
1851 to 1861, inclusive: 

1851. — Vote for Primary School Commissioners : Israel Hiteshue 
190, Benjamin Shunk 155, Israel Hiteshue 159, John H. 
Clabaugh 85, Benjamin Zumbrum 41. 

1853.— For Justices : William Haugh 227, George Miller 172, 
Benjamin Shunk 246, James McKellip 232 ; Constables : 
Thomas Jones, Jr., 250, James Burke 64, John ReindoUar 
238, David Eephart 87; Road Supervisor: Patrick Burke 
103, James Thompson 243. 

1855.— For Justices : George Miller 246, William Haugh 248, 
Jacob Shriner 249, George Crabbs 132, James Crouse 132, 
L. Buffington 137; Constables: Thomas Jones, Jr., 256, 
Henry Rinaman 242, Michael Fogle 127, James Rodgers 
135 ; Road Supervisor : James Thompson 220, J. New- 
comer 131. 

1857. — For Justices : B. Shnnk 216, William Haugh 250, George 
Miller 245 ; Constables : H. Rinaman 138, A. Shoemaker 
238, W. Slates 240; Road Supervisor: William Henier 
262. 

1859. — For Justices: William Fisher 157, Jacob Zumbrum 253, 
Benjamin Shunk 267, Jacob Shriner 266; Constables: 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



851 



James Burke 152, Wendell Slates 270, J. E. Delaplane 
259; Road Supervisor: William Hess 272. 
1861.— For Justices: William Haugh 377, William Fisher 191, 
J. Zumbrum 207, George Miller 356 ; Constables : W. Slates 
247, Joel Bowers 284, David Kephart 206 ; Road Super- 
visor : Gabriel Stover 266, John ReindoUar 105, W. Shoe- 
maker 82, William Hess 2. 

DNIONTOWN DISTRICT, No. 2. 
The metes and bounds of Uniontown District are 
as follows : 

"Beginning at Grove's Ford, on Big Pipe Creek; thence 
down Big Pipe Creek to Siek's Ford ; thence with a straight 
line to Eckart's Ford on Little Pipe Creek ; thence up Little 
Pipe Creek to Sam's Creek to Landis' mill : thence with a road 
leading between the farms of Jacob Sneader and the late Henry 
Nicodemus to a stone on the Buffalo road ; thence near Levi 
Devilbiss' house, now occupied by Jacob Nusbaum, leaving 
said house in District No. 9 (thence near John Myers' house, 
leaving the same in District No. 9); thence to Philip Nico- 
demus' mill; thence down Turkeyfoot Branch to where it inter- 
sects Little Pipe Creek; thence up said creek to Haines' mill, 
running through Widow Haines' farm, leaving her house in 
District No. 2; thence through Joseph Haines' farm, leaving 
his house in No. 7 ; thence through Michael Morelock, Sr.'s 
farm, leaving his house in No. 2 ; thence to Morelock's tavern, 
on the Uniontown turnpike, leaving his house in No. 7 ; thence 
through Shaffer's farm, leaving his house and factory in Dis- 
trict No. 7 ; thence with a straight line to Smith's old tavern on 
the Taneytown turnpike, leaving said house in District No. 7; 
thence to Hasson's house, leaving his house in No. 2; thence to 
Messing's mill, leaving his dwelling in No. 7 ; thence to the 
stone road near Stoneseifer's bouse; thence with the stone road 
to place of beginning." 

This district is bounded on the north by Myers', 
northwest and west by Taneytown, east by Westmin- 
ster, south by New Windsor, and west by Union 
Bridge and Middleburg. Big Pipe Creek divides it 
from Taneytown District, and Little Pipe Creek skirts 
its southwestern corner, forming for a short distance 
the boundary line with New Windsor. Bear and 
Meadow Branches flow westerly through its centre 
and empty into Big Pipe Creek. Wolf-Pit Branch 
flows southwest, and Log Cabin Branch northwest, 
emptying respectively into Little and Big Pipe Creeks. 
The population of the district, according to the census 
of 1880, is two thousand six hundred and three. 

The district was settled before 1745, and about 1760 
the population increased rapidly. Among the pio- 
neers were the Herbaughs, Norrises, Eckerds, Nico- 
demuses, Harrises, Babylons, Roops, Shepherds, Zol- 
lickofiers, Senseneys, Hibberds, Farmwalts, Bruba- 
kers, Hiteshews, Roberts, McFaddens, Stoneseifers, 
Erbs, Markers, Zepps, and Myerlys. The early settlers 
were largely Germans, with a sprinkling of English 
and Scotch-Irish. The Barnharts were the original 
owners of the land on which A. Zolliooffer now lives, 
and the land now owned by Capt. Brubnker was form- 



erly in the possession of the Cover family. Mrs. 
Mehring owns the land upon which the Grammers 
lived. The StouflFers also took up a large tract south 
of Uniontown. 

Uniontown is situated in an undulating and healthy 
country, two and a half miles from Linwood, seven 
from Westminster, and forty-three from Baltimore. 
Before there was any town here, more than a hundred 
years ago, Peter Moser kept a tavern, which is marked 
on the old Maryland maps, on the road from Balti- 
more through Westminster and Moravian Town 
(Graceham) to Hagerstown. 

The first house built in the village was situated at 
the forks of the Hagerstown and Taneytown road, a 
log building one and a half stories high, containing 
three rooms. It was used as a hotel and store, and 
was kept first by Peter Moser, before the Revolution, 
and afterwards by Mr. McKenzie, and then by Mr. 
Hiteshew, who conducted it until 1809. It was built 
on the lot now occupied by Nathan Heck, and was 
torn down in 1831. The second house, a low struc- 
ture, was built by Stephen Ford, and is now occupied 
by Mr. Segafoose. Mrs. Green's hotel was built in 
1802 by Conrad Stem, and was first kept by John 
Myers. The next house was built in 1804, and is 
now occupied by Charles Devilbiss. It was first occu- 
pied by a family named Myers. That in which Reu- 
ben Matthias lives was erected in 1805. Its first oc- 
cupant was John Kurtz, who kept a store. The town 
I was then called " The Forks," and its name was changed 
in 1813 to Uniontown, when the people were trying 
I to secure a new county, which it was proposed to call 
" Union County," with this town as the county-seat. 
The project failed, but the village retained the name 
of Uniontown. The first physician was Dr. Hobbs, 
and he was succeeded by Dr. Boyer, who lived outside 
of the town. Hissuccessor was Dr. Hibberd. The first 
blacksmith was Nicholas Hiteshew, whose shop was at 
the foot of the hill leading to the Stoufi'er residence. 
j His shop was there in 1800. Wm. Richinacker and 
I George Attick were the pioneer carpenters of the ham- 
! let. The first schoolmaster was Thomas Harris, who 
taught in 1807 in the house now occupied by Mr. 
Segafoose. Moses Shaw came here in 1816 and kept 
a tavern on the property now owned by Charles Devil- 
biss. In 1817, Jacob Appier was a wealthy citizen 
living near town. Charles Devilbiss, David Stoufi'er, 
Isaac Hiteshew, Upton Norris, Capt. Henry Anders, 
Mr. Harris, Samuel Shriner, Thomas Metcalf, and 
many others from Uniontown and its vicinity volun- 
teered for the defense of Baltimore during the war of 
1812. The first school-house was erected in 1810, in 
the lower part of the town. It has been removed 



852 



HISTORY OP WESTERN MARYLAND. 



several times and is still standiog. Cardinal McClos- 
key, of New York City, was born in Uniontown, in a 
log house opposite the cemetery. In 1818 St. Lucas' 
church was built, under the pastorate of Rev. Wine- 
brenner. Subsequent pastors were Revs. Helfenstein 
and Graves. It is now occupied by the Church of 
God. In those days it was customary to raise funds 
for the erection of churches and other public enter- 
prises by means of lotteries. Below is given the 
scheme by which the money was obtained to build St. 
Lucas' church : 



Uniontows District. 

Stalionart/ Prizes. 

lprizeofS120nis $1200 

1 " 500 is 500 

1 " 200 is 200 

4 " 100 is 400 

10 " 50 is 500 

60 " 10 is 600 

250 " 8 is 2000 

800 " 7 is 5600 

1127 prizes 
1073 blanks. 

2200 tickets at $5 is $11,000 

" 1st drawn 3('0 tickets, each $7. 
" 1st drawn ticket after 1000, $500 
"1st drawn ticket after 2000, SI200. 

** Part of the above prizes will be paid in part as follows: 
prize of SI 200 by 100 tickets in 2d class, Nos. 1 and 100 inclu- 
sive; prize of $500 by 50 tickets in 2d class, Nos. 101 and 150 
inclusive; prize of $200 by 15 tickets in 2d class, Nos. 151 and 
166 inclusive ; prizes of $10, $8, and $7 by 1 ticket in 2d class, 
comniencing with first drawn often dollar prizes with No. 167, 
and so upwards in regular succession with said prizes of $10, 
$8, and $7. Ticket in 2d class valued at $5 each. 



"Second Class. 

1 prize of $1000 is $1000 

1 " 400 is 400 

1 " 200 is 200 

2 " 100 is 200 

6 " 50 is .SOO 

20 " 20 is 400 

122 " 10 is 1220 

155 " S is 1240 

720 " 7 is 5040 

1028 prizes. 
972 blanks. 

2000 tickets at $5 is $10,000 



" Slalii 



ry Pnz, 



" 1st drawn 200 tickets, each $7. 

"1st drawn ticket after 1500, $1000. 

"Part of the above prizes will be paid in part as follows: 
prize of SIOOO by 80 tickets in .3d cl.ass, Nos. 1 and 80 inclusive ; 
prize of $400 by 40 tickets, Nos. 81 and 121 inclusive ; prize of 
$200 by 15 tickets. No. 122 and 137 inclusive; prizes of $10, 
$8, and $7 by 1 ticket each, commencing with No. 138 to the 
first drawn ten dollar prize, and continuing regularly up with 
said prizes. Tickets valued in 3d class at $5 each. 



" Third Class. 

1 prize of .$1500 is $1500 

1 " 600 is 600 

1 " 300 is 300 

2 •' 100 is 200 

20 " 50 is 1000 

26 " 15 is 390 

261 " 10 is 2610 

400 " Sis 3200 

600 " 7 is 4200 

1312 prizes. 
1488 blanks. 

2800 tickets at $5 each is $14,000 

"Stationary Prizes. 
" 1st drawn 250 tickets, each $7. 
" 1st drawn ticket after 1000, $300. 
" 1st drawn ticket after 2300, $1500. 

" Prizes subject to a deduction of 20 per cent, in each class, 
and payable ninety days after the complctinn thereof. The 
managers in offering the above scheme to the public, for the 
purpose of appropriating the proceeds to a church, feel confi- 
dent that they will meet with a general support. Perhaps no 
scheme has been offered heretofore that affords so great a 
chance to adventurers, there being more prizes than blanks, 
and only few tickets in each class. 

" Those persons who purchased tickets in the original scheme 
will please to exchange them for tickets in the first class as soon 
as possible, as the managers are very reluctantly obliged to 
abandon it, as a duty they owe to the church and the public, in 
consequence of the magnitude of the original scheme. As a 
number of tickets are already held in the first class, the mana- 
gers pledge themselves to commence the drawing as soon as 
possible. 

"Managers. 
" Jacob Appier, Sr.* Thomas Boyer. 

Nicholas Snider. John Dager.. 

Moses Shaw. Jacob Shriver, 

John Crabb. John Shates. 

William B. Hubbard. 
" Uniontown, Md., April, 1817." 

In 1807, Mr. Cover established a tan-yard. The 
tan-yard now operated by Mr. Hoffman was opened 
in 1842 by Charles Devilbiss. The Methodist church 
was built in 1822. In 1813 the Masonic Temple was 
erected where the house of the Misses Yingling now 
stands. It was torn down between 1825 and 1830, 
and its brick used in building a house on Mr. Zol- 
likoffer's farm. The town has been several times in- 
corporated, but its charters expired for want of elec- 
tions or failure to conform to them. In 1807 the 
house now used as a dry-house in the tannery was 
removed from Westminster by Frederick Stem. It 
had been a Catholic church, and its brick was brought 
from England. The post-office was established here 
about 1813, and the first postmaster was John Hyder, 
who laid out the town after a few houses had been 

' On Thursday, Aug. 28, 1817, Jacob Christ was married to 
Miss Elizabeth Appier, daughter of Jacob Appier, by Rev. 
Curtis Williams. 



I 



CAimOLL COUNTY. 



853 



built. In 1817. Jnnns Crunibiieker iidvertised tlie 
" Booiliavean Loiiuu" for sale at his stoie as a grand 
anti-rlieuniatic tincture. In 1817 the Frederick 
County Court, at its October term, ordered a public 
road to be laid out from Liberty Town through Union 
Town to Andrew Shriver's mill. Dr. Clement Hubbs 
in 1817 lived on his farm called " Valley Farm." 

Moses Shaw and John Gibbony advertised that 
races would be run over a handsome course near 
Uniontown, Wednesday, Sept. 10, 1817, and a purse 
of ninety dollars was free for any horse, mare, or 
gelding running four miles and repeat, carrying 
weight agreeable to the rules of racing. And on the 
Thursday following a purse of forty dollars was offered, 
free as the above, the winning horse of the preceding 
day excepted, two miles and repeat, carrying a feather ; 
and on Friday a purse of seventy dollars, free as 
above, the winning horses the preceding days excepted, 
running three miles and repeat, carrying a feather. 
Four horses to be entered each day or no race, to be 
entered the day previous to running or pay double 
entrance, entrance to pay one shilling in the pound. 
No jostling or foul riding to be countenanced. 

Uniontown is one of the most enterprising villages 
in Carroll County. According to the last census it 
contained three hundred and eighteen inhabitants. 
It is the commercial centre of the district, the polling- 
place for the voters, and a popular resort for the en- 
ergetic and intelligent population by which it is sur- 
rounded. A number of charitable, social, and busi- 
ness organizations have been formed in the town, or 
have moved thither from other portions of the county, 
and are all in a flourishing condition. 

Door to Virtue Lodge, No. 46, of Ancient Free 
and Accepted Masons, moved Nov. 7, 1813, to 
Uniontown from Pipe Creek, where the members met 
uninterruptedly until 1824. 

At the communication of November 21st, "Brothers 
William P. Farquhar, J. Cloud, and Jacob R. Thomas 
were appointed a committee to prepare a petition to 
the Legislature for a lot,tery to defray the expense of 
building the Uniontown Masonic Lodge Hall," but 
the committee never reported, the lottery was never 
granted, and the hall was never built. 

The officers from December, 1813, to June, 1814, 
were William P. Farquhar, W. M. ; J. R. Thomas, 
S. W. ; C. Ogborn, J. W. ; and Jesse Cloud, Sec. ; 
J. Wright, Treas. From June to December, 1814, 
William P. Farquhar, W. M. ; J. R. Thomas, S. W. ; 
Joseph Wright, J. W. ; Henry Gassaway, Sec. ; and 
Enoch Taylor, Treas. From December, 1814, to 
June, 1815, Jesse Cloud, W. M.; J. R. Thomas, 
S. W. ; J. Wright, J. W. ; William Bontz, Sec. ; and 



John Richnicker, Treas. From June to December, 
1815; Jacob R. Thomas, W. M.; William P. Far- 
quhar, S. W. ; Henry Gassaway, J. W. ; William 
Bontz, Sec. ; and Isaac Lyon, Treas. From Decem- 
ber, 1815, to June, 1816, Joseph Wright, W. M. ; 
Isaac P. Thomas, S. W. ; John C. Cockey, J. W. ; 
William P. Farquhar, Sec. ; and Charles Devilbiss, 
Treas. 

During this term, at a meeting held Fob. 25, 1816, 
the lodge manifested its appreciation of the import- 
ance of " proficiency" by pa.ssing the following reso- 
lution : " That every member shall make himself well 
acquainted with such degrees of Masonry as have 
been conferred upon him before he can be permitted 
to advance further into Masonry," thus anticipating 
by forty-four years the standing resolution of the 
Grand Lodge of May, 1860. The ofiicers from June 
to December, 1816, were Wm. P. Farquhar, W. M. ; 
J. R. Thomas, S. W.; Isaac Lyon, J. W. ; John C. 
Cockey, Sec. From June, 1817, to June, 1818, 
Wm. P. Farquhar, W. M. ; Isaac Lyon, S. W. ; Jo- 
seph Wright, J. W. ; J. C. Cockey, Sec. ; and John 
llichnecker, Treas. 

The lodge, from the beginning, had always held its 
stated meetings on Sunday, but on the 28th of De- 
cember, 1817, it was resolved, " That the meetings 
shall for the winter season be on the Saturday evening 
preceding the fourth Sunday, at 6 o'clock p.m." In 
the following spring we find the brethren again as- 
sembling as usual on the first day of the week. The 
oflBcers from June to December, 1818, were Wm. 
P. Farquhar, W. M. ; Joseph Wright, S. W. ; Israel 
Lyon, J. W. ; J. C. Cockey, Sec. ; and George W. 
Gist, Treas. On the 18th June, this same year, the 
lodge had its first funeral procession. It was at 
Libertytown, and in honor of Enoch Taylor, who was 
one of the original or charter members, the first senior 
deacon, and afterwards junior warden, senior warden, 
and treasurer. 

The first junior warden, William Slaymaker, it ap- 
pears, also died during this term, as the lodge, on the 
13th of September, appointed a committee " to take 
in subscriptions to be applied to the erection of a 
tombstone over his remains, and to wait on the widow 
and trustees of the church on this subject to obtain 
their consent," etc. 

The officers from December, 1818, to June, 1819, 
were Wm. P. Farquhar, W. M.; Alexander Mcll- 
henny, S. W. ; Charles Devilbiss, J. W. ; J. C. Cockey, 
Sec. ; and George W. Gist, Treas. At the meeting 
of Feb. 22, 1819, '-a memorial was presented from 
Wm. H. McCannon, Thomas Gist, and others, Ma.ster 
Masons, eight in number, for a recommendation to the 



854 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



Grand Lodge for a charter for new lodge, to be estab- 
lished in Westminster. On motion, the further con- 
sideration thereof was postponed until the fourth Sun- 
day in March," and the postponement seems to have 
been indefinite, as nothing more is heard of the me- 
morial. " The craft then moved in procession down to 
the lodge-hall, where an oration was delivered in honor 
of the day by Upton Scott Reid, in the presence of the 
lodge and the public, after which the craft returned 
to the lodge-room, and the honors of the lodge were 
conferred on Bro. Reid for his oration." On the 25th 
of April it was 

" Resolved, That hereafter the stated meetings of this lodge 
shall be on the evening of the day of every full moon at two 
o'clock P.M., except from the first of November until the first 
day of April, during which time the lodge shall meet at ten 
o'clock A.M., unless the moon shall be full on Sunday, in which 
case the meeting shall be held at the same hour on the Friday 
preceding." 

The officers from June to December, 1819, were 
Alexander Mcllhenny, W. M. ; George W. Gist, 
S. W. ; Benjamin Yingling, J. W. ; Upton S. Reid, 
Sec; and Dr. William B. Hebbard, Treas. The 
festival of St. John the Baptist (June 24th) was kept 
this year in true Masonic style. The number of 
brethren present, including visitors, was over one hun- 
dred, and after conferring the third degree " a pro- 
cession was formed and the craft proceeded to St. 
Lucas' church, where divine service was performed 
and a discourse delivered by the Rev. Bro. John 
Armstrong." By a resolution passed July 7th the 
fee for each of the three degrees was fixed at ten dol- 
lars, and it was also " Resolved, That if a candidate 
for initiation be elected, and does not attend at the 
first or second meetings after such an election, having 
been duly notified thereof, his petition shall be re- 
turned, and his deposit retained for the benefit of the 
institution." The ofiicers from December, 1819, to 
June, 1820, were Alexander Mcllhenny, W. M. ; 
Upton S. Reid, S. W. ; Benjamin Yingling, J. W. ; 
John Hyder, Sec. ; and Dr. William B. Hebbard, 
Treas. ; from June to December, 1820, Upton S. 
Reid, W. M. ; Benjamin Yingling, S. W. ; John W. 
Dorsey, J. W. ; John Hyder, Sec. ; and W. B. Heb- 
bard, Treas. On St. John's day (June 24th) " a 
discourse was delivered by the W. M., highly gratify- 
ing to all the brethren present." Soon after, on the 
25th of July, the lodge, for the first time, was com- 
pelled to visit upon an unworthy member the severest 
penalty known to their laws. The offender was an 
unaffiliated Master Mason, formerly a member of 
Mechanics' Lodge, No. 153, New York, whose appli- 
cation for membership in this lodge had been twice 



rejected. He was tried on the charge of " unma- 
sonic conduct. Specification 1st. Using profane lan- 
guage at Uniontown, or or about the 1st of May, 
1820." To which the accused pleaded "guilty." 
"Specification 2d. Being intoxicated on the evening 
of the said day at Uniontown." Pleaded " guilty." 

" Specification 3d. Giving the G and S , 

etc., to persons, or in the presence of persons, who 
were not Masons, at New Windsor, some time in the 
spring of 1819." Pleaded " not guilty." " The tes- 
timony being closed," says the record, " the accused 
made his defense and then retired." The lodge then 
proceeded to consider the case, and after mature con- 
sideration did find the accused guilty of the charge, 
and sentenced him to be expelled from all the rights 
and benefits of Masonry." The officers from Decem- 
ber, 1820, to June, 1821, were U. S. Reid, W. M. ; 
W. H. McCannon, S. W.; Joshua W. Owings, J. W.; 
John Hyder, Sec. ; and W. B. Hebbard, Treas. ; from 
June to December, 1821, Alexander Mcllhenny, 
W. M. ; Benjamin Yingling, S. W. ; James Blanch- 
ford, J. W. ; William Curry, Sec. ; and W. B. Heb- 
bard, Treas. 

On the 24th of June, " it was unanimously resolved, 
in conformity with the recommendation of the Grand 
Lodge at its last Grand Annual Communication, that 
this lodge in future abandon and desist from the prac- 
tice of using spirituous liquors at their refreshments 
in and about the lodge." 

On the 11th of October there was a solemn pro- 
cession and commemorative services in honor of the 
Grand Master of the State, Charles Wirgman, who 
had recently died. The sermon was preached in St. 
Lucas' Reformed Church, by the Rev. R. Elliott, 
P. M. of Columbia Lodge, No. 58, Frederick, who 
generously returned the fee of ten dollars offered him 
" into the charity fund, with his hearty and most 
sincere thanks and prayers for their welfare in this 
world and eternal happiness hereafter." The officers 
from December, 1821, to June, 1822, were A. Mc- 
llhenny, W. M. ; B. Yingling, S. W. ; James Blanch- 
ford, J. W. ; William Curry, Sec. ; and W. B. Heb- 
bard, Treas. 

On the 7th of January, 1822, it was unanimously 
resolved, " that hereafter our stated meetings shall be 
held on the fourth Sunday in the month, as originally 
printed in the by-laws of 1813." Soon after, on the 
28th of the same month, at Taneytown, the lodge 
buried with Masonic honors its late Past Master, 
Upton Scott Reid. The chaplain on this mournful 
occasion was the Rev. Daniel Zollikoffer. 

The officers from June to December, 1822, were 
William P. Farquhar, W. M. ; William H. McCan- 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



855 



non, S. W. ; Nicholas Snider, J. W. ; Alexander 
Mcllhenny, Sec. ; and W. B. Hebbard, Treas. From 
December, 1822, to June, 1823, Benjamin Ying- 
ling, W. M. ; John Giboney, S. W. ; James Blanch- 
ford, S. W. ; William Curry, J. W. ; A. Mcllhenny, 
Sec. ; and W. B. Hebbard, Treas. From June, 1823, 
to December, 1823, W. P. Farquhar, W. M. ; N. 
Snider, S. W. ; William Curry, J. W. ; A. Mcll- 
henny, Sec. ; and W. B. Hebbard, Treas. On the 
24th of February, 1823, the fee for the three de- 
grees was reduced to twenty dollars, viz., seven for 
the first, five for the second, and eight for the third. 
From December, 1823, to June, 1824, W. P. Far- 
quhar, W. M. ; N. Snider, S. W. ; Jacob Glazer, J. 
W. ; A. Mcllhenny, Sec. ; and Israel Bentley, Treas. 

From June 4, 1815, there had been connected 
with this lodge a " Mark Lodge," for the purpose of 
conferring the degree of Mark Master, which is now 
given only in Royal Arch Chapters, but at the meet- 
ing held Feb. 22, 1824, " Door to Virtue Mark 
Lodge" was declared to be defunct and its books 
closed. 

On the 13th of April, 1824, there was a special 
meeting at " Shriver's Inn," Westminster, the object 
of which was to pay proper Masonic respect to the 
memory of a deceased brother, John Holmes, of No. 
1, Ohio. 

On the 13th of June the lodge went into mourning 
for sixty days for the death of the Grand Master, 
Gen. W. H. Winder. The officers from June to 
December, 1824, were W. P. Farquhar, W. M. ; John 
C. Cockey, S. W. ; Joshua W. Owings, J. W. ; W. 
H. McCannon, Sec. ; and Michael Bornetz, Treas. 

Wyoming Tribe, No. 37, 1. 0. R. M., was insti- 
tuted March 18, 1860, and the charter was granted 
April 23, 1860, to the following members, who then 
composed the lodge : Frank E. Roberts, John S. 
Devilbiss, Jr., George H. Routson, B. Mills, C. S. 
Devilbiss, and C. A. Gosnell, all residing within 
Uniontown. The first officers of the lodge were, 
viz. : Prophet, F. B. Roberts ; Sachem, Dr. B. Mills ; 
Senior Sagamore, John S. Devilbiss ; Junior Saga- 
more, George H. Routson ; Chief of Records, Charles 
Gosnell ; Keeper of Wampum, C. S. Devilbiss. 

The tribe numbers sixty-eight members in good 
standing, and the present officers are as follows : 
Prophet, John A. Brown ; Sachem, B. L. Waltz ; 
Senior Sagamore, J. Hamilton Singer ; Junior Saga- 
more, William Strimme; Chief of Records, H. P. 
Englar ; Keeper of Wampum, Jesse T. H. Davis ; 
Guard of Wigwam, G. A. Davis ; Guard of the Forest, 
William H. Baker. 

Brothers' Relief Division, No. 136, Sons of 



Temperance, was incorporated by the General As- 
sembly, Feb. 24, 1860. The incorporators were Al- 
fred Zollickoffer, S. Hope, E. Bankerd, J. Bankerd, 
E. Adams, Samuel Anders, D. Stultz, J. H. Christ, 
T. H. Adams, M. Jenkins, J. Bean, J. H. Gordon, 
J. Zepp, J. McHenry, T. Welling, A. Bitesell, R. 
Sharpley, A. Hurley, W. S. Lantz, J. E. Starr, Wil- 
liam Eokard, D. Seller, Charles Myers, Lewis Byers, 
N. N. Meredith, T. H. Routson, F. A. Devilbiss, 
J. A. Eckard, J. N. Galwith, G. H. Brown, William 
H. Bankerd, G. Kugle, G. Winter, T. A. Eckard, 
John W. Kinney, J. Little, P. Smith, T. Eckard, G. 
Hamburg, G. W. Gilbert, A. Eckard, A. Little, P. 
Little. 

The Uny)ntown Academy was incorporated by the 
General Assembly by an act passed March 26, 1839, 
making Samuel Cox', Dr. James L. Billing.slea, John 
Smith, Henry Harbaugh, and William Roberts trus- 
tees, and making them and their successors a body 
politic. 

The Carroll County Savings Institution was 
organized in Uniontown Feb. 27, 1871, by an act of 
the General Assembly, with the following gentlemen 
as incorporators : Robert B. Varden, William H. 
Starr, Levi Caylor, David Foutz, Dennis Cookson, 
John Gore, Daniel S. Deight, Emanuel Formwalt, 
J. Hamilton Singer, and Levi Engler, all citizens of 
Carroll County. The amount of capital of the cor- 
poration was twenty thousand dollars, and the above 
gentlemen were appointed a board of directors. 

The present officers of the institution are D. Stoner, 
president; W. H. Starr, treasurer; Levi Caylor, sec- 
retary ; and T. H. Davis, assistant secretary. Board 
of trustees, D. N. Stoner, D. Foutz, Levi Caylor, 
Edwin J. Gilbert, Daniel S. Diehl, T. H. Davis, W. 
H. Stoner, Dr. J. J. Weaver. 

The institution is in a very prosperous condition, 
and has been successful since its formation. 

The Maryland Mutual Benefit Association of 
Carroll County for Unmarried Persons was incor- 
porated under the laws of Maryland with its home- 
office in Uniontown. The officers are : President, 
Thomas H. Routson ; Vice-President, Philip H. 
Babylon ; Secretary, Jesse T. H. Davis ; Treasurer, 
Edwin G. Gilbert ; Agent, John A. Brown ; Attor- 
ney, Charles T. Reifsnider. The board of trustees 
are Thomas H. Routson, jEdwin G. Gilbert, Jacob 
J. Weaver, Jr., M.D., P. H. Babylon, John A. 
Brown, Thomas F. Shepherd, Jesse T. H. Davis. 

A copy of the Engine of Liberty and Uniontown 
Advertiser, No. 22 of Volume I., dated Feb. 3, 1814, 
a newspaper published by Charles Shower, at two dol- 
lars per annum, contains among other matters the 



856 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



proceedings of the Legislature of Maryland, Louis 
Gassaway, clerk, and a short extract of the proceed- 
ings of the Massachusetts Legislature. | 

The editor advertises for subscriptions to a novel | 
entitled "The Storm," in two volumes, price seventy- 
five cents ; also that the office of the Engine of 
Liberty is removed " to the new brick building of i 
Mr. Henry Meyers, nearly opposite to where it was I 
formerly kept." Some news is given from New York, 
January 29th, and Richmond, January 27th, with an 
account of the camp at New Point Comfort, and de- 
scribing the enemy's fleet. An account of an earth- 
quake at Showanoetown, Illinois Territory, Dec. 13, | 
1813, is published; also a resolution passed by the 
New York Legislature, January 29th, appropriating I 
fifty thousand dollars for the relief of the sufferers 
of the Niagara frontier. 

Among the advertisements Morris Meredith adver- ' 
tises for sale a lot of twenty-five acres of valuable 1 
land adioinintr Uniontown, on the road leading from ! 
Baltimore to Hagerstown. ! 

Joshua Gist offers for sale his dwelling-house and ! 
plantation, containing six hundred acres, within two 
miles of Westminster. The said Westminster is ex- 
pected to be the county town of a new county that is 
to be made out of Baltimore and Frederick Counties. 
Also two hundred and eighty acres about three or | 
four miles from Westminster. [ 

Israel Rinehart and Ulrich Swifzer, executors of 
David Rinehart, deceased, and Hannah Urner and < 
John Rinehart, administrators of Jonas Urner, give 
notice to creditors. j 

On the fourth page is given a column of foreign 
news, embracing England, France, and Germany, j 
Jacob Appier, Sr., advertises three lots of land in 
Libertytown, also seven and a half acres of woodland 
adjoining the lands of Abraham Albaugh. I 

Ann Willis offers her farm of two hundred and 
eighty-two and a half acres, on Sam's Creek, on the j 
road leading from Libertytown to Baltimore, for sale. I 

Beal Dorsey, near Freedom Town, advertises one 
hundred and fifteen acres of land, near McMurray's 
tavern. 

John Shriver offers for sale a dwelling-house, 
wheelwright-shop, and two lots in Uniontown. 

Samuel Lookingpeale, at Capt. John Williams', de- 
sires to sell sixty-five acres of land within half a mile 
of Philip Cromer's tavern. 

Edward Stevenson, within four or five miles of the 
Sulphur Springs, Frederick County, advertises his 
farm of two hundred and ten acres. 

Henry C. Dorsey offers his mill-seat and farm, on 
the waters of Sam's Creek, three-quarters of a mile 



below Mr. Londes' mill, also two hundred and twenty- 
three acres in Hampshire County, Va., for sale. 

John Williams, desiring to move to the Western 
country, wishes to sell his farm of two hundred and 
thirty-eight acres, situate on the waters of Sam's 
Creek. 

This copy was about one-fourth the size of the 
Democratic Advocate, is well printed, and seems to 
have been well sustained, judging from its advertising 
patronage. 

A copy of the Engine of Liberty, bearing date 
Nov. 25, 1813, which was published at Uniontown, 
contains nine columns and a half of Judge Luther 
Martin's charge to the grand jury of Baltimore County 
and the grand jury's reply. 

The marriages of Philip Bishop, of Adams County, 
Pa., and Miss Mary Senseney, of Frederick County, 
on the 23d of November, 1813, and Daniel Stoner 
and Miss Ann Roop, both of Frederick County, on the 
25th of the same month, are published ; also the death, 
on the 12th of November, of Philoman Barnes, aged 
about ninety years. 

A meeting of the citizens of Uniontown and vicinity 
is called to meet on December 7th, at the house of 
George Herbach, to petition Congress for a post-route 
from Westminster to Fredericktown ; also to petition 
the next Legislature to grant them a lottery to raise 
money to purchase a fire-engine. 

Some war news is reported, including an account of 
his victory over the Creek Indians on November 4th 
by Gen. Jackson. One or two articles published 
showed that the editor, like most Federalists, was 
opposed to the war of 1812-14. 

Among the advertisements are the sale of farming 
utensils and household goods by Francis Hollingsworth, 
Little Pipe Creek ; auction sale of dry goods, etc., by 
John Kurtz, at Uniontown; the sale of one hundred 
and twenty acres of land on Meadow Branch, one 
mile from Uniontown, by Christian Stoufiler ; also 
notices of two petitions to the General Assembly of 
Maryland, one of which, signed by citizens of Balti- 
more and Frederick Counties, is a prayer for a new 
county. The metes and bounds asked for are substan- 
tially the same as those granted twenty-four years 
later, when the bill was passed creating the county of 
Carroll. 

The other petition was for a law " to open a road 
from New Windsor to intersect the old Liberty roadJ 
on the line between Eli Dorsey and James Pearre,] 
about a quarter of a mile below Conrad Dudderar'a 
tavern." 

The Star of Federalism, a small newspaper of four 
pages, each with five columns, was established March, 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



857 



1816, by Charles Sower, with the motto, " Nothing 
extenuate, nor aught set down in lualice." Its terms 
were two dollars per annum, and it was printed in the 
building now occupied by R. J. Matthias. Its agents 
were: 

LibertyTown, Nathan England; Sam's Creek, Jacob Landis; 
New Windsor, Williain Brawner, Chr. Ecker; Baltimore 
County, Thomas Pole; Westminster, Thomas Gist, Nicholas 
Lemon; Now Market, William llodgkiss; Tiine^town, 
Niehohis Snidor; Middleburg, .J. C. and G. W. Gist; Pipe 
Creek, W. P. Farquhar; Union Bridge, Moses B. Farquhar; 
Emmittsburg, P. Reid, of Alexander; Baltimore, Edward 
J. Coale; Cumberland, Francis Reiil ; Mount Pleasant, 
David Stem ; Norristown, Christopher Sower, Nathan 
Potts; Triiidelphia, Andrew Graft; Darncs Town, Robert 
Groomes, John Candler; Hyatt's Town, William Hyatt; 
Piekneyvillc, D. Holliday. 

It was in size thirteen by twenty inches, and after 
its publication in Uniontown for a year was removed 
to Frederick Town, and there published by Mr. Sower 
as late as December, 1819. 

The Enterprise was established in 1856 by William 
Sedwick and Dr. Mills. It was a small sheet, and 
was published until the close of the year, when it was 
merged into a larger paper called The WccMi/ Press. 
The latter was first issued in January, 1857, with 
J. H. Christ as editor, its publishers being those of 
its predecessor, Dr. Mills and William Sedwick. It 
was published as late as July 26, 1861. 

Church of God. — Religion appears to have taken 
firm hold of the people of Uniontown and its vicinity 
at an early date. Allusion has already been made to 
the building of St. Lucas' church by a lottery, under 
the auspices of the Presbyterian denomination. The 
congregation of the Church of God was organized in 
1833, numbering at that time about fifty members, and 
the Presbyterian faith not having proved as popular in 
the community as was expected, St. Lucas' was trans- 
ferred to the new organization. Abraham Appier was 
the elder of the church, and Isaac Appier, deacon. 
Edward West was the first regular pastor, and was suc- 
ceeded by Rev. Maxwell, Rev. Jacob Linninger, Rev. 
Joseph Adams, Rev. William McFadden, Joseph 
Bombarger, R. C. Price, Rev. I. L. Richmond, Rev. 
Saletymer, and several others. The congregation 
now numbers about fifty members, and is under the 
care of Rev. Mr. Lugenbeel. This church is the 
mother of the churches at Middletown, Mayberry, 
Frizzelburg, and Greenwoods, which are all now in 
this charge. The Warfield, Winfield, and Carlton 
Churches at one time belonged to the same charge, 
and were under the supervision of this church. Their 
annual camp-meeting is held a few miles from Union- 
town. 



The Church of God Cemetery is situated imme- 
diately in rear of the church. The remains of the 
following persons are buried within its limits : 

M. M. Currey, died July 5, 18.S0, aged 35. 

Martha Currey, died May 16, 1852, aged 56. 

Eleanor Banks, died Dec. 3J, 1859, aged 81. 

John M. Ferguson, born Sept. 8, 17S6, died Oct. 20, 18B1. 

Rebecca, his wife, died Sept. 16, 1843, aged 60. 

James Currie, died Aug. 26, 182T, aged 64. 

Rebecca Eckard, died Feb. 6, 1842, aged 39 years, 3 months, 
9 days. 

John W. Davis, born March 22, 1813, died Aug. 9, 1877. 

Mary Davis, born March 5, 1792, died Jan. 8, 1865. 

Jonathan G. Davis, born March 28, 1779, died Jan. 4. 1842. 

Edward Davis, died Aug. 2, 1825, aged 8. 

John S. Shriver, born Aug. 26, 1794, died Dec. 6, 1814. 

Elizabeth Ann Mary Martha Grammar, died April 26, 1833. 

Andrew Wijrble, died April 29, 1849, aged 65 years, 6 months, 
4 days. 

Rachael Metcalf, died April 12, 1826, aged 54 years. 

Solomon Beam, born July 11, 1798, died June 20, 1819. 

Isaac Hiteshew, died March 19, 1829, aged 34 years, 2 months, 
15 months. 

Sivilla Reck, died March 15, 1826, aged 27 years, 1 month, 
13 days. 

Ezra Metcalfe, died Jan. 4, 1841, aged 29 years, 2 months, 
25 days. 

Conrad Stuller, born June 8, 1823, died July 3, 1876. 

Henry Hiner, born March 9, 1770, died Sept. 12, 1847. 

Hannah Hiner, died Dec. U, 1847, aged 62 years, 3 months. 

Samuel Hiner, born April 5, 1817, died Nov. 8, 1876. 

Esther Hiteshew, died Oct. 31, 1844, aged 72 years, 14 days. 

David Yingling, born Oct. 20, 1804, died April 23, 1874. 

William H. Christ, born April 25, 1831, died Nov. 9, 1862. 

Morgan A. Christ, died Jan. 2, 1870, aged 34 years, 3 months, 
25 days. 

Jacob Appier, died April 23, 1823, aged 34 years, 4 months, 
1 day. 

Abraham Appier, born Deo. 10, 1790, died Feb. 1, 1878. 

Rebecca, his wife, and daughter of Jacob Hoffman, of Bain- 
bridge, Lancaster Co., Pa., died Aug. 28, 1866, aged 70, and 
who was a member of the church for 50 years. 

Mary J., wife of D. R. Carlyle, died Feb. 19, 1875, aged 50 
years, 5 months. 

Jacob Christ, born Sept. 22, 1789, died Nov. 30, 1872. 

Elizabeth, his wife, died May 16, 1867, aged 68 years, 10 
months, 12 days. 

Abraham Garner, died Aug. 2, 1789, aged 63 years, 10 months, 
25 days. 

Mary Cover, born Dec. 20, 1754, died March 17, 1828. 

Sarah, wife of Dan. Smith, died July 4, 1844, aged 66 years, 
3 months, 14 days. 

Barbara, relict of Barton Bean, died May 12, 1858, aged 74 
years, 1 month, 5 days. 

Sophia Yingling, aged 70. 

William Wilson, died Nov. 12, 1 849, aged 73 years, 9 months, 
28 d.ays. 

Elizabeth, his wife, died Dec. 28, 1869, aged 84 years, 4 
months, 7 days. 

Margaret, wife of Ephraim Garner, died Aug. 12, 1855, aged 
34 years, 2 months, 6 days. 

Oliver, son of William .and Elizabeth Hiteshew. Enlisted in 
Co. E, snsd Regiment P. V., Aug. 31, 1864, and was killed 
Jan. 15, 1865, whilst in the act of planting the flag on Fort 
Fisher, aged 18 years, 3 months, 17 days. 



858 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



James Hiteshew, died Nov. 21, 1874, aged 24 years. 

Anna, wife of John Gore, died March 10, 1874, aged 63 years, 
6 months, 16 days. 

Kebeoea Grammar, born Sept. 10, 1793, died June 8, 1864. 

Sarah C. Grammar, born June 22, 1824, died April, 1864. 

Mary D, C, wife of John Grammar, died Aug. 23, 1856, aged 
67 years, 8 months. 

Elizabeth, wife of A. Koons, died Aug. 2, 1874, aged 82. 

Angeline, wife of John T. Wilson, died Feb. 5, 1878, aged 62 
years, 3 months, 26 days. 

Annie Clay, died Feb. 19, 1877, aged 69 years, 10 months. 

Mary Ann Hollenberger, died Jan. 4, 1855, aged 37 years, 5 
months, 10 days. 

Peter Hollenberger, died March 22, 1860, aged 70 years, 4 
months, 22 days. 

Magdalena, his wife, died Feb.-23, 1862, aged 76. 

Rachel Tingling, born Jan. 28, 1801, died July 311, 1865. 

Jacob Bloom.born July 20, 1794, died Sept. 19, 1862. 

Mary, his wife, born Jan. 20, 1800, died March 24, 1877. 

Samuel Anders, died April 26, 1 865, aged 61 years, 10 months, 

5 days. 

Lydia, his wife, died Dec. 12, 1876, aged 74 years, 8 months, 

28 days. 

John Garner, died Sept. 13, 1860, aged 57 years. 

Hannah Hetshue, died March 1, 1876, aged 74. 

Ary, wife of James Few, died April 30, 1861, aged 69 years, 
3 months, 19 days. 

Thomas Metcalf, born Deo. 5, 178.3, died March 17, 1862. 

George Warner, died June 18, 1862, aged 79. 

Elender A. Warner, born Deo. 22, 1786, died Feb. 26, 1867. 

Catharine Hollenberger, born July 4, 1825, died April 7, 
1874. 

John P. Glass, a member of Co. G, 6th Md. Potomac Home 
Brigade, who died at Frederiolf Hospital, Sept. 12, 1863, aged 

29 years, 4 months, 3 d.iys. 

Lieut. Peter Wolfe, Co. G, Md. P. H. B., died Aug. 1, 1862, 
aged 34 years, 4 months, 3 days. . 

Mary Smith, died Jan. 11, 1863, aged 54. 

Sarah Burgoon, died Nov. 20, 1878, aged 71 years, 11 months, 
20 days. 

John Bckard, born Jan. 24, 1795, died Sept. 8, 1872. 

Elizabeth Eckard, born Jan. 12, 1799, died Dec. 30, 1865. 

John A. Eckard, born Aug. 29, 1831, died Aug. 21, 1870. 

Anna Fuss, died Dec. 1, 1863, aged 88. 

Elizabeth Bare, born Oct. 15, 1777, died Feb. 12, 1865. 

Lydia Senseney, died Oct. 20, 1869, aged 64 years, 6 months, 
19 days. 

Washington Senseney, born May 28, 1815, died Dec. 18, 1868. 

Mary A., his wife, born July 27, 1815, died June 20, 1875. 

Joanna Gilbert, died March 8, 1873, aged 37 years, 5 months, 

6 days. 

Sarah Herbach, born Oct. 16, 1801, died April 12, 1872. 
Mary Bentley, died Sept. 27, 1821, aged 24 years, 6 months, 

15 days. 

Rebecca Steele, died April 6, 1879, aged 65 years, 6 months, 

16 days. 

William Hollenberry, born Nov. 13. 1817, died Feb. 23, 1870. 

Peter Christ, born July 19, 1786, died March 2, 1876. 

Elizabeth, his wife, died Oct. 17, 1S68, aged 81. 

James Gilbert, died July 15, 1877, aged 73 years, 5 months, 
6 days. 

Alamanda Eckard, died July 13, 1879, aged 43 years, 8 
months, 12 days. 

Henry Eckard, died April 21, 1876, aged 45. 

Edward Arntz, died Oct. 16, 1867, aged 26 years, 1 month, 3 
days. 



St. Paul's Evangelical lutheran congregation was 
formed Dec. 29, 1869. It was then under the charge 
of Rev. J. F. Deiner, and numbered eight members. 
The elders were Dr. J. J. Weaver and Jacob Ecker ; 
the deacons, 0. M. Hiushew, W. H. Hoffman, and J. 
Routson. Mr. Deiner held tlie position as pastor of 
the charge until 1872, when he was succeeded by 
Rev. G. W. Anderson ; the membership at this time 
was steadily increasing. They held their services in 
a hall until the erection of their present edifice. The 
church, which was built by a general contribution, cost 
about two thousand dollars. The corner-stone was 
laid Oct. 24, 1874, and the building was dedicated in 
December of the same year, under the supervision of 
Rev. D. Morris, of Baltimore. After three years of 
untiring services Mr. Anderson resigned his charge, in 
May, 1876, when the Rev. David B. Floyd was called 
to occupy the pulpit. The estimated cost of their 
handsome parsonage, which is now under erection, is 
two thousand dollars. The present ofiScers of the 
church are : Elders, Dr. Weaver and Jacob Ecker ; 
Deacons, 0. M. Hitshew and J. Routser, who have 
occupied those respective positions since the organiza- 
tion of the church. The congregation now numbers 
forty members, and the amount of contributions for 
1881 was about four hundred dollars. This church 
has in its charge three other congregations, viz., 
" Winter's Church,'' " Baust Church," and " Mount 
Union ;" it has also a Sunday-school attached to it 
which is in a very flourishing condition. Rev. Mr. 
Floyd has been the pastor for five years and gives 
entire satisfaction, and is untiring in his efforts to 
promote the interests of his church. 

The Pipe Creek Circuit of the Methodist Protestant 
Church was organized in 1829, and has steadily in- 
creased in power and influence. Below is given the 
names of the pa.stors who have successively ministered 
to the various congregations under their charge in 
Uniontown and its vicinity : 

1829, D. E. Reese; 1830, F. Stier, J. Hanson; 1831, F. Stier, 
I. Ibbertson; 1832, Isaac Webster, C. W. Jacobs; 1833, 
Isaac Webster, W. Sexsmith ; 1834, Josiah Varden, H. 
Doyle; 1835, H. Doyle, J. W. Everest, A. A. Lipscomb; 
1836-37, J. S. Reese, J. W. Porter; 1838, Eli Henkle, J. 
W. Porter: 1S39, G. D. Hamilton, E. Henkle; 1840, G. D. 
Hamilton, B. Appleby; 1841, J. S. Reese, J. T. Ward; 
1842, L. R. Reese, P. L. Wilson, J. Elderdice; 1843, J. S. 
Reese, S. L. Rawleigh, W. T. Eva; 1844, W. Collier, T. L. 
McLean, J. D. Brooks; 1845, W. Collier, P. L. Wilson, J. 
K. Nichols; 1846, W. Collier, J. K. Nicholas; 1847, J. 
Morgan, T. D. Valiant; 1848, J. Morgan, W. Roby ; 1849, 
D. E. Reese, T. L. McLean; 1851, H. P. Jordan, J. Rob- 
erts; 1852, H. P. Jordan, H. J. Day; 1853, T. M. Wilson, 
H.J.Day; 1854, J. A. McFadden ; 1855, J. A. McFad- 
den, F. Swentzell ; 1856, N. S. Greenaway, F. Swentzell; 
1867-60, J. T. Ward, J. T. Murray; 1860, D. E. Reese, J. 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



859 



B. Jones ; 1861, D. E. Reese ; 1862-65, P. L. Wilson ; 1865- 
68, R. S. Norris; 1868-71, D. Wilson; 1871, J. R. Nichols; 
1872-74, H. C. Cusliing; 1874-77, J. W. Charter; 1877- 
80, C. II. Littleton. 

The following are the names of some of the 
persons buried in Uniontown cemetery : 

Washington, son of Moses and S. B. Brown, dipd March 15, 
1874, aged 39 years, 3 months, 2 days. He was a member of 
Co. I, 4th Regiment Md. Vols. 

Anna Carlyle, died Aug. 1, 1880, aged 80 years, 3 months, 
23 days. 

Rachel O'Brien, died Deo. 25, 1870, aged 70. 

Sarah Boham, died July 7, 1857, aged 71. 

Jacob Zimmerman, born Dec. 30, 1787, died Feb. 5, 1859. 

Mary, wife of John Babylon, died March 2, 1859, aged 45 
years, 9 months, 14 days. 

William Roberts, died March 29, 1860, aged 61; and his wife, 
Eleanor R., May 13, 1875, aged 70. 

Philip Babylon, born Oct. 6, 1776, died Jan. 10, 1842. 

Elizabeth Babylon, born Oct. 12, 1782, died July 19, 1857. 

Rachel Hammond, died July 23, 1846, aged 82 years, 5 
months, 6 days. 

Eleanor Roberts, died Feb. 28, 1846, aged 77. 

Rachel Brooks, born Dec. 18, 1818, died Jan. 31, 1851. 

Caroline ZoUickoffer, died Dec. 20, 1850, aged 84. 

John M. A. ZoUickoffer, died May 20, 1836, aged 51 years, 3 
months, 10 days. 

William Wright, died Jan. 25, 1838, aged 36. 

Rev. Daniel ZoUickoffer, died Nov. 1, 1862, aged 72; and 
Elizabeth, his wife, died July 5, 1851, aged 57. 

Rev. Dr. William ZoUickoffer, died April 6, 1853, 59 years, 
5 months; and Sarah, his wife, died May 24, 1843, aged 44 
years, 10 months, 20 days. 

Richard Brown, born Deo. 23, 1793, died March 14, 1850 ; and 
Susan, his wife, born June 10, 1787, died Sept. 24, 1872. 

Samuel Roberts, died June 15, 1838, aged 32 years, 5 months, 
8 days. 

Charles Stephenson, died Sept. 10, 1832, aged 91 years, 8 
months, 26 days. 

John D. Norris, died Feb. 4, 1829, aged 23. 

Elizabeth Norris, died April 11, 1841, aged 57. 

Nicholas Stevenson, born May IS, 1780, died Aug. 8, 1838. 

Nancy Stevenson, died May 21, 1843, aged 70. 

Sarah Stevenson, died April 10, 1844, aged 60. 

William Devilbiss, born April 30, 1790, died Sept. 1, 1834. 

Jemima Stevenson, died May 7, 1852, aged 70. 

Peter Senseney, born Feb. .3, 17S9, died March 21, 1855. 

Keturah Senseney, died June 11, 1858, aged 70. 

Richard Parrish, born May 10, 1822, died Dec. 2, 1851. 

Rachel Rebecca Senseney, died March 19, 1862, aged 36. 

Michael Spousler, died Oct. 25, 1832. 

George Herbach, died April 28, 1836, aged 69 years, 4 months ; 
and Elizabeth, his wife, born Dec. 24, 1774, died July 28,1858. 

Zachariah Weeling, died Sept. 16, 1870, aged 65. 

Abraham Shriver, died Aug. 24, 1855, aged 80 years, 5 
months, 29 days. 

John Shriver, died April 25, 1869, aged 51. 
Robert Dungan, born March 2S, 1818, died April 18, 1858. 
Emily Dungan, born Jan. 16, 1811, died April 28, 1863. 
Elizabeth Wright, died July 14, 1867, aged 85 years, 7 months, 
6 days. 

Rev. Francis G. Wright (of M. P. Church), died Feb. 23, 
1859, aged 35 years, 7 months. 



Norris Meredith, died Sept. 12, 1860, aged 90 years, 10 months, 
15 days. 

Lydia Meredith, died Jan. 23, 1867, aged 70 years, 11 months, 
10 days. 

Catharine Meredith, died Feb. 24, 1867, a6ed 75 years, g 
months, 5 days. 

William N. Meredith, died Jan. 14, 1868, aged 53 years, 9 
months, 20 days. 

Mary G. Meredith, died Jan. aged 16, 1868, aged 61 years, 2 
months, 29 days. 

Elizabeth B. Meredith, born Feb. 22, 1802, died Nov. 20, 
1875. 

Nathaniel N. Meredith, born April 5, 1798, died Dee. 25, 
1874. 

Nathan Roop, born May 3, 1835, died April 10, 1874. 

Michael Nusbaum, died March 8, 1877, aged 66 years, 2 
months, 8 days; and Catharine, his wife, Jan. 19, 1873, aged 
77 years, 7 months, 3 days. 

William Shaw, died April 18, 1869, aged 68 years, 3 months. 

Anna Maria, wife of Rev. David Wilson, died May 29, 1870, 
aged 41 years, 4 months, 11 days. 

Dennis Cooksim, died July 22, 1879, aged 44 years, 4 months, 
10 days. 

Joseph Cookson, born Aug. 24, 1793. died June I, 1846. 

Rachel Cookson, born Feb. 1, 1800, died Jan. 24, 1875. 

Samuel Cookson, born Sept. 17, 1762, died Deo. 22, 1836; 
and Rachel, his wife, born 1779. died 1853, aged 74. 

John W. Babylon, died Nov. 19, 1866, aged 21 years, 8 
months, IS days. 

John N. Starr, born March 24, 1808, died May 26, 1880; and 
Mary, his wife, born March 10, 1810, died Aug. 27, 1878. 

Hannah M., wife of Milton S. .Starr, died Jan. 1.3, 1874, aged 
29 years, 5 months, 27 days. 

Mordecai Haines, died Jan. 19, 1861, aged 40. 

Louisa Babylon, died Dec. 6, 1854, aged 38 years, 9 months, 
17 days. 

Deborah, wife of David Foutz, died Sept. 25, 1 842, aged 41. 

Charles Devilbiss, born Aug. 13, 1786, died Sept. 29, 1862: 
and Elizabeth, his wife, died Feb. 27, 1864, aged 76 years, 1 
month, 21 days. 

Ann Eliza, consort of John S. Devilbiss, died April 4, 1869, 
aged 34 years, 6 days. 

Martha Devilbiss, died Jan. 19, 1868, aged 37 years, 15 days. 

Mary E. Devilbiss, died Oct. 17, 1870, aged 46 years, 1 
month, 4 days. 

Wm. H. Devilbiss, born Jan. 13, 1821, died April 3, 1880. 

Edward Devilbiss, born Oct. 5, 1822, died Jan. 1, 1880 ; and 
Louisa C, his wife, born Sept. 11, 1825, died Feb. 2, 1879. 

John B. Williams, died July 23, 1861, aged 66; and Temper- 
ance, his wife, died Nov. 19, 1872, aged 69 years, 7 days. 

John Smith, died Aug. 7, 1868, aged 70 years, 4 months, 9 
days ; and Mary, his wife, died Nov. 6, 1878, aged 77 years, 7 
months, 16 days. 

William Goswell, died July 20, 1839, aged 56. 

Matilda Morelock, died April 15, 1851, aged 53 years, 6 
months. 

Nancy Wilson, wife of George Harris, died March 1, 1858, 
aged 65. 

Mary Brisco, died Aug. 17, 1869, aged 75. 
• John Hyder, born Aug. 22, 1787, died March 20, 1878; and 
Catharine, his wife, born April 16, 1788, died March 13, 1863 ; 
Englid Hyder, their son, born Aug. 31, 1814, died Feb. 12, 1853. 

" Sydney Hyder Johnson, aged 23." 

Below are given the votes polled for district officers 
since June 4, 1851 : 



860 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



1851. — Vote for Primary School Commissioners : Isaac Slingluff 
253, Wm. Hughes 117, Henry H. Herbaugh 157, William 
Ecker 44. 

1853.— For Justices : Richard Dell 280, Helpher Crawmer 55> 
John Smelzer 33, H. W. Dell 17, H. H. Herbaugh 354, 
• Samuel Sbunk 259, W. R. Currey 292, Joshua Swilzer 
321 ; Constables : Wm. Segafoose 384, Wm. Brown 225, 
Wm. Wilson 311, Wm. Delphy 197; Road Supervisor: 
Frederick Tawney 240, Thos. F. Shepherd, 302. 

1855. — For .lustices : Henry Fleagle 476, H. H. Herbaugh 486, 
E. A. Adee 481, John T. Lowe 480, John Smelzer 147 ; 
Constables: AVm. Delphy 463, Wm. Wil.«on 466, W. Sega- 
foose, 232 ; Road Supervisor : Hiram Englar, 48S. 

1857.— For Justices: H. H. Herbaugh 378, D. B. Fleagle 353, 
J. B. Christ 304, S. Anders 340; Constables: Wm. Brown 
166, J. T. Myers 328, Isaac B. Wright 338 ; Road Super- 
visor : J. B. Williams 342. 

1859.— For Justices: W. H. Haines 15.S, Caleb Baring 138, W. 
H. Herbaugh 341, D. B. Fleagle 334, Joshua Swilzer 345, 
Jolm Hesson 355 ; Constables: Frederick Tawney 137, J. 
R. Haines 361, Levi HaiBey 351; Road Supervisor : Sam- 
uel Beck 330. 

1861.— For Justices: H. H. Herbaugh 454, John Hesson 447, 
Levi Fleagle 445, Joshua Switzer 449; Constables: A. S. 
Warner 346, Wm. Singer 412, J. W. Segafoose 202 ; Road 
Supervisor: Wm. Beck 364, W. S. Lantz 91, Noah Plow- 
man 74. 

The public school tru.stees for 1881 and 1882 have 
been : 

1 and 2. Uniontown. — J. C. Brubaker, Jesse J. H. Davis, Wm. 
H. McCollum. 

3. Tunker Meeting-house. — George H. Brown, Levi Caylor, 

John H. Jordan. 

4. Moredock's. — David Roop, John Royer, Henry Brunner. 

5 and 6. Fiizellsburg. — -Dr. Jacob Rinehart, Alfred Warner, 
Leonard Zile. 

7. Pleasant Valley. — Wm. Bowers, Noah Powell, Uriah Feaser. 

8. Baust Church. — Jesse Unger, Wm. Neusbaum, Wm. Farm- 

wait. 

9. Fairview. — Davis Myers, Daniel Diehl, David Stoner. 

10. Bear Mount. — Samuel Wantz, David E. Morelock, George 
W. Hull. 

1. Middletown African School. — John Thompson, Summerfield 
Roberts, Lloyd Coats (colored). 

The teachers and number of pupils for the term 
ending April 15, 1881, were: 

1, H. P. Engler, 49 ; 2, Ella Beam, 42 ; 3, T. H. Adams, 30 ; 4, 
S. P. Weaver, 54 ; 5, Thomas Tipton, 41 ; 6, J. J. Rein- 
dollar, 48 ; 7, J. P. Earnest, 42 ; 8, Francis L. Delaplane, 
51 ; 9, A. H. Diflenbaugh, 47; 10, Sue L. Langly, 34; 1 

(colored school), T. F. McCann, 20. 

Frizzellburg. — The village of Frizzellburg is five 
miles from Westminster, and pleasantly situated near 
Meadow Branch. It was nataed in honor of the 
Frizzell family, early identified with the settlement. - 

Among the first families located in the immediate 
vicinity of the town were the Smiths, Haifleys, Har- 
mans, Blacks, Roops, and Warners. 

The house now owned by Jeremiah Rinehart was 
the first erected in the village, and was occupied by 



Daniel Smith, one of the first residents of the town, 
in 1814, and was built probably prior to the year 
1800. In the year 1814, Nimrod Frizzell, accom- 
panied by his family, settled in the neighborhood and 
worked at his trade, that of a blacksmith. At that 
time there were but few houses within the village 
limits. The Haifleys lived in the house now occupied 
by Larry Freeman. George Harman built and re- 
sided in the present residence of Edward Six. Jacob 
Black lived in the house which is now the home of 
Mrs. Vance. In 1818, Nimrod Frizzell built the 
house which is now owned and occupied by Judge 
Frizzell. He lived there and kept a hotel, together 
with a small store, which was conducted in his name 
after his death until 1860. Frank Lytle was the 
first school-teacher in the village, and was followed by 
Samuel Moffat and Francis Matthias. Dr. Cook was 
the first regular physician, and located here about the 
year 1847. He remained but a short time, and was 
followed by Dr. Baker, Dr. Shipley, Dr. Roberts, Dr. 
Kennedy, and Dr. Price respectively. In 1864, Dr. 
J. E. Rinehart located here. He was a native of 
Carroll County, and was born in Hamp.stead District. 
He came to the vicinity of Frizzellburg in 1836, at- 
tended the public schools at this point, and in 1849 
entered the Gettysburg Academy, Fa., where he 
graduated in 1855. He attended lectures in Phila- 
delphia, and graduated at the Medical College in 1858. 
After locating and remaining in Pennsylvania during 
the war, he permanently located in Frizzellburg. 
He was married to Maggie, a daughter of Peter 
Greeble, of Emmittsburg, Frederick Co., Md. Mr. 
Rinehart represented his county in the Maryland Leg- 
islature in 1876. Richard Brown was the earliest 
merchant, and was succeeded by Darius Brown, who 
opened his place of business in the front room of the 
house now occupied by Ephraim Cover. In 1849 he 
built himself a store-room and removed his goods to 
that building. Campbell & Everheart succeeded to 
his business in 1851. Mr. Brown having died the 
previous year, they built themselves a larger store- 
house to accommodate the rapidly-increasing trade of 
the village. A gentleman by the name of Richard 
Dell, and also a Mr. Holliberry, were the successors of 
Messrs. Campbell & Everheart, and were themselves 
succeeded, in 1881, by Mr. Kerster. 

In 1842, Isaac Appier built the dwelling and store- 
house now owned and occupied by Mr. Warner. Mr. 
Appier sold it to Mr. Gilbert, who kept a grocery- 
store, and who subsequently sold it to Valentine 
Vance. A dry-goods and grocery-store has since been 
established here, Mr. Warner having purchased the 
property from Mrs. Vance in 1860. 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



861 



Mr. Frizzell, the son of Nimrod Frizzell, from whom 
the village received its title, vras born in the year 1818, 
and has always been a resident of the place. For 
three years he held the position of leather inspector 
of the city of Baltimore. He married, in 1844, Miss 
Barbara N., daughter of John and Mary Swigart. Mr. t 
Frizzell is at present one of the judges of the Orphans' 
Court. 

Church of God. — This congregation was formed 
under the auspices of Rev. William McFadden. The 
church was erected and dedicated in the year 1842, 
at a cost of seven hundred and fifty dollars. Rev. 
Joseph Bombarger delivered the dedicatory sermon. 
The following gentlemen composed the building com- 
mittee, and were authorized to collect all the subscrip- 
tions : Benjamin Fleagle, Levi Fleagle, James Gilbert, 
Caleb Boring, and Henry Fleagle. The congregation 
at that time numbered forty members. 

Rev. Mr. Lugenbeel is the present pastor, and Levi 
Fleagle the elder. The latter has held that position 
since the organization of the church. The trustees 
for the year 1881 are Levi Fleagle, Wm. L. Fleagle, 
Benjamin Fleagle, and John T. Baust, and the num- 
ber of members fifteen. In the rear of the church 
is the Church of God cemetery, in which are buried 
several children, and there are also many unmarked 
graves. Among the names recorded are Eliza Jabes, 
died Jan. 22, 1862, aged sixty-five years, four months, 
four days, and Thomas Jones, died Aug. 11, 1873, 
aged fifty-two years. 

The building in which are held the sessions of the 
Frizzellburg Academy is commodious and amply pro- 
vided with all the necessary paraphernalia for proper 
training and education. The school is graded to suit 
the ages and development of scholars, and is supplied 
with an excellent corps of teachers. 

Within four miles of the village, on the banks of 
the Big Pipe Creek, there stood until recently an old 
stone mill and dwelling, erected in 1776 by two 
Tories named GraflFs. They were driven from Phila- 
delphia because of the intemperate expression of their 
unpopular opinions and sympathies, and fled to Car- 
roll County (at that time Frederick) for refuge. They 
settled upon this stream and prospered, their calami- 
ties having taught them the wisdom of moderation 
and taciturnity. 

Tyrone. — The village of Tyrone is situated thirty- 
two miles west of Baltimore and six miles west of 
Westminster, on what is generally known as " the 
plank road" leading from Westminster to Taueytown. 
It contains a handsome church, a mill, a store for gen- 
eral merchandise, and a number of dwelling-houses. 
The Farmwalt family, early settlers in the neighbor- 
56 



hood, founded the town. William L. Fleagle is the 
postmaster and principal merchant, and W. H. Rider 
superintends the mill. 

Emmanuel Church, or Baust"s church, in which , 
the Lutheran and Reformed congregations jointly wor- 
ship, was built many years ago, but was thoroughly 
repaired and almost completely remodeled, Oct. 18, 
1868. The congregations were originally organized 
prior to the year 1794, and worshiped in an old log 
school-house which stood upon the site of the present 
church, the land having been deeded Jan. 10, 171)4, 
by Valentine and Maria Baust, to build a church 
and school-house, and it was from the donors that the 
church derived its former name. 

The two congregations were incorporated by an 
act of the General Assembly of Maryland passed Jan. 
12, 1835. The incorporators were John Fleagle, Sr., 
John Derr, Michael Morelock, and Peter Haifluy. 
At a meeting of the two congregations in 1838 there 
were present John Derr, Peter Dayhoff, Peter Golle, 
Geoi'ge Maxwell. John Fleagle, Jr., Valentine Wentz, 
and Jacob Valentine. 

The officers of the church at this time were as 
follows : 

I German Reformed Congregation : Elders, John Fleagle, Peter 
j Golle; Deacons, Peter Dayhoff, John Fleagle; Trustees, 

George Maxwell, John Derr. Lutheran Congregation : 
I Elders, M. Morelock, Andrew Babylon : Deacons, Henry 

Hahn, Jacob Valentine ; Trustees, Valentine Wentz, Peter 

Haiaeigh. 

The ministers who have served the Lutheran con- 
I gregatioo, as far as can be ascertained, are as follows : 
John Grupp was the first, and was at the time also 
the pastor of Taneytown, Krider's, Winter's, and 
! Silver Run Lutheran Churches. He was followed in 
i 1819 by Henry Graver; Rev. John N. Hoffman, 
! 1833; Samuel Finckle, 1834; Ezra Keller, 1835; 
i Solomon Sentman, 1840 ; Rev. Philip Willard, 1845 ; 
Cornelius Reimensnider, John Winters, 1850; Sam- 
uel Henry, 1855 to 1868; Mr. Deiner, 1872; Rev. 
G. W. Anderson, and the present pastor. Rev. David 
I B. Floyd. 

This church was in the Emmittsburg and Taney- 
town charge until 1840, when it was transferred to 
the Westminster Circuit. Again, about the year 1870, 
it was transferred to the Uniontown Circuit, to which 
it now belongs. The present oflBcers of the two con- 
I gregations are : 

Lutheran: Elders, William Nusbaum and Jacob Myers ; Dea- 
cons, Dr. J. E. Rinehart, Lewis Myers; Trustees, Jeremiah 
Rinehart, Ephraim Winter. This congregation numbers 
ninety members. German Reformed : Elders, Jesse linger, 
Joshua Crawford ; Deacon, Josiah Erb ; Trustees, .Jacob Sell, 
' AVm. Farmwalt. Joint Board: President, William Nus- 



862 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



baum; Secretary, Dr. J. E. Rinehart. Jacob Myers, joint 
treasurer ; Jacob Myers, treasurer Lutheran Congregation ; 
Jesse Unger, treasurer Reformed Congregation. 

As was said above, in 1868 the church was thor- 
oughly remodeled and rededicated, the services being 
interesting and impressive. The preparatory exer- 
cises were conducted by Rev. Griffith Owen, of Bal- 
timore, and the sermon was preached by Rev. P. A. 
Strobel, of Westminster. The dedicatory services 
were performed by Rev. J. Steiner. The debt of the 
church was liquidated by subscriptions raised during 
the services. The name of the church was also 
changed at that time, and it has since been known as 
Emmanuel. The following persons are buried in Baust 
Church Cemetery : 

Abraham Hann, died Oct. 5, 1862, aged 80 years, 11 months, 
25 days. 

Josiah Hafley, died Nov. 29, 1865, aged 36 years, 5 months, 
13 days. 

Margaret Fluegal, born Jan. 3, 1770, died Dec. 4, 1842. 
John Fluegal, born Nov. 17, 1762, died Sept. 3, 1845. 
Uriah Baust, born Nov. 23, 1822, died Nov. 16, 1849. 
Abraham Hann, born May 4, 1817, died March 16, 1841. 
Jacob Keefer, died July 13, 1837, aged 34 years, 6 months, 21 
days. 

Lydia Hesson, wife of John Hesson, and daughter of John 
Taney, died Aug. 27, 1842, aged 17. 

Peter Haiffle.born April 11, 1786, died Jan. 11, 1869. 
Levi Haifley, died July 3, 1830, aged 17. 
Margaret, wife of Peter Hafley, died Dec. 23, 183-, aged 43 
years, 1 month, 23 days. 

Sophia Wagner, died Aug. 13, 1836, aged 62 years, 7 months. 
Mary Wantz, died March 25, 1842, aged 24 years, 9 months, 
28 days. 

Catharine Shoemaker, died 1834. 

Peter Shoemaker, died Dec. 24, 1838, aged 81 years, 8 months, 
24 days. 

Mary E. Wentz, died 1833, aged 40. 

George Warner, died April 30, 1836, aged 77 years, 10 months, 
10 days. 

Johannes Bischoff, born 1740, died July 9, 1813, aged 73 
years, 4 months. 

Maria Bischoff, died Dec. 21, 1824, aged 80. 
Jacob Bishop, died Aug. 31, 1832, aged 59 years, 9 months, 
7 days; and Elizabeth, his wife, died Dec. 4, 1824, aged 35 
years, 9 months, 18 days. 

Margaret Mock, died Jan. 2, 1815, aged 64. 
Peter Mock, died April 3, 1812, aged 85. 
Jacob Honer, died 1798. 

Frederick Wentz, Jr., died Sept. 27, 1824, aged 63. 
Geo. Frederick Wentz, died Feb. 3, 1833, aged 78 years, 1 
month, 15 days. 

Frederick Keefer, born Dec. 2, 1795, died Aug. 4, 1855. 
Elizabeth Shreiner, born in 1771, died in 1773. 
Sarah Swigart, died March 28, 1813, aged 25 years, 10 
months, 2 days. 

" Wagner, born 1755, died 1801." 

Michael Wagner, born Nov. 6, 1752, died Feb. 21, 1839. 
Barbara Yar, born Dec. 4, 1784, died Dec. 2, 1806. 
Ulrioh Stollern, born April 15, 1737, died September, 1816. 
John Marker, died Aug. 16, 1824, aged 65 ; and Susannah, 
■his wife, born Feb. 12, 1774, died March 3, 1839. 



Elizabeth Moler, born Nov. 14, 1776, died Feb. 18, 1813. 

Magdalena Derr, died July 19, 1822, aged 25. 

Abraham Derr, died May 11, 1829, aged 62. 

Elizabeth Derr, died Nov. 13, 1822, aged 55. 

Jacob Derr,. born Nov. 12, 1788, died Dec. 23, 1819. 

Valentine Wentz, died Feb. 19, 1843, aged 56 years, 11 
months, 20 days. 

Catherine Bishop, born Oct. 13, 1783, died June 13, 1845. 

John F. Haifley, died Sept. 14, 1845, aged 55 years, 5 months, 
13 days. 

George Eckard, died Nov. 9, 1822, aged 65 years, 11 months, 
20 days. 

Aaron P. Erviesse, died Aug. 24, 1829, aged 6. 

Mary Seel, died Aug. 27, 1813, aged 80. 

Sarah Worley, born March 6, 1799, died Sept. 13, 1857. ' 

Lydia Worley, born June 18, 1803, died Feb. 17, 1858. 

Lydia, wife of Daniel Myers, died July 16, 1856, aged 40 
years, 11 months. 

Elizabeth Hann, died March 20, 1855, aged 69 years, 2 
months, 1 day. 

Peter Hesson, born July 21, 1783, died Dec. 16, 1865; and 
Susannah, his wife, born Dec. 15, 1797, died Jan. 25, 1857. 

Catherine, wife of John Fleet, died Dec. II, 1866, aged 72. 

Peter Zepp, died Aug. 21, 1879, aged 71 years, 1 month, 14 
days; and Catherine, his wife, born April 28, 1810, died .Jan, 
23, 1856. 

Abraham Hesson, died Feb. 19, 1855, aged 81 years, 11 
months, 21 days. 

Louisa Hesson, died Jan. 14, 1859, aged 70 years, 11 months, 
27 days. 

Eli Hesson, died Sept. 9, 1859, aged 47 years, 6 months. 12 
days. 

John L. Powell, born June 2.3, 1779, died April 15, 1865 ; and 
Elizabeth, his wife, born April 12, 1782, died May, 1864. 

Peter Gatle, died July 7, 1865, aged 76 years, 10 months, 16 
days; and Catherine, his wife, Feb. 26, 1862, aged 68 years, 8 
months, 3 clays. 

Josiah Bankard, born Oct. 25, 1830, died July 17, 1873. 

Abr.aham Bankard, died Oct. 30, 1879, aged 80 years, 22 
days. 

Ezra Haifley, " Co. A, 6th Md. Regt. Vols.," born Sept. 27, 
1840, died Oct. 14, 1864. 

Wm. Gregg, born April, 1818, died April, 1866. 

Lydia, wife of Josiah Babylon, died Aug. 10, 1867, aged 47 
years, 10 months, 9 days. 

Joseph Cox, born Aug. 10, 1801, died Oct. 29, 1879; and 
Rachel, his wife, born Nov. 8, 1811, died May 24, 1872. 

" John Mathew, honest and faithful servant to Abraham 
Hesson, died Sept. 9, 1856, aged 61." 

Valentine Wantz, died .June 25, 1876, aged 65 years, 6 
months, 23 days ; and Susannah, his wife, born July 8, 1800, 
died March 6, 1870. 

Mathias Copenhover, died Jan. 8, 1877, aged 68 years, 8 
months, 22 days; and Mary, his wife, died May 4, 1876, aged 
72 years, 8 months, 8 days. 

Sarah, their daughter, born Dec. 5, 1830, died March 18, 
1864 ; and Elizabeth, another daughter, born Dec. 3, 1835, 
died August, 1863. 

John Fleagle, a soldier of 1812, born June 25, 1793, died 
March 15, 1879 ; and Rachel, his wife, born Jan. 22, 1795, died 
May 8, 1865. 

Uriah Fleagle, of " Co. G, 1st Hegt. Md. Vols." (P. H. B.), 
born Feb. 21, 1843, fell at the battle of Gettysburg, July 3, 
1863, aged 20 years, 4 months, 9 days. 

Amos Fleagle was killed at the battle of Murfreeshoro', De- 
cember, 1862. 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



863 



George Fleagle, died Feb. 27, 1880, nged 81 years, 7 months, 
4 days. 

Anna Louisa, wife of Amos Hull, died Deo. 22, 1876, aged 
38. 

Margaret Rinehart, died June*5, 1863, aged 49. 

Samuel Fitzc, died Nov. 30, 1871, aged 49 years, 2 months, 
27 days. 

Valentino Wantz, born Jan. 27, 1820, died March 11, 1860. 

Anna Maria Meyers, born Deo. 21, 1777, died Oct. 3, 1863. 

Susan, wife of Jacob Eckard, died Jan. 9, 1861, aged 51. 

John Lampert, died June 20, 1874, aged 76 j and Louisa, his 
wife, Feb. 17, 1877, aged 78 years, 11 days. 

Hezekiah Lambert, born Oct. 24, 1825, died April 7, 1860. 

George Warner, born July 15, 1814, died Feb. 6, 1872. 

Sarah Warner, born May 24, 1796, died May 16, 1872. 

Elizabeth Warner, born May 26, 1776, died Oct. 1, 1857. 

William Warner, died Dec. 30, 1853, aged 36 years, 7 months, 
15 days. 

Michael Dotzour, died March 19, 1858, aged 35 years, 5 
months, 10 days. 

Margaret Dotzour, died May 6, 1872, aged 68. 

John Babylon, born May 10, 1803, died March 1, 1862. 

John Dell, born Dec. 17, 1773, died Oct. 23, 1871. 

Mary Dell, born July 26, 1777, died Sept. 28, 1851. 

Michael Babylon, died Dec. 1 2, 1 870, aged 70 years, 8 months, 
23 days. 

Andrew Babylon, born Aug. 20, 1779, died Oct. 21, 1851. 

Susanna Babylon, died Feb. 8, 1870, aged 91 years, 9 months, 
17 days. 

David Babylon, born Dec. 21, 1820, died July 15, 1857; and 
Mary, his wife, born Feb. 13, 1821, died Feb. 4, 1857. 

George Rodkey, born Dec. 8, 1790, died Nov. 25, 1851. 

Mary Eckard, born Dec. 13, 1765, died Jan. 31, 1856. 

Solomon Farmwalt, born Sept. 4, 1793, died Feb. 22, 1881; 
and Elizabeth, his wife, born April 28, 1800, died March 22, 
1852. 

Ellenoore Fromfelter, died Feb. 15, 1870, aged 76 years, 3 
months, 4 days. 

John Nusbaum, born March 25, 1793, died June 1,1866; 
and Elizabeth, his wife, born July 28, 1799, died Dec. 6, 1864. 

Henry Beard, died Aug. 4, 1861, aged 41 years, 6 months, 6 
days. 

Cornelius Baust, born Feb. 10, 1785, died April 26, 1868 ; and 
Elizabeth, his wife, born Sept. 6, 1791, died March 1, 1865. 

Charles Crawford, died Dec. 11, 1871, born May 23, 1805. 

Fred. Wantz, born March 3, 1778, died Jan. 24, 1857 ; and 
Mary, his wife, died Feb. 8, 1852, aged 64 years, 2 months, 8 
days. 

George Wantz, died May 6, 1866, aged 36 years, 1 month, 11 
days. 

Eliza Hunger, died May 2, 1877, aged 63 years, 25 days. 

Catharine, wife of Jesse Babylon, died April 5, 1878, aged 
62. 

Elizabeth, wife of Joshua Stansbury, born Aug. 13, 1813, 
died Feb. 1, 1874. 

Wm. Lampert, born Sept. 1, 1826, died April 7, 1878. 

Dr. David B. Fleagle, died Feb. 26, 1878, aged 35 years, 9 
months, 6 days. 

Jacob Foglesong, born Jan. 12, 1807, died Nov. 27, 1880. 

Ntiabaum'a Cemetery. 
Peter Babylon, born Nov. 14, 1781, died Jan. 28, 1850. 
Hannah Foutz, born Nov. 2fi, 1770, died Aug. 28, 1815. 
Elizabeth Foutz, died Sept. 27, 1830, aged 43. 
Solomon Foutz, died Feb. 14, 1839, aged 78 years, 10 months, 
25 days. 



Jacob Youn, died January, 1830, aged 60. 

Mary Youn, died March 15, 1824, aged 37 years, 2 months, 

13 days. 

Mary, infant daughter of Wm. Youn, died May 4, 1825, 
John Yon, born April 1. 1829, died Jan. 1, 1831. 
Catherine Yon, born 1785, died 1797. 

Elizabeth Babylon, born Deo. 22, 1790, died April 26, 1813. 
Samuel Farnhord, born Oct. 9, 1817, died June, 1818. 
Leonard Kitzmiller, born April 27, 1732, died March 1, 1820. 
David Stouffer, died Dec. 15, 1867, aged 76 years, 11 months, 

14 days; and Mary, hie wife, died March 26, 1841, aged 48 
years, 4 months, and 12 days. 

Emma Kate, daughter of N. and C. Heck, died Aug. 30, 
1869, aged 7 months, 21 days. 

Susannah HoUoway, daughter of Samuel and Elizabeth Hol- 
loway, died 1809. 

" P. W., died 1785." 

Alexander Mcllheny, died Jan. 25, 1835, aged 56 years, 10 
months, 20 days ; and Elizabeth, his wife, born Aug. 1, 1779, 
died May 2, 1853. 

Mayberry is a small village five miles from Taney- 
town, near Bear Branch. N. H. Fleagle is the post- 
master and merchant of the place, and William Stone- 
sifer and Henry Bck are the millers. 

Pleasant Valley, another small village, is five miles 
from Westminster. Samuel Lawyer is the postmaster ; 
H. B. Albaugh, merchant ; and F. L. Yingling &Son, 
mill-owners. St. Matthew's Reformed church was 
built at a cost of $2400, and dedicated Nov. 30, 1879. 

MYERS DISTRICT, No. 3. 
Myers District, or the Third District of Carroll 
County, is bounded on the north by Pennsylvania, on 
the east by Manchester District, on the south by 
the districts of Uniontown and Westminster, and on 
the west by Taneytown District. Big Pipe Creek, 
Silver Run, and their tributaries flow through the 
district in many directions, and Piney Creek forms 
the boundary line on the northwestern border ; these 
fine .streams furnishing excellent power for mills, 
which has been utilized to a considerable extent by 
the inhabitants. Union Mills, Myersville, Silver Run, 
and Piney Creek Station, on the Frederick and Penn- 
sylvania Line Railroad, are flourishing villages. The 
metes and bounds of the district, as laid out by com- 
mission appointed in 1837, are as follows: 

" Beginning at the end of Royer's and Guyman's lane, on 
Baughman's county road; thence with said road to Lawyer's 
Branch ; thence down said branch to Big Pipe Creek ; thence 
with a straight line through Peter Bi.xler's farm, leaving said 
Bixler in District No. 6 ; thence with a straight line to a 
branch known by the n.ime of Ohio, where said branch crosses 
Trump's county road ; thence up said branch through to Wine's 
farm, up said branch to its head ; thence with a straight line to 
the nearest point on Rinehart's county road ; thence on said 
road to the Pennsylvania line; thence with Pennsylvania line 
to Littlestown and Westminster turnpike; thence down said 
turnpike to the stone road; thence with said stone road to 
Grove's Ford on Big Pipe Creek ; thence with said road to the 



864 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



aforesaid turnpike at the 33d mile stone ; thence with said turn- 
pike to Rinehart's county road ; thence with said road to Rine- 
hart's mill ; thence up the road by Rinehart's dam ; thence 
with said road, between Frederick Baughman's farm and Jacob 
Snyder's, to Andrew Angel's, leaving said Angel in District 
No. 7; thence to Bixler's tan-yard, leaving said Bi.vler in Dis- 
trict No. 7 ; thence with a straight line to the beginning." 

By an act of the General Assembly of Maryland, 
passed April 2, 1841, the division line between the 
Third (Myers) and Seventh (Westminster) Districts 
was altered and made as follows : " Beginning at the 
natural boundary at the intersection of Big Pipe 
Creek, in Peter Bixler's meadow, and running thence 
by a direct line to Jacob Frock's dwelling-house, 
leaving the same in the Seventh Election District; 
thence by a direct line to Adam and William Bishe's 
dwelling-house, leaving the same in the Seventh Elec- 
tion District, and thence to the Westminster and Lit- 
tlestown turnpike road, at the intersection of the 
stone road, which was then the boundary line between 
the Third and Seventh Election Districts." The dis- 
trict in 1880 had a population of 1959. 

Union Mills was made the place for holding the 
polls. The district was named in honor of the Myers 
family, one of the first to settle in this portion of 
Carroll County, one of whose descendants, Samuel 
W. Myers, assisted in laying out the nine districts 
into which Carroll was originally divided in 1837. 

A tract of land known as " Ohio," containing nine 
thousand seven hundred and fifty acres, was patented 
to Samuel Owings in 1763. 

The early settlers were almost entirely Germans 
from York and Lancaster Counties, in Pennsylvania, 
or directly from the Palatinate, and to this day there 
are in its limits but few families not of German 
extraction. 

For the first half-century of its history and settle- 
ment the German was the only tongue spoken, and 
after that, for a generation, the German and English 
lanouages were spoken indiscriminately, but since 
1835 the English only has been used. These settlers 
were a hardy and thrifty race, of strong religious sen- 
timents, and rapidly increased in numbers and wealth. 
Amon" the pioneers were Joseph Leaman, Nicholas 
Deal, George Michael Derr, Charles Angel, the Erbs 
Myerses, Bankerds, Naills, Krouses, Yinglings, Farm 
waits, Hessons, Flicklingers, Koontz', Frocks, Bix 
lers, Bachmans, Groffs, Hahns, Wivels, Kesselrings 
Leppoes, and afterwards there came the Burgoons 
Joneses, Morelocks, Gearharts, Fishers, and others. 

Over a century ago " Bankerd's mill" was in opera- 
tion on the site of the present Union Mills, and 
" Groff's mill" was located where now James E. Dod- 
rer has a saw and grist-mill, both on Big Pipe Creek. 



The Shriver Family and TTnioii Mills. — Andrew 
Shriver, son of David and Rebecca (Ferrec) Shriver, 
was born on Little Pipe Creek (Westminster District), 
Nov. 7, 1762, and was the eldest of nine children. 
His parents were among the first settlers in this sec- 
tion of country. He was married Dec. 31, 1786, to 
Miss Elizabeth Shultz, daughter of John Shultz, at 
his house in Baltimore, by Rev. William Otterbein, a 
distinguished clergyman of that day. His wife was 
born Aug. 15, 1767, and died Sept. 27, 1839. Their 
children were John Shultz, born March 1, 1788; 
Thomas, born Sept. 2, 1789 ; Rebecca, born Dec. 29, 
1790; Matilda, born Oct. 3, 1792; James, born at 
Littlestown, Pa., April 4, 1794 ; William, born at 
same place, Dec. 23, 1796, and died June 11, 1879 ; 
Elizabeth, born at Union Mills, March 14, 1799 ; and 
Andrew Keyser, born at the same place, March 25, 
1802; Ann Maria, born March 13, 1804; Joseph, 
born Jan. 11, 1806; and Catharine, born May 27, 
1808. 

All of these children grew up and married respect- 
ably, and left surviving children to perpetuate their 
name and lineage. 

After the death of his wife, Elizabeth, in 1839, 
Andrew Shriver continued to live at the old home- 
stead at Union Mills until his death, Sept. 20, 1847, 
aged nearly eighty-five years. In the fall of 1784, 
when twenty years of age, with a capital of four 
hundred and sixty pounds, having been assisted to 
this extent, perhaps, by his father, who had accumu- 
lated considerable means, Andrew Shriver engaged in 
the mercantile business on Little Pipe Creek, and 
subsequently in Baltimore. After his marriage in 
1786 he continued to make his home with his wife 
on Little Pipe Creek until 1791, when he removed 
to Littlestown, Pa., where he kept a store and tavern 
until 1797. On June 26th of that year he removed 
with his family, then comprising six children, to the 
Union Mills property, which he bought, in partner- 
ship with his brother David, of the heirs of Jacob 
Bankerd, deceased. This property is located on the 
northern branch of Pipe Creek, in what was then 
I Frederick, now Carroll, County, five miles southeast of 
I the Pennsylvania State line. Andrew and David 
Shriver experienced great difficulty in gaining pos- 
session of their property. David Shriver, Sr., was 
then, and for some thirty years afterwards, employed 
by them to get a chancery decree for the sale of the 
land of .the Bankerd estate. He was at length suc- 
cessful, and was appointed trustee for the sale of the 
property. Andrew Shriver became the purchaser of 
a large part of the land, together with the mill, then 
almost on the same site as that occupied by the pres- 



CARKOLL COUNTY. 



865 



ent structure. They got possession of the property 
with difificulty, even after its sale, some of the heirs 
not being willing to yield. By arrangement of the 
above partners with John Mung, a millwright, work 
on the mill was completed satisfactorily for the sum 
of four hundred and thirty dollars. This agreement 
was witnessed by James McSherry, Dr. S. Duncan, 
and Susannah Showers (sister of Andrew and David 
Shriver), and dated Jan. 26, 1797. An agreement 
of the same parties, of the same date, with Henry 
Kohlstock, carpenter, — 

** Witnesseth that for and in consideration of one hundred 
pounds to be paid by the said Andrew and David Shriver to 
the said Henry Kohlstocls, he, the said Kohlstock, agrees to 
finish two small houses, fourteen by seventeen feet each, to be 
connected by a porch and passage about ten feet wide, — that is 
to say, he is to do all the joiner work so as to complete said 
bouses, passage, porch, and stairways, agreeably to a plan 
thereof now produced ; also to do all the carpenter work of a 
mill house forty by fifty feet, and to complete the whole thereof 
in a sufficient and neat, workmanlike manner, as expeditioudy 
as possible; and further, finally to complete the whole, he is to 
paint the work, both dwelling and mill house, in a proper and 
sufficient manner; they, Andrew and David Shriver. to find all 
the materials, paint, oil, etc. 

*' R. McIlhenny, John Mong, Witnesses." 

This house was completed according to the agree- 
ment and occupied, and one of the rooms on the 
ground-floor was used for a store. The partnership 
between the brothers suggested the name of the 
" Union Mills" to their homes, which was subse- 
quently extended to embrace the whole village. The 
date of the dissolution of the firm is not exactly 
known. David was afterwards employed in locating 
and constructing the National road from Baltimore 
through Fredericktown, Hagerstown, and Cumber- 
land to Wheeling, on the Ohio River. He displayed 
great skill in working iron, having made some of the 
most diflficult parts of the mill-machinery (the appli- 
ances at hand being embraced in an ordinary black- 
smith-shop at this place), some of which are still about 
the premises, and will compare favorably with the pro- 
ductions of the best workmen of the present day. A 
couple of pair of steelyards, with his name stamped 
upon them, are now in use, and are perfectly reliable, 
the State inspector of weights and measures having 
certified to their accuracy some twenty years since. 
The Shriver family developed great skill in working 
iron. At a very early date they had a shop at Little 
Pipe Creek, in which they all worked at times for 
different purposes, and Isaac Shriver took a contract 
from the government to furnish a large quantity of 
gun-barrels, to be delivered at a stated time. Al- 
though the designated time was short for that day, he 
finished the contract according to the terms and to 



the satisfaction of the authorities. Andrew Shriver, 
after the removal of his brother David from the mills, 
continued to keep a store for the sale of general mer- 
chandise, and secured for the village a post-office, of 
which he took charge. He also held the office of 
magistrate for a long time, and it was chiefly owing 
to his influence that the public road was opened from 
Union Mills to Hanover, Pa. He was afterwards 
instrumental in getting the turnpike from Baltimore 
to Chambersburg through the village. With a grow- 
ing family and continued prosperity in business, Mr. 
Shriver required more house-room, and wings were 
added at different periods to the original building. 
Architectural beauty was not much studied, but the 
mansion is quaint and picturesque. It still stands 
with but little alteration, and is now occupied by 
Andrew K. Shriver, one of the sons, born under its 
ancient roof. Andrew Shriver, although an active 
politician, as was also his father, never held any public 
office other than magistrate, which position he filled 
during the greater part of his life, having been re- 
tained through all the political changes which oc- 
curred in the State. His magisterial services were 
highly appreciated, and were characterized by modera- 
tion and dignity. Very few appeals from his decisions 
to the higher court were made, thus saving expense 
to the county, as well as to individuals. In his judi- 
cial business, which extended over a wide region, he 
exerted a large personal influence, often acted as peace- 
maker between litigants, and brought about amicable 
settlements where a continued appeal to law tended 
only to make matters worse. Elizabeth Shriver, wife 
of Andrew Shriver, as mistress of a large household 
and mother in the family, was an admirable Christian 
woman, and her influence had much to do in mould- 
ing the character and shaping the future of her chil- 
dren. The children of Andrew and Elizabeth Shriver 
were married thus : John Shultz to Henrietta Myers, 
of Baltimore ; Thomas, three times,— first, to Ann 
Sharp, of York, Pa., and the third time to Miss Sher- 
rard ; Rebecca Ferree to James Renshaw, of York, 
Pa. ; Matilda to Michael H. Spangler, of York, Pa. ; 
James to Elizabeth B. Miller, of Uniontown, Pa. ; 
William to Mary Owings, of Littlestown, Pa. ; Eliz- 
abeth (Eliza) to Lawrence J. Brengle, of Frederick 
(after the decease of Catharine Shriver, his first wife) ; 
Andrew Keyser, on Feb. 16, 1837, to Catharine Wirt, 
of Hanover, Pa. (who died Aug. 24, 1873) ; Ann 
Maria to William Tell Steiger, of Washington, D. C. ; 
Joseph to Henrietta Coston, of Washington, D. C. ; 
Catharine to Lawrence J. Brengle, of Frederick. 
The children of these several family unions form a 
large connection, and are scattered over a wide ex- 



866 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



tent of country, though the majority of them are 
living in the vicinity of the old homestead. Andrew 
K. and William, two of the sons, with parts of their 
families, retain the mill property in their possession 
at this date, 1881. This place is on the Baltimore 
and Reisterstown turnpike, — the old road to Pitts- 
burgh, — over which noted thoroughfare in the days 
of stage-coaches there was an immense deal of travel. 
Among the many eminent men who tarried over- 
night or stopped for meals at the old Shriver man- 
sion was Washington Irving, who spent the Sabbath 
there, and a chapter of the recollections of his stay 
is found in his writings, but the scene is laid in 
England. The first postmaster was Andrew Shriver, 
the present efficient oflBcer Andrew K. Shriver, and 
William Shriver once held the office. For nearly four- 
score years, save a brief space of time, this office has 
always been in the Shriver family. B. F. Shriver & 
Co. now operate the flouring-mill, and run a large 
canning-factory, while the tannery is run by A. K. 
Shriver & Sons on the same site where the first enter- 
prise of that character was located in 1795. 

William Shriver was born at Littlestown, Pa., Dec. 
23, 1796, and at the time of his death, which oc- 
curred in 1879, was one of the proprietors of the 
flour-mills, and of the old estate there, which had i 
been in the family many years. He was a brother to I 
the late John S. Shriver, so well known as the presi- j 
dent of the Ericsson line of steamboats between Bal- 
timore and Philadelphia. He had several brothers, 
one of them, Thomas Shriver, living in New York 
City, ninety years old. Mr. Shriver's father was a 
very old man when he died, and the family is gener. 
ally long-lived. He left an aged wife and a large 
number of children and great-grandchildren. He 
celebrated the fiftieth anniversary of his wedding 
several years ago. Few persons had a larger personal 
acquaintance or more friends than the deceased. 

The following is a list of persons living within a 
radius of four or five miles of Union Mills, and all, 
with a few exceptions, in Myers District, who were 
seventy years old and upwards in 1879 : 



Years. 

John Snyder.. 76 

Mrs. Elimbeth Myers 77 

George Fleagle, Kr 82 

Mrs. Lydia Fleagle 76 

Mrs. Judith Crumrine 81 



Tears. 

Christina Tingling 80 

William Shriver 83 

Mrs. Mary Shriver 72 

Andrew K. Shriver 77 

Peter Tingling 82 

Mrs. Tingling 74 

Mrs. Wiljet 73 

Jacob Slyder 84 

John Koontz 76 

Philip Arter 75 

John Frock, of J 72 

Isaac Bankert 77 

John Flickinger 73 

Jacob Leister 77 

Mrs. Elizabeth Kump 94 



Years. 

Samuel Lookingbill 77 

Isaac Beal 76 

George Stegner 88 

Mrs. Rebecca Leppo 80 

Mrs. Catharine Meyers 84 

Mrs. Mary Teiser 91 

Mrs. Sarah Little 75 

John Stonesifer 84 

Mrs. Rachel Warner 85 

Mrs. Margaret Diice 71 

Henry Duttaror 73 

Mrs. Mary Kelly 79 

John Study 74 

Jacob MikeseU 90 

Daniel Leppo 73 



Yeftrs. 

Jacob Hahn 76 

Samuel Hahn 75 

Mrs. Sarah Shull 79 

George Bowman 77 

Andrew Stonesifer 77 

Mrs. Mary Stonesifer 74 

Directly across Big Pipe Creek is a village laid out 
by Peter E. Myers and called Myersville ; but as the 
post-office is called Union Mills, the latter is the name 
by which the mills and the village are generally known. 
The Methodist Episcopal church was erected in 1880, 
and has a flourishing Sunday-school attached to it, 
of which William Yingling is superintendent. 

Carroll Academy was organized in 18.38, and a 
stone building was erected by stock subscriptions. 
The first trustees were William Shriver, William N. 
Burgoon, John Erb, Peter E. Myers, and Isaac Bank- 
erd ; secretary of the board, A. K. Shriver. The first 
principal was James Burns, an Irishman, the second, 
James Small, and among their successors were Bush- 
rod Poole, Christian Erb, Samuel S. Shriver, John Q. 
Wolf, John A. Renshaw, Bernard McManus, and 
Mr. Bardwell. Upon the creation of the public 
school system, the academy passed under the control 
of the school authorities. Mr. Burns, the first teacher 
of the academy, organized the first Sunday-school in 
the district, — a union school and not denominational. 
Dr. William R. Cushing is the physician of the town. 
F. M. Hall is a prominent merchant in Union Mills. 
William Bankerd, Joseph Erb, Samuel Stonesifer are 
coopers ; John Beemiller, Jesse Koontz, shoemakers ; 
W. G. Byers, undertaker ; J. William Everhart, sur- 
veyor; Jesse Legare is a justice of the peace; Jere- 
miah Myers carries on a saw-mill; Jesse Myers and 
P. Wolf are millers ; John Myers is a manufacturer 
of brick. The blacksmiths are Samuel Stansbury, 
Samuel Orem, William Tagg & Sons ; William Ren- 
naker is a carpenter ; Ephraim and Ezra J. Yingling 
are tinners ; and Martin Yingling, a cabinet-maker. 

Silver Run is on the turnpike from Westminster to 
Littlestown, Pa., nine miles from the former and five 
from the latter. Its postmaster is John N. Mark, 
and assistant, Augusta J. Mark. The village is near 
the stream, Silver Run, from which it takes its name. 
The village store is kept by Albaugh & Haines, and 
the hotel by Andrew Wisner. J. Henry Knipple is 
justice of the peace, and Dr. James M. Marshall, the 
physician. The various industries are represented by 
Elias Bankerd, wheelwright ; Joseph Beemiller, J. W. 
Little, shoemakers ; Mrs. T. Kesselring, millinery and 
confectionery ; Henry and Jacob Koontz, blacksmiths; 
George L. Little, cabinet-maker ; and Rufus Strouse, 
constable. 

St. Mary's Cliurch is on " Silver Run," and is the 



I 



CABROLL COUNTY. 



867 



joint place of worship of the German Reformed and 
Lutheran congregations. The present church edifice 
is of stone, and was erected in 1822. It is on a tract 
of land called " Dyer's Mill Forest," adjoining a sur- 
vey called " Lewis' Luck." It occupies the site of 
the first church, a rude log structure, built in 1768. 
The deed for the fifteen acres on which it is located 
was made by Joseph Dyer in 1768 to John Leaman, 
Nicholas Deal, George Michael Derr, Charles Angel, 
of the "Dutch Congregation of Silver Run," a com- 
mittee of the Lutheran and Reformed Calvinists. 
The consideration named in the conveyance is £4 3s. 
9d. The witnesses to its execution were William 
Blair and Abraham Hay ton. It was duly acknowl- 
edged March 21, 1769, before " His Lordship's Jus- 
tices of the Peace," William Blair and Thomas Price. 
On the back of this instrument is a receipt from 
Christopher Edelin acknowledging to have received 
" 7 pence half-penny Stirling," as alienation fee on 
the said fifteen acres, from Daniel, of St. Thomas 
Jenifer, his lordship's agent. This was ground-rent 
money due the Lord Proprietor, and payable semi- 
annually at the two annual feasts at St. Mary's, but 
which had to be paid before a good conveyance could 
be obtained. This deed was recorded March 27, 
1769. Rev. J. G. Noss is the present Reformed pastor, 
and Rev. J. M. Alleman the Lutheran, and H. W. 
Shriver the superintendent of the Reformed Sunday- 
school. 

Immediately above the junction of Silver Run with 
Big Pipe Creek, on the latter, John Wiest has large 
flouring-mills, and David B. Earhart has a fulling- 
mill. 

West of Union Mills, on Big Pipe Creek, James 
B. Dodrer has flouring-mills, once called " Old Graves' 
mills," but put down on the old maps, made a century 
ago, as " GrofF's mill." 

Piney Creek Station is on the Frederick and Penn- 
sylvania Line Railroad, in the northwestern part of 
the district. C. Shere is the postmaster and mer- 
chant, and P. M. Wiest has charge of a mill on the 
Westminster turnpike. At the boundary line divid- 
ing Myers from Westminster District is " Mount 
Pleasant Academy," built in 1854, and a store kept 
by John Crouse. There is a saw- and grist-mill on 
the estate of the late Dr. Study, on Big Pipe Creek. 
Near the Hanover road, in the north of the district, 
are large beds of iron ore. In the eastern part, on 
Big Pipe Creek, A. Fusir has a store and flour-mill. 

The first physicians who practiced in the district 
were Dr. Wampler, of Hanover, Dr. Shorb, of Littles- 
town, and the Taneytown doctors. There were no 
resident physicians for many years after the first set- 



tlement. Dr. Study, long ago deceased, was the pio- 
neer in his profession, and he was succeeded by his 
son. Dr. John Study, who still practices in the neigh- 
borhood. 

The following is a list of public school trustees and 
teachers for Myers District for 1881 and 1882 : 

t. Mount Pleasant. — J. Crouse, Frank Burgeon, John C. 
.Bankert. 

2 and 3. Carroll .\cademy. — Jacob Humbert, H. W. Shriver, 
.Tohn BemiUer. 

4. Wisner's. — Jacob Feever, Larkin Belt, John H. Banm. 

5. Bishe's. — Emanuel Yeizer, Samuel Getting, Josiah Stei- 
ner. 

6. Humbert's. — -Ezra M. Lawyer, Lewis Morelock, George 
Humbert. 

7. Mauss*. — John Maus, Cyrus Feever, Absalom Koontz. 

8. Green Mount. — Jacob P. Hull, John Starr, John Boose. 

9. Erb's. — Jesse Lemon, S. Keefer, Jacob Marker. 

10. Good Hope. — George Bowers, William Yingling, John 
Leister. 

11. Cover's. — Samuel Cover, Solomon Boose, Joseph Ma- 
thias. 

12. Cherry Grove.— Peter Kump, David Shull, William A. 
Lippo. 

The teachers for the term ending April 13, 1881, 
were : 

1, C. H. Bixler, 43 pupils; 2, John Burgeon, 20 pupils; 3, Isaac 
Wright, 44 pupils; 4, G. W. Yeizer, 50 pupils; 5, J. H. 
Stonesifer, 40 pupils; 6, G. F. Morelock, 30 pupils; 7, 
John N. Mark, 49 pupils; 8, A. F. Gait, 43 pupils; 9, 
George Fleagle, 63 pupils; 10, N. H. Kester, 4.'i pupils; 
11, Richard Dell, 41 pupils; 12, A. S. Morelock, 35 pupils. 

Below are given the votes cast for local ofiicers in 
Myers District from 1851 to 1861 inclusive : 

1851. — Vote for Primary School Commissioners: William Ear- 
hart 89, A. K. Shriver 59, Samuel Bowers 37, J. William 
Earhart 134, P. B. Mikesell 49. 

1853. — For Justices: William Tagg 135, John Koontz 196, D. 
B. Earh.art 157, Daniel Stonesifer 153; Constables: Perry 
Rumler 125, Peter Wolf 204, Samuel Bowers 92, Peter Lin- 
genfelter 88, John Hornberger 56 : Road Supervisor : David 
Circle 77, James E. Dodrer 146, Peter E. Myers 17. 

1855.— For Justices: Samuel Bowers 42, J. W. Earhart 99, D. 
B. Earhart 72, Eli Erb 28, Henry Shuler 122, Peter Kump 
117, D. Stonesifer 68 ; Constables : D. E. Leister 79, W. H. 
Lippy 56; Peter Rumler 102; Daniel Shull 167, J. H. Wi- 
mert 122: Road Supervisor: Peter E. Myers 98, Abraham 
Koontz 190. 

1857.— For Justices: D. Stonesifer 177, P. B. Mikesell 223, 
William Tagg 108, D. B. Earhart 71 ; Constables: J. H. 
Knipple 203, J. L. Farmwalt 185, P. Rumler 130, B. J. 
Matthias 51; Road Supervisor: Daniel Lippo 232. 

1859.— For Justices: John Maus 257, P. B. Mikesell 262; Con- 
stable: J. H. Knipple 219, Gershom Huff 235, W. N. 
Burgeon 134; Road Supervisor: Daniel Lippo 183, Eman- 
uel Yeiser 132. 

1861.— For Justices : J. W. Earhart 183, D. H. Rudolph 150, 
D. B. Earhart 55, John Maus 194, Eli Erb 129; Constables : 
D. L. Feeser 170, Levi Bish 127, Joshua Wisner 53, G. 
Hufif 193, B. J. Matthias 154; Road Supervisor: Moses 
Troxell 182, Michael Shull 185. 



HISTOKY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



WOOLERY DISTRICT, No. 4. 

Woolery District, or District No. 4, of Carroll 
County, is bounded on the north by Hampstead, on 
the west by Baltimore County, on the south by Free- 
dom District, and on the west by the district of West- 
minster, 

Deep Run, Middle Run, Beaver Run, and the 
Patapsco River, with their tributaries, furnish abun- 
dant water-power for manufacturing and milling pur- 
poses. In addition to the numerous excellent public 
roads and the Chambersburg turnpike, the Western 
Maryland Railroad passes through the northeastern 
portion of the district, and furnishes admirable facili- 
ties for travel and transportation. The metes and 
bounds of the district, as originally laid down by the 
commission of 1837, were as follows: 

"Beginning at the twenty- sixth milestone on the Reisters- 
town turnpike road ; thence with a straight line to the late Rich- 
ard Gorsuch's house, leaving said house in No. 4; thence to the 
Patapsco Falls; thence down said Falls to Stansbury's house, 
leaving said house in District No. 4 ; thence with the county 
road to Brown's meeting-house ; thence to Brown's mill ; thence 
to Williams' school-house, binding on the road leading past John 
Kelly's; thence to Edward Bond's; thence with the county line 
to the bridge over the Patapsco Falls, near John Ely's mill ; 
thence with the Patapsco Falls to Beasman's bridge ; thence 
with the Deer Park road to the road leading from Philip Nico- 
demus's mill to the Calico House; thence with said road to 
Pool's school-house ; thence to Morgan's Run, near Thomas 
Beasman's barn ; thence up Morgan's Run to Hawkins' Branch; 
thence up Hawkins' Branch to the county road leading past 
Benjamin Gorsuch's; thence with said road until it intersects a 
county road leading from the 'Stone Chapel' to the Washing- 
ton road ; thence with said road to the Washington road ; thence 
with a straight line to the place of beginning." 

Daniel Weaver's was made the place for holding the 
polls. 

By an act of the General Assembly of Maryland, 
pa.ssed May 23, 1853, it was provided that " so much 
of the Fourth Election District lying north and west 
of the Washington road should thereafter be deemed 
and taken as part of the Seventh Election District ; 
and that the division line between Election Districts 
Five and Nine should be so far altered and changed 
as to commence at a point where the then division 
line crossed the new Liberty road, and running thence 
with a straight line to the dwelling-house then occu- 
pied by James McQuay, leaving said McQuay's in 
district number nine ; thence with a straight line to 
the dwelling-house then occupied by John Hess, leav- 
ing said Hess in district number nine; thence to the 
Washington road ; thence with said road to Morgan's 
Run, and up said run to the original division line." 
Woolery District had 2743 inhabitants in 1880. 

The German element predominated to a large ex- 



tent in the first settlement of this district, which was 
part of Baltimore County until the creation of Car- 
roll in 1836. Among the early settlers were the 
Woolerys (from whom the district received its name), 
Stockdales, Garners, Jacobs, Gorsuches, Shipleys, 
Barneses, Cockeys, Finks, Leisters, Zepps, Arma- 
costs, Prughs, Conaways, and Flaters. 

Finksbnrg, the most prominent town in the dis- 
trict, is twenty miles from Baltimore and about 
one mile from the Western Maryland Railroad. It 
was laid out in 1813 by a Mr. Quigly, a contractor on 
the Chambersburg turnpike, then being built through 
it. It is situated on a survey called " Hooker's 
Meadow," and was named Finksburg in honor of 
Adam Fink, who built the first house. Mr. Fink 
lived and kept tavern on the land now owned by 
Daniel Frazier, and was succeeded by William 
Horner, Sr., who kept the inn for twenty years. Mr. 
Fink had fifteen acres of land, eleven of which Dan- 
iel Frazier now owns, but the house (tavern) built 
by the former was long ago taken down. Mr. Quigly 
laid out the town for Mr. Fink on the latter's land. 
The oldest house is that of Thomas Demoss. Thomas 
Ward kept the first store, Samuel Hughes was the 
first blacksmith, and his shop was that now occupied 
and carried on by Thomas Demoss. The first physi- 
cian was Dr. Forrest, and the first teacher Charles W. 
Webster, an attorney-at-law of Westminster, son of 
Rev. Isaac Webster, who taught the school in Finks- 
burg in 1831, in a log school-house on the site of the 
present school building. The oldest man in the vil- 
lage is John Nelson Whittle, aged seventy-three 
years, who married, June 11, 1830, Miss Cynthia 
Ann, daughter of Thomas Ward, an old settler and 
the first merchant of the place. The merchants are 1 
George W. Horner and H. S. Thompson, — the latter] 
being the postmaster. Dr. S. L. Morris is the resi- 
dent physician, and the venerable Samuel Stansburyj 
keeps the toll-gate at the east end of the village. 

Zion Methodist Protestant church was erected inl 
1 856, under the auspices of Rev. Scott Norris. Frank! 
Hering is superintendent of the Sunday-school. 

The pastors of Zion Methodist Protestant Church] 
have been : 

1856, R. S. Norris, A. Anderson; 1857, R. S. Norris, C. H. Lit-| 
tleton; 1858, J. A. McFadden, N. S. Greenaway; 1859, jj 
A. McFadden, C. M. Whiteside; 1860, J. Elderdice, C. H.l 
Littleton; 1861, C. H. Littleton, G. W. Weills; 1862, J. F.j 
Whiteside, G. W. Weills; 1863, J. F. Whiteside, J. W.l 
Gray; 1864, T. M. Bryan, G. D. Edmondston ; 1865, T. MJ 
Bryan, C. T. Cochel ; 1866, C. T. Cochel, F. M. Hawkins;! 
1867, C. T. Cochel; 1868-70, W. T. Dunn ; 1870-72, J. H.| 
Ellegood: 1872, A. D. Dick, J. G. Sullivan; 1873, A. D.f 
Dick; 1874, A. D. Dick, S. B. Tredway; 1875, G, D. Ed-| 
mondston; 1876, S, S. T. Ferguson, J. B. Butler; 1877, S.s/ 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



869 



T. Ferguson, G. F. Farring; 1878, S. S. T. Ferguson, J. M. 
Brown ; 1879-81, J. W. Charlton ; 1881, W. D. Litsinger. 

The church building of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church South was erected in 1856 by the Methodist 
Episcopal Church, but shortly after the late war the 
church organization became so feeble and so reduced in 
numbers that the building was sold to the Methodist 
Episcopal Church South. Its first pastor under the 
Church South was Rev. William Etchison, and the 
present incumbent is Rev. Mr. Brown, of Reisterstown. 

In the rear of the church is a graveyard, with only 
a few interments, among which are William L. Craw- 
ford, born December, 1834, died January, 1879. 

The two most prominent burials are those of Judge 
Mordecai G. Cockey, who died July 29, 1872, aged 
70; and his wife Eurith, who died Dec. 27, 1843, 
aged 42. 

In a field adjoining are the graves of the following- 
named persons : Ann E. Corbin, wife of William Cor- 
bin, born Sept. 12, 1800, died April 30, 1829; and 
Keturah Wheeler, died June 15, 1829, aged 2 years 
and 20 days. 

The Independent Order of Mechanics was instituted 
in 1872, in which year it built its hall, which was 
sold recently to George W. Horner. He has enlarged 
and beautified it, and the order continues to hold its 
meetings there. Its oflBcers are : 

W. M., Frank StocUsdale; S. M., John Simmons; J. M., Con- 
rad Mann ; See., Alfred Williams ; F. S., John W. Barrett; 
Treas., L. A. J. Lamott. 

The Excelsior Literary Society, an association for 
entertainment and instruction, is in a flourishing con- 
dition. Its ofiScers for 1881 were: 

Pres., B. L. Fair; Sec, Dixon Leister; Treas., Miss Alverdie 
Lamott; Viee-Pres., F. L. Hering. 

Samuel Shoemaker, the wealthy and distinguished 
Baltimore railroad and express man, was raised in this 
village, and Lewis H. Cole lives near the town, on his 
elegant farm known as " Clover Hill." Abraham 
Leister owns part of the old Leister estate, among the 
first located in the district. That portion of this farm 
near the railroad is owned by William Zepp. Thomas 
Gorsuch came to this section of country at an early 
day from Baltimore County, and settled where Elias 
Gorsuch now lives, before whose time George W., son 
of Thomas Gorsuch, owned it. 

The Garner Graveyard is on the road from Finks- 
burg to the railroad station, and is a private burial-lot, 
in which only three of the tombstones have inscrip- 
tions, as follows : 

" In memory of Flinn Garner, who departed this life Feb. 
20, 1859, aged 93 years. He was a member of the Methodist 
Church 69 years." 



"In memory of Cary Garner, wife of Flinn Garner, the 
mother of 13 children." 

"Sarah Fresh, died Sept. 19, 1822, aged 28." 

Carrollton is a romantic and pretty village on the 
Western Maryland Railroad, seven miles from West- 
minster and twenty-six from Baltimore. The North 
Branch of the Patap.sco River passes by the hamlet, 
and furnishes an abundance of water for manufactur- 
ing and other purposes. Thomas Chapel, Pleasant 
Grove, and Bethel churches are near. Edward H. 
Bash is a merchant, railroad agent, and postmaster. 
J. A. Bush, a surveyor, lives here, as does also W. J. 
Houck, the undertaker. 

Fatapsco. — This village lies on the Western Mary- 
land Railroad, twenty-seven miles from Baltimore and 
six from Westminster. Ezra Chew is postmaster. 
J. H. Chew & Co., J. W. Sanders, and John S. Mar- 
tin are merchants in the village. P. Lingenfelter 
keeps the hotel, and E. E. Koons, a miller and lum- 
berman, resides there. 

Bird Hill is on the " Nicodemus road," six miles 
from Westminster, and near Morgan's Run. John 
W. Nelson is the postmaster of the village and keeps 
a store. 

Louisville is also on the " Nicodemus road," six 
miles from Finksburg, ten from Westminster, and 
twenty from Baltimore. There are copper-mines sit- 
uated on Morgan's Run, within a half-mile of the 
town, contiiining large deposits of copper, and operated 
by John Vial. S. H. Patterson is postma.ster, and 
John Reed and Nicholas Benson, merchants. The 
village has two churches, — Mount Pleasant Methodist 
Episcopal and Providence Methodist Protestant. The 
millers are G. W. McComas and George F. Branning. 
The town is partly in Woolery's and partly in Free- 
dom District, — -the " Mineral Hill Copper-Mine" 
being in the latter. 

Mechanicsville. — This pleasant village, rapidly 
growing in business and population, lies on the Nico- 
demus road, midway between Bird Hill and Louisville. 
It has a Methodist church and cemetery, two stores, 
several shops, and is the home of an industrious 
people. 

Shamberger's Station, on the Western Maryland 
Railroad, is an important shipping-point, and has large 
and excellent flouring-mills. 

The following is a list of persons seventy years old 
and over living in the district in 1879 : 

Mrs. Margaret Wickert, aged 95 years ; her son, Jacob Wickert, 
77 ; her daughter, Mrs. Margaret Crapster, "5 : Mrs. Rachel 
Roache, 79; her sister, Mrs. Mary Criswell, 74; Samuel 
Stansbury, 75; his wife, Rachel, 75; John Whittle, 71; 
Mrs. Lavina Grumbine, 73; her sister, Mrs. Eliza Stocks- 
dale, 71; Mrs. Catharine Stocksdale, 71; hor brother, 



870 



HISTOllY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



Benjamin Hnines, 82 ; Cornelius Cole, 82 ; bis wife, Maria, 
73 ; Cornelius Buckley, 80 ; his wife, Annie Buckley, 74 
Mrs. Henrietta Williams, 74; John Dhler, 81 ; Cyrus Shil 
ling, 79; his wife, Annie, 71 ; Mrs. Elizabeth Shilling, 80 
Lloyd Shipley, 8.*); Joshua Murray, 71; his wife, Mary 
76; Abraham Prugh, 80; his wife, 72; Rich. Manning 
80; his wife, 79: Mrs. Lydia Crawford, 74; Stephen Ours- 
ler, 8.3'; his wife, 75: her brother, Edward Gardner, 78 
Elias Brothers, 70 ; Mrs. Mary Haines, — ; George Ward 
74 ; his wife, 70 ; Mrs. Catherine Hedges, 79 ; Miss Mary 
Caple, 83; Mrs. Augustus Galloway. 75: Lewis Hobb, 85 
Daniel Bush, 73 ; Mrs. Mary Gorsuch, 82 ; Mrs. Mary Ogg; 
73; Lovelace Gorsuoh, 76; his wife, 71 ; Nathan Gorsuoh 
70; Maj. Gorsuoh, 72; Philip Smith, colored, 79; his wife, 
76, The list comprises 26 females, whose combined ages 
are 2040 years, averaging 75| years ; 22 males, whose united 
ages are 1703 years, averaging 77^ years. Total average, 
76J years. 

Some of the finest estates and most beautiful resi- 
dences in the State are situated in this district, among 
which may be noted " Wilton," the present country- 
place of Thomas C. Brown. Mr. Brown was born at 
Elkridge Landing, Md., where his father, an emigrant 
from England, had settled prior to 1760. He married 
Nancy Cockey, of the well-known Baltimore County 
family of that name, and removed to the neighborhood 
of Sykesville, in Freedom District, towards the last 
decade of the eighteenth century. His son William 
served with distinction in the war of 1812, and was 
adjutant of Col. Beall Randall's battalion when only 
eighteen years of age. He participated in the battle 
of North Point, where he acquitted himself with credit. 
William Brown married Miss Ann Waters Perry, by 
whom he had twelve children. He was a brother of 
Hon. Elias Brown, a former Congressman of the Bal- 
timore District, and, like his brother, an active and 
prominent politician , he was a Presidential elector for 
Gen. Jackson in the campaign of 1824. He was born 
in 1796, and died in 1836, aged sixty years. His 
mother, Nancy (Cockey) Brown, was an aunt of the 
late Judge Mordecai Gist Cockey, who died in 1872. 
Thomas Cockey Brown was the third child of his 
parents, and was born in Freedom District, April 5, 
1822. He was raised on his father's large estate and 
educated in the neighboring schools. He was early 
inured to farm-work, which he thoroughly understood 
and at which he continued until his twenty-sixth year. 

In 1848 he went to the State of Louisiana, where 
he remained until 1869, as agent and general mana- 
ger of a large sugar plantation. He worked three 
hundred and sixty negroes and eighty other hands, 
averaging an annual yield of eighteen hundred hogs- 
heads of sugar. He returned to Maryland in 1869, 
and bought his present splendid farm, " Wilton," of 
Dutell and Humphreys. It consisted of 185S acres, 
and was originally owned by the Gaither family. He 



erected an elegant mansion on the place, and since 
then has greatly improved his farm, which is now one 
of the best in the county and in the highest state of 
cultivation. It lies near Finksburg, and is a mile from 
the Western Maryland Railroad. He received the 
three symbolical degrees in Masonry in 1851, in Lodge 
A. F. and A. M. " True Friends," at Grand Island, 
in the Gulf of Mexico. He was elected a member of 
the Maryland House of Delegates in 1874 from Car- 
roll County, and served two years in the Legislature, 
in which he was a zealous advocate of reform and 
economy in all public expenditures of the people's 
funds. Mr. Brown has ever been an active public man, 
and a warm adherent of the Democratic party. He 
has never married. By his own industry, integrity, 
and prudent management he has arisen to be one of 
the leading farmers and most public-spirited citizens 
and business men of the county, and largely enjoys 
the esteem and confidence of his fellow-citizens. 

The following are the public school trustees and 
teachers, with the number of pupils under each, for 
this district in 1851 : 

1. Carrollton. — William Arbaugh, C. W. Brown, Isaac Green. 

2. Brown's Meeting- House. — S. A. Martin, George Taylor, 
Noah Bucher. 

3. Patapsco. — John H. Taylor, Edmond Koontz, David Ab- 
bott. 

4. Sandy Mount.— Peter Woods, H. H. Caple, William A. 
Bush. 

5 and 6. Finksburg.— William H. Stocksdale, G. W. Horner, 
Stephen B. Stocksdale. 

7. Fairmount.— Nicholas Benson, Hanson Davis, D. B. Hoff. 

8. Deer Park.— H. T. Smith, E. N. Davis, Henry Vardenfeit. 

9. Morgan's Run. — George Freeman, John Owings, George 
Caple. 

10. Louisville. — Joshua Baesman, Eli T. Bennett, William 
Roberts. 

The teachers for the term ending April 15, 1881, 
were : 

1, Laura S. Poole, 58 pupils; 2, John W. Abbott, 57 pupils: 3, 
Joel Ebaugh, 53 pupils; 4, Ida F. Fox, 40 pupils; 5, D. L. 
F.arrar, 20 pupils: 6, Mary E. Johnson, 29 pupils; 7, N. 
G. Harden, 53 pupils; 8, Aquilla McGee, 46 pupils; 9, G. 
J. Shipley, 42 pupils; 10, M. F. Ebaugh, 43 pupils; U, 
J. C. Nutting, 48 pupils; 1 (colored school), E. H. Trusty, 
23 pupils. 

The justices are William Stocksdale, Nathan Gor- 
suoh, Azariah Oursler. 

The following is the vote of the district for local 
officers from 1851 to 1861 inclusive: 

1851. — Vote for Primary School Commissioners: John W. Gor- 
suoh 136, E. D. Paine 105, John W. Gorsuch 99. 

1853. — For Justices: Mordecai G. Cockey 187, Jacob Wickert 
130, Abraham Lamott 149, Thomas S. Brow 120, James 
Baker 12, Jesse Frizzell 23, George Ogg 130, Samuel Wil- 
derson 67; Constables: J. F. Gardner 154, J. M. Flater 
120, Samuel Flater 73, William Stocksdale 148 : Road 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



871 



Pupcrvifnr: John D. Powder 176, Elijah Wooden II.'.. A. 
Til V lor 12. 
1855.— For Justices: M. Q. Cookey 228, N. Gorsuch 199, K. 
Woolery 184, J. D. Powder 121, S. Wilderson .38; Consta- 
bles: S. Flater 165, Jesse Magee 146, D. D. Byers 198; 
Road Supervisor: Lewis Taylor 20(1, Amon Allgire 123. 
1857.— For Justices: S. A. Lauver 188, Daniel Stull 184, L. 
Lainott 186, M. G. Cookey 208, Nathan Gorsuch 206, Elijah 
Woolery 191 ; Constables: J. Shilling 178, J. H. Tlhler 172, 
Samuel Flater 204, D. D. Byevs 204; Road Supervisor: G. 
Muramaugh 193, H. T. Bartholow 198. 
1859. — For Justices : Joseph Poole 187, James Lookard 208, S. 
A. Lauver 198, M.G. Cookey 203, Azariali Oursler 188, Na- 
than Gorsuch 186; Constables : William Crusey 192, Lewis 
Taylor 170, Jesse Magee 203, William Gorsuch 212; Road 
Supervisors: Henry Taylor 203, Joseph Bromwell 214. 
1861.— For Justices: William Lockard 240, M. G. Cockey 232, 
N. Gorsuch 213, N. Burgett 48, Azariah Oursler 166, J. W. 
Steele 182, L. A. J. Lamott 187 ; Constables: P. Gorsuch 
271, Jesse Magee 272, Jer. Taylor 161, D. D. Byers 163; 
Road Supervisor: Peter Flater 268, John Uhler 180. 
One of the best-known farmers in this district is Col. 
James Fenner Lee, who was born in Providence, R. I., 
July 9, 1843. He is the eldest living son of Stephen 
S. and Sarah F. (Mallett) Lee, who removed to Bal- 
timore the year of his birth. In that city he was 
placed under the instruction of the best masters, and 
in 1855 sent to Europe, where he was for several 
years in one of the first schools of Switzerland. He 
completed his collegiate studies in Paris, at the Lyc^e 
St. Louis, and after having traveled over the conti- 
nent returned to Baltimore. There he entered as a 
law student the office of Brown & Brune, and before 
applying for admission to the bar spent a term at the 
Law School of Harvard University. In 1866 he mar- 
ried Mrs. Albert Carroll, daughter of Hon. William 
George Read, and granddaughter of Col. John Eager 
Howard. On this occasion his parents presented him 
with a farm in this district, and he decided to devote 
himself to agricultural pursuits as .soon as he could 
dispose of his law business and complete the third 
volume of the " Maryland Digest," which he had, in 
conjunction with his friend, Jacob I. Cohen, under- 
taken to publish. Having in time accomplished this 
and settled upon his farm, he soon became identified 
with, and earnest in the promotion of, every material 
interest of the county. In a short time, such was his 
popularity, he was constantly chosen to represent the 
interests of his district in the Democratic County 
Conventions, and frequently in the State councils of 
that party. In 1874- he was appointed by Governor 
Groome one of his aide-de-camps, with the rank of 
colonel. He was nominated in 1875 for State senator 
by the Democratic party, and elected after a most 
active and exciting campaign. In the Senate he was 
chairman of the joint Committee on Printing, and did 
good service to the State by reducing the expendi- 



tures of the same twenty thousand dollars. This 
position he retained in the second session of the Leg- 
islature, in which he was equally successful in his 
eiforts to secure economy in that department. At the 
assembling of the Senate he was unanimously chosen 
president of the temporary organization, and was very 
often called to the chair during the absence of Col. 
Lloyd, the permanent president. It was mainly 
through the efforts of Col. Lee that the endowment 
of twenty-six free scholarships was obtained from the 
State for the Western Maryland College at West- 
minster. His children are Arthur F., Sarah J. Fen- 
ner, and Stephen Howard Lee. 

FREEDOM DISTRICT, No. 5. 

Freedom District, or District No. 5, of Carroll 
County, is bounded on the north by Woolery District, 
on the east by Baltimore County, on the south by 
Howard County, and on the west by Franklin Dis- 
trict. It is intersected by Piney Run, Big and 
Little Morgan's Runs, Owings' Run, and their tributa- 
ries, and the North and West Branches of the Pa- 
tapsco form the eastern and southern boundary lines 
of the district respectively. In addition to a number 
of turnpikes and excellent public roads, the Baltimore 
and Ohio Railroad skirts the southern portion of the 
district, affording the most ample facilities for traffic 
with points of commercial importance. Freedom 
District in 1880 had a population of 3154. The 
following are the metes and bounds of the district as 
originally laid out by the commission appointed in 1837 : 

" Beginning at the mouth of Gillis' Falls where it enters in 
the Western Falls ; thence running with said falls to its junc- 
tion with the Northern Branch; thence with the Northern 
Branch to Beasman's bridge; thence with the Deer Park road 
to the road leading from Philip Nicodcmus's mill to the Calico 
House ; thence with said road at Pool's school-house ; thence to 
Morgan's Run, near Thomas Beasman's barn ; thence up Mor- 
gan's Run to District No. 9; thence with District No. 9 to the 
place of beginning." 

Freedom was made the place for holding the polls. 
The above lines were somewhat changed by an act 
passed May 3, 1853, readjusting the bounds of the 
Fifth, Ninth, and Fourth Districts. This is the largest 
district in the county in area, and was the first settled. 
Its pioneers were mostly of English descent, with 
some of Welsh and Scotch-Irish extraction. Among 
the first to make their homes in the district were John 
Welch, Abel Brown, Robert Twis. Edward Dorsey, 
John Elder, Joshua Glover, Samuel Sewell, Grove 
Shipley, the Littles, Mr. O'Donald, the Steeles, Dor- 
seys, Wadlows, Scriveners, Gores, Lees, Binghams, 
Ritters, Parishes, Bennetts, Gardners, Buckinghams, 
Enoch Baker, Joseph Willis, John Beard, Lindsays, 
and Hoods. The Shipley family, embracing several 



872 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



branches, was the most numerous, and is to the present 
day. 

The founder of the Ritter family in Maryland was 
Elias Ritter, who settled on the Western Shore of the 
province in 1650 

He was a native of Bedingen, Hesse-Darmstadt, 
Germany, where, it is said, he possessed an estate 
covering twenty-four square miles of land, embracing 
three towns within its bounds. Bedingen, the main 
town, was fortified, and contained the " Ritter Castle," 
the walls of which were still standing in 1848. The 
family furnished men and munitions to the Protestant 
cause during the " Thirty Years' War," and at the 
close of that struggle was sent into exile and their 
property confiscated. Elias Ritter went to England 
during the protectorate of Oliver Cromwell, there 
joined one of the expeditions sent by Lord Baltimore 
to Maryland, and settled in the western part of Anne 
Arundel County. 

At the time of the formation of Frederick County 
the family was located on the banks of the Monocacy 
River. The names of the principal members of the 
family at that time were Elias, John, William, Tobias, 
Michael, and Ludwig, or Lewis. 

John, a son of the founder of the family, assisted 
William Penn in surveying the province of Pennsyl- 
vania in 1682, for which service he received five thou- 
sand acres of land in Berks County, Pa. A descendant 
of this Ritter occupied a seat in the Twenty-eighth 
and Twenty-ninth Congresses. William and Elias 
Ritter were members of Capt. William Keeport's 
company, Strieker's battalion, Maryland line of 1776. 
Tobias Ritter, another brother, was a member of 
the third company of Col. Armand's Pennsylvania 
Legion. 

Lewis Ritter, born Oct. 20, 1778, in Frederick 
County, Md., married Margaret Stall in 1803. This 
lady was the daughter of John Stall, of Franklin 
County, Pa., whose wife had been made a prisoner of 
war by the French and Indians after Braddock's defeat, 
and taken to France, where she remained until 1770, 
when she was restored to her family. The husband 
had been with Braddock's army. 

Jacob Rittor, born Nov. 20, 1804, near Fayette- 
ville, Franklin Co., Pa., married, December, 1829, 
Elizabeth, eldest daughter of Philip J. NeflF, a soldier 
in the war of 1812, and eldest son of Col. Michael 
Neff, a drill-oiEcer under Washington during the 
American Revolution. Col. NefF served under Fred- 
erick the Great during his " Seven Years' War" as 
one of the "Light Horse" and the king's body-guard. 
At the commencement of the Revolutionary war Col. 
Neff resided in Tyrone township, Adams Co., Pa., 



where Philip J. Neif, his eldest son, was born. At 
the time of the marriage of Jacob Ritter and Eliza- 
beth NcfiF, Philip J. Neff resided near Fayetteville, 
Franklin Co., Pa. 

In 1836, Jacob Ritter was commissioned as first 
lieutenant of Company A, One Hundred and Fifty- 
fifth Regiment of State Militia, by Governor Joseph 
Ritner, of Pennsylvania, and served in that capacity 
six years. 

In August, 1847, he removed to Finksburg, Car- 
roll Co., Md., and in 1850 to Eldersburg, Freedom 
District, same county, where he died in 1870. 

William L. Ritter, the son of Jacob Ritter, was 
born near Fayetteville, Franklin Co., Pa., on the 11th 
of August, 1835. He began his career with only a 
common-school education, which by diligence and 
perseverance he supplemented in after-years with all 
that was needed for the part he was called upon to 
play in life. 

At the age of twenty-two he was appointed mail- 
agent under the Buchanan administration, and held 
: this position until the breaking out of the war. When 
hostilities began his convictions led him to embrace 
the cause of the South, and without a moment's de- 
lay he resolved to cast his lot with the Confederate 
array. Accordingly, on the 24th of October, 1861, 
in connection with Capt. Henry B. Latrobe and 
Lieuts. F. 0. Claiborne, John B. Rowan, and Wil- 
liam T. Patton, he recruited and organized the Third 
Battery Maryland Artillery. When the company 
was mustered into service he was appointed orderly 
sergeant. 

Soon afterwards the battery was ordered to East 
Tennessee, where it remained until Gen. E. Kirby 
Smith marched into Kentucky, in August, 1862, 
when it accompanied his army to Covington, opposite 
Cincinnati, Ohio. After the army returned to Ten- 
nessee the battery was ordered to Vicksburg, Miss. 
i Capt. Latrobe there retired from service, and Lieut. 
; Claiborne was placed in command. On the 17th of 
March, 1863, Sergt. Ritter was elected second lieu- 
tenant to fill the vacancy caused by the promotion of 
• his superior officer. Not long after his promotion he 
was sent to Gen. Ferguson's command, on Deer Creek, 
Miss., above Vicksburg, to take charge of a section of 
light artillery of the Third Maryland Battery, then 
operating on the river in connection with a section of 
, Capt. Bledsoe's Missouri Artillery. Lieut. Ritter 
distinguished himself during this service for bravery 
I and skill, and when during the long siege of Vicks- 
burg Capt. Claiborne was killed, he was promoted 
I to the rank of first lieutenant. In the seven days' fight 
around Jackson, Mi.ss., Lieut. .Moore was wounded, 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



873 



and Ritter took command. In the October following 
he rejoined his old battery at Decatur, Ga. At the 
battle of Resaca, in May, 1864, he was wounded, but 
refused to retire from the field. He dressed his own 
wound, and although urged by the battalion surgeon 
to go to the hospital, kept his post, and in the absence 
of Capt. Rowan, withdrew the guns from one of the 
most exposed positions on the line. At the siege of 
Atlanta, Lieut. Ritter took command of the battery, 
Capt. Rowan having been called to the command of 
the battalion. At the death of Capt. Rowan, who 
was killed at the battle of Nashville, in December, 
1864, he assumed command of the battery, and worked 
the guns until the enemy drove hi.s men from the 
pieces at the point of the bayonet. At Columbus, 
Miss., Lieut. Ritter was promoted to captain to fill 
the vacancy caused by the death of Capt. Rowan, his 
commission dating from the 16th of December, 1864. 
He remained in active service until the troops were 
surrendered and paroled at Meridian, Miss., never 
having taken a furlough nor spent a day in the hospi- 
tal during the entire term of his service. 

In February, 1866, he returned to Maryland, and 
on the 26th of November, 1867, married Mrs. Sarah 
Howard Rowan, widow of Capt. John B. Rowan, his 
late companion in arms, and daughter of Col. Thomas 
Howard, of Elkton, Md. 

The Springfield Estate. — George Patterson was 
the youngest son of William Patterson, well known 
in Baltimore, who was possessed of a large amount 
of real estate in that city. He was also the brother 
of Mrs. Elizabeth Patterson, the first wife of the late 
Jerome Bonaparte. He took possession of his estate 
in Carroll County, containing about three thousand 
acres of land, in 1824, and made it his home until the 
time of his death, which occurred Nov. 19, 1869, in 
bis seventy-fourth year. He was possessed of consid- 
erable wealth, and was largely engaged in importing 
and raising improved stock. He was an extensive ex- 
hibitor at the agricultural fairs held in the State before 
the beginning of the late war, but never competed 
for premiums, taking pride only in adding to the in- 
terest of the show by the presence of his fine ani- 
mals. His immense farm was called " Springfield," and 
was situated near Sykesville. He was an esteemed 
citizen, and his death was lamented by a large circle 
of friends and acquaintances. 

Springfield is one of the most admirable and com- 
plete farming establishments in Maryland. It is sit- 
uated a short distance from the Sykesville Station, on 
the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad, and contains about 
two thousand acres of land, fifteen hundred of which 
in 1870 were under cultivation. It is furnished 



with a flour-mill, saw mill, and a comfortable country- 
house, with room enough for the uses of home and 
the claims of a generous hospitality, with lawns, or- 
chards, and outhouses of every description and vari- 
ety. It is high, healthy, rich, well watered and 
wooded. 

More than forty years of Mr. Patterson's life were 
spent in changing this excellent homestead from " :. 
naked surface, incapable almost of cultivation," to a 
rich, highly-cultivated farm. " Time and grass were 
at the bottom of all" his achievements in this respect. 
Every field has had two hundred bushels of lime to 
the acre, and each " passed six years of nine in grass." 
The great pa.sture, in full view from the front door of 
the dwelling, has not been broken for many years, and 
being constantly pastured by the beautiful Devons, 
has grown richer and richer, and grasses native and 
exotic strive there lor the mastery. 

His system of farming was first corn, manured on 
sod broken deeply, and yielding an average of twelve 
barrels to the acre. This was followed by a crop of 
oats, and then two years of clover. Next a crop of 
wheat, on which ammoniated phosphate was used 
for the purpose of ripening the crop. At the time 
the wheat was sown the field was set to gra.ss for 
hay, and for three years after the wheat crop was 
taken off mown, and the next year grazed. Manure 
was applied during the last year and the sod again 
broken for corn, beginning the regular nine years' 
course. 

Mr. Patterson raised Berkshire hogs instead ot 
Chester, Southdown, and Shropshire sheep, and game 
chickens instead of fancy fowls. His stock of horses 
was unsurpassed. Many Marylanders will long re- 
member Mr. Patterson's stout, well-proportioned, 
powerful, and active horses at the State fairs. 

Under the cultivation of Mr. Patterson, Springfield 
became the most celebrated, and was truly what he 
designed it should be, the model farm of Maryland. 
He erected his mansion on an eminence overlook- 
ing the farm and surrounding country. It is one 
hundred and seventy-five feet front by fifty feet deep. 
The front has a two-story porch supported by pillars. 
The house, which is somewhat classical in style, is 
unique in its arrangements and a perfect country 
home. The iron and copper-mines upon this prop- 
erty, discovered in 1850, were profitably worked until 
1861, and more recently leased to Graff, Bennett & 
Co., of Pittsburg, and Read, Stickney & Co., of Bal- 
timore, who have begun operations with indications of 
valuable results. " Springfield Farm" is distinctively 
noted for its Devon cattle, Mr. Patterson having made, 
in 1817, the first importation of thoroughbred Devons 



874 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



into the United States, through his brother Robert, 
and as a present from Mr. Coke, afterwards Earl of 
Leicester.^ The following were his importations in 
order, as recorded in the " Devon Herd-Book" : Bulls, 
Anchises, No. 140 ; Eclipse, No. 191 ; Herod, No. 
214; Norfolk, No. 266; Chatsworth, No. 182; Dick 
Taylor, No. 486 ; the President, Nos. 639 and 904. 
From these most of the Devon herds of this country 
are descended. 

George Patterson married Prudence A. Brown, the 
daughter of Thomas C. and sister of Stephen T. C. 
Brown, who survives him and lives in Baltimore. 
Their only child, Florence, married James Carroll, of 
Charles. She died in 1878, much lamented. After 
Mrs. Carroll's death, Mrs. Patterson and Mr. Carroll 
decided to sell " Springfield" to Frank Brown, which 
was done in 1880. Mr. Brown inherited the estate 
known as " Brown's Inheritance" from his father, 
Stephen T. C. Brown. The land had been brought 
to the highest state of cultivation by Mr. Brown's 
father and his grandfather, Thomas C. Brown, and is 
one of the best farms in the State. He combined the 
two farms, and has since been actively engaged in 
cultivating and improving the whole estate. As con- 
solidated, his farm now contains two thousand five 
hundred acres, and is not surpassed in point of culti- 
vation by any in the State. Mr. Brown has not only 
maintained the reputation of Devon cattle, but has 
even improved it. 

It will be seen that these two farms have been 
blended together from their origin in the close alli- 
ance of the families of their respective owners. 

Frank Brown, proprietor of the one farm by in- 
heritance and of the other by purchase, is the only 
son and heir of the late Stephen T. C. and Susan 
Bennett Brown. He was born Aug. 8, 1846, on 
" Brown's Inheritance." The ancestor of the family in 
this country was Abel Brown, who emigrated from 
Dumfries, Scotland, to near Annapolis, Md., in 1730 ; 
he removed later to this part of Carroll (then Balti- 
more County), and purchased a large tract of land 
adjoining Springfield. This he brought to a high 
state of cultivation ; it came into the possession of 
Elias Brown, Sr., who erected a stone saw and flour- 
mill, the corner-stone of which bears the date of 1798. 
He was a prominent citizen, and actively participated 
in civil affairs. He had four sons, — Thomas Cockey, 
Elias, Jr., William, and Stephen, — all of whom served 
in the war of 1812. Elias Brown, Jr., became promi- 
nent in the State, was a member of the United States 

1 "American Devon Herd-Book," vol. iii , and old Americayi 
Farmer, vol. iv. p. 29. 



Congress, and a Democratic Presidential elector a 
number of times. Thomas C. Brown inherited the 
estate, a division of which having been made, William 
Patterson, of Baltimore (the distinguished merchant 
and citizen, one of the organizers of the Baltimore and 
Ohio Railroad, the father of Robert, George, Joseph, 
Edward, Henry, and Elizabeth Patterson, ^ — Madame 
Bonaparte), purchased a portion which contributed 
largely to make up his " Springfield" estate. Thomas 
C. Brown married Susan Snowden, a descendant of 
Baptiste Snowden, of St. Mary's County, Md., who had 
remoyed to the vicinity on a farm which he called 
Branton, on which he built a house of cut straw and 
clay, still standing in a good state of preservation. 
Col. Francis Snowden, the son of Baptiste, married 
Miss Miles, of St. Mary's, and these are the maternal 
great-grandparents of the subject of this sketch. The 
children of Thomas C. Brown were Lewis, Prudence 
A., the widow of George Patterson, and Stephen T. 
C, the father of Frank Brown. 

Stephen T. C. was born in 1820, reared on the 
"Inheritance," and in 1842 married Susan Bennett; 
was a member of the State Legislature, one of the 
original subscribers to the Maryland Agricultural 
College, a most useful citizen, a representative man 
and agriculturist of the country. He was an ofiicial 
and leading member of the Springfield Presbyterian 
Church, which was established and supported by him 
and George Patterson, and whose edifice and parson- 
age were erected by their combined efforts. Mr. 
Brown was a man of decided character, strong con- 
victions, benevolent spirit and works, Christian con- 
sistency and activity, and universally esteemed. He 
died in December, 1876. 

Frank Brown is the only son of the last mentioned. 
At the age of eighteen his father gave him a farm, 
well stocked and furnished, adjoining the homestead, 
which he successfully managed for several years. He 
entered the agricultural implement and seed-house of 
R. Sinclair & Co., of Baltimore, where he received 
valuable training, of practical use in his after-years. 
He was later placed in charge of the Patterson estates 
in Baltimore, which he managed to the satisfaction of 
the heirs. He was subsequently appointed by Gov- 
ernor Bowie to a responsible place in one of the State 
tobacco warehouses, which position he held for six 
years. In 1875 he was elected to the House' of 
Delegates, Maryland Assembly, and in 1878 re- 
elected. His success was a gratifying proof of the 
public confidence in him. At the close of his second 
term he withdrew from political affairs, the care of 
"Springfield" and the Patterson interests having de- 
volved upon him after his father's death, who for six 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



875 



years subsequent to George Patterson's demise had 
the management of them. This was a task requiring 
the exercise of financial wisdom and good executive 
ability, but Mr. Frank Brown has been equal to these 
great responsibilities. Naturally endowed with busi- 
ness capacity, his early experience fitted him for the 
management of his trusts. Like his father, he, too, 
takes a lively interest in the aifaiis of the county and 
his vicinity, and in many respects supplies his place. 
He was elected a trustee of Springfield Presbyterian 
Church, to fill the vacancy caused by his father's 
death. He was also made trustee under Mrs. James 
Carro.l's {nie Florence Patterson) will, for her legacy 
to the church of five thousand dollars. He is one of 
the executive committee of the Maryland State Agri- 
cultural Association, and a director of the Maryland 
Live-Stock Breeders' Association. At the late tenth 
annual meeting of the Maryland Agricultural and 
Mechanical Association, held Oct. 27, 1881, he was 
elected its president. 

Mr. F. Brown married (December, 1879) Mary 
R. Preston, nee Miss Ridgely, daughter of David 
Ridgely, of Baltimore. They reside on the farm 
during summer and in Baltimore during the winter. 

Below is given a list of persons in Freedom Dis- 
trict in 1879 who had reached the age of eighty 
years. The names of twenty-two persons are given, 
whose ages amount to 1881 years, or an average of 
eighty-five and a half years : 

Mrs. Jane C. Smith, 83; Joshua Hipsley, 81; Mrs. Bebecca 
Hiltabidle, 84 ; Daniel Gassaway (colored), SS ; Mrs. P. Wilson, 
84; Samuel Jordan, 84; Mrs. E. Ware, 83; Nathaniel Rich- 
ardson, 86; Jacob Beem, 86; Rev. Dr. Piggot, 84; J. Linton, 
83; Mrs. Matilda Phillips, 84; George Hay wrath, 82; Nathan 
Porter, 85 ; Mrs. Susanna Warfield, 83 ; Sebastian Bowers, Sr., 
86; Ruth Shipley, 99; James Morgan, 85; Ruth Frizzle, 94; 
P. Diens (colored), 90 ; Kate Philips, 85 ; Susan Dixon (colored), 
85. 

Defiance, a small village, is situated on the western 
edge of the district. Horace L. Shipley here has a 
store, formerly kept by his father, Larkin Shipley, a 
son of John Shipley, one of the oldest settlers. 

St. Stephen's Lodge, No. 95, I. 0. O. F., located 
at Defiance, was instituted in May, 1857. Its charter 
members were Jesse Leatherwood, Larkin Shipley, 
Dr. Francis J. Crawford, Abraham Greenwood, Han- 
son Leatherwood. Its first officers were : 
N. G., Jesse Leatherwood ; V. G., Larkin Shipley ; Sec, Dr. 
F. J. Crawford ; Treas., Hanson Leatherwood. 

Its present officers (second term, 1881) are : 

N. G., John W. Pickett; V. G., F. L. Criswell; Sec, Augustus 
Brown ; Per. Sec, Thomas L. Shipley ; Treas., C. R. Pickett; 
Con., T. N. Shipley; Chapl., Dr. D. F. Shipley; .Marshal, 
A. Brown; AVarden, David H. Haines; Dist. Dep., Horace 
L. Shipley. 



Its neat frame hall, forty-four by twenty-two feet, 
was built in 1880. The trustees are John H. Cono- 
way, William H. Pickett, F. L. Criswell. Number 
of members, seventy. 

Bethesda Methodist Episcopal church is situated 
north of the hamlet of " Pleasant Gap." It is a sub- 
stantial brick structure, erected in 1880. Immedi- 
ately in its rear is the old log church, in which ser- 
vices were held from 1810, the date of its erection, 
until the completion of the new church in 1880. 
The graveyard adjoining contains the following inter- 
ments : 

Ruth, wife of James Parish, died July 24, 1875, aged 60. 

Vachel Buckingham, died Sept. 4, 1866, aged 76; and bis 
wife, Eleanor, Feb. S, 1871, aged 71. 

Prudence A. Lindsay, died Jan. 3, 1879, aged 63 ; John A. 
Lindsay, died Jan. 10, 1877, aged 64. 

Eliza J., wife of Andrew Wheeler, died Jan. 6, 1878, aged 19. 

Henry S. Buckingham, died March 26, 1872, aged 43. 

Ellen Nora Elizabeth, wife of Richard M. Chenoweth, died 
Nov. 13, 1863, aged 22. 

Ann, wife of Joseph Willis, died Sept. 7, 1865, aged 88. 

Elizabeth, wife of Grove Shipley, born Sept. 11, 177B, and 
died July 8) 1854; and her husband, born April 4, 1776, died 
Oct. 20, 1849. 

Louisa, wife of Grove Shipley, Jr., died June 21, 1846, aged 
42. 

James Parish, born April 15, 1773, died March 29, 1853. 

Kiturah Parish, died June 1, 1848, aged 76. 

Thomas Barnes, died Feb. 29, 1860, aged 43. 

Array Parish, wife of Moses Parish, and daughter of Richard 
and Array Condon, died Nov. 29, 1861, aged 62. Moses Parish, 
born Sept. 6, 1795, died April 27, 1862; and his wife, Micha, 
daughter of Grove and Elizabeth Shipley, died Sept. 21, 1839, 
aged 43. 

Nicholas Shipley, born Jan. 28, 1805, died Jan. 15, 1837. 

Sarah Shipley, born Nov. 20, 1797, died Jan. 22, 1873. 

Sarah, wife of William A. Gibson, died March 12, 1873, aged 
39. 

William Baker, born April 27, 1806, died July 20, 1876. 

Enoch Baker, died June 27, 1864, aged 97 ; and Mary, his 
wife, July 8, 1863, aged 87. , 

Elizabeth, wife of Samuel Hughes, died May 1, 1854, aged 31. 

Hannah, wife of Reese Brown, born Sept. 19, 1789, died Sept. 
29, 1864. 

John Beard, born Aug. 24, 1789, died Aug. 23, 1859. 

James W. Parish, died June 1.3, 1871, aged 50. 

Elizabeth, wife of John W. Parish, born March 25, 1830, 
died April 24, 1878. 

The Methodist Protestant church, built about 1840, 
is just south of " Pleasant Gap." It is a frame struc- 
ture, originally built of logs, and then weather-boarded. 
It has one gallery, and is two stories high. In the 
wraveyard adjoining are only a few graves, among 
which is that of Abraham, son of Nicholas and Mary 
J. Wilson, born April 12, 1867, died Jan. 2, 1872. 
Most of them have no tombstones. 

Nathan Manro was born in the State of Rhode 
Island, Sept. 29, 1730, and was married, Nov. 21, 



876 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



1750, to Miss Hannah Allen, of that State. She was 
born April 14, 1733. Their children were Hannah, 
Sarah, Elizabeth, Squire, Lydia, Nathan, Mary, Jona- 
than, David, Allen, and Thomas. Of these, Jona- 
than, the eighth child, was born Nov. 28, 1766, and 
came to Maryland from near Providence, R. I., with 
his brother Nathan, who died in 1827. Jonathan 
settled in Baltimore, and became a rich and prosper- 
ous merchant. He owned several ships that were en- 




gaged in the London and West India trade. He was 
married, Jan. 15, 1795, to Sarah Conner, daughter of 
James Conner, and died Jan. 22, 1818. They had 
thirteen children, of whom two survive, Mrs. Dr. 
TurnbuU, of Baltimore, and Jud_i;e George W. Manro. 
The latter was born in Baltimore, March 22, 1810, 
and was liberally educated in the schools of that city. 
He followed the high seas for ten years on merchant 
vessels owned by his father, and served as second mate 
under Capt. James Beard. Before he quit the seas 
he had command of the ship " Ocean," owned by the 
Osgoods. In 1837 he removed to the farm on which 
he now resides, and which was a part of the lands 



purchased at an early date by his mother's father, 
James Conner. Mr. Conner owned six hundred and 
three acres, made up of tracts surveyed and patented 
to Samuel Sewell and Joshua Glover. One of these, 
" Buck's Park," was surveyed for Samuel Sewell, 
April 16, 1759, for fifty acres. Another, " Sewell's 
Park,' of twenty acres, was surveyed March 17, 1745, 
and another, of one hundred and twenty-one acres, 
" Buck's Park," at another date. " William's Neg- 
lect," of thirteen and three-fourths acres, was surveyed 
for Joshua Glover, Dec. 9, 1795. Judge Manro was 
married, Oct. 26, 1837, to Elizabeth Kelly, daughter 
of William and Martha (Loveall) Kelly, by Rev. 
Samuel Gore. Her brother, Nicholas Kelly, was the 
first sheriff of Carroll County. Judge Manro was 
one of the first magistrates appointed in the new 
county of Carroll, and held this ofiice for a long term 
of years. He was appointed one of the judges of 
the Orphans' Court in 1848, and served three years, 
and was elected in 1851 for the term of four years, 
according to the provisions of the new constitution 
adopted that year. He was elected in 1867 one of 
the six members from this county to the Constitu- 
tional Convention, and aided in framing the organic 
law under which Maryland is now governed. Id 
1868 he was appointed by Governor Oden Bowie 
inspector of tobacco, which position he held several 
years. At present he is collector of taxes. Both on 
the bench and in all other public positions held by 
Judge Manro, his administration of affairs has been 
characterized by the ability, purity, and suavity of 
manner that has ever distinguished his life, and has 
made him a popular and valued public servant. He 
is a zealous member of the Masonic order, in which, 
i over thirty years ago, he received its first three de- 
' grees. He has been a lifelong Democrat, devoted to 
the interests of his party, to which, under all vicissi- 
tudes, he has strongly adhered, and to whose counsels 
he ever gave his voice, and for the success of which 
! his vote was always freely given. He is connected 
with the Methodist Episcopal Church South at Free- 
dom, in the erection of whose church edifice in 1868 
he liberally contributed, and was chairman of its 
building committee. The judge resides on his 
splendid farm of three hundred and one acres, lo- 
cated a mile north of Eldersburg, where he and his 
accomplished lady dispense old-fashioned Maryland 
hospitality. The name of his estate is " Buck's 
Park," called after two of the original surveys made 
of the grant. 

Freedom. — The village of Freedom is four miles 
from Sykesville, and adjacent to Morgan's Run and i, 
Piney Falls. It is situated on land belonging to Mr. I 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



877 



O'Donald, a very large landed proprietor in this dis 
trict at an early date. O'Donald, in laying out the 
village, gave the alternate lots to those who purchased 
lots, and his liberality and /reedom in his transactions 
gave the name to the village, and when the district 
was organized, in 1837, it took its name from the vil- 
lage, which was founded shortly after the Revolution. 
The residence of Dr. Joseph W. Steele, a log structure 
weather-boarded, was built about 1769, and during 
the Revolution and until a few years ago was occupied 
as a tavern. John Little kept it for many year.s. 
The village is on the old Liberty road, built in olden 
times by convicts, but before its construction there 
was an older road, which ran back of Dr. Steele's resi- 
dence (the old tavern). The Berret family is an old 
one in this region, and its first head here was a Hayti 
refugee, who married a daughter of O'Donald, the 
great land-owner. Mary E. Wadlow is postmistress, 
and J. Wadlow & Sons, merchants. J. Oliver Wad- 
low, the popular and efficient register of wills of Car- 
roll County, resides here. 

The physician of the town is Dr. Joseph W. Steele, 
who has been engaged in the practice of his profession 
at this point since 1856. He was born near the vil- 
lage, March 6, 1831 (also the day of the birth of J. 
Oliver Wadlow), and is, on his father's side, of Irish 
extraction. His grandfather was John Steele, who 
taught school and kept store at an early date a few 
miles distant (now in Franklin District). John 
Steele met for the first time his future wife, Mary 
Hays, during the Revolution, at the tavern in Free- 
dom at a social party. The doctor's grandmother on 
his maternal side was a Gore, one of the oldest sei;- 
tlers, and his wife was Margaret J. Smith, a descend- 
ant of the earliest settlers of Baltimore Town. Where 
the village stands the only house for many years was 
the old tavern, whose high mantels and unique hand- 
carving betoken its great age. Dr. Nathan Browne, 
who lived near here and died in 1873, was a cele- 
brated physician. He was born on the Eastern Shore 
of Maryland, and was distinguished for his philan- 
thropy. He never married, and lived with his be- 
loved nieces. He was a State senator from 1867 to 
1871, and held other positions of great trust. He 
practiced here forty-five years. 

Dr. W. M. Hines resides just west of the village. 
Dr. Hines has steadily practiced medicine in Car- 
roll County since 1846, save for a period of three 
years, and it may therefore be easily understood 
that he is pretty well known all over the county 
as well as in adjacent sections. He was born July 
23, 1825, in the town of Liberty, Frederick County. 
There also his father, David, was born. David 
67 



Hines was educated at Georgetown, D. C, and passed 
a busy life as farmer and merchant. Ho owied and 
farmed in early life the valuable tract known as 
" Glade Garden." As a merchant he was prominent 
in Liberty, Frederick, and Baltimore, in which latter 
city he ended his days. His .wife was Jane C, 




daughter of Samuel Marshall. His father, Philip 
Hines, served with considerable distinction in the war 
of the Revolution. The living sons and daughters of 
David Hines are Mrs. Augustus Webster and Mrs. 
Ignatius Gore, of Baltimore, and Dr. Hines, of Car- 
roll County. Dr. Hines passed his early youth at 
Glade Garden farm, and at the age of fifteen was sent 
to Dickinson College, at Carlisle. At the end of four 
years of study he occupied a place in the junior class, 
from which he was forced to retire by reason of ill 
health. A brief rest recuperated his energies, and in 
1844 he began the study of medicine under Dr. Na- 
than R. Smith, one of Baltimore's most distinguished 
surgeons. Young Hines attended lectures at the 
University of Maryland, and graduated at that insti- 
tution in March, 1846. Very soon thereafter he lo- 
cated in Carroll County, near his present home, and 
gave hini.self with such energy and vigorous determi- 
nation to the practice of his profession that he found 
himself in due time in active demand in all the coun- 
try roundabout. His field was a large one, and his 
calls so numerous that for a time in his early experi- 



878 



HTSTOKY OF WESTERN MAEYLAND. 



ence he almost literally lived in the saddle. For a 
period of three years he was coDnected with the United 
Slates custom-house at Baltimore, and for three 
months during the war of 1861-65 was a surgeon 
in the Federal army, with his station at Convent Hos- 
pital, Baltimore. Excepting these absences Dr. Hines 
hns been regularly, in season and out of season, one of 
Carroll County's leading physicians, and now, after a 
practice of thirty six years, is hale, hearty, and vigor- 
ous, and still rides a large circuit and attends upon 
his numerous patients with wellnigh as much brisk- 
ness and ambitious spirit as marked the younger por- 
tions of his career. Like his father before him, he 
was an Old-Line Whig. Later he became and remains 
a Republican. Although alive to the progress of 
political events and deeply interested therein, he has 
steadily from the outset of his manhood's experience 
held consistently aloof from the business of office- 
seeking or office-holding. In 1855 he married Fran- 
ces H., daughter of Rev. Augustus Webster, of Bal- 
timore. Mrs. Hines died Oct. 3, 1877. There are 
three living children, two of them being sons, Augus- 
tus W. and William M. 

Freedom Lodge, A. F. and A. M., No. 112, was 
chartered in 1862, with the following charter mem- 
bers : 

W. M., Warren N. Little; S. W., Dr. Joseph W. Steele; J. W., 
Nicholas L. Rogers; Sec., J. Oliver Wadlow ; Treaa., John 
Deckabaugh. 

The lodge built its hall before obtaining its charter. 
It is a two-story frame building, twenty-four by forty- 
five feet, the lower part being used for a public school. 
Of the fourteen charter members the following are 
living : John Deckabaugh, Thomas Paynter, Lewis 
Ohler, J. Oliver Wadlow, Dr. J. W. Steele, John L. 
Nicholas, and Robert Clark. Its Worshipful Masters 
have been John Deckabaugh, J. Oliver Wadlow, Dr. 
J. W. Steele, Lewis Ohler, and Warren N. Little. 

Officers for 1881 : 

W. M., John Deckabaugh; S. W,, Thomas Paynter; J. W., 
Samuel W. Barnet; Sec, Dr. J. W. Steele; Treas., J. 
Oliver Wadlow. 

It numbers forty-seven Master Masons, two Fellow 
Crafts, and one Entered Apprentice. Dr. J. W. 
Steele has served as Grand Standard Bearer in the 
Grand Lodge. At a single festival this lodge took in 
fourteen hundred dollars, which cleared it of all debts, 
and left a surplus for charitable purposes. 

The Methodist Episcopal church, built in 1822, is 
between Freedom and Eldersburg. It is a handsome 
edifice, displaying considerable architectural taste. 

In its cemetery are the graves of the following per- 
sons : I 



Nicholas Dorsey, died Sept. 9, 1876, aged 60. 

Elizabeth Dorsey, died March 2, 1881, aged 76. 

Samuel Bingham, died Aug. 17, 1876, aged 66. 

Ruth Bingham, died Aug. 27, 1880, aged 72. 

Caroline Brown, born April 15, 1815, died July 17, 1878. 
1 Jesse W. Brandenburg, bom Dec. 19, 1838, died Jan. 9, 1879. 

Caroline, wife of William Cooley, died March 3, 1877, aged 
' 49. 

' Sarah, wife of David Slack, died Feb. 20, 1878, aged 91. 
. Rebecca, wife of William D. Frizzell, born March 17, 1829, 
I died Feb. 25, 1866; and her husband, bom March 7, 1829, died 

March 24, 1875. 
1 John Frizzell, died March 31, 1870, aged 69. 
1 John Wadlow, died Sept. 10, 1854, aged 50 ; and Jemima, his 
wife, April 8, 1872, aged 67. 

Anna Maria Shipley, born Feb. 27, 1775, died Jan. 15, 1857. 
I Frances Hollis, wife of Dr. William M. Hines, died Oct. 3, 
I 1877. 

Achsa, wife of William Scrivener, died April 8, 1872, aged 

;82. 

Israel Frizzell, born March 23, 1807, died Aug. 6, 1876. 
I Stephen R. Gore, born April 1, 1818, died Feb. 25, 1872. 
' Jabez Gore, died Jan. 7, 1851, aged 39. 

Rev. Samuel Gore, died Sept. 4, 1858, aged 75 (a local 
preacher of Methodist Episcopal Church for 50 years) ; and 
Theresa, his wife, born Nov. 20, 1789, died Feb. 29, 1864. 
I Nathan Clark, died Sept. 22, 1852, aged 68. 

Joseph Steele, died Aug. 25, 1855, aged 61 ; and his wife Char- 
lotte, April 22, 1857, aged 58. 

John T. Steele (a Freemason), died Aug. 9, 1863, aged 42. 

Cecilia, wife of William Beam, and third daughter of Matthew 
and Catharine Chambers, born Jan. 24, 1806, died Dec. 18, 
1870. 

Matthew Chambers, died Aug. 15, 1825, aged 52. 

Col. Peter Little, died Feb. 5, 1830, aged 54; and his wife, 
Catharine, July 18, 1867, aged 79. 

Sophia Levely, died Sept. 17, 1845, aged 53. 

Warren Little (a Freemason), born Feb. 29, 1811, died Feb. 
21, 1863. 

John Little, died Sept. 5, 1853, aged 80. 

Mrs. Catharine Steele, eldest daughter of John and Anna 
Little, died April 11, 1865, aged 55. 

David Little, died Aug. 23, 1857, aged 62. 

George Clift, died Feb. 9, 1852, aged 75. 

Elizabeth Clift, died Dec. 30, 1858, aged 94. 

Elizabeth Hines, died May 3, 1867, aged 68. 

Hannah Lindsey, died Aug. 31, 1862, aged 74. 

Joshua Lee, died March 4, 1871, aged 88; and his wife, Su- 
sannah, Nov. 21, 1869, aged 83. 

Jesse Lee, died March 23, 1866, aged 68. 

Thomas Lucy, died July 16, 1853, aged 92. 

Margaret, wife of John Elder, born Jan. 10, 1774, died May 
8, 1849. 

Thomas Bingham, died May 5, 1854, aged 80. 

Mary, wife of John Twemmy, born Aug. 9, 1812, died Jan.. 
21, 1855. 

Julia, wife of William C. Lindsay, died Aug. 6, 1874, aged 
49. 

Honor Lee, wife of Thomas Lee, died June 30, 1853, aged 
64; and her husband, Nov. 5, 1851, aged 75. 

Larkin Fisher, died Feb. 21, 1876, aged 71. 

The corner-stone of the Methodist Episcopal Church 
South, a handsome brick structure, lying between Free- 
dom and Eldersburg, was laid April 13, 1868, when 
Rev. Wm. Etchison was pastor. Judge George W. 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



879 



Manro was chairman of the building committee. Its 
present pastors are Revs. Walters and Martin. 

In the churchyard are buried the following persons : 

John W. Brown, born Oct. 9, 1811, and died March 7, 1877. 

Jemima B., wife of John G. Pearce, born Sept. 14, 1827, died 
Jan. 12, 1875. 

Their son, Elias J., born Feb. 2, 185B, died Aug. 2.S, 1876. 

Jacob Ritter, born Nov. 20, 1804, died Deo. 26, 1870,— de- 
scendant of the earliest Ritter of 1650, — and Elizabeth, his 
wife, born Feb. 17, 1806, died March 23, 1879. 

Juliet Welsh, wife of Luther Welsh, died June 1, 1869, aged 63. 

Ruth, wife of Freeborn Gardner, died March 29, 1870, aged 62. 

Elizabeth, wife of Samuel W. Barnett, died July 7, 1871, aged 
44. 

Cornelius Shipley, died Feb. 3, 1862, aged 61. 

Eldersburg. — The town of Eldersburg, three and a 
half miles from Sykesville and thirty-two from Balti- 
more, was named in honor of John Elder, who laid it 
out before 1800, and who was an early settler, owning 
large tracts of land in the vicinity. It has a lodge of 
I. 0. Good Templars, and Grange No. 139 of Patrons 
of Husbandry, of which N. D. Norris is Master, and 
George M. Prugh, secretary. Among the business 
men of the town are T. A. Barnes, postmaster and 
merchant; Dr. H. C. Shipley, physician; L. H. W. 
Selby, undertaker ; J. & L. H. Selby, millers ; and 
J. Collins, shoemaker. 

Holy Trinity Parish, Protestant Episcopal 
Church, originated on March 8, 1771, when John 
Welch entered into a bond in the penal sum of two 
hundred pounds, English sterling, to convey to Abel 
Brown, Robert Twis, Edward Dorsey, and John Elder 
two acres of land, provided the said persons would build 
a " Chappell of Ease" for the benefit of " Delaware 
Hundred," the name of their election district. The 
church was built (a stone structure), and became a 
part of St. Thomas' Parish, Baltimore County. In the 
lapse of time the congregation thinned out, Episco- 
pal services were no longer held, and the Baptists for 
some years occupied the edifice. After a time the 
Baptists were unable to maintain their congregation, 
and the building was not used for religious services, 
but became the abode of cattle and horses. 

On June 1, 1843, Holy Trinity Parish was formed 
out of St. Thomas', and this ancient building repaired, 
rebuilt, and refurnished, and on Oct. 31, 1843, con- 
secrated anew. The vestrymen then chosen were 
George F. Warfield, Wm. H. Warfield, James Sykes, 
Jesse Hollingsworth, George W. Mauro, John Col- 
hoon, Nicholas Dorsey, and Warner W. W^arfield, and 
the Register, Washington L. Bromley. Its pastors 
and rectors have been : 

1843-47, Rev. D. Hillhouse Buell ; 1847, Rev. Wm. E. Snowden ; 
1848-51, Rev. S. Chalmers Davis ; 1851-69, Rev. Thomas 



J. Wyatt; 1869, Rev. J. Worrall Larraour; Dec. 6, 1869, 
Rev. Robert Pigott, D.D., present rector. 

The officers for 1881 were : Vestrymen, L. W. W. 
Selby, Dr. C. C. Moorehead, Thomas B. Jones, Capt. 
J. W. Bennett, John Grimes, W. B. Shipley, A. Voor- 
hees, John Barnes, Sr., Wm. P. Grimes, and George 
W. Holmes; Wardens, George W. Holmes, John 
Grimes ; Register, Charles B. Favour, Esq. 

In the churchyard the following persons are buried : 

Kate, wife of Z. Hollingsworth, died Sept. 21, 1858. 

Their son, Zebulon, died April 3, 1861, aged 34. 

Elizabeth, wife of Edward Ireland, Jr., died Jan. 19, 1862, 
aged 32. 

Emma E. Luoy, died Nov. 14, 1861, aged 41. 

Barbara, daughter of Andrew and Martha Fite, born July 
16, 1831, died April 7, 1865. 

Jesse Hollingsworth, born March 19, 1800, died April 8, 1872. 

Anna Baker, daughter of Jesse and Sophia Hollingsworth, 
born April 21, 1829, died April 10, 1870. 

George Frascr Warfield, born March 20, 1769, died Dec. 11, 
1849; and his wife Rebecca (daughter of Abel Brown), born 
Dec. 24, 1774, died March 4, 1852. 

William Warfield, born Aug. 3, 1807, died March 26, 1857. 

Augustus Edward Dorsey, died Dec. 9, 1869, aged 60. 

James Soper, died Oct. 10, 1811, aged 45. 

Springfield Presbyterian church, a fine three- 
' story structure, was erected in 1836 by George Pat- 
terson and Stephen T. C. Brown. A few years later 
the parsonage, adjoining, was built. The building has 
been used both as a church and school. The school 
was incorporated as " Springfield Academy" by an act 
of the Legislature passed Jan. 6, 1838. The first 
tru.stees designated in this act were Dr. Hawes Golds- 
borough, Dr. R. D. Hewitt, Dr. Nathan Browne, Eli 
j Hewitt, Nathan Gorsuch, Joseph Steele, and Cornelius 
I Shipley. The last pastor of the church was Rev. 
Charles Beach, who had charge of the academy now 
conducted by his daughters. The pre.sent trustee.s of 
the academy are Frank Brown, Wm. C. Polk, Lewis 
Shultz, Richard J. Baker, Joliner Wadlow, J. 0. 
Devries, Joshua D. Warfield, P. W. Webb, and 
Robert C. McKinney. Miss Florence Patterson, who 
died in 1878, left to the church and academy a be- 
quest of five thousand dollars, which is held by Frank 
Brown in trust for the interests of the church. 

In the graveyard in the rear of the church and 
academy the following persons are buried : 

George Devries, over whom there is erected an elegant Scotch 
granite monument witli simply his name. 

Sarah L., his wife, died Aug. 26, 1877. 

Stephen T. C. Brown, born Nov. 12, 1820, died Dec. 6, 1876. 

Mary, daughter of Stephen T. C. and Susan A. Brown, born 
Aug. 29, 1843, died May 30, 1863. 

Susan, wife of Thomas C. Brown, born Feb. 1, 1791, died 
Sept. 19, 1861. 

Florence, wife of James Carroll, and daughter of George and 



880 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



Prudence A. Patterson, born June 13, 1847, died Oct. 15, 1878 
(resting on her breast was the body of her infant son). 

George Patterson, born Aug. 20, 1796, died Nov. 26, 1869. 

George, son of George and Prudence A. Patterson, born Sept. 
9, 184-1, died Dec. 21,1849. 

Eli Hewitt, died April 10, 1868, aged 62 j and Ann B., his 
wife, Jan. 18, 1859, aged 52. 

Susanna, wife of John L. Nicholas, died July 14, 1862, 
aged 38. 

Nicholas Harry, born in parish Tywardreath, County Corn- 
wall, England, May, 1809, died Feb. 6, 1862. 

Catharine Bucliingham, died Nov. 1, 1875, aged 71. 

Augustus Smith, died June 15, 1862, aged 42. 

Jane, wife of Henry Nicholas, died Aug. 25, 1858, aged 37. 

Sykesville is on the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad, 
thirty-two miles from Baltimore, and by turnpike 
twenty-two, and seventeen from Westminster. It is 
pleasantly located on the West Branch of the Patapsco 
River, which supplies abundance of water for milling 
and other purposes. It is a flourishing town, and a 
large business is done here in lumber, lime, coal, fer- 
tilizers, and general merchandise. It has become a 
favorite resort for the families of Baltimoreans, many 
of whom board at the farm-houses in the neighbor- 
hood during the summer. The town was named after 
James Sykes, son of John Sykes, a famous Baltimore 
merchant. He came here in 1825, and bought a 
thousand acres of land in different tracts, including 
the site of the town, on which at that time the only 
building was a saw- and grist-mill. He replaced the 
old mill by a new and substantial structure in 1830- 
31, and erected a five-story stone hotel to meet the 
requirements of the railroad then built to this place, 
and for a summer resort. It was fifty by seventy- 
four feet in dimensions, and the finest hotel in Mary- 
land outside of Baltimore at that date. In 1837, 
when John Grimes (the present hotel-keeper) came 
here, there were but four or five houses, and John 
Garrett kept the big hotel. In 1845, Mr. Sykes en- 
larged his stone mill and converted it into the 
" Howard Cotton-Factory," and also built large houses 
for his operatives. He carried it on until 1857, em- 
ploying over two hundred hands, when the monetary 
crisis caused his suspension. This factory has not 
been in operation since, except for a short time, when 
run by L. A. Purennet and Miller for a year or so, I 
and for a brief period during the war by James A. 
Gary on certain lines of manufactured goods. Mr. 
Sykes died in the spring of 1881, universally esteemed ! 
and respected. The oldest house standing is a log I 
hut occupied by George Collins. The first house I 
built on the site of the town was carried off by the j 
flood of 1868, which did immense damage, sweeping j 
away many buildings, including the large hotel then 
kept by John Grimes, and the store of Zimmerman I 



& Shultz. This firm lost all their goods, and also 
their iron safe with its contents of money, books, etc. 
The safe was never found. The first physician to 
settle here was Dr. Array Owings in 1846. J. M. 
Zimmerman is postmaster, railroad and express agent, 
and Dr. C. C. Moorhead, the physician of the neigh- 
borhood. Messrs. Zimmerman & Shultz, merchants, 
came here from Frederick in 1858, and have built 
up an immense trade, having been very success- 
ful in business. After being washed out by the great 
freshet in 1868 they built another fine stone house 
across the street and opposite their old place of 
business. John McDonald & Co. erected their ele- 
gant stone store in 1865, and have an extensive 
trade. Samuel R. Duvall has just completed a large 
building, where he carries on a big business in agri- 
cultural implements, hardware, etc. Messrs. Zimmer- 
man & Shultz own the mill property and factory 
formerly belonging to Mr. Sykes. All these houses, 
together with the Methodist Episcopal and Episcopal 
churches, are on the Howard County side of the 
river. E. M. Mellor is also engaged in the merchan- 
dise business. When Mr. Sykes came to this spot 
in 1825 there were only three houses or buildings, 
including the mill, but to-day the population is over 
four hundred. 

The Methodist Episcopal church, a handsome stone 
edifice, was erected in 1878 on a very high eminence 
overlooking the town. It has stained windows and 
a well-toned bell. It was built under the pastorate of 
Rev. C. W. Baldwin, who was in charge from 1878 
to 1879. His successor. Rev. T. M. West, remained 
from 1879 to 1881, when the present incumbent. 
Rev. A. J. Gill, entered upon the discharge of his 
duties as pastor. The Sunday-school superintendent 
is J. E. Gaither. 

Previous to the erection of the church building in 
1878 the congregation held its services in a large 
frame building opposite the cotton-factory. 

St. Joseph's Catholic church, a handsome structure, 
is near the depot, and on a beautiful site. It was 
begun before the war, and completed in 1867. Its 
pastor is Father League, of Woodstock College, and 
the congregation is large and zealous. 

The Protestant Episcopal church in Holy Trinity 
Parish was built in 1850, on June 11th of which 
year the corner-stone was laid. Its rector then was 
Rev. S. Chalmers Davis, who, in 1851, was succeeded 
by Rev. Thomas J. Wyatt, who continued to 1869, 
during which year Rev. J. Worrall Larmour officiated 
a few months. The present rector, the learned and 
venerable Robert Pigot, D.D., came to the parish 
Dec. 6, 1869. The church edifice is a substantial 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



881 



stone structure of imposing architecture, and located 
on the Howard County side, with a fine view of the 
whole town. The list of its officers is given above, 
being the same as those in charge of the Eldersburg 
Church, which with this forms Holy Trinity Parish, 
made out of St. Thomas' in 1843. Its rector, Rev. 
Dr. Pigot, was born May 20, 1795, in New York 
City. His father was a native of Chester, England, 
came to America a soldier in the king's army, and 
was present, Sept. 13, 1759, at the battle of Quebec, 
under Gen. Wolfe, where he witnessed that famous 
commander's victory and death. He located after 
the close of the French and Indian war in New York 
City, where before and after the Revolution he was a 
successful school-teacher. During the French and 
Indian war he was one of the secretaries of Lord 
Amherst, the commander of all the king's forces in 
America. 

The doctor's family was founded in England by 
Pigot, Baron of Boorne, in Normandy, one of the 
forty knights who accompanied William the Con- 
queror. An elder branch settled at Chetwynd Park 
and EdgemoDt, in Shropshire, where it yet continues, 
another possessed Doddeshall Park, in Bucks, and the 
third removed to Ireland. Its arms were — sanguine — 
three pickaxes — argent crest — a greyhound, passant, 
sable ; mottoes, lahore et virtute, and conanti dehi- 
tum ; seats, Archer Lodge, Sherfield upon Lodden 
Hants, and Banbury, Oxford.shire. On the maternal 
line, Dr. Pigot is descended from Cerdic, a Saxon 
prince, who invaded England 495 and 519 B.C. He 
was brought up in the church, and ordained Nov. 23, 
1823, by Bishop White. He came to Maryland from 
Pennsylvania in 1837, and was made rector of North 
Sassafras, Cecil Co. In 1840 he became rector of 
Grace Church, Elkridge Landing, and EUicott Chapel, 
Anne Arundel County. In 1842 ho was chosen 
principal of Darlington Academy, and in 1844, mis- 
sionary and rector of Redemption Church, in Balti- 
more, to which, in 1845, was added Cranmer Chapel. 
In 1847 he was made professor in Newton Univer- 
sity of Baltimore, in 1850 was city missionary. In 
1855 he was an assistant in the University of Mary- 
land, and chancellor of the Protestant University. 
His first rectorship was St. Mark's, Lewistown, Pa., 
from 1825 to 1828. In 1869 he came to Holy Trin- 
ity Parish, and on March 30, 1870, his house burned 
down, and he lost by the fire the church register, all 
his literary labors for fifty-three years, and all his ser- 
mons for forty-seven. This venerable divine is one of 
the oldest Freemasons in America, having received 
the three first degrees in Masonry in 1824. Since 
then he has taken all the degrees to and including the 



thirty-second. He belongs to the Maryland Com- 
mandery. No. 1, of Baltimore, from which he was 
the recipient of a splendid sword, presented to him as 
a Sir Knight. A handsome Masonic medal, bearing 
date of his initiation into the order (1824), was also 
presented to him, with the Latin inscription, " Tolle 
cnicem et coronam." He has repeatedly, and for 
many years, served as chaplain in various Masonic 
organizations and bodies, both in Pennsylvania and 
Maryland. 

Another noted family connected with Holy Trinity 
Parish since its establishment in 1843 is that of the 
Warfields. Richard Warfield, a native of Wales, 
came to this country in 1638, and pitched his tent 
nine miles from Annapolis, Md., at a place now known 
as the " Black Horse Tavern." His second son was 
Alexander, whose third son was Hazel Warfield. 
The latter was twice married. By his first wife were 
born Henry Warfield, a member of Congress, Dr. 
Charles Alexander Warfield, Dr. Peregrine Warfield, 
Dr. Gustavus Warfield ; and by his second wife, 
George Frazer Warfield and Sally Waters, of Ten- 
nessee, whose daughter married Dr. Robinson, who 
was the father of the wife of Judge Henning, of 
New Orleans, whose daughter married Gen. Hood, of 
the Confederate army. Dr. Charles A. Warfield 
was a stanch patriot (as were all the Warfields) in 
the Revolution, and was a lieutenant in the Conti- 
nental army. He was with the party which boarded 
the British vessel " Peggy Stewart" and burned her 
with her cargo of tea at Annapolis George Frazer 
Warfield was born March 20, 1769, in Baltimore, 
and became a noted merchant of that city. In 
1834 he removed to his country-seat, " Groveland," 
in the vicinity of Sykesville, where he died Dec. 11, 
1809. His wife was Rebecca Brown, daughter of 
Abel Brown, and a sister of ex-Congressman Blias 
Brown. She was born near Sykesville, Dec. 24, 
1774, and died March 4, 1852. The Warfield family 
was largely instrumental in creating the parish of 
Holy Trinity, rebuilding the church edifice at Elders- 
burg, and building the one at Sykesville, and three of 
its members, William H., George F., and Warner W., 
were members of the first vestry in 1843. George 
Frazer Warfield's children were Lewis, George F., 
Warner W., William H. (of United States army), 
Susanna, Rebecca, married to Richard Holmes, and 
Elizabeth, married to Mr. Wade, a lawyer of Massa- 
chusetts. Miss Susanna Warfield lives at " Grove- 
land" with her nephew, George W. Holmes. She was 
born in 1794, and is a well-preserved lady of the old 
school, — dignified and courtly, paying great attention 
to current events, and specially interested in the 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



church. George Frazer Warfield was one of the de- 
fenders of Baltimore, and named his country-seat 
" Groveland" at the suggestion of Miss Bentley, a 
sister of his son Georges wife. " Aunt Harvey," a 
sister of Abel Brown, and aunt to Mrs. George Frazer 
Warfield, was murdered by the Indians near Harper's 
Ferry, while on her way to the West, about 1775, 
and one of Abel Brown's brothers was killed under 
Braddock at this unfortunate general's defeat. 

In the Protestant Episcopal graveyard there are a 
few interments, among which are the following: 

James Berry, died Sept. 13, 1865, aged 78. 

JIamie E.. daughter of John K. and Racbol A. Mellor, born 
Oct. 17, 1869, died Feb. 26, 1872. 

Ida Helena, daughter of William L. and Ann E. Long, born 
Oct. 20, 1867, died Jsin. .31, 1869. 

Margaret, wife of William Dean, died Feb. U, 1858, aged 
68. 

Catharine H., wife of William H. Hooper, died Feb. 3, 1854, 
aged 31. 

Mary Sill, died March 26, 1863, aged 57. 

Fanny Isiibel, born July 27, 1814, died Oct. 24, 1876. 

Marcellus Warfield, died June 3, 1855, aged 35. 

Warner W. Warfield, born March 20, 1788, died July 28, 
1867. 

Elba furnace lies just below Sykesville, but has not 
been worked since the flood of 1868. It was opened 
and operated years ago by the Tysons. 

Elias Brown, a son of Abel Brown, one of the first 
settlers and largest landed proprietors of the district, 
died July 3, 1857. He was a Presidential elector for 
Monroe in 1820, and for Gen. Jackson in 1828, and 
in 1824 his brother, William Brown, was also a 
Presidential elector for Jackson in the great quadruple 
contest. Elias Brown was for several years a member 
of Congress. He was a delegate to the State Con- 
stitutional Convention of 1851, and a member of the 
House of Delegates from Carroll County in 1849. 
He had frequently represented Baltimore County in 
the Legislature before the creation of Carroll County 
in 18,37. 

Col. Peter Little was born in 1776, and died Feb. 
5, 1830. He was of a family that settled in the dis- 
trict before 1765. Ho was at one time a member of 
Congress from the Baltimore district, and an active 
and zealous oflacer in the militia. He served with 
honor in the war of 1812. 

Porter's is a small village on the Liberty road, six 
miles from Sykesville, and near Piney Run, and de- 
rives its name from an old family which settled in the 
vicinity many years ago. Branchburg's Methodist 
Protestant church is near the hamlet. Mrs. M. E. 
Trenwith is postmistress, and keeps the only store in 
the place. 

Hood's Mills is on the Baltimore and Ohio Rail- 



road, thirty-four miles from Baltimore, and fifteen from 
Westminster. It was named after the Hood family, as 
one of them, James Hood, and John Grimes erected the 
famous mills in 1845. Winfield S. Robb is postmas- 
ter, railroad and express agent, and keeps the only 
store. Watson Methodist Episcopal chapel is near 
here. Gen. J. M. Hood, the estimable president of 
the Western Maryland Railroad, was born and raised 
here, and Charles W. Hood, a successful land surveyor 
in his early life, died in the vicinity, Jan. 19, 1877, 
aged sixty years. 

Morgan is on the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad, 
thirty-four miles from Baltimore, and near the Pa- 
tapsco River. John A. Dushane, of Baltimore, has 
an extensive paper-mill here, giving employment to a 
number of persons, and manufacturing all grades of 
paper. George F. Jones is the superintendent of the 
paper-mill, postmaster, and railroad agent. 

Woodbine, — This station is on the Baltimore and 
Ohio Railroad, thirty-seven miles from Baltimore, and 
near the Patapsco River. Morgan chapel (Methodist 
Episcopal) is near the village. A. Owings is post- 
master and railroad agent. E. A. Owings and Mrs. 
H. A. Ways are the store-keepers. J. A. Albaugh 
keeps the hotel, and J. M. Baker has charge of the 
mill. The Warfield family in America is of Welsh 
descent. The first representative was Richard War- 
field, an emigrant from Wales, who came to this coun- 
try in 1637 and settled nine miles from Annapolis, at 
a place now called " Black Horse Tavern." A de- 
scendant of this emigrant was Charles A. Warfield, 
of Howard County, whose son, Charles A., married 
Julianna Owings and resided near Lisbon, in that 
county. Of their six children, — five sons and one 
daughter, — the next to the youngest was Charles A., 
born Oct. 16, 1836, in Howard County, near Sykes- 
ville. He was raised on his father's farm, a mile and 
a half from the Carroll County line, and was early 
inured to labor by tilling the soil and taking care of 
the stock on the farm. He received a good education 
in the English branches at the public schools of the 
neighborhood. In December, 1862, he removed to 
Freedom District, and purchased one hundred and 
sixty-two acres of land of George Wethered. This 
is the splendid farm he now owns, and to which the 
previous owner, Mr. Wethered, a soldier in the Mex- 
ican war, gave the romantic name of " Chihuahua," a 
name it still retains. Mr. Warfield was married, Nov. 
16, 1864, to Caroline A. Devries, daughter of Chris- 
tian and Jemima Devries, near Marriottsville. Their 
son. Wade Hampton Devries Warfield, was born Oct. 
7, 1865. Mr. Warfield's farm is three-fourths of a 
mile north of Sykesville, in a fertile country, sur- 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



883 



rounded by picturesque scenery. His mansion is an 

elegant tliree-story frame building, delightfully located 
on an eminence, with pleasant surroundings of lofty 
trees and beautiful shrubbery. In the heated term 
during the summer months he entertains summer 
boarders from the cities, who find his place a delight- 
ful resort. He is specially engaged iu dairying, and 
sends a daily average of forty-five gallons of milk to 
"Olive Dairy," Pennsylvania Avenue, Baltimore. 
He was one of the first in this section to embark in 
this business, and his dairy is the largest in this 
region, "save that on the Frank Brown estate. His 
family and himself are attendants on the Springfield 
Presbyterian Church. He is a Democrat in politics, 
but has never held or sought office. His farm is in an 
excellent state of cultivation, and its buildings, fences, 
and general improvements indicate the best qualities 
of a thorough and successful farmer, while the tidi- 
ness and order of the house betoken rare domestic 
graces in his estimable wife. 

Below is given the vote for local officers in the dis- 
trict from 1851 to 1861, inclusive: 

1851. — Vote for Primary School Commissioner : John Warden 
182, L. Gardner 91, John W. Wadlow 110. 

1353. — For Justices: Jesse HoUingsworth 201, Alex. Gillis 
200, William Tensfield 215; Constables: L. H. Boring 
200, Aaron Gosnell 199; Road Supervisor, Reuben Cono- 
way 221. 

1855. — For Justices: R. Conoway 310, N. D. Norris 312, 
N. H. Jenkins 312; Constables: W. C. Lindsay 310, 
J. H. Conoway 310; Road Supervisor, J. HoUingsworth 
310. 

1857. — For Justices: J. Morgan 73, J. Dorsey 13, R. Cono- 
way 289, W. Q. Shipley 293, N. D. Norris 303; Con- 
stables; P. Welsh 12, A. Gosnell 303, W. C. Lindsay 
294; Road Supervisor: A. Evans 12, Joshua Lee 297. 

1859.— For Justices : C. W. Hood 75, James Morgan 61, N. 
D. Norris 285, Larkin Shipley 262, W. G. Shipley 251 ; 
Constables: J. H. Hood 121, W. C. Lindsay 255, Aaron 
Gosnell 243; Road Supervisor : W. H. Harden 160, Brice 
Shipley 249. 

1861.— For Justices: Eli Hewitt, Sr., 397, John T. Ways 396, 
William Tensfield 378, E. Thompson 97, James Morgan 
98, Abel Scrivnor 97 ; Constables : Aaron Gosnell 397, 
AV. 0. Lindsay 389; Road Supervisor: Wesley Day 373, 
0. Buckingham 112. 

The public school trustees Cor 1881 and 1882 were : 

1. Oakland. — Joseph Gist, John Melvin, William Baesman. 

2. Stony Ridge. — John 0. Devries, John Pearce, Austin Ar- 
rington. 

3. Mechaniosville. — No trustees. 

4. Sykesville.— Lewis H. Shultz, S. P. Duvall, Charles R. 
Favar. 

5. Hood's Mills. — Solomon Shoemaker, Zaohariah Wolfe, 
R. C. McKinney. 

6. Brandenburg's. — J. M. Dorsey, Henry Cook, Joseph 
Barnes. 

7. Pleasant Gap.— James H. Shipley, Brice Shipley, Cornelius 
Shipley, 



8. Farver's. — Thomas L. W. Conden, Joseph Wilson, David 
McQuay. 

9. Jenkins. — No appointments. 

10. Woodbine. — George E. Buckingham, Elisha Young, R. 
H. Harrison. 

11. Freedom.— Joseph W. Berret, J. Deckabaugh, Thomas 
Painter. 

1. White Rock (African). — Isaac Dorsey, Wesley Costly, 
Aaron Austin (all colored). 

The teachers for the term ending April 15, 1881, 
were : 

1, Celie E. Gorsuch, 41 pupils; 2, Lizzie A. Bennett, 35 pupils: 
3, C. L. Hughes, 22 pupils: 4, Isabel N. Hale, 51 pupils; 
5, S. Spalding, 26 pupils; 6, Sue M. Matthews, 41 pupils: 
7, Libbie Shipley, 27 pupils; 8, L. A. Koontz, 50 pupils; 
10, M. L. Hoffman, 46 pupils; 11, Minta Shipley, 33 pu- 
pils; 1 (colored school), Emma V. Randolph, 70 pupils. 

MANCHESTER DISTRICT, No. 6. 
Manchester District, the Sixth District of Carroll 
County, is bounded on the north by Pennsylvania, on 
the east by Baltimore County and Hampstead Dis- 
trict, on the south by the districts of Hampstead and 
Westminster, and on the west by Westminster and 
Myers Districts. The principal stream in the district 
is the Gunpowder Falls Creek, which passes through 
the northeastern portion and flows into Baltimore 
County, and which has several small tributaries. Big 
Grave Run has its source in the centre, and flows 
southeast into Baltimore County, and the head-waters 
of Big Pipe Creek and the North Branch of the Pa- 
tapsco take their rise in the district. The population 
of Manchester District was in 1880 three thousand 
five hundred and one. The metes and bounds of 
Manchester District, as laid out by the commission of 
1837, are as follows : 

"Beginning at the forks of the county road leading from 
Westminster to the town of Hampstead and (teorge Richards' 
mill ; thence to the falls of Aspin Run and Long Glade Branch ; 
thence up said branch to the spring near the house of Joseph 
Bowser, deceased ; thence to the spring near the house of John 
Orendorff; thence to the forks of the most northern branch 
of Patapsco Falls and Bosley's Spring Branch, where they 
unite in Wm. Albaugh's meadow ; thence through the farms of 
John Reld and Joshua Bosley, Sr., leaving said Reed and 
Bosley in District No. 6 ; thence to Michael Baker's tavern on 
the Hanover and Baltimore turnpike road, leaving said Baker 
in District No. 6 ; thence across said turnpike east of Shriver's 
tan-yard; thence through the lands of Daniel Caltuder, leaving 
said Caltuder in District No. 6; thence through the lands of 
(Gist's ; thence through the land of ) George Caltuder, deceased, 
and John Wareham, leaving said Caltuder and Wareham in Dis- 
trict No. 8 ; thence to Michael Miller's well on the middle road ; 
thence to Joshua Stansbury's spring, near the house on the Falls 
road; thence through the lands of Hair, leaving said Hair in 
District No. 8; thence to Henry Zimmerman's county road, 
where said road crosses Carroll and Baltimore county line, at a 
blazed hickory-tree ; thence on said county line to the Pennsyl- 
vania line; thence with said line to Rinehart's county road; 
thence with said road to a point nearest to the head spring of 



884 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



Obio Branch ; thence down said branch to vrbere it crosses 
Trump's county road ; thence through Peter Bixler's farm to 
Big Pipe Creeli, where Lawer's Branch unites with Big Pipe 
Creek, leaving said Bixler in District No. 6 : thence up said 
branch to Baughm.an's county road; thence witii said road to 
the mouth of a lane between Royer and German ; thence through 
the farm of Abraham Shaffer, leaving said Shaffer in District 
No, 7 ; thence to the forks of Manchester and Hampstead road ; 
thence to the place of beginning." 

Manchester was made the place of holding the 
polls. 

Among the earliest surveys were " Rattlesnake 
Ridge," of 50 acres, surveyed July 18, 1738, for 
Edward Richards, and patented in 1739 ; " Three 
Brothers," of 300 acres, surveyed Aug. 2, 1746 ; 
"Easenburg," Aug, 26, 1761 ; "Shilling's Lot," of 40 
acres, Oct, 3, 1751 ; " Heidelburgh," Aug. 10, 1752, 
and resurveyed Feb. 22, 1762, for Elias Harange ; 
" Frankford," surveyed Jan. 27, 1761, for Conrad 
Barst ; " Motter's Choice," resurveyed December, 
1751, for 162 acres; " Potter's Lot," of 40 acres, for 
John Prlack, Oct. 30, 1760; "Richard's Chance," 
of 50 acres, Jan. 1, 1749, for Richard Richards; 
" Pomerania," near Whistler's Mill, now Bixler's, 
for 50 acres, to William Winchester, Jan. 8, 1755 ; 
" Johnsburg," of 130 acres, resurveyed for John 
Shrempling, May 20, 1761 ; " Mount Hendrick," of 
48 acres, to James Hendrick, March 3, 1768 ; " Mc- 
Gill's Choice," of 50 acres, to Andrew McGill, June 
12, 1744 ; " Winchester's Lot," Oct. 23, 1751 ; 
" Everything Needful," to Richard Richards, May 16, 
1763, and for 1646 acres ; same afterwards resurveyed, 
Nov. 14, 1786, as " Everything Needful Corrected," 
to Samuel Owings, in three parts, one of 1573 acres 
and one of 58|, Ulrich Freeland getting the latter; 
" Warms ;"" Bridgeland," Feb. 28, 1754; "Cali- 
fornia," of 490 acres, March 26, 1765 ; and " Dey's 
Chance," June 10, 1755. 

The earliest actual settlers were Germans, mostly 
from Pennsylvania, and some from the Fatherland. 
Among these may be mentioned the Showers, Ritters, 
Jacob Shilling, Philip Edleman, Jacob Utz,, Michael 
Burn, Kerlingers, Faess, Gethiers, Motters, Wer- 
heims, Weavers, Steffers, Everharts, Bowers, Warners, 
Bachmans, Ebaughs. Paul Everhart, an emigrant 
from Germany, settled first at Germantown, Pa., and 
in 1761 removed to this district. His son George, 
then seven years old, died in 1851. Paul settled 
where are now the iron-ore works. His great-grand- 
son, George Everhart, born in 1800, is still living. 

Manchester, the commercial centre of the district, 
is the second town in size and importance in Carroll 
County, containing in 1880 six hundred and forty in- 
habitants. It is situated on the Hanover turnpike. 



and contains a population of about nine hundred in- 
habitants, with a number of churches, a Masonic Hall, 
an Odd-Fellows' Hall, an academy, and a number of 
stores and manufactories. The people, as a rule, are 
educated and enterprising. A number of railroads 
have been projected, which if completed will make 
the town a centre for business second to none in 
Maryland outside of Baltimore. Of late years an 
aesthetic taste has been manifested by the inhabitants, 
which has given rise to associations for the culture of 
literature and music, and the town now possesses all 
the elements for enlightened existence in the country 
remote from the temptations and embarrassments of a 
large city. 

From 1760 to 1790 a few houses stood where the 
site of the present thriving village is situated. In 
1790, Capt. Richard Richards, an Englishman, living 
in the Hampstead settlement, laid out the town and 
called it " Manchester," after that city in England, 
from which he had emigrated many years before. It 
was part of a survey of fifty acres, called " New Mar- 
ket," patented to him in 1754, but which was surveyed 
for him March 5, 1765, and thirty-three of which he 
laid out in lots. These lots were sold subject to an an- 
nual ground-rent, and to this day on one and one-fourth 
acres of land George Everhart pays a yearly rent of 
five dollars to Judge John pj. Smith, of Westminster, 
the representative of or successor to the Richard 
rights. The ground-rents on all the other lots have 
expired. " The German Church Lands," of twenty- 
five acres, adjoining the above and a part of the town, 
were surveyed Dec. 20, 1758, to Jacob Shilling, 
Philip Edleman, Jacob Utz, and Michael Burns, as 
trustees. The church at the present time receives 
from its ground-rents on these lands or lots an annual 
sum of more than one hundred and fifty dollars. The 
town is designated on the old maps as " on the original 
road leading to Baltimore and near Dug Hill." The 
oldest man in the town is George Everhart, aged 
eighty-two, who came here from the country in 1826, 
and was nearly half a century in the mercantile busi- 
ness. The oldest house in the village is an old log 
building now owned by Edward Oursler. It was 
formerly kept as a tavern by Christian Heibly. On 
the lot now owned by Mr. Brinkman, the jeweler, a 
tavern once stood before any other house had been 
built in the town. The first physician was Dr. Urn- 
baugh, who was followed by Dr. Turner and Dr. 
Jacob Shower. The last began practice in 1825. 
Among the first schoolmasters was a Mr. Keller, who 
taught part of his pupils in the German, and the 
others in the English language. About the first store- 
keeper was George Motter, and in 1826, George 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



885 



Everhart bought out Mark Spencer (an Eastern man 
from the State of New York), and continued in busi- 
ness until 1877. George Linaweaver was the earliest 
blacksmith. George Gettier, born here in 1791, was 
a soldier in the war of 1812, and died in Cincinnati, 
Ohio. 

The town was incorporated in 1833, and a supple- 
mentary act of 1836 revived the incorporation, con- 
fining the limits of the town to the lots on the sev- 
eral tracts of land known as " New Market" and 
" German Town." The corporation was reorganized 
by an act of 1870, before which the records are mis- 
laid or lost. Since that time the officers have been : 

1871.* — Mayor, E. A.Gnnter; Councilmen, George Everhart, 
Adam Sliower, John Weaver, James Kelly, Henry Reagle; 
Secretary, L. C. Myerly ; Treasurer, John Weaver ; Bailiff, 
James Greenbultz. 

1872.— Mayor, John C. Banner; Couneilmen, Wm. Walter, 
Geo. Everhart, John Weaver, James Kelly, Henry Reagle. 

1873. — Mayor, John Carl; Couneilmen, James Kelly, Henry 
Reagle, Simon J. Grammer, Henry E. Masenheimer, D. 
Hoffacker. 

1874. — Mayor, John Carl; Couneilmen, John Fultz, W. L. 
Tracy, S. J. Grammer, H. Masenheimer, D. Hoffacker. 

1875. — Mayor, John Carl; Couneilmen, Henry Reagle, H. E. 
Masenheimer, D. Shultz, Edward Oursler, S. J. Grammer. 

1876.— Mayor, Jacob Campbell ; Couneilmen, Emanuel Shaffer 
Henry Reagle, Edward Oursler, Luther Tramp, Oliver 
Lippy ; Secretary, Ferdinand A. Dieffenbach. 

1877. — Mayor, Jacob Campbell ; Couneilmen, .John J. Lynerd, 
Henry Reagle, Luther Tramp, .Tohn Bentz, Edward Ours- 
ler; Secretary, G. W. J. Everhart. 

1878. — Mayor, H. W. Thomas, who resigned, and George M. 
Stien took his place; Couneilmen, Cornelius Miller, E. A. 
Ganter, E. Shaffer, Geo. M. Stein, Dr. J. F. B. Weaver; 
Secretary, G. W.J. Everhart. 

1879. — Mayor, John H. Lamott ; Couneilmen, E. A. Ganter, N. 
W. Sellers, P. Gober, Emanuel Shaffer, Cornelius Miller; 
Secretary, G. W. J. Everhart. 

18811. — Mayor, John H. Lamott; Couneilmen, Edward A. 
Ganter, N. W. Sellers, P. G. Ober, Emanuel Shaffer, Cor- 
nelius Miller. 

1881. — Mayor, Henry H. Keller; Couneilmen, E. A. Ganter, 
E. Shaffer, Oliver Lippy, John J. Lynerd, Edward J. Sel- 
lers ; Secretary, G. W. J. Everhart; Treasurer, E. A. 
Ganter; Bailiff, Wm. J. Eisenbrown. 

In 1878 the first crossings were laid to the streets; 
in 1879 the town was supplied with street-lamps, and 
in 1881 the streets were all graded. 

Zion Church, with two exceptions, was the oldest 
congregation in Baltimore County (in which Man- 
chester was located until 1836). It was organized 
Feb. 12, 1760, by a union of the Lutheran and Ger- 
man Reformed congregations. During that year was 
erected the first meeting-house, a log structure, which 
stood until 1798, when a brick edifice was built. It 



• The total valuation this year of the real estate was $232,- 
930. 



was repaired in 1836, and a steeple built from the 
ground up in November of that year. During 
these repairs Rev. Jacob Albert was chief manager, 
and Philip Grove and Charles Miller, assistants. 
Jacob Houck was the contractor for making the re- 
pairs, John Matthias was the contractor for building 
the steeple, Michael Gettier did the masonry, John 
M. Miller was the gilder and painter, and Jarret Gar- 
ner furnished the materials ; Jacob Weyant, Peter 
Shultz, Joshua F. Copp, Jesse Shultz, H. and W. 
Brinkman, Jacob Garrett, and Philip Crumrine were 
the under-workmen ; Rev. Jacob Albert (Lutheran) 
and Rev. Jacob Geiger (German Reformed) were the 
pastors, in June, 1862, this church was taken down, 
and each of the two congregations erected a separate 
church building, that of the Lutherans being on part 
of the old church tract. The first church (log) of 
1760 and the second (^brick) of 1790 stood in the 
graveyard lot. This church was popularly known as 
the " Union Church," from the fact that two congre- 
gations worshiped peacefully therein. The Lutheran 
pastors who preached in it were : 

1760-83, Rev. Newburg; 1783-90, Johan Daniel Schroeder; 
1791-96, Rev. Meltzheimer (the elder) ; 1797-1825, John 
Herbst; 1826 (six months), Emanuel Keller; 1827-37, 
Jacob Albert ; 1837-38, .Jeremiah Harpel ; 1838-42, Philip 
Williard; 1843-44, Frank Ruthrauff; 1844-48, Ellas 
Swartz; 1848-53, Jacob Kaempfer ; 1853-62, Daniel J. 
Hauer, D.D. 

The German Reformed pastors to 1862 were : from 
1823 to 1848, Rev. Jacob Geiger, C. F. Colliflower, 
and Henry Wissler. The names of subsequent pas- 
tors are not accessible. 

Emanuel Lutheran Church, after the old " Zion 
Church" was torn down in 1862, erected in that and 
the following year its present edifice. Its pastors 
have been : 

1862-65, Peter River; 1866-69, R. Weiser; 1870-81, G. Sill; 
1881 (April 1), E. Manges. 

The superintendent of Sunday-school is D. H. 
Hoffacker. 

After the taking down of the " Zion church" in 

1862, the Trinity Reformed Church congregation 
erected its present building, which was completed in 

1863. The German Reformed pastors of Zion and 
Trinity Churches from 1760 to 1881, as far as ascer- 
tainable, were: 1823 to 1848, Jacob Geiger, C. F. 
Colliflower, Henry Wisler, J. W. Hoffmeirer, D. W. 
Kelley, and William Rupp, the latter the present 
pastor, who came July 2, 1877. The superintendent 
of the Sunday-school is J. P. Baltozer ; elders, J. P. 
Baltozer, George Bixler ; deacons, Emanuel Shaffer, 
Charles Brillhart. 



886 



HISTORY OF "WESTERN MARYLAND. 



The corner-stone of the Methodist Episcopal church 
edifice was laid in 1839, before which there was a 
mission here with occasional preaching. At the erec- 
tion of the building Rev. E. G. Ege was the pastor, 
and the present incumbent is D. Benton Winstead. 

The erection of the Manchester Bethel church 
(United Brethren in Christ) was begun in 1870, and 
was completed in the same year. The building is a 
handsome brick structure. It was dedicated on Sun- 
day, Jan. 1, 1871. At its dedication Bishop J. 
Weaver, of Baltimore, was present, and preached 
morning and night to a large congregation. Rev. 
John ShaeflFer, of Baltimore, preached in the afternoon 
in the German language. The spire is forty feet 
above the roof, and presents a fine appearance. The 
first pastor, under whose auspices the building was 
erected, was Rev. Mr. Hutchinson ; the next one, Rev. 
J. B. Jones ; and the present incumbent. Rev. Mr. 
Quigly, who took charge in 1881. In the rear of the 
church is a neat graveyard, in which are buried 

Mary M. BariDg, born July 25, 1752, died Jan. 29, 1830 ; and 
her husband, Ezekiel, who died March 30, 1838, aged 87. 

Rev. Ezekiel Baring, born Jan. 16, 17S0, died Feb. 14, 1861. 

John Baring, died Pec. 17, 1869, aged 85. 

Villet Baring, wife of Jacob Swartzbaugh, born Jan. 17, 
1796, died March 2. 1857. 

Margaret A. Stultz, born April 1, 1780, died April 23, 1861. 

Elizabeth, wife of John Young, died Nov. 18, 1873, aged 76. 

Catherine Lynerd, died Nov. 5, 1873, aged 73. 

Martha Burkett, died July 17, 1866, aged 83. 

Levi Beecher, died Oct. II, 1866, aged 52; and his wife, Eve, 
Nov. 22, 1865, aged 53. 

This church organization had a log church prior to 
1879, OB the same lot where the brick building now 
stands. Its trustees in 1857 were Samuel Dehofif, 
Joseph H. Little, Jacob W. Baring, Amos Williams, 
and Henry W. SteiFy. 

St. Bartholomew's Catholic church was built by 
tlie Redemptorist Fathers of Baltimore, who had 
charge of it until 1876, when it was placed under 
the pastorate of Father John Gloyd, pastor of St. 
John's Church, Westminster. It was erected under 
the supervision of Mr. Frederick, an eminent archi- 
tect and builder of Baltimore. 

The Manchester TInited Academy was incor- 
porated March 3, 1829. The first trustees were Rev. 
Joseph Geiger, Rev. Jacob Albert, Dr. Jacob Shower, 
Solomon Myerly, George Motter, John Weaver, 
George Everhart, Peter Sable, Martin Kroh, George 
Shower, and Frederick Ritter. The building was 
erected in 1831, and its first teacher was Hon. Joseph 
M. Parke. 

Irving College was incorporated by the Legislature 
Feb. 1, 1858, with the following trustees: Ferdinand 



DiefFenbach, John H. Falconer, John W. Horn, and 
Henry B. Roemer. Mr. Dieflfenbach was a refugee 
of the Revolution of 1848, and a fine scholar and 
educator. This institution opened with two pupils, 
and soon became flourishing and noted. Its able 
head died in March, 1861, when it was for some time 
carried on under the auspices of his widow. Subse- 
quently Lewis C. Myerly was at its head, and in 1880 
Prof D. Denlinger took charge, under whose man- 
agement it yet remains. He changed its name to 
Irving Institute, and has made it a boarding-school 
for students of both sexes. Its aims are to prepare 
students for business, for teaching advanced classes 
in college, or the study of a profession. The course 
of study embraces Latin, Greek, French, German, 
mathematics, the sciences, music, painting, and draw- 
ing. Since the abandonment of the old " academy" 
this institution receives all the advanced scholars of 
the town and neighborhood. 

The Thespian Society was incorporated in 1835, 
and the Manchester Band in 1836. The latter was 
reorganized in 1855. Its first leader for a few months 
was Dr. Charles Geiger, and since then it has been 
under the direction of Edward A. Ganter. The fol- 
lowing are its present members : Edward A. Ganter 
(leader), C. J. H. Ganter, C. Frankforter, D. Frank- 
forter, Jesse Leese, Nelson Warheim, .Jeremiah Ying- 
ling, John Stump, Ephraim Freyman, Aaron Hoff- 
man, J. D. Lotz, N. W. Sellers, Jacob Hoffman, 
William Hoffman, R. L. Simpers, S. F. Frankforter. 

The first Sunday-school was organized in 1828. 

The first newspaper was issued Nov. 14, 1870, by 
W. R. Watson as editor, and J. A. Bartley, assistant. 
It was called the Manchester Gazette, an independent 
journal, and was published up to March, 1872, when 
it was sold to Messrs. Smith & Sites, who removed the 
paper and presses to Glen Rock, Pa., where they es- 
tablished a new journal. The next paper was the 
Manchester Enterprise, established in November, 
1880. It is a sprightly four-page sheet of twenty- 
eight columns, devoted to general and local news, " in- 
dependent in all things, neutral in nothing." Joseph 
S. Cartman, late of Carlisle, Pa., is its editor, a jour- 
nalist of ability and experience. 

The Lutheran and Reformed cemetery was set apart 
for burial purposes in 1760, and interments began to 
j be made in that year. Among the persons buried there 
! are the following : 

[ Frederick Ritter, died Feb. 9, 1864, aged 76. 

George Motter, born Nov. 27, 1751, died Oct. 1, 1800. 
! Erwar Conrad Kerlinger, born 1731, died October, 1798. 
\ Henry N. Brinkman, died Oct. 22, 1867, aged 76. 

John Kerlinger, died Nov. 27, 182.3, aged 51. 
'' Elizabeth Kopp, died March 18, 1861, aged 75. 



CARKOLL COUNTY. 



887 



John Jliincho. b-irn Mnrcli lU, 1771. died Sept. 1 1, 1837. 

Ciithiirine Faess, died Miircli, 1850, iiged 86. 

Cttrl Faess, born 1752, died 1815. 

Catharine Gettier, born Oct. 27, 1822, died 1826. 

Anthony Hines, died Nov. 29, 1825. 

Hannes Mutter, born April 10, 1771, died March 28, 1819. 

Jacob Motter, died 1798. 

John Peter Gettier, died Dec. 2, 18.37, aged 80 ; and Elizabeth, 
his first wife, Aug. 22, 1791 ; and his second, Mary E., Oct. 14, 
1856. 

George Kerlinger, born Nov. 18, 1795, died Oct. 6, 1797. 

Catharine Motter, born 1782, died 1790. 

Daniel Bowman, born Feb. 27, 17S:i, died May 24, 1854. 

Johannes Swartzbaugh, died Feb. 7, 1825, aged 86. 

Heinrich Werheim, born 1758, died 1828. 

Elizabeth Kantz, died Oct. 28, 1854, aged 86. 

Joseph Kopp, died Jan. 26, 1852. aged 75; was in all the 
Napoleonic wars. 

John Ritter, died March 17, 1831, aged 73. 

John Ports, Sr., died July 19, 1854, aged 82. 

Henry Glase, died Feb. 24, 1879. 

George Warner, horn Jan. 17, 1791, died Aug. 24, 1874. 

George Tingling, died May 14, 1879, aged 85. 

Michael Riiter, died Oct. 1, 1878, aged 81. 

Henry Beltz, born June 27, 173,3, died March 19, 1858. 

Johannes Schaurer (now Shower), born 1730, died 1810 ; mar- 
ried in 1764, Anna Maria Eine, who was born in 1740, and 
died Aug. 10, 1833. 

John .-^dam Shower, died Aug. 27, 1833, aged 59 ; and his wife, 
Anna E., Feb. 13, 1854, aged 81. 

George Weaver, born Jan. 27, 1776, died Jan. 15, 1852; and 
his wife, Mary Magd.-ilene, March 23, 1850, aged 69. 

Elizabeth Utz, born 1742, married 1766, to Peter Utz, and 
died 1797. 

Margaret, second wife of Peter Utz, died Jan. 3, 1826, aged 
76. 

Peter Utz, born 1740, died 1820. 

Martin Kroh, died May 23, 1866, aged 83. 

Elizabeth, wife of John Sellers, born Feb. 5, 1768, died Sept. 
26, 1860. 

George Utz, born Oct. 7, 1774, died 1842. 

Henry Lamott, died Feb. 15, 1845, aged 75. 

Daniel Hoover, born Sept. 9, 1792, died Aug. 16, 1864. 

Louisa, wife of Jacob Bear, born Aug. 30, 1761, died March 
9, 1856. 

Jacob Sherman, born Jan. 19, 1779, died April 8, 1861. 

Michael Miller, died Jan. 10, 1845, aged 80. 

George Lineweaver, died April 12, 1844, aged 75. 

Michael Steffee, born Dec. 16, 1769, died May 18, 1850; and 
his wife, Christina, born April 8, 1760, died June 16, 1854. 

George Everhart, died July 4, 1857, aged 86 ; and his wife, 
Elizabeth, March 7, 1868, aged 90. 

Rev. Jacob Geiger (31 years and 6 months pastor), died Oct. 
19, 1848, aged 55 years and 2 days; and his first wife, daughter 
of Jacob and Mary Seltzer, born June 1, 1801, died March 12, 
1836. 

The Union Fire Company was incorporated by act 
of the General Assembly, March 26, 1839. The in- 
corporators were Solomon Myerly, Jacob Sellers, Lewis 
Riggle, George Messamore, David Lippy, Elias Buck- 
ingham, Jacob Houck, George E. Weaver, George 
Everhart, George Trump, William Crumrine, Jacob 
Lineweaver, Henry Krantz, Henry Brinkman, John 
Shultz, Jesse Shultz, Andrew Pleifer, Ezekiel Baring, 



James Davis, Jacob Frankforter, David Frankforter, 
Joseph Gouter, George Baker, Joseph Gardner, Jacob 
Wentz, Frederick Hamburg, Jacob Kerlinger, Jacob 
Miller, Charles Miller, S. B. Fuhrman, George Mat- 
ter, David Houck, Amos Gauman, Jacob Campbell, 
Adam Shower, J. F. Kopp, John Kuhn, Michael 
Gettier, George Lineweaver, Levi Maxfield, Michael 
Matter, Garret Garner, Richard Jones, James Stans- 
bury, iJenry E. Beltz, Joseph M. Parke, Philip 
Crumrine, Frederick Smith, John N. SteiFy, Levi 

I Mansfield, Henry Lippy, John Krantz, John Ever- 
hart, David Whiteleather. 

t The Carroll Literary Society was organized Feb. 12, 

I 1881, with J. P. Baltover, president; Dr. J. W. 
Bechtel, vice-president ; Joseph S. Carnman, secre- 

I tary ; P. G. Ober, treasurer. The object of the 
association is general improvement and the develop- 
ment of a taste for belles-lettres. 

The school-house for the pupils of the public schools 
is a fine brick building, seventy-five by forty-five feet, 

j erected in 1878. 

I The dispensation of the Knights of Pythias, Man- 

i Chester Lodge, No. 78, was dated Sept. 14, 1872, and 
the lodge was instituted on the 17th of that month. 
The first officers were : 

I C. C, J. W. Dehoff; Prel., Aaron Miller; V. C, J. S. Kerlin- 
ger ; M. of E., Cornelius Miller ; M. of F., E. A. Ganter. 

The charter was dated January, 1878, and the 
charter members were John W. Dehofi", Aaron Mil- 
ler, J. S. Kerlinger, E. A. Ganter, H. Falkenstine, 
Jr., C. J. H. Ganter, James Cross, M.D., G. W. J. 
Everhart, Daniel Dubbs, C. Miller, George PfeiflFer, 
Luther Trump. The officers for the second term, 
1881, were: 

P. C, Emanuel Sherrick ; C. C, John W. Burns; Vice C, 
Charles F. Bergman; Prel., D. M. Brillhart ; M. of E., 
Jacob Wink ; M. of F., Cornelius Miller ; K. of R. and S., 
J. P. Baltover; M. at A., Aaron HoB'man ; I. G., D. F. 
Boose; 0. G., J. C. Hoffman; Rep. to Grand Lodge, J. B. 
Mensenbeimer; Dist. Dep., R. Lee Simpers; Trustees, 
Christian Buchanan, A. Appold, Charles Brillhart. 

Number of members, 40. 

Lebanon Lodge, A. F. and A. M., No. 175, was in- 
stituted Oct. 9, 1856, as No. 104, and its first officers 
were : 

W. M., William L.Nace; S. W., Ferdinand Dieffenbach; J.W., 
John H. Lamott; See., Dr. Jacob Shower; Treas., George 
Shower; S. J., Amos L. Wolfang; Tyler, John Bentz. 

It lost its charter, but on May 14, 1879, it was re- 
chartered as No. 175. Its officers then were Dr. Theo- 
dore A. Shower, W. M. ; E. G. Sellers, S. W. ; John 
M. Bush, J. W. Its officers for 1881 were : 



HISTOKY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



W. M., Lewis C. Myerly ; S. W., Wm. C. Murray ; J. W., E. 
T. Sellers; Sec, Adam Shower; Treas., Samuel Miller; 
S. D., John Fuliz ; J. D., Jacob Fink ; Tyler, John H. 
Lamott. 

Number of members, 25. 

The present secretary, Adam Shower, was initiated 
in 1859, and became secretary in 1861. 

Daniel and Jacob Lodge, I. 0. 0. F., No. 23. A 
petition was sent to the Maryland Grand Lodge of 
I. 0. 0. F. in 1834 for a lodge to be located here, the 
two first petitioners on the list being Daniel Hoover 
and Jacob Shower. The petitioners designating no 
name for the proposed lodge, the Grand Lodge named 
Daniel and Jacob, in honor of Daniel Hoover and 
Jacob Shower. The charter was dat«d Oct, 17, 1834, 
and signed by James L. Ridgely, G. M., and Robert 
Neilson, G. S. Its first officers were : N. G., Dr. Ja- 
cob Shower; V. G., Daniel Hoover; Sec. and Treas., 
Jacob Kerlinger. 

At the first meeting the following were the initi- 
ates : Samuel Lamott, Wm. Crumrine, Henry Brink- 
man, John Lamott. The second set of officers were : 
N. G., Daniel Hoover ; V. G., William Crumrine ; 
Sec. and Treas., Jacob Kerlinger. The officers for 
1881 were: 

S. P. G.. John Fultz: N. G., Henry Boose; V. G., Nimrod 
Armstrong; Rec. Sec, G. W. J. Everhart; Per. Sec, E. 
A. Ganter; Treas., Edward Oursler: Marshal, Wm. A. 
Wolf; R. S. N. G., N.W. Sellers; L. S. N. G., Henry 
Reagle; R. S. V. G., John Wink; L. S. V. G., George L. 
Beltzer; I. G., John Emmel; 0. G., A. Pfeiffer. 

The lodge owns a fine hall, and has 74 members. 
Its accumulated funds are $1500. The district deputy 
is William A. Wolf 

The charter of Carroll Encampment, No. 17, 
I. O. 0. F., dated Oct. 26, 1866, was granted by J. 
L. Baugher, G. P., and John M. Jones, 6. S. The 
charter members were Wm. Crumrine, Henry Falk- 
enstine, Henry Zimmerman, Samuel Wilhelm, C. 
Frankforter, Adam Barns. The first officers were : 
W. C. P., Conrad Frankforter; H. P., Henry E. 
Beltz ; J. W., Samuel Wilhelm ; Scribe, Henry 
Falkenstine. 

The following were the initiates at the first meet- 
ing, Oct. 26, 1866 : Theo. J. Kopp, J. Alfred Kopp, 
E. A. Ganter, G. W. J. Everhart, E. H. Croutch. 
The officers for 1881 were : 

W. C. P., John C. Denner; H. P., Wm. J. Eisenbrown ; S. W., 
D. H. Hoffacker ; J. W., Samuel Miller ; Rec Sec, G. W. 
J. Everhart; Per, Sec, A. N. Ganter; Treas., N. W. Sel- 
lers; Dist. Dep., Samuel Miller. 

Number of members, 39. 

Bachman's Hills is a small village on the road 
leading to Hanover turnpike, seven miles from West- 



minster, five from Manchester, and at the head of 
Big Pipe Creek. This was formerly Bower's mills, 
erected about 1780. William and A. C. Bachman 
own the mills, and the latter is postmaster. The vil- 
lage lies in a beautiful and productive valley, which 
was settled early in the eighteenth century. 

Jerusalem Church was organized in 1799 by the 
Lutheran and Reformed congregations, who have 
jointly used the same building in their worship. The 
first edifice was a log structure, but the present is a 
substantial brick building, and was erected but a 
few years ago. Since 1825 its pastors have been 
the Lutheran and Reformed preachers living in 
Manchester. 

Lazarus Church is also a union church of the 
Lutheran and Reformed congregations. It was erected 
in 1853. The building committee were V. B. Wentz, 
John Kroh, and George Weaver. The Lutheran con- 
gregation organized Sept. 5, 1853, and held its first 
communion June 4, 1854. Since 1863 the Lutheran 
and Reformed pastors have been the Manchester 
preachers. Its flourishing Sunday-school is under 
the charge of Francis Warner as superintendent. 

On Feb. 27, 1770, Jonathan Plowman conveyed to 
John Davis (pastor), John Whitaker, and Samuel 
Lane fifteen acres of land " for the sole use of a 
meeting-house for the worship of God forever." In 
1828, the Particular Baptist Gunpowder Church was 
incorporated by the General Assembly, and Thomas 
Layman, John Perigoy, and Benjamin Buckingham 
were designated in the act as its trustees. Of these, 
two died, and one removed from the neighborhood. 
The meeting-house fell into decay, and the congrega- 
tion was broken up. The Particular Baptist Church 
of Black Rock, Baltimore County, being the nearest 
church of the same faith and order, appointed John 
B. Ensar, Joshua Plowman, and James Blizzard as 
trustees, who began erecting thereon a suitable house 
of worship. To cure all existing and supposed legal 
disabilities of the trustees, and to ratify their pro- 
ceedings, the Legislature incorporated this church 
again, March 4, 1858, retaining the trustees above 
named. 

St. John's church is used jointly by the Reformed 
and Lutheran congregations, and was built in 1846. 
It is a log structure weather-boarded. It is five miles 
from Westminster, which supplies it with pastors. 

The Baltimore and Hanover Railroad Company 
was organized under the general railroad act passed by 
the General Assembly of Maryland in 1876. Its 
southern terminus is at Emory Grove, nineteen miles 
from Baltimore City, on the Western Maryland Rail- 
road. Thence"it passes north through Baltimore and 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



889 



Carroll Counties to Black Rock Station, where it con- 
nects with the Bachman Valley Road, the latter form- 
inf; a connecting: link with the Hanover Junction, 
Hanover and Gettysburg Railroad. The Baltimore 
and Hanover road forms a most valuable and impor- 
tant connection of the Western Maryland company, 
by which it is enabled to drain the rich and fertile 
territory of Southern Pennsylvania. The ofiBcers of 
the company are A. W. Eichelberger, president ; Wil- 
liam H. Vickery, vice-president ; L. T. Melsheimer, 
secretary ; R. M. Wirt, treasurer ; Directors, Stephen 
Keefer, Hanover, Pa. ; William H. Hoffman, Balti- 
more County, Md. ; Charles W. Slagle, William H. 
Vickery, Baltimore; C. C. Wooden, Carroll County, 
Md. ; L. F. Melsheimer, Hanover, Pa. 

Bachman's Valley Railroad runs from the iron-ore 
banks and intersects the Hanover Railroad. Its 
present oflBcers are: President, Capt. A. W. Eichel- 
berger; Directors, Stephen Kiefer, H. C. Shriver, 
Joseph Dellone, Joseph Althoff, C. L. Johnson, J. 
W. Gitt, Levi Dubbs, Perry Wine, Edwin Thomas, 
Samuel Thomas, E. W. Heindel, and Adam' New- 
comer. 

Parr Ridge Gold and Silver Mining Company. 
— Many years ago gold was discovered in various 
places on a ridge extending through Manchester town 
from Cranberry Valley. In 1879, Messrs. Keeport 
and Lafeber, of Littlestown, made a thorough exami- 
nation of the gold region, and found by assays that it 
was in sufficient quantities to pay for digging. In 
the summer of 1881 this company was organized with 
Daniel Beckley as president, and C. J. H. Ganter as 
secretary. On Aug. 13, 1881, the stockholders at a 
called meeting voted to purchase the necessary ma- 
chinery to proceed to work, and the work is being 
pushed to an apparently successful conclusion. The 
largest quantities of gold have been found right in the 
town, or on fiirms close to the corporation limits. The 
company has leased several farms, and is actively en- 
gaged now in searching for the treasure. 

The Dug Hill Mutual Fire Insurance Company has 
been in operation several years, insuring buildings and 
general farm property against lo.5s by fire. Its presi- 
dent is P. H. L. Myers, and secretary, John Strevig. 
Its main and home office is in Manchester. Its for- 
mer secretary was Francis Warner. 

The Shower Foundry, a large manufactory, was 
established in 1851 by Jacob Shower, who used to 
employ some thirty hands in the manufacture of dif- 
ferent kinds of machinery, of which the larger part 
■was agricultural implements. It is now operated by 
jhis son, William H. Shower, and employs some fifteen 
persons in its various departments. *This foundry 



cast a cannon which was successfully used on the 
Fourth of July, 1881. 

The following are the district officers serving at this 
date (1881): Justices of the Peace, Henry Motter, 
J. P. Boltoser, Samuel Hoffijcker ; Constables, George 
P.. Burns, Geo. Reagle. 

Ebbvale is a village on the Bachman's Valley 
Railroad, nine miles from Westminster, and near to 
Big Pipe Creek. C. Wentz is postmaster. Of the 
iron-ore mines located here C. L. Johnson is super- 
intendent, Martin Hugenborn and F. Schenck, engi- 
neers, and P. Tragesser, mine boss. 

Melrose is on the same railroad, and thirty miles 
from Baltimore. C. B. Wentz is postmaster. Dr. J. 
S. Ziegler, physician, C. R. Wentz & Sons, merchants, 
and Levi Hoff, hotel-keeper. 

Springfield Grange, No. 158, is located near Bahn's 
Mill, and has seventy members. Officers for 1881 : 
Master, Francis Warner; Sec, J. D. Sharer; Treas., Joseph 
Miller; Lecturer, John Hinltle; Door-keeper, D. Resh; 
Steward, J. II. Hoffman; Pomona, Mrs. J. A. Bahn ; Flora, 
Mrs. Francis Warner; Ceres, Mrs. E. Sharer; Lady Assist- 
ant Sleward, Mr.s. Lydia Sharer. 

This is the best-conducted grange in the county, and 
is well officered. 

The names of the following persons, residents of 
the district, aged seventy years and upwards in 1879, 
are given as a matter of local interest : 

Josiah Dehoff, 78; Mrs. Nancy Dehoff, 88; George Yingling, 
So ; Mrs. Yingling, 82; Mrs. Catherine Ganter, 78 ; Mrs. Mary 
Frankforter, 76; Henry Steffy, 84; George Leese, 79; Mrs. Su- 
sannah Leese, 80; John Sellers, 84; Mrs. Sellers, 74; Mrs. 
Elizabeth Martin, 83; Mrs. Sarah Bixler, S3; Mrs. Mary Get- 
tier, 89; Henry Glaze, 79; David Lippy, 73; Geo. Everheart, 
79; Dr. Jacob Shower, 76; Mrs. Mary Shower, 74; George 
Shower, 74; Mrs. Rachel Shower, 76; Mrs. Barbara Warner, 
78; Mrs. Elizabeth Shaffer, 85; Mrs. Lydia Black, 75; Mrs. 
Catherine Zepp, 75 ; Henry Lucabaugh, 85 ; Mrs. Mary Ying- 
ling, 85; Mrs. Anna M. Wolfgang, 77; Ephraim Tracy, 76; 
John Redding, 76; John Everheart, 76; George Trump, 71 ; 
George Warehime, 89; Stephen Reys, 78; Christian Kcxel, 78; 
Adam Merkcl, 83 ; Mrs. Martha Stansburj', 76 ; John Bentz, 72 ; 
Mrs. Maria Bentz, 75 ; Mrs. Mary Stansbury, 79 ; Sarah Butler 
(colored), 81; Nicholas Warner, 81; John H. Bordleman, 76; 
Benjamin Lippy, 71; Elizabeth Gettier, 73. Females, 22; ag- 
gregate ages, 1741; average, 79. Males, 23; aggregate ages, 
1803; average, 78. 

Mr. John Sellers, one of the soldiers of the war ot 
1812, and a member of Capt. Adam Shower's com- 
pany, died at his residence, in Manchester District, on 
Feb. 27, 1879, aged 84 years, 4 months, and 11 days. 

Dr. Jacob Shower, a prominent citizen of this 
county, and well known in former years throughout 
the State as a Democratic leader, died at his residence 
in Manchester on Sunday, May 25, 1879, aged 
seventy-seven years. He was the son of Col. Adam 
Shower, who represented Baltimore County in the 



890 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



House of Delegates for many years during the early 
part of this century. Dr. Shower entered politics 
when quite young, and served in the House of Dele- 
gates from Baltimore County several years prior to 
the organization of Carroll County in 1837, and was 
in the Legislature when the bill for its formation was 
passed. He was upon the first ticket nominated in 
this county for the House of Delegates, and was 
elected. He was elected for a second, and declined 
a nomination for the third term. In 1841 he was 
appointed to the position of clerk of the court, made 
vacant by the death of Dr. Willis, and served about 
seven years. In 1851 he was elected a member of 
the Constitutional Convention, but declined the posi- 
tion. Since his term in Congress, from 1854 to 
1856, he had not been in public life, but had ever 
evinced a great interest in State and national politics. 
He was a member of the first Andrew Jackson Club 
in this State, which was formed at the Washington 
Hotel, on Gay Street, Baltimore, in the year 1824, 
and which adopted the die for the figure-head, " Jack- 
son and Liberty." Dr. Shower was possessed of 
a strong mind. His genial disposition and general 
fund of information endeared him to all who knew 
him, and his society was much sought by the politi- 
cians of the State. As a politician he was a link 
between the past and the present. He saw the rise 
of the Democratic party, was a participator in all its 
contests, saw its overthrow, and again witnessed its 
triumph. He left a large circle of relatives and friends 
to mourn his death. His was one of the most familiar 
faces in all the State Democratic conventions from the 
time of his first connection with politics until his 
death. He was arrested by the United States pro- 
vost-marshal in 1863 upon some trivial charges, and 
imprisoned for some months. 

The following is a list of school trustees and teach- 
ers for this district for 1881 and 1882, with number 
of pupils : 

I and 2. Grammar School and Primary No. 1. — J. H. La Motte, 
D. H. Hoffacker, John M. Gettier. 

3 and 4. Primary Nos. 2 and 3. — G. W. Everhart, Jacob 
Wink, H. K. Grove. 

5. Miller's. — George K. Frank, George P. Miller, John P. 
Frank. 

6. Zimmerman's. — Benjamin Bowser, J. David Shearer, John 
Hilker. 

7. Kroh's or Lippy's. — Joseph Price, Francis Warner, C. R. 
Wentz. 

8. Tracey's. — .Jonas Warner, Wm. Zepp, A. J. P. Rhoads. 

9. Wentz's.— Peter Gettier, Phaniel Wentz, 6. Bixler. 

10. Krideler's.— Edward Krideler, Philip Yoatz, Samuel 
Shaeffer. 

11. Bachman's Mill. — B. S. Palmer, Jacob Shaeffer, Samuel 
Wine. 



12. Royer's. — Daniel Reese, Christian Royer, Jeremiah 
I Mathias. 

13. Union.— J. J. Abbott, H. B. Houck, Nathaniel Leister. 

14. Old Fort (Nace's). — Charles Grove, Jacob Boring, L. 
Kreitzer. 

15. Bosley's. — H. M. Menshey, D. Burns, D. Garrett. 

' 16. Ebbvale. — Oliver Hoover, C. Wentz, Edward Garrett. 

! 
The teachers for the term ending April 15, 1881, | 

j were : j 

j 1, Nellie R. Lilley, 40 pupils; 2, J. P. Baltzer, 41 pupils; 3, | 

j Willie Cox, 45 pupils; 4, Lizzie Trump, 39 pupils; 6, E. S. I 

1 Miller, 55 pupils ; 6, Emma Lorrenger, 38 pupils ; 7, V, B. 1 

I Wentz, 58 pupils; 8, Noah Peterman, 42 pupils; 9, J. R. ' 

Strevig, 58 pupils; 10, J. F. Peterman, 47 pupils; II, G. j 

T. Palmer, 42 pupils; 12, Mary C. Bixler, 47 pupils: 13, i 

I J. A. Abbott, 65 pupils; 14, G. W. J. Everhart, 34 pupils; I 

15, Laura M. Burnee, 27 pupils; 16, T. R. Strevig, 33 , 

pupils. • 

I The following were the votes cast from 1851 to • 
1861, inclusive, for local officers: ' 

1851. — Vote for Primary School Commissioner; George Crouse (i 
229, Philip H. L. Myers 76, David Bachman 66, John C. }i 
Price 30. j 

; 1853. — For Justices: George Everhart 234, Jacob Kerlinger i 
I 386, John C. Price 324, Wm. Walter 358 ; Constables : John j : 

Shultz 455, Anthony Hines 358; Road Supervisor: Fred- j 
erick Ritter 488. 
j lS55.--For Justices: J. Kerlinger 445, W. Walter 445, Henry I 
j Motter 423, Geo. Bi.xler 104; Constables: J. A. Hines 435, I 

Henry Krantz 425, Emanuel Trine 63, John Shultz 113; ■ ' 
Road Supervisor : Frederick Ritter 437, Samuel Witter 102. j 
1857.— For Justices: John C. Price 479, Wm. Walter 474, Henry ■ 
Motter 134, Henry Glaze 4U1 ; Constables : J. A. Hines 
501, Henry Krantz 501 ; Road Supervisor, Michael Ritter 
497. 
1859.— For Justices: Henry Motter 476, John C. Price 480, 
Wm. Walter 490, Michael Sullivan 134; Constables: Henry 
Krantz 491, Eli Myers 474, John Shultz 15! ; Road Super- 
visor : Michael Ritter 491. 
1861.— For Justices : Henry Motter 326, John C. Price 318, D. 
T. Shaeffer 311, Henry Glaze 299, Geo. Hartley 309, John 
Fultz 318; Constables: Henry Krantz 330, John Lockard 
281, Henry Reagle 308, Henry Cramer 264; Road Super- 
visor: D. H. Hoffacker 329, Henry Fair 307. 

Among the thrifty and industrious German emi- 
grants to Pennsylvania in 172U was Jacob Warner, 
a young man from the kingdom of Bavaria, who set- 
tled in York County of that State. His son, Mel- 
chior Warner, removed, about 1780, to that part of 
Baltimore County now forming a part of Manchester 
District, in Carroll County. His son, Jacob H. Warner, 
was the father of Francis Warner, who Was born July 
28, 1826, three miles east of Manchester. He lived 
on a farm until the twenty-first year of his age. He 
was liberally educated at the noted " White Hall 
Academy," near Harrisburg, Pa. He was elected 
magistrate by the voters of his district during the 
late civil war (1863), and was subsequently repeatedly 
appointed to this office, which he held with complete 



I 



CAKROLL COUNTY. 



891 



satisfaction to the public for eight successive years. 
He was twice elected surveyor of Carroll County, and 
in 1879 was chosen county commissioner, which posi- 
tion he now most acceptably fills, having for his col- 
leagues Col. John K. Longwell, of Westminster, and 
William C. Polk, of Freedom District. He was for 
nine consecutive years a director of the " Farmers' 
Mutual Insurance Company of Dug Hill," and its 
secretary and treasurer for five years. He resides on 
" Dug Hill," an historical part of the district, situated 
on the Pennsylvania State line, and settled about the 
middle of the past century. He takes great interest 
in educational matters, having been engaged in teach- 
ing fourteen years, and is one of the trustees of School 
No. 7. He is superintendent of the Sunday-school 
of Lazarus Church, jointly erected and occupied by 
the Reform and Lutheran congregations. A practical 
farmer, and thoroughly conversant with agriculture in 
all its minutije, he has ever zealously labored for the 
material interests of the tillers of the soil. He is 
Master of Springfield Grange, No. 158, located near 
Bahn's Mill, — the most flourishing organization of 
the kind in the county, — formed and chiefly built up 
under his management. He was married, Nov. 8, 
1859, to Adaline C. Wolfgang, daughter of Jacob 
Wolfgang, by whom he has three children, — two 
daughters and a son. Besides having served two 
terms as county surveyor, he has for many years been 
engaged in private surveying, in which profession he 
stands deservedly high because of his proficiency and 
skill. He has filled all public* positions intrusted to 
him with credit, and the board of county commis- 
sioners has rarely had a member who paid closer at- 
tention to the wants and interests of the public than 
Mr. Warner. 

HAMPSTEAD DISTRICT, OR DISTRICT No. 8, 
of Carroll County, is bounded on the north by Man- 
chester District, on the east by Baltimore County, on 
the south by Woolery's, and on the west by the dis- 
tricts of Westminster and Manchester. The east 
branch of the Patapsco Falls flows south through the 
centre of the district, and Aspen and White Oak 
Runs intersect the western portion, and empty into the 
Patapsco. In addition to the turnpikes and private 
roads the Hanover Railroad furnishes an outlet for the 
products of the district in a northern direction, and 
the Western Maryland Railroad passes along its south- 
western edge. In 1880 it had a population of 1983. 
The metes and bounds of the district as determined 
by the commis.sion of 1837 are as follows: 

'Beginning at the forlts of the county roads leading from 
Westminster to Hampstead and George Richards' mill ; thence 



to the forks of Aspen Run and Long Glade Branch ; thence up 
said branch to the spring near the house of Joseph Bowser, de- 
ceased ; thence to the spring near the house of John Orendorff j 
thence to the forks of the most northern Ijranch of Patapsco 
Falls and Bosley's spring branch, where they unite in William 
Albaugh's meadow : thence through the farms of John Reed 
and Joshua Bosley, Sr., leaving said Reed and Bosley in Dis- 
trict No. 6 ; thence to JVJichael Becker's tavern, on the Hanover 
and Baltimore turnpike road, leaving said Becker in District 
No. 0; thence across said turnpike east of Shriver's tan-yard; 
thence through the lands of Daniel Caltuder, leaving said Cal- 

tuder in District No. 6 j thence through the lands of ■ 

Gist; thence through the lands of George Caltuder, deceased, 
and John Wareham, leaving said Wareham and Caltuder in 
District No. 8 ; thence to Michael Miller's mill, on the middle 
road ; thence to Joshua Stansbury's spring, near the bouse 
on the Falls road ; thence through the lands of Hair, leaving 
said Hair in District No. 8 ; thence to Henry Zimmerman's 
county road where said road crosses the Carroll and Baltimore 
County line at a blazed hickory-tree; thence on Baltimore 
County line to Edward Bond's ; thence with the lines of District 
No. 4 to Richard Gorsuch's farm on Patapsco Falls ; thence 
with a straight line to the place of beginning." 

Hampstead was made the place for holding the polls. 
The tract of land known as " Transylvania" was ori- 
ginally surveyed for Thomas White, Aug. 8, 1746, 
but resurveyed and patented to Capt. Richard 
Richards, June 10, 1751. 

The district took its name from Hampstead in Eng- 
land, a town from which Capt. Richard Richards emi- 
grated about 1735. The early settlers were Capt. 
Richard Richards and his brother-in-law, Christopher 
Vaughn, the Coxes, Stansburys, Henry Lamott, the 
Fowbles, Houcks, Snyders, Ebaughs, Murrays, Browns, 
Leisters, Rubys, Lovealls, Cuilisons, Gardners, Ham- 
monds, and Armacosts. The first settlers were gen- 
erally English, but afterwards the Germans came into 
the district in large numbers. 

Hampstead, a village containing upwards of three 
hundred inhabitants, is located on surveys called 
" Spring Garden," patented to Dustane Dane in 1748, 
and " Landorff." It was called " Coxville" for over 
fifty years in honor of John Cox, its first settler, but 
finally took the name of Hampstead from the district. 
About a century ago. Col. Johns, of Baltimore County 
(in which this district was then situated), built a ware- 
house of logs to receive and store wheat for his mills, 
near Dover. That house was afterwards weather- 
boarded and sold by Col. Johns to John Cox, the 
first actual settler, who kept a tavern in it. Cox sub- 
sequently sold it to Henry Lamott. It is the oldest 
house in the town, and is now owned by Micajah 
Stansbury. The town was laid out about 1786 by 
Christopher Vaughan, a brother-in-law of Capt. 
Richard Richards. They were both Englishmen, and 
during the Revolution Richards sympathized with the 
British, but Vaughan was an active Whig. Henry 



892 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



Lamott came to the village in 1798 from Havre de 
Grace, when there were only a few houses in it. He 
was the son of John Lamott, a French nobleman, who 
settled in Maryland about 1760, and was the first of 
this family in America. The first physician of the 
town was Dr. Urnbaugh, who had been a Hessian sol- 
dier, and lived a short time in nearly all the villages 
of the county. The first schoolmaster was a Mr. 
Parks. After Dr. Urnbaugh, Dr. Hall, who lived 
several miles distant, attended patients here, and the 
next resident physician was Dr. Richard C. Wells, 
with whom Drs. Roberts Barthulow and Hanson M. 
Dracli studied in 1850-51 and '52. The last two 
married daughters of John Lamott. John Fowble 
kept the first store. Peter Frank kept the first tavern, 
and was succeeded by John Cox. Capt. Richard 
Richards owned fifteen hundred acres of land near the 
town. 

The village is on the Hanover pike, and is one 
of the best stations on the Hanover Railroad. Its 
oldest citizens are Col. John Lamott and William Tall 
Hammond, who both served in the war of 1812, the 
latter being now (1881) eighty-seven years old. Col. 
Lamott was born in 1795, and was three years old 
when his father, Henry Lamott, moved to Hamp- 
stead. In the war of 1812 he was in Capt. Adam 
Shower's company of Col. Shultz' regiment, of which 
Conrad Kerlinger was major. He was in the battle 
of North Point, and draws a pension for his services. 
His father, Henry Lamott, kept a tavern here forty- 
five years, and died in 1851. Since the completion 
of the railroad in 1879 the town has rapidly increased 
in population, and the value of real estate has doubled. 
The physicians are Drs. Richard C. Wells and his sons, 
Edward and Constant Wells, Hanson M. Drach, 
John W. Stansbury, and W. W. Wareheim. C. M. 
Murray is postmaster, and Lewis C. Myerly, attorney- 
at-Iaw. The latter was admitted to the bar during his ! 
residence in Indiana. He was born Jan. 24, 1829, I 
in Westminster District, and was a son of Jacob, and ' 
grandson of George, Myerly. The latter was one of I 
two brothers who came from Germany before 1775. , 
The Myerly family is of German and French extrac- i 
tion. Jacob Myerly married Eve Bishop, by whom 
he had the following children : Rachel, Benjamin, 
Reuben C. (wounded in the Mexican war, and died in ! 
Lima, La.), Jacob, Mary J., Lewis Cass, and Su- 
sanna. It was owing largely to the efforts of Lewis ' 
C. Myerly that the Hanover Railroad was located and ] 
built on its present road-bed. John Armacost, aged I 
ninety-two years, lives near town with his wife, to 
whom he has been married seventy years, and during I 
all of that time he has been a member of the M. E. I 



Church. Shane Cullison, living near, died in 1877, 

aged ninety-six years. 

The first edifice of the Methodist Episcopal Church 
was a log structure, built about 1800, which is now 
occupied by Charles Roat. It was used also as a 
school-house. The present stone church was erected 
in 1845 by Richard Richards as contractor. The 
parsonage was built in 1878. Rev. D. Benton Win- 
stead is the pastor. The graveyard ground in its rear 
was a donation from John Lamott. Interred there 
are 

Mnrin, wife of Jackson Belt, who died June 7, ISSO, aged 62. 

Elizabeth, wife of John Co.'c, died Aug. 20, 1872, aged 77. 

Nicholas Gardner, died Nov. .3, 1874, aged 65. 

Jeremiah Malehorn, died Feb. 28, 1S71, aged 47. 
. Anna, wife of Christian Wisner, died March 28, 1869. 

Leonard Belt, died Nov. 7, 1871, aged 59. 

Mary, wife of Caleb Blizzard, died July 7, 1866, aged 56. 

Susan, wife of Elisha Gorsuch, died July 1, 1863, .aged 62. 

Keziah Caltrider, died Oct. 3, 1876, aged 71 ; and her hus- 
band, John Caltrider, born March 5, 1795, died Feb. 28, 1863. 

Elizabeth, wife of Richard D. Armacost, died July 16, 1859, 
aged 68. 

Moses Myers, died Nov. 18, 1851, aged 58 ; and his wife, Jane, 
March IS, 1S68, aged 67. 

Elender, wife of Dr. Henson L. Drach (U. S. Army), died Oct, 
3, 1864, iiged 32: and Susan, wife of Dr. Roberts Bartholow 
(XJ. S. Army), died July 6, 1862, aged 28, both daughters of 
John and Rachel Lamott. The latter (Rachel) died Jan. 11, 
1850, aged 46. 

George Ports, died April 18, 1872, aged 70. 

Joshua Tipton, born Aug. 14, 1800, died Sept. 20, 1853. 

Dr. J. Eb.iugh, died Oct. 13, 1848, aged 24. 

Absalom Null, died Feb. 24, 1862, aged 40, 

Rev. Anion Richards was the first preacher of this 
church, and died but a few years ago nearly one hun- 
dred years old. 

The United Brethren church is situated one mile 
from town, at Greenmount, on the Hanover pike. 
Its pastor is Rev. J. R. Snake. 

The Lutheran congregation has no church edifice, 
but holds its services in the hall of the Independent 
Order of Red Men. Rev. H. Burk is pastor. 

Dehoff's church, not now standing, was near Green- 
mount, and was built over seventy years ago by John 
Dehoff, who preached himself, although a plain farmer 
with limited education. 

Red Jacket Tribe, No. 24, of the Independent 
Order of Red Men, was instituted about 1845. It 
owns a fine hall and is in a flourishing condition. 
William A. Murray is its Chief of Records and 
Keeper of Seal. 

Snydersburg is on the east branch of the Patapsco, 
three and a half miles from Manchester, seven and a 
half miles from Westminster, and twenty-nine miles 
from Baltimore. The merchants are E. Snyder and 
J. H. Lippy, the latter being the postmaster. 



CARKOLL COUNTY. 



893 



St. Mark's church was erected in 1878 by the 
Lutheran and Reformed congregations, who jointly use 
i( in worship. The building committee were Michael 
Brillhart (Reformed), Jacob Yingling, and Mr. Ruby 
(Lutheran). The house was consecrated Sept. 29, 
1878. The Lutheran organization was perfected 
March 9, 1879, when Jacob Yingling and Elisha 
Snyder were elected elders, Edmund Reed and Daniel 
S. Hann, deacons. 

Houcksville is three miles from Patapsco, near the 
Patapsco River, thirty-four miles from Baltimore, and 
fifteen from Westminster. The merchants are S. A. 
Lauver & Son, G. W. Keller, and A. J. Houck. The 
latter is postmaster, and it is from his family that the 
place takes its name. Geo. W. Keller has an exten- 
sive paper manufactory here. Dr. C. S. Davis is the 
physician of the town, and Dr. George Rupp the den- 
tist. Mr. Keller's paper-factory gives employment to 
many mechanics and laborers. The water-power of 
the Patapsco at this point is magnificent, and numer- 
ous mills and factories are successfully operated. 

The Bartholow family is one of the oldest in this 
district, and has given to the country a man distin- 
guished at home and iu Europe for his great medical 
learning and attainments. Dr. Roberts Bartholow 
was born and raised near Hanipstead, and educated 
at Calvert College, after which he graduated at the 
University of Maryland. During the war of 1861-65 
he was brigade surgeon on the staff of Gen. McClellan. 
After his resignation he took a professorship in the 
University of Maryland, and from there he removed 
to Cincinnati, Ohio, at which place he was chosen 
Professor of Materia Medica of the Ohio Medical Col- 
lege. He is the author of several meritorious medical 
works. In March, 1879, this most skillful and sci- 
entific physician was appointed Professor of Materia 
Medica and Therapeutics in the Jefferson Medical 
College of Philadelphia. Dr. Bartholow, within the 
past ten years, has attracted the attention of his pro- 
fession, both in Europe and America, by the fresh- 
ness and vigor of his writings and the variety of his 
contributions to science. In the literature of his pro- 
fession he is now an acknowledged authority, and the 
fact that Jefferson Medical College chose him for the 
responsible position named is an evidence that this 
standard institution is determined to keep abreast of 
the age. He studied medicine with Dr. Thomas VV. 
Wells, graduated on March 9, 1852, and practiced 
his profession at New Windsor until his removal to 
Cincinnati, Ohio. He married Susan, daughter of 
John and Rachel Lamott. 

The following is a list of public school trustees in 
this district for 1881 and 1882, together with the 
58 



names of teachers and number of pupils in each 
scliool : 

I. Jesse Brown's. — Leven Wright, John E. Houck, Adnm 
Shaffer. 

2 and 3. Snydersburg (Nos. 1 and 2).— J. Switzer, Wiu. II. 
Ruby, John T. Reed. 

4. Eberg. — John Strickland, George Gross, George .Shaffer. 

5 and 6. — Ilampstead (Nos. 1 and 2). — JamesSugars, William 
Houck, Jacob CaUrider. 

7. Houcksville— Michael Buclmian, Joseph Brummel, A. J. 
Houck. 

8. Emory Chapel. — Appointments deferred. 

9. Lowe's. — Miles Long, D. Leister, Lewis Green. 

to. Salem. — J. M. Bush, John P. Murray, John A. Armacost. 

II. Mount Union Mills.— Thomas J. Gorsuch, Casper Millan- 
der, William Kagle. 

The teachers for the term ending April 15, 1881, 
were : 

1, E. S. Martin, 39 pupils; 2, A. Eugenia Foltz, 36 pupils; 3, 
J. H. L. Boyer, 39 pupils; 4, G. A. Leister, 46 pupils; 5, 
Mettie Miller, 44 pupils: 6, W. A, Abbott, 42 pupils; 7, 
Joel Sykes. .'jS pupils; S, Anna M Buckingham, 27 pupils; 
y, J. Thomas Green, 27 pupils; 10, Sadie E. Myers, 34 
pupils ; 1 1, John W. Rilb, 48 pupils. 

The justices are Dr. Hanson T. Drach, John W. 
Abbuit ; Constable, Benjamin Croft. 

Below are given the votes cast for local officers in 
this district from 1851 to 1861, inclusive: 

1851. — Vote for Primary School Commissioner: F.J.Smith 

101, Daniel Hoover 89, F. J. Smith 126, Daniel Hoover SS. 
1853.— For Justices: D. W. Houck 184, Richard Harris 160, 

H. Jordan 68 ; Constables : John Marsh 67, Jetson L. 

Gill 179 ; Road Supervisor : Joseph Armacost 174, Jacob 

Lippo 72. 
1855. — For Justices: Richard Harris 122, Jesse Brown 103, 

John Fowble 141, George Richards 150; Constables: J. L. 

Gill 137, J. Campbell 121 : Road Supervisor: E. Ebaugh 

110, Leonard Belt 154. 
1857.— For Justices: Dr. H. M. Drach 183, George Richards 

189, J. L. Gill 120, Daniel Richards 116; Constables: H. 

W. Ports 177, Jerome Ebaugh 121; Road Supervisor; L. 

Belt 172, C. P. Frick 121, William Corbin 8. 
1859.— For Justices : H. M. Drach 162, Jesse Brown 149, John 

Lamotte 62, R. Harris 137; Constables: .1. G. Gittinger 

175, Jerome Ebaugh 134 ; Road Supervisor : Leonard Belt 

179, Henry Stansbury 130. 
1861.- For Justices: W. S. Wooden 209, Jacob Miller 194, 

Jesse Brown 116, Richard Harris 131; Constables: Elisha 

Bromwell 216, Alfred Ruby 108; Road Supervisor: Wil- 
liam Houck 199, Leonard Belt 132. 

The reputation of Hampstead District for good 
order has been uniformly excellent, and there has 
seldom happened anything of an exciting character to 
arouse the feelings of the inhabitants. On the night 
of Feb. 12, 1870, however, at a place known as Houck 
& Hoffman's fulling-mill, and about one mile from 
the store of D. W. Houck, Edward Woolman, a Ger- 
man, stabbed Samuel P. Linkinhofer to the heart 
with a shoemaker's knife, killing him instantly. At 



894 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



the subsequent investigation Woolman was discharged 
from custody, it having been shown that the homicide 
was committed in self-defense. 

FRANKLIN DISTRICT, No. 9. 
The Ninth District of Carroll County, known as 
Franklin, is bounded on the north by the districts of 
New Windsor and Westminster, on the west by Free- 
dom, on the south by Howard County, and on the 
west by Frederick County. Morgan's Run waters the 
northern portion of the district, Gillis' Falls the centre 
and south, and a number of small streams pass through 
the western part of Franklin. The southern extrem- 
ity of Franklin District is traversed by the Baltimore 
and Ohio Railroad, which offers unlimited facilities for 
the disposal of produce, and the Western Maryland 
passes through New Windsor, not very far from the 
northern boundary. The following are the metes and 
bounds prescribed by the commission of 1837, which 
were afterwards slightly altered by an act of Assembly 
passed May 23, 1853, and already given : 

•'Beginning at Parr's Spring: tbence with the Western 
Branch of Patapseo Falls to the junction of Gillis's Falls; thcnco 
with Gillis's Falls to James Steel's, leaving him in District No. 5 ; 
thence with a straight line to a branch crossing the new Liberty 
road near Conway's ; thence with a straight line to Crawford's road 
at the old Liberty ; thence up the old Liberty road to Farfer's 
old fields ; thence with the road running near Gideon Mitchel's, 
leaving him in District No. 9 ; thence with said road to Mor- 
gan's Run; thence up Morgan's Run to Hawkins* Branch, to a 
road leading from Benjamin Gorsuch to George Warfield's store; 
thence with the road leading to the ' Stone Chapel ;' thence 
with Howard's road to Turkey Foot Branch ; thence down said 
branch to Philip Nicodemuses mill ; thence with the lines of 
District No. 2 to Sandis' Mill; thence with the county line to 
the place of beginning." 

Franklinvillc was made the place for holding the 
polls. The district contained 2225 inhabitants in 
1880. 

This district was settled by the Engli.sh and emi- 
grants from the southern counties of the province of 
Maryland. Among the first settlers were the Frank- 
lins, from whom the district took its name, Charles 
and Alexander Warfield, John and David Evans, 
Rawlingses, Beaches, Samuel Kitzmiller, the Waterses, 
Brashearses, Spurriers, Gosnells, Barneses, Ingelses, 
Buckiughams, Lindsays, Dorseys, Bennetts (Samuel, 
Benjamin, and Lloyd), Selbys, Hoods, and Elgins. 

Ebenezer church (M. E.), a frame building, is situ- 
ated in the eastern part of the district, on the road 
from Winfield to Defiance, and was built in 1854. For 
the past six years it has been a part of the New Wind- 
sor Circuit, and before that was connected with West- 
minster. Its pastors for 1881 were Revs. James Cad- 
den and Howard Downs. In the graveyard adjoining 
the church are buried 



Perry C. Harp, died April 26, 1879, aged 80. 

Eliza Ann, wife of R. L. Farver, died Oct. 17, 1872, aged 40. 

Nicholas H. Jenkins, died Jan. 31, 1S77, aged 61. 

Arrey, wife of Warner Pickett, born June 29, 1821, died Jan. 

28, 1871. 

Marcilia, wife of J. T. Jenkins, born Oct. 16, 1848, died Aug. 
2, 1872. 

Joseph Atkins, of First Massachusetts Cavalry, died July 8, 
1863, aged 34. 

Catharine Harp, died Nov. 16, 1874, aged 73. 

John Day, died March 5, 1S71, aged 60 ; and his wife, Emily, 
born Jan. 29, 1818, died April 30, 1876. 

Joshua Grimes, died April 12, 1867, aged 61. 

David A. Hiltabidel, born Aug. 23, 1818, died Nov. 21, 1862; 
and Temperance, his wife, died Dec..31, 1866, aged 51. 

Samuel Choate, born Jan. 28, 1822, died Nov. 1, 1862. 

Hamilton P. Skidmore, died March 17, 1878, aged 51. 

Ruth Ann, wife of Basil Shipley, died Feb. 24, 1859, aged 27. 

Cordelia, wife of Perry G. Burdett, died April 28, 1857, 
aged 28. 

Cntharine, wife of Joseph Friizell, died Jan. 16, 1871, 
aged 63, 

John W. Criswell, died Nov. 18, 1858, aged 42; and Ruth, 
his wife, Dec. 28, 1879, aged 66. 

Sarah A. Kawlings, born Nov. 3, 1809, died May 29, 1878. 

Catharine, wife of Dr. J. Rinehart, died Dec. 19, 1879, 
aged 25. 

Corrilla, wife of John A. Snider, died Jan. 23, 1872, aged 39. 

Taylorsville was named in honor of Gen. Zach- 
ary Taylor, and the first house was built in it in May, ■ 
1846, by Henry D. Franklin. Mr. Franklin still re- 
sides therein, and has adjoining a wagon-making shop, 
which he carries on. The second settler in the place 
was David Buckingham, who keeps a store and is the 
postmaster. 

The Methodist Episcopal church is a neat frame 
edifice erected in 1878, before which services were held 
in a building constructed in 1850, and now used as a 
band hall. The present pastor is Rev. Mr. Shriner, 
and the Sunday-school superintendent is Thomas 
Shipley. In the cemetery attached to the church are 
buried James Beach, born Aug. 19, 1846, died Oct. 

29, 1880; Charles G. Franklin, died Dec. 24, 1878, 
aged seventy, N. Harvey Shipley, died Feb. 4, 1881, 
aged eighteen ; Louisa, wife of David Buckingham, 
died July 22, 1849, aged forty-two. 

Franklinvillc is seven and a half miles from Mount 
Airy and near Parr's Falls, a small stream which 
drains the neighborhood. It was settled in the be- 
ginning of the century, and named for the Franklin 
family, one of the first to settle in the district, about 
1745. R. Dorsey is merchant and postmaster, and 
Dr. R. 0. D. Warfield, the physician of the village. 
William Long, John Elgin, and John T. Derr have 
shoe-shops, and George Pickett and Jesse Wilson are 
the millers. It is the voting-place of the district, and 
is pleasantly situated on the old Liberty road. 

The Methodist Episcopal Church South (Bethany) 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



895 



was organized in 1871, under the auspices of Rev. 
A. Q. Flaherty, and its neat frame edifice was built 
in the same year. Its pastors have been : 

1871-73, Rev. A. Q. Flaherty; 1873-76, Rev. David Bush; 
1876-79, Rev. W. R. Stringer; 1879-82, Rev. M. G. Bal- 

this. 

In the graveyard in its rear are, among others, the 
following interments : 

Levin Gosnell, died Deo. 21, 1879, aged 86. 

Bennett Spurrier, died Nov. 9, 1879, aged 75; and his wife, 
Rachel, died Dec. 25, 1879, aged 77. 

Lizzie M., wife of Samuel Elgin, died March 1, 1875, aged 68. 

Lewis Lindsay, died Nov. 21, 1878, aged 57. 

Casadora Lindsay, died June 18, 1876, aged 28. 

Charles W. Franklin, died March 1, 1874, aged 53. 

Samuel Kitzuiiller, died Sept. 15, 1854, and horn May 10, 
1790; and bis wife, Catharine, born June 8, 1799, died June 
22, 1865. 

Thomas B. Franlilin, died Oct. 30, 1878, aged 65. 

Winfield is six miles from the Baltimore and Ohio 
Railroad at Woodbine, and was named in honor of 
Gen. Winfield Scott. The Bethel Church of God, 
Rev. Mr. Palmer, is located here. The village was 
established about 1851 and 1852. Franklin Grange, 
No. 117, of Patrons of Husbandry, of which Dr. F. 
J. Crawford was for a long time Master, holds 
its meetings in Winfield. H. M. Zile is a merchant 
in the village, and James Easton postmaster. Dr. F. 
J. Crawford is the physician. Its schools, Pine 
Orchard and Jenlvins', are among the best in the 
county. 

Mount Airy, so named from its elevated and 
healthy location, is on the Baltimore and Ohio Rail- 
road. J. C. Duvall is postmaster and track foreman. 
The store-keepers are J. B. Runkles, S. B. Grove, A. 
Anderson, and Cochran & Harrington. The hotels 
are kept by R. A. Nelson and C. A. Smith. Drs. B. 
H. Todd and J. B. Bromwell are the physicians, and 
T. P. Mullinix, railroad and express agent. The 
Mount Airy Coal and Iron Company was incorporated 
March 9, 185-1, with F. A. Schley, J. M. Schley, 
Thomas Hammond, George Schley, and John G. Lynn 
as incorporators. 

Newport, a small hamlet, lies near the Frederick 

j County line. 

I Parrsville and Ridgeville, small villages, tie 

j south of the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad. In the 
former is a Methodist Episcopal church, and between 

I it and Mount Airy is the Presbyterian church. 

I Hooper's Delight, a neat brick school-house, a mile 

j from Sam's Creek, was built in 1875. 

Bethel Methodist Episcopal church, a brick build- 
ing of two stories and a basement, was erected in 

I 1860 on the site where the old log structure stood 
in 1815. It belongs to the New Windsor Circuit, 



and its pastors for 1881 were Rev. Howard Downs and 
J. A. Fadden. The beautiful cemetery adjoining the 
church contains the graves of the following persons : 

Thomas Devilbiss, died July 12, 1878, aged 77. 

Benjamin Bennett, born Aug. 21, 1809, died Dec. 23, 1863. 

Robert Bennett, died March 26, 1856, aged 78; and Eliza- 
beth Bennett, died Jan. 4, 1846, aged 78. 

N.athan B. Stocksdale, born Feb. 2, 1806, died Jan. 20, 1865. 

Jesse M. Zilc, born July 26, 1831, died June 11, 1875. 

Lewis Kcefer, born July 31, 1803, died Sept. 7, 1880; and 
Rachel, his wife, died July 26, 1873, aged 63. 

Mablon, son of Casper and A. E. Devilbiss, died Nov. 8, 1878, 
aged 44. 

Casper Devilbiss, died March 4, 1868, aged 73. 

Mary Hiteshew, died Deo. 10, 1871, aged 88. 

Sarah T. Sebier, died Nov. 21, 1871, aged 55. 

Mary Nusbaum, died Jan. 1, 1864, aged 44. 

David Nusbaum, died Sept. 24, 1861, aged 60. 

Benjamin Sharrets, born Feb. li), 1808, died Aug. 24, 1873. 

Mary M. Sharrets, born April 3. 1812, died March 26, 1874. 

John L. Reigler, horn July 5, 1805, died April 12, 1879; and 
Annie, his wife, died March 24, 1862, aged 58. 

Ursala Barbara Reigler, born Dec. 14, 1814, died March 5, 
1874. 

John Greenwood, born Feb. 25, 1817, died Feb. 12, 1878. 

Ellen Chase, died June 19, 1874, aged 62. 

Mary E., wife of R. Dorsey, born Oct. 20, 1829, died April 
17, 1873. 

Uriand Greenwood, died Dec. 3, 1875, aged 57. 

Stephen Gorsuch, died June 5, 1880, aged 80. 

Jane Gorsuch, born June 19, 1786, died Sept. 3, 1856. 

Nathan, son of Stephen and Jane Gorsuch, born Jan. 26, 
1826, died April 6, 1849. 

Thomas Poole, died Aug. 31, 1821, aged 37. 

Dr. Lewis Kelly, died April 13, 1872, aged 30. 

Alexander Warfield, died Jan. 6, 1835, aged 7U ; and his wife, 
Jemima, dieil Nov. 20, 1847, aged 72. 

Elizabeth Worthington, born Oct. 22, 1826, died July 6, 1851. 

Rev. Joshua Jones, died Sept. 19, 1836. aged 70; and his 
wife, Annie, March 12, 1811, aged 33. 

Horatio J. Warfield, died Aug. 5, 1877, aged 63. 

Rev. Geo. W. Johnson, born Oct. 10, 1841, died May 28, 
1874. 

Francis A. Davis, died Dec. 7, 1850, aged 50; and his wife, 
Cecilia, died Aug. 28, 1849, aged 40. 

Rev. John Davi.s, died April 28, 1847, aged 85. 

Joshua Warfield, died April 1, 1880, aged 79. 

Evelina C. Warfield, died May 24, 1877, aged 47. 

David Warfield, died March 4, 1871, aged 43. 

Virginia S., wife of J. P. Naill, died July 22, 1874, aged 28. 

Near this church — but a few yards away — is the 
old Alexander Warfield homestead It is now occu- 
pied by Rev. Charles A. Reid, a native of Virginia, 
who began preaching in the Methodist Episcopal 
Church in 1842. He married Elizabeth, daughter 
of Joshua Warfield, and granddaughter of Alexander 
Warfield. The lattev's father was one of the earliest 
settlers in the district, and owned all the land around 
the Bethel church. Alexander Warfield was first 
married to Elizabeth Woodward, Deo. .30, 1788, 
by whom he had four children. He was again mar- 
ried March 11, 1797, to Jemima Dorsey. His house, 



896 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



built over a hundred years af^o and now occupied by 
Rev. Dr. Reid, was the early stopping place of Bishop 
Asbury and all the circuit riders and preachers. Bishop 
Asbury visited it last in 1816. Mr. Warfield was 
church steward in 1801, and active in the church ser- 
vices until his death, Jan. 6, 1835. At John Evan's 
old house, now owned by Jesse Stern, was likewise a 
home for preachers, and preaching held there as late 
as 1809, when services were transferred to the house 
of Benjamin Bennett. The Evan's house was a log 
structure one and a half stories high. Samuel and 
Lloyd Bennett were early converted to Methodism, 
and became noted in the church. 

Creameries. — Pinkney J. Bennett owns two cream- 
eries, both of which are in successful operation, one 
of which is located in the Franklin District and the 
other in New Windsor. He is the largest butter pro- 
ducer in Maryland. His establishments are fitted up 
with the best of machinery, and together have a ca- 
pacity of ten thousand pounds of butter daily. His 
varied appliances include five horse engines. At 
present he is making about five thousand pounds 
daily, while the average daily yield throughout the 
year is six thousand pounds. The lands in the vicin- 
ity are finely adapted to the business, producing the 
best of blue grass and clover, and are free from nox- 
ious weeds. Mr. Bennett gets his milk from thirty- 
five farmers, and the amount used is the product of a 
herd of four hundred cows, all healthy and vigorous 
animals. The butter is made by machinery, and is 
never touched by the employes during its manufac- 
ture. He also makes ice-cream and ships milk, but 
makes no cheese. He does not think that the in- 
creased value of the product is equivalent to the extra 
labor, and believes his butter will keep longer. The 
yield per hundred pounds of milk he also thinks to 
be greater than cheese-makers realize, and by return- 
ing the sour milk to the farmers for their pigs, he can 
buy for less than if it were retained for cheese-making. 

The price the farmers get for the milk is equiva- 
lent, if they made it into butter, to about twenty-five 
cents per pound of butter. 

The creameries are two stories high, thirty-five by 
forty feet, with engine-houses ten by twelve feet, and 
are erected over streams of running water. 

The farmers of the county are awakening to the 
importance of creameries, and at their solicitation Mr. 
Bennett is considering the establishment of two more. 

He has been in the business since 1876, and since 
the first difficulties were overcome, of the educating 
of the farmers of his vicinity to keeping pastures and 
the necessity of cleanliness, he has been quite suc- 
cessful in his enterprises. He is a progressive and 



energetic gentleman, and has ample means to back 
him. 

Harrisville, a small hamlet, is in the western part 
of Franklin District and on the Frederick County 
line. 

Hood & Clary have a store here, and the place has 
a mill and several shops. 

Watersville is a village situated in the Franklin 
District, on the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad, about 
forty miles from Baltimore. The Methodist Episcopal 
and Baptist congregations have a place of worship. 
England & Kenly are the merchants of the town, 
and the former is postmaster. Dr. S. R. Waters 
is the practicing physician for the village and the sur- 
rounding country, and it is from his family, one of 
the oldest in the district, that the town derives its 
name. Joshua Hall is the railroad foreman stationed 
at this point, and D. L. Kenly is the railroad and 
express agent. The country in the vicinity of the 
village is noted as a tobacco-growing region. 

David Crawford, one of the first settlers in New 
Windsor District, where in early days he was a lead- 
ing man in public affairs, was a native of Pennsyl- 
vania. He married Miss Lloyd, from which union 
were born seven sons and two daughters. Of these, 
Evan Lloyd Crawford married Isabella Smith, a 
daughter of Duncan Smith. She was born at Inver- 
ness, Scotland, near the city of Edinburgh, and came 
to America with her parents when a little girl. Evan 
Lloyd Crawford was the father of one son and four 
girls, who grew up to maturity, and of the latter three 
yet survive. The son, Francis Jesse Crawford, was 
born on the farm on which he now resides, then in 
Baltimore County, Nov. 1, 1819. Until twenty-one 
years of age he worked on the farm, and attended the 
neighborhood schools during the winter months. He 
then attended for three years the academy at Johns- 
ville, Frederick Co., of which that eminent in- 
structor, Prof. John S. Sandbatch, was principal. 
Among his classmates was Judge William N. Hay- 
den, of Westminster. He taught school for several 
winters near home, in both Baltimore and Frederick 
Counties, to acquire funds sufficient to enable him to 
prosecute his studies for the medical profession. He 
then read medicine with Dr. James H. Claggett, of 
Washington County, one of the most distinguished 
physicians of his day, after which he attended the lec- 
tures of Washington University, in Baltimore, where 
he graduated in the class of 1843 and '44. In that in- 
stitution he was under the tutelage of such eminent 
and learned men as Drs. Baxley, Vaughan, Jennings, 
Moncur, and Webster, great lights in the medical 
world. After his graduation he returned to his 



I 





yZ-^^^iU^.^ 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



897 



home in Franklin District and began the practice 
of his profession, in which he has been success- 
fully engaged for thirty-eight yeare. In that period 
of time he has not been excelled as a practitioner, and 
before the war his practice extended over a field now 
filled by some eight physicians. In one year he paid 
two thousand two hundred medical visits, of which 
sixty-five were in obstetrical cases. The doctor is a 
strong Democrat in politics and active in the counsels of 
his party, and, although often solicited by his friends, 
has ever firmly refused to be an aspirant for oflBce. Some 
thirty years ago he became a member of Salem Lodge, 
No. 60, I. 0. 0. P., at Westminster, and subsequently 
of Columbia Encampment, No. l-l, of the same place. 
On the institution of St. Stephen's Lodge, No. 95, 
I. 0. 0. F., at Defiance, in May, 1857, he was one 
of its charter members, and since then has passed all 
the chairs, and has been a representative to the Grand 
Lodge. He is Master of Franklin Grange, Patrons of 
Husbandry, No. 1 17, and was largely instrumental in 
its organization. Although connected with no de- 
nomination, he is a liberal giver to all the churches in 
his neighborhood. He was married in May, 1853, 
to Ruth Elizabeth Bennett, daughter of Benjamin 
Bennett, of Franklin District, by which union he has 
five children : Fannie Belle, married to Dr. R. 0. D. 
Warfield ; Kate Emma, married to Henry S. Davis ; 
Francis Albert, William Lloyd, and Charles Clement, 
besides two daughters who died young. Dr. Craw- 
ford's fine farm of three hundred and seventy acres, 
known as Waterloo, is within some sixty yards of the 
Frederick County line. He is a self-made man, who, 
with no resources with which to begin life but a firm 
will and energy, has by his ability and industry 
reached an eminent place in his profession, and has 
been otherwise very successful in life. He is the 
most noted fox-hunter in the county, and has a pack 
of eighteen hounds unsurpassed in this part of Mary- 
land. He is also a fine horseman, and in breeding 
horses has made the Morgan stock a specialty, having 
years ago purchased from Col. Carroll a pure-blooded 
Morgan mare. His horses are among the first in 
Carroll County. In cattle he prefers Alderneys or 
Jerseys, and his herds take rank with the best and 
purest in the State. 

Below are given the votes cast for local officers in 
this district from 1851 to 1861, inclusive: 

1851. — Vote for Primary School Commissioner: Charles Dun- 
ning 87, Stephen Gorsuoh 86, Charles Denning 156, Evan 
L. Crawford 44. 

1853.— For Justices : Thos. B. Owings 145, Charles Denning 
164, E. L. Crawford 52, John Hood 171, David Bucking- 
ham U", Aquila Pickett 1.39 ; Constables: Joshua Shuster 
175, Lewis Lindsey 116, H. B.Skidmore 5.% Nimrod Buck- 



ingham 118; Road Supervisor: F. J. Crawford 148, A. P- 
Barnes 160. 

1855. — For Justices: Milton Bussard 209, Aquila Picket 203, 
A. Albaugh 215, T. B. Owings 135, C. Denning 127, G. W. 
Chase 87 ; Constables : John Hood 222, J. Criswell 233, 
Henry Lida 117; Road Supervisor: Wm. Gcsnell 223, J. 
Nausbaum 127. 

1857.— For Justices: T. B. Owings 105, A. Pickett 166, Abra- 
ham Albaugh 172, F. A. Switzer 183, John Hood 83; Con- 
stables: Vachel Hammond 199, J. V. Criswell 212; Road 
Supervisor: G. H. Davis 124, W. Gosnell 177. 

1859.— For Justices : T. B. Owings IIB, John Hood 174, F. A. 
Switzer 163, Aquila Pickett 164, J. Thomas Young 185; 
Constables : W. W. Pickett 184, J. B. Runkles 173; Road 
Supervisor : Jesse Jarrett 98, Kanan Sprinkle 67. 

1861.— For Justices: J. \V. Cochran 256, John T. Young 255, 
Aquila Pickett 247 ; Constables : W. W. Pickett 248, W. P. 
Davis 264: Road Supervisor: W. H. Barnes 261. 

The following is a list of public school trustees for 
1881 and 1882, together with the names of teachers 
and number of scholars : 

1. Parr's Ridge. — No appointments. 

2. Chestnut Grove. — James H. Steele, Wesley P. Gosnel, Dr. 
S. R. Waters. 

3. Cabbage Spring. — J. N. Selby, S. Hood, N. Davis. 

4. Franklinville. — Ambrose G. Franklin, W. H. Barnes, G. 
W. Baker. 

5. Pine Orchard. — Augustus Brown, David Zile, David 
Cover. 

6. Salem.— Wm. Y. Frizzell, John B. T. Sellman, Vincent 
Cresswell. 

7. Hooper's Delight. — No appointments. 

8. Ridge. — Richard J. Brasbears, Wesley Harrison, James 
Hood. 

1. Fairview (African). — No appointments. 

The teachers for the term ending April 15, 1881, 
were : 

1, Ettie Shipley, 41 pupils; 2, Sallie N. Waters, 25 pupils; 
3, Clara Selby, 40 pupils; 4, Jacob Farvcr, 44 pupils; 
5, A. W. Buckingham, 44 pupils; 6, Louisa A. Hoflfraan, 
41 pupils; 7, C. W. Reagan, 32 pupils; 8, Geo. A. Davis, 
41 pupils ; 1 (colored school), John H. Henderson, 38 pupils. 

MIDDLEBURG DISTRICT, No. 10. 
The Tenth District of Carroll County, generally 
known as Middleburg, is bounded on the north by 
the Taneytown District, on the west by the districts 
of Uniontown and Union Bridge and by Frederick 
County, on the south by Frederick County. The 
Monocacy River, Double Pipe Creek, and Little Pipe 
Creek separate the district from Frederick County, 
while Big Pipe Creek flows through the centre of the 
district. These streams and their tributaries supply 
an abundance of water for all purpo.ses. The West- 
ern Maryland Railroad passes through the southern 
portion of the district, and the Frederick and Penn- 
sylvania Line Railroad divides it very nearly into 
equal portions, these roads furnishing ample facilities 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



for outside communicatioD, trade, and traffic. The dis- 
trict in 1880 had a population of 1221. 

Middleburg District was created by an act of the 
General Assembly of Maryland, passed March 24, 
1852, in which William Shepperd, William Shaw, 
and John Ciabaugh were named as commissioners to 
ascertain and fix the boundaries. The town of Mid- 
dleburg was chosen as the place for holding the polls. 
The first settlers in the district were Scotch-Irish. 
They entered upon and cleared up a large amount of 
land between 1750 and 1770. 

Among the pioneers in this portion of the State 
were Normand Bruce, Philip and Francis Key, Upton 
Scott, the Delaplanes, Dernses, and Landises. " Terra 
Rubra," a tract of eighteen hundred and sixty-five 
acres, was patented in 1752 to Philip Key, and 
" Runnymeade," of three thousand six hundred and 
seventy-seven acres, to Francis Key and Upton Scott 
in 1767. 

Normand Bruce was sheriflF of Frederick County 
before the Revolution under the proprietary govern- 
ment, and the most important personage in this part 
of the county. " New Bedford," of five thousand 
three hundred and one acres, was patented in 1762 to 
Daniel McKenzie and John Logsden. 

John Ross Key, son of Philip Key, the owner of 
"Terra Rubra," was born in 1754. He was a lieu- 
tenant in the First Artillery, which went from Mary- 
land at the outbreak of the Revolutionary war, and 
owned a large estate in Middleburg District, then a 
part of Taneytown, in Frederick County. His wife, 
Anne Phebe Key, was born in 1775. Their mansion 
was of brick, with centre and wings and long porches. 
It was situated in the centre of a large lawn, shaded 
by trees, and had attached to it an extensive terraced 
garden adorned with shrubbery and flowers. Near 
by flowed Pipe Creek through a dense woods. A 
copious spring of the purest water was at the foot 
of the hill. A meadow of waving grass spread out 
towards the Catoctin Mountain, which could often be 
seen at sunset curtained in clouds of crimson and gold. 
When the labors of the farm were over, in the evening, 
the negroes were summoned to prayers with the family, 
which were usually conducted by Francis Scott Key 
when he was there, and by his mother when he was away. 
After prayers, almost every night, as was common on 
plantations in Maryland, music and dancing might be 
heard at the quarters of the negroes until a late hour. 
It was at this happy home that Roger Brooke Taney, 
then a young attorney, and subsequently chief justice 
of the United States, married, Jan. 7, 1806, Anne 
Phebe Charlton Key, daughter of the proprietor of 
the estate. John Ross Key died Oct. 9, 1821, and 



his wife, Anne Phebe, July 8, 1850. Both are bur- 
ied in Frederick City, in Mount Olivet Cemetery. 
Their daughter, the wife of Judge Taney, died of 
yellow fever at Point Comfort, Va., Sept. 29, 1855, 
and is buried near her parents in the same lot, by the 
side of her daughters, Ellen M. and Alice Carroll. 

No man in Frederick County took a more active 
part in the Revolutionary struggle than John Ross 
Key, who fought on the field, and was of great service 
to the patriot cause in committees and as a counselor. 
As early as 1770, when a mere boy, he attended the 
preliminary meetings of the pioneers held at Taney- 
town to consult as to the odious stamp measures then 
oppressing the colonies. He was the father of the 
wife of Chief Justice Taney and of the author of 
" The Star-Spangled Banner," — one a woman of rare 
virtues and graces, and the other the favorite national 
poet. 

Francis Scott Key, the author of the " Star-Span- 
gled Banner," was a native of Middleburg District, 
where he was born Aug. 1, 1779. A graduate of St. 
John's College, Annapolis, he adopted the law as his 
profession, began his practice at Frederick, and thence 
removed to Georgetown, D. C. He was for many 
years district attorney for the District of Columbia. 
His only sister was the wife of Roger B. Taney, 
chief justice of the United States. Hon. George H. 
Pendleton, of Ohio, is one of his sons-in-law.^ 

In personal appearance Mr. Key was tall and thin, 
cleanly shaven, with a head of heavy brown hair, dis- 
posed to curl slightly. He had a face of marked 
beauty, of peculiar oval form, and a notable sweetness 
of expression. He had large, dreamy, poetic eyes, 
and a genuinely .sympathetic and mobile countenance. 
A portrait in possession of his daughter, Mrs. Turner, 
who with some of her descendants lives in California, 
has been copied for the statue to adorn the monument 
which is to be erected to him in accordance with the 
$150,000 bequest for that purpose of James Lick, 
the millionaire. 

Mr. Key died in Baltimore, Jan. 11, 1843, while 
on a visit to his son-in-law, Charles Howard, and was 
buried in the Monumental City. At the death of his 
wife, in 1857, his remains were removed and placed 
by the side of her remains in Mount Olivet Cemetery, 
Frederick City, under the direction of his son-in-law, 
Hon. George Hunt Pendleton, United States senator 
from Ohio, who married his daughter Alice, the fa- 
vorite niece of Chief Justice Roger Brooke Taney. 

Daniel Turner, who graduated at the head of the 



• A full sketch of him will be found in the history of Fred- 
erick County. 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



899 



first class which went out from West Point Military 
Academy, was a nephew of Jacob Turner, one of 
three commissioned oflBcers who, with six soldiers, 
were killed in the battle of Germantown. 

After the war of 1812, Turner retired from the 
army and became a member of Congress from North 
Carolina. John Randolph, then in Congress, an in- 
timate friend of John Ross Key, and a frequent visi- 
tor at his hospitable home, took Mr. Turner there 
and introduced him into the Key family, one of whose 
daughters he married. 

The Scott family was an old one in the district, and 
one of its most noted members, Hon. Upton Scott, 
was born in Annapolis in 1810, when his mother was 
on a visit to her relatives. He was a delegate to the 
General Assembly in 1846, and in 1866 removed to 
Baltimore County, and later to Baltimore City. Gov- 
ernor Wliyte appointed him a justice of the peace for 
the city, and he was reappointed by Governor Carroll. 
Mr. Scott died in Baltimore, Aug. 3, 1881. He was 
the father of Mrs. Judge William N. Hayden, and 
brother-in-law of Hon. John B. Boyle, both of West- 
minster. His father, John Scott, married a daughter 
of Normand Bruce. 

Middleburg, the largest village in the district, is 
situated on the Frederick road. The land on the 
south side of that road was originally owned by the 
Brooks family, and it was a dense woods in 1800. 
The town in 1817 comprised the following houses: 
The old stone house now occupied by William Dukart 
was then kept as a tavern by William Neal. An old 
stone house also stood upon the site of J. H. Wine- 
brenner's dwelling, a part of which was, in 1817, 
used by Mr. Clapsaddle as a blacksmith-shop. Mr. 
Fulwiler, a tailor, lived in the house now occupied by 
Dr. Thompson, which was built about the year 1800 
by John Dust, and is the oldest house in the village- 
Tlie stone hou.se now owned by Arnold was built in 
1815, or thereabouts, and was then owned by Dickey 
Brooks. The tavern now owned by Lewis Lynn was 
also built about the year 1815. The building now 
occupied by Mr. Williams, and which belongs to 
Mary Koontz, was built in 1816, and was intended to 
be used as a bank, as at that time there was talk of 
organizing a county, and Middleburg was to be the 
county-seat. Dr. William Zollicoifer was the physi- 
cian, and moved here in 1817, and lived in a shed- 
house which was attached to the Williams property. 
Mr. Steiner kept a store in the house where Mr. 
Thompson now lives, there being then an additional 
building attached to it, which has since been removed. 
Mr. Zultzer kept a store in the Williams property. 
The old well which is situated on the pike south of 



Mr. Arnold's residence was dug by an Irishman, 
named Elick Fulton, in 1803. It is supposed that 
the town received its name from the fact that it is 
situated about middle way between Westminster and 
Frederick. It did not improve much until after the 
war of 1812-14, when, under the lead of Mr. Wine- 
miller, several fine houses were erected. The house 
now occupied by Susanna Dehoff was standing in 
1817, and was owned by her mother. 

At a meeting of the " Columbian Independent 
Company," commanded by Capt. Nicholas Snider, of 
Taneytown, and the " Independent Pipe Creek Com- 
pany," under the command of Capt. Thomas Hook, 
held at Middleburg, Oct. 13, 1821, information of the 
death of Gen. John Ross Key was first received. 
Middleburg is on the Western Maryland Railroad, 
forty-eight miles from Baltimore and fifteen from 
Westminster, in a fertile and thriving section of 
country. The merchants are Ferdinand Warner and 
H. D. Fuss; the physician. Dr. Charles Thompson; 
and the hotel-keeper, Lewis F. Ijynn. A large pottery 
establishment is conducted by U. T. Winemiller. 

The congregation of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church, which is quite old, held its services in the 
old log school-house until 1850, when the church 
was built. Rev. William Keith was the pastor in 
1866, and was succeeded by Rev. Mr. Haslet, who was 
followed by Rev. J. D. Moore, Rev. William Ferguson, 
Rev, George Madewell, Rev. Charles West, Rev. Mr. 
Smith, and others. E. O. Elridge is the present 
pastor. The ofiicers of the church are C. Brooks, 
Mr. Buflfington, J. A. Miller, E. C. Utter. Attached 
to this church is a neat cemetery, and the following 
persons are buried there : 

Isaac Dern, died March 9, 1864, aged 75. 

Mary, wife of Joshua Delaplane, died Aug. 11, 1862, aged 87 
years, 4 months, 20 days. 

Jolin Delaplane, born Aug. 10, 1793, died Feb. 10, 1868. 

Abraham L. Lynn, born Aug. 13, 1844, died April 5, 1872. 

Anna E., wife of D. H. Lynn, died Aug. 17, 1873, aged 20 
years, 7 months, 7 days. 

Anna R., wife of C. W. Winemiller, died April 7, 1876, aged 
32 years, 5 months, 19 days. 

Michael Magkley, born April 16, 1799, died Dec. 19, 1878. 

Joshua Parrish, died March 27, 1862, aged 59 years, 7 months, 
24 days. 

John VTesIey Wilson, born April 7, 1818, died Oct. 11, 1856. 

Mary Dayhoof, died Jan. 1, 1858, aged 47 years, 1 month, 13 
days. 

Joseph Dayhoof, died Feb. 16, 1862, aged 57 years, 18 days. 

William Koons, born July 2, 1794, died Dec. 18, 1852. 

John Nipple, born Jan. 27, 1815, died Dec. 31, 1877. 

Margaret Souder, wife of Joshua S., died June IS, 1850, aged 
50 years, 7 months, 14 days. 

Henrietta, wife of Evan C. Otts, died March 24, 1856, aged 
35 years, 9 days. 

Catharine, wife of George Hope, died Jan. 22, 1853, aged 86. 



900 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



Frederick Dern, Jr., died May 20, 1863, aged 35 years, 11 
moDths, 23 days. 

Mary J., his wife, died May 31, 1861, aged 36 years, 4 months, 
IS days. 

Frederick, Sophia, John W., their three children. 

Ann P., daughter of J. and M. Winemiller, died Dec. 11, 
1859, aged 16 years, 2 months, 25 days. 

John H. Winemiller, died March 14, 1879, aged 59 years, 8 
months, 12 days. 

Susan Alice, their daughter, died Dec. 2, 1859, aged 11 years, 
10 months, 7 days. 

John N. F. Winemiller, died Dec. 8, 1859, aged 8 years, 1 day. 

Thomas Hook, died May 12, 1869, aged 77 years, 23 days. 

Sarah Hook, died May 17, 1868, aged 83 years, 4 months, 23 
days. 

Elizabeth C. Hook, died June 13, 1858, aged 33 years, 14 
days. 

Regina E., daughter of J. M. and Agnes McAllister, died 
Jan. 4, 1863, aged 16 years, 10 months, 1 day. 

Lavina Margaret, wife of Abendago Flick, died Nov. 8, 
1855, aged 27 years, 23 days. 

John W. McAllister, died Nov. 10, 1880, aged 82 years, 8 
months, 12 days. 

Agnes McAllister, died Oct. 23, 1880, aged 75 years, 9 months, 
13 days. 

David Hope, died Nov. 1, 1859, aged 57 years, 4 months, 22 
days. 

Keysville, a small village, received its title from 
the fact that the land upon which the old school- 
houSe and church were built was presented to the in- 
habitants by Francis Scott Key. 

Though the house in which Mr. Key was born has 
disappeared, a large barn and spring-house, which he 
built not long before he died, are still standing on the 
farm now owned by John Winemiller, and occupied 
by Jacob Wentz. 

Double Pipe Creek is on the Western Maryland 
Railroad, fifty-one miles from Baltimore. Double 
Pipe Creek, from which it takes its name, is near, 
and furnishes water sufficient for milling and other 
purposes. The improvements recently made indicate 
the zeal and energy of the people. Of the Dunker 
Church, here located, Revs. D. Panel and Daniel R. 
Sayler are the preachers. The merchants are John 
T. Ott, J. W. Weant, and J. H. Angell ; the latter is 
also postmaster. The physician is Dr. Charles H. 
Diller. William T. Miller has a cooper's factory, and 
C. B. Anders runs the flouring-mill. There are sev- 
eral shops and local industries that give considerable 
business to the place. 

The old stone mill at Double Pipe Creek, now 
owned and operated by C. B. Anders, has stood since 
1794, in which year it was founded by Joshua Dela- 
plaine, although it was not completed until 1800, as 
an inscription upon a stone in the " fire arch" bears 
witness. Joshua Delaplaine was a manufacturer of 
Bome note in his day, and earned on not only the 
grist-mill, but a woolen-mill on the opposite side of 



the creek. The last-named structure still stands, but 
no looms have made music within its walls for these 
many years. In 1836, Henry Waspe built an addi- 
tion to the grist-mill, making it .what it now is. In 
1878, C. B. Anders bought the mill and other prop- 
erty of Thomas Cover. Mr. Anders was born at 
Double Pipe Creek in 1850, and in the old Delaplaine 
mill his father, Aaron, was a miller many years ago. | 
Aaron Anders removed to Linganore, and in the mill [ 
at that place followed his calling upwards of twenty- 
five years. C. B. Anders was placed in the Ling- 
anore mill when sixteen years of age, and has ever i 
since followed the occupation of a miHer. His mill, 
three stories in height, is furnished with four pairs of 
burrs, has a capacity of one hundred barrels of flour 
daily, and is devoted almost exclusively to merchant- 
work. The motive power is supplied by two turbine- 
wheels measuring, respectively, fifty-four and thirty- 
six inches in diameter, with a head of nine feet. The 
manufacturing apparatus includes all the latest devised 
mill improvements. All the barrels used are manu- 
factured in the mill. The total number of employees is 
seven. Choice Red Longberry wheat is chiefly used 
in the production of flour for shipment, and in Balti- 
more the '' Double Pipe Creek" brand ranks high. 
Mr. Anders owns also the old Delaplaine woolen-mill 
property, a brick residence on the Frederick County 
side of the creek, and two residences on the Carroll 
County side, besides the railroad warehouse. His 
home, near the railway depot, is a handsome two- W 
story structure of imposing appearance. He built it 
in 1878, and spared no expense to make it a model of 
its kind. It is a striking object in the architecture 
of the village, and is conceded to be one of the most 
completely appointed homes in Carroll County. 

Bruceville is a small village about the centre of 
the district. Long before the Revolutionary war, 
Normand Bruce, a Scotchman, emigrated to this 
country and settled in the Middleburg District, in 
the locality now known as Keysville. At that time 
the land in and about Bruceville was owned by John 
Ross Key. Bruce desiring the Key property for the 
purpose of building a mill on Big Pipe Creek, entered 
into negotiations with Key, which resulted in an ex- 
change of their estates. Bruce erected a large stone 
mill, which stood until February, 1881, when it was 
partially destroyed by fire. He also built a dwelling- 
house, the same which is now occupied by Frederick 
Mehring. The town was laid out by Bruce and 
named about the close of the eighteenth century. 
Bruce had three children, — Betsey, who married John 
Scott, the parents of the late Upton Scott, Mrs. Daniel 
Swope, and Mrs. John Brook Boyle. Charles Bruce, 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



901 



one of his sons, was born in Middleburg District, but 
in early life left this country and resided in the West 
Indies. While on a visit to his birthplace he first 
saw his sister, she then being a wife with a large 
family. Bruce was the third son. The Landis family 
came from Scotland in 1812, and located on a part of 
the Key estate. John Landis, one of the sons, who 
is still living, was in Washington in the year 1814, 
learning his trade, and was among the first who saw 
the British fleet sailing up the Potomac. 

Nicholas Kuhen was the earliest blacksmith in the 
town, and Jesse Cloud kept the hotel. Dr. Leggett 
was the physician, and Mr. Trego the merchant. 
Hudson and Brooks were prominent farmers who re- 
sided near the mill at the time of its erection. 

What was at one time quite an extensive cemetery 
is at present a thick growth of underbrush, and con- 
tains only five graves the inscriptions upon which can 
be deciphered : 

Basil Brooks, eldest' son of Raphael and Jane, died Jan. 24, 
1829, aged 66. 

Robert T. Dodds, died April 17, 1806, aged 74, "a native of 
East Lothian County, Scotland, of Haddington, of Aberlada;" 
Selldrk Dodds, his wife, "a native of Edinburgh, Scotland," 
died April 24, 1825, aged 73. 

John Dodds, their son, died Oct. 17, 1816, aged 42. 

John Scott, died Feb. 28, 1814, aged 71. 

It is Stated that the body of Normand Bruce lies in 
this yard, but should the same be true, it is unmarked 
by even a grave. 

Double Pipe Creek Division, No. 36, of Sons of 
Temperance, was incorporated by an act of the Legis- 
lature, passed March 3, 1847. The incorporators 
were John E. H. Ligget, George H. Warsche, Isaac 
Dern, Eli Otto, Noah Pennington, Benjamin Poole, 
Martin Grimes, Nicholas Stansbury, Hiram Fogle, 
George Landers, James Thomas, William Carmack, 
Abednego Slick, Francis Carmack, Joseph Fogle, 
Jesse Anders, William Miller, Edward Carmack, 
Samuel Birely. 

York Road is the station and post-oflBce for Bruce- 
ville. It is a small village, at the junction of the 
Western Maryland Railroad with the Frederick Di- 
vision of the Pennsylvania Line Railroad, and is six- 
teen miles from Westminster by rail. David Hilta- 
bidle is the railroad and express' agent and post- 
master. Dr. M. A. Lauver is the physician. 

The following is the vote for local officers in this 
district from 1853 to 1861, inclusive: 

1853.— 'Vote for Justices: Isaac Dern 113, David Otto 73, David 

Hope 67, J. 'W. McAllister 57 ; Constable: John Six 105; 

Road Supervisor: J, W. Wilson 43, Thomas Hook 90, 

Philip W. Hann 47. 
1855.— For Justices : J. Delaplatie 123, David Otto 128, Thomas 

Hook 71, J. W. McAllister 74; Constables: John Six 115, 



A. Slick 91; Road Supervisor: John Angell 109, H. Cla- 
baugh 98. 

1857.— For Justices: David Otto 174, John Delajilane 144; 
Constables : John Six 160, J. S. Shriner 149 ; Road Super- 
visor: Jacob Sayler 177. 

1859. — For Justices : Thomas Hook 93, John Delaplane 130, A. 
S. Zentz 146 : Constables : John Six 158, John A. Mackley 
148; Road Supervisor: Ephraim Hiteshue 163. 

1861.— For Justices: Samuel Angell 182, John Delaplane 181 ; 
Constables: John Six 188, Samuel T. Linn 178; Road Su- 
pervisor: Nicholas Eoons 149, A. S. Zentz 81. 

The following are the public school trustees for 
1881 and 1882, together with the names of teachers 
and number of pupils : 

1. Mount Union. — John Shunk, J. Thaddeus Starr, Henry 
Williams. 

2. Middleburg. — Dr. C. Thomson, Lewis Lynn, Moses Sea- 
brook. 

3. Bruceville. — Jacob Buffington, John Biehl, M. Fringer. 

4. Franklin. — Samuel Waybright, Joshua Dutterer, Sylvester 
'Valentine. 

5. Keysville. — Aaron Weant, Peter Writter, Benjamin Poole. 

6. Double Pipe Creek.— J. W. Weant, A. N. Forney, Lewis 
Cash. 

The teachers for the term ending April 15, 1881, 
were : 

1, W. J. Crabbs, 50 pupils ; 2, S. Jannetta Dutterer, 39 pupils ; 3, 
C. F. Reindollar, 46 pupils; 4, S. Lina Norris, 41 pupils; 
5, James B. Gait, 46 pupils ; 6, Luther Kemp, 27 pupils. 

The justices of the peace are Calvin Warner, Joseph 
Arnold ; Constable, Moses Seabrook. 

NEW WINDSOR DISTRICT, No. 11. 

The Eleventh District of Carroll County, generally 
known as New Windsor, is bounded on the north by 
Uniontown District, on the east by Westminster, on 
the south by Franklin, and on the west by Frederick 
County and Union Bridge. Sam's Creek separates 
the district from Frederick County, and Little Pipe 
Creek flows east from Westminster through the north- 
ern portion. The Western Maryland Railroad passes 
directly through the district, and furnishes excellent 
facilities for trade and travel. In 1880 it contained 
2199 inhabitants. 

This district was created by an act of the General 
Assembly of Maryland, passed March 10, 1856, out 
of parts of the Second, Seventh, and Ninth Districts. 
Its boundaries were defined as follows ; 

" Beginning at the intersection of the county line with the 
Buffalo road at Sam's Creek, and running up a branch of said 
creek to a spring near the dwelling of Abraham Albaugh, Esq. ; 
thence by a straight line to a point on the road leading from 
Mount Airy to Westminster, directly opposite the dwelling of 
Maj. Benjamin Gorsuch; thence with said road to the Nicode- 
mus road ; thence with said Nicodemus road westwardly to the 
house of A. Brown (colored) ; thence by a straight line to Cas- 
sell's mill, on Little Pipe Creek ; thence down said creek to the 
Melville mills; thence by a straight line to Upton Roop's saw- 



902 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



mill, and down the branch ; thence to said Pipe Creek, and with 
it to the bridge on the road leading from JIcKinstry's mills to 
Uniontown ; thence by a straight line to the bridge over Sam's 
Creek, near Rinehart's marble-quarries : thence up said creek, 
the county line, to the place of beginning." 

The same act established the followintj primary 
school districts : Priestland, No. 1 ; Greenwood, No. 
2 ; Snader's, No. 3 ; Baiies', No. 4 ; Carroll, No. 5 ; 
Wakefield, No. 6 ; Spriugdale, No. 7 ; and New 
Windsor, No. 8. 

Early Settlers.—" Park Hall," a tract of 2680 
acres, was surveyed for James Carroll in 1727. It 
lies between New Windsor and Sam's Creek, and was 
the first survey recorded in this portion of Maryland. 
Among the early settlers were Rev. Robert Straw- 
bridse, John Maynard, Henry Willis, David Evans, 
Hezekiah Bonham, John and Paul Hagarty, the 
Poulsons, Baxters, Durbins, Wakefields, Joshua Smith, 
Richard Stevenson, the Devilbisses, Naills, Nausbaums, 
Pearres, Nicodemuses, Buckinghams, Englars, Lam- 
berts, Roops, Michael Bartholow. The tract of land 
known as " Cornwall." for 666 acres, patented in 1749, 
lies on Little Pipe Creek, and was purchased by Jo- 
seph Haines and his brother. " Windsor Forrest," 
of 2886 acres, was patented to John Dorsey in 1772. 

Rev. David Englar, a preacher in the Society of 
Dunkers, died August, 1839, aged sixty-seven years. 

The Strawbridge Pipe Creek, or Sam's Creek, 
Methodist Episcopal Church was established in 1760, 
in Frederick County (now Carroll), the birthplace of 
American MethodLsm. At that time Frederick em- 
braced the counties of Montgomery, Washington, Alle- 
gany, Carroll, and Garrett, and in 1774 appeared the 
first record of the Frederick Circuit, which was in less 
than a hundred years to expand until it encircled 
with its Briarean arms every State and Territory 
within the limits of the United States. For years it 
was a frontier circuit, extending as far as Fairfax 
County, Va., and the pioneer preachers who traveled 
it came prepared to endure hardships and encounter 
dangers from which the advance of civilization has 
happily freed them. Its first appointments were Pipe 
Creek, Frederick-Town, Westminster, Durbin's, Sax- 
on's, Seneca, Sugar-Loaf, Rocky Creek, Georgetown 
(District of Columbia), and Adams. 

Rev. Robert Strawbridge, the first Methodist 
preacher in America, was a native of Drummer's 
Nave, near Carrick-on-Shannon, County Leitrim, Ire- 
land. Upon his arrival in this country with his wife 
and children he settled on Sam's Creek. As soon 
as he had arranged his house he began to preach in 
it, as early as 1760, and besides his appointment 
in his own house he had another, in 1762, at the 



house of John Maynard, who was a Methodist, where 
he baptized his brother, Henry Maynard, aged six 
years, at a spring in the same year, — the first Meth- 
odist baptism in America. Henry Maynard died in 
1837, aged eighty-one years. The society formed by 
Mr. Strawbridge consisted of about fifteen persons, 
among whom were David Evans, his wife and sister, 
and Mrs. Bennett. The latter, who was living in 
1856, aged eighty-nine years, described Mr. Straw- 
bridge as of medium size, dark complexion, black 
hair, and possessing a very sweet voice. When Mr. 
Asbury first visited the society, in 1772, he found 
there such names as Hagarty, Bonham, Walker, and 
Warfield. Hezekiah Bonham had been a Baptist 
until influenced by Mr. Strawbridges preaching, when 
he became a Methodist, and was much persecuted 
by his former sect. At this time Mr. Asbury heard 
him speak in public, and seeing that he had gifts 
as a speaker he gave him license to exhort. He 
afterwards became a preacher, and in 1785 his name 
is in the minutes of the Conference among the itin- 
erants. His son, Robert Bonham, was also a travel- 
ing preacher. Paul Hagarty was a member of the 
Pipe Creek Society, as was also his brother, John 
Hagarty, who became a traveling preacher, and could 
hold service in both German and English. Robert 
Walker had been converted by Mr. Whitefield at 
Fagg's Manor, Chester Co., Pa. He afterwards re- 
moved to this county and joined the Pipe Creek So- 
ciety. He subsequently removed to Sandy River, 
S. C, where he entertained Bishops Asbury and 
Whatcoat in 1800. Dr. Alexander Warfield was a 
kind and useful friend to the organization. Mr. 
Asbury dined with him on his first visit to Pipe 
Creek, and Dr. Warfield's wife was a member of Mr. 
Strawbridge's first society. Rev. Lott Warfield, for- 
merly of the Philadelphia Conference, was of this 
family. 

Not far from Pipe Creek lived William Durbin, 
who with his wife joined the Methodists in 1768. 
Their house was an early stand for preaching, and 
their son, John Durbin, was a traveling preacher in 
the beginning of this century. In the same region 
lived George Saxton, whose house was a preaching 
place at that early date. Mr. Strawbridge also ex- 
tended his labors to Baltimore and Harford Counties. 
Samuel Merryman visited Pipe Creek, and was con- 
verted by the remarkable preacher who could pray 
without a book and preach without a manuscript ser- 
mon, which was regarded by many in that age and 
place as an impossibility. From that day the old and 
noted Merryman family of Baltimore County were 
Methodists. Methodist preaching was first intro- 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



903 




STRAWBniDGE S LOG MEKTIN 



duced into Frederick Town by Mr. Strawbridge, on I 
an invitation from Edward Drumgole, who, when he 
came from Ireland in 1770, bore a letter to Mr. 
Strawbridge, and heard him preach at Pipe Creek. 
Mr. Strawbridge was the first of Mr. Wesley's follow- 
ers to preach on the Eastern Shore, in 1769, at the 
house of John Randle. in Weston, Kent Co. He 
built up thejirst society of Methodists, and built the 
first Methodist chapel in America, which was on Pipe 
Creek. In 17(Ualog j 
meeting-house was [ 
elected, about a mile ' 
fioni Mr. Straw- ; 
bridge's house. It 
w.is twenty-two feet 
Mpare ; on one side 
the logs were sawed i 
out for a door, on j 
the other three sides 
there were holes for windows, but it does not appear 
that it ever was finished. It stood without windows, 
door, or floor until 1844, when it was demolished, and 
hundreds of canes manufactured out of its logs. 
William Fort sent one to each of the bishops, then 
in New York, and one to Dr. Bond. 

Mr. Strawbridge continued to reside at Sam's Creek 
about sixteen years, and then removed to the upper 
part of Long Green, Baltimore Co., to a fiirm given 
him for life by the wealthy Capt. Charles Ridgely, by 
whom he was greatly esteemed, and who often attended 
his preaching. It was while living here, under the 
shadow of " Hampton" (Capt. Ridgely 's beautiful seat), 
that in one of his visiting rounds he was taken sick 
at the house of Joseph Wheeler and died, in the 
summer of 1781. His funeral sermon was preached 
by Rev. Richard Owings, to a vast concourse of peo- 
ple, under a large walnut-tree. His grave and that of 
Mrs. Strawbridge (who died in Baltimore) were in the 
small burying-ground, about eight miles from Balti- 
more, in the orchard south of the house, and a large 
poplar-tree has grown up between them as a living ' 
monument. 

Mr. Strawbridge had six children, — Robert, George, 
Theophilus, Jesse,' Betsey, and Jane. Two of his 
sons, George and Jesse, grew up and became carpen- 
ters. Bishop Asbury, on Sunday, Nov. 22, 1772, 
preached in the log meeting-house on Pipe Creek, 
and in 1801, at the residence of Henry Willis, held 
his Conference. During the session of that Confer- 
ence he made the significant entry in his journal, 
" Here Mr. Strawbridge founded the first society in 
Maryland or America," underscoring the latter word. 
The home of Mr. Strawbridge was on the farm now 



owned by Charles Devilbiss, and the log chapel was 
on that now owned by Peter Cover, but when torn 
down was owned by Peter Engle. The site of this first 
American chapel is a few yards from Mr. Cover's 
barn, and is now a part of a corn-field, and is un- 
marked. David Engle is the only living man who 
has a personal knowledge of the exact site, and he 
assisted in removing the logs of the rude fabric to 
another place. During 1866, the centennial year of 
American Methodism, denominational relic-hunters 
removed these lojis, and thus every vestige of the 
building disappeared. The last log was presented by 
the Rev. Charles A. Reid to the Rev. Frank S. De- 
Hass, D.D., to be placed in the Metropolitan Method- 
ist Episcopal church at Washington, D. C, where it 
was converted into an ornament. Before they were 
taken away they were measured, and from their length 
it was inferred that this primitive structure was about 
twenty-four feet in length and breadth. A part of 
one of the logs was sawed out by Charles Devilbiss, 
who presented it to Rev. S. V. Leech, D.D., of Fred- 
erick Methodist Episcopal Church. He had the 
remnant made into canes and mallets, which were 
presented to various parties as mementos. 

About twelve years ago the remains of Mr. Straw- 
bridge were removed to the " Preachers' Lot" in 
Mount Olivet Cemetery, Baltimore, and the beautiful 
monument that marks his grave was presented to the 
National Local Preachers' Association, through its 
president, Rev. Isaac P. Cook, by the late Rev. Geo. 
C. M. Roberts, M.D. 

Mr. Strawbridge did not own any land until March 
8, 1773, when, according to the county records, he 
purchased the fifty acres on which he had resided 
for thirteen years from John England. The prop- 
erty was known as " Brothers' Inheritance" and 
" England's Chance," nor did he ever sell it. Nearly 
six years after his decease his only heir, Robert Straw- 
bridge, conveyed it to Richard Stevenson. This deed 
is dated Jan. 23, 1787. The log church of Straw- 
bridge, on Sam's, or Pipe Creek, was built two years 
before the chapel erected by Philip Embury in New 
York City in 1766, and was the first church building 
erected by the Methodists on the American continent. 
When Rev. Thomas S. Rankin, Mr. Wesley's envoy, 
met the preachers in Philadelphia in 1773, that first 
Conference in America ordered that no local preacher 
should administer baptism or the Lord's Supper, 
Robert Strawbridge only excepted and by name, and 
permission was given him to administer these rites 
under direction of the regular Wesleyan missionaries. 
Mr. Strawbridge was a brave, self-denying, and suc- 
cessful evangelist, and the site of his rude log chapel 



904 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



is the Mecca to which annually hundreds of Meth- 
odists repair to view the cradle of their faith in this 
country. Four miles north of the site of the old Pipe, 
or Sam's Creek church of Robert Strawbridge stands 
the building known as " Stone Chapel." When Mr. 
Strawbridges log structure was abandoned a small 
log chapel known as " Poulson's" was erected, which 
was torn down in 1783, and " Stone Chapel" built on 
the site. It was the Pharos of Western Maryland 
Methodism during several decades. Memorable re- 
vivals have marked its history, and distinguished men 
of early Methodism have preached from its pulpit. 

Stone Chapel antedates the organization of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church in America. It is a 
two-story edifice, with small windows and galleries on 
three sides. There is on the front, high up, next to 
the apex, a tablet, on which are first three stars, then 
the initials " J. D." (Jesse Durbin) ; below there is 
an eagle with the initials " B. B." (Benjamin Ben- 
nett) to its left, and beneath the inscription : 

"Bt. 1783 
Rebt. 1800." 

Jesse Durbin and Benjamin Bennett were very 
active in their efibrts for its erection. 

This church is only a few feet from the Westmin- 
ster District line. Right opposite to it, on the other 
side of the road, is a small graveyard, in which are 
interred 

Abraham Koontz, died Jan. 18, 1873, aged 83. 

John N. Koontz, died Nov. 21, 1873, aged 32. 

Eliza, wife of Jiimes Robertson, and daughter of Thomas and 
Mary Stevenson, died Feb. 11, 1879. aged 39. 

Joseph Gushing, died Jan. 20, 1873, aged 83; and his wife, 
Susan, died Feb. U, 1871, aged 78. 

Mary, wife of Mahlon Bowers, died April 13, 1874, aged 42. ' 

Jeremiah H. Smith, born Oct. 23, 1835, died Dec. 8, 1874. 

Ann Poulson, died Dec. 21, 1875, aged 78. 

Elizabeth Nicodemus, died July 10, 1870, aged 71. 

Maranda, wife of Joshua Sellman,.died July 7, 1871, aged 68. 

William Wagner, born Aug. 9, 1833, died April IS, 1875. j 

Sarah Hooper, born Jan. 1 0, 1 793, died Feb. 8, 1 875 ( daughter j 
of Michael and Ann Bartholow). i 

Washington Barnes, son of Elisha and Amelia Barnes, born | 
July 10, 1804, died Oct. 25, 1873. ' 

The neighborhood of the old Strawbridge farm is 
dotted with venerable houses rich in early associa- 
tions. Near it is the old mansion of Alexander 
Warfield, Asbury's friend and host. The room 
where the great bishop slept is there, as is the table 
upon which he wrote his journals. For twenty years 
that mansion was a circuit-preaching appointment, ' 
and Bishop Asbury visited it for the last time in 
1816, two years before his death. It is now occupied 
by Rev. C. A. Reid, whose wife is Alexander War- 
field's granddaughter. ' 



Near to it is the Willis house, where the Rev. 
Henry Willis died. Here Bishop Asbury held a Con- 
ference in 1801, attended by forty preachers. Willis 
preached as far north as New York and as far south 
as Charleston, S. C. Within a circuit of six miles 
are the residences of William, Jesse, and John Dur- 
bin, Joshua Smith, Adam Poulson, William Poulson, 
the Wakefields, Baxters, Joseph, Jacob, and Leonard 
Cassell. Mrs. Henry Willis was the daughter of 
Jesse Hollingsworth, and was born Feb. 9, 1769. 
Her six children were William, Jesse, Mary Yellott, 
Jeremiah, and Francis Asbury. Henry Maynard 
was born Aug. 17, 1759, and died in 1839. Henry 
Willis died in 1800. 

Among the old settlers in this district is Judge 
Louis Philip Slingluff. Judge SlingluiF was born in 
Uniontown District (now New Windsor), Frederick 
County (now Carroll), March 15, 1831; the eldest 
child of Isaac and Julianna (Englar) Slinglufi'. The 
family is of German origin. His grandfather, Jesse 
Slingluff, was born in Springfield township, Phila- 
delphia Co., Pa., Jan. 1, 1775. When a boy he re- 
moved to Baltimore, and eventually, under the firm- 
name of Bohn & Slingluff, carrieS on an extensive 
grocery trade for many years in that city. He 
married Elizabeth Deardoff, of Adams County, Pa., 
by whom he had ten children, viz. : Charles D., 
Sarah Ann, Isaac, George W., Joseph, Esther Ann, 
Catharine, Elizabeth, Jesse, and Upton. Except 
Catharine and Elizabeth, who died when young, all 
were married and raised families. Charles D. was a 
prominent merchant in Baltimore, and left a large 
family, George W. was a merchant and farmer in 
Canal Dover, Ohio. He left, one son, now living 
there, Joseph was a prominent physician in Canal 
Dover. Two sons survive him and are still living 
there. Esther Ann was wife of Joseph Poole ; eight 
children survive her, Upton was a merchant in Bal- 
timore. He left five children. Sarah Ann is the 
widow of Thomas E, Hambleton, residing in Balti- 
more. She has seven children, Jesse is president 
of the Commercial and Farmers' Bank, of Baltimore, 
and has eight children. Isaac, father of Judge L, P., 
was born in Baltimore, Aug. 5, 1807. At the time 
Baltimore was threatened by the British in the war of 
1812-14, Jesse Slingluff moved his family from the 
city and settled on what was known as the " Avalon" 
farm, in New Windsor, Having secured the safety 
of his family, he returned to give his services in the 
defense of the city. He became the owner of a large 
tract of land in New Windsor, and the latter years of 
his life were spent upon his estate. He died June 30, 
1836. Both hinl^iel^ and wile are buried in Green- 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



905 



mount Cemetery, Baltimore. Upon the death of his 
father Isaac came into possession of the " Avalon" 
farm. He nianicil Julianna, daughter of Philip 
Englar, of New Wimlsor. Their children were Louis 





Philip, subject of this sketch ; Mary Elizabeth, born 
Jan. 27, 1833, widow of Jesse Weaver; four chil- 
dren ; Jesse, born April 14, 1835, died Oct. 9, 1S3G ; 
Frances Hannah, boru April 7, 1838, widow of Ezra 
Stouffer, living in New Windsor; six children. Isaac 
Slingluflf died April 30, 1852 ; his wife, Dec. 14, 
1848. 

Upon the death of his father Louis Philip became 
the possessor of the " Avalon" farm, by purchase from 
the heirs. He was educated in Calvert College, New 
Windsor, under President A. H. Baker. Tliough 
thoroughly devoted to his occupation as a farmer, 
Judge Slinglutf has always taken a lively interest in 
the political questions of the day. He ha.s been 
identified actively with the Democratic party since he 
became a voter. In 1872 he was appointed by Gov- 
ernor William P. Whyte to fill the unexpired term of 
Judge Upton Roop as judge of the Orphans' Court, 
and upon the expiration of that term was elected for 
another term of four years. For the last six or seven 
years he has been one of the board of directors and 
the board of trustees of " New Windsor," formerly 
" Calvert," College. 



Though not a member of any church, the judge is 
a liberal contributor to the support of all churches 
and benevolent institutions of his neighborhood. He 
married, Oct. 18, 1855, Ellen, daughter of George 
W. Slingluff, of Canal Dover, Ohio. Mrs. Slingluff 
died Sept. 8, 1856. He married for his second wife 
Margaret Alverda, daughter of Thomas and Catharine 
(Stouffer) Cromwell, March 19, 1861. The latter 
was born Aug. 24, 1839, in Walkersville, Frederick 
Co., Md. Her grandfather, Philemon Cromwell, 
who was a descendant of Oliver Cromwell, came from 
Baltimore County, and settled in Frederick County, 
Md. Her father, alter the death of his first wife, 
married again, moved to Tiffin, Ohio, and died there. 
Judge and Mrs. Slingluff have five children, viz. : 
Isaac Jackson, born Dec. 17, 1861 ; Thomas Crom- 
well, born Dec. 21, 1862; Nellie, born June 24, 
1866; Catharine Cromwell, born Dec. 22, 1867; 
Robert Lee, born Jan. 14, 1877 ; all living at home. 
Many Germans from the old country and Pennsyl- 
vania settled in this part of New Windsor District as 
early as the year 1750. They worshiped at their homes 
until the increase in their numbers necessitated the 
building of a church. George F. Winter, one of the 
prominent men at that time, generously donated an 
acre of ground, upon which, in the year 1766, under 
the direction of the building committee, — Jacob 
Haines, Adam Swigart, John Engleman, and Mr. 
Prugh, — the church was erected. It is one and a 
half miles from New Windsor, on the road to Union- 
town. It was built by the Lutheran congregation, 
assisted slightly by the German Reformed congrega- 
tion, who were allowed to use the church for their 
worship. 

The first pastor of whom there is any record was the 
Rev. Mr. Grubb, who occupied this position in 1800. 
He was followed by the Reverends Mr. Wachter, 
Reuben Weiser, and Mr. Kiler. After Mr. Kiler the 
congregation had no regular minister for some years, 
but was supplied with occasional preaching by ministers 
from Baltimore. Rev. Solomon Sentman, fearing the 
congregation would lose many of its members by this 
mode of ministering, organized a church council, and 
Rev. Philip Willard was appointed to the charge. 
The church at this time was in the Taneytowa 
charge, but was subsequently joined to the Westmin- 
ster charge. Rev. Mr. Reinsnider was the next pastor, 
and was followed by Rev. John Winter, who began 
his duties about the year 1848. He was succeeded 
in the year 1853 by Rev. Samuel Henry. Rev. Dr. 
Martin, Rev. H. C. HoUoway, Rev. J. F. Deiner, 
Rev. A. Strobel, Rev. G. W. Anderson, and Rev. 
David B. Floyd, respectively. 



906 



HISTOKY OF WESTEKN MARYLAND. 



About the year 1870 the church was again 
changed, and put in the Uniontown Circuit, where it 
now stands. About eighty members worship at this 
church, and it is in a very prosperous condition. The 
present trustees are Elmer Hyde, Ephraim Haines, 
Levi Winter, Wm. Winter, Samuel Gilbert, Jonas 
EfFert ; Elders, Elmer Hyde, Levi Bankart ; Deacons, 
Robert Davidson, John Wilhelm. 

In the Winters Cemetery, which is attached to the 
church, the following persons are buried : 

John Lambert, died March 1, 1S.3S, aged 80 years, 1 month, 
23 days ; Ellen, bis wife, died April 4, 1829, aged 68 years, 17 
days. 

Jacob Haynes, died July 2, 1820, aged 73 years, 4 months, 
10 days. 

Ester Hens, born March 6, 1756, died March 9, 1S04. 

Mary M. Greenwood, died Dec. 2, 1812, aged 63. 

Jacob Morman, born 1786, died 1804. 

Rosanna Shuey, died April 10, 1839, aged S3. 

Anna M. Greenholtz, died June 19, 1815. aged 53. 

.Jacob Greenholtz, died aged 85. 

Catharine Greenholtz, died aged 45. 

Rachel Greenholtz, died aged 75. 

John Greenholtz, died Dec. 29, 1870, aged 84. 

Isaac B. Norris, died March 19, 1849, aged 64. 

Jacob Smelser, died May 19, 1819, aged 31 years, 9 months, 
27 days. 

Henry Haines, died Feb. 25, 1873, aged 83 years, 12 days; 
Magdalena, his wife, died Sept. 2, 1868, aged 75 years, 9 
months, 25 days. 

Sarah, relict of John Lantz, died Dec. 2, 1874, aged 77 years, 

10 months, 22 days. 

Andrew Myers, died July 12, 1823, aged 30 years, 5 months. 

Mary Myers, died Aug. 27, 1817, aged 21 years, 7 months, 3 
days. 

Peter Myers, died Feb. 22, 1814, aged 54 years, 21 days. 

Magdalena Myers, died Jan. 14, 1829, aged 68 years, 5 
months, 16 days. 

Noah Worman, died Oct. 9, 1868, aged 83 years, 5 months, 4 
days ; Catharine, his wife, born July 26, 1787, died Aug. 2, 
1853. ■ 

Rebecca Myers, died Jan. 11, 1867, aged 66 years, 11 months, 

11 days. 

John Engleman, died April 18, 1841, aged 52 years, 7 months, 
4 days. 

Julia A. Sellman, died July 19, 1880, aged 82. 

Mary Engleman, died Dec. 15, 1822, aged 57 years, 6 
months. 

John Engleman, Sr., died Dec. 25, 1835, aged 75 years, 9 
months. 

Henry Shriner, died Sept. 25. 1823, aged 7 months. 

Mary Myers, born April 16, 1826, died Oct. 9, 1858. 

Jacob Myers, born July 29, 1787, died May 13, 1833 ; Mary, 
his wife, died Jan. 4, 1822, aged 34 years, 4 months, 18 days. 

Martin Winter, died July 7, 1876, aged 72 years, 6 months, 

6 days. 

Catharine Winter, died Aug. 20, 1851, aged 77 years, 10 days. 

Jacob Winter, died Dec. 1, 1845, aged 58 years, 1 month, 18 
days. 

Elizabeth, wife of Geo. Winter, died Jan. 16, 1866, aged 73 
years, 1 month, 20 days. 

Geo. Winter, Sr., died Aug. 6, 1831, aged 45 years, 11 months, 

7 days. 



Catharine Garner, died Aug. 22, 1831, aged 47 years, 8 
months, 19 days. 

George Garner, died Aug. 5, 1840, aged 68 years, 8 months, 
15 days. 

James Crawford, died Feb. 2, 1839, aged 77 years, 3 months, 
14 days. 

Catharine, his wife, died May 7, 1828, aged 60 years, 3 
months, \o days. 

Charlotte Boblets, daughter of Geo. Lambert, died March 13, 
1830, aged 33 years, 5 days. 

Wm. Brawner, died Aug. 1, 1828, nged 76; Catharine, his 
wife, died Oct. 25, 1824, aged 69. 

Elizabeth Crawford, died Dec. 24, 1872, aged 86 years, 9 
months, 5 days. 

Elizabeth Kandel, died Oct. 6, 1849, aged 67 years, 8 months, 
27 days. 

Mary Lamberd, born Sept. 21, 1822, died March 30, 1872. 

Abraham Lambert, died Sept. 3, 1862, aged 56 years, 10 
months. 

Joshua Metcalf, born June 30,1787, died April 16, 1860 ; 
Eleanor, his wife, born Feb. 21, 1799, died June 8, 1864. 

David Shuey, died June 5, 1845, aged 45. 

Catharine Shuey, born Aug. 2, 1778, died May 10, 1855. 

Margaret Kiler, died April 23, 1853, aged 51 years, 7 months, 
12 days. 

Rachel Blizzard, born Sept. 12, 1807, died May 31, 1874. 

Mary Traxell, died April 10, 1870, aged 95. 

Jacob Kiler, died Nov. 15, 1844, aged 82 years, 9 months, 5 
days. 

Simon Kiler, died Oct. 1, 1839, aged 73 years, 9 months. 

Elizabeth, wife of Jacob Kiler, died April 2, 1836, aged 72. 

Fred. Baser, died June 2], 1821, aged 16. 

Josiah Prugh, died Aug. 7, 1813, aged 16. 

Lucia M. Prugh, died July 19, 1816, aged 67 years, 5 months, 
3 days. 

Geo. Dagen, died Dec. 17, 1810, aged 72. 

Elizabeth Dagen, died March 19, 1821, aged 32 years, 8 
months, 9 days. 

Henry Cook, died Jan. 14, 1820, aged 74. 

Mary Swigart, died March 5, 1835, aged 84. 

Michael Smelser, died Nov. 10, 1831, aged 74 years, 4 
months. 

Adam Swigart, born 1724, died 1796. 

Ad.am Swigart, born Oct. 25, 1784, died March 17, 1825. 

Adam Swigart, died Jan. 9, 1832, aged 82 years, 8 months, 
22 days. 

Elizabeth Swigard, died Jan. 15, 1812, aged 59 years, 4 days. 

Elizabeth Hanes, died March 10, 1822, aged 37 years, 11 
months, 9 days. 

Geo. Smelser, born Nov. 1, 1811, died April 29, 1872. 

Mary, wife of Michael Smelser, died July 25, 1836, aged 77 
years, 7 months, 11 days. 

David Smelser, died Feb. 22, 1864, aged 63 years, 7 months, 
11 days. 

Mary Magdalena Hanna, died Jan. 25, 1841. 

Barbara Long, died April 18, 1841, nged 34 /ears, 6 months, 
25 days. 

Michael S: Norris, died April 3, 1866, aged 75. 

Isatic N. Smelser, born May, 1821, died May, IS50. 

Elizabeth Lambert, born Oct. 6, 1785, died Feb. 3, 1862. 

John Lambert, died March 30, 1855, aged 58 years, 6 months, 
1 day. 

Esther, his wife, died Oct. 16, 1876, aged 74 years, 11 ;-;ionths, 
9 days. 

Joshua Tingling, born Oct. 5, 1801, died Deo. 9, 1856. 

Mary M. Yingling, born June 13, 1802, died Aug. 19, 1875. 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



907 



Mary A., wife of Samuel Lamberd, died Jan. 24, 1858, aged 
25. 

Peter Geiger, born May 19, 178+, died Aug. 7, 1858; Char- 
lotte, his wife, born April 2fi, 1793, died Sept. 6, 1863. 

Magdalen CooI<. died June 4, 1849, aged 96 years, 4 days. 

Catharine Bayar, died Oct. 1, 1811, aged 48 years, 4 months. 

J. Faster, born 1781. 

Tobias Gearner, born 1754, died 1793. 

Margaret Gearner, born 1750, died 1807. 

Israel Cools and Ephraim, infants, died 1820. 

David Brower, died Jan. 7, 1823, aged 19. 

Rebecca Eckman, died 1820, aged U months. 

Michael, wife of John Brower, died June 22, 1849, aged 80 
years, 7 months, 15 days. 

Richard Adams, died April 2, 1867, aged 68. 

Hannah Adams, died Jan. 29,1852, aged 52. 

Lewis Boublets, born 1802, died April 20, 1867. 

Elizabeth Frownfelter, died Nov. 26, 1879, aged 39 years, 6 
months, 7 days. 

J.acob Z. Buchan, died May 24, 1813, died July 15, 1877. 

Michael Bagner, born 1723, died 1795. 

M. Bagner, born 1725, died 1789. 

J. Winter, died Oct. 13, 1731, aged 61. 

John Winter, died June 3, 1827, aged 43 years, 5 months, 26 
days. 

Christian Winter, died March 9, 1810, aged 25 years, 3 
months. 

Fred. Milins, born in Etzdorf, liingdom of Saxony, Germany, 
Sept. 15, 1767, died Oct. 28, 1852; Mary E., his wife, born 
Dec. 10, 1785, died Nov. 21, 1874. 

John Shannon, died March 28, 1853, aged 65 ; Sarah, his 
wife, died April 21, 1859, aged 75. 

Samuel Townsend, died June 11, 1825, aged 21 years, 10 
months. 

David Townsend, died May 16, 1835, aged 30 years, 3 months, 
4 days. 

Thomas Townsend, died Nov. 10, 1851, aged 73 years, 3 
montlis ; Elizabeth, his wife, born Aug. 28, 1776, died April 
27, 1850. 

Joseph Winter, born Feb. 9, 1797, died Dec. 2, 1863. 

Elizabeth Engleman, died Dec. 16, 1879, aged 89 years, 8 
months, 14 days. 

Mary Engleman, died April 20, 1879, aged 85 years, 6 months, 
18 days. 

Lewis Engleman, died Nov. 19, 1870, aged 78 years, 11 
months, S days. 

Josiah Pearce, ilied Dec. 5, 1830, aged 53 years, 3 months, 
28 days. 

Elizabeth Pearce, died Oct. 10, 1852, aged 72 yetirs, 10 
months, 22 days. 

Sarah A., wife of Elmer Hyde, born March 6, 1829, died 
April 1, 137.='. 

Isaac Hyde, born Jan. 9, 1798, died March 3, 1872; Mary, 
his wife, died May 14, 1S76, aged 74 years, 1 month, 29 days. 

Jonathan Hyde, died July 31, 1802, aged 75. 

Ann Hyde, bern June 16, 1728, died July 8, 1812. 

Elizabeth Hyde, born June 3, 1765, died Dec. 14, 1814. 

Ann Hyde, died March 22, 1858, aged 87 years, 3 months, 23 
days. 

Columbus Engleman, died March 27, 1877, .aged 39 years, 5 
months, 11 days. 

George Mering, died Oct. 24, 1868, aged 67 years, 2 months, 
9 days. 

Catharine Frownfelter, born Aug. 22, 1824, died Sept. 15, 
1865. 

Magdiilene Herman, born Dec. 27, 1799, died March 14, 1861. 



Thomas King, died July 26, 1879, aged 65. 

George Gisleraan, died June 19,1878, aged 84 years, 1 month, 
18 days; Regina, his wife, died Dec. a, 1876, aged 80 years, 
7 months, 28 days. 

Francis Wagner, died Oct. 7, 1869, aged 34 years, 4 months, 

4 days. 

Peter Nace, died June 15, 1866, aged 53. 

George Wilhelm, died Feb. 17, 1872, aged 34 years, 10 months, 
16 days. 

Sophia L. Wilhelm, born April 27, 1805, died Feb. 7, 1875. 

Helper Grammer, born April 14,1790, died April 17, 1869; 
Margaret Gramiuer, his wife, died Oct. 5, 1868, aged 83 years, 

5 months. 

Adam Fuss, died Aug. 28, 1879, aged 60 years, 2 months, 17 
days. 

Louisa Muller, died Jan. 21, 1880, aged 61 years, 9 months, 
26 days. 

New Windsor. — This town is twenty-eight miles 
from Baltimore, and is the commercial centre of the 
district. It is in an exceedingly fertile section of 
the county, and a branch of Little Pipe Creek passes 
along its outer edge. It is one of the important sta- 
tions on the Western Maryland Railroad, has a bank, 
two institutions of learning, a number of churches, a 
warehouse, some well-stocked stores, and contains a 
population of more than 400 inhabitants. In the 
immediate vicinity there are a number of lime and 
stone-quarries, and some valuable mills. The town 
was incorporated by an act of the General Assembly 
of Maryland, passed Jan. 2,5, 1844. 

On March 15, 1817, Joshua Metcalfe took charge 
of the Merino factory, a valuable property, formerly 
carried on by Silas Hibberd, near New Windsor. Blr. 
Metcalfe had been foreman in the factory for many 
years. Aug. 22, 1817, Charles W. Pearre, who had 
been in business for a number of years, notified all 
those in debt to him to call and settle at Lemuel 
Pearre's store their accounts by September 20th. 

The following advertisement appeared in the Star 
of Federalism of Nov. 19, 1819: 

"German Redemptioners. — About one hundred and sixty 
German Redemptioners, who are principally young people, 
and among whom are farmers and tradesmen of every kind, 
have just arrived in the Dutch ship ' Bataviii,' Capt. B. Ehlers. 
Apply to the captain on board at the Cove, .Spring Garden, or 
to Chas. W. Karthaus k Co., 50 South Gay Street, Baltimore." 

Of these redemptioners, several who were bought 
came to this region and settled in the rear of the town 
of New Windsor. 

The fir.st physician in New Windsor was Dr. 
Robert Dodds, a native of Scotland, who died July 
27, 1833. 

New Windsor was formerly called " Sulphur 
Springs," in consequence of an excellent mineral 
spring on the farm of Isaac Atlee, now owned by 
Dennis H. Maynard. The first oflBcers of the town, 
who were elected to serve from 1844 to 1845, were : 



9U8 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



Henry W. Dell, burgess ; Samuel Ecker, Jesse Lambert, Isaac 

Blizzard, commissioners: Samuel Hoffman, collector, 
1845-16. — H. W. Dell, burgess ; Samuel Hoffman, Jesse Lam- 
bert, Samuel Ecker, commissioners. 
1846-47.— Samuel Ecker, burgess ; H. W. Dell, Jesse Lambert, 

Jonas Ecker, commissioners. 
1847-48. — Jonas Ecker, burgess; Jesse Lambert, Andrew 

Baker, Samuel Ecker, commissioners. 
1848-49. — Jonas Ecker, burgess ; Thomas Bartlow, Andrew 

Baker, Lewis Fowler, commissioners. 
1849-50. — H. W. Dell, burgess; Jesse Lambert, Jonas Ecker, 

Lewis Fowler, commissioners. Dell resigned, and Samuel 

Hoffman was appointed in his place. 
1850-51. — Jonas Ecker, burgess; H. W. Dell, Nathan Hanna, 

Jesse Lambert, commissioners. 
1851-52. — Jonas Ecker, burgess; Henry Geaty, N. Hanna, 

Jesse Lambert, commissioners. 
1852-53. — Jonas Ecker, burgess; Jesse Lambert, William R. 

Curry, William Delphey, commissioners. 
1853-54. — The same re-elected. 
1854-55. — Jonas Ecker, burgess; Jesse Lambert, Elijah En- 

8or, Henry W. Dell, commissioners.^ 
1861-62. — Henry Geaty, burgess ; Ezra Stouffer, Levi N. Sna- 

der, Jesse Lambert, commissioners. 
1862-63. — Jacob Roop, burgess; Levi N. Snader, Ezra Stouffer, 

N, Hanna, commissioners. 
1863-64. — James Earbart, burgess ; Dr. BufSngton, Joseph A. 

Stouffer, Jesse Lambert, commissioners. 
1864-65. — Levi N. Snader, burgess; Jesse Lambert, Lewis 

Shully, Daniel Stouffer, commissioners. 

By an act of tlie March session of the General As- 
sembly of Maryland, the charter of the corporation 
was revived, and the limits extended as follows : 

*' Beginning at a sycamore-tree on Dickinson's branch, op- 
posite the foot of Main Street, southeast of said branch to the 
mouth of Ray's branch ; thence with the northeast side of the 
mill dam to Chew's bridge, leaving the dam and bridge out- 
side of the corporation; thence northeast on the west side of 
the road to the division line between Jesse Lambert and E. W. 
Englar, leaving said road outside of said corporation ; thence 
with said line to a point directly opposite the line between An- 
drew H. Baker and Josiah Hibbert, on the east side of Calvert 
College ; thence from this point northerly through the lands of 
A. H. Baker, and the division line between the said Baker and 
Hibbert, to the northeast corner of the lands of said Baker, to 
a ten-pin alley, and westwardly with the lines between said 
Baker and Hibbert, Frownfelter, and others to the lands of D. 
H. Maynard ; then with a straight line parallel with said May- 
nard's garden fence, and with it to said Maynard's outer gate; 
thence with a straight line to a sycamore-tree, the place of 
beginning." 

1867. — Joseph A. Stouffer, burgess; A. H. Baker, Dr. J. F. Buf- 

fington, E. S. Stouffer, commissioners. 
1868-69 A. H. Baker, burgess; Dr. J. F. Buffington, E. S 

Stouffer, Joseph Stouffer, commissioners. 
1869. — Jesse Lambert, burgess ; Jacob Frownfelter, Jesse 

Haines, Charles P. Baile, commissioners. 
1870-71. — Jesse Lambert, burgess; Charles P. Baile, Jacob 

Frownfelter, Jesse Haines, commissioners. 

1 During the year 1855 the corporation died out, but in 1860 
Jacob Roop was elected mayor or burgess ; Dr. John Buffing- 
ton, Daniel Stouffer, and Winson Brown, commissioners. 



1871-72. — Peter Baile, burgess; Lewis Dielman, William Van- 

sant, James Devilbiss. 

1872-73. — The same re-elected. 

1873-74. — The same re-elected. 

1874-75. — Peter Baile, burgess ; Lewis Dielman, Jacob Frown- 
felter, James Devilbiss, commissioners. 

1875-76. — P. Baile, burgess ; Lewis Dielman, C. P. Baile, Jacob 
Frownfelter, commissioners. 

1876-77. — P. Baile, burgess; William Vansant, W. A. Norris, 
Dr. J. F. Buffington, commissioners. 

1877-78.— Charles P. Baile, burgess; W. A. Norris, William 
Vansant, Jeremiah Bailey, commissioners. 

1878-79. — Peter Baile, burgess; Lewis Dielman, Samuel Hoff- 
man, Jacob Frownfelter, commissioners. 

1879. — Peter Baile, burgess ; Jacob Frownfelter, George S. Gitt, 
C. P. Baile, commissioners. 

1880-81.— Peter Baile, burgess; George A. Gitt, F. J. Devilbiss, 
James Lambert, commissioners. 

1881. — Peter Baile, burgess; Jacob Frownfelter, Charles E. Nor- 
ris, C. C. Engel, commissioners. 

Prior to 1871 one of the commissioners served as a 
clerk to that body, but since that date Lewis Dielman 
has occupied that position. 

A correct list is given of thirty-one persons, living 
within a radius of five miles of New Windsor in 1879, 
who had lived to the age of seventy years and up- 
wards : 

J/a^es.- William Engleman, 82; Jacob Sauble, 88; Israel 
Switzer, 74; Abner Baile, 71; Israel Norris, 80; Samuel 
MoKinstry, 71; Samuel Winter, 79; Jacob Snader, 74; 
Joseph Stouffer, 73 ; Daniel Lambert, 72 ; Esau Randall, 
90; D. Woodegard (colored), SS; David Crumbacker, 77 ; 
David W.Naill, 84: Joshua Warfield, 82 ; Josiah Hibberd, 
70; Thomas King, 70; David Engel, 77. Femalet. — Mrs. 
Sallie Wolfe, 92: Elizabeth Eckman, 88 : Elizabeth Shriner, 
83; Elizabeth Crumbacker, 84: Elizabeth Engleman, 89 ; 
Mary Diehl, 90 ; Julia Earhard, 76 ; Polly Engleman, 86; 
Nelly Engleman, 71: Honor Williams, 82 ; Nancy Sanders* 
(colored), 110 ; Rebecca Crowl, 86 : Sally Baile, 76. 

The First National Bank of New Windsor was 
chartered in 1860. Its officers have been : President, 
Thomas F. Shepperd ; Cashiers, Joseph A. Stouffer, 
Nathan H. Baile; Directors, Job Hibberd, Solomon 

2 Nancy Sanders, a colored woman residing at Landis' Mill, in 
an interview, states : " I belonged to Mr. George Robeson, way 
down in 'Gomery County, and about tiie time the first wa' with 
the English closed I came to Carroll County, on Sam's Creek. 
Then I was sixteen years old. In a few years there was an_ 
other war with the English, and just as Mr. Peter Naill, Lud. 
Greenwood, and Massa Clemson Skyles were about to start to 
jine the army, the English captain was killed down ne.ar Balti- 
more, and then the war stopped." Judging from her account, 
she was born in 1767, was sixteen years of age when the Revo- 
lutionary war ended (in 1783), and is consequently one hun- 
dred and fourteen years old now. She soys if she was not in 
snch a bad state of health she conld do more work than any 
woman in the county. She claims that her age does not hurt 
her, for she can thread a needle, and laughs at her youngest 
son, George, who is sixty, because he wears spectacles. Her 
mind seems clear on all subjects, except she thinks some one 
has put a " spell" on her. 



CARRULL COUNTY. 



909 



S. Ecker, Samuel Hoffman, UptoD Root, Peter Engle, 
and Joseph H. Hibberd. 

New Windsor was thrown into a state of intense 
excitement Saturday morning, Jan. 23, 1868, by the 
discovery that the bank had been robbed. For some 
days previous two strangers had been in the neigh- 
borhood, who represented themselves as drummers for 
Baltimore houses. About two o'clock on Saturday 
morning a physician who was called up to see a patient 
saw a man standing near the bank building, and al- 
though it was unusual to see any person on the street 
at that hour, he suspected nothing wrong. Saturday 
morning the oificers of the bank went as us^ual to 
their place of business, but discovered that the safe 
could not be opened. One of them immediately 
started for the city of Baltimore, and called on the 
independent police firm of Smith, Pierson & West. 
The detectives went immediately to New Windsor, 
and found that the lock had been successfully picked, 
and that important portions of it had been removed. 
Upon opening the safe it was apparent that the whole 
contents had been removed. 

Ninety-nine thousand dollars in all had been taken. 
Of this amount ninety thousand dollars were in the 
following securities, which were the property of pri- 
vate parties, and had been deposited with the bank for 
safe-keeping : 

United States five-twenties of 1862, Nos. 3260, 
7650, of five hundred dollars each ; United States 
five-twenties of 1864, Nos. 39,663, 20,152, 20,153, 
20,154, one thousand dollars each ; United States five- 
twenty bonds of 1865. January and July, Nos. B, 
64,031; A, 2881; E, 177,342; B, 70,191; B, 
57,982, of five hundred dollars each ; United States 
ten-forties. No. 19,747, of five hundred dollars; 
Central Pacific Railroad bonds, first mortgage, Nos. 

F, 7648 ; F, 4561 ; F, 4562 ; G, 8978 ; G, 8981 ; 

G, 8982; G, 8971; G, 8972; F, 4571; F, 4572 ; 
F, 4569; F, 7648; Union Pacific Railroad, Nos. 
2982, 9417, 9419, 9416, 8487, 8491, 7258, 7259, 
8486, amounting to §13,931.56 ; Western Maryland 
Railroad first mortgage bonds, Nos. 93, 125, 107, of 
one thousand dollars each ; Nos. 447, 444, 449, 555, 
448, 564, 525, 559, 526, 566, 441, of five hundred 
dollars each ; Western Maryland Railroad second 
mortgage bonds, indorsed by Washington County, 
Nos. 11, 13, 78, 81, 7, 47, 43, 44, of one thousand 
dollars each ; 7, 67, 68, 670, of five hundred dollars 
each ; 761, 690, of one hundred dollars each ; Wash- 
ington County bonds, Nos. 65, 66, 91, 39, 7, 55, of 
one thousand dollars each ; 33, 30, 64, 65, 66, 67, 31, 
21, 36, 37, 53, of five hundred dollars each ; 53, 51, 
26, of one hundred dollars each ; New Orleans and 

59 



Opelousas Railroad first mortgage, Noa. 962, 963, 
967, 968, 1803, 999, 428, 216, 427, 998, 1806, 
1592, 1610, 1593, 1599, 1479, 188, 1807, 966, 
1804, 972, 1805, 474, 209, 997, 906, 475, of one 
thousand dollars each ; and others. 

The remaining nine thousand dollars were in green- 
backs, of the denominations of one thousand dollars 
and five hundred dollars, and were the property of 
the bank. 

An examination of the premises disclosed that the 
burglars had but little difficulty in gaining access to 
the bank. The upper part of the house was not oc- 
cupied, and the entrance was effected through a 
second-story window, after which, with the aid of 
burglar's tools, the doors were easily opened. One of 
the tools, a jimmy, made with a screw-thread on one 
end, by which it could be converted into a brace, was 
found on the premises, where it had been left. The 
robbery was done by expert burglars, and it is sup- 
posed the arrangements for its consummation had been 
perfected for some time, so easily and thoroughly was 
it accomplished. Messrs. Smith, Pierson & West 
took charge of the matter at once. 

A new and elegant light jagger-wagon, badly 
mashed, was found beyond the limekiln, close to Law- 
rence Zepp's entrance, near Westminster. William 
S. Brown found tied to his garden fence a very fine 
horse with a set of silver-mounted harness on him. 
The harness and blankets were new and of costly 
make. The impression was at the time that the 
robbers had intended to meet an accomplice here. 
The burglars left New Windsor in a hand-car, and 
ran down to within a mile of Westminster, at Hollow 
Rock limestone-quarries. Here they threw the car 
off the track, and walked to Westminster, where they 
took the early train for Baltimore. A reward of ten 
thousand dollars was offered for the apprehension of 
the robbers. The detective learned that several per- 
sons, whose description he had with him, had regis- 
tered at the hotels in Baltimore at different times pre- 
! vious to the robbery, and no doubt remained on his 
j mind that these were the robbers. The police in pros- 
ecuting the search visited Philadelphia, and gave the 
i detective force there a description of a man whose 
identity could be established more readily that that of 
the others, and asked the co-operation of the Philadel- 
phia officers. The latter recognized in him Mark 
Schinbourn, a notorious New York burglar, who was 
then in New York, and for whose apprehension the 
j New Hampshire authorities were offering a reward of 
j one thousand dollars, he being an escaped convict from 
that State. An additional reward was also offered 
' for his arrest by the Lehigh Coal and Navigation 



910 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



Company, from whose office at White Plains he had 
stolen fifty-six thousand dollars' worth of bonds. The 
Baltimore detective officers, in continuation of their 
investigation, went to New York, and applied for as- 
sistance to the chief of police, relating the circum- 
stances and their suspicion of Schinbourn. Nothing 
further was heard of the robbers or their booty for 
about two weeks, at which time a man appeared at 
the New Windsor Bank with ninety thousand dollars 
of the missing securities, which he paid over, with 
a deduction of twenty per cent, (nineteen thousand 
dollars) for his trouble and expense. It then leaked 
out that Schinbourn and an associate named McQuade 
had been arrested, and were confined in tlie New York 
Police Central Office for about a week, and it is said 
when they turned over the securities they were allowed 
to depart in peace. 

New Windsor College, situated in the heart of 
one of the healthiest and most picturesque sections 
of Maryland, was chartered in 1843 by the Presby- 
terians. In 1852 it was reorganized by Andrew J. 
Baker and others, and though still under the auspices 
of the Presbyterian Church is not a sectarian institu- 
tion, the pupils being allowed to worship in accordance 
with their religious convictions. The buildings are 
commodious, and fitted with all the modern appliances 
for health and comfort. The institution has prepara- 
tory and Cjllegiate departments, to which both sexes 
are admitted, with such restrictions only as the nature 
of the case demands. Rev. J. P. Carter was the first 
president. He was succeeded in 1852 by Andrew J. 
Baker, who presided until 1877, when Rev. A. M. 
Jelly, D.D., the present excellent principal, took 
charge. 

The college sufiered greatly during the war, and 
for some years afterwards from financial embar- 
rassments, but through the able management of Dr. 
Jelly it weathered the storm and entered upon a 
career of prosperity and usefulness. The college is 
essentially two separate institutions with' two boards 
of instructors, located on the same ground and under 
the same general management, and thus parents are 
enabled to educate both their sons and daughters 
without separating them. The students enjoy the 
advantages of a large and well-selected library and 
the " William Andrews" cabinet of geology, contain- 
ing twenty thousand specimens. 

There are three literary societies, — the Alexandrian, 
in the academical department; the Minnehaha, in the 
Ladies' Seminary ; and the Union Society, composed 
of the other two, which meets once a week for mental 
culture. The faculty is composed of graduates from 
Yale, Princeton, Wooster University, University of 



Maryland, and Washington and Jefferson College, as 
well as from the best female schools. 

During the college year Joseph T. Smith, M.D., of 
the University of Maryland, delivers twice a week 
lectures upon anatomy, physiology, and hygiene, and 
there is a course of lectures during the session on 
general topics. The institution has also a printing 
department, under the management of W. R. A. 
Kohl, of Baltimore, where the college printing is 
done. 

The curators are 

Rev. John C. Backus, D.I)., LL.D., Baltimore ; Rev. Joseph 
T. Smith, D.D., Baltimore; Rev. John Leyburn, D.D., 
Baltimore; Rev. J. A. Lefevre, D.I)., Baltimore ; Rev. 
H. Fulton; Rev. J. P. Carter, Baltimore; Rev. J. T. 
Leftwiteh, Rev. J. S. Jones, D.D., Rev. W. T. Brantly, 
D.D., Rev. D. J. Beale, Rev. W. H. Gill, Rev. George 
E. Jones, Rev. Joseph F. Jennison, W. W. Spence, Esq., 
W. S. Carroll, Esq., W. B. Canfleld, Esq., E. M. Cole, 
Esq., C. Dodd McFarland, Esq., John L. Reed, Esq., E. H. 
Perkins, M.D., all of Baltimore ; Rev. Byron Sunderland, 
D.D., Washington, D. C. ; Rev. John R. Paxton, D.D., 
Washington, D. C. ; Rev. Wm. Simonton, Emmittsburg, 
Md.; Robert L. Annon, M.D., Emmittsburg, Md. ; E. Hall ' 
Richardson, M.D., Belair, Md.; Rev. R. H. Williams, Ar- 
lington, Md.: Hon. Alexander H. Stephens, Georgia; Rev. 
J. A. Rondthalcr, Hagerstown, Md. ; Rev. George Morri- 
son, Aberdeen, Md. ; Rev. Joseph Nesbitt, Lock Haven, 
Pa.; Rev. John Ewing, Clinton, N. J.; S. D. Bull, Esq., 
Lock Haven, Pa.; J. D. Skilling, M.D., Lonaconing, Md. ; 
T. W. Simpson, M.D., Liberty, Md. ; Hon. Thos. C. Action, 
New York City; Rev. Wm. H. Cooke, Havre de Grace, 
Md.; Rev. Thos. Nelson, Madonna, Md. ; Rev. Wm. T. L. 
Kieffer, Churohville, Md.; Rev. W. H. Hortzell, Glen- 
ville, Md. 

T)usteeg.~HoD. L. P. Slingluff, president; Rev. A. M. Jelly, 
D.D., vice-president. New Windsor; D. P. Smelser, James 
Erhard, Joseph A. Stouffer, Job Hibberd, Jeremiah Baile, 
Levi N. Snader, Solomon S. Ecker, Rev. Wm. Louis Wood- 
ruff, secretary, all of New Windsor. 
Facullij aud Iiislniclore. — Rev. A. M. Jelly, D.D., president, 
Professor of Mental and Moral Philosophy; Rev. Wm. 
Louis Woodruff, A.M., vice-president. Professor of Physi- 
cal Science and Greek; James B. Green, A.B., Professor 
of Latin .and Mathematics; J.I. B.Woodruff, Instructor in 
Mathematics ; Joseph T. Smith, M.D., Professor of Anat- 
omy, Physiology, Hygiene, and Chemistry ; W. L. Wood- 
ruff, Instructor in Book-keeping, Banking, Commercial 
Forms, Type-writing; Charles Gola, Professor of Music; 
J. B. Greene, Instructor in German Language. Thefresi- 
dent and vice-president, Instructors in Rhetoric and Elocu- 
tion. The vice-president, Custodian of the Library. J. A. 
C. Bond, Attorney-at-Law, Resident Counselor; J. F. 
Buffington, M.D., Resident Physician. 
Board of Instructors. — Ladies' Seminary. — Rev. A. M. Jelly, 
D.D., president; Rev. Wm. Louis Woodruff, A.M., vice- 
president; Mrs. A. M. Jelly, principal of the seminary; 
Mrs. J. I.B. Woodruff, Kindergartner, associate principal; 
James B. Greene, A. B., Professor of Mathematics .and Ger- 
man ; Miss Nannie W. McVeigh, Teacher of English 
Branches, French, and Music; Joseph T. Smith, M.D., 
Professor of Anatomy, Physiology, Hygiene, and Chem- 
istry; Rev. Wm. Louis Woodruff, A.M., Instructor in 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



911 



Physical Development. Calisthenics, and Gymnastics ; i 
Chillies Gola, Professor of Music. Special instructors in nor- 
mal and Kindergarten training, type-writing, telegraphy, 
phonography, book-keeping, and penmanship. Special 
artists in drawing, painting, wax flowers, and fancy work. 
Miss Kate L. Miller, matron; J. F. Buffington. resident 
physician. 

Calvert College, in the town of New Windsor, 
for many years one of the finest classical schools in 
the State, was under the auspices of the Catholic 
Church, and was noted for the thoroughness of its 
academic departments. Many of the leading men 
of the State and county were here educated, among 
whom were Hon. Charles B. Roberts, of Westminster, 
Dr. Roberts Bartholow, of Jefferson Medical College, 
Philadelphia, and Dr. Hanson M. Drach. 

Sulphur Spring Lodge, No. 130, I. 0. 0. F., was 
instituted in August, 1878, by the following charter j 
members : Gustavus Barnes, Chas. F. Myers, John 
W. Myers, P. J. Bennett, Samuel Harris, Lewis H. 
Greenwood, David Nusbaum. The fir.st officers were : 
N. G., Gustavus Barnes ; V. G., C. F. Myers ; Sec, 
J. W. Myers. The lodge then numbered nine mem- j 
bers. The officers from January to July, 1879, were: j 

Chas. F. Myers, N. G. ; J. Myers, V. G. ; C. C. Ingle, Sec. ; Lewis | 
□.Greenwood, Treas. .July, 1879, to January, 1880, N. G., 
J. H. Myers; V. G., L. H. Greenwood; Sec, C. C. Ingle; 
Treas., L. Greenwood. January to July, 1880, N. G., 
Lewis H. Greenwood; V. G., C. C. Ingle; Sec, D. C. 
Ingle; Treas., Jesse Crawner. July, 1880, to January, 
1881, N. G., C. C. Ingle; V. G., W. B. Bowersox ; Sec, 
C. C. Ilopp; Treas., Eph Haines. January to July, 1881, 
N. G., W. C. Bowersox ; V. G., Jesse Crawner ; Sec, J. W. 
Myers ; Treas., H. Geatty. 

The lodge now numbers thirty members in good 
standing, which is a showing of an increase of twenty- 
one members in three years. They hold their meet- 
ings in the Town Hall, on Bath Street. The present 
officers are : N. G., Jesse Crawner ; V. G., Chas. T. 
Repp; Sec, C. C. Ingle; Treas., D. 0. Bankard. 

The Methodist Episcopal Church was incorporated 
Feb. 17, 1844, by the General Assembly of Mary- 
land. The first trustees were Andrew Nicodemus, 
David Cassell, Jeremiah Bartholomew, Dr. J. L. War- 
field, H. W. Dell, Thomas Devilbiss, Cooper Devil- 
biss, Daniel Danner, and H. A. Davis. The pastors 
for 1881 were Revs. J. A. Faddeu, Howard Downs. 

St. Thomas' Catholic church was built by Rev. 
Thomas O'Neill about 1861. He was the priest then 
in charge of the Carroll County mission. From No- 
vember, 1862, to 1879, Father John Gloyd had 
charge of this church, and since then Father John T. 
Delaney, of Taneytown, under whose ministrations the 
two churches have formed one mission since 1879. 

The Presbyterian cemetery surrounds the Presby- 



terian church, and the following, among others, are 
buried there : 

Joshua C. Gist, born Sept. 15, 1792, died March 27, 1K78. 
Samuel J. Atlee, died Aug. 10, 1861, aged 69 years, 1 month, 
15 days. 

Augusta A. Atlee, born March 22, 1840, died Dec. 11, 1862. 
Isaac Richardson Atlee, son of Col. Samuel John Atlee, of 
the Revolutionary war of 1775, born 1767, died 1842, aged 82. 

Mary Clemson, wife of Isnac R. Atlee, born 1769, died 1834, 
aged 64. 

Wm. Richardson Atlee, attorney-at-law, brother of Isaac R. 
Atlee, and son-in-law of Maj.-Gen. Anthony Wayne, of the 
Revolutionary war, born 1764, died 1844, aged 80. 

James C. Atlee, born Aug. 14, 1798, died May 3, 1855 ; Sarah 
S., his wife, born May 8, 1809, died Nov. 1, 1876. 
Elhanan Stoufter, died Dee. 27, 1877, aged 34. 
John Lambert, born Sept. 19, 1836, died June 4, 1869. 
Jacob Hull, born June 12, 1782, died May 1, 1853. 
Anna M., wife of Jacob Wikert, died March 29, 1871, aged 83 
years, 10 months, 7 days. 

William Hull, born Dec. 13, 1824, died Sept. 20, 1853. 
Mary A. H., wife of Wm. Mitten, died Dec. 14, 1874, aged 64. 
B. F. Bartholow, died at Henderson, N. C, May 18, 1873, 
aged 39. 

Jeremiah Bartholow, died in Baltimore, July 19, 1854, aged 
67; Pleasant, his wife, died .Tan. 28, 1876, aged 80. 

Wesley Bartholow, M.D., died in New Windsor, July 31, 1848, 
aged 29. 

Wm. H. Clay, died April 4, 1870, aged 33. 
Sarah E. Smith, difd May 4, 1879, aged 48 years, 4 months, 
12 days. 
Thomas Bond, born April 26, 1768, died Sept. 27, 1827. 
James B. Bond, born Oct. .^. 1782, died Oct. 20, 1827. 
Elijah Bond, died Sept. 15, 1853, aged 64 years, 3 months. 
Mary A., born Jan. 21. ISOl. died Feb. 25, 1843. 
George Erhard, died July 28, 1868, aged 85; Julia A., his 
wife, died April 16, 1880, aged S3 years, 5 days. 

Robert Dods, M.D., " born at Prova, county of Haddington, 
Scotland," died at New Windsor, July 27, 1833, aged 48. 
Margaret Dods. died June 1 1. 1S62, aged 82, 
Sarah Dods, died June 1, 1849, aged 62. 
Anna, wife of H. W. Geatty, born Sept. 28, 182.8, died Sept. 
15, 1879. 
Jonas Eckcr, died Aug. 22, 1870. aged 57. 
Francis Ecker, died May 19, 1880, aged 64. 
Jeremiah Currey, born April 1, 1801, died June 11,1835; 
Sarah S., his wife, born June 18, 1805, died Oct. IS, 1874. 

Jacob Repp, died Feb. 21, 1871, aged 84 years, 6 months, 13 
days. 

Ann Mumford. born Dec. 13, 1798, died Dec. 25. 1867. 
Jacob Wilt, died Oct. 27, 1873. aged 82; Elizabeth, his wife, 
died Oct. 2. 1856, aged 61 years, 1 month. 2 days. 

Ferdinand Matthes, a native of Germany, died Jan. 16, 1876, 
aged 7tt years. 4 months. 8 days. 

Jacob Nusbaum, died Dec 11, 1876, aged 69 years, 11 
months. 10 days ; Mary, his wife, died April 2, 1865, aged 54 
years, 7 months, 25 days. 

Jacob Stem, born April 30, 1793, died Nov. 23, 1855; Mary 
A., his wife, died Jan. 29, 1864, aged 42 years, 3 months, 25 
days. 

John W. Durbin, born Nov. 5, 1821, died Nov. 30. 1859. 
Nancy Durbin, born 1789. died Feb. 20, 1865. 
Abraham Albaugh. born Aug. 29, 1780, died Feb. 27, 1854; 
Mary C, his wife, died Oct. 17. 1851, aged 57 years. 1 month, 
19 days. 



912 



HISTORY UP WESTERN MARYLAND. 



John Haines, died July 6, 1859, aged 76 ; Susannah, his wife, 
died May 2, 1S57, aged 63. 

Jos. Bigliam, born Feb. 22, 1818, died April 5, 1860, aged 42 
years, 1 month, 14 days. 

John Haines, born Sept. 4, 1806, died March 23, 1870 ; Mary, 
his wife, born Dec. 23, 1800, died July 23, 1858. 

Honor Williams, born Nov. 29, 1803, died Oct. 2, 1879. 

Francis Smith, died April 4, 1861, aged 32. 

Henry Townsend, of Co. C. First U. S. Sharpshooters, killed 
in battle at Kelly's Ford, Va.. Nov. 7, 1863, aged 23. 

Levi Picking, died Jan. 14, 1862, aged 50. 

Anna M. Condoo, died Aug. 14, 1870, aged 38 years, 6 months, 
8 days. 

Elizabeth Barnes, died Nov. 10, 1858, aged 39. 

Thos. Wm. Barnes, died May 5, 1858, aged 19 years, 7 days. 

Richard Smith, born Dec. 13, 1768, died Dec. 22, 1783. 

Mary Leppo, died May 21, 1880, aged 80 years, 4 months, 11 
days, 

Ludwick Bailie, born Sept. 28, 1853, aged 69. 

Catharine, wife of Peter Baile, born May 5, 1820, died June 
27, 1859. 

Christiana A. Diehl. died Jan. 5, 1866, aged 40 years, 3 
months, 4 days. 

Nimrod T. Bennett, died Sept. 17. 1870, aged 27 years, S 
months, 19 days. 

Levi T.Bennett, died Dec. 9, 1866, aged 56 years, 1 month. 
14 days. 

Edwin G. Shipley, died Nov. 5, 1865, aged 40 years, 8 months, 
10 days. 

.Inn Shipley, died Sept. 3, 1867, aged 85 years, 9 months, 5 
days. 

Dr. Joseph Shuey, an alumnus of Calvert College, and a grad- 
uate of the University of Maryland, died Jan. 10, 1865, aged 25 
years, 10 months, 16 days. 

Mary E., wife of J. L. Shuey, died Jan. 22. 1863, aged 32 
years, 4 months, 18 days. 

Hester Brawner, died April 8, 1844, aged 55. 

Wm. Thoburn. born Oct. 11, 1803, died Dec. 28, 1870; Eliza 
McRea, his wife, died Jan. 11, 1870. aged 60 years, 7 months. 

Joseph Poole, born Oct. 4, 1802, died Jan. 23, 1850 j Esther, 
his wife, died April 2, 1864, aged 61. 

Washington M. Naill, born Feb. 20, 1S26, died Feb. 24, 1876. 

The Neio Windsor Herald was established in 1881, 
and is issued seuji-mouthly. F. J. Devilbiss is asso- 
ciated with Mr. Koehl in its publication. 

My Maryland was established in August, 1881, 
and is the fifth newspaper now published in the 
county. 

The New Windsor Libiary Company was incor- 
porated by the Legislature Jan. 13, 1841. The in- 
corporators were Rev. John P. Carter, Dr. J. L. War- 
field, Isaac SlinglufiF, Samuel Eiker, Michael Smith, 
J. H. Hibberd, William A. Norris, William Pole, Jr., 
Ephraim Bower.sox, Jesse Lambert, Jonas Eiker, Wil- 
liam Kelley, Theodore Hibberd, James C. Atlee, G. 
W. Will.son, Nathan Haines, of Joseph, William 
Eiker, Josiah Hibberd, Isaac Blizzard, Silas Hibberd, 
Jacob Nasbaum, Catherine M. Brawner, Lewis Shull. 

Mount Vernon is a pretty little village situated a 
mile northeast of Sam's Creek, and is on the road to 
Stone Chapel. It has a store and several small shops. 



Denning's is four and a half miles from New Wind- 
sor, near Sam's Creek. It has a Dunker Church. 
Joseph T. Stern is the merchant and postmaster, and 
Dr. L. A. Aldridge is the physician of the village and 
the surrounding country. 

St. James' Chapel (M. E. Church South), a sub- 
stantial and commodious structure, was erected in 
1879, under the auspices of Rev. W. R: Stringer, who 
was its pastor that year. Since then it has been under 
the pastorate of Rev. M. G. Balthis. 

Wakefield is on the Western Maryland Railroad, 
forty miles from Baltimore, and near Little Pipe 
Creek. It is in the midst of a fertile portion of the 
county known as " Wakefield Valley.' "The Wake- 
field Valley Creamery," a stock company composed of 
farmers of that vicinity, is an important business en- 
terprise, consuming six hundred gallons of milk daily 
in the manufacture of butter and cheese. Joseph 
Hoover is postmaster, H. S. Roberts, merchant, and 
Joseph A. Waesche, florist. 

McKinstry's Mills is two miles from Linwood, 
twelve from Westminster, and is situated near Sam's 
Creek. The postmaster, Samuel McKinstry, from 
whom the post-office derives its name, is the oldest 
officer in official .servitude in the State. He received 
his appointment from Amos Kendall, postmaster- 
general under Andrew Jackson, and has held it con- 
tinuously from that time to the present. M. C. Mc- 
Kinstry and Jacob Zumbrum & Sons operate the 
mills. John McKinstry keeps the store, and Benja- 
min Jones the blacksmith shop. 

Sam s Creek Post-Ofiice is three and a half miles 
from New Windsor, near Sam's Creek, a small but 
historical stream, from which it derives its name. Rev. 
Charles A. Rcid is pastor or local preacher of the 
M. E. Church. D. E. Stern is merchant and post- 
master ; John W. and William Yingling and Jesse T. 
Wilson are blacksmiths. 

Linwood is on the Western Maryland Railroad, 
ten miles from Westminster, and forty-three from Bal- 
timore. John Q. Senseiiey was the original proprietor 
of the laud, and Reuben Haines laid off the town. 
The merchants are Josiah Englar and sons. Joseph 
Englar is railroad and express agent and postmaster; 
J. & J. Englar operates the mills, and Dr. L. Royer 
is the resident physician. 

Pipe Creek Beneficial Society was incorporated by 
the Legislature on Feb. 28, 1844. The trustees were 
Abraham Jones, Francis Jones, Dr. Thomas Sim, 
Jesse Wright, Israel Norris, Robert Nelson, and R. 
S. Reese. 

" Door to Virtue" Lodge, No. 46, of Ancient Free 
and Accepted Masons, held its first meeting (under a 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



913 



dispensation from the Most Worshipful the Grand 
Master of Masons in Maryland) on Sunday, June 23, 
1811, at Pipe Creek, Frederick (now Carroll) County. 
The members present on this memorable occasion were 
Jesse Cloud, Worshipful Master ; William P. Far- 
quhar, Senior Warden ; William Slaymaker, Junior 
Warden ; Enoch Taylor, Senior Deacon ; Daniel 
Slaymaker, Junior Deacon ; Moses Wright, Secretary 
and Treasurer ; William McCollum, Tyler ; and Moses 
B. Farquhar, an Entered Apprentice. The visiting 
brethren were William Knox, John Crapster, Israel 
Wright, and Isaac Lightner, of Philadelphos Lodge, 
No. 39, Taneytown, and John Cook, of Ireland. 
" An Entered Apprentice's Lodge was formed, a 
charge was read, and a prayer made to the Divinity 
for a blessing." Petitions were presented from Caleb 
Ogborn, Joel Pusey, and Thomas B. Franklin, "pray- 
ing to be initiated into the mysteries of Masonry," 
which were referred to a committee appointed " to in- 
quire into their characters, and to report the result of 
their inquiries." These, the first applicants for initia- 
tion in this lodge, received the degrees at subsequent 
meetings, and became, as the old record shows, active 
craftsmen. " A Fellow Craft's Lodge was then 
opened in due form, and Moses B. Farquhar was per- 
mitted to take the second degree of Masonry, and re- 
turned thanks accordingly." Where and when this 
brother was initiated there are no means of knowing, 
but his advancement to the degree of Fellow Craft 
was the first " work" performed in Door to Virtue 
Lodge. While working under a dispensation there 
were held eleven meetings, the last being on the 31st 
of October, when Jesse Cloud and Moses Wright were 
appointed the first representatives of this lodge to the 
Grand Lodge of Maryland, and during this period 
seven brethren were " raised" to the degree of Master 
Mason, among whom was the late venerable Thomas 
Shepherd, of Union Bridge. 

On Sunday, November 10th, at a special communi- 
cation, "the representatives appointed to the Grand 
Lodge, with the proceedings of this lodge, report that 
they have performed that service and obtained a war- 
rant." The warrant was presented to the lodge, and, 
by virtue of the authority therein conferred, the offi- 
cers already mentioned as acting during the period of 
dispensation were duly installed, and Door to Virtue 
took the rank and number (46) which it still holds 
among the Maryland lodges. 

The charter or warrant referred to in the proceed- 
ings of Nov. 10, 1811, is the one under which the 
lodge is now working, and as a matter of interest 
to the membership an exact and literal copy of it is 
printed : 



"John Crawpobd, M. D. and Q. M. [L.S.] 

" To all whom it may concern ; 

" We the grand Lodge of the State of Maryland of the most 
ancient and honorable Fraternity of Free and Accepted Masons, 
according to the Old Institution, duly cstablislied, constituted 
and organized for the said State by resolutions and authority of 
a (rrand Convention held at Talbot Court llouse on the seven- 
teenth day of April in the year of Masonry Five thousand 
Seven Hundred and eighty seven, Do hereby constitute and 
appoint our trusty and well beloved brethren, Jesse Cloud, 
Master, William P. Farquhar, Senior Warden and William 
Slaymaker Junior Warden of a new Lodge to be held in the 
neighborhood of Little Pipe Creek in Frederick County by the 
name of Door to Virtue Lodge, No. 46, and we do hereby au- 
thorize and empower our said trusty and well beloved Brethren 
to bold their Lodge at the place hereby appointed and directed 
at such times as they shall think necessary and convenient, and 
according to the constitution of Masonry, and to admit and to 
make Free Masons according to the most Honorable Custom of 
the Royal Craft in all ages and nations through out the known 
world and not to contrariwise. And we do further authorize 
and empower said Brethren and their successors to hear and 
determine all and singular matters and things relating to the 
Craft within the jurisdiction of the said Lodge No. 46. And 
lastly wo do hereby authorize and empower our said trusty and 
well-beloved Brethren Jesse Cloud, William B. Farquhar and 
William Slaymaker to nominate, choose- and install their suc- 
cessors to whom they shall deliver this Warrant, and invest 
them with all their powers and dignities as Free Masons and 
such successors shall in like manner install their successors, 
etc. such installations to be upon or near St John's the Evan- 
gelist day. Provided always, that the Master, Wardens and 
Brethren and their successors pay due respect to the Right 
Worshipful Grand Master, otherwise this Warrant to be of no 
force or Virtue. Given under our hands, and the seal of the 
Grand Lodge, this 4th day of November, A.D. 1811, A.L. 5S11, 
at the City of Baltimore. 

"George Knvsun, G. J. W. 

"John W.4les, G. S." 

The lodge continued to hold its meetings at Pipe 
Creek until the autumn of 1813, the last recorded 
communication at that place being on the 25th of 
September of that year. The officers to whom was 
intrusted the management of the lodge during this 
period of its history were as follows : From Decem- 
ber, 1811, to June, 1812, Jesse Cloud, W. M. ; Wil- 
liam P. Farquhar, S. W. ; William Slaymaker, J. W. -^ 
Moses Wright, Sec. ; and Moses B. Farquhar, Treas, 
From June, 1812, to December, 1812, Jesse Cloud, 
W. M.; William P. Farquhar, S. W. ; Moses P. 
Farquhar, J. W. ; Jacob R. Thomas, Sec. ; and Jo- 
seph Wright, Treas. From December, 1812, to 
June, 1813, William P. Farquhar, W. M. ; Enoch 
Taylor, S. W. ; Daniel Slaymaker, J. W. ; Jacob R. 
Thomas, Sec. ; and Joseph Wright, Treas. 

This lodge was located in the loft of a spring-house 
on Beaver Dam stream, a mile or two from Sam's 
Creek, on the property then owned by Alexander 
Slaymaker, but now owned by Nathan Englar. 

The following is a list of persons aged seventy years 
and upwards in 1879 in New Windsor District: 



914 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



Nancy Sanders (colored), 110; Katie Moore, 94; Daniel Coke, 
85; D. W. Naill, 84 ; Moses Hayes (colored), 92; Mrs. D. 
W. Naill, 81; Jacob Shuster, 86 ; Boss Hammond (colored), 
83; Moses Hammond (colored), 81 ; Joshua Warfield, 79; 
Stephen Gorsuch, 79 ; Miss H. Williams, 78 ; Thomas Hor- 
ton, 73; David Engle, of P., 74; William Lewis (colored), 
80; Jacob Lookingbill, 72; Mrs. Peter Naill, 90; John 
Kiggler, 75 ; Abraham Nusbaum, 76 ; Lewis Kieffer, 79 i 
Jacob Nusbaum, 73 ; Michael Zepp, 74 ; Mrs. Mary Devil- 
biss, 70; Mrs. Casper Devilbiss, 75; Daniel Wagner, 75 ; 
Peter Long, 82; T. Beal Porter, 80 : Daniel and Lila Bow- 
yer (colored), 72 and 76 ; Masheck Baker, 75 ; Peggy Por- 
ter, 79 ; Mrs. Emerata Franklin, 75 ; Mrs. Philip Snader, 
71 ; Philip Nausbaum, 72 ; Daniel Nausbaum, 70 ; Michael 
Riggler, 75; Mrs. Nancy Chippey, 70: Nathan Franklin, 
75; Lewis Green, 95; Perry Green, 70; Caleb Pike (col- 
ored), 70 ; Mrs. Mary Zepp, 78 ; Mrs. Sellman, 85; Mrs. 
Elizabeth Gillis, 90 ; Mrs. Elizabeth Doety, 88 ; Mrs. Mary 
Naille, 87 ; Singleton W. Harn, 77 : Mrs. Maria Harn, 77 ; 
Mrs. Elizabeth Stocksdale, 75; Mrs. Susannah Barnes, 73; 
Kev. James Pearre, 70; Mrs. Sarah Lindsay, 70; Mrs. 
Rachel Buckingham, 76; Mrs. Annie Devilbiss, 75 ; Mrs. 
Sarah Miller, 78; Abraham Cole (colored), 79; Samuel 
Brown (colored), 80 ; Moses Haines (colored), 80. Total, 
4633; average, 80. There are numerous others between 
60 and 70. 

The followiDg is the vote for local officers from 1857 
to 1861, inclusive : 

1867. — Vote for Justices: Charles Denning 115, J. Smelzer 

23, B. W. Bennett 225, F. H. Crabbs 224 ; Constables: P. 

M. Baile 47, Wm. Delphy 228; Road Supervisor: Moses 

Haines 237. 
1859.— For Justices : Edwin A. Atlee 264, Israel Norris 228 ; 

Constable : Wm. Delphy 241 ; Road Supervisor : Wm. 

Ecker 269. 
1861.— For Justices : Edwin A. Atlee 26B, George P. Albaugh 

257 ; Constable ; Simon Bange 258 ; Road Supervisor : Wm. 

Ecker 249. 

Below are ^iven the public school trustees for 1881 
and 1882, together with the teachers and number of 
pupils in each school : 

1 and 2. New Windsor (Nos. 1 and 2). — Elkanan Engler, J. 
W. Engler, Jacob Frownfelter. 

3. Park Hall. — Solomon Ecker, John W. Myers, Abraham 
Boop. 

4. Baile's. — W. W. Naille, Henry Demmitt, Abram Al- 
baugh. 

5. Spring Dale. — Theodore Hibberd, John Geiger, Gustavus 
Barnes. 

6. Wakefield. — David Bailie, Jesse Eckard, Isaac C. Forrest. 

7. Mount Vernon. — Jesse Haines, Jesse Baile, Dr. B. 6. 
Franklin. 

The teachers for the term ending April 13, 1881, 
were : 

1, A. H. Zimmerman, 40 pupils; 2, Annie R. Tingling, 40 
pupils; 3, G. T. Tingling, 36 pupils; 4, A. P. Albaugb, 57 
pupils ; 5, Laura I. Hooker, 44 pupils; 6, M. R. Lord, 43 
pupils; 7, E. E. Lovell, 44 pupils. 

The justices are Lewis Dielman, Wm. T. Smith, 
Ellsworth Loveall ; Constable, Simon Bange ; Notary 
Public, Dr. J. F. Buffington. 



WESTMINSTER DISTRICT, No. 7. 

The Seventh District of Carroll County, generally 
known as Westminster, is bounded on the north by 
Myers District, on the east by the districts of Man- 
chester, Hampstead, and Woolery, on the south by 
Woolery and Franklin, and on the west by New 
Windsor and Uniontown Districts. Westminster is 
geographically the central district of Carroll County, 
and it is also the wealthiest, most prominent, and 
contains the largest number of inhabitants, the census 
of 1880 giving it a population of 5573. It is inter- 
sected by numerous streams, which furnish water- 
power for milling purposes, and the pure limpid ele- 
ment for farming and grazing lands, among which 
are the Patapsco Falls, Bear Branch, Morgan's Run, 
Pipe Creek, Cranberry Run, and Copp's Branch. It 
is bountifully supplied with turnpikes and excellent 
public roads, and the Western Maryland Railroad 
passes almost directly through the centre, furnishing 
admirable facilities for communication with Baltimore 
City and other commercial points. The people are 
intelligent, industrious, and enterprising, and it was 
in this district that the movement for the creation of 
a new county crystallized, and was moulded into such 
a shape as made its accomplishment a possibility. The 
commission appointed by the act of Assembly passed 
in 1837 to divide the county into election districts 
prescribed the following metes and bounds for the 
district of Westminster : 

" Beginning at the 26th mile-stone, on the Reisterstown turn- 
pike; thence to Richard Gorsuch's house; thence to the Pa- 
tapsco Falls; thence to the forks of Hampstead and Richards' 
roads; thence with said road to the forks of Manchester and 
Hampstead; thence to the farm of Abraham Schaffer, leaving 
him in District No. 7 ; thence with the lane between Royer and 
Guyman's farm, on Baughman's county road, to Bixler's tan- 
yard, leaving said Bixler in District No. 7 ; thence with the 
road to Andrew Angel's, leaving him in District No. 7 ; thence 
with the aforesaid road ; thence on said road between the farm 
of Baughman's and Jacob Snyder; thence to Rinchart's mill- 
dam; thence to Rinchart's county road; thence to Rinehart's 
mill; thence on said road to Littlestown turnpike to the 33d 
mile-stone; thence with the stone road to Jacob Stoneseifer's ; 
thence to Messing's mill ; thence to Hesson's house, leaving 
said Hcsson in District No. 2 ; thence with a stniight line to 
Smith's old tavern, on the Taneytown and Westminster turn- 
pike, leaving said house in District No. 7 ; thence to Morelock's 
tavern, leaving his house in District No. 7 s thence through 
Michael Morelock's, Sen., farm, leaving him in No. 7 ; thence 
through Widow Haines' farm, leaving her house in District No. 
2 ; thence to Haines' mill ; thence down Pipe Creek to Turkey- 
foot Branch ; thence up said branch to where tho Howard road 
crosses said branch ; thence with said road to the stone chapel ; 
thence with the county road leading to the Washington road, 
to its point of intersection ; thence with a straight line to the 
beginning." 

Westminster was made the place for holding the 
polls. By an act of the General Assembly of Maryland, 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



916 



passed April 2, 1841, the substance of which is given 
in the history of Myers District, the boundary lines 
were altered to some extent. 

The first settlers in the district were principally 
Germans from Pennsylvania or the Palatinate. As 
early as 1763 the following heads of families, all land- 
owners, are recorded among the numerous settlers : 
Daniel Kober, John Greyder (Kreider), Peter Kraul, 
Valentine Flcigel, F. T. Dreyer, Valentine Ba.st, Henry 
Warman. The Everlys, Flickingers, Sullivans, Rinc- 
harts, Reifsnyders, Jacob Heldeubridel, Henry Neff, 
Jacob Cassell, Peter Bender, David Shriver (then spelt 
Devaul Schreiber), Daniel Zacharias, Benedict Sohwob 
(now Swope), Valentine Maurrer, Jost Runkel, An- 
drew Ruse, the Gists, Roops, Jacob Schaefier, the 
Frizzells, Hoppes, Wentzs, Myerlys. There were also 
the Winchesters, Van Bibbers, Leigh Master, and 
Fishers. 

The old Winchester mansion was on the land now 
owned by Judge John E. Smith, and the fine residence 
and seat of Coi. William A. McKillip is a part of the 
original Winchester tracts. This mansion was built 
about 1800, and is still one of the finest in the county. 
In 1846, David Fisher bought it, with ten acres, of 
the Winchester heirs, and soon after it became the 
property of Jacob Fisher, and subsequently of John 
C. Frizzell. Col. McKillip purchased it in 1880. 

The tract of land known as " Brown's Delight," 
situated on Cobb's Branch, was patented for 350 acres 
in 1743 to George Brown. 

" On Aug. 16, 1698, John Young, of Frankelbach, 
and single state, was, after being regularly proclaimed, 
joined in wedlock with Anna Margarethe, the legiti- 
mate daughter of Hans Theobald Hess, of Altensborn, 
in the Electorate Palatine, Oberant Lantern. The 
above-named Margaretha was baptized in the church 
of Altensborn, Oct. 22, 1674, her father being Theobald 
Hess, and mother Margaretha, citizens and wedded 
persons of that place, and during her marriage with 
her before-mentioned husband (John Young) she 
had the following two children ; Hans Theobald 
Young, baptized Feb. 21, 1699 ; sponsors, Hans Theo- 
bald Hess and Anna, the legitimate daughter of the 
late Sebastian Hess, citizens and inhabitants of said 
place ; and Anna Magdalena, baptized Oct. 25, 1702 ; 
sponsors, Nicholas Speck and his wife Catharine." 

After the death of the father (John Young) of 
these two children, the mother, Anna Margaretha, 
entered into wedlock as follows: "August, 1706, 
Andrew Schreiber, legitimate son of Jost Schreiber, 
citizens of Altensborn, was, after being regularly pro- 
claimed, joined in wedlock with Anna Margaretha, 
the legitimate widow of the late John Young, who 



was a citizen of that place of the aforementioned 
Schreiber's birth." A protocol obtained from the said 
church certifies that Andrew Schreiber was born and 
baptized Sept. 7, 1673, the sponsors at the baptism 
being Andrew Fisher and his wife. 

The protocol further shows that this Andrew 
Schreiber begat during his marriage with Anna Mar- 
garetha the following children : 

1. Ludwig, born and baptized Oct. 14, 1709 ; spon- 
sors, Ludwig VoUweiler and his wife, Anna Chris- 
tiana. 

2. Andrew (2), born and baptized Sept. 6, 1712; 
sponsors, Andrew Schram and Anna Barbara, legiti- 
mate wife of Nicholas Speck, citizens of that place. 

3. Anna Margaretha, born and baptized July 25, 
1715; sponsors, Jacob Gruger, legitimate son of 
Jacob Gruger, and Anna Margaretha, in the single 
state, citizens of the place. The following certificate 
shows the standing and character at home of Andrew 
Schreiber and his wife, Anna Margaretha : 

" Altensbohn, May 13th, 1721, being in the Electorate Pal- 
atine Oberant Lantern. 

r T John Mueller, preacher of the word of God in the 

[seal.] ' ' 

Reformed Congregation, Altensborn Circle. 

That the bearer of (or person shewing) this, And" Shriver, citi- 
zen and inhabitant of this place, and his wife Anna Margaretha, 
whom he has with him, confess themselves to be conformable 
to the pure word of God, of the Reform Church, and have until 
now assiduously observed the outward duties of Christianity in 
attending our public Worship, receiving the Holy Sacrament, 
.and otherwise, as far as is known, have been irreproachable in 
their conduct, I attest. And whereas the said man and wife 
and their children, after having borne adversities, and about to 
turn their backs upon their country (God knows where), I would 
therefore recommend them to a willing reception by the preach- 
ers and elders of the said Reformed Church, wherever they may 
show this. Altensborn, oberant lantern, in the Electorate pal- 
atine, 13th May, 1721. [seal.] 

" John Mueller, Pastor" 

Andrew Schreiber (2), — now Shriver, — son of An- 
drew Schreiber and his wife, Anna Margaretha, who 
had been the widow of John Young (i.e. Jung), came 
to America in the fall of 1721 with his parents, and 
landed at Philadelphia, after which they moved into 
the country, to the neighborhood of Goshchappen, 
near " The Trap," on the Schuylkill, where his father 
soon died, having supported himself and family by 
labor. After his death his widow married John Her- 
ger, who lived in the same place. Andrew Shriver 
there learned the trade of tanner and shoemaker. He 
freed himself from his apprenticeship about 1732, and 
worked for one year, in which he received £18 ($78) 
in hand. In the spring of 1733 he married Ann 
Maria Keyser, and the following spring moved to 
Conewago, where, after paying for sundry articles 
with which to begin the world, he had left ten shil- 



816 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



lings. Adii Maria Keyser was a daughter of Ulrick 
Keyser and Fornica, his wife, who were both natives 
of Pfaltz, Germany. Fornica's father was a tanner, 
who lived five hours from Heidelberg (long. 48° E., 
lat. 49° 20' N.), in a small village named Renche. 
Her eldest brother lived in a village called Schulugh- 
ten, three hours from her father, and two from Hol- 
bron. Her father and mother came with her to 
America about the fall of 1721. They arrived at 
Philadelphia and moved into the country where An- 
drew Shriver lived, and her father soon dying she 
married Andrew Shriver. Andrew Shriver's step- 
brother, David Young, journeyed with him to Cone- 
wago and helped to clear three acres of ground, which 
they planted in corn, after which Young then re- 
turned home. During this clearing they lived under 
Young's wagon-cover, after which Andrew Shriver 
peeled elm-bark and made a temporary hut to keep 
off the weather, and by fall prepared a cabin. The 
wagon that brought him to this place passed through 
what is now known as " Wills' Bottom," and in the 
grass, which was as high as the wagon, left marks of 
its passage which were visible for several years. There 
was no opportunity of obtaining supplies for the first 
year short of " Steamer Mill," adjoining Lancaster. 
Shriver settled one hundred acres of land where he 
lived, but whether he squatted upon it or shortly after 
purchased is not known. It, however, cost him one 
hundred pair of negro shoes, this being the price 
agreed upon with Mr. Diggs, the owner, of whom he 
soon after purchased more land, which was paid for in 
money. At the time of his settlement in Conewago 
the nearest neighbor Andrew Shriver had was a family 
of the name of Forney, living where the town of 
Hanover now is. For a long time the public road 
from the south came by Andrew Shriver's house, and 
at the time of his .settlement Indians surrounded him 
in every direction. About this period and for several 
years after, the Delaware and Catawba nations were 
at war ; and each spring many warriors passed by 
after stopping at Andrew Shriver's water spring, a 
large flush limestone drinking-place, when they would 
display in triumph the scalps, hooped, painted, and 
suspended from a pole, which they had been able to 
obtain from the enemy. They demanded free quar- 
ters, but were very sociable, and smoked the pipe of 
friendship freely without any attempt at wanton in- 
jury. His brother Ludwig Shriver, David Young, 
Middlekunf the Wills, and others followed in a few 
years and established a settlement. Ludwig Shriver's 
settlement must have been early, as he burned coal 
out of hickory-bark, and made the knife with which 
Andrew Shriver curried his leather, which was tanned 



in troughs cut out of large logs. Andrew Shriver's 
wife occasionally helped her husband in the tan-yard, 
and dressed deer-skins by night. Their son, David 
Shriver, wore deer-skin dressed as clothing, shirts 
excepted, until fifteen years old. Having but little 
cleared ground at this time, the stock was left to run 
at large in the woods ; such as were wanted David, 
being the oldest child, had to collect every morning 
regularly, much to his discomfort; as the pea- vines 
and grass were nearly as high as himself, and covered 
with dew, they soon made his deer-skin dress so wet 
as to render it like unto his skin, adherent to his 
body. Deer and other game were at this time so 
abundant and destructive to grain-fields that hunting 
was necessary for self protection. 

About 1685, John Ferree (or Verree) resided in the 
town of Lindau, not far from the Rhine, in the king- 
dom of France. His family consisted of himself, his 
wife, and six children, — three sons and three daugh- 
ters. The names of the sons were Daniel, Philip, 
and John, and of the daughters, Catharine, Mary, 
and Jane. John Ferree, the father, was a silk weaver 
by trade, his religion Calvinistic, consequently he be- 
came one of the sufferers under the edict of Nantes. 
The Ferrees had no other resource left but flight, 
leaving behind them all their property except some 
trifling articles and some cash. They fled into Ger- 
many, not far from Strasburg, where they resided 
two years. On leaving France they were accompanied 
by a young man named Isaac Lefever, who stated to 
them that his family were nearly all or all put to 
death by the soldiers, but that he had escaped unhurt. 
He continued as one of the family until they ai-rived 
in America, and then married Catharine Ferree, one 
of the daughters, and from whom, as far as is known, 
all of the name of Lefever in this country have sprung. 
During their residence in Germany, John Ferree, the 
father, died, and it is singular that Mary Ferree, the 
widow, after she came to America, was not pleased to 
be called by any other name than that of Mary War- 
rinbuer, her maiden name. Whilst residing at Stras- 
burg, hearing of a fine province called Pennsylvania, 
in North America, and that the proprietor, William 
Penn, lived in London, she set out for that city, de- 
termined, if she should receive sufiicient encourage- 
ment from Penn, she would try to get to America. 
On her arrival in London she employed a person to 
conduct her to Penn's residence, and on their way her 
conductor pointed out to her Penn's carriage, which 
was just meeting them, and she being of a determined 
and persevering disposition, called to Penn, who 
stopped his carriage, and, being well acquainted with 
the French language, conversed with her freely. 



CAKROLL COUNTY. 



817 



Penn having learned the nature and object of her 
call, invited her into Ills carriage, as he was then on 
his way home. Penn told her he had an agent in 
Pennsylvania ; that he would give her a rccomnienda- 
tion to him, so that her business, he hoped, might be 
done to her satisfaction. They remained in London 
about six months, when a vessel sailed for North 
River (New York was then a small town), in which 
they took passage. On their arrival they moved up 
the river to a place called Esopu.s, wliere they re- 
mained about two years, and then moved to Philadel- 
phia, and from thence to Piquea settlement, previous 
to which they had taken up three thousand acres of 
land. Before they sailed from London a variety of 
implements of husbandry were presented to them by 
Queen Anne, which they found to be of great use to 
them in cultivating and improving their lands. Philip, 
their oldest son, was now about twenty-one years of 
age, and evinced a desire to earn something for him- 
self Having formed acquaintance with several fan)- 
ilies of Esopus, he pushed for that place, where he 
lived for one year with a respectable farmer of the 
name of Abraham DuBois, and while in his service 
formed an attachment for Leah, the daughter of Mr. 
DuBois, whom at the expiration of the year he mar- 
ried and brought to his people in the Piquea settle- 
ment. There Philip and his wife commenced im- 
proving land on the north side of Piquea Creek, that 
had been previous-ly taken up by his mother and 
family. Abraham DuBois, on May 17, 1717, took 
out a patent for one thousand acres in Lancaster 
County, Pa., which he subsequently gave to his 
daughter Leah. Their first labor was cutting grass 
in the woods for the purpose of making hay, no land 
having been cleared on that part allotted to them. 
They placed timbers in the ground, forked at the top, 
laid poles across them, and built their hay upon the 
frame, which served as a roof to their house, under 
which they lived for several months. During their 
stay in this rude shelter their son Abraham was born. 
They lived to raise eight children, — five sons and three 
daughters, — the names of the sons being Abraham, 
Isaac, Jacob, Philip, and Joel, and of the daughters, 
Lena, married to William Bufiington ; Leah, to Peter 
Baker ; and Elizabeth, to Isaac Ferree. Abraham 
was married about 1735 or 1736 to a woman by the 
name of Elizabeth Eltinge, from Esopus, whose pa- 
rents were Low Dutch. He lived on a part of the 
land taken up by his grandmother (Mary Ferree, or 
Warrinbuer) and her children. Their children were 
Cornelius, Israel, Rebecca, Rachel, Elizabeth, and 
Mary. Israel married a Miss Dickey, Cornelius 
settled in Virginia, and Rebecca married David 



Shriver. Abraham Ferree died at an advanced age, 
and was buried in a place now called Carpenter's 
graveyard, about one mile north of where he was 
born. This burial-place, near Paradise, was vested in 
trustees for the use of the settlement by Mary Ferree 
(Warrinbuer), who died in 1716, and was with sev- 
eral of her family interred in this graveyard. After 
Abraham's death his widow married one Curgus, and 
moved up the Susquehanna. 

Sarah, daughter of Abraham Dubois, married Roe- 
lofi' Ell.sting, or Eltinge, who was therefore a brother- 
in-law to Philip Ferree. 

It appears from a certain deed of partition (on 
record in Frederick County, Md.) made by sundry 
persons as devisees of Isaac Eltinge, dated April 18, 
1771, that Isaac Eltinge was a resident of Frederick 
(now Montgomery) County anterior to March 13, 
1756, the date of his last will and testament, and that 
he died without leaving issue, in which case he dis- 
posed of his estate in fee-simple to his sister Eliza- 
beth (Eltinge) Ferree and the children of his sister 
Zachamintye Thompson. The will ordered it to be 
divided with three several parts, one of them to de- 
scend to his first-named sister, and the other two* 
thirds to the children of the last-named sister, namely, 
to William Thompson, Cornelius Thompson, John T. 
Thompson, and Ann McDonald. These appear to be 
the exclusive objects of the testator's bounty, but it 
is nevertheless known that he had one other sister, 
who married Isaac Hite, of Virginia. Of these sisters 
there are many descendants residing in Virginia. 

Elizabeth Ferree had two sons and four daughters, 
viz. : Israel, Cornelius, Rebecca, Rachel, Elizabeth, 
and Mary. Israel married a Miss Dickey, by whom 
he had one son, who died without descendants. Cor- 
nelius married t™ce, and had a numerous family, 
who with himself emigrated to the Western country. 
Rachel resided near Bath, in Virginia, and was mar- 
ried to David Muskimmins. Elizabeth married Wil- 
liam Miller. Mary first married a Mr. Graff, and 
on his decease Griffith Willett ; and Rebecca married 
David Shriver. The latter couple continued to reside 
on their estate on Little Pipe Creek, in Carroll County, 
until their decease. They had nine children : 

1. Andrew, born Not. 7, 1762, married Dec. 31, 1786, to 
Elizabeth Shultz, of Baltimore, and died Sept. 20, 1847. 

2. Elizabeth, born Nov. 23, 1764, died Feb. 18, 1766. 

3. Rachel, born Jan. 7, 1767, married Adam Forney, of Han- 
over, Pa., and died Dee. 6, 1844. 

4. David, born April 14. 1769, married Feb. 28, 1803. 

5. Abraham, born May 5, 1771, married Feb. 18, 1803, and 
was for many years a judge of Frederick County Circuit Court. 

6. Mary (Anna Maria?), born Nov. 29, 1773, and married 
John Schley, of Frederick City. 

7. Isaac, born March 6, 1777, married April 22, 1802, and 



918 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



died Dec. 22, IS56. His wife, Polly, born 1781, died March 1, 
1859. 

8. Jacob, born Deo. 13, 1779, died Oct. 15, 1841. 

9. Susan (Susanna?), born Jan. 6, 1782, and married Samuel 
Frey, of Baltimore, Aug. 22, 1809. 

In regard to Jacob Eltinge, it is not known whether 
he wa.s father, brother, or son of the Eltinge family at 
the time of its settlement in Frederick County, or 
who the persons of the family were, further than is 
given in the deed above referred to. But it is evident 
that the settlement was at a very early date, and it is 
known to have adjoined the Potomac River at a time 
when much land along its banks was vacant, of which 
they secured considerable bodies by grants from the 
proprietary government. And from the manner in 
which the surveys were made, it would seem to have 
been anticipated that the navigation of that river 
would become highly improved, and that it would be 
controlled by running the lines of the tracts across 
the river, many of the tracts being thus located. It 
is known that the Eitinges migrated from New York, 
and that a number of the males fell victims to the 
bilious disease that prevailed with great malignity 
upon the banks of the Potomac. There were two 
branches of the Eltinge family in New York, one 
located with the New Paltz patentees in Ulster County, 
about sixteen miles from Kingston, the other at Kings- 
ton County. Of the latter, or Esopus family, some 
removed to New York City, some to Red Hook, in 
Dutchess County, and the others continued at 
Kingston. 

The following is the history of the New Paltz 
branch : Two brothers, Josiah the elder and Noah 
the younger, were the patentees in the New Paltz 
patent, and had one sister, Zacamintye, who married 
in the Bivier family. Noah haJ no son, but one 
daughter, who married Dench Wynkoop and had two 
daughters. The eldest, Gurtyou Gitty, was married 
in the Golden family and left heirs. The youngest, 
Cornelia, was married to Isaac Eltinge, of the Kings- 
ton family, and left heirs. Zacamintye bore several 
sons and daughters. Josiah was married to Magda- 
lena Dubois, and had four sons — Abraham, Ralp, 
Solomon, and Cornelius — and one daughter, — Car- 
trientye (Catharine). The latter married Jacobus 
Hardenbaugh, at Hurley, two miles from Kingston, 
and had one son — Jacobus — and three daughters, — 
Magdalena, Cartrientye, and Ann, — all of whom mar- 
ried and had heirs. Abraham was married in the 
Dubois family, and had five sons, viz. : Josiah, Noah, 
Philip, Henry, and Jacobus (who all had heirs), and 
two daughters, Jane and Magdalena, who left numer- 
ous progeny. Ralph married into the Lowe family. 



and had five sons, viz. : Josiah, Solomon, Ezekiel, 
John, and Ralph, and four daughters, viz. : Magda- 
lena, Sarah, Catherine, and Mary, who all left de- 
scendants. The descendants of Ralph and Abraham 
lived about the New Paltz. Solomon married in the 
Vanderson family at Hurley, and had no heirs. Cor- 
nelius married in the Elmender family at Hurley, and 
had three sons, viz. : Wilhelms, Solomon, and Cor- 
nelius, and five daughters, viz. : Magdalena, Jane, 
Maria, Blandina, and Catharine, all of whom but 
Blandina married and left numerous offspring. The 
descendants of Cornelius and Cartrientye are settled 
at Hurley and Marbletown, near Kingston, excepting 
Cornelius and Wilhelms (descended from Cornelius), 
who were ministers and lived in New Jersey, — Corne- 
lius in Sussex County, and Wilhelms at a point four 
miles from New York City, called Patterson Landing, 
whose Indian name was Unchquachinwick. Wil- 
helms had three children, — Cornelius Housman, Maria 
Blandina, and Jane Van Winkle. The eldest was 
married to Cornelius Van Winkle, and had a son, 
Wilhelms Eltinge. The New Paltz branch was 
probablj' more nearly related to the branch that settled 
on the Potomac, in Frederick County, Md., and in 
Virginia. Abraham, the eldest son of Josiah Eltinge, 
had land in an unsustained claim upon some of the 
tracts upon the Potomac as legal heir, and hence the 
inference is that Josiah, Noah, and Zacimintye were 
brothers and sister, either to Isaac Eltinge, resident 
of Frederick County (now Montgomery), and his 
sisters, Elizabeth Ferris, Zacamintye Thompson, and 
Mrs. John Hite, of Virginia, or they, Noah, etc., 
were brothers and sister to Abraham Eltinge, the 
father of Isaac and his sister. 

Andrew Shriver, who came to America in 1721, 
when a boy nine years of age, with his parents, An- 
drew and Anna Margaretha Shriver, died Aug. 12, 
1797, and was the grandson of Jost Shriver. 

David Shriver, son of Andrew and Ann Maria 
(Keyser) Shriver, was born in York County, Pa., at 
Conewago, south of Hanover. His parents had been • 
but a few years from Germany, and were recently | 
married when they settled at that place in the woods 
surrounded by Indians. On account of his father's 
settlement on the frontier, remote from the centres of . 
civilization, David Shriver, the first-born, grew up j 
with scarcely any education, the opportunity and i 
means being both wanting. The time of his minority 
was employed in aiding his father in his business of 
tanning and cultivating the soil. When he was 
twenty-one years of age he attracted the attention of 
Andrew Steiger, an enterprising business man and 
citizen of Baltimore. Mr. Steiger employed him as 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



919 



store-keeper in a country store, located not far from 
David's father. Here the want of education was im- 
mediately felt, and he so applied himself that in a 
short time he acquired a pretty good knowledge of 
figures. He also learned to write a fair hand, 
and otherwise improved himself in knowledge and 
address. At this time Lancaster, Pa., had become 
considerable of a town, and it was a custom there 
(continued to this day) to hold semi-annual fairs, 
which drew together vast numbers of people. At 
one of these fairs David Shriver first saw Rebecca 
Ferree, who had been sent to Lancaster to acquire a 
knowledge of ornamental needlework. He undertook 
to accompany her home, and was received with be- 
coming respect by her father, but with much dis- 
pleasure and indignity by her mother, who had im- 
bibed high notions in consequence of the opulence and 
distinction enjoyed by her family in New York. 
Standing well, however, with the daughter and father, 
he persevered and succeeded in his suit. About 1759 
or 17()0, and previous to his marriage, which was in 
1761, he had settled upon a tract of land provided 
for him at Little Pipe Creek, in Frederick County, 
Md. (now in Westminster District, Carroll County). 
The place of his location is the old " Shriver Home- 
stead," some two miles southwest of Westminster, 
on Little Pipe Creek, where Copp's Branch joins it, 
now occupied by Mrs. Augustus Shriver, widow of a 
grandson of David. Here David had erected build- 
ings and cleared land, and to this place he brought 
his wife. He then built a mill, which was of great 
importance to himself and neighbors at that early 
period when the settlement was in its infancy. Hav- 
ing experienced the want of education, he early sought 
to have his children taught, and for this purpose sent 
his eldest son abroad for some time, there being no 
school within reach of his home. His efforts were 
unceasing to promote education in the neighborhood, 
and he so far succeeded as to obtain for all his chil- 
dren a good English education. The community was 
much indebted to him for his exertions in this re- 
spect, and many persons afterwards enjoyed the receipt 
of useful knowledge which but for him they would 
not have acquired. Possessing an inquiring and dis- 
criminating mind, he added rapidly to his stock of in- 
formation. As a self-taught mathematician, he made 
considerable advances, and was instructor to all his 
sons in the art of surveying, the compass and other 
instruments u.sed being of his own manufacture. His 
mechanical talents were no less remarkable. He was 
carpenter, joiner, cooper, blacksmith, silversmith, 
combmaker, wheelwright ; in short, he made every- | 
thing that was wanting on the place, as well as the 



1 tools which occasion called for. He was, moreover, 
[ the umpire of the neighborhood in the settlement of 
1 controversies. Having a great aversion to lawsuits 
I and litigation, he did much to preserve peace and 
harmony. His house was the resort of much com- 
pany and the place where travelers regularly sought 
shelter and repose, and they were always received with 
, kindness and hospitality. 

j The disputes between the colonies and the mother- 
country early attracted his attention, and he became 
an active and devoted Whig. So warm was he in the 
I support of the rights of his country that his friends 
were alarmed for his safety, and his pastor emphatic- 
ally warned him to beware, as the powers placed over 
him were of God, and that he would be hung for 
treason to Great Britain and his family made beggars. 
He treated the admonition with marked contempt, and 
persevered in taking an active part on the Committees 
of Vigilance and Public Safety and rousing his 
countrymen to vindicate their rights. He was in 
consequence elected a member of the Convention of 
1776 to frame a constitution for the State of Mary- 
land, and was afterwards continued, with the exception 
of a year or two, a member of one or the other 
branches of the Legislature for about thirty years, 
until the infirmities of age admonished him of the 
propriety of retirement. At the time of his death 
he had an estate valued at seventy thousand dollars. 
When he was married his wife's parents gave her a 
negro girl, from whom sprang a numerous progeny, 
more than forty in number, of whom about thirty re- 
mained in his possession at the time of his death, and 
whom he liberated by will. In the same instrument 
he divided his estate equitably among his children and 
provided for the inclosure of a family burial-ground, 
where his remains, those of his wife, and some of his 
children repose. He had two brothers and four sis- 
ters, — the former were Andrew and Jacob, of whom 
Andrew continued to reside on the home plantation 
and raised a large family. Jacob removed to Littles- 
town, Pa., and had one son, who died young, and his 
father passed away shortly afterwards. The four 
sisters married Henry and George Koontz, John Kitz- 
miller, and Jacob Will. They all lived to an old age 
within a few miles of their father and reared large 
families, except the wife of George Koontz, who had 
but three or four children and died in early life. 
David Shriver died Jan. 29 (or 30), 1826, aged 
ninety years and nine months. He was the oldest of 
his brothers and sisters, and survived them all. 

His wife, Rebecca (Ferree) Shriver, was a noble 
Christian woman, of rare domestic qualities, and withal 
finely educated for the early pioneer days in which 



920 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 




MORDEr-AI filST. 



she grew up to womanhood. She was the oldest of 
her iamily. The home plautation beinj; large enough 
for two places was divided between her brothers, Cor- 
nelius and Israel. The latter with his family having 
died, the former afterwards sold the places and went 
West. Rebecca Shriver died Nov. 24, 1812, aged 
seventy years, ten months, and three days. 

Mordecai Gist, so distinguished in the Revolution- 
ary struggle, was a son of Capt. Thomas Gist and 
Susan Cockey, and was born in Baltimore Town, Feb. 
22, 1742. He was edu- 
cated at St. Paul's Parish 
School, Baltimore City, 
and at the breaking out 
of the Revolution was a 
merchant doing business 
on Gay Street. The Gists 
were early emigrants to 
Maryland, and took an 
active part in the aifairs 
of the province. Chris- 
topher Gist was of Eng- 
lish descent, and died in 
Baltimore County in 1691. His wife was Edith 
Cromwell, who died in 1694. They had one child, 
Richard, who was surveyor of the Western Shore, and 
was one of the commissioners in 1729 for laying off 
Baltimore Town, and was presiding magistrate in 
1736. In 1705 he married Zipporah Murray. Chris- 
topher Gist, one of his sons, because of his knowledge 
of the country on the Ohio and his skill in dealing 
with the Indians, was chosen to accompany Washing- 
ton on his mission in 1753, and it was from his jour- 
nal that all subsequent historians derive their account 
of that expedition. Christopher Gist, the son of 
Richard, married Sarah Howard, the second daughter 
of Joshua and Joanna O'Carroll Howard, and had 
four children, — Nqncy, who died unmarried, and 
Thomas, Nathaniel, and Richard. Christopher, with 
his sons Nathaniel and Richard, was with Braddock 
on the fatal field of Monongahela, and for his services 
received a grant of twelve thousand acres of land 
from the King of England. It is said that Thomas 
Gist was taken prisoner at Braddock's defeat, and 
lived sixteen years with the Indians in Canada. 
Richard married and settled in South Carolina, and 
was killed at the battle of King's Mountain. He has 
descendants yet living in that State. Thomas, after 
his release from captivity, lived with his father on the 
grants in Kentucky, and became a man of note, pre- 
siding in the courts till his death, about 1786. Gen. 
Nathaniel Gist married Judith Carey Bell, of Buck- 
ingham County, Va., a grandniece of Archibald 



Carey, the mover of the Bill of Rights in the Vir- 
ginia House of Burgesses. Nathaniel was a colonel 
in the Virginia Line during the Revolutionary war, 
and died early in the present century at an old age. 
He left two sons, — Henry Carey and Thomas Cecil 
Gist. His eldest daughter, Sarah Howard, married 
the Hon. Jesse Bledsoe, a United States senator from 
Kentucky, and a distinguished jurist, whose grandson, 
B. Gratz Brown, was the Democratic candidate for 
Vice-President in 1872. The second daughter of 
Gen. Nathaniel Gist, Anne (Nancy), married Col. 
Nathaniel Hart, a brother of Mrs. Henry Clay. The 
third daughter married Dr. Boswell, of Lexington, 
Ky. The fourth daughter, Eliza Violetta Howard 
Gist, married Hon. Francis P. Blair, and they were 
the parents of Hon. Montgomery Blair, ex- Postmaster- 
General, and Gen. Francis P. Blair, Jr. The fifth 
daughter married Benjamin Gratz, of Lexington, Ky. 
Mordecai Gist was a member of the Baltimore Town 
non-importation committee in 1774, and in December 
of the same year was captain of the first company 
raised in Maryland. He was three times married. 
His first wife was a Miss Carman, of Baltimore 
County, who died shortly after marriage. His second 
was Miss Sterrett, of Baltimore, who died in giving 
birth to a son. His third was Mrs. Cattell, of South 
Carolina. She also bore him a son. One of the boys 
was named " Independent," the other " States." Gen. 
Mordecai Gist died at Charleston, S. C, Aug. 2, 1792. 
On Jan. 1, 1776, the Maryland Convention ap- 
pointed Mordecai Gist second major of Col. Small- 
wood's First Maryland Battalion. In the battle on 
Long Island, in August, 1776, the Maryland regi- 
ment, not numbering more than four hundred and 
fifty, was commanded by Maj. Gist, as Col. Small- 
wood and Lieut.-Col. Ware were in New York at- 
tending the court-martial of Lieut.-Col. Zedwitz. On 
Washington's retreat through New Jersey, Maj. Gist's 
Marylanders were reduced to one hundred and ninety 
effective men, who with Lord Stirling's and Gen. 
Adam Stephen's brigades covered the retreat. Maj. 
Gist's (formerly Smallwood's) regiment, on Dec. 1, 
1776, re-enlisted for three years. In February, 1777, 
Gen. Smallwood sent Col. Mordecai Gi.9t with a de- 
tachment against the Somerset and Worcester County 
Tories and insurgents, who were put to flight, many 
captured, and the others forced into obedience by his 
stern measures, and the disaffection quieted by over- 
awing and quelling the insurgents. The battle of 
Brandywine was fought Sept. 11, 1777, when Col. 
Gist was at home attending his sick wife, but on 
learning of its disastrous termination, by a special 
express he instantly rejoined the army with reinforce- 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



921 



ments collected at home. In May, 1779, when 
Maryland was threatened with British invasion, on 
the application of its Governor, Col. Gist was ordered 
to that State, and assumed command of its defenses. 
Gen. DeKalb, who died on the third day after he was 
wounded, near Camden, S. C. (Aug. 16, 1780), in 
his last moments dictated letters to Gens. Gist and 
Smallwood expressive of his affection for them and 
their men, who had so nobly stood by him in that 
deadly battle. In this battle DeKalb led a bayonet 
charge with Col. Gist's Second Maryland Brigade, 
drove the division under Rawdon, took fifty prison- 
ers, but fell exhausted after receiving eleven wounds. 
Congress voted thanks to Gens. Gist and Smallwood 
and their men. In June, 1781, Gen. Gist joined 
Lafayette's army on the march to Yorktown with the 
Maryland levies. On Nov. 21, 1783, at a meeting 
of the ofiScers of the Maryland Line to form a State 
Society of the Cincinnati, Gen. Otho H. Williams 
presided, and Lieut.-Col. Ecclestou was secretary. 
Maj.-Gen. Wm. Smallwood was made permanent 
president ; Brig.-Gen. Mordecai Gist, vice-president ; 
Col. Nathaniel Ramsey, treasurer; and Brig.- Gen. 
Otho H. Williams, secretary. 

Joshua Gist, one of the early settlers in Carroll 
County, was a brother of Gen. Mordecai Gist, and 
was born in Baltimore Town, Oct. 16, 1743. His 
parents were Capt. Thomas and Susan (Cockey) 
Gist. His grandfather was Richard Gist, son of 
Christopher, the emigrant. During the administra- 
tion of John Adams, near the close of the last century 
(1794), an excise duty was laid on stills. This 
created what was then known as the "Whisky In- 
surrection" by those opposed to the tax. The rebel- 
lion became so formidable, particularly in Western 
Pennsylvania, that Washington, at the request of Presi- 
dent Adams, took the field in person as commander of 
the forces raised to suppress it. The excitement ex- 
tended to what is now Carroll County, and the 
" Whisky Boys" marched in a band into Westminster 
and set up a liberty-pole. The people of the town 
became alarmed and sent out for Col. Joshua Gist, 
who then commanded a regiment of the militia. 
The colonel, who was known to be a brave man, 
mounted his horse, rode into town, drew his sword, 
ordered the pole to be cut down, and placing his foot 
on it, it was cut to pieces, when the Boys left. He 
died Nov. 17, 1839, aged ninety-one years, one month, 
and one day. 

The Gist family graveyard in Carroll County contains 
the graves of the following members of the family; 

Col. Joshua Gist, died Nov. 17, 1839. aged 91 years, 1 month, 
and I day. 



Harriet Dorsey, wife of Nicholas Dorsey. and daughter of 
Col. Joshua Gist, died Juno 25, 180-1, aged 74 years and 18 
days. 

Sarah (Harvey) Gist, wife of Col. Joshua Gist, died June 6, 
1827, aged 72 years, 7 months, and -I days. 

Sarah (Gist), wife of Lewis A. Boatty. died March 30th, in 
her 27th year. 

Rachel, wife of Independent Gist, died May 2, 1830, aged 
.30 years, 1 month, and 1 5 days. 

Independent, son of Gen. Mordecai Gist, died Sept. 16, 1821. 

Richard Gist, died Aug. fi, 18-14, aged 23 years. 

Mary G., wife of States Lingan Gist, and daughter of States 
Gist, of Charleston, S. C, died Feb. S, 1847, aged 30 years. 

Br.adford Poroher Gist, born May 28, 1842, died Jan 2, 1863. 
He was a soldier of the Union, and died from disease contracted 
while a prisoner. 

Richard Milton, infant son of Mordecai and Elizabeth (Orn- 
dorff) Gist, dieil Sept. 13, 1871, 

Maggie, only child of George W. and Mary Owings, died 
Sept. 21, 1863, aged 3 years, 1 month, and 8 days. 

Elizabeth (Gist), wife of Joseph Woods, born June 8, 1844, 
died Dec. 3, 1873; and her daughter, Mary, died Oct. 15, 1877, 
aged 3 years, 4 months, and 20 days. 

Rachel, infant daughter of Mordecai and Elizabeth fOrn- 
dorflf) Gist, died 1873. 

The Gists were of English descent, and took an 
active part in the affairs of the province. Christo- 
pher Gist married Edith Cromwell, sister of Richard 
Cromwell, a son or brother of Oliver Cromwell. 
Christopher Gist died in Baltimore County in 1691, 
and his wife, Edith, in 1694. Their only child, 
Richard Gist, married Zipporah Murray, by whom he 
1 had three sons — Christopher, Nathaniel, and Thomas — 
and four daughters, — Edith, Ruth, Sarah, and Jemima. 
Christopher married Sarah Howard, P]dith was mar- 
ried to Abraham Vaughan, Ruth to William Lewis, 
Sarah to John Kennedy, and Jemima to Mr. Sea- 
brook. Thomas Gist married, July 2, 1735, Miss 
Susannah Cockey, daughter of John and Elizabeth 
Cockey, by whom the following children were born : 
1, Elizabeth, born Dec. 24, 1736; 2, John, Nov. 22, 1738; 3, 
Thomas, March 30, 1741 j 4, Gen. Mordecai Gist, Feb. 22, 
1742; 5, Richard, Nov. 1, 1745; 6, Joshua, Oct. 16, 1746; 
7, Rachel, Sept. 17, 1750; and, 8, David, April 29, 1753. 

Thomas Gist died May 24, 1787, aged seventy- 
four years and nine months, and his children died as 
follows: Elizabeth, March 6, 1826; John, July 16, 
1800; Thomas, Nov. 22, 1813; Gen. Mordecai Gist, 
Sept. 12, 1792; Richard, Nov. 1746 (an infant); 
Rachel, Sept. 8, 1825; Joshua, Nov. 17, 1839; and 
David, Aug. 3, 1820. Of these, as we have stated. 
Gen. Mordecai Gist first married a Mrs. Carman, of 
Baltimore County, who died shortly after marriage ; 
his second wife was Miss Sterrett, of Baltimore, who 
died Jan. 8, 1779, in giving birth to a son (Inde- 
pendent) ; and his third wife was Mrs. Cattell, of 
South Carolina, who bore him a son named States. 
These were his only children. 



HISTORY OP WESTERN MARYLAND. 



Col. Joshua Gist, son of Thomas and Susannah 
(Cockey) Gist, and brother of Gen. Mordecai Gist, 
married, March 21, 1772, Sarah Harvey, who was 
born Nov. 2, 1755, and died June 2, 1827. Their 
children were : 

1. Anna, born Feb. 24, 1774, died Aug. 26. 1790. 

2. James Harvey, born Dec. 29, 1775, died Dec. 7, 1823. 

3. Susannah, born March 21, 177S, married Joshua Jones, 
and died Oct. 8, 1817. 

i. Rachel, born March 17, 1780, died May 2, 1830. 

5. Mordecai. born June 20, 1782. 

6. Polly Julia, born June 3, 1784. 

7. Thomas, born April 1, 1786. 

8. Sarah, born June 17. 1788, married Lewis A. Beatty, and 
died March 31, 1815. 

9. Harriet, born June 7, 1790, married Nicholas Darsey, and 
died June 25. 1864. 

10. Joshua Cockey, born Sept. 15. 1792. died March 27, 
1878. 

11. George Washington, born Dec. 18, 1795, died Nov. 20, | 
1854. ! 

12. Federal Ann Bonaparte, born Aug. 14, 1791, and is the [ 
only one surviving of the above twelve children. I 

Independent Gist, eldest son of Gen. Mordecai Gist, 
married, Jan. 8, 1807, Rachel Gist, daughter of Col. 
Joshua Gist, his own cousin. He died Sept. 16, 
1821, and his wife May 2, 1830. Their children 
were : 

1. Mary Sterrett, born Sept. 1, 1808, and living. 

2. Joshua Thomas, born Sept. 15, 1810, and living. 

3. States Lingan, born July 31, 1812, died Nov. 9, 1879. 

4. Mordecai, born Oct. 16. 1814. and living. 

5. Independent, born Aug. 15, 1816, died June 29, 1859. 

6. George Washington, born July 10, 1819, fought in the 
Union army under Gen. Sheridan in late war, and still living. 

7. Richard, born Sept. 1, 1821, died Aug. 6, 1844. 

Of the above children, States Lingan married Mary 
G. Gist, June 13, 1836, who died Feb. 8, 1847. 
Their children were : 

1. Mary, born April 7, 1837. 

2. Mordecai Joseph, born May 29, 1838. 

3. Independent, born June 10, 1840. 

4. Bradford Porcher. born May 28. 1842, died Jan 2, 1860, 

5. Elizabeth Sarah, born June S, 1844, married Joseph 
Woods, and died Dec. 3, 1873. 

6. Richard Joshua, born Sept. 14, 1845, died July 21, 1864. 

States Gist, second and youngest son of Gen. Mor- 
decai Gist, married Sarah Branford Porcher and lived 
in Charleston, S. C. 

The subject of this sketch, Mordecai Gist, son of j 
Independent Gist, and grandson of Gen. Mordecai \, 
Gist, was born Oct. 16, 1814, in Frederick County, , 
four miles from Taneytown. After his father's death, | 
when but two years of age, hjs mother removed to 
Western Run, in Carroll County, and when he was 
about sixteen years old his mother moved to the farm 
on which he now resides, then the property of her ! 



father, Col. Joshua Cockey. Col. Cockey before the 
Revolution, about 1765, had removed from Baltimore 
Town and entered or purchased two tracts of land 
containing about four hundred acres. He built a log 




MORDECAI GIST. 

house which burned down in 1795, when he erected 
part of the present mansion. He subsequently made 
an addition to it, as did afterwards Mordecai Gist, the 
present owner. Part of these lands belonged to the 
tract known as " Fell's Dale," patented to Edward 
Fell in 1742. Mordecai Gist was educated in the old 
brick school-house still standing in Westminster in 
the cemetery near the " Old Union Meetiog-Hou.se." 
Among his teachers were Mr. White and Charles W. 
Webster. His place now consists of one hundred and 
eighty acres of land, lying a mile and a half south 
of Westminster, on which he has resided for the past 
sixteen years. 

He was married Nov. 7, 1848, to Elizabeth, daugh- 
ter of Joseph and Mary (Byeis) Orndorff, by whom 
he has had the following children : 

Joseph Independent, born Nov. 18, 1850, and married, March 
5, 1878, to Debbie F. Nelson. 

Rachel, born Dee. 28, 1852, died Jan. 2, 1853. 

Harriet Ann, born April 27, 1 854, and married to Silas H. 
Gaitskill, Oct. 4, 1876. 

Joshua, born Nov. 22, 1856, and married to Susie E. Naill, 
Nov. 7, 1878. 

William Mordecai, born Aug. 10. IS59. 

Mary Alverda, born March, 1862, 

George W^ashington, born Sept. 27, 1S64. 

Robert, born July 24, 1868. 

Richard Milton, born Nov. 24, 1.^70, died Sept. 13, 1.S71. 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



923 



Mr. Gist is one of the best practical farmers in the 
county, and pays special attention to dairying, selling 
his milk, .save in the winter, when it is made into but- 
ter. He belongs to the Methodist Episcopal Church, 
and for thirty-five years has been a member of Car- 
roll Division, No. 42, Sons of Temperance. During 
the late civil war he was a strong supporter of the 
Union. In his spacious parlor hang elegant oil-por- 
traits of his paternal and maternal grandfathers. Gen. 
Mordecai Gist and Col. Joshua Gist, with their wives. 
While Gen. Gist, of the Maryland line, was fighting 
the British in many battles, his brother, Col. Joshua 
Gist, was effectively sustaining the Continental cause 
at home, holding the Tories in check by his bold 
measures, which made him the terror of the disaf- 
fected and the idol of the Revolutionary Whigs. 

The Van Bibbeis were an ancient Holland family, 
its progenitor in this country being a Capt. Isaac 
Van Bibber, a native of Amsterdam, who came to 
America in command of a vessel belonging to Lord 
Baltimore's fleet, and settled in Cecil County, Md. 
From him descended Isaac Van Bibber, a native of 
Bohemia Manor in that county, who very early lo- 
cated in what is now Baltimore County, and was a 
famous sea-captain and voyageur, owning the ship 
he commanded. He married a Chew, of Philadelphia. 
His son, Washington Van Bibber, born in Baltimore, 
was one of the defenders of that city in 1814. He 
became an extensive farmer in Westminster District, 
and owned part of the old Leigh Master estate, Avon- 
dale, where the Master furnace was established in 
1762 to 1765. The Van Bibbers were members of 
the Protestant Episcopal Church, and " Ascension 
church" in Westminster was largely built by their 
contributions and active support. His son. Dr. 
Washington Chew Van Bibber, was born near Avon- 
dale, July 24, 1824, and married, in 1848, Josephine, 
youngest daughter of Dr. Peter Chatard, an eminent 
physician of Baltimore. His success and ability in 
the medical profession of Baltimore, where over a 
third of a century he has been in practice, places him 
alongside of the most honored o!' its members. 

St. Benjamin's (Kreiger's) Union Lutheran and 
Reformed Church, the joint place of worship of the 
Lutheran and Reformed congregations, was organized 
in' 1763. On April 14, 1763, the members of each 
congregation entered into articles of agreement to 
build a church. Those signing it on the part of the 
Reformed denomination were Jost Runkel, Valentine 
Maurrer, Benedict Schwob, Daniel Zacharias (the 
four elders), David Shriver (there signed as Dcvault 
Schrieher), Peter Bender, Jacob Cassel, Henry Neff, 
Jacob Heldenbeidel, Henry Warman, Valentine Bast, 



F. T. Dreyer, Valentine Fleigel, Peter Kraul, John 
Greyder (afterwards corrupted into Krcider)^ Daniel 
Kober. 

In 1763 was erected the first church, a story and 
a half log structure, which stood until 1807, when the 
present building, a two-story brick structure of an- 
cient architecture, was erected on the same site. It 
was built on a tract of land called " Brown's Delight." 
The first four baptisms were in 1763, by Rev. William 
Otterbein, a German Reformed missionary of Balti- 
more, who for six years previous had been traveling 
through Frederick County (of which this section 
was then a part) preaching and holding religious ser- 
vices. The four children baptized were those of John 
Greyder (Kreider), viz. : John Peter (born May 25, 
1754), John, Jacob, and Elizabeth. On May 8, 
1766, this pioneer church had thirty-six communi- 
cants, nearly all' heads of families. It is located on 
the Gettysburg turnpike, on the left side going from 
Westminster, and a mile and a half from that town. 
Its first Reformed preacher was the Rev. Jacob Lichey, 
and Rev. Jacob Wiestling was pastor before 1813. 
Since 1819 its pastors have been : 
1819-41, JnoobGeiger; 1S42-14. William Philips; 1844— — ; 

John G. Wolf; Willinin F. Colliflower, W. Wissler, John W. 

Hoffmeior; 1868-76, William C. Cremer ; 1876-82, J. G. 

Noss. 
Adjoining the church is perhaps the oldest burying- 
ground in the county, which is still in an excellent state 
of preservation. It was laid out in 1763, in which 
year the first interments were made in its grounds. 
The inscriptions on the earliest stones are in German, 
and for about the first thirty years are illegible, owing 
to the corrosion of time. The dates of the births and 
deaths of many here buried are given : 

John Schwcigiirt, born in Berks County, Pa., Deo. 2, 1785, 
died Jan. 30, 1858. 

Christian Schweigart, born in March, 1762, died June, 1846; 
and his wife, Dorothy, born Dec. 6, 1763, died Dee. 10, 1838. 

Jacob Marker, born March 11, 1786, died Dec. 8, 1879; and 
his wife, Catharine, born Dec. 26, 1797. died Feb. 5, 1859. 

Mary Mycrly, born June 1, 1792, died Jan. 8, 1817. 

.Jacob Grammer, died March 13, 1815, aged 66. 

Johannes Schnauffer, born Nov. 13, 1752, died Sept. 3, 1776; 
and his wife, Christina, born in 1756, died Oct. 15, 1818. 

John Diffenbough, born Nov. 24, 1766, died April 16, 1814; 
and his wife, Evo Catharine, born Sept. 22, 1766, died April 26, 
1842. 

Catharine Klein, born Dec. I, 1760, died May 19, 1819. 

Larnioe Farmwalt, born March 9, 1743, died July 8, 1807. 

Susanna, wife of George Zacharias, and daughter of Conrad 
Sherman, born April 2, 1786, died Feb. 5, 1852. 

William H. Editor (editor oi American Sentinel many years), 
died Jan. 11, 1S62, aged 39. 

Jacob Schacffer, died Feli. 2, 1854, aged 70; and Susan, hia 
wife, born March 24. 1781, died March 28, 1852. 

John Schaeffer, born June 11, 1755, died March 11, 1828; and 
his wife, Mary, born Sept. 5, 1765, died May 12, 1831. 



924 



HISTORY OP WESTERN MAR!^LAND. 



Mary Magdaleae, wife of Abraham Kurtz, born Nov. 5, 1783, 
died Dec. 8, 1827. 

Jacob Utz, Sr., died Nov. 5, 1826, aged 61. 
Jacob Utz, Jr., died Aug. 1. 1826, aged 27. 
Jacob Henry, born March 15, 1791. died May 22, 1861. 
George Henry, born Feb. 25, 1791, died Sept. 30, 1860; and 
his wife, Margaret, born Jan. 211, 17S1, died Feb. 5, 1858. 

George Crowl, born Oct. 26, 1795, died Feb. 4, 1865 ; and his 
wife, Rebecca, born Jan. 1, 1798, died July 29, 1862. 

Hannah, wife of Michael Sullivan, born July 23, 1790, died 
Nov. 5, 1840. 

Peter Lantz, died Nov. 22, 1840, aged 70. 
Anna Maria Keller, wife of Jacob Keller, died Aug. 1, 1841, 
aged 79. 

Elizabeth Krise, born July 20, 1781, died Oct. 24, 1850. 
Micajah Stansbury, died July 14, 1858, aged 85 ; and his wife, 
Mary M., Nov. 18, 1861, aged 7S. 

James Beggs, born in County Antrim, and Parish Carulla, 
Ireland, 1752, died Feb. 12, 1829. 

John Beggs (native of fame place), died Feb. 28, 1875, aged 
71. 

Andrew Reese, died April 14, 1794, aged 84; and his wife, 
Barbara. Sept. 15, 1794, aged 71. 

Frederick Boyers, born Oct. 10, 1781, died Feb. 26, 1815. 
Barbara .4ngel, daughter of John Schaeffer, born March 10, 
1786 (married to Frederick Boyers, 1807, by whom she had 
three sons and two daughters; married to Andrew Angel, 1816, 
by whom she had six children), died Jan. 18, 1832. 

Jacob Flickinger, born July 25, 1742, died June 17, 1807; 
and his wife, Barbara, born July 25, 1745, died aged 73 years. 
John Reese, born Jan. 26, 1793, died March 5, 1858; and his 
wife, Susan, died Nov. 30, 1875, aged 67. 

Cornelius Sullivan, died 1816, aged 67; and his wife, Cath- 
erine, born 1753, died 1824. 

David Sullivan, born June 1, 1788, died aged 25. 

Margaret Everly, born 1743, died March 3, 1814. 

Daniel Zacharias, born April 6, 1777, died April 24, 1813. 

George Peter Rinehart, born Oct. 13, 1787, died May 1, 1845. 

Mary Kuhn, died July IS, 1811. 

George Daniel Zacharias, died Aug. 24, 1807, aged 61. 

Jacob Schaeffer, born Feb. 6, 1723, died February, 1800. 

Wesleyan Methodist Episcopal Church (colored) 
is one and a half miles from Westminster, due west, 
and its pastor in 1881 was Rev. R. J. Williams. 

In the cemetery adjoining are buried 

Jesse Cromwell, died Feb. 28, 1874, aged 74. 

Ann Hays, died July 2, 1880, aged 78. 

D. Woodward, aged 85. 

Rebecca Cross, born Sept. 5, 1818, died Feb. 15, 1858. 

Maria Buchanan, died Dec. 31, 1869, aged 75. 

Dinah Smith, aged 78. 

The following graves, among others, are found in 
the German Baptist cemetery, situated in Westmin- 
ster District, between Westminster and Frizzelberg: 

Polly Roop, born May 29, 1808, died Feb. 1, 1811. 

Sarah, wife of Israel P. Haines, died July 11, 1835, aged 35 
years, 3 mouths. 

Catharine, wife of John Roop, Sr., died Dec. 17, 1837, aged 
61 years, 4 months, 10 days. 

John Roop, born Nov. 12, 1770, died June 24, 1852. 

Ann R., wife of Jacob Petry, born Nov. 4, 1829, died Feb. 5, 
1859. 



John Roop, died Sept. 1, 1868, aged 58 years, 2 months, 24 
days. 

Lydia, his wife, died Feb. 4. 1879. aged 61 years, 6 months. 
21 days. 

Rebecca Reese, died Oct. 16. 1872, aged 68 years, 11 months, 
18 days. 

Chas. B. Stoner, died Oct. 26, 1878, aged 22 years, 8 months, 
11 days. 

Lovina. his wife. died, aged 17 years, 11 months, 9 days. 
David Roop, born Dec. 21. 1795. died Nov. 19. 1878. 
Mary, wife of Abraham Cassell, born April 5. 1822, died July 
28, 1879. 

Abraham Cassell, died Aug. 30, 1877, aged 60 years, 1 month, 
3 days. 

David Petry, born Feb. 25, 1821, died Aug. 16, 1878. 
Peter Benedict, born May 1, 1797, died Feb. 12, 1859. 
John Hoffman, died April 25, 1823, aged 80 years. 
Dolly, his wife, born May 23, 1755. died Sept. 4, 1818. 
Isaac Kurtz, born Sept. 27, 1811, died March 22, 1831. 
Richard Belt, died March 28, 1865, aged 57 years, 2 months, 
21 days. 

Anna C. Miller, died Sept. 2. 1862, aged 32 years, 8 months, 
15 days. 

John P. Kauffman, born May 31, 1818. died Jan. 10, 1872. 
Margaret, wife of George Kauffman. born March 13, 1776, 
died Sept. 2, 1858. 

Louisa, wife of Peter Myers, born April 5, 1769, died Aug. 
20, 1858. 

Anna A. Miller, died Jan. 3, 1857, aged 22. 
J. G. Miller, died Feb. 28, 1863, aged 29 years, 1 month, 20 
days. 

Mary, wife of John N. Harman, died April 18, 1865, aged 
50 years, 3 days. 

Elizabeth Diffenbough, died April 18. 1S68. aged 60 years, 
11 months, 14 days. 

George Decker, born Jan. 11. 1794, died Dec. 30, 1872. 
Eli G. Butler, died April 4, 1880, aged 63 years. 
Sarah Routson. died March 19. 1878, aged 88 years, 7 months, 
19 days. 

Frederick Tawncy, died Dec. 29, 1871, aged 53 years, 8 
months, 23 days. 

Catherine, wife of R. Beggs, died Nov. 5, 1877, aged 56 years, 
2 months, 24 days. 

Rebecca, wife of Samuel Myers, born June 12, 1793, died 
March 19,1863. 

Elmira F. Tawney, born May 5, 1815, died Oct. 9, 1861. 
George Harman, born May 28, 1783, died March 11, 1858. 
Eliza Harman, born April 8, 1814, died Nov. 11, 1860. 
Lucinda Royer, born May 5, 1820, died May 28. 1840. 
Peter Royer. born Aug. 17. 1775, died July 22, 1842. 
Anna, his wife, died Jan. 7. 1858, aged 83 years, 6 months, 26 
days. 

Anna Weybright. died Dec. 17, 1855, aged 52 years, 1 month, 
2 days. 

Mary, daughter of Peter and Ann Royer, wife and widow 
respective!}' of Jacob Mering and John Burgord, died Jan. 21, 
1879. aged 73 years. 

John Royer, died Oct. 22. 1865. aged 52 years, 9 months. 10 
days. 

Amos M. Royer. died Oct. 27. 1865. aged 27 years. 7 months, 
21 days. 

Christian Royer. died March 11, 1870, aged 70 years, 14 days. 
Louisa, wife of David Englar, died Sept. 29, 1870, aged 59 
years. 9 months, 2 days. 

Polly Schaefi'er, born Sept. 27, 1792. died Jan. 2, 1880. 
Elizabeth Schaeffer, born Feb. 6, 1795, died March 15, 1880. 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



925 



Catharine Sohaeffer, died Decembor, 1878, aged 81 years, 6 
months, 10 days. 

David, son of Jehu and Margaret Royer, " who was wounded 
in the battle of the Wilderness, Virginia, May 5, 1864, and died 
in the morning of the following day," aged 20 years, 7 months, 
4 days. 

Catharine, wife of John Wentz, born Sept, 28, 1848, died 
March 9, 1880. 

Isaac Myers, born Aug. 20, 1797, died Jan. 2, 1880. 
■ David Myers, born Deo. 27, 1802, died Jan. 23, 1879. 

Lewis Myers, died Aug. 2, 1876, aged 66 years, 3 months, 28 
days, 

Mary A., his wife, died Dec. 2, 1873, aged 53 years, 11 months, 
27 days. 

Michael Petry, St., died April 25, 1857, aged 59 years, 6 
months, 26 days, 

Mary, wife of C. Albert Sproudon, died Nov, 19, 1865, aged 
48 years, 2 months, 8 days. 

John Tawney, died Jan, 18, 1862, aged 76. 

Elizabeth, bis wife, born Jan. 11, 1781, died May 1, 1863, 

Nancy, wife of Francis Matthias, born Aug. 19, 1796, died 
May 10, 1866. 

Mary Piper, died Dec. 31, 1866. aged 40. 

Larkin McGomas, died May 10, 1848, .aged 40. 

Louisa Gearing, died March 6, 1878, aged ob years, 9 months, 
26 days. 

Henry Williams, born Deo. 20, 1824, died Dec. 22, 1853. 

Mary L. Jones, died May 30, 1874, aged 79. 

That portion of Western Maryland now known as 
Carroll County is filled with legends and romanoes, 
but none is remembered so well by the oldest inhab- 
itant, or believed in so firmly by the superstitious, as 
" The Ghost of Furnace Hills." Leigh Master came 
to this country from New Hall, Lancashire, England, 
in the early part of the eighteenth century. He was 
then quite a young man, full of enterprise and energy, 
and had come to " the new country" for the purpose 
of unearthing the hidden treasures and making a for- 
tune therefrom. No place presented more promising 
inducements than that portion of Maryland situated 
a few miles west of Westminster. When Leigh 
Master took possession of the Furnace Hill property, 
now known as " Avondale," and owned by Thomas E. 
Van Bibber, he set to work to build furnaces and dig 
out the ore which he found in such profusion. Hence 
the name of " Furnace Hills." He not only owned a 
furnace, but also large tracts of land, some five or 
six thousand acres, about Avondale, New Windsor, 
Linwood, and Pipe Creek. He owned at one time 
the following tracts of land : 

Acres, 

Long Valley, containing 101 

Part of Arnold's Chance 506 

Wilson's Delight 49 

Indian's War... 100 

Jacit's Purchase 50 

Part of Cobb's Choice 60 

Beauty Spot 30 

Part of Edward's Fancy 21 

Red Bud 21 

Narrow Bottom 21 

Part of Bond's Meadow, enlarged 110 

60 



Acres. 

Part of Bottom and Top 50 

Part of Content 

Part of Wilson's Chance and Mistake 18i 

Part of Gabriel's Choice 80 

Part of York Company's Defense 1000 

Firelock 14 

Part of Brown's Plague and Mine Bank Hi 

Neglect 65i 

Cold Evening's Stone Quarry 25 

The Increase..'. 51 

Hug me Snug lOj 

Discovery 50 

The Parable 5i 

Strawberry Mead 12J 

The Oblique Angled Triangle U 

Leigh Castle 2686 

The Resurvey on Look About 14431 

Stoney Hollow 

He was a man of means and an enterprising citi- 
zen, and also aspired at one time, in 1786, to repre- 
sent Frederick County in the State Legislature, but 
he was not successful as a politician. He was rather 
" inclinable," to use the expressive word of that day, 
to the British side of public affairs, which was not the 
popular side at that time. He owned considerable 
mountain land, and old Ben Biggs used to tell a queer 
story about his wrapping himself up in a white sheet 
and going through the woods at night, crying, " Stick, 
stuck," which scared a great many timid people, and 
secured for him an unsavory reputation. He was a 
great wag. One poor fellow, a little superstitious, 
in going through a woods from a neighbor's house, 
with a long pole balanced over his shoulders and 
hung full of shad and herring, ran against Master's 
ghost, and hearing his voice shouting "Stick, stuck," 
was so frightened at the strange apparition that he 
took to his heels, and dropped all his fish on the 
ground in his rapid flight, hallooing to his old woman, 
as he came in sight of the house, for God's sake to 
open the door, as Leigh Master's ghost was after him. 

Much of his land was surveyed and recorded in 
the old books of P"rederick County Court in the days 
before the Revolution, and during the reign of George 
III., when John Darnall was clerk and George Scott 
sheriff. 

He employed a number of hands, bought negroes 
to work the furnaces and plantation, and in a short 
time the mines were in a promising condition, and the 
name of Leigh Master was known throughout the 
country. Among the slaves who worked the furnaces 
at " Furnace Hills" was one " Sam," an object of 
special dislike to his master, the owner of the property. 
From what cause his violent dislike sprang tradition 
does not tell, but Sam disappeared very mysteriously 
one dark night, when the furnaces were in full blast, 
and from that time Leigh Master was never known to 
mention his name. Years rolled by, and after a long 
life he died, on the morning of the 22d day of March, 



926 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



1796, in the eightieth year of his age. In all proba- 
bility his name would have perished also but for the 
vague rumors concerning the sudden and mysterious 
disappearance of the ill-fated negro, and the strange 
scenes and extraordinary sounds which followed so 
closely upon his death, accounts of which have been 
handed down from father to son through all these 
years, and have probably gathered strength in their 
travels. Suspicions of a desperate deed committed 
by Leigh Master during his lifetime began to be 
whispered about, and old men remembered, or thought 
they did, a scared and haunted look in his eyes, which 
they attributed to the constant dread of the discovery 
of his miserable secret. And thus the rumor spread, 
gathering as it went, until it was told that Leigh 
Master had taken the life of his despised slave, and 
had cast him into the furnace, that he might hide all 
traces of his crime. 

To show that people were at least as superstitious in 
those days as at the present time the following unique 
fable is given : One dark night as a workman was re- 
turning home from a neighbor's house, he heard a 
rustling, hurried sound at the edge of the woods 
skirting the Furnace Hill, and in an instant Leigh 
Master rode past him, crying and begging for mercy 
upon his miserable soul. The terror-stricken man 
was rooted to the spot, and stood trembling like a leaf, 
when suddenly the vision appeared the second time, 
urging his horse to its utmost speed, while the rattling 
of chains and horrible groans were heard in the dis- 
tance. A third time the spirit of Leigh Master ap- 
peared with agony on its face, and a third time the 
noises were heard. Thus night after night strange 
sounds and scenes were witnessed in the furnace 
woods. Sometimes the spirit was followed by three 
little imps carrying lanterns, and creeping stealthily 
along as if in search of some object. Sometimes 
Leigh Master would appear at one portion of the hill, 
as if he was seeking to hide something, but always on 
a gray horse, emitting flames and smoke from his 
nostrils. 

And thus the story passed from mouth to mouth, 
till at length the sound of human footsteps in the 
haunted woods was a thing unknown after nightfall, 
and the ghosts held undisputed possession. 

Whether Leigh Master got tired of roaming around, 
or whether the three little imps found what they were 
seeking, is not known ; but the ghosts of Furnace Hill 
disappeared with the furnaces and the superstition of 
the people, and nothing is left now but an old gray 
stone, marking the resting-place of the once famous 
owner of Furnace Hill, and bearing the following in- 
scription : 



*' Leigh Master, Esquire, 

late of 

New Hall. LaDcastiire, 

England, 

Died the 22d day of March, 

1796. 

Aged 79 years." 

In 1876, Rev. Isaac L. Nicholson, Jr., of the P. E. 
Church (Ascension), had the remains of Mr. Master 
removed to the parish cemetery at Westminster. He 
was a member of a notable English family, but a 
roving disposition forced him to leave his native home 
in early life and migrate to America. The ruins of 
the furnace are still standing. To Master is attributed 
the unfortunate introduction of the white blossom, or 
daisy, into this country, the bane of farmers to this 
day. It is related that he sent to the old country 
for English clover-seed, and that this daisy-seed was 
sent him by mistake, and that he sowed the seed far 
and wide before the irretrievable error was discovered. 
They are known as " Caroline pinks," or " Leigh 
Master's clover," in the neighborhood where he lived. 
Some of the descendants of the Master family are still 
living in England, among them Rev. Charles Shreyus- 
ham. Vicar of Wiltshire, Salisbury. 

The tradition as to Leigh Master's slave and his 
imagined untimely taking oif only obtained credence 
with the ignorant and superstitious, for careful inves- 
tigation shows that while Leigh Master was a rough 
man in manners, — no uncommon thing in early days, 
— he was an honest, charitable, and public-spirited 
citizen, and the very soul of honor and manliness. 
He left by will all his Carroll County real estate to 
his son Charles, living in England (where his mother 
had died before her husband, Leigh Master, came to 
America), with this condition precedent, that he 
became a naturalized citizen of the United States. 
Charles came to Maryland, sold this realty, and re- 
turned to England without ever becoming a natural- 
ized citizen of this country. Though often threat- 
ened, the will of Leigh Master has never as yet been 
disturbed by litigation. 

The death of August Shriver, which occurred 
July 28, 1872, was quite sudden, and a severe shock 
to his numerous relatives and friends. Mr. Shriver 
occupied the position of president of the Western 
Maryland Railroad in the early stages of its history, 
and contributed much to the building of the road by 
his efficient management. At the time of his death 
he was president of the First National Bank of West- 
minster, which office he had filled with great credit 
since its establishment. He dispensed unbounded 
hospitality at his mansion in Carroll County, and his 
heartfelt courtesy and suavity made him many friends. 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



927 



He was well known in Baltimore by reason of his 
banking connections. He was president of the Car- 
roll County Agricultural Society, and a successful 
fanner on a large scale. The news of his death 
caused much regret, not only in the community in 
which he lived, but also in other portions of the State, 
where he was well known. His public spirit and 
usefulness were exhibited in many undertakings in 
which he was concerned, and his death caused a loss 
in this respect which was widely felt. In all his acts 
he elicited the confidence and esteem of those who 
were brought into association with him, and he en- 
joyed the reputation of a worthy gentleman and a 
faithful and eflScient officer. At various periods of 
his life he filled a number of positions of importance, 
in all of which he gave entire satisfaction to those 
whose interests were in his charge. Faithfulness in 
the discharge of duty and an unswerving adherence 
to correct principles were the leading characteristics 
of a more than ordinarily successful life. 

The Hon. Jacob Pouder died Sunday, Feb. 13, 
1870, at his residence near Westminster, in the 
seventy-eighth year of his age. Mr. Pouder had 
tilled many prominent positions in his native county, 
and was much respected for his gentlemanly demeanor 
and courtesy towards all with whom he had business 
transactions. At the time of his death he was the 
chief judge of the Orphans' Court of Carroll County, 
a position which he filled with great satisfaction to 
the people. He was on several occasions a member 
of the State Legislature. 

The Spring Mills Lead-Mine is on the property of 
John T. Hill, one mile south of Westminster, on the 
Western Maryland Railroad. Mr. Hill discovered the 
deposits in March, 1878. The ore is said to be very 
rich, assaying about eighty-five to ninety per cent. 
Upon the same property has also been discovered a 
good quality of iron ore, the vein being from twenty 
to thirty feet in width. Gilberg & Lilly, of Phila- 
delphia, in 1879, leased the mineral right to this 
property, and explored it to learn its real value in 
lead and iron. An engine from the Taylor Manu- 
facturing Company was taken to the scene of opera- 
tions, and is used in hoisting out ore and draining the 
mines. 

John C. Frizell, of Westminster, had several 
springs on his estate which he supposed contained 
medicinal properties, as a number of his friends had 
derived considerable benefit from the use of the water, 
and at their suggestion he had it analyzed. The water 
had also been highly recommended by physicians as 
anti-dyspeptic. During the first part of July, 1870, 
he placed some of the water in the hands of Prof. 



William B. Aiken, of the University of Maryland, 
Baltimore, who sent him the following analysis : 

■■ Univehsity of Maryland, 

"July 7. 1870. 
"John C. Fkizell: 

" My dear Sir. — I have just completed the qualitative anal- 
ysis of the sample of mineral water you sent me, and herewith 
send results: a gallon of water contains 15.76 grains of saline 
matter. This quantity, taken in connection with the character 
of salts present, will fully entitle the water to the name of a 
mineral water. The contents of the water are 

" Hydrochloric acid. 
Sulphuric acid. 
Carbonic acid. 

Silicic acid, of the last a trace. 
Lime. 
Magnesia. 
. Soda. 
Iron. 

Alumina, a trace. 
Organic vegetable matter. 
" The above substances, arranged in their order of the well- 
known combinations, may be considered as representing the 
following compounds, which give the mineral character and 
medicinal value of the water: 

" Bicarbonate of lime. 
Bicarbonate of magnesia. 
Bicarbonate of iron. 
Sulphate of lime. 
Sulphate of soda. 
Sulphate of magnesia. 
Chloride of sodium. 
Alumina, ^ 

Silicic acid, I of each a trace. 

Organic vegetable matter, J 

" Respectfully, etc., 

"William E. Aiken. 
" P.S. — The copious deposit that falls when the m.Ttter stands 
for a time consists almost wholly of oxide of iron." 

Westminster, the commercial centre of the district, 
is the county-seat of Carroll County, and contained in 
1880 a population of 2507 inhabitants. Though not 
the oldest it is the largest and most important town 
in the county. It is situated on Parr's Ridge, at the 
head-waters of the Patapsco, about thirty-three miles 
from Baltimore. The town was laid out in 1764 by 
"William Winchester, and the principal street was 
called King Street, showing that at the time it was 
founded its proprietor was loyal to the mother-country. 
William Winchester was born in London, England, 
Dec. 22, 1710. He came to America and settled in 
Maryland, March G, 1729, and married Lydia Rich- 
ards, July 22, 1747. He died Sept. 2, 1790. The 
town was first named Winchester, in honor of its 
founder, but the name was subsequently changed by 
an act of the General Assembly to Westminster be- 
cause of the number of towns bearing the "Same name, 
notably Winchester in Virginia, which was a source 
of endless confusion. As it now stands Westminster 



928 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



is built on six different tracts of land. The east end, 
or original Wincliester, is on the tract known as 
" White's Level," granted to John White in 1733, 
for 169* acres. The west end is on the tract called 
" Fanny's Meadow," granted to James Walls in 1741. 
A portion of the town is on " Bond's Meadow," 
granted to John Ridgley in 1753, for 1915 acres. 
" Timber Ridge" and " Bedford," the latter Winter's 
addition, form the site of a part of Westminster; 
" Kelley's Range" takes in the Western Maryland 
College grounds, and " Bond's Meadow Enlarged" 
covers the ground upon which the courthouse stands. 
Its situation on the main turnpike from Baltimore to 
the West gave the town great advantages in early 
days. Long trains of wagons were constantly passing 
back and forth, all of which selected Westminster as 
a favorite halting-place for rest and refreshment, and 
the town, what there was of it, probably presented a 
more animated and business-like appearance then than 
now. Business methods have undergone such a com- 
plete transformation since then that no just comparison 
can be instituted. 

The Westminster of to-day is very interesting. It 
is perhaps the longest city for its width in America, 
which is mainly due to its early location along the 
pike, the great highway of travel, and the anxiety of 
those who had business interests to place themselves 
in direct communication with the unceasing trade 
and travel encountered at that point. The surround- 
ings of the city are exceedingly picturesque. The 
view from College Hill is very fine. A beautiful, un- 
dulating country spreads out for many miles, and on 
very clear days the eye can take in an expanse of 
territory stretching from the Potomac to the Susque- 
hanna. The population of the town is now 2507, 
with a number of handsome church edifices, at least 
forty stores, three banks, a college, and several large 
manufactories and warehouses. Some of the older 
residences in Westminster, handsome in themselve.s, 
possess that mellow tint so attractive to persons of 
taste, and which time alone can give, while those re- 
cently built are embodiments of the culture and re- 
finement of their owners. The country in the vicinity 
is well watered by the Patapsoo and other streams, 
which furnish abundant power for manufacturing 
purposes. It is a very healthy, rich, and productive 
agricultural region. The Western Maryland Railroad 
pas.scs directly through the centre of the town, and 
the numerous trains passing over the road leave 
nothing to be desired in the way of communication 
with distanff points. 

Iron and copper ore abound in large deposits, and 
are successfully mined and shipped to Pennsylvania 



and New York. Quarries containing the finest varie- 
ties of marble have been opened, and are worked in 
the vicinity. The town contains the usual number of 
county buildings, commodious, and well adapted to 
the purposes for which they were erected. 

The Western Maryland College, a fine four-story 
brick building, is located upon the highest site around 
the town, and is admirably arranged for educational 
purposes. The Democraiic Advocate building, corner 
of Main and Centre Streets, forty by eighty feet, is a 
fair exhibit of the enterprise and energy of the con- 
ductor of this sterling journal. 

The I. 0. O.'F. Hall is an imposing structure, and 
on its first floor is the large and elegantly-arranged 
office of The American Sentinel, the Republican 
organ of the county. 

Among the earliest settlers up to the year 1800 
were the Winchesters (William and his sons), the 
Fishers (John and David), McHaffies, Wamplers, 
Harners, Stunsburys (Caleb, Sr. and Jr., and Joshua), 
John Miller, Andrew Reese, Sr., Ulerick Eckler, 
MorJecai Price, Jacob Feterling, Jacob Pouder, John 
McComb, Jacob Sherman, Isaac Shriver, Nimrod 
Frizzell, Jacob Crouse, Jacob Righter, Thomas Ward, 
Joseph Shreev, Jacob Fringer, the Yinglings, the 
Neffs, Adelspergers, Lockards, Smiths, Dells. The 
oldest house standing in town is that occupied by 
Peggy Adelsperger. It is a log structure on Main 
Street, nearly opposite the " City Hotel," and was 
erected between 1777 and 1780. It is yet a substan- 
tial dwelling, comfortable and neat. Her sister Eliza- 
beth died a few years ago. Their parents, Thomas 
and Betsey, went to this old house to live after their 
marriage, about a century ago. 

The oldest living person in town is William Crouse, 
who was born in Myers District in 1792, but came to 
Westminster in 1794 with his parents, and has re- 
sided here ever since. He and his wife (Catharine 
Shaefi^er, aged eighty-three years) have lived in happy 
wedlock sixty-three years, since Feb. 15, 1818. His 
father, Jacob Crouse, was one of the first blacksmiths 
here, succeeding a Mr. Myers, whom he bought out 
in 1794. He was born Oct. 30, 1766, and died Jan. 
1, 1846, and his wife, Elizabeth, born in 1773, died 
Sept. 12, 1820. About the first storekeeper was 
David Fisher, and after him Mr. Yingling, and then 
a Mr. Utz. The earliest schoolmaster remembered 
was Mr. Gynn, who held forth with an iron rule on 
the plat where Charles T. Reifsnider now resides. 
Jacob Sherman, who was born in Lancaster County, 
Pa., March 7, 1756, and married Elizabeth Wagner, 
Feb. 23, 1779, kept the first hotel or tavern, where 
the City Hotel is now, until 1807, when he was sue- 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



929 



eeeded by Isaac Shriver. He died July 7, 1822, but 
his widow survived till June 28, 1842. Afterwards, 
taverns were kept by Mr. Winterow and Mr. Wamp- 
ler. Jacob Wolf at an early period manufactured 
clocks, many of which are still in use over the coun- 
try. When Westminster was made the county-seat 
of the new (Carroll) county in 1837, the town had 
about five hundred inhabitants, but immediately 
thereafter it began to increase in population and busi- 
ness. It received its greatest impetus, however, upon 
the completion of the Western Maryland Railroad to 
its limits. New additions were made and new streets 
laid out to accommodate the increasing population 
and the wants of trade and awakened enterprise. 

The following legend of early days in Westminster 
is well authenticated : " Many years ago, in the north- 
western part of Maryland, there stood a little village 
bearing the proud English name of Winchester, now 
the beautiful city of Westminster. For a long time 
peace and plenty had smiled upon its inhabitants, and 
they dreamed not of coming evil. It was in the 
midst of summer when God saw fit to send a mighty 
drought upon the land. For many days the scorching 
rays of the sun looked down upon the earth, burning 
and blighting the vegetation, and threatening to bring 
famine upon its track. Flowers drooped and died, and 
water- — one of God's best and most neces.sary gifts to 
man — began to fail. In vain the people prayed and 
cried for rain. The citizens of Winchester became 
alarmed, and many of them locked their pumps, and 
refused even a cooling drink to the thirsty traveler or 
the famished beast, lest they should not have enough 
for themselves. Near the eastern end of the village 
dwelt two maiden ladies, aged and respected, who be- 
lieved God would not forsake them in their time of 
need. Unlike their neighbors they did not refuse 
water to any, but unlocking their gate, placed a 
placard near the well bearing the following words, 
' Free admittance to all, — water belongs to God !' In 
those ancient days railroads were unknown, and all 
traveling was done by stages or wagons. Jlmigrants 
were seen passing daily on their road to the great 
West, and the demand for water was constant. The 
doubting citizens advised these two Christian ladies 
to tear down their notice and close the entrance to 
prevent the water being carried away, or they would 
be left without, but their answer was always the same, 
' The Lord is our Shepherd, we shall not want. We 
have no right to refuse, for water belongs to God.' 
Soon all the wells and springs in the village began to 
fail, and only two remained to supply the demands of 
the famishing citizens. One of the.se was the well 
which had been free to all. The other belonged to an 



old gentleman, who, as soon as he saw how great was 
the demand for water, guarded it and refused even a 
drop. All flocked to ' God's Well,' as it was now 
called, and its old-fashioned moss-covered bucket was 
never idle. And still the sky was cloudless, and the 
unrelenting rays of a July sun scorched and burned 
the earth. A few more days passed, and he who had 
so cruelly refused to give a cup of cold water from 
his plenteous store was obliged to go and beg for 
himself from the unfailing fountain of ' God's Well.' 
The demand on this well became greater day by day, 
but still its sparkling waters refreshed the thirsty 
traveler and the famishing beast. At length a small 
dark cloud was seen in the sky, and how eagerly it 
was watched ! Larger and larger it grew, till at last 
the whole sky was overcast. The thunder pealed, the 
lightning flashed through the heavens, and the flood- 
gates were opened. The clouds rolled away, and once 
more the whole face of nature smiled, and the grateful 
citizens of Winchester thanked God for the glorious 
rain, which had come just in time to save them from 
perishing. Time has pa.ssed rapidly, leaving many 
traces of its flight. Little Winchester is now a prom- 
ising and thriving city, bearing the name of West- 
minster. The two noble-hearted Christian ladies, who 
in the time of need trusted in the Lord and shared 
with their suffering neighbors, have long since found 
their reward in heaven. Their old home has been 
torn down, but the ' well' still remains on the old lot 
of Mrs. Col. James M. Shellman, and though now 
covered over and out of repair, has never been known 
to fail, but to this day is filled with excellent, pure 
water." 

The elegant mansion of Mrs. James M. Shellman 
on Main Street, opposite the City Hotel, was built 
in 1807 by Col. Jacob Sherman. He gave it to his 
daughter, the wife of David H. Shriver, who subse- 
quently removed to Wheeling, W. Va. Col. Sherman 
was a native of Lancaster County, Pa. He was born 
March 7, 175(5, and married Elizabeth Wagner, Feb. 
23, 1779. He died July 7, 1822, and his wife, June 
28, 1842. His son-in-law, David H. Shriver, who 
occupied the house in Westminster, was born April 
14, 1769, and married Miss Sherman, Feb. 28, 1803. 

Mrs. Shellman, the owner of this mansion and the 
old well to which reference is made, is a great grand- 
daughter of Philip Jones, Jr., who surveyed and, with 
three commissioners, laid out Baltimore Town in 1730. 
He was born in Wales, Oct. 25, 1701, and came to this 
country about 1720. Oct. 2, 1727, he married Annie 
Ratteenbury, whose ancestors came from the Isle of 
Wight in 1624 and settled in Virginia. They had 
nine children, all of whom died young except Thomas 



k 



930 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



and HaDuah. Hannah married William Worthing- 
ton, of Maryland. Philip Jones, Jr., died Dec. 22, 
1761, aged sixty years, three months, and six days. 
His widow became the second wife of John Eager, 
and died shortly after her marriage. Thomas, the 
only surviving son of Philip Jones, Jr., was the first 
register of wills of Baltimore, and afterwards became 
judge of the Court of Appeals. He married Elizabeth 
McClure, widow of David McClure, of Carlisle, Pa. 
He had three sons and three daughters. The oldest 
daughter married Maj. Beall, of the United States 
army; the second married Mr. Dallam, of Harford 
County, and the third Mr. Schley, of Baltimore. 
While on a visit to his daughter, Mrs. Beall, at Fort 
McHenry, Judge Jones was taken ill and died, Sept. 
27, 1812, aged seventy-seven years. Of his three 
sons, Harry, the youngest, remained a bachelor. 
Thomas married and lived in Patapsco Neck. He 
had ten children, one daughter being Mrs. William 
Penby, living near Westminster. 

Philip also married, and lived for some time on his 
farm, " Gallipot," Baltimore County. He was one of 
the Old Defenders of Baltimore in the war of 1812. 
He came to Westminster in 1818, where he lived 
until within a few days of his death, and where he 
was one of the first merchants. He had ten children, 
one of whom is Mrs. James M. Shellman. The old 
Jones homestead in Patapsco Neck is still standing in 
a state of good preservation ; has broad halls, large 
rooms, and very high ceilings. It is surrounded by 
magnificent walnut-trees, which gives the name of 
" Walnut Grove" to the place, and has a lawn run- 
ning to the bank of the Patapsco River. It has 
always been in the possession of the Jones family, 
having been granted by royal patent through Lord 
Baltimore. This patent is still held by the family at 
" Walnut Grove," which is at present occupied by 
John T. Jones, two sisters and a brother, children of 
Thomas, and great-grandchildren of Philip Jones, Jr., 
surveyor of Baltimore Town. 

When the Confederates under Maj. Harry Gilmor 
and Gen. Bradley T. Johnson made a raid into West- 
minster in 1864, they occupied Mrs. Shellman's man- 
sion as their headquarters, and when Gen. J. E. B. 
Stuart was here with his command he caught up and 
carried in his front through town, on the saddle. Miss 
Mary M. Shellman, then a little lass, but the bravest 
Union girl of the place. 

About the first year of this century Dr. Umbaugh 
practiced his profession in Westminster. He was a 
German physician of note, and rode over a vast terri- 
tory to see his patients. After his location here Dr. 
Beringheit came, and remained several years. Dr. 



George Colgate died May 1, 1822, in the prime of 

life and a martyr to the noble profession he adorned. 
Dr. William Willis was, on the organization of the 
county, made the first clerk of the court in April, 
1837, and was succeeded by Dr. William A. Matthias. 
The oldest physician here (if not in the county) is 
Dr. James L. Billingslea. He was born in Abingdon, 
Harford Co., in 1804. He was first educated in the 
common schools, then attended the Belair Academy, 
and afterwards St. Mary's College, Baltimore, where 
he completed his classical studies. He graduated 
in medicine at the University of Maryland in 1827, 
and located the same year in the practice of his pro- 
fession at Uniontown, in Carroll County. He re- 
mained there twenty years, and then removed to Bal- 
timore. He subsequently settled at Long Green, in 
Baltimore County, where he practiced for ten years, 
and in 1860 he came to Westminster and continued 
the practice of his profession for many years, but has 
now retired. He was in the State Senate from 1864 
to 1867. He married Susan Harris, of Frederick 
County, in 1832, of the Society of Friends, for his 
first wife, and in 1867, Elizabeth Cove for his second 
wife. When he came to Westminster, in 1860, the 
physicians here were Drs. J. L. Warfield (now of 
Baltimore), Matthias, and J. W. Hering. The lat- 
ter is still in practice, and is also cashier of Union 
National Bank. Dr. Frank T. Shaw has been clerk i 
of the court since 1873. 

The Corporation and Officers. — The General As- 
■sembly incorporated the town of Westminster by an 
act passed April 6, 183p, supplementary to the first 
act of Feb. 14, 1830, enacting that the adjoining 
towns, then called and known by the names of West- 
minster, New London, Winter's Addition, and New 
Elenburgh, together with Pigman's Addition, and all 
that space lying between Winter's Addition and Pig- 
man's Addition, should forever thereafter be called 
and known by the name of Westminster. This act 
provided for the election on the first Monday in May 
of a burgess and five commissioners, and for annual 
elections of said oflficers thereafter. The act desig- 
nated Andrew Pouder, Jacob Yingling, and Michael 
Barnitz as the judges to hold the first election. 

By the act of Feb. 28, 1850, the town was erected 
into a city, and Michael Barnitz, Horatio Price, and 
Otho Shipley appointed judges to bold the first elec- 
tion under the city charter. The city limits were 
thus established : 

"Beginning on the southeast at a stone planted near the 
Baltimore and Reisterstown turnpike, formerly a boundary 
stone between Baltimore and Frederick Counties, and running 
northeasterly at a right angle with said turnpike four hundred 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



931 



yards; thence westerly and northerly, and running parallel 
with the course of said turnpike, and four hundred yards there- 
from, to the line of Adam Gilbert's land, located at or near a 
public road leading from said turnpike to Abraham Wampler's 
mill ; tliencc westerly and southerly with the outlines of said 
Gilbert's lands to a point four hundred yards southwest of the 
turnpike lending from Westminster to Uniontown ; thence east- 
erly and southerly and parallel with the last turnpike and the 
aforesaid Baltimore and Reisterstown turnpike, and four hun- 
dred yards from each, to the line formerly dividing Baltimore 
and Frederick Counties; and thence with the last line to the 
place of beginning." 

The following persons have been elected to the 

office of burgess and mayor : 

Burgees.— 1»39, James M. Shellman; 1840, William Shipley, 
Jr.; 1841-44, George Trumlo; 1844, David Keiffer. 

Jfayoi-.— I8o0, Dr. Elisha D. Payne; 1851, Abner Neal ; 1852, 
Jacob Grow; 1853-5S, R. R. Booth; 1859, John M. Ying- 
ling; 1860, Samuel L. Swanstead; 1861-64, Michael 
Baughman: 1864, Jacob Grove ; 1865, Emanuel Gernand; 
1866, Hashabiah Haines; 1867, A. Reese Durbin; 1S6S, 
David Fowble; 1869-71, Jacob Knipple; 1871, David H. 
Leister; 1872, Henry H. Herbaugh ; 1873, E. K. Gernand; 
1874-76, David Fowble; 1876-82, P. H. Irwin. 

The other officers are given as far as the corpora- 
tion records show them : 

I860. — Jiicob Shaffer, Levi Evans, Michael Baughman (presi- 
dent), Reuben Cassell, Joshua W. Hering ; Clerk, Otho 
Shipley. 

1861. — Joshua Tingling, Henry Warner, William Reese, Samuel 
Myers, Wm. H. Grammer; Clerk, Otho Shipley. 

1862,— George F. Webster, Joshua Tingling, Henry Warnen 
Samuel Myers, Denton Gehr; Clerk, Thomas J. Lockard. 

1863. — Samuel L. Myers, Henry Warner, Edwin K. Gernand> 
Asbury F. Sharer. Joshua Tingling ; Clerk, Thomas J. 
Lockard. 

1864.— E, K. Gernand, S. L. Myers, J. Tingling, Jeremiah 
Tingling, Ira E. Crouse ; Clerk, Thomas J. Lockard. 

1865.— George Webster, Wm. H. Harman, F. R. Buell, John 
AV, Gorsuch, David Fowble; Clerk, Thomas J. Lockard. 

1866.— F. A. Shearer, E. K. Gernand, A. R. Durbin, W. A. 
Cunningham; Clerk, Albert Billingslea. 

1867. — John H. Tingling, W. A. Cunningham, E. K, Gernand, 
J. H. Bowers, F. A. Shearer; Clerk, C. J. Tingling; Bail- 
iff and Collector, G. W. Sullivan ; Counselor, J. E. Pear- 
son, Sr. 

1868.— J. W. Perkins, M, B. Mikesell, G. W. Matthews, George 
S. Fouke, S. P. Everhart; Clerks, J. A. Dillar, P. B. 
Mikesell; Treasurer, Dr. George S. Fouke; Counselor, E- 
F. Crout. 

1869. — George E. Wampler, David Wentz, John Bernstino 
Elias Tingling, W. H. Harmans; Clerk, W. L. W. Sea- 
brook; Collectors, William Baker, George Stouck. 

1870.— John Bernstine, G. W. Matthews, J. W. Perkins, D. 
H. Leister, Joseph Woods; Clerks, W. L. W. Seabrook, W. 
H. Bidenhover. 

1871. — J. W. Perkins, Samuel Everhart, Jeremiah Tingling, 
William Tingling, Dr. Francis Butler. 

1872. — H. E. Morelock, Reuben Cassell, A. Shearer, Jesse Ting- 
ling, W. H. Harman ; Clerk, L. F. Byers. 

1873. — Henry Tanderford, Joshua Tingling, Edward Lynch, 
Elias Tingling, J. W. Hering; Clerk, George M. Parke. 

1874.— E. 0. Grimes. George M. Parke, William Lawyer, H. E. 
Morelock, James Rippard ; Clerk, W. H. Rippard. 



1875. — Henry B. Morelook, E. 0. Grimes, William Lawyer, 
James Rippard, George M. Parke ; Clerk, W. H. Rippard ; 
Treasurer, E. 0. Grimes; Counsel, J. M. Parke; Bailiff, 
Israel Zieber. 

1876.- N. J. Gorsuch, William B. Thomas, Jesse Tingling, G, 
W. Sullivan, J. W. Perkins; Clerk, John Matthews. 

1877.— N. J. Gorsuch, J. W. Perkins, W. B. Thomas, G. W. 
Sullivan, Jesse Tingling; Clerk, John Matthews. 

1878.— Same board as for two previous years; Clerk, John 
Matthews. 

1879.- W. B. Thomas, B. J. Lawyer, G. W. Sullivan, Orlando 
Reese, N, J. Gorsuch ; Clerk, John Matthews. 

1880. — Same board and clerk. 

1881.— Same board; Clerk, C. H. Baughman; Bailiff, Street 
Commissioner, and Collector, Israel Zieber; Counsel, Jo- 
seph M. P.arke; Council Committees: Streets, W. B. 
Thomas, 0. Reese; Gas, G. W. Sullivan, N.J. Gorsuch; 
Finance, W. B. Thomas, N. J. Gorsuch. 

Western Maryland College is located in' the city 
of Westminster, on the line of the Western Mary- 
land Railroad, about midway between the cities of 
Baltimore and Hagerstown. 

The buildings stand on a commanding eminence at 
the " West End," overlooking the city and many miles 
of the surrounding country. The main building is 
five stories high, and affords ample accommodations 
for chapel, recitation-rooms, halls for the societies, 
professors' apartments, and dormitories. The grounds 
belonging to the college contain eight acres, allow- 
ing sufficient range for the exercise of students dur- 
ing the time not allotted to study. The institu- 
tion is conducted on a modern basis. Young men 
and women are entered under the same corps of pro- 
fessors and instructors, enjoying all the advantages 
extended by the college. The course of study, how- 
ever, is not precisely the same for both sexes, the 
young ladies completing theirs in three years, and the 
gentlemen graduating in four, although both sexes 
have the same instructors ; the two departments are 
kept entirely separate, the sexes meeting only at 
chapel service and in the dining-room with members 
of the faculty. 

The Western Maryland College was established 
under the auspices of the Maryland Annual Confer- 
ence of the Methodist Protestant Church. A charter 
was obtained for the institution from the Legislature 
of Maryland in 1864, which contemplated its estab- 
lishment in the city of Baltimore, but subsequent 
events led to the selection of Westminster as the site 
of the new college, and a more favorable location 
could scarcely have been chosen. In 1866, Rev. 
James Thomas Ward purchased a homestead in 
Westminster, which being made known to Rev. 
Rhesa Scott Norris, negotiations were entered into 
which resulted in a meeting between Fayette R. 
Buell, the original projector, and J. T. Ward. The 



932 



HISTOEY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



Conference of that year gave in its adhesion to the 
plan for making Westminster the place for the estab- 
lishment of the enterprise, ahd an appeal was made 
to friends for money to erect suitable buildings. The 
responses were neither numerous nor large, and a loan 
was obtained from John Smith and Isaac C. Paile, 
which enabled F. R. Bucll to commence building on 
the site he had purchased. The first stone of the 
building was laid Aug. 27, 1866, and the corner- 
stone was laid Sept. 6, 1866, by Door to Virtue 
Lodge, No. 46, A. F. A. M., in the presence of a 
large number of citizens of Westminster and friends 
from other places. At the session of the Maryland 
Annual Conference in March, 1867, an advisory 
board of directors was appointed, as follows : Revs. 
J. T. Ward, J. J. Murray, D. Bowers, P. L. Wilson, 
and R. Scott Norris, and on the part of the laity, J. 
W. Herring, John Smith, M. Baughman, A. ZoUic- 
koifer, John S. Repp, and Samuel McKinstry. This 
board in July announced F. R. Buell as proprietor 
of the college, and J. T. Ward principal of the fac- 
ulty. College exercises were begun Sept. 4, 1867, 
and continued regularly thereafter. Some difiBculty 
of a financial character was experienced in 1868, but 
the friends of the institution came forward and re- 
lieved the embarrassment, and a second charter was 
obtained from the Legislature, placing the college 
under the direction of a board of trustees. John 
Smith was elected president of the board, J. T. Ward, 
secretary, and J. W. Herring, treasurer. It was de- 
termined at their first meeting to purchase the prop- 
erty from F. R. Buell for twenty thousand dollars. 
The Conference in March, 1869, at the suggestion of 
J. T. Ward, appointed Rev. P. Light Wilson agent 
of the association on behalf of the college. During 
this year the female students formed the " Browning 
Literary Society," whose first anniversary was cele- 
brated during commencement week, June 14, 1869. 
The career of the college since then has been pros- 
perous and useful. In June, 1871, the first college 
degrees were conferred upon a class of four young 
men and three young girls. On the 19th of July, 
1871, the first stone of the foundation of an addi- 
tional building was laid, rendered necessary by the 
increased patronage of the college. In January, 
1870, the State Legislature granted an appropriation 
out of the academic fund for Carroll County for the 
free tuition of one student from each election district 
in the county, and in 1878 an appropriation was 
made by the General Assembly of Maryland, enabling 
the college to furnish board, fuel, lights, washing, tu- 
ition, and the use of books free to one student, male 
or female, from each senatorial district of the State. 



This appropriation was continued by the Legislature 
of 1880. During the twelve years of its existence 
the college has had an average attendance of 116 pu- 
pils, 73 of whom were males and 43 females. There 
have been altogether under its care and training 1509 
pupils, of whom 950 were males and 559 females. They 
have pursued the various branches of an English and 
classical education. Of this number 94 have been 
graduated with the degree of A.B., and 45 have 
studied with a view to the Christian ministry. The 
faculty of the male department is as follows : 
Rev. J. T. Ward. D.D., President, Professor of Mental and 
Moral Science; Rev. H. C. Gushing, A.M., Vice-Presi- 
dent, Professor of Belles-Lettres ; R. L. Brockett, A.M., 
Professor of Physical Science and the French Language ; 
Rev. James W. Reese, A.M., Ph.D., Professor of Ancient 
Languages and Literature; G. W. Devilbiss. A.M., Profes- 
sor'of Belles-Lettres; D. W. Herring, C.E., Professor of 
Mathematics; Charles T. Wright, Princi|jal of Preparatory 
Department, and Professor of German Language: Rev. 
Augustus W-ebster, D.D., Professor of Theology; J. W. 
Herring, M.D., Lecturer on Anatomy, Physiology, and 
Hygiene; R. B. Norment, Esq., Lecturer on Civil Law and 
Political Economy; DeWitt C. Ingle, A.B., Tutor in 
Latin, Greek, and Mathematics. 
Female Faculty.— Rev. J. T. Ward, D.D., President, Professor 
of Moral and Mental Science; Rev. H. C. Cushing, A.M., 
Vice-President, Professor of Belles-Lettres (resigned) ; 
Miss Lottie A. Owings, Preceptress of Female Department, 
and Teacher of Ornamental Branches ; R. L. Brockett. 
A.M., Professor of Physical Science and the French Lan- 
guage ; Rev. James W. Reese, A.M., Ph.D., Professor of 
Ancient Languages and Literature; G. W. Devilbiss, A.M., 
Professor of Belles-Lettres; D. W. Herring, C.E., Profes- 
sor of Mathematics; J. W. Herring, M.D.. Lecturer on 
Anatomy, Physiology, and Hygiene; Charles T.Wright, 
Professor of the German Language; Mrs. S. F. Jones, 
Teacher of Vocal and Instrumental Music. 
List of Gradnaten. 
Class of 11S71 : Mrs. Imogene L. Mitter Ensor, Charles H. Baugh- 
man, Mrs. Mary M. Ward Lewis, Rev. Thomas 0. Crouse, 
A.M., Anna R. Yingling, William S. Crouse, A.M., Henry 
E. Norris, A.M., M.D. 
Class of 1!<72 : Lizzie B. Adams, Mary E. Johnson, Mrs. Annie 
Price Hoe, Annie G. Ridgely, H. Dorsey Newson, William 
P. Wright. 
Class of 1S73: Alice A. Fenby, Mary N. Nichols, Mrs. Clara 
Smith Billingslea, Ida T. Williams, B. Franklin Crouse, 
A.M., Joseph B. Galloway, A.M., M.D., Frank W. Shriver, 
Truman C. Smith, LL.B.. Thomas B. Ward. 
Class of 1S74: Annie W. Birckhead, Janie M. Bratt, A.M., 
May Brockett, A.M., Mrs. Louisa D. Hooper James, Mrs. 
M. Emma Jones Willis, Mollie E. Jones, Mrs. Julia A. 
Leas Fowler, Sarah L. Whiteside, Rev. Charles S. Arnett, 
A.M., James A. Diffenbaugh, A.M., Rev. Philip T. Hall, 
A.M., George B. Harris, Samuel R. Harris, Philemon B. 
Hopper. A.M., William Hogg, Rev. Walter W. White, A.M. 
Class of lS7a : Ida Armstrong, George W. Devilbiss, A.M., Rev. 

Thomas H. Le\Vis. 
Class of 1876 : Drucilla Ballard, Mrs. Laura A. Edie Devilbiss, 
Laura K. M.atthcws, Mrs. Mary A. Miller Bering, Maggie 
E. Rinehart. Martha Smith, Louis L. Billingslea, A.M., 
LL.B., Richard B. Norment, Jr., A.M., M.D. 



V 





^ . /7^£?C-1- ^ 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



933 



Class of 1877: Florence M. Devilbiss, Alice E. Earnest, M. Ada 
Starr, M. Virginia Starr, Maggie E. Woods, Lilian N. 
Young, Winfiekl S. Amo3s, A.M., LL.B., C. Berry Ciishing, 
A.M., LL.B., Wilson R. Cashing, Thomas J. Wilson. 

Class of IS7.S: Lulu E. Fleming, Mamie V. Swornstedt, Alice 
V. Wilson, De Witt Clinton Ingle, J. Weldon Miles, Frank 
H. Peterson. 

Class of IS79 : Mollie J. Lankford, Mamie M. McKinstry, Mary 
Rinehart, Clara L. Smith, Lizzie Trump, Lou B. Wamjiler. 

Class of 18S0: Lizzie L. Hodges, Linnio C. Kilmer, M. Emma 
Selby, Florence E. Wilson, Edward S. Baile, William H. 
DeFord, Lewis A. Jarman, Rev. Frederick C. Klein, Wil- 
liam R. McDanicl, .Joseph W. Smith. 

Class of ISSI I Hattie Ballinger, Beltie Braly, Loulie Cunning- 
ham, M. Kate Goodhiind, Hattie V. HoUiday, Bessie 
Miller, H. May Nicodemus, Katie M. Smith, Laura F. 
Stalmaker, George Y. Everhart, J. Fletcher Somers, George 
W. Todd. 

James Thomas Ward, the president of the West- 
ern Maryland College, was born in Georgetown, 
D. C, Aug. 21, 1820. His father, Ulysses Ward, 
born near Rockville, Montgomery Co., Md., April 3, 
1792, being the youngest of eight children of John 
Ward (born in London, England, Aug. 1, O. S., 
1747) and Mary Ann Hustatia (maiden name Forbes), 
born in London, Jan. 1, 1752, who came to America 
in 1770, and settled first in Prince George's Co., Md., 
whence they removed to Montgomery County in 
177G. The ancestors of John Ward had resided 
during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries in 
Yorkshire, England, being ftirniers by occupation. 
About the beginning of the eighteenth century the 
branch of the family from which he more immediately 
descended removed to London. On the mother's side I 
the ancestors of Mr. Ward were of Scottish origin. 
Ulysses Ward, his father, was married Sept. 26. 1816, 
to Susan Valinda Beall, daughter of James Beall, 
(died 1821), son of James Beall, of the same family 
with George Beall, one of the first settlers of George- 
town, D. C., and son of Ninian Beall, who emigrated 
from Scotland towards the close of the eighteenth 
century, and died in Maryland at the great age of 
one hundred and seven years. Of the seven chil- 
dren of Ulysses and Susan Valinda Ward, James 
Thomas was the second. At the time of his birth 
his mother was a member of the Protestant Epis- 
copal, and his father of the Methodist Episcopal, 
Church, which latter his mother also subsequently 
joined, and by a minister of which (the Rev. John 
Davis) he was baptized. His parents then resided in 
Georgetown, as before intimated, and continued there 
until the spring of 1822, when they removed to Prince 
Georae's County, and thence, after a brief stay in 
Georgetown, to Wa.shington City, April, 1826, which 
became their permanent place of residence until the 
death of the father, March 30, 1868, in the seventy- 



sixth year of his age. Ulysses Ward was a most in- 
dustrious, enterprising, and useful man. As a local 
preacher in the Methodist Church he became quite 
popular because of his earnest labors. He was exten- 
sively known as a business man : first as a master- 
workman in his trade, and afterwards as a merchant, 
and, when he had acquired wealth, as a benefactor in 
church and city by the judicious and liberal bestow- 
ment of his means. In the .schools of Washington 
Mr. Ward received his fir.st lessons in the common 
branches of an English education, his principal in- 
structors being the well-known John McLeod and 
Joseph H. Wheat. The advantages thus afforded 
during the week-days were supplemented by excellent 
home training, and on the Sabbath by the teachings 
imparted in the Sabbath-school. Thomas from his 
infancy had been feeble physically. He gained knowl- 
edge rapidly, and was scarcely beyond the period of 
childhood when he made a public profession of his 
faith in Christ, and developed a fondness for learning 
and usefulness. At the age of sixteen he entered the 
Classical Academy of Brookville, in Montgomery 
County, Md., at that time under the superintendence 
of Elisha J. Hall, where he had fine opportunities, 
which were so well improved that when he left for 
home, in 1838, he bore with him the classical prize. 
He returned to Washington, and for a time was em- 
ployed in business with his father, in the mean time 
devoting much of his time to study, and taking a deep 
interest in the Sabbath-school work. Still, he had no 
definite purpose of a professional career. 

In the summer of 1840 he decided to consecrate 
his life to the work of the gospel ministry. In his 
preparations for this work he studied under the advice 
and counsel of Rev. A. A. Lipscomb and Rev. A. 
Webster. His parents were now, and had been since 
1832, connected with the then recently organized 
church known as the Methodist Protestant. In this 
church he began his career as a preacher of the gos- 
pel, being licensed Aug 30, 1840, by the Ninth Street 
Methodist Protestant Church, of Washington City. 
After preaching in various places for many months, 
he was called to serve a church in the eastern part of 
the city until the meeting of the Maryland Annual 
Conference in the spring of 1841. The session of 
that Conference was held in the city of Philadelphia, 
in the Methodist Protestant church there which had 
been organized by the Rev. Thomas H. Stockton, and 
of which Mr. Ward became years after the pastor, 
succeeding that distinguished and eloquent divine. 

Mr. Ward's first regular appointment was to Pipe 
Creek Circuit, embracing part of Frederick County, 
Md. He was then in his twenty-first year. He was 



934 



HISTOKY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



associated with an elder minister, the Rev. Dr. John 
S. Reese, a man of great wisdom, learning, eloquence, 
and piety. Mr. Ward became very popular in all the 
churches of the circuit, embracing parts of Wash- 
ington County, Md., and Berkeley County, Va. He 
had signal success in his work there, and during his 
term built a new house of worship and organized the 
church at Little Georgetown, Va., besides being 
instrumental in adding largely to the membership of 
the churches which had been established. During 
these years he also traveled very extensively in other 
portions of the Conference territory, preaching to 
large congregations, especially at various camp-meet- 
ings on the Eastern as well as the Western Shore of 
Maryland. His next appointment was the city of 
Cumberland, 1854, in the spring of which year he 
married Miss Catharine A. Light, of Beddington, 
Va., a lady of great piety and Christian devotion, 
who was held in the highest respect and esteem by 
her husband's parishioners. This year Mr. Ward's 
health, always feeble, gave way, and, by advice of 
his friends, he asked the Conference to leave him 
without an appointment. His request was complied 
with, and he spent three months in suitable recrea- 
tion, a portion of the time in leisurely travel north- 
ward. 

He returned to his father's house in Washington so 
much renewed in health as to warrant him in applying 
to the president of the Conference for an appointment 
for the remainder of the year, and being informed by 
the president that there was then no suitable field for 
him until the next .meeting of the Conference, he 
accepted a position ofi'ered him by his father, who was 
then engaged in publishing a temperance journal called 
the Columhian Fomitain., to assist in editing the same. 
Thus he became linked with an enterprise from which 
he found no opportunity to disconnect himself until 
the close of the year 1847, at which time also the 
regular close of the volume of the journal expired. 
He then received a unanimous invitation to take 
charge of the church in Philadelphia which Rev. 
Thomas H.Stockton had served nine years, but which 
he had recently left to take charge of a church in 
Cincinnati, Ohio. He accordingly obtained a transfer 
from the president of the Maryland Annual Confer- 
ence, which was accepted by the president of the 
Philadelphia Conference, who appointed him to the 
pastorate of the church referred to. A condition of 
affairs arose by which the subsequent sessions of the 
Philadelphia Conference were broken up and the 
church he served caused to assume a position of 
independence, and he, not having any reasons for 
abandoning his charge, compelled, as he viewed the 



case, to remain and serve it so long as pleasant rela- 
tions existed between it and himself. 

This was the case until the close of 1856, when, 
feeling it his duty to sever his connection with that 
charge, he returned to the Conference in Maryland, 
was received by his brethren and associates of former 
years, and was again appointed to Pipe Creek Circuit, 
which he had served sixteen years before, embracing, 
however, not so large a field as when he was first ap- 
pointed to it. His colleague was the Rev. J. Thomas 
Murray, and they were both continued on the circuit 
for three successive years. During these years nearly 
four hundred members were added to these churches. 
Mr. Ward's next appointment was Alexandria, Va., in 
the spring of 1860. During this year he visited 
Fredericksburg, Va., by request, and organized a 
Methodist Protestant Church in that city, where he 
continued for two years. The Conference of 1863 
sent him to the Liberty Circuit, where he labored with 
success. From Liberty he was sent by his Confer- 
ence to the church in Washington City from which 
he had first received his license to preach, and of 
which his parents, grown old by this time, were still 
members. His pastorate there continued for two 
years, when, on account of failing health, he asked the 
Conference to relieve him from pastoral charge, and 
retired in the spring of 1866 to a little suburban 
home which had been provided for him by his parents 
at Westminster, which had been one of his regular 
preaching-places in the years when he traveled- Pike 
Creek Circuit the second time. His health being re- 
stored he became a teacher in the Westminster Acad- 
emy, and afterwards president of Western Maryland 
College, to which position he has been re-elected 
from year to year since by the board of trustees, the 
appointment being confirmed by the Maryland Annual 
Conference, under whose auspices the college was 
founded, and under whose patronage it has been from 
the time of its incorporation by the General Assembly 
of Maryland in 1868. Western Maryland College 
was organized in September, 1867, and incorporated 
by an act of the General Assembly of Maryland, ap- 
proved March, 1868. There have been about 1500 
students, of which one tenth of the number have 
graduated, besides a score of young men educated with 
the view to entering the sacred office of the ministry, 
and others who are now in positions of prominence 
and usefulness. About the time of his entrance upon 
the duties of the presidency of the college Mr. Ward 
inherited from his father some considerable means, all 
the available portion of which he devoted to the college 
enterprise, fulfilling the duties of his office at a salary 
far below his actual and necessary expenses in such a 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



9H5 



positioD. Mr. Ward has great reason to rejoice at the 

success that has crowned his pastoral services, and de- 
serves the heartfelt sympathies and aid of his church 
in his efforts to promote the success and prosperity of 
the college over which he presides. 

Westminster Academy was incorporated by an act 
of the General Assembly of Maryland, passed Feb. 6, 
1839. The incorporators were 

Jacob Reise, Isaac Shriver, Jesse Reifsnider, Nicholas Kelly, 
John McColIum, Joshua Smith, Jr., Hezekiah Grout, Fran- 
cis Shriver, John Baumgartner, Basil Hayden, John S. 
Murray, Otho Shipley, John Fisher, Charles W. Webster, 
Wm. P. Maulsby, A. H. Busby, George Shriver, Conrad 
Moul, James Keefer, Samuel Orendorff, Michael Barnits, 
Emanuel Gernand, S. D. Leoompte, Wra. Shreev, Joshua 
Yingling, Wm. Yingling, Benjamin Yingling, Elias Ying- 
ling, Levi Evans, David Keefer, John Fermwall, .John 
Swigart, Wm. Shipley, Jr., Wm. Zepp, Jacob Hartzhell, 
John M. Yingling, .Jacob Grove, Samuel I. Dell, Law- 
rence Zepp, David Burns, George Sheets, George Ramby, 
Wm. Grumbine, John Baurgett, Nelson Manning, Jesse 
Manning, John A. Kelly, Nimrod Beck, Jacob Jease, 
Henry Geatty, N. H. Thayer, B. F. Fowler, Mordecai 
Price, David Hedidebridler, Amos Ligbtner, Ephraim 
Crumbaeker. Joseph Shafer, John F. Reese, John K. 
Longwell, Jalnes M. Shellman. 

The " Old Union Meeting-house" was erected in 
1818. Rev. Charles G. McLean preached the dedi- 
catory sermon. It is a two-story brick structure, and 
is now fast falling into decay. Its windows are shat- 
tered, its steeple tumbling to pieces, and its interior 
crumbling away. Here the Rev. Lorenzo Dow, the 
famous and eccentric revivalist and exhorter, preached 
eleven different times, once beginning his services at 
four o'clock in the morning. This edifice stands on 
an elevated site in the centre of the Westminster 
Cemetery. The pulpit, with a high stairway leading 
to it, and the old-fashioned galleries are all that is 
left of its interior. For the last third of a century 
it has not been used for religious services. It was 
built as a union church by contributions from various 
Protestant denominations, and was open for all Prot- 
estant sects. For nearly a quarter of a century it 
was the only Protestant meeting-house in the town, 
and in that period many of the ablest clergymen 
of the State or country have preached from its old- 
fashioned pulpit. Before its erection a log structure, 
built about 1790, was used, and at the entrance to 
the cemetery, on the right, is the old brick school- 
house. 

The first burial-ground in Westminster was on 
the land now owned by George E. Grouse, where 
interments were made from about 1764 to 1790, 
in which year the ground adjoining that on which 
the " Old Union Meetting-house" was built was used 
as a graveyard, and the former cemetery abandoned. 



It was occupied as an ordinary burying-place until 
1864, when the Westminster Cemetery was organized 
and incorporated. This corporation has added to the 
grounds, making about thirteen acres, and has greatly 
beautified them by walks, terraces, and other valuable 
improvements. The officers of this corporation for 
1881 are Joseph M. Parke, president, and John K. 
Longwell, John B. Smith, H. L. Norris (treasurer), 
Ira E. Grouse, and Edward K. Gernand (secretary), 
directors. In this cemetery the graves of soldiers in 
the late war are numerous, and it is also the last 
resting-place of many prominent citizens of West- 
minster. There is one old stone, about a foot high, 
on which the only inscription is 1707, but whether it 
refers to some person who died that year or to some 
one born at that date cannot be determined. The 
oldest interment is that of Christian Yingling, born 
Oct. 13, 1788, and who died Jan. 24, 1790, the year 
the meeting-house was built and the graveyard first 
laid out. The most prominent grave is that of the 
colonial proprietor of the town, who laid it out in 
1764 and called it Winchester, which name it bore 
until superseded by the no less English name of West- 
minster. By his remains lie those of his wife and 
descendants. 

The epitaphs on the tombstones are as follows : 

•' In Memory of William Winchester, 

who was born in London 

on the 22d December, 1710. 

Arrived in Maryland 

on the 6th March, 1729. 

Intermarried with Lydia Richards 

on the 22d July, 1747, 

And departed this life on the 

2d September, 1790, 
In the 80th year of his age." • 

" In Memory of Lydia Winchester 

(widow of William Winchester), 

AVho was born in Maryland on the 

4th of August, 1727, 

And departed this life on the 

19th of February, 1809, 
In the 82d year of her age." 

There is still standing against the old church the 
first tombstone erected to Mr. Winchester, but which 
was taken down from the head of his grave after his 
wife's death, when the two above mentioned were put 
up. The old tombstone is somewhat different in 
phraseology, and makes a variance of two days in 
the time of his birth. It is as follows : 

" In Memory of William Winchester, Born in the City of 
London on the 24th of December. Anno Domini 1710 (0. S.). 
Intermarried with Lydia Richards the 22d July, 1747, and De- 
parted this Life 2d of September, 1790, aged 79 years, 8 months, 
and 2 days." 

The Winchester descendants' graves are those of Lydia 



936 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



Moore, eldest daughter of William Winchester the second and 
Mary, his wife, horn Feb. 24, 177i,died Dec. 4, 1821; David | 
Winchester, born April IS. 1769, and died Jan. 13, 18.35; Eliz- 
abeth Winchester, born April 19, 1763, and died June 17, 1847 ; j 
and Lydia Winchester, horn Deo. 27. 1766, died April 19, 1849. j 

Among other graves of old or distinguished people I 
are the following: ' 

Catharine Fisher, born June 9, 1750, married David Fisher, j 
June 3, 1776, and died Nov, 15, 1793 : and her husband, David i 
Fisher, died Oct. 15, 1815, aged 61. His second wife, Elizabeth, \ 
died April 16, 1849, aged 80. 

John Fisher, born in Westminster, Jan. 7, 1780, died April 
11, 1863. 

John C. Cookey, born Feb. 1, 1794, died Dec. 16, 1826; and 
his wife, Ellen, born Oct. 23, 1797. died July 21, 1858. 

James McHaffie, born March 31, 1779, died Jan. 3, 1818; and 
his wife, Eleanor, born Jan. 7, 1777, died April 6, 1815. 

Jacob Sherman, born in Lancaster County, Pa., March 7, 
1756, married Elizabeth Wagner. Feb. 23, 1779, and died July 
7, 1822; and his wife, Elizabeth, died June 28, 1842, aged 85. 

Isaac Shriver, born March 6. 1777, died Dec. 22, 1856; and 
Polly, his wife, born April 14, 1781. died March 6, 1859. 

Frederick Wagoner, born Feb. 7, 1794, died Dec. 22, 1855. 

Rev. Isaac Webster, died Feb. 4. 1851, aged 63. 

On one stone are Sarah E. Bennett, born April 12, 1841, died 
Oct. 23, 1870; and Josephine I. Bennett, born July 4, 1843, died 
Feb. 12, 1851. 

" Sacred to the memory of R. H. Clarke, Co. B, Seventh Md. 
A'olunteers, who was sunstruck on the march from Virginia to 
victory at Gettysburg. Brought in an ambulance to Westminster, 
and unable to proceed farther, he here died .Tune 30, 1863, aged 



Toil-wo 
And he 



1 and faithful to his c 
I to tlie last." 



untry 



William Frazier. Co. F, 7th Md. Vols., died 1864. 

William Horner, born Feb. 1, 177S, died Aug. 6, 1847; and 
Elizubeth, his wife, born March 18, 1793, died Jan. 12, 1849. 

Sally Key, died Sept. 14, 1855, aged 84. 

William Kung, born Dec. 27, 1790, died Aug. 6, 1S51. 

Caleb Stansbury, .Sr., died Nov. 17, 1845, aged 90. 

Caleb Stansbury, Jr., died Aug. 21, 1860, aged 66. 

Joshua Stansbury, died July 2S, 1867, aged 75. 

John Powder, born April 6. 1791, died Nov. 10, 1814. 

Andrew Powder, of Jacob, born Dec. 23, 1 798, married Eliza- 
beth John, Jan. 3. 1822, and died Jan. 28, 1830. 

Jacob Powder, died March 2. 1842. aged SO. 

Jacob Powder, born Oct. 20, 1794, died Feb. 13, ls70;and 
his wife. Elizabeth, died Aug. G, 1S73, aged 74. 

Andrew Powder, born July 25. 1793, died Oct. 28, 1856. 

John Mitten, died March 21, 1808, aged 72. 

Susanna Mitten, born Feb. 29, 1789, died Aug. 6, 1868. 

Henry Mourer, born Oct. 17, 1796, died Oct. 20, 1862. 

Hannah Neff. died Jan. 18. 1826. aged 90. 

Andrew Reese. Sr., born Dec. 12. 1759. died March 14, 1822. 

Andrew Reese, born May 18, 1791. died Sept. 26, 1826. 

John Wampler, born Nov. 19, 1773, died July 27, 1831; and 
his wife, Elizabeth, born Jan. 26, 1780, died Nov. 12, 1859. 

Abram Wampler. born Sept. 22. 1791. died July 6, 1853. 

Dr. S. L. Swarmstedt. born in Calvert County. April 4, 1801, 
died March 1, 1872 ; and his wife, Margaret, died Nov. 8, 1848, 
aged 43. 

** Sacred to the memory of J. Thomas Manning, who served 
in the United States army against Mexico. At peace he returned 
in ill health, and after much suffering as a Christian he died. 
His virtues endeared him to many, and his youthful compan- 



ions, to honor his patriotism and preserve his memory, have 
erected to him this testimonial of their affectionate regard. 
Requiescat in pace." 

On the reverse side the monument reads : '* Died February 
28, 1849, aged 23 years, 13 days," "Born February 15th 
1826." 

Jacob Righter, born July 25, 1782, died March 21, 1852; and 
his wife, Rachel, born June 1, 1788, died March 12. 1846. 

Dr. George Colgate, died May 1, 1822. aged 39. 

Elizabeth, wife of John Winters, died Oct. 15. 1S5S, aged 75, 

Thomas Ward, died Feb. 10, 1852, aged 79. 

Martha, wife of Thomas Weirel, died Aug. 12, 1860, aged 74. 

Dr. Jesse J. Utz, died July 4, 1849, aged 28. 

Joseph Shreev, died Sept. 10, 1858, aged 84; and his wife, 
Comfort, died Nov. 26, 1862, aged 82. 

Wm. Shreev, born Aug. 16, 1805, died Feb. 27, 1861; and 
his wife, Margaret, born May 16, 1802, died Jan. 24, 1863. 

Levi Shreev, born March 6, 1807, died March 13, 1S75. 

" Sacred to the memory of Charles W. Oursler, a member of 
Co. B, First Maryland Potomac Brigade, who fell in the de- 
fence of his country on Maryland Heights, Sept. 13, 1862, aged 
21 years and 11 months." 

Rachel Oursler, died Dec. 5, 1811, aged 20. 

Catharine Keefer, born March 5. 1776, married to David 
Keefcr, May IS, 1795, died Sept. 11, 1809. 

Polly Keefer, born Dec. 26, 1796, died Oct. 1, 1862. 

Ulerick Eckler, died Aug. 27, 1832, aged 67; and his wife, 
Elizabeth Eckler, died Sept. 6, 1865, ivged lOQ. 

Catharine, wife of Mordecai Price, died Feb. 24, 1875, aged 
80. 

"John W. Grogg. He was 0. S. in Co. A, 6th Md. Vol. In- 
fantry. Died in Wivshington Hospital, July 11, 1864, from the 
effects of a wound received in the battle of the Wilderness, Va., 
aged 24 years, 9 months, 9 days.*' 

Jacob Fcterling, born Nov. 2, 1745, died Jan. 2, 1S30. 

John Grout, born April 7, 1788, died April 14, 1826. 

John McComb, a native of Scotland, died Oct. 25, 1830, aged 
74. 

Joshua Smith, born March 18, 1803, died July 24, 1868 ; and 
Julia A., his wife, died April 24, 1880. 

David H. Shriver. born Jan. 8, 1807, died Sept. 16, ISSO; 
and his wife. Mary, born March 17, 1811, died Aug. 25, 1879. 

Nimrod Frizzell, died Oct. 13, 1842; and his wife, Anna, Oct. 
31, 1865, aged 72. 

Jacob Crouse, born Oct. 30, 1766, died Jan. 1, 1846; and 
Elizabeth, his wife, died Sept. 12, 1820, aged 47. 

Jacob Fringer, Sr., died June 22, 1834, aged 74 ; and Mar- 
garet, his wife, April 12, 1841, aged 74. 

Catherine Tingling, born Nov. 20. 1790, died Deo. 29, 1866. 

Mary Dell, died Aug. 17, 1821, aged 55. 

Thomas Lockard, born Jan. 24, 1791, died April 29, 1835; 
and his wife, S.arah, Feb. 12, 1874, aged 80. 

Lewis Trumbo. born Oct. 15, 1802, died Feb. 14. 1869 ; and 
his wife, Sarah. Feb. 18. 1870, aged 68. 

Jacob D. Hoppe. died Feb. 24. 1868, aged 34. 

"Rev. Jonathan Monroe, 1801-1869; a Gospel Herald 44 
years." 

" Matilda Monroe. 180.3-1872 ; the Itinerant's Bride for 43 
years." 

Jacob Fisher, born Aug. 28, 1783, died July 1, 1865. 

E. F. Crout. born Sept. 5, 1818. died Nov. 26, 1875. 

Ann Morthland, died Sept. 16, 1 868, aged S3. 

Michael Baughman, born Sept. 23, 1820, died Jan. 2, 1876. 

George Webster, born May 12. 1812, died Aug. 22, 1868. 

Andrew W. Durbin. died March 13, 1873, aged 50; and hit 
wife, Mary J., March 22, 1875, aged 52. 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



937 



Capt. George W. Shriver, born Aug. 7. 1835. died Feb. 5, 
1870. 

Margaret Shriver, wife of Joshua Yingling. born .luly 2, 
1813, died June 3, 1880. 

Maria L. Wampler, born Jan. 20, 1811. died Sept. li, 1875. 

James L. Wamiiler. born March 20, 1815, died Deo. 4, 1876. 

Miles Mitten, died Aug. 1, 1854, aged 67 ; and his wife, 
Rachel, Feb. 11, 1859. aged 65. 

Sophia Shocliey, born Jan. 10, 1808, died May 8, 1869. 

Rebecca Catharine Sparklin, with her two little daughters, 
Eva and Lottie, instantly killed, Oct. 10, 1879, on the Michigan 
Central Railroad by a collision. She was born April 28, 1852. 

Isaac Stansbury, died Jan. 23, 1873. aged 81. 

Daniel P. Goodwin, died April 24, 1876, aged 61, 

John Kuhn, died Aug. 13, 1870, aged 67. 

Mahala Shue, wife of Daniel Shue, died Aug. 27, 1826, aged 
33. 

Dr. George Shriver, died Deo. 10, 1859, aged 31, 

John Thomas Burns, born March 2, 1839, died from a kick 
by a horse, April 20, 1857. 

Deborah D. Norris, died May 1, 1858, aged 44. 

John M. Yingling, died July 19, 1S<73, aged 43. 

Mary J., wife of H. L. Norris, died Oct. 21, 1S52, aged 28. 

William Metzger, born April 25, 1793, in Hanover, Pa., died 
Nov. 29, 1872. 

William Yingling, born March 13, ISIO, died March 13, IS70, 

Annie L.. daughter of Joshua .and Julia A. Smith, and wife 
of Col. William A. McKellip, died May 1, ISSO, aged 39. 

Sarah J., wife of Wm. Reese, died Jan. 21, 1873, aged 47. 

Gabriel Hannemann, died March 1, 1854, aged 65. 

Abraham Shafer, died Dec. 13, 1872, aged 76 ; and his wife, 
Mary, Nov, 29, 1S64, aged 65. 

Mary Adrian, wife of John T. Diffenbaugh, born Jan. 22, 
1828, died Feb. 6, 1877. 

Miranda, wife of Richard Manning, died May 28, 1865, aged 
41, 

Jacob J. Leister, died Feb. 1 1, 1878, aged 67. 

Alfred Troxel, born Nov. 25, 1816, died Feb. 27, 1867; and 
his wife, Louisa, Jan. 23. 1850, aged 30. 

Absalom Riall, born Jan. 1, 1795, died March 15, 1839. 

Sallie H., wife of Dr. Charles M. Martin, died Jan. 26, 1872, 
aged 28. 

Abraham H. Busby, born Sept: 4, 1805, died Aug. 5, IS67. 

Rebecca M., wife of Solomon Zepp, died March IS, 1S75, 
aged 58. 

David Fisher, died April 10, 1827, aged 32. 

Thomas Smith, born June 14, 1797, died Feb. 15, 1S77 ; and 
his wife, Mary, born Oct. 25, 1807, died June 2, 1862. 

Joshua Smith, died Dec. 13, 1841, aged SO; and his wife, 
Susanna, May 3, 1832, aged 63. 

Joseph Smith, born March 10, 1801, died Nov. 6, 1860; and 
his wife, Elizabeth, born March 7, 1806, died Feb, 17, 1881. 

Isaac E. Pearson, born November, 1811, died March IS, 1S77 ; 
and his wife, Maria, born May 12, 1821, died Feb. 19, 1873. 
Emanuel Herr. born December, 1799, died July, 1860. 
George K. Rhodes, born in Nottingham, England, Nov. 5, 
1805. died March S, 1859. 

Dulcie Berry, wife of Rev. H. C. Gushing, born in Fauquier 
Co., Va., Oct. IS, 1S26, died Sept. 7, 1874. 

This cemetery corporation was organized June 17, 
1864, under a charter passed by the Legislature of 
previous winter. The first oflBcers were : 

President, George E. Wampler ; Secretary, E. K. Gernand; 
Treasurer, H. L. Norris; Directors, William Reese, Dr. J. 



L. Warfield, Joseph M. Parke, John K. Longwell, J. Henry 
Hoppe, Alfred Troxell. 

After the Revolutionary war, John Logston gave 
four acres of ground in Westminster to the Catholic 
Church, and on it was erected the first church about 
1785. It was a frame structure, which in 1805 
made way for a neat brick edifice called " Christ 
Church." This stood until 1872, when it was taken 
down and part of the materials used in building that 
year St. John's Parochial School. The third, St. 
John's church, was dedicated on Wednesday, Nov. 22, 
1866, according to the impressive and solemn rites 
of the Catholic Church. There were fifteen priests 
in attendance, among them Rev. John McCaffery, 
D.D., president of Mount St. Mary's College ; Rev. 
John McClusky, D.D., vice-president of the same; 
and Rev. Thomas Foley, D.D., secretary to the arch- 
bishop. The dedicatory sermon, which was able and 
interesting, was delivered by the latter in a very 
chaste style. Solemn high mass was celebrated. Rev. 
John Dougherty being the celebrant, Rev. Henry 
McMurdle, deacon, Rev. Father Krouenberg, .sub- 
deacon. The music was grand, there being pre.sent 
thirteen members of the Cathedral choir of Baltimore, 
under Prof Leinhardt, who presided at the organ. 
It is estimated that eleven hundred people were 
present in the church. Rev. John Gloyd was then 
and is now the pastor in charge. 

The first pastor was Father Nicholas Zaechi, who 
came to Taneytown in 180-1. Through his eff'orts 
the second church edifice was erected in 1805. He 
had charge of the church until his death in 1845. 
His successor was Father Thomas O'Neill, from 1851 
to 1862, there having been an interregnum of six 
years. The next pastor was Father John Gloyd, who 
came in November, 1862, and is the present able and 
beloved pastor. He removed here from Taneytown 
in 1869, and this then became the headquarters of 
the mission until its division in 1879. Father Gloyd 
has charge of this church, St. Bartholomew's, at Man- 
chester, and attends St. Mary's chapel, at Uniontown, 
at the residence of Mrs. William Shriver. St. John's 
school since its establishment, in 1872, has been 
under the charge of F. A. McGirr. 

Many years ago Rajenia Grand Adams left thirty 
acres of land adjoining the town to the Catholic 
Church, which was- leased, and its rents are applied, 
one-fourth to the church and the remainder to the 
priest in charge. John Orendorff, father of Francis 
H. and Josephus Orendorfl^, was mainly instrumental 
in rearing the present handsome church, having given 
five hundred thousand bricks, the quantity necessary 
for its construction. Father Glowd's assistants on the 



938 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



mission until its division, in 1879, were Richard Hase- 
man, from 1871 to 1873; from 1873 to 1874, Cas- 
per Schmidt; and from 1874 to 1879, John T. De- 



The following persons are buried in the Catholic 
cemetery : 

Francis Anderson, died Oct. 28, 1842, aged 44. 

Thomas Adelsparyer, died Nov. 28, 1822, aged 71; Eleanor, 
bis wife, died Aug. 1, 1846, aged 87. 

Mary A., wife of John H. Logue, died June 2, 1865, aged 38. 

G. W. Fowler, died Dec. 21, 1858, aged 75 ; Rachel, his wife, 
died Jan. 8, 1864, aged 81. 

Mary Fowler, died Jan. 30, 1851, aged 77. 

Richard Fowler, died Dec. 4, 1850, aged 87 ; Mary M., his 
wife, died June 15, 1866. aged 68. 

John A. Hirscb, died Sept. 1, 1872, aged 83 years, 4 months, 
22 days; Anna M., his wife, born Sept. 10, 1790, died May 15, 
1868. 

Lydia C, wife of John Colier, died June 7, 1851, aged 34. 

Elias Weaver, born Feb. 27, 1S05. died Oct. 3, 1828. 

John Beiiner, died Jan. 2. 1815, aged 56. 

Frances Conly, died Nov. 16, 1841, aged 79. 

Robina M. Anderson, died Jan. 2, 1869, aged 75 years, 3 
months, 12 days. 
• Ellen Weaver, born 1778, died April 28, 1851. 

Christian Orendorff, died Jan. 24, 1816, aged 55. 

Polly, wile of John W. Cokor. died April 20. 1861, aged 70. 

Kate Orendorff. died Aug. 13. 1S69, aged 31. 

Elizabeth Wells, died Sept. 3, 1829, aged 58. 

Wm. Orendorff, born July 6, 1826, died Aug. 9, 1847. 

John Orendorff, died Feb. 18, 1869. aged 74. 

Joseph Orendorff, died April 6, 1821, aged 16 years, 7 months, 
24 days. 

Hannah Williams, died Oct. 21, 1831, aged 62. 

Hannah Fowler, died 1824. 

John Fowler, died 1825. 

Catharine E., wife of Jeremiah Lockard, born May 8, 1824, 
died Dec. 25, 1869. 

John Feltz, died April 11, 1802, aged 1 year, 4 months. 

Joseph Arnold, died April 10, 1815, aged 70. 

Mary Arnold, died March 20, 1835, aged 71. 

Joseph Arnold, died Feb. 8, 1858, aged 76. 

Wm. Hayden, died June 4, 1802, aged 48. 

Honor Fowler, died May 7, 1862, aged 59 years, 1 month, 14 
days. 

Rebecca Fowler, died Nov. 8, 1863, aged 75 years, 10 days. 

Comfort Durbin, died June 4, 1855, aged S3. 

Benjamin Durbin. died Aug. 6, 1811, aged 30 years, 1 
month. 

Benjamin Durbin, born March 30, 1748, died Nov. 20, 1815. 

Susannah Duvbin, died Dee. 24, 1836, aged 84. 

Catherine Durbin, died Dec. 9, 1849, aged 58. 

Dr. Wm. Matthias, born March 8, 1821, died April 17, 1864; 
Adelaide E., his wife, born May 10, 1832, died Nov. 10, 1868. 

Rebecca Orendorff, born Oct. 26, 1818, died Deo. 24, 1868. 

Eleanor Hayden, died April 19, 1844, aged 37. 

Catharine Hayden, died Oct. 10, 1857,.aged 85. 

Anna, wife of Patrick Hanrat, died May 3, 1817, aged 50. 

Wm. Hayden, Jr., died March 12. 1817, aged 35 yen,rs, 6 
months, 24 days. 

Thomas Durbin, died April 3, 1810, aged 77 years, 9 months. 

Daniel Arler, born Aug. 4, 1742, died Feb. 1.3, 1813. 

Wm. Arnold, born Oct. 6, 1758, died Feb. 20, 1832. 

Henrietta Arnold, died April 9, 1828, aged 66. 



Mary Logsdon, died April 17, 1829, aged — . 

Elizabeth A., consort of W. Loyd, died June 22, 1854, aged 
74. 

Philip Cleary, born Oct. 18, 1797, died Oct. 20, 1860. 

Dr. W. S. Shipley, died June 21, 1870, aged 27. 

John Matthias, died Aug. 6, 1817, aged 67. 

Catharine, his wife, died Nov. 7, 1818, aged 59. 

Regina Grenadam, died May 25. 1817, aged SO. 

Francis Grenadam, born Feb. 15, 1728, married to Regina 
Brechbeal, 1754, died Feb. 18, 1806. 

Catharine Matthias, born Nov. 22, 1785, died Sept. 4, 1807. 

Margaret Matthias, born June 20, 1796, died Sept. 7, 1807. 

Anthony Arnold, died Aug. 19, 1824, aged 47 years, 4 months, 

5 days. 

John Lockard, died May 8, 1874, aged 86 years, 5 months, 8 
days; Elizabeth, his wife, died May 5, 1843, aged 55. 

Edward Fowler, died Nov. 21, 1863, aged 86 years, 4 months, 
21 days. 

Catharine Corban, died Sept. 6, 1844, aged 47. 

Basil Hayden, died Feb. 2, 1863, aged 79 ; and Apprillah, 
his wife, Feb. 6, 1861, aged 79. 

John Matthias, wife of Jacob, born Nov. 15, 1791, died June 
8, 1872. 

Michael Lynch, died Nov. 20, 1860, aged 67. 

Mary Lynch, died Oct. 5, 1S68, aged 65. 

Mary Ann Snider, died Sept. 20, 1S62, aged 32. 

Chryostom Burke, born Feb. 29, 1827, died Dec. 18, 1863. 

Mary E., wife of Wm. H. Grumbine, born Feb. 10, 1825, 
died Sept. 14, 1863. 

Anna Doyle, died Nov. 28, 1859, aged 50. 

John A. Matthias, born June 18, 1821, died Dec. 22, 1860. 

Cornelius Buckley, died May 12, 1877, aged 39 years, 2 
months, 2 days. 

Eliza J. Buckley, died Nov. 3, 1876, aged 41 years, 10 months, 

6 days. 

Joseph Eckenrode, died Sept. 18, 1868, aged 54 years, 8 
months. 

Regina Frankbouser, died August, 1853, aged 74. 

Christina Obold, died Feb. 6, ISol, aged 89. 

John Wise, died July 27, 1860, aged 68 years, 7 months, 4 
days. 

Susan, his wife, died April 19, 1861, aged 68, 

Benjamin Fowler, died Jan. 7, 1862, aged 58 years, 9 months. 

Charlotte, wife of Bernard Kean, born Oct. 21, 1801, died 
July 17, 1845, 

Sephero N. Awald. died Jan. 31, 1855, aged 39. 

Geo. Strawheaffer, died April 2, 1855, aged 43. 

Catharine Rii-cle, died Feb. 16, 1858, aged 62. 

Eve Awald, died April 4, 1856, aged 76. 

Henry Hilzkamp, died Jan. 5, 1853, aged 54. 

John Ore, died June 17, 1865, aged 63. 

Anthony McConwell, a native of County Armagh, Ireland, 
died July 11, 1865, aged 50. 

Adam Bowers, died Nov. 2, 1864, aged 72 years, 11 months, 
23 days ; Catharine, his wife, died Jan. 3, 1874, aged 84 years, 
11 months, 8 days. 

Anastace A., wife of John Ore, died March 4, 1876, aged 77. 

Catharine, wife of Aquilla Bowers, died June 26, 1869, aged 
70 years, 11 months, 14 days. 

John Yingling, died Jan. 15, 1880, aged 95. 

Eliza Lovell, died Jan. 10, 1870, aged 57 years, 6 months, 10 
days. 

Theresa, wife of J. W. Zentgraf, " born in Larbock, Ger'y," 
Aug. 7, 1767, died in Westminster, Dec. 6, 1818. 

John Powers, died Aug. 7, 1876, aged 40. 

Thos. Lynch, died March 2, 1870, aged 81. 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



939 



Patrick O'Brien, " a native of the parish of Castletown- 
Rock, County Cork, Ireland," died Oct. 7, 1873, aged 80. 

Margaret, his wife, born in Ireland, died Oct. 1, 1868, aged 72. 

Helen M., wife of William J. Case, died Feb. 22, 1878, aged 
39 years, 10 months. 15 days. 

Sarah Haase, died June 27, 1876, aged 76. 

John Roberts, born Aug. 12, 1804, died Oct. 2o, 1870. 

Ann, wife of William Roberts, died June 27, 1860, aged 85. 

Daniel H. Roberts, born Sept. 18. 18i0, died July 19, 1871. 

Catharine G. Roberts, died April 26, 1855, aged 52. 

Catharine Hook, died Oct. 27, 1873, aged 74. 

John Sinnott, died May 12, 1880, aged 75. 

Andrew J. Beaver, died May 8, 1879. aged 53 years, 5 
months, 15 days. 

Paul Case, born May 8, 1806, died Sept. 5, 1875; Helen, his 
wife, born Sept. 5, 1810, died Nov. 4, 1875. 

Rose E. Neal, born July 8, 1807, died March 4, 1875. 

Elizabeth Manydier, wife of John Brook Boyle, died Feb. 6, 
1876, aged 64 years. 6 months. 

Mary A., wife of Joshua Corban, died April 6, 1880, aged 70. 

Michael O'Brien, a native of Cork County, Ireland, died Dec. 
12, 1S62, iigcd 40 ; Rebecca, his wife, died March 9, 1881, aged 
60 years. 

John Everhcart. dieil Dec. 7, 1876. aged 84 years, 11 months, 
24 days. 

Anne Smith, born March, 1829, died February, 1877. 

Mary Myers, died Nov', s, 1S78. aged 76 years. 

Philip Keller, died July 15, 1867, .aged 70 years, 9 months, 
20 days. 

John Koontz, died Sept. 27, 1872, aged 70 years, 6 months, 
27 days. 

Thomas Hurley, died April 22, 1S69, aged 67 years. 

Morris Hurley, died Oct. 21, 1878, aged 32 years, 9 months, 
9 days. 

Christopher Rooney, died Oct. 23, 1865, aged 46. " Served in 
the U. S. Navy for fifteen years. When the Rebellion broke 
out enlisted as a private in Company C, Sixth Regiment Md. 
Vol., U. S. Array, and served as chief musician of the regiment 
until the close of the war. receiving an honorable discharge 
Oct. 3, 1865." 

Elizabeth Buchman, a native of France, born March 16, 
1776, died March 24, 1855. 

Elizabeth Koons, died March 26. 1851, aged 76. 

Matthew Denning, died Feb. 4, 1865, aged 93; and Hannah, 
his wife, March 14, 1858. aged 78. 

"Jim," "as a recognition of his services and fidelity to the 
family," J. T. Matthias. 

Martin Whileleather, died Nov. 29, 1876, aged 63 years, 1 
month, 16 days. 

Joseph Hawn, died Feb. 16, 1875, aged 81 years, 1 month, 
27 days: Citharine, his wife, died March 23, 1864, aged 66 
years, 5 months, 2 days. 

Nicholas Zentgraf, born in Larbaeh, Germany, Jan. 10, 1810, 
died Oct. 12, 1872. 

Joseph Shanaborough, died June 2, 1872, aged 75 years, 5 
months: Patience, his wife, born Oct. 26, 1797, died July 26, 
1853. 
William Coghlan, born Dec. 31, 1774, died March 27, 1854. 

Grace Lutheran Church was organized in 1846, 
and on August 5th of that year the corner-stone of 
its church edifice was laid with impn.sing ceremonies. 
Before that time the members of this new congrega- 
tion had worshiped at St. Benjamin's church (Krei- 
ger's), about a mile and a half from town. Occasion- 



ally Lutheran services were held in the " Old Union 
Meeting-house." The first preaching in this section of 
the country was by Lutheran and German Reformed 
preachers and missionaries, as far back as 1747 and 
1748. Its pa.stors have been : 

1842-53, Rev. Philip Willinrd (preaching before the building 
of the church at Kreiger's) ; 185.3-60, Rev. Samuel Henry; 
1860-63, Rev. J. Martin; 1863-67, Rev. H. C. Halloway ; 
1867-69, Rev. P. A. Strobel; 1870-78, Rev. John A. 
Earnest; Aug. 28, 1878, to the present time. Rev. Henry 
W. Kuhns. 

It has a flourishing Sunday-school, of which Henry 
B. Grammer is superintendent, and William Seabrook, 
assistant. This church, an outgrowth of St. Benja- 
min's, forms with it and St. John's (Leister's), near 
Mexico, a charge under Rev. Mr. Kuhns. From 1846 
to about 1857 Borst and Winters' churches were 
united with these three in one charge. 

Adjoining the fine church is a neat parsonage owned 
by the congregation. 

St. Paul's Reformed Church is a child of the old 
mother- church, St. Benjiiniin's (or Kreiger's), a mile 
and a half distant in the country. Its separate church 
organization was formed in 1868, when was laid the 
corner-stone of its elegant edifice, which was completed 
in 1869. Before that time its members worshiped 
at Kreiger's, though occasional Reformed preach- 
ing was heard in the " Old Union Meeting-house" 
from 1790 to 1840. The church was organized and 
its building erected under the auspices of Rev. W. C. 
Cremer, who continued as pastor until 1876. His 
successor was Rev. J. G. Noss, who is the present in- 
cumbent, and was installed in December, 1876. The 
Consistory is composed of Peter B. Mikesell, John 
H. Bowers, John L. Reifsnider, Andrew N. Stephan, 
elders ; and J. BrinkerhoflF, J. T. Orndorff, Theodore 
A. Evans, William H. H. Zepp, deacons. The super- 
intendent of the Sunday-school is William B. Thomas. 
The elegant parsonage adjoining the church was built 
after the latter's erection. The site of this church, on 
the corner of Green and Broad Streets, is one of the 
most beautiful and desirable in the city. The main 
building is ibrty-six by seventy feet on the flank wall, 
with a pulpit recess of six by eighteen feet, making 
the entire length of the building, from the outside 
wall of the tower to that of the pulpit-recess, eighty- 
three feet. The building has a basement ten feet 
higli. and an audience-chamber eighteen feet deep on 
the flank wall and thirty-one and a half in the centre. 
The style of architecture is modern Gothic, with 
traces of a composite nature. The front and tower 
are supported by pilasters, capped with the Gettys- 
burg granite. The brick-work is adorned with pin- 



f 



940 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



nacles, and a spire sixty feet in height, making the 
entire height of tower and spire one hundred and 
twenty-six feet. The windows are Gothic, with stained 
and frosted glass. The audience-chamber has a chan- 
cel, with a beautifully-designed pulpit, reading-desk, 
and baptismal font. The pews are scroll, front and 
back, and the ceiling is ornamented with panel, stucco, 
and fresco-work. The building committee were David 
H. Shriver, Augustus Shriver, S. L. Myers, A. Long, 
Jesse Growl, Josiah Growl, and Rev. W. G. Greamer. 
The architects were Sharb & Leister ; master-car- 
penter, George Lease ; master-mason and bricklayer, 
Ghristian Await. 

The Westminster Society of the Methodist Prot- 
estant Ghurch was organized in 1829. It was origi- 
nally included in the association of churches consti- 
tuting Pipe Greek Circuit. In 1837 it was made a 
separate charge, and so continued until 1840, when 
it became a part of Baltimore Gircuit. In 1844 it 
was again united with Pipe Greek Gircuit, and con- 
tinued to hold that relation until 1871, at which time 
it became again a district church under the title of 
Westminster Station. 

Its pastors have been : 

1829, D. E. Reese, Sr.; 1830, F. Stier, J. Hanson; 1831, F. 
Stier, J. Ibberston; 1832, Isaac Webster. C.Jacobs; 1833, 
Isaac Webster, W. Sexsmith ; 1S34. Josiah Varden, H. 
Doyle; 1835, J. W. Everest, H. Doyle, A. A. Lipscomb; 
1836, John S. Reese, J. W. Porter; 1837, T. G. Clayton; 
1838, Josiah Varden; 1839, J. W. Porter; 1840, Eli Hen- 
kle, James Elderdice; 1841, J. Keller, J. Hisore; 1842, J. 
Whitworth, J, Hisore; 1843, Eli Henkle ; 1844, W. Collier, 
T. L. McLean. J. D. Broolss; 1846-46, W. Collier, P. L. 
Brooks, J. K. Nichols; 1847, J. Morgan, T. D. Valiant; 
1848, J. Morgan, W. Roby ; 1849, D. E. Reese, W. Roby ; 
1850, D. E. Reese, T. L. McLean; 1851, H. P. Jordan, J. 
Roberts; 1852, H. P. Jordan, H.J.Day; 1853, T. M.Wil- 
son, H. J. Day; 1854, T. M. Wilson, J. A. McFadden; 
1855, F. Swentzell, J. A. McFadden; 1856, F. Swentzell, 
N. S. Greenaway; 1857-59, J. T. Ward, J. T. Murray; 
1860, D. E. Reese, J. B. Jones; 1861, D. E. Reese; 1862- 
64, P. L.Wilson; 1865-68, R. S.Norris; 1868-71, D.Wil- 
son; 1871-74, W. S. Hammond; 1874-77, H. C. Gushing; 
1877-81, S. B. Southerland; 1881, March, J. T. Murray, 
present incumbent. 

The present church ediiice was built upon the site 
of the former, and was dedicated August, 1 868, Rev. 
Daniel Wilson being the pastor, when the dedicatory 
sermon was preached by Rev. J. J. Murray, D.D. 

The superintendent of the Sunday-school is Dr. 
Gharles Billingslea. The church trustees are E. 0. 
Grimes, Joshua Yingling, Dr. J. W. Bering; and the 
stewards, Dr. G. Billingslea, R. S. Narment, Isaac 
Baile, Jesse Shreeve, Elias Yingling, Dr. W. H. Rip- 
pard, and M. L. Lantz. 

The church edifice owned and occupied by the 



German Baptists, or Brethren (Dunkers), is situated 
on Bond Street, fronting Belle Park. It was erected 
by the Baptists, assisted by friends of its pastor, Rev. 
Dr. Gole. The congregation was small, and the sale 
of the building became advisable. It was purchased 
by the Brethren, they paying therefor the sum of two 
thousand two hundred dollars. They were materially 
assisted therein by the citizens of Westminster not 
connected with their denomination. The building is 
a handsome brick structure. The congregation is a 
part of that very considerable body known as the 
" Pipe Creek Congregation." Its bishop or elder is 
Solomon Stoner, who resides at Uniontown. The 
associate ministers are William H. Franklin, Ephraim 
W. Stoner, Joel Roop, Amos Caylor, and Uriah 
Bixler. 

The original trustees were Henry Warner, John 
Englar, D. D. Bonsack, Uriah Bixler, and Dr. Lewis 
Woodward. To these, in trust for the use of the 
Brethren, were conveyed the buildings by Rev. Isaac 
Gole, Julia J. Gole, George W. Matthews, Charles L. 
Morgan, Isabella M. Matthews, trustees of the West- 
minster Baptist Ghurch, by deed dated May 9, 1879. 

In November, 1880, a Sunday-school was organized, 
numbering at present about one hundred and fifty 
scholars. Its superintendent is Dr. Lewis Wood- 
ward. 

The Protestant Episcopal Church (Ascension) 
was organized in 1842 by Revs. David Hillhouse 
Buell and G. G. Austin, but Episcopal services had 
been held at various times previously. The corner- 
stone of the church edifice was laid Aug. 27, 1844, 
with appropriate ceremonies, by the Rt. Rev. Bishop 
Whittingham, assisted by other clergymen. It was 
erected on one of the court-house lots. It was built 
of stone, under the superintendence of R. Carey Long, 
an eminent architect of Baltimore. It was conse- 
crated by Bishop Whittingham, May 19, 1846. The 
first record of baptism is that of Fannie C. Shellman, 
now the wife of Isaac E. Pearson, Oct. 16, 1842, by 
Rev. Gharles G. Austin. Its rectors have been : 

1842 or '43 to 1847 or '48, David Hillhouse Buell; 1848-61, 
Samuel Chalmers Davis; 1851-53, Thomas James Wyatt; 
Feb. 26, 1854, to 1857, Oliver Sherman Prescott ; 1857 to 
Sept. 27, 1861, Edward H. C. Goodwin; April 20, 1862, to 
Jan. 20, 1864, James Chrystal ; Jan. 20, 1864, to March 8, 

1870, James W. Reese, A.M.; April 10, 1870, to July 10, 

1871, John H. Converse, A.M.; Aug. 1, 1871, to April 1, 
1875, Julian E. Ingle; Oct. 1, 1875, to Dec. 1, 1879, Isaac 
Lee Nicholson, Jr., A.M.; Jan. 7, 1880, James Stuart 
Smith, B.D. 

The church ofiicers in 1881 were: Wardens, Henry 
Vanderford, Gharles T. Reifsnider; Vestrymen, Dr. 
George Fouke, Hugo E. Fiddis, George Sharer, 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



941 



Chapman Johnson, Dr. Columbus M. Brown. Rev. 

Mr. Smith, the rector, is superintendent of the Sun- 
day-school, and has also a colored congregation in 
connection with his parish. " The Guild oP the Holy 
Child" has been in successful operation for several years. 
The new chapel was begun June, 1876, and com- 
pleted in September of that year, and was opened 
September 29th, on the festival of St. Michael's. The 
new communion plate was procured at Easter, 1876, 
and consecrated in August succeeding. The commo- 
dious parsonage was commenced in October, 1879, 
and completed the ensuing year, and occupied on St. 
Barnabas' day, June 11th. An English ivy covers 
the entire fti^ade of the church, which is a pure 
model of Gothic architecture. In the rear is the 
parish burying-ground, where lie at rest many who 
were prominently connected with the church. An 
interesting tomb in this cemetery is that of Leigh 
Master, the inscription on which is as follows : 

"Legh Master, Esquire, 

Late of New Hall, in 

Lancashire, England. 

Died the 22d day of March, 1796, 

Aged 79 years." * 

In the corner of the yard lies the body of Capt. 
William Murray, who fell in a skirmish at West- 
minster, June 29, 1863, during the civil war, between 
a company of Delaware Federal cavalry and the ad- 
vance-guard of Gen. J. B. B. Stuart's Confederate 
command, where six or seven others were killed. 
The names of all other persons in this cemetery to 
whom stones are erected are here given : 

Betty G. Van Bibber, born May 18, 1816, died Oct. 24, 1853. 

Sally F. Van Bibber, died Sept. 21, 1852, aged 16. 

Isaac Van Bibber, born Jan. 27, 1810, died Sept. 28, 1847. 

Washington Van Bibber, born Feb. 15, 1778, died April 8, 
1848; and Lucretia Van Bibber, died May 10, 1867, aged 80. 

Abraham Van Bibber, died Feb. 12, 1861, aged 39. George 
L. Van Bibber. 

Isaac Van Bibber, Ann Neilson (both on one stone). Marcher, 
son of G. L. and H. C. Van Bibber. Mary Emory, died June 
7, 1874, aged 82. 

Elizabeth S. Perry, born March 31, 1817, died Oct. 7, 1861. 

Jame.s M. Shellman, born in Louisville, 6a., Sept. 8, 1801, 
died Jan. 14, 1851. 

Jacob Reese, born Jan. 31, 1798. died April 19, 1872 j and 
his wife, Eleanor, born Oct. 5, 1798, died Nov. 20, 1871. 

John F. Reese, born Feb. 17, 1808, died April 15, 1859. 

Catherine F., wife of Edwin F. Reese, born Jan. 23, 1834, 
died Sept. 7, 1860; Fannie, her daughter, aged 3 months; and 
Ella, another daughter, died July 11, 1863, aged nearly 5. 

Dr. Elisha D. Payne, born Nov. 11, 1796, died Jan. 19, 1855. 

Gazelle, daughter of Joseph M. and Margaret Newson, died 
July 24, 1872, aged 16. 

Anna Mary, daughter of D. W. and Mary A. Hunter, died 
Sept. 3, 1870, aged 8 months. Samuel Lantz. 

Samuel Butler, of Company C, Thirty-second Regiment, 
V. S. C. T., died April 28, 1868, aged 45 
01 



George Ann Buyer, aged 13. 

Dr. Bernard Mills, died May 19, 1869, aged 38. 

Eliza, wife of Francis Dorsey, born April IR, 1801, died 
March 14, 1865. 

Clara V., daughter of George S. and Mary J. Fouke, died May 
29, 1863, nearly 3 years of age. 

Fannie, daughter of William and Mary A. Moore, aged 1 
year, . 

R. T. D. Rosan, died Feb. 25, 1852, aged 1 year. 

The Centenary Methodist Episcopal church was 
built in 1869. M«thodi,st preaching was held at pri- 
vate dwellings in Westminster as early as 1769, and 
among the local or traveling preachers who held ser- 
vices were Hezekiah Bonham and his son Robert, 
Robert Strawbridge, Paul Hagarty, John Hagarty, 
Robert Walker, and Freeborn Garrettson, who came 
at irregular intervals and preached in this new settle- 
ment. After the building of the " Old Union Meet- 
ing-house" service was occasionally held until 1839, 
when the regular church organization took place. In 
this year was erected the first Methodist Episcopal 
church, a brick structure, on the site of the present 
edifice. In 1865 the parsonage was built. The pres- 
ent church building was begun in April, 1868. Its 
cornerstone was laid in August following, and the 
edifice was completed and occupied in March, 1869. 
It is a Gothic structure, twenty nine feet high in the 
clear on the inside, and is thirty by eighty feet in 
size. It has an audience-room and basement, the 
latter one of the finest in the State outside of Balti- 
more. The building, with its furnishings, cost nearly 
sixteen thousand dollars. It has three organs. Its 
site was formerly owned by John Fisher. When 
erected its pastor was Rev. J. Edwin Amos, who was 
admitted to the Conference in 1859. Since it was 
made a station, in 1869, its pastors, with dates of 
their admission into the Conference, have been : 

1869, John W. Hedges, adm. 1845; 1870-72, C. P. Baldwin, 
adm. 1866; 1872-74, C. H. Richardson, adm. 1869; 1874- 
76, George V. Leech, adm. 1856; 1876-78, E. E. Shipley, 
adm. 1862; 1878-81, J. D. Still, adm. 1859; 1881, John 
Edwards, adm. 1871. 

Its Sunday-school superintendent is H. L. Norris, 
and the assistant is Miss Sue Castle. The number of 
scholars is 100. 

The TTnion National Bank of Westminster (usually 
styled the " Old Bank") was removed in April, 1868, 
from the building it had occupied as a banking insti- 
tution for more than half a century to the fine build- 
ing erected by Dr. Bering in the central part of the 
town, which was fitted up in handsome style with all 
the necessary appurtenances for banking. This is one 
of the oldest institutions in the State. 

The Commercial and Farmers' Bank of Baltimore 



»42 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



established a branch in "Westminster in 1814. At | 
that time the cities on the Chesapeake were threatened 
by the British army. It was located in the building ' 
then owned by Jacob Krouse, where the vaults were 
prepared and the specie and the other funds of the 
Commercial and Farmers' Bank were removed for 
greater security. The branch was under the manage- 
ment of Mr. Thomal, one of the clerks of the parent 
bank. 

As this was intended merely as a temporary ar- 
rangement, after the war was over the branch was 
withdrawn. 

An act of incorporation was obtained for the Bank 
of Westminster in 1816, with a capital of three hun- 
dred thousand dollars. The books of subscription for 
stock were opened in Westminster and Middleburg by 
commissioners, one of whom was Joshua C. Gist. 
The firgt election for directors was held in March, 

1816, when the followin>;-named gentlemen were 
elected, viz. : James McHaffie, John Fisher, Jesse 
Slingluff, Isaac Shriver, Joshua Delaplane, Jacob 
Shriver, John Wampler, Dr. George Colegate, Joshua 
Cockey, and Francis HoUingsworth. Mr. Hollings- 
worth declined serving, when Wm. Durbiu, Sr., was 
chosen. 

At the first meeting of the board, in April, 1816, 
James McHaffie was elected president, and at a sub- 
sequent meeting John Walsh (a clerk in the Union 
Bank of Baltimore) was elected cashier, and John 
Wampler appointed clerk. 

A considerable amount of the stock of the bank 
having been subscribed at " Frederick Town,'.' the ' 
stockholders then asked for a branch, styled the 
" Office of Pay and Receipt," which was granted in 

1817, under control of a board of managers, with the 
venerable Dr. William Tyler at its head. 

This was the origin of what afterwards became 
and is now known as the Farmers" and Mechanics' 
Bank of Frederick County. I 

In 1818, Jesse Slingluff was elected president in 
place of James McHaffie, deceased. 

In 1819 the directors elected were as follows : 
Jesse Slingluff, president ; William Durbin, Ludwick 
Wampler. Henry Kuhn, George Colegate, Benjamin ; 
Rutherford, John C. Cockey, Gideon Bantz, Thomas ' 
Boyer, John Fisher, Joseph Swearingen. 

In 1820, John Wampler was chosen cashier in 
place of Mr. Walsh. 

In 1821, Mr. Slingluff resigned the presidency and 
was succeeded by John C. Cockey ; Mr. Slingluff 
continued as director until his death. 

In 1828, Mr. Cockey died; Joshua Jones acted 
as president pro tern, until April, 1827, when Isaac 



Shriver was elected president, and at the same time 
John Fisher was elected cashier in place of Mr. 
Wampler. 

In 1827 the stockholders at Frederick demanded a 
change, and the Legislature granted their request by 
changing the title from the " Bank of Westminster" 
to that of the " Farmers' and Mechanics' Bank of 
Frederick County," with the parent bank at Frederick 
and the branch at Westminster. Dr. William Tyler 
as president, and William M. Beale as cashier, were 
the officers at Frederick ; and Isaac Shriver as presi- 
dent, and John Fisher as cashier, were continued at 
the branch. 

In 1829 the Frederick stockholders attempted to 
abolish the branch, which was resisted, and finally 
resulted in a separation in 1830 of the two institu- 
tions, the bank here resuming its original title of 
" Bank of Westminster," with a capital of $100,000, 
one-third of the original stock remaining here and 
two-thirds in the Farmers' and Mechanics' Bank of 
Frederick County. 

In 1857, John K. Longwell was elected president 
in place of Isaac Shriver, deceased, who had served 
in that capacity for thirty years. 

In 1863, John Fisher died, after having been 
cashier of the bank for thirty-six years, and having 
served as director or cashier from the creation of the 
bank in 1816 to the period of his death, and was suc- 
ceeded by the election of John C. Frizzell as cashier. 

On April 27, 1865, the bank was robbed, as the 
following account of the same will show : 

" About two o'clock od Thursday evening the cry of fire was 
raised in the town. John Frizzel. the cashier, and the clerk 
were both in the bank at the time. Mr. Frizzel locked the outer 
door of the building, leaving the vault open, and proceeded to the 
scene of the conflagration, which proved to be the barn of Mr. 
Frizzel, which had been set on fire, and which the citizens suc- 
ceeded in extinguishing. On returning to the bank it was dis- 
covered that the front door had been forced, and the institution 
robbed of eleven thousand dollars in greenbacks and ten thou- 
sand dollars in the issues of the bank, consisting of twenty and 
fifty-dollar notes. A large package of ten-dollar notes was 
dropped on the floor of the vault in the hurry of the thieves to 
get away. The whole affair was executed in a few minutes, and 
was remarkably well planned." 

In 1866 the institution was changed from the State 
Bank of Westminster to that of the Union National 
Bank of Westminster, when John J. Baumgartner 
was elected cashier in place of Mr. Frizzell, resigned. 

In 1867, Mr. Baumgartner resigned, and Dr. J. W. 
Hering was elected cashier. 

In 1869 the officers of the bank were as follows : 

Directors. John K. Longwell, president; Jacob Powder, Daniel 

J, Geiman. Abraham Shafer, William Reese, .Tohn Roberta, 

J. Henry Hoppe, Lawrence Zepp, David Roop, David 

Geiman; Cashier, J. W. Hering; Teller, Hugo E. Fiddis. 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



943 



In 1881 the directors were: 

John K. Longwell. iiresklent : Diiniel J. Gieuinn, William 
Reese, David Gieman, Lawrence Zepp, Charles B. Roberts. 
Franc-is H. OrcnJorff. William P. Maulsby. Dr. Frank T. 
Shaw, Dr. .T. Howard Billingslea ; Cashier, Dr. J. W. 
Hering. 

The committee of directors of the Farmers' and 
Mechanics' Banic appointed to secure ;in eligible loca- 
tion for the erection of a banking-hou.se reported, Oct. 
25, 1850, that they had purchased the house and lot 
of ground then in the occupancy of Capt. John Me- 
Collum. This property was situated in the central 
part of the town, and was bought fur S2300. The 
stockholders connected a banking-house with the main 
building, eighteen feet front, and running back thirty 
feet, on the side next to A. W. Dorsey's drug-store. 
This building was erected by Wampler & Evans, 
and completed in January, 1851. In November, 
1850, the president, Jacob Matthias, selected the 
plates for printing notes of the denominations of Is, 
5's, lO's, 20's, and 50's. The third installment of 
five dollars on each share of subscribed stock was 
called for to be paid in by Jan. 4, 1851. 

This bank has from the beginning done a large 
amount of business, and is under judicious man- 
agement. The office of president has been filled 
by Jacob Blatthias, John Smith, Dr. J. L. War- 
field, Joseph Sliaefier, and that of ca.shier by Jacob 
Reese and A. D. Schaeffer. In 1876 the directors 
were William Bachman, Andrew K. Shriver, John 
Babylon, Benjamin W. Bennett, George Schaeffer, 
William A. McKellip. In 1881 they were Joseph 
Schaeffer, Benjamin W. Bennett, George Schaeffer, 
William Bachman, William A. McKellip. 

The First National Bank of Westminster was 
established in 1860, under the new national system 
of banking, and the result of its operations is con- 
sidered a decided success by its stockholders and 
customers. Up to 1881 its officers have been : 
Presidents, Alfred Troxel, Augustus Shriver, Gran- 
ville S. Haines ; Cashiers, William A. Cunning- 
ham, George R. Gehr ; Directors, Joshua Yingling, 
David Englar, William Lawyer, David Cassell, Sam- 
uel McKinstry, Philip H. L. Myers, David J. Roop, 
Henry Baile. 

The Mutual Fire Insurance Company of Carroll 
County was chartered and began business in 1869. 
Its first directors were Augustus Shriver (president), 
Richard Manning (secretary and treasurer), John 
Roberts, Alfred Zollickoffer, Dr. Henry E. Beltz, Ed- 
ward Lynch, Dr. J. W. Hering, Dr. Samuel Swope, 
Granville S. Haines, David Prugh. The directors 
for 1881 were; 



Dr. J. W. Hering (president). Richard Manning (secretary and 
treasurer), Granville S. Haines. Edward Lynch. David 
Fowble, Dr. Samuel Swope, Charles B, Roberts, David 
Prugh, Granville T. Hering, Alfred Zollickoffer. 

The above comprises all who have been directors 
from its organization save Daniel H. Roberts, de- 
ceased. 

The Westminster Savings Institution was or- 
ganized in 1869. In ISTi; iis officers were: 

President. Jesse Reifsnider; Treasurer, B. W. Bennett; Secre- 
tary, J. T. Diffenbaugh ; Directors, Dr. Charles Billings- 
lea. Luther H. Norris. Nathan L Gorsuch, James W. 
Beacham, Ezra S. Stouffer, Charles T, Reifsnider. 

Its officers in 1881 were : 

President, B. W. Bennett-; Secretary, John T. Diffenbaugh; 
Treasurer, Jesse Reifsnider; Directors, H. L. Norris, Dr. 
Charles Billingslea, E. L. Lawyer, E. 0. Grimes. Mordecai 
McKinstry, Charles T. Reifsnider. 

It was incorporated Oct. 4, 1869. Its incorporators 
and first officers were : 

President, Jesst- Reifsnider; Secretary , John T. Diffenbaugh; 
Treasui-L-r. Nathan I. Gorsuch; Directors, Benjamin W. 
Benneit. John Englar, Josephus H. Hoppe. H. L. Norris, 
James W. Beacham, Chas. T. Reifsnider, Wm. L. Bcggs. 

A mass-meeting of the citizens of Westminster 
was held April 27, 1876, to consider the advisability 
of an additional water supply for the municipality. 
An act of Assembly had been passed authorizing the 
levy of a tax for this purpose, coupled with a proviso 
that it should not be levied unless approved by a vote 
of the next city council of the town. The meeting 
was enthusiastically in favor of the improvement. 
Mayor David Fowble presided, and Dr. William H. 
Rippard and W. H. Vanderford acted as secretaries. 
A ticket ignoring politics and in favor of the water- 
works was chosen, as follows: for mayor, P. H. 
Irwin ; for councilmen, Jesse Yingling, Nathan Y. 
Gorsuch, and M. B. Grammer. The ticket was elected 
at the subsequent election, to carry out the necessary 
measures to furnish the city with a supply of pure 
water. 

There was a meeting March 24, 1870, of the 
stockholders of the Westminster Gaslight Company, 
and the following officers were cho.sen to direct the 
affairs of the company: President, John L. Reif- 
snider; Directors, C. Oliver O'Dounell, C. Hart 
Smith, George C. Hicks, Joshua Yingling, Charles 
B. Roberts, and Edward Lynch. Dr. James L. Bil- 
lingslea was chairman of the meeting, and W. A. 
Cunningham, secretary. The progress of the com- 
pany from this time was rapid. The necessary build- 
ings were begun and hurried to completion, and in 
September the city was lighted with gas. The work 
of construction was superintended by R. A. Holmes, 



944 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



of Baltimore. The officers of the company in 1876 
were : President, John L. Reifsnider ; Directors, 
Charles B. Roberts, Edward Lynch, Joshua Ying- 
ling, C. Hart Smith, Georsre C. Hicks, Charles E. 
Savage; Secretary and Treasurer, William A. Cun- 
ningham. 

Joseph M. Parke, one of the most estimable citizens 
of Westminster, and the subject of this sketch, was 
born Feb. 6, 1810, in Sadsbury township, Chester 
Co., Pa., about one mile north of Parkesburg. His 




^. U4^:^r/c 



'^ 



father, George W. Parke, was born Oct. 18, 1780, 
and died Feb. 25, 1860. His mother was Mary, 
daughter of John Fleming, of the neighborhood of 
Coatesville. She died in February, 1817. His ma- 
ternal grandmother was a Slaymaker, of Pequea, 
Lancaster Co., Pa., and his paternal grandfather was 
Joseph Parke, who was born in Chester County, Pa., 
Dec. 21, 1737, and died near Parkesburg, July 2, 
1823. His paternal grandmother was Ann Maxwell, 
of Lancaster County, Pa. His great-grandfather was 
John Parke, who died July 28, 1787, and his great- 
great-grandfather was Arthur Parke, who came to 
this country with his family from Donegal County, 
Ireland, some time prior to 1724, and settled in West 
Fallowfield township, Chester Co., Pa., and died there 
in February, 1740, as stated in Everts' " History of 
Chester County, Pa.," published in July, 1881. The 



Parke family is of the Scotch-Irish Presbyterian 
stock, and went to North Ireland at an early period 
from Scotland or England. Joseph Maxwell Parke 
has several brothers and a sister still surviving, viz. : 
Samuel S., George W., Jr., and Dr. Charles R. 
Parke, all of Blooraington, 111., — the latter a half- 
brother by his father's second marriage, — and Caro- 
line, wife of Evan Jones, now residing near Win- 
chester, Va. In 1823, at the age of thirteen years, 
he left home to attend a classical school started by his 
uncle, Rev. Samuel Parke, a Presbyterian clergyman, 
at Slate Ridge, now the town of Delta, York Co., 
Pa., near the Maryland line. After a few years spent 
in studying the Latin and Greek languages and other 
studies, preparatory to entering college, he was em- 
ployed by his uncle as a teacher in the same academy. 
He had a number of pupils of about his own age, some 
from Harford County, Md., and among them was Dr. 
F. Butler, now of Westminster. In 1829 he left Slate 
Ridge to attend college at Cauonsburg, Washington 
Co., Pa., then in considerable repute, under the man- 
agement of Rev. Matthew Brown, and graduated in 
1831, at the age of twenty-one, in a class of thirty- 
one students. Having his mind fixed on the profes- 
sion of the law, and with a view of assisting himself 
thereto, as well as improving his education, he deter- 
mined to engage for a time in teaching. Seeing an 
advertisement in the Philadelphia Saturday Evening 
Post that a classical teacher was wanted at Man- 
chester (then Baltimore), Carroll Co., he visited that 
place, and became the first principal of Manchester 
Academy, about Dec. 1, 1831. He continued as such 
until 1839, with an intermission of a year. In April, 
1835, he was married to Amanda, second daughter of 
George Motter, of Manchester. They have had a 
large family of children, of whom five survive, viz. : 
Frances H., wife of Edwin K. Gernand, merchant ; 
George Motter Parke, the present deputy register of 
wills ; Mary Letitia, widow of the late Prof J. Mort- 
imer Hurley; Josephine Amanda, wife of J. Edwin 
Taylor, of the Taylor Manufacturing Company ; and 
John Fleming, in the employ of said company, — all 
now of Westminster, Md. 

As we have stated, in 1837 the new county of Car- 
roll was established, and embraced Manchester within 
its limits. Dr. Jacob Shower, of that town, was one of 
the representatives of the new county for the first two 
sessions of 1837 and 1838, and having declined a re- 
election, Mr. Parke was nominated on the Democratic 
ticket, and elected in 1839 to the House of Delegates 
of Maryland. For some years he had devoted his 
spare time to the study of law under the direction of 
the late Charles F. Mayer, of Baltimore, and after the 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



945 



adjournment of the Legislature in the sprina; of 1840 
he was adtuittod to the bar in Baltimore City by the 
Baltimore County Court. In April, 1840, ho removed 
to Westminster, Md., the new county-seat, where he 
has ever since resided. About the same time he pur- 
chased the Democrat and Carroll Counts/ liepiih- 
lican, which had been started at Westminster by Wil- 
liam Shipley in February, 1838, and had been con- 
ducted by him for about six weeks more than two 
years. The editin-i; of that paper, with some practice 
of the law, occupied his attention for about eight 
years, until 1848, when he disposed of his interest in 
it to J. T. H. Bringman, who had purchased a half- 
interest in it two years before. 

During the eight years of his editorial control there 
were three memorable Presidential campaigns: in 
1840, between Harrison and Van Buren ; in 1844, 
between Clay and Polk ; and in 1848, between Tay- 
lor and Cass. Though an ardent politician and de- 
voted to his party, his course was always fair and 
honorable, and commanded the respect of his political 
opponents. With him patriotism was superior to party, 
and there were occasions on which he did not hesitate 
to rise above mere party influences when he conceived 
its objects did not correspond with the public good. 
For many years he strenuously supported the cause of 
reform in Maryland. The present generation has but 
little idea of the difiBculties encountered by Reformers 
in breaking the hold of the minority upon the legis- 
lative power of the State. ■ The constitution was the 
mere creature of the Legislature, and as each county 
had four delegates and the cities of Annapolis and 
Baltimore two each, without regard to size or popula- 
tion, the smaller counties had entire control of the 
government, and the minority was naturally inclined 
to hold to power with a firm grip. After the fright 
caused by the refusal of the " glorious nineteen"' 
senatorial electors to enter the college and elect State 
senators, thus leaving the other twenty-one without a 
constitutional quorum, it was perceived that the State 
was on the verge of a revolution, and the Legislature 
undertook to make the changes of 1836 in the con- 
stitution, conceding the right of the people to elect 
their Governor and State senators by a direct vote, 
and a moderate increase to Baltimore City and the 
larger counties in legislative influence. Still it was 
far from satisfactory, and the Reformers continued to 
press the call of a convention. In the western coun- 
ties, especially in Carroll and Frederick, very many 
Reformers, both of the Democratic and Whig parties, 
perceiving that party feeling tended to defeat reform 
measures, agreed to combine without distinction of 
party, and accordingly, when the call for the conven- 



tion of 1851 was obtained from the Legislature, a 
ticket was made up for the convention and triumph- 
antly elected in Carroll County composed of three 
Democrats — Dr. Jacob Shower, Hon. Elias Brown, and 
Joseph M. Parke — and two Wiiigs, — Mordecai G. 
Cockey and Andrew G. Ege. In Frederick County 
three of each party were elected. In the convention 
Mr. Parke supported the most advanced measures of 
reform, including representation strictly according to 
population and the election of nearly all officers by 
the people. 

John Baumgartner, the first register of wills of 
Carroll County, and the first elected under the consti- 
tution of 1851, died early in 1853, and Mr. Parke was 
appointed by the Orphans' Court to fill that vacancy. 
He held the office from Jan. 31, 1853, until the next 
election in the fall, when he was nominated by his party 
and elected for six years. In 1859 he was re-elected 
and served another term of six years. In 1865 he de- 
clined to be a candidate for that office, because, as he 
conceived, the Union party, with which he had acted 
during the civil war, had become merged into the 
Republican party, and he had supported Gen. Mc- 
Clellan, the Democratic nominee for President in 
1864. In 1866 he purchased the Democratic Advo- 
cate, a newspaper started in November, 1865, by 
William H. Davis in the place of the old Carroll 
County Democrat, destroyed by a mob in April, 1865, 
and by its aid contributed to the success of the Dem- 
ocratic and Conservative party in the county and 
State. Under the constitution adopted by the con- 
vention of 1867, a new election of register of wills 
became necessary, and he was again nominated and 
elected to that office for another term of six years. 
On his election he sold the Democratic Advocate to 
W. H. Davis, who soon afterwards sold it to Henry 
Vanderford and hi.s son, William H. Vanderford. He 
held the office of register of wills for nearly nine- 
teen years, retiring therefrom in December, 1873, 
since which time he has not aspired to political sta- 
tion, but has quietly devoted himself to the practice 
of his profession. In 1860 he was a strenuous sup- 
porter of the late Stephen A. Douglas for the Presi- 
dency, and of the compromises introduced into Con- 
gress to heal the breach between the North and South. 
When the war broke out he adhered to the Northern 
Democracy, and warmly supported the cause of the 
Union, carefully discriminating between the govern- 
ment and the party conducting it ; believing, in fact, 
that the South, by its factious rejection of Senator 
Douglas, one of its truest friends, and its secession 
from the Northern Democrats, had caused Mr. Lin- 
coln's election. 



k 



946 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



When the war was over, Mr. Parke favored the | 
policy of President Andrew Johnson, to restore the 
era of good feeling between the sections, and to ad- 
mit the Southern States at once to their rights in the 
Union. He believed that there were mutual errors, 
and that the North was not so clear of blame as to 
entitle her to demand humiliating terms of the South. 
He has always maintained and expressed an exalted 
idea of the future of our great republic, and of its 
providential mission, and predicts that as soon as the 
sore places caused by the late war shall have been 
healed our entire people will combine to make the 
country what Providence designed it to be, — an illus- 
tration of the ability of the people to govern them- 
selves, allowing the maximum amount of freedom, 
and securing the greatest prosperity to all. 

The Farmers' and Planters' Live-Stock Mutual Aid 
Association of Carroll County was incorporated May 
9, 1881, with the home-office in Westminster, for the 
sole insurance of live-stock. Its officers are Samuel 
Roop, president ; Theodore F. Englar, vice-president ; 
Charles H. Baughman, secretary ; Charies Schaeffer, 
treasurer ; B. F. Crouse, attorney. Board of Trustees, 
Samuel Roop, Theodore F. Englar, Milton Schaeffer, 
Charles H. BaughmaD, Dr. George S. Yingling, 
Charles Schaeffer, B. F. Crouse. 

The State Mutual Benefit Association of Carroll 
County was incorporated in 1879. Its officers are: 
President, Jesse Reifsnider ; Vice-President, Granville 
S. Haines ; Secretary, Dr. George S. Yingling ; Treas- 
urer, George R. Gehr ; Counselor, Charles T. Reif- 
snider ; Medical Director, J. G. Keller, M.D. The 
board of trustees are Jesse Reifsnider, Granville S. 
Haines, Joshua Yingling, Philip H. L. Myers, An- 
drew N. Stephan, George R. Gehr, Charles T. Reif- 
snider, Josiah G. Keller, George S. Yingling, M.D. 

The corner-stone of the engine house of the West- 
minster Fire Department was laid Monday, April 14, 
1879, in the presence of a large number of people. 
Members of Door to Virtue Lodge and George Wa.sh- 
ington Masonic Lodge met at the Odd- F'ellows' Hall, 
and preceded by the Silver Run Band marched to the 
lot opposite the Catholic church, formed a square, 
and at once performed the ceremonies. Dr. William 
H. Rippard, W. M., called the brethren to order. 
Prayer was offered by Rev. J. D. Still, pastor of 
Centenary Methodist Episcopal Church. The Master 
of the lodge, assisted by I. H. Miller, S. W., and Ed- 
ward Ziegler, J. W., then laid the corner-stone, the 
members making the necessary responses. Hon. John 
E. Smith, the orator of the occasion, was absent, 
owing to indisposition. Dr. Rippard, president of the 
fire company, made a statement giving in brief a his- ' 



tory of the fire department, what they had accom- 
plished, and what they had every reason to expect 
from the citizens. The customary box was placed in 
the stone. It contains two copies each of the Demo- 
cratic Advocate and American Sentinel, fractional 
currency, constitution, by-laws, and names of the mem- 
bers of the fire company, letters from Charles T. Hol- 
loway, fire inspector, and from the fire commissioners 
of Baltimore, and an autograph album containing the 
names of the business men of Westminster and others 
to the number of about one hundred and fifty, and 
an account of the " Walking Match." The stone 
was made by A. J. Beaver, marble-cutter, of West- 
minster, and is seven by twelve inches. It has in- 
scribed on it, A.D. 1879. The officers for 1881 were : 

President. Dr. William H. Rippard ; First Vice-President, Chas. 
V. Mantz; Second Vice-President. E. .T. Lawyer; Secre- 
tary and Treasurer, Denton S. Gehr; Assistant Secretary 
and Treasurer, Franii W. Shriver; Chief Foreman, Frank 
K. Herr ; Assistant Chief Foreman, J. C. Mobley ; Foreman 
of Truck, "Wm. H. Shaeffer; Assistant Foreman of Truck, 
A. M. Warner: Foreman of Engine, J. Frank Brinker- 
hoff; Assistant Foreman of Engine. Edward L. Smith ; 
Marshal. John H. Mitten ; Librarian. AV. L. Seabrook ; 
Janitor, Charles Hill. 

At a very early date in the history of Carroll 
County a decided interest was manifested in the or- 
ganization and development of branches of the noted 
secret societies for the encouragement of brotherhood 
and benevolence among the people, and especially was 
this noticeable among the Masons, and doubtless much 
of the vigorous growth of sound principles and reci- 
procity of feelings and sentiments which characterize 
the people of that county in a marked degree are dueJ 
to the benign influences of these orders. 

Door to Virtue Lodge, No. 46, of Ancient Free 
and Accepted Masons, was chartered Nov. 4, 1811,1 
to hold its meetings at Pipe Creek, where it had held 
its first meeting on Sunday, June 23, 1811, under i 
dispensation from the Most Worshipful the Grandl 
Master of Maryland. Its last meeting at Pipe Creekl 
was held Sept. 25, 1813, when it was removed toj 
Uniontown, where, Nov. 7, 1813, the first meeting at'^ 
that place was held. The question of the removal of 
the lodge from Uniontown to Westminster had occu- 
pied the attention of the brethren for several months,! 
and it was finally resolved, on the 11th of July,] 
1824, "that Door to Virtue Lodge, No. 46, be re-j 
moved, so that the lodge may be opened and held atj 
Westminster on the fourth Sunday in this month (the 
25th inst.), at ten o'clock a.m., and thereafter for-^ 
ever." A committee, previously appointed (June 20th) 
for that purpose, had entered into an agreement with 
Jacob Pouder, whereby the use of suitable rooms in 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



947 



his house was obtained for the meetings of the lodge 
at the rent of thirty dollars per annum. The first 
communication of the lodge at Westminster was ac- 
cordingly held on the 25th of July, 1824, and the 
record shows it to have been a very busy one indeed. 
First the honorary degree of Past Master was con- 
ferred upon Jacob Pouder and John C. Cockey, the 
latter of whom was then duly installed senior warden, 
after which John Gilbert and Joseph Arthur were 
raised to the degree of Master Mason. Petitions 
for initiation also were received from George War- 
ner and Henry Geatty. The ofiBcers from Decem- 
ber, 1824, to December, 1825, were John C. Cockey, 
W. M. ; Benjamin Yingling, S. W. ; Jacob Pouder, 
J. W.; W. H. McCannon, Sec; and M. Barnitz, 
Treas. On the 19th June, 1825, a resolution was 
adopted, changing the time of meeting to the third 
Saturday of each month " at early candlelight." 
The officers for December, 1825, to June, 1826, 
were J. C. Cockey, W. M. ; B. Yingling, S. W. ; 
Joshua Sundergill, J. W. ; A. Mcllhenny, Sec. ; 
and Jacob Pouder, Treas. For the term ending De- 
cember, 1826, no election appears to have been held, 
but on the 19th of November the following officers 
were selected to serve from St. John the Evangelist's 
day until June, 1827, viz. : J. C. Cockey, W. M.; 
Dr. William ZoUickoffer, S. W. ; J. Sundergill, J. W. ; 
A. Mcllhenny, Sec. ; and J. Pouder, Treas. Mr. 
Cockey died, however, before the new term began, 
and his funeral, Dec. 12, 1826, was long remembered, 
not only for the unusually imposing Masonic solem- 
nities with which it was attended, but also for the 
expressions of respectful sorrow which it elicited from 
the entire community. At the election held June 17, 
1827, the officers chosen were Dr. William ZoUic- 
koffer, W. M. ; J. Sundergill, S. W. ; John S. Mur- 
ray, J. W. ; Dr. James Fisher, Sec. ; and .Joseph 
Arthur, Treas. The lodge, however, seems at this 
time to have lost much of its original vigor, and to 
have succumbed to adverse influences, many of which 
are to-day merely conjectural. 

Prominent among them was doubtless the anti- 
Masonic excitement growing out of the alleged abduc- 
tion of William Morgan, of Batavia, N. Y., in the au- 
tumn of 1826, for his alleged exposure of the secrets 
of the craft, and the organization in the following year 
of a political party avowedly hostile to Freemasonry. 
At all events, at the meeting held Oct. 21, 1827, it was 
resolved, " that Brothers Pouder and Murray settle 
and close the account of rent for the lodge," and the 
record of that date closes as follows : " No further 
business appearing to claim the attention of this lodge, 
it was, in accordance with a previous resolution, in 



harmony and love, closed forever. Signed, Jamea 
Fisher, Sec." 

Door to Virtue Lodge, it will be remembered, 
started with nine original or charter members, and 
held its first meeting on the 23d of June, 1811. In 
the course of the sixteen years and four months from 
that date till the surrender of its charter on the 21st 
of October, 1827, the number initiated was ninety- 
four, passed eighty, raised seventy-two, affiliated ten, 
while the honorary degree of Past Master was con- 
ferred upon forty-three members. 

For more than thirty-eight years Door to Virtue's 
surrendered charter reposed in the archives of the 
Grand Lodge, and it seemed as if the old entry in 
the record was true, and that the lodge was in reality 
closed forever. But it was not so. As the result of 
a petition presented to the Grand Lodge at the No- 
vember communication, 1865, and signed by twenty- 
five Master Masons, among whota were a due num- 
ber of the old members of the lodge, the original 
charter was restored by Grand Master John Coates, 
Jan, 29, 1866, to Hon. John E. Smith as W. M., 
Rev. James W. Reese, S. W., and William H. H. 
Geatty as J. W., on behalf of the petitioners. The 
first meeting under the restored charter was held in 
Odd-Fellows' Hall, in the city of W^estminster, on 
Tuesday evening, Feb. 6, 1866, when the officers 
just named, as well as A. D. Schaeffer and William A. 
McKellip, who had been elected respectively secre- 
tary and treasurer, were duly installed by Daniel 
A. Piper, P. M., Concordia, No. 13, Grand Tyler, 
proxy for the M. W. Grand Master; Bro. E. T. 
Shultz, W. M., Concordia, No. 13, and Grand Inspec- 
tor for Baltimore City, as Senior Grand Warden ; 
Bro. William D. Jones, P. M., Warren, No. 51, as 
Junior Grand Warden ; John Van Tromp, W. M., 
Mystic Circle, No. 109, and Grand Inspector for Bal- 
timore City, as Senior Grand Deacon ; and David 
Martin, of Concordia, No. 13, as Junior Grand Dea- 
I con. On this occasion five petitions for initiation 
I were received, and the first degree was conferred on 
William Hammett, Jr. Thus happily resuscitated. 
Door to Virtue Lodge became at once the centre of a 
vigorous and healthy Masonic activity, and applica- 
tions from the best citizens were so numerous that 
for several years weekly communications were neces- 
sary in order to keep abreast of the " work'' which 
i came crowding in on the busy craft. On the 7th of 
I April the lodge accompanied to the grave the re- 
mains of their veteran brother, Henry Geatty, who 
j was "entered" Aug. 8, 1824, "passed" September 
26th, and raised Jan. 9, 1825, and who died April 5, 
1866, aged seventy-three years. 



948 



IIISTOKY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



The oflScers from June to December, 1866, were 
Rev. James W. Reese, W. M. ; William H. H. 
Geatty, S. W. ; William A. McKellip, J. W. ; A. 
D. Schaeffer, Sec. ; and William A. Cunningham, 
Treas. 

On the afternoon of September 6th the Master, 
assisted by his wardens, and surrounded by seventy- 
five of the brethren, laid the corner-stone of " West- 
ern Maryland College." 

On Tuesday, November 20th, the lodge formed part 
of the immense procession which celebrated the lay- 
ing of the coroer-stone of the new Masonic Tem- 
ple in the city of Baltimore. From December, 1866, 
to June, 1867, the oiBcers were James W. Reese, 
W. M. ; Wm. A. McKellip, S. W. ; A. D. Schaeffer, 
J. W. ; B. K. Gernand, Sec. ; and W. A. Cunning- 
ham, Treas. The festival of St. John the Evange- 
list, Dec. 27, 1866, was appropriately observed by a 
banquet, a reunion of all the Masons of the county, 
and an oration by the Worshipful Master. On the 6th 
of June, 1867, the " Committee of Southern Relief" 
reported that they had collected and forwarded to the 
Masonic authorities of Georgia the sum of one hundred 
dollars, " to relieve the distress of our suffering breth- 
ren -in that State." The ofiBcers from June to Decem- 
ber, 1867, were J. W. Reese, W. M.; A. D. Schaeffer, 
S.W. ; J. E. Pierson, Jr., J. W. ; Joseph A. McKellip, 
Sec. ; and W. A. Cunningham, Treas. The lodge, Au- 
gust 22d, participated in a most enjoyable picnic, given 
by Freedom Lodge, No. 112, during which, at the 
request of the latter, the Master of Door to Virtue 
delivered an oration on the " characteristics of Free- 
masonry." From December, 1867, to June, 1868, 
the ofBcers were J. W. Reese, W. M. ; J. E. Pier- 
son, Jr., S. W. ; Michael W. Sullivan, J. W. ; Henry 
B. Grammer, Sec. ; and W. A. Cunningham, Treas. 
On Wednesday, Feb. 26, 1868, the remains of Jacob 
D. Hoppe, an esteemed brother, ex-sheriff of the 
county, were consigned to the earth with Masonic 
ceremonies. On the occasion of the marriage of 
Worshipful Master Reese to Miss Mary Pauline 
Perry, of Westminster, on the 12th of February, 
the members of the lodge had prepared a beautiful 
present for him, consisting of an ice-pitcher, a pair 
of goblets, and a waiter, all of silver and suitably in- 
scribed. On the evening of the 27th, says the record, 
" the Tyler was sent to summon the Master, who was 
unavoidably absent. The Worshipful Master, on his 
entrance into the lodge, was received with the grand 
honors, and was at once presented by P. M. John E. 
Smith, in the name of the lodge, with the gift above- 
named. The Worshipful Master, as well as his sur- 
prise would permit, responded with much feeling and 



cordial thanks." On the 6th of May a special com- 
munication was held at Union Bridge for the purpose 
of laying the corner-stone of the Methodist Episcopal 
church at that place. The oflScers from June to De- 
cember, 1868, were J. W. Reese, W. M. ; C. N. Kuhn, 
S. W. ; David H. Zepp, J. W. ; H. B. Grammer, Sec. ; 
and Michael Baughman, Treas. * From December, 
1868, to June, 1869, J. W. Reese, W. M., J. W. ; S. A. 
Leister, Sec. ; and W. A. Cunningham, Treas. The 
festival of the nativity of St. John the Baptist, June 
24, 1870, was observed in the afternoon by a proces- 
sion and the solemn consecration of the burial lot be- 
longing to the lodge in the Westminster Cemetery, 
and, at night, by the public installation of officers and 
an eloquent address by P. M. John E. Smith on the 
principles and tenets of Freemasonry. From June 
to December, 1871, the oflBcers were J. W. Reese, 
W. M. ; Wm. Coon, S. W. ; S. A. Leister, J. W. ; 
Wm. Moore, Sec. ; and W. A. Cunningham, Treas., 
who were publicly installed June 22d, in the presence 
of a large assembly, including many ladies. The music, 
which was of a high order, was furnished by a volun- 
teer choir and by the " Amphions," and the address, 
owing to the absence of Grand Master John H. B. 
Latrobe, who had been invited and expected to per- 
form that duty, was delivered by the Worshipful 
Master of the lodge. 

At a special meeting held October 14th the sum 
of eighty-five dollars was contributed by the members 
present for the relief of sufferers by the great fire at 
Chicago. 

The officers from December, 1871, to June, 1872, 
were J. W. Reese, W. M. ; S. A. Leister, S. W. ; 
A. D. Schaeffer, J. W. ; Wm. Moore, Sec. ; and W. 
A. Cunningham, Treas.; C. N. Kuhn, S. W. ; 
George Leas, J. W. ; Wm. A. McKellip, Sec. ; and 
M. Baughman, Treas. The festival of St. John the 
Evangelist, December 27th, falling on Sunday ia j 
1868, the lodge observed the day by proceeding in al 
body to Ascension (Protestant Episcopal) church, ofj 
which the W. M. was a rector, where they particle 
pated in divine service and listened to a sermon on I 
the life and character of " that beloved Disciple." 

On the 18th of February, 1869, by a unanimous! 
vote, the lodge gave its recommendation to a petitioal 
of a number of Baltimore County brethren to the>l 
Grand Master for a dispensation to open the lodge-j 
at Reisterstown, now so well and favorably known as I 
Ionic, No. 145. June 8th was devoted by the lodge 
to the laying of the corner-stone of the Centenary] 
(M. E.) church in Westminster. From June to 
December, 1869, the officers were J. W. Reese, W.J 
M. ; George Leas, S. W. ; William Coon, J. W. 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



949 



Francis D. Sanford, Sec. ; and W. A. Cunninjiham, 
Treas. On September 27th the funeral of Michael W. 
Sullivan, a faithful and zealous brother, took place. 

The oflScers from December, 1869, to June, 1870, 
were J. W. Reese, W. M. ; George Leas, S. W. ; 
William Coon, J. W. ; S. A. Leister, Sec. ; and W. A. 
Cunningham, Treas. From June, 1870, to June, 
1871, J. W. Reese, W. M.; William xMoore, S. W. ; 
William Coon. 

On Sunday, April 14, 1872, Dr. Lewis Kellcy was 
buried with the honors usually paid by the fraternity 
to the memory of a deceased brother. 

The oflBcers from June to December, 1872, were 
J. W. Reese, W. M. ; S. A. Leister, S. W. ; L. F. 
Beyers, J. W. ; William Moore, Sec. ; W. A.Cun- 
ningham, Treas. 

On the 3d of October the lodge received and ac- 
cepted an invitation from Friendsliip Lodge, No. 84, 
Hagerstown, to participate in the laying of the corner- 
stone of the new court-house in that city. 

From December, 1872, to Juno, 1873, the oiEcers 
were J. W. Reese, W. M. ; S. A. Leister, S. W. ; 
F. D. Sanford, J. W. ; William Moore, Sec. ; and 
W. A. Cunningham, Treas. 

At a special communication, June 18th, on the eve 
of the departure of the Master lor Europe, the mem- 
bers of the lodge presented to him, through Brother 
John E. Smith, an envelope containing one hundred 
dollars, " as a tribute of love and respect." An 
elegant repast then followed, attended by toasts and 
speeches, and many expressions of good wishes for a 
happy termination to the European tour on which the 
Worthy Master and Brother William A. McKellip 
were to sail on the 21st. 

The oflBcers from June to December, 1873, were 
J. W. Reese, W. M. ; W. A. Cunningham, S. W. ; 
George R. Gehr, J. W. ; William Moore, Sec. ; and 
James Rippard, Treas. From December, 1873, to 
December, 1874, J. W. Reese, W. M. ; George R. 
Gehr, S. W. ; Wm. 0. Liggett, J. W. ; William Moore, 
Sec. ; and James Rippard, Treas. On St. John's (the 
Baptist) day, June 24, 1874, the officers-elect were 
installed by Jacob H. Medairy, R. W. G. S. of the 
Grand Lodge of Maryland, after which a banquet was 
served in the Town-Hall, all the lodges of the county 
being present as guests. On September 2d the Mas- 
ter, assisted by the wardens and brethren, laid the 
corner-stone of the Baptist church in Westminster. 

From December, 1874, to December, 1876, the 
oflScers were J. W. Reese, W. M. ; G. R. Gehr, 
S. W. ; E. J. Lawyer, J. W. ; William Moore, Sec. ; 
and James Rippard, Treas. On Jan. 4, 1876, the 
lodge consigned to the tomb with Masonic honors 



the body of Brother Michael Baughman, ex-treasurer, 
and on the 26th of the following month a special 
communication was held at New Windsor for the pur- 
pose of performing the same .sad service for Brother 
Washington W. Naill. 

At the meeting of Dec. 21, 1876, J. W. Reese, 
after expressing his high appreciation of the honor 
so repeatedly conferred upon him, respectfully but 
positively declined to be a candidate f(jr re-election to 
the office of Worshipful Master. From that date to 
December, 1877, the officers were George R. Gehr, 
W. M. ; E. J. Lawyer, S. W. ; Dr. W. H. Rippard, 
J. W. ; William Moore, Sec. ; and James Rippard, 
Treas. At a special communication, Jan. 11, 1877, 
Past Master Rev. James W. Reese was presented 
by his successor. Worshipful Master George R. Gehr, 
on behalf of the members of the lodge, with a beau- 
tiful Past Master's jewel as a slight token of their ap- 
preciation of his continuous and valuable services as 
Master from June 21, 1866, to Dec. 21, 1876. 

On Nov. 26, 1877, Brother James Lippard, the 
treasurer of the lodge, was buried with the customary 
Masonic solemnities. The officers from December, 
1877, to June, 1878, were George R. Gehr, W. M. ; 
E. J. Lawyer, S. W. ; W. H. Rippard, J. W. ; Wil- 
liam Moore, Sec. ; and J. W. Reese, Treas. From 
June to December, 1878, George R. Gehr, W. M. ; 
W. H. Rippard, S. W. ; 1. A. Miller, J. W. ; Wil- 
liam Moore, Sec. ; and J. W. Reese, Treas. 

Aug. 23, 1878, a venerable brother, Joseph Hesson, 
was buried by the lodge. From December, 1878, to 
June, 1880, the officers were Dr. William H. Rip- 
pard, W. M. ; I. Amos Miller, S. W. ; H. E. Ziegler, 
J. W. ; William Moore, Sec. ; and J. W. Reese, Treas. 

On April 17, 1879, Worshipful Master Dr. William 
H. Rippard officiated at the laying of the corner- 
stone of the new engine-house belonging to the West- 
minster Fire Department ; and on December 26th 
following he read the solemn Masonic burial service 
for the burial of the dead at the grave of Brother 
Jeremiah Robertson. 

Door to Virtue Lodge held its first meeting under 
the restored charter Feb. 6, 1866, with twenty-four 
members on its roll. From that date to June 1, 
1880, fourteen were admitted to membership by affil- 
iation, eighty-two candidates were initiated, seventy- 
two " passed" to the degree of Fellow Craft, and 
seventy-one "raised" to the degree of Master Mason; 
the number of deaths were eighteen, and of appli- 
cants rejected, eighteen. The lodge now (July, 
1881) has on its register: Master Masons, sixty. 
From June to December, 1880, its officers were Dr. 
W. H. Rippard, W. M. ; J. A. Miller, S. W. ; George 



950 



HISTORY OP WESTERN MARYLAND. 



Lease, J. W. ; William Moore, Sec. ; E. J. Lawyer, 
S. D. ; C. V. Wantz, J. D. From January to July, 

1881, the officers were Dr. W. H. Rippard, W. M. ; 
J. A. Miller, S. W. ; George Lease, J. W. ; William 
Moore, Sec. ; J. W. Reese, Treas. ; E. J. Lawyer, 
S. D. ; C. V. Wantz, J. D. From July to January, 

1882, the officers were J. Amos Miller, W. M. ; 
George Lease, S. W. ; E J. Lawyer, J. W. ; William 
Moore, Sec. ; J. W. Reese, Treas. Of those members 
of the lodge when its charter was surrendered in 1827, 
Dr. James Fisher was the last survivor, and he died 
at Springfield, Mo., in the spring of 1881. 

George Washington Lodge, No. 94, A. F. and 
A. M,, was instituted some thirty years ago, but is 
not now in working order. From 1866 to 1881, 
Dr. Winfield K. Fringer was Worshipful Master, and 
J. W. Perkins was the last secretary. 

The Independent Order of Odd-Fellows, a much 
younger association, has in many instances made up , 
in zeal and works for the lack of antiquity. The 1 
attention of the ordei' was directed to Carroll County 
soon after its formation, and some of its most active 
and flourishing branches are to be found there. 

Salem Lodge, No. 60, I. 0. 0. F., was instituted 
in May, 1848, by a charter bearing date of May 12th 
of that year, and signed by E. P. Holden, M. W. 
Grand Master; N. T. Durbin, R. W. Deputy Master ; 
G. D. Tewsbury, R. W. G. Sec.; Wm. Bayley, 
R. W. G. Treas. ; and W. Fitzsimmons, Grand 
Warden. The charter members were C. W. Web- 
ster, Richard Manning, C. A. Smeltzer, Charles A. 
Poole, John W. Durbin, J. Q. Baugher, Joshua 
Yingling, D. Mitten. Its first officers were: N. G., 
J. L. Baugher ; V. G., Joshua Yingling ; Sec, J. W. 
Durbin ; Treas., Richard Manning. In the first term 
of 1849, C. W. Webster was N. G. ; William Wolf, 
V. G. ; and George E. Wampler, Sec. The officers 
for the second term of 1849 were: N. G., William 
Wolf; V. G., John Matthias; Sec, George E. 
Wampler; Treas., Richard Manning; Per. Sec, 
Joseph Shaeffer. Its fine liall was dedicated on the 
second Thursday of November, 1858, the interesting 
ceremonies being performed by Hon. Joshua Van- 
sant. Grand MasJ;er of the Grand Lodge of Maryland. 
William H. Young, Esq., Deputy Grand Master, 
delivered the address on the occasion. 

The officers for the second term of 1881 were : 

N. G., Samuel Hughes; V. G., W. L. Brown; Rec. Sec, H. 
L. Norris (for 14 years) ; Per. Sec. E. K. Gernand ; Treas., 
F. A. Sharer; Marshal. John Bernstine; R. S. to N. G., 
F. C. Sharer; L. S. to N. G., John J.Reese; Warden, John 
Bernstine ; Conductor, W. H. Rippard ; R. ,«. to V. G., S. 
P. Everhart; L. S. to V. G., S. B. Fowler ; R. S. S., W. J. 



Beaver; h. S. S.. A. F. Fowler; 0. G.. E. L. Zabn ; I. G., 
Geo. A. Zahn. 

Number of members, 145 ; value of real estate, 
$10,000. 

The charter of Columbia Encampment, No. 14, 
was granted Dec. 6, 1850, and signed by James P. 
Merritt, Grand Patriarch. The charter members 
were D. Evans Reese, J. L. Baugher, James Brews- 
ter, William Shreev, Joshua Yingling, John Matthias, 
Joseph Shaeffer, Levi Shreev. 

The officers for 1881 were : 

C. P., George P. Albaugh ; H. P.. H. L. Norris ; S. W., Lewis A. 
Koontz; J. W., Ch.xrles H. Henneman ; Sec, Joshua Ying- 
ling ; Treas., H. B. Grammer; Trustees, H. L. Norris, 
John Bernstein, G. P. Albaugh. 

The Independent Order of Red Men appears to 
have been a favorite association with the inhabitants 
of Carroll, as some of its lodges were instituted in 
the county at an early period, and have steadily 
grown in strength and influence. 

Conowaga Tribe, No. 71, I. 0. R. M., was insti- 
tuted in Westminster, Jan. 11, 1881, with twenty- 
four members. 

The officers are : 

P., Milton Schaeffer ; S., Charles H. Baughraan ; S. S., B. F. 
Crouse ; J. S., James Humphreys ; C. of R., F. W. Shrh-er ; 
Ass't to C, George Batson ; K. of W.. J. Frank Brinker- 
hoff; Sannaps, F. S. Wright, John Keene; Warriors, Jacob 
Thomson, John A. Little, John Warner, Henry Harman ; 
Braves, 0. D. Gilbert, Milton Senpt, John Mitten, John 
Cassell; G. of W.. J. B. Barnes; G. of F.. James Sheets; 
Rep. to Grand Council. Milton Schaeffer. 

The tribe meets every Tuesday night in I. 0. 0. F. 
Hall. 

The dispensation for organizing Charity Lodge, No, 
58, Knights of Pythias, was granted June 14, 1870, by 
Samuel Read, Supreme Chancellor, and J. M. Barton, 
Supreme Secretary and Corresponding Scribe. Thai 
charter members were John W. Yingling, J. Wesley 
Perkins, William Moore, Jacob Leister, J. M. Welter, ] 
John T. Oursler, Chirles J. Yingling, Edward L, 
Bachman, Francis K. Herr, Michael Baughman. Its] 
regular charter was dated Nov. 14, 1871, and signed j 
by M. A. Steiner, V. G. P.; M. Schmidt, G. B. j 
G. N. Dickinson, G. C. ; John P. Hudson, G. G. ; 
J. F. Lewis, V. G. C. ; Robert SuUapsey, G. L S. ; 
O. H, Vaughan, G. 0. S ; Thomas S. Upperci, G. R. S. j 

The lodge officers for 1881 were: 

C. C, John H, Keene ; V. C, Milton Schaeffer ; Prel., R. C. I 
Matthews; K. of R.. Clinton S. Spurrier; M. of F., John 
G. Shank; M. of E., Edwin J. Lawyer: M. at A., Jesse j 
Mitten; Trustees, E. J. Lawyer. John H. Hilton, John F. 
Shade, J. Wesley Pool. .John M. Black ; Representative to 1 
Grand Lodge, J. H. Mitten. Number of members, 65. 



CARROLL COUNTY 



951 



The ofiBcers of the lodge of Independent Order of 
Mechanics were in 1881 : 

W. M., Milton Shaeffer ; J. M., James Humphreys : F. S., George 
Batson ; R. S.. C. H. Baughman ; Chaplain, Benj. Frank- 
lin ; Treas.. Joseph Hunter; Conductor. Wm. J. Sheets; 
0. S., Fletcher A. Baile ; I. S., Jesse Mitten; R. 6. to 
W. M., F. A. Knight; L. G. to W. M., Harry Harman ; 
R. 6. to J. M., Philip Hunter ; L. Q. to J. M.. Curtis A. 
Brown ; Representative to Grand Lodge. Abraham Long. 

J. Henry Hoppe was born near Bowers' church, 
now called Bachmau's, in Bachman's Valley, Feb. 17. 
1801. His father was Ferdinand Frederick Hoppe, 
and was born in Stuttgart, Germany. His mother 
was Catharine Snouffer, of Frederick County. Mr. 
Hoppe received a common-school education, after 
which he taught school for five years, studying sur- 
veying in the meanwhile, in which he became very 
proficient. On attaining his majority he united with 
the Democratic party, and always remained a stanch 
follower of " Old Hickory." 

In 1825 he was appointed a magistrate, and, with 
the exception of a few years, he held the position 
until twelve months before his death. He became so 
thoroughly versed in testamentary law that he was 
frequently appointed to settle the estates of deceased 
persons, several of which were very large. In 1842 
he was elected sheriff of this county, at which time 
there were fifteen candidates in the field. He re- 
ceived one hundred and forty-six votes more than 
Lewis Trumbo, Whig, who was the next highest. 
The incidents of that campaign he was fond of re- 
peating. 

Mr. Hoppe was a charter member of the Western 
Maryland Railroad, was elected secretary and treas- 
urer, and was also a director in the road. He was 
for a number of years director of the Union National 
Bank of Westminster, and was also a charter member 
of George Washington Lodge, A. F. A. M., of that 
city. He was elected county surveyor for four con- 
secutive terms. Mr. Hoppe always resided in Carroll 
County, though the place of his birth was then in 
Baltimore County. In 1829 he was united in mar- 
riage to Rachel Myerly, daughter of Jacob Myerly 
and Eve Bi.shop. They had only one child, Jose- 
phus H., who died Dec. 27, 1877. Squire Hoppe 
was a member of the Lutheran Church for over sixty 
years. No man in Carroll County was more generally 
or more favorably known. He died Jan. 5, 1881, after 
an active and busy career of nearly eighty years. 

Carroll Division, No. 42, of the Sons of Temperance, 
was instituted Feb. 12, 1847, and has been in con- 
tinuous and successful operation to the present time. 
Its charter was signed by the State grand officers, Wil- 
liam Young, Grand Worthy Patriarch, and W. H. 



Gt)bright, Grand Scribe. Its charter members were 
Isaac Shriver, Thomas W. Durbin, Rev. Theodore 
Gallandet, Joshua Sundergill, Horatio Price, John 
Malchorn, Francis Shriver, William Zepp, Alfred 
Troxel, John Miller, James Keefer, Emanuel L. 
Kuns, Henry H. Wamplcr. It first met at Isaac 
Shriver's residence, and afterwards held its meetings 
over the Sentinel office, and later over Joshua Ying- 
ling's East End store. Since 1852 the society has 
met in its own elegant hall, completed in that year. 
Its officers for 1881 were : 

W. p., F. K. Herr; W. A., George Lease; R. S.. H. L. Norris 
(held thi.s office for twenty-six years) ; A. R. S., C. H. 
Baughman ; F. S.. Dr. Charles Billingslea ; Treas.. Jesse 
F. Shreev; C, J. W. Pool; A. C, Thomas Bankert; I. S., 
George Arbaugh; 0. S., George Litsinger. 

Its motto is " Love, Purity, and fidelity," which 
are the respective names of its three degrees, subse- 
quently founded on this motto, adopted in 1847. It 
is a beneficiary association, and pays sixty dollars to 
the family of each deceased member. It also pays 
sick benefits of three and a half or four dollars per 
week. Its membership is forty-five. The corner- 
stone of the hall was laid July 4, 1850, and it was 
built by L. Evans and H. H. Wampler, at a cost of 
two thousand dollars. 

The Taylor Manufacturing Company, of West- 
minster. — The property of a city is aptly illustrated 
by the number of its public buildings and its man- 
ufacturing establishments. " The Union Agricul- 
tural Works" of Westminster were opened in the 
summer of 1852, and were carried on under the 
management of William H. Hannan & Co. The 
buildings, which had been from time to time enlarged 
and improved, consisted of a large two-story machine- 
shop, moulding-shop, blacksmith's shop, saw-mill, and 
sheds. They occupied nearly an acre and a half of 
ground. Their new mould-shop, which was finished 
in 1868, was one hundred feet long by fifty wide, and 
gave employment to fourteen hands. The machine- 
shop employed five iron and ten wood workers, and 
the blacksmith's shop and saw-mill four ; a total force 
of thirty-three. These works turn out every season 
about three hundred plows, three hundred spring- 
tooth rakes, and sixty horse-powers, besides numerous 
other agricultural machines in less numbers. In 1872, 
in its place, was formed " The Taylor Manufacturing 
Company of Westminster," by J. A. Taylor, who was 
then president of the company. It was an incorpor- 
ated company, composed of J. A. Taylor, G. A. Tay- 
lor, Edward Lynch, David Fowble, and 0. B. Baile. 
It was a repair foundry, and manufactured agricul- 
tural implements. 



t 



952 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



In January, 1879, it was reorganized under the 
name of " The Taylor Manufacturing Coropany of 
Westminster, Md." It is still a stock company, dis- 
tributed among a few stockholders, with a capital stock 
paid in of twenty-five thousand dollars. Its members 
are 

J. A. Tuylor, president; G. A. Taylor, secretary and treasurer; 
R. N. Beck, superintendent; Directors, Michael Shaw, 
York, Pa.; Thomas F. Shephard, Union Bridge; and W. 
N. Wise, Baltimore. 

It is largely engaged in the manufacture of engines 
and other machinery, and employs one hundred and 
fifty hands. 

The people of Westminster have from the creation 
of the county manifested an enterprising disposition 
and a desire to keep abreast of the great practical dis- 
coveries of the century. The question of railroad 
transportation engaged the attention of the inhabi- 
tants at an early date, and the extraordinary advan- 
tages to accrue to the county by rail and steam com- 
munication were thoroughly appreciated. 

The citizens of Carroll County convened at the 
court-house, April 7, 1847, to take into consideration 
the propriety of extending the Westminster Branch 
Railroad through Carroll County. Mr. Evan Mc- 
Kinstry was called to the chair, assisted by Mr. Isaac 
SlinglufF, and John Switzer and William Reese as 
secretaries. Col. James M. Shellman stated the ob- 
ject of the meeting, and introduced G. Gordon Belt, 
Esq., of Baltimore, who addressed the meeting in 
favor of the contemplated road. Cols. Shellman and 
James C. Atlee offered resolutions which were adopted, 
that a committee of ten be appointed to correspond 
with the president and directors of the Baltimore and 
Susquehanna Railroad, and urge upon them the neces- 
sity of early action under the act of 1845, so that 
the speedy building of the proposed road would follow. 

The committee selected were James C. Atlee, Wil- 
liam C. Roberts, Samuel McKinstry, John Clemson, 
Isaac Slingluff, William N. Hayden, David W. Naille, 
Augustus Shriver, John K. Longwell, John B. Boyle, 
and John McCollum. 

A town-meeting was held at Westminster on the 
16th of November, 1850, for the purpose of devising 
ways and means for connecting the Baltimore and 
Susquehanna Railroad with some point in the interior 
of Carroll County. The meeting was addressed at 
some length by R. M. Magraw, Esq., president of 
that road, upon the advantages that might be expected 
to be derived from the road. He was followed by 
Mr. Taggart and Dr. Cole. A series of resolutions 
were adopted, one of which appointed an executive 
committee of nine persons, whose duty it was to collect 



information in regard to the best probable route and 
cost of construction of said road, together with the 
amount of revenue likely to accrue therefrom, which 
information was to be submitted to an adjourned 
meeting to be held in Westminster on December 2d. 
There were two projects entertained, — one to continue 
the road from Owings' Mills, and extend it into the 
county, instead of stopping at Westminster, and the 
other was to branch off at Cockeysville by way of 
Reisterstown to Westminster. 

On December 2d a large and enthusiastic meeting 
was held to further consider the project of building 
the proposed railroad. Mr. Magraw was again present 
and furnished abundant facts to prove the importance 
of the road, which he estimated would not cost more 
than two hundred and ten thousand dollars, pledging 
himself as one of two hundred to furnish the means 
to build it. Four routes were proposed, — -one from 
Cockeysville to Ely's Mill, one from Love's Switch 
to Black Rock, one from Cockeysville to Hampstead, 
and another from Owings' Mills, Reisterstown, etc. 
Committees to examine and report as to right of way 
of each of these routes were appointed. A committee 
was also appointed to secure a survey of the different 
routes. 

A convention was held for the same purpose at 
Westminster, Feb. 26, 1851, and was composed of 
citizens from Frederick, Carroll, Washington, and 
Baltimore Counties. The meeting was largely at- 
tended, but the surveys of the various routes not 
being complete but little was done. Resolutions were 
adopted to appoint committees and take up subscrip- 
tions to make the road from some point on the Sus- 
quehanna Railroad through Westminster to Hagers- 
town, which route was to be in the meanwhile sur- 
veyed. The subscriptions and surveys completed, 
they were to be forwarded to the executive committee, 
who would then call a general meeting and consider 
the same. 

The engineers of the Baltimore and Susquehanna 
Railroad Company deputed to survey the route of the 
contemplated railroad arrived at Westminster Feb. 22, 
1851. Their course was via Owings' Mills, Reisters- 
town, Ely's Mills, and up to the falls of Westminster. 

A large meeting of those interested in the con- 
struction of the Baltimore, Carroll and Frederick 
Railroad was held in the court-house in Westminster 
on Sept. 1, 1852. Delegates were in attendance from 
the whole line of the proposed road, as also from 
Washington and Frederick Counties, through which 
it was calculated to extend the road to Hagerstown, 
where it would connect with the Franklin Road lead- 
ing to Chambersburg. The meeting was organized 




^/rc^fcn^ 




CARROLL COUNTY. 



953 



by the appointment of Col. Jacob Matthias, of Car- 
roll, as president, Col. W. Fell Johnson, of Baltimore, 
vice-president, with Mr. Bradenbaugh, of Washington 
County, and Joseph M. Parker, as secretary. A 
resolution wa.s offered by Jervis Spencer, looking to 
additional legislation in regard to the charter of the 
company. Among those in attendance at the meet- 
ing, and who participated in the discussion of the 
propositions submitted, were Jervis Spencer, Alex- 
ander Neill, and others, of Washington ; Wni. P. 
Maulsby, A. G. Ege, W. Hayden, J. K. Longwell, 
and Jos. Raymond, of Carroll County. The citizens 
of Westminster seem to have been greatly elated on- 
hearing that the mayor of Baltimore City had signed 
the ordinance passed by the City Council indorsing 
five hundred thousand dollars' worth of eight per cent. 
Western Maryland Railway bonds. On July 28th 
the event was celebrated by the firing of cannon, and 
at night a large meeting was held and speeches were 
made by John E. Smith, C. W. Webster, and Joseph 
M. Parker, attended with music by the Westminster 
Band. Another meeting of general rejoicing was held 
at New Windsor on July 31st. 

Carroll County Lyceum was incorporated by an act 
of the Legislature, March 30, 1839. The incorpora- 
tors were Jacob Mathias, John McCollum, A. H. 
Busby, John F. Reese, John K. Longwell, Dr. George 
Shriver, John Baumgartner, fcf. Grout, James M. 
Shellman, Nicholas Kelly, Dr. Wm. Willis, A. F. 
Shriver, Isaac Van Bibber, Thos. E. Van Bibber, N. 
H. Thayer, Thomas Hook, C. W. Webster, James 
Raymond, Jacob Grove, Horatio Price, James Keefer, 
Samuel Orendorff, Jacob Reese, S. D. Lecompte, 
George Webster, John S. Baurgelt. 

Maj. A. G. Enge, formerly of this county, died at 
his residence in Kansas in December, 1876. He 
represented Carroll in the House of Delegates in 
1854, and in the Constitutional Convention of 1851. 
During his residence here in Carroll County he was 
frequently and prominently spoken of as a Whig can- 
didate for Governor of the State. He was a brother- 
in-law of Col. John K. Longwell, and emigrated to 
Kansas about twenty years prior to his death. 

James Raymond, who was a well-known member 
of the Carroll County bar, and who was admitted to 
practice at the first term of the court in April, 1837, 
died at his home in Westminster in January, 1858, in 
the sixty-second year of his age. He was a native of 
Connecticut, a graduate of Yale College, and for 
twenty-one years a citizen of Westminster. Several 
years prior to his decease he represented Carroll 
County in the Legislature, and was the author of a work 
known as " Raymond's Digest of Chancery Cases." 



In the past half-century no man has been more 

closely identified with the financial, political, and ma- 
terial history of Carroll County than Col. John K. 
Longwell. He was born in the historic town of Get- 
tysburg, Pa., in October, 1810, and was the son of 
Matthew and Jane (Klinehofi") Longwell. His 
father, a reputable merchant in that town, was of 
Scotch-Irish descent, whose ancestors at a very early 
period emigrated from the north of Ireland and set- 
tled in Pennsylvania. His mother was of Hollaiidiih 
extraction, and from a race noted for their thrift and 
rare domestic qualities. Col. Longwell was educated 
in the academy of his native town, and learned the 
printing business in the office of the Adams Sentinel, 
now the Star and Sentinel, of Gettysburg. In 1832 
he removed to Taneytown, of this county, and estab- 
lished TVie Recorder, which paper was the successor 
of 77ic Regulator and Taneytown Herald, a journal 
published for a year or two. He printed this paper 
about a year, and in the spring of 1833 came to 
Westminster and established The Carrolltonian. 
This journal was chiefly devoted to the interests ot 
the formation of a new county with the county-seat 
at Westminster. Its first issue appeared June 25, 
1833, and even the opponents of the measure acknowl- 
edged the zeal, ability, and fidelity with which it was 
conducted, until in four years afterwards the efforts 
of its editor and friends were crowned with success. 
He edited, published, and was connected with this 
paper for about eighteen years, and it was finally 
merged into the American Sentinel. He was married 
in 1840 to the youngest daughter of Maj. John Mc- 
Caleb, of Taneytown, who came when only nine years 
of age with his father, Joseph McCaleb, from the north 
of Ireland. The McCalebs were early settlers around 
Taneytown and large landed proprietors. By this 
union Col. Longwell has one surviving daughter. 
Originally a Whig in politics, he has acted with the 
Democratic party for over twenty years. He was 
elected a State senator in 1850, and served four years 
in the Senate. In 1867 he was elected one of the 
delegates to the Constitutional Convention, and as- 
sisted in the framing of the present organic law of 
Maryland. In 1871 he was again chosen State sena- 
tor for a term of four years. In 1879 he was pre- 
vailed upon to accept a nomination for the office of 
county commissioner, — the most important office in 
the State to the farmers, business men, and tax-payers, 
— and was triumphantly elected and made president 
of the board. He was the author of the charter of 
the Western Maryland Railroad, and secured its pass- 
age by the Legislature, and when this railroad was put 
under contract he was one of its board of directors, 



954 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



and is now a member of the board. He became a 
director in the Westminster Bank (now Union Na- 
tional), and has been its president for twenty-five 
years. Since 1858 he has been president of the Bal- 
timore and Reisterstown turnpike, a road built in 
1805, and for many years the great national thorough- 
fare from Baltimore to Pittsburgh for travel and freight. 
At the centennial celebration of July 4, 1876, in 
Westminster, he prepared and read a history of the 
county, with which no person in its limits is more 
familiar. He is a member of the Piney Creek Pres- 
byterian Church, organized in 1763. His home, 
" Emerald Hill," at Westminster, is one of the most 
elegant private residences in the county. Col. Long- 
well contributed more than any single individual to 
the organization of Carroll County, and since its erec- 
tion has been constantly associated with its progress, 
and the many public and fiduciary positions conferred 
upon him show the esteem in which he is held by 
the community. 

The Carroll Rifle Association, for recreation and 
improvement in marksmanship, was organized June 
28, 1879, by the election of the following oflicers ; 
President, Dr. W. H. Rippard ; Secretary and Treas- 
urer, J. S. Weavers ; Captain of Team, John T. 
Beard ; Committee on Grounds, J. A. Miller, Joseph 
Pulis, and C. W. Knight. The following is a list of 
members : Col. McKellip, William B. Thomas, Dr. 
Swarmstedt, Frank Shriver, Ed. W. Shriver, Ed. H. 
Shriver, Denton Gehr, Henry Troutfelter, Michael 
Shuey, James Humphreys, Milton Wagoner, E. J. 
Lawyer, Samuel Roop, Willis R. Zumbrum, John C. 
Weaver, A. H. Wentz, B. F. Crouse, William Myerly, 
Jesse Smith, J. E. Crouse, J. Shunk, P. Callaghan, 
J. Winfield Snoder, J. J. Baumgartner, Peter Woods, 
John T. Anders. 

At the celebration of Easter Monday in 1879 the 
most prominent event of the day was the eight-hour 
go-as-you-please pedestrian contest on the grounds of 
the Carroll County Agricultural Society, which was 
nearly an all-day aflFair. Large representations from ' 
every section of the county were present. 

The contest was for a purse of $50 : $25 to the 
first, $15 to the second, and $10 to the third. Half 
of the gate-money was also to be added in the same , 
proportion. The entrance fee was two dollars, and 1 
the following entered, drawing positions in the order 
named : William Copenhover, John Groif, G. H. 
Walter, William H. Bell, Benjamin Gist, R. Palmer, ' 
Jacob lleinaman, Samuel Groif, Henry Himler, S. H. 
Blakesly, — all residents of this city and vicinity, ex- 
cept Copenhover, who was from Silver Run, and 
Blakesly, from Mexico. 



I Below we give the distance made by each contestant 
in each of the eight hours : 

12346678 Total. 

John GroSf. 7i 6i 6 5i 6 6 4J 5 47 

Copenhover 6 6. 4i 5 off 2.34 

Walter 5 44 44 off 15 

Bell 6 fiJ 6 5J 54 54 5 5 45 

Gist 6 74 6 5 5 6 44 4 44 

Palmer 5i 54 :> 5} 44 4* 5 4 .394 

Samuel Groff. 6i 6 4 34 off 20 

Himler 6 54 6 54 6 5J off ... 35 

Blakesly H 6 44 4 off 214 

Reinaman 5A 6 5 5 44 off 26 

John Groif, the winner, was a native of Westmin- 
ster, and for nine years previous was engaged in a 
brickyard. He was seventeen years of age, five feet 
four inches high, of slender build, and weighed one 
hundred and ten pounds. 

W. H. Bell was also a native of the city of West- 
minster, twenty-one years old, and weighed about one 
hundred and thirty pounds. He was a blacksmith by 
trade. 

Benjamin Gist was a sun of Samuel Gist, residing 
near this city, nineteen years old, and accustomed to 
farm-labor. 

The Fourth of July, 1876, the centenary of Amer- 
ican independence, was universally and enthusiastically 
celebrated in the United States, and Westminster was 
no exception in this respect. There were doubtless 
more imposing demonstrations at other point.s, but 
few that were more sensible and useful, or that exhib- 
ited a profounder appreciation of the benefits derived 
from a hundred years of self-government, or a more 
grateful sense of the value of the inheritance be- 
queathed to their successors by the founders of the 
republic. At an early hour the streets were thronged 
by an immense concourse of people, who were speedily 
formed into line by the chief marshal of the day, 
Hon. Wm. P. Maulsby, and his aides. 

The order of the procession was as follows : 
Chief Marshal and Aides. 
Hanover Drum Corps. 

Capt. A. D. Kohler, George Crumbine. G. K. Metzer. Kervi^ 
Smith, Lewis I. Renant. Jacob Bonge, John A. Cremer, M. '. 
NaiU, Robert Stahl, Zaehnry T.aylor Bunge, Franklin Kahle. , 

Surviving soldiers of the war of 1S12; among them were Cofi 
Joshua C. Gist, Michael Byers, Sterling Gait, and JoM 
Uhler. These were followed by the survivors of the first offioen 
of the county, invited guests, the reverend clergy, the historiad 
of the day, the readers of the Declaration, Washington'^ 
Farewell Address, and of the poem, — all in carriages. 

Thirteen young ladies, in appropriate costumes, on horsebacK 
each bearing a banneret, representing one of the original thip 
teeu States, each horse led by a colored groom, dressed ii 
jacket and Bowing pantaloons, with red cap of Nubian pattern 
each lady with an attendant guard of honor. The names of thd 
young ladies on horseb.aek were Hattie Gist, Maryland; Ellq 
Fringer, Pennsylvania; Alice Miller, New Jersey ; AlrctaZepjj 
North Carolina; Mary Spellman, Georgia; Katie Miller, 
sachusetts; Virginia Reese, Virginia; Ella Beachmau, Dels 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



955 



ware; MoHie Wheeler, South Carolina; Jennie Wilson, New 
Hninpshire; Ella Shrieve, Connecticut; Jennie fioldcn, Rhode 
Island; Cordelia Miller, New York. The place of honor wjis 
j^ivon to Miss Hattic Gist, the young lady who represented 
Maryland, who is a great-granddaughter of Col. Mordecai Gist, 
of the old Maryland Line. 

Mount Pleasant Band. 
Platoon of four Mounted Guards. 

Thirty-seven young ladies, representing the differentStates of 
the Union, all dressed in white, with crimson caps, with the 
name of the State in gilt letters on the sash in a corner, appro- 
priately festooned with flags and banners, and decorated with a 
portrait of Washington in front. The car was drawn by six 
blaolt horses ; each horse was led by a colored groom in Nubian 
costume. The car was driven by Mr. John Tracy. The names 
of the young ladies were Hattie Bollinger. Louisa Zahn. Fan- 
nie Bloom, Flora Buell, Sallie Gernand, Jennie Malehorn, 
Emma Fowble, Carrie McElray, Estelle Marsh. Ida Fringer. 
Mollie Shawer. Ella Miller. Katie Baumgartncr. Nannie Mil- 
ler. Fannie Ebaugh, Mattic Ebaugh, Maggie Horner. Jennie 
Gist, Mary C. Wheeler. Lizzie Buckingham, Estelle White, 
Laura Smith, Ada Zepp, Ida Koontz, IdaTnuy. Amanda Poole, 
Rena Wagoner. Mattie Hull. Nicy Hull, Grace Bowers, Hannah 
Bowers, Annie Earnest, Jennie Fowler, Mollie Hoppe, Emma 
Heagy. Anna Haines, Emma Wright. 

There was a (Juard of Honor, composed of one hundred young 
men in rich and appropriate costumes, mounted upon fine horses, 
and commauded by F. I. Wheeler. Some uf these flanked the 
representatives of the States, and the lemainder rode in solid 
column in the rear of the car. Each guard had an eight-foot 
spear, with streamer on the point. 

National Grays' Baud. 

Representatives of Chili and Cuba, Arturu Leke and P. M. 
Lamotbe, mounted and bearing their national ensigns. The 
first named was dressed in a rich Chilian uniform, prepared ex- 
pressly for the occasion. 

Frizzelsburg Band. 

Salem Lodge, No. 60, I. 0. 0. F., of Westminster. Sons of 
Temperance Encampment. Charity Lodge, No. 6S, Knights of 
Pythias, of Westminster, in full uniform, — a very handsome dis- 
play. United Order of American Mechanics. Trades, Grunj^es, 
and Industries. 

Fairview Brass Band (Colored). 

Sriiliiiel Job Printing Press, on a wagon, driven by steam. 
Handsome Portable Engine from the Taylor Manufacturing 
Company, Westminster. Reaping Machines in motion, from 
the shojis of Mr. Elijah Wagoner, Westminster. Then followed 
a long line of visitors and citizens in carriages and on horse- 
back, which brought up the rear. 

The procession moved froiu the West End through 
Main Street to the Carroll County Agricultural So- 
ciety's Fair Grounds, where a vast assemblage had 
already gathered. The number present was variously 
estimated from three to five thousand. The multitude 
were called to order by Col. William A. McKellip, 
chairman of the committee on exercises, who an- 
nounced the following officers: Presidenf, Col. Wil- 
liam P. Maulsby ; Honorary Presidents, Hon. William 
N. Hayden, Nimrod Gardner, J. H. Hoppe, Hun. C. 
B. Roberts, Col. Joshua C. Gist, Col. John Lamott, 
Hon. John E. Smith, and Stirling Gait; Vice-Presi- 
dents, John Thompson, Rogers Birnie, A. K. Shriver, 



Daniel Stull, David Prugh, Hon. J. Shower, David 
Englar, Talbot Hammond, Henry Bussard, J. H. 
Winemiller, Thomas Smith, Granville S. Haines; 
Secretaries, William H. Vanderford and William H. 
Rippard. The order of exercises at the stand was as 
follows : 

Singing of the "Star-Spangled Banner" by the choirs of 
Westminster, led by Mr. Bucll ; Miss Fanny Buell, organist. 

Prayer by Rev. J. T. Ward, president of Western Maryland 
College. 

Music by the Mount Pleasant Band. 

Reading of the Declaration of Independence, by Dr. F. T. 
Shaw. 

Music by Fairview Band. 

Reading of Washington's " Farewell Address," by iJr. Charles 
Billingslea. 

Singing. " Hail Columbia." Choir. 

History of the County, prepared and read by Col. John K. 
Longwell. 

Music by the Nalioodl Grays' Band. 

Ode, by Emma Alice Browne (Mrs. Capt. J. L. Beaver), read 
by A. II. Huber. Esq. 

Singing, "America," by choir. 

Prayer, by Rev. William C. Creiner. 

Doxology, by choir and audience; and benediction, by Rev. 
Dr. Ward. 

The procession relornied and marched into the city, 
and was dismissed by the marshal. 

At the intersection of Main and Centre Streets, 
Messrs. John Faber and J. W. Perkins erected an 
arch over Main Street, which was decorated with the 
national colore, Chinese lanterns, and a number of 
small flags. The bells of the churches rang a merry 
peal in the morning, and again in the evening. The 
" Centennial Bell,'' erected by Messrs. Sehenthall and 
Frank King, was rung almost incessantly through the 
night of the 3d, and also on the 4th. 

Salutes were fired -at morning, noon, and night by a 
detachment of artillery from Fort McHenry, under 
the charge of a sergeant and seven men. As the 
evening salute was being fired a thunder-storm pre- 
vailed, and the booming of artillery upon terra firma 
was answered by the electric batteries of the skies 
with peal on peal, which seemed to mock the impo- 
tence of man. At night there was a grand illumina- 
tion throughout the city, which closed the observances 
of Centennial Day. 

Judge William Nicholas Hayden, one of the presi- 
dents on this memorable occasion, is a lineal descend- 
ant of the Hayden family that came over with Lord 
Baltimore and settled in St. Mary's County. The 
family faithfully represented the Irish Catholic gen- 
try, and took an active part in the first settlement of 
the province. On March 17, 17G8, John Hayden 
removed from St. Mary's County to within a tuile of 
Westminster, where he purchased a tract of land of 



956 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



one hundred and sixty-four acres, called '' Friendship 
Completed," from Isaac Dehaven for one hundred 
pounds. The land was all in woods, but Mr. Hayden 
cleared it up, together with other tracts he subse- 




tjuently bought. He had eight daughters and one 
son. The latter, William, married Catherine Ensey. 
He died in 1802, and his wife in 1838. They had 
three daughters and seven sons, most of whom emi- 
grated West and South and^settled in the new coun- 
tries. Of the sons, Basil married Apparilla Buck- 
ingham, daughter of Obadiah Buckingham, of a well- 
known Baltimore County family, by whom he had 
seven daughters and one son. He removed from his 
father's farm to Westminster in 1807, about the year 
of his marriage. He had learned the trade of hat- 
making with Mr. Kuhn, and carried on this business 
many years. He was a public-spirited citizen, and 
held several positions of honor and trust, from con- 
stable up to the judgeship of the Orphans' Court, 
having occupied the latter from 1848 to 1851. He 
died in I860, and his wife two years later, both aged 
seventy-nine years. 

Judge William N. Hayden was born Sept. 23, 
1817, in Westminster, in the house his father had 
purchased ten years previously, on his removal to this 
city, and in part of which his father had his hat 
manufactory. His early education was obtained in 
the subscription schools of the city. In 1835 his 



father removed to Frederick County and engaged in 
farming for several years. While there William N. 
attended for a few months the school near Johnsville, 
after which he went to the Reisterstown (Baltimore 
County) Academy, then under the charge of his 
brother-in-law, Prof. N. H. Thayer, at present (1881) 
librarian of Baltimore City College. Here he pur- 
sued for a while his academic studies, and imbibed a 
great passion for historical literature, the reading of 
which induced him to turn his attention to the law. 
As a preparatory measure to the study of the legal 
profession, and to obtain means for the prosecution of 
his studies, he taught school. His first school was 
near McKinstry's Mills for three successive winters 
of six months each. He then attended Prof Lau- 
ver's academy for four months at Uniontown, aft.er 
which he taught school another winter. 

In 1842 he came to Westminster and began read- 
ing law with Hon. James Raymond, then an eminent 
practitioner at the Carroll County bar. He was ad- 
mitted to practice as an attorney-at-law Sept. 2, 1844, 
and on Dec. 8, 1846, was appointed by Hon. George 
R. Richardson, attorney-general of Maryland, dep- 
uty attorney-general for the county, to conduct the 
criminal prosecutions. He held this position for two 
years, until his increasing practice forced him to re- 
sign, to give his sole attention to other parts of his 
profession more congenial to his tastes. He then 
formed a law partnership with John J. Baumgardner, 
which continued until 1865, when the latter became 
connected with the old Westminster Bank (Union 
National). 

In the spring of 1867, Judge Hayden was elected 
one of the members from Carroll County to the Con- 
stitutional Convention, in which he served on the 
judiciary and legislative committees, the most import- 
ant in that body. In the fall of the same year he 
was elected for the term of fifteen years as an asso- 
ciate judge of the Circuit Court for the Fifth Judicial 
District, composed of Carroll, Howard, and Anne 
Arundel Counties. His term on the bench will ex- 
pire Jan. 1, 1883. 

He was married, May 31, 1859, to Eugenia Eliza- 
beth Scott, daughter of Hon. Upton Scott. Her] 
grandfather, John Scott, came from the north of Ire 
land at an early day and married a daughter of Nor-j 
mand Bruce, one of the first settlers near BruceviileJ 
and sheriflf of Frederick County before the Revolu-i 
tion Upton Scott was born in 1810, in Annapolis,] 
He represented Carroll County in the House of Del-I 
egates in 1846, and died in 1881 in Baltimore. 

Judge Hayden has one son and two daughters.! 
On his father's side he is of Irish extraction, and on 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



957 



his mother's of English, while his wife is of Scotch- I 
Irish descent. The Hayden homestead, where his 
great-grandfather, John Hayden, settled in 1768, re- 
mained in the family until 1838, when it was sold 
and subsequently divided. 

Judge Hayden is a member of the Catholic Church, 
with which his ancestors were connected from time im- 
memorial. Originally a Whig in politics, on the disso- 
lution of that party in 1853 he attached himself to 
the Democratic organization, with which he has ever 
since affiliated. When engaged in a large and lucra- 
tive practice at the bar, he was noted for the ability 
and fidelity with which he conducted his causes, in 
which he won distinction and enjoyed the esteem of 
the court and community. On the bench he has 
made an able and upright judge, enjoying the respect 
of the bar and court officers and the confidence of the 
people, he being fearless in the discharge of his duties, 
but genial and afl'able in social life. 

Jacob Marker, another prominent citizen of West- 
minster District, died Dec. 8, 1879, in the ninety-fourth 
year of his age. His father was a Hessian, and came 
over to this country during che Revolutionary war. He 
is believed to have been one of the fifteen hundred men 
stationed at Trentou, N. J., under the British Col. 
Rawle, when Washington crossed the Delaware amid 
floating ice to attack them, on the night of Dec. 25, 
1776, nine hundred of whom were captured by him 
next day. Some of these Hessians, at the close of the 
war, returned to Europe with the British army, while 
others remained and settled in this country. The 
father of Mr. Marker was of the latter number. He 
settled at Littlestown, Pa., and married a Miss Reigol, 
of Myers District. Jacob Marker was born in Union- 
town District, and was married when he was twenty- 
eight years of age. He was confirmed in the Lu- 
theran Church when about fourteen years of age, and 
lived a consistent member of it for nearly eighty 
years. When a boy he helped to haul the stone to 
build the foundation of Kreider's church. His house 
was always open to ministers, and he was well known 
for his kindly disposition and charitable deeds. 

The Republican Citizen, now published in Fred- 
erick City by the Baughman Brothers, was established 
in Westminster in March, 1821, under the auspices 
of the late Judge Abraham Shriver. A few years 
subsequently it was removed to Frederick. George 
W. Sharp was its first editor. 

The American Trumpet, devoted to the promulga- 
tion of sentiments and news in the interest of the 
then called " Know-Nothing," or American, party, 
was established Nov. 16, 1854, by Hon. John E. 
Smith. After the May election in Virginia in 1855 
62 



it was sold to the Democrats. When sold its outside 
had been put to press, and the paper appeared with 
the outside zealous, as before, in its advocacy and sup- 
port of the Know-Nothings, while the inside was a 
vigorous and uncompromising champion of the Demo- 
crats. 

The CarruUtonian, a paper established and edited 
by Col. John K. Longwell, made its first appearance 
June 28, 1833. It was mainly devoted to the erec- 
tion and organization of the new county, which fol- 
lowed in four years, and was largely due to its potent 
voice and influence. Before this paper was staried 
three others had been published here by George 
Keating, a Mr. Burke, and George W. Sharp The 
CarrollfoiiiaH was published up to Jan. 1, 1850, its 
last editor and publisher being George D. Miller. It 
was then merged into the American Sentinel, with 
William H. Granimer as editor, publisher, and pro- 
prietor. He conducted it several years and sold it to 
F. H. Kerr. The latter afterwards sold it to George 
H. Miller, who in turn sold it to William H. Grammer. 
After the latter's death, Jan. 11, 1862, it was edited 
by Harry J. Shellman, and published by Thomas J. 
Lockwood, for Mr. Grammer's estate. It was then, 
from Sept. 10, 1868, to 1874, owned, edited, and 
published by W. L. W. Seabrook & Co., who sold out 
the ofiice to E. J. Rippard & Co., the present pub- 
lishers and proprietors, under whom Dr. William H. 
Rippard is editor. Both the editorial and business 
management of this paper have been characterized by 
great ability and energy. It has a very large circula- 
tion, and enjoys a lucrative advertising business. 

It is the organ of the Republicau party of the 
county, and has great influence in the counsels of that 
party in the State, of which it is a fearless exponent. 

William L. W. Seabrook, who edited this paper 
from 1868 to 1874, during the two important Prasi- 
dential campaigns of 1868 and 1872, was born near 
Fairfield, Adams Co., Pa., Oct. 9, 1833. The death 
of his father when he was four years of age left his 
mother in rather straitened circumstances with three 
children, of whom the eldest was nine years of age. 
Six years afterwards she returned with her children 
to her native place, in Frederick County, Md., at 
which time Mr. Seabrook was ten years of age. 
During the succeeding ten years he resided with a 
maternal uncle, and was employed alternately in tilling 
the soil and selling miscellaneous merchandise in his 
uncle's store, varied by attendance at the village pri- 
mary school during the winter months, where he 
obtained a fair education in the English branches, 
American history, geography, and the rudiments of 
mathematics. At the age of seventeen he entered 



958 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



the office of the Adams Sentinel, at Gettysburg, Pa., 
where he continued about eighteen months and be- 
came a practical printer. On account of failing 
health he then abandoned the case for a period of six 
months, but at the age of nineteen resumed the occu- 
pation and became assistant foreman of the Frederick 
Herald, a newspaper published in Frederick City. 
At the age of twenty-one years ho became one of 
the proprietors and leading editor of the paper re- 
ferred to, a connection which continued about three 
years. 

During this time, and subsequently, he has taken 
an active part in political movements, and has fre- 
quently discussed political issues on the public ros- 
trum. In 1857, at the age of twenty-four, he was 
elected commissioner of the Land Office of the State 
of Maryland for the term of six years, having been a 
candidate on the American State ticket with Thomas 
Holliday Hicks, who was elected Governor at the 
same election. At the expiration of his term of 
office he was re-elected without opposition, having 
received the unanimous nomination of both radical 
and Conservative Union State conventions of that 
year, 1863. The adoption of the State constitution 
of 1867 cut short the tenure and vacated all the 
offices in the State except that of Governor. At the 
election of that year Mr. Seabrook was the Repub- 
lican candidate for clerk of the Court of Appeals, 
but, with the other candidates on the ticket for State 
offices, was defeated. He was a delegate to the 
National Republican convention of 18G4, at which 
Mr. Lincoln was renominated for the Presidency, and 
was a member of the committee which conveyed the 
action of the convention to the nominees. He was 
also elected a delegate to the National Convention of 
this party which renominated President Grant in 
1872, but was unable to attend its sessions. Upon 
retiring from the Land Office in 1868 he became con- 
nected with the American Sentinel newspaper at 
Westminster, Md., as one of its proprietors, and as 
sole editor and manager, and so continued until Jan. 
1, 1874. 

In 1873 he was appointed superintendent of public 
stores in the Baltimore custom-house, and filled that 
position until Dec. 1, 1876, when he became chief 
United States weigher at that port. He has been 
prominently connected with the order of Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons, having been Senior 
Grand Warden from 1861 to 1862, and Deputy 
Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of the State of 
Maryland from 1862 to 1864. He was married 
Sept. 4, 1855, in Fiederick, Md., to Miss Harriet 
P. Thomas, a native of that city. He has been a 



member of the Evangelical Lutheran Church since 
1851, and later has been actively identified with the 
work of the Young Men's Christian Association. 

Hie Democrat and Carroll County Republican 
was published by Joseph M. Parke, Jan. 1, 1844, at 
the rate of two dollars per annum. The first page 
was devoted to political and miscellaneous matter, and 
the fourth page had twelve insolvent debtors' notices, 
while Hance's patent medicines occupied nearly the 
remainder of the page. Michael Sullivan, Benjamin 
Yingling, Lewis Trumbo, Jesse Manning, and Samuel 
Mofiet announced themselves as candidates for the 
sheriffalty. The inside pages were filled with edito- 
rial, foreign news, and advertisements. The paper 
contained the following information : 

The semi-annual meeting of the Carroll County 
Temperance Convention was held on the 26th of De- 
cember. Rev. Daniel ZoUickhofier was president, and 
Jacob H. Christ, secretary ; Rev. Hezekiah Crout 
opened the convention with prayer. Reports were 
read from the societies of Uniontown, Warfieldsburg, 
Westminster, Franklin, Bethesda, and Salem. Reso- 
lutions were ofiered by C. Birnie, Jr., asking that a 
committee of three be appointed to wait upon the 
commissioners of tax and solicit their aid in forward- 
ing the temperance cause. Messrs. Birnie, Willard, 
and McCollum were appointed. Capt. McCollum 
offered a resolution asking that petitions be sent to 
the Legislature asking that each election district be 
allowed to say, by ballot, whether or not it would 
have a license issued to taverns or grog-shops. At 
the afternoon session the resolution was adopted. 
Rev. W. Harden offered a resolution inquiring into 
the absence of the Freedom societies and why they 
were not present. He was appointed to inquire into 
the causes. On motion of Rev. E. Henkle, the fol- 
lowing persons were appointed to address the several 
societies, viz. : Revs. W. Harden, T. Gallaudet, P. 
Willard, J. P. Carter, E. Henkle, and Jacob Holmes, 
and J. McCollum, Isaac Cox, J. H. Christ, C. Birnie, 
Jr., J. J. Baumgardner, 0. Cox, J. Lindsay, A. Gor- 
such, C. W. Webster, E. T. Curry, E. F. Crout, Jere 
Malehorn, S. Murray, W. H. Grammer, F. H. Zol- 
lickhoffer, W. ZollickhoflFer, I. N. Storr, and W. 
Holmes. The convention adjourned to meet at West- 
minister on Whit-Monday, May 12th. The members 
of the Westminster choir attended and " gave con- 
clusive demonstration of their proficiency in sacred 
music." 

Mrs. Susanna Morelock, wife of Jacob Morelock, 
died on the 19th ultimo, in Uniontown District; Elis- 
abeth, wife of Jacob Beam, died in Baltimore on the 
25th ultimo. 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



959 



Lin of Letters Remniniiig in the Post-office at Westminster, 
Md., -Inn. I, 1,S44.— Thomas Ashton, John Abbot, John Buck- 
ingham. George Cox, J. G. Capito, J. B. Chenowitb, Danie! 
Dimaen, James Davis, Maria Frieling, John G. Frick, llaner 
QreeD; John Gross, Samuel Harding, Richard Harris, Francis 
Keiser, Licrouse, Mr. Michael Ludwig. John Mile, Adams, 
David Pugh, Mrs. Rachel Poulson. Mr. Stauisfer, Michael 
Shafifer, Noah Stansbury, Miss Mary Stevenson, Diana Smith, 
William Stonebraker, Elmira Sherfy, Samuel Shade, John or 
Jacob Seel, Peter Woods, Mr. Winpiper, Nimrod Woolery, 
Peter Zentz, Henry Zimmerman, Christiana Zimmerman. — 
Joshua Yingling, Postmaster. 

Basil Rook was clerk to the county commissioners. 

Dr. William A. Mathias gave notice that he had 
located himself in Westminster, opposite the store of 
Samuel OrendorfF. 

Charles Rix advertised stoves and tinware. 

Samuel Bennett, trustee of the late William Beam, 
advertised two farms for sale, situated near Marriotts- 
ville. 

Elijah Wagner advertised cabinet-making and ma- 
chine-shops. 

Henry Saltzgiver advertised a price-list of hats, 
which he said were the best and cheapest in the State. 

Joshua Smith, trustee, advertised a lot of ground 
and a brick brewery, occupied by Solomon Zepp, situ- 
ated on the alley running from Court Street to Stone 
Alley. 

Basil Root oiFered at private sale a farm on the 
Washington road, adjoining lands of Jacob Groves 
and others; also two unimproved lots situated at the 
Forks, in Westminster, fronting on the Littlestown 
road. 

Joseph Stout advertised lime at nine cents per 
bushel. His kiln was on the Joseph Orendorff farm, 
now occupied by S. Meyerly, one and one-fourth mile 
from Westminster. 

Jesse Manning offered for sale or rent his tavern- 
stand, situated on the turnpike six miles below West- 
minster ; also forty acres of land. 

The Carroll County Democrat of Oct. i, 1851, 
contained the valedictory of Josiah T. H. Bringman, 
who retired from the editorship, and also the saluta- 
tory of Augustus C. Appier, who assumed control of 
the paper. 

At that time a warm political contest was going on, 
the Democratic ticket being : 

Firtt Jinliciat District : For Judge of the Court of Appeals. 
William P. Maulsby; for Commissioner of Public Works, John 
S. Gittings. Demncrntic State Nominations: For Comptroller 
of the Treasury. Philip Francis Thomas; for Commissioner of 
Land Office, James Murray ; for Lottery Commissioner, Thomas 
R.Stewart. Democratic County Ticket : For House of Dele- 
gates, Daniel Stull, John E. H. Liggett, Elijah F. Crout ; for 
Judges of Orphans' Court, Michael Sullivan, George W. Monro, 
Levi Buffington; for Clerk of Circuit Court, John B. Boyle; 



for Register of Wills, Joseph M. Parke; for State's Attorney, 
Daniel L.Hoover; for County Surveyor, J. Henry Hoppe; for 
Commissioners of Ta,\, James Crouse, Thomas Smith, George 
L. Little, J.icob Wickerl, Julius B. BerrctI, George Crouse, 
Jacob Grove, George Richards, Jr., Bennett Spurrier. 

On the Thursday night previous a large meeting of 
voters of Hanipstead was held at Scarff's tavern, and 
was addressed by Dr. Liggett and Maj. Ege. Mr. 
Crouse was absent, owing to ill health. In behalf of 
the Whigs, Drs. Booth and Cux spoke. 

On Saturday there was a large meeting at Union 
Bridge, which was addressed principally by Daniel L. 
Hoover and Charles W. Webster, candidates for pros- 
ecuting attorney ; also by Messrs. Hook, Crout, Booth, 
Liggett, Cox, and Ege. The Union Bridge Brass 
Band, under Prof Burke, enlivened the occasion. 

On the 1st of October an election for Congressmen 
and school commissioner was held. The returns from 
only Westminster and Myers Districts were given : 
For Congress, Edward Hammond received 60 major- 
ity in Westminster District over Dr. A. A. Lynch. 
In Myers District he received 131 over the doctor. 
For school commissioner, John B. Summers received 
67 majority over William Baughman in VVcstminster 
District, and in .Myers Di-strict, J. William Earhart 
received 85 majority over Peter B. Mikesell. 

The marriage of James W. Lantz and fJlcanor 
Hyde, of Uniontown District, by Rev. J. Winter 
was announced. 

A political meeting was advertised to be held in 
Middleburg, October Uth, at which time all the 
candidates for the various offices were requested to 
attend. 

Robinson & Eldred's circus was advertised to ex- 
hibit on October 6th. 

Kettlewell & Cox advertised the Clover Hill farm, 
in Fink.sburg District, at public sale, October :i5th. 

William P. Maulsby and W. C. Van Bibber ad- 
vertised the farm of George L. Van Bibber, part of 
the Avondale estate, two and one-half miles from 
Westminster, for sale on the 10th of November. 

A statement of the expenditures of the county for 
the fiscal year ending July 6, 1851, is given, viz.: 
Outdoor pensioners, $3j!02.60 ; public roads, $3111 - 
25 ; bridges and repairs to bridges, $553.16; jud"es 
and clerks of election for September and October, 
1850, and June, 1851, $320; county commissioners, 
$625.50 ; colonization fund, $439.52 ; tax collector 
$340; printing, $101.75; public buildings, $1000; 
clerk to commissioners, $200; preparing book for 
collector of State taxes, $50 ; counsel to commission- 
ers, $50 ; judges of the Orphans' Court, $379.50 ; 
janitor, $25 ; inquests, $18.25 ; register of wills, $5 ; 



960 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



stationery and postage, $18.50 ; wood for jail and 
commissioners' room, $56.50 ; grand and petit jurors 
for September, 1851, and April, 1852, $867.62; 
bailiffs and talesmen for same terms, $103.50; prose- 
cuting attorney, $146.66 ; crier of the court, $59.95 ; 
clerk of the court, $395.50 ; sheriff, for fees and board, 
$-131 ; State witnesses, $300 ; costs in removed cases, 
$56 ; constables, $65.55 ; miscellaneous, $255.34. 
Total amount of expenditures, $13,555.27. The as- 
sessment was $6,777,636, on which there was a levy 
of 20 cents on the $100. 

Candidates were plentiful, as will be seen by the 
announcements : 

For Judge of the Circuit Court, Madison Nelson, William M. 
Merrick, Richard H. Marshall, and Joseph M. Palmer; House 
of Delegates, Richard R. Booth, E. G. Cox, Abraham Lamott. 
and Thomas Hook; John McCollum as a candidate for clerk of 
the court; Register of Wills, John Baumgarlner and John M. 
Tingling; State's Attorney, Charles W. Webster; Judges of 
the Orphans' Court. Jacob Mathias, Horatio Price. Diivid B. 
Earhart, and Basil Hayden ; County Commissioners, William 
Reese and James Smith; County Surveyor, J. Henry Hoppe 
and James Keely ; Sheriff, Wm. S. Brown. Samuel J. Jordan, 
and Otho Shipley. 

The issue of Oct. 16, 1851, is lively and exciting. 
The editorials are full of personal allusions, and the 
communications spicy. It also contains a long aiticle 
fiom Col. William P. Maulsby. Political meetings 
are called for Uniontown District, at Crumrine's 
Hotel, four miles above Manchoslur, Finiisburg, 
Franklinville, and at Little's Tavern, Freedom Dis- 
trict. 

The issue dated Nov. 6, 1851, was put in circula- 
tion on the 4th, two days before the election. Some 
of the articles are more forcible than polite. 

The marriages of William Cornell and Elizabeth 
Kregelo, Emanuel Sell and Elizabeth Dotzour, George 
Gerhart and Lydia Black, William H. Angel and 
Geronda C. E. Everhart, and Samuel Messinger and 
Miss Frownfeller are published. 

The issue of Jan. 1, 1852, contains very little of 
interest. It announces itself in favor of Stephen A. 
Douglas for President. By the census of 1850, Car- 
roll takes rank as the fifth county in the State for the 
production of wheat. 

The Democratic Advocate, now owned and pub- 
lished by William H. and Charles H. Vanderford, 
under the firm-name of Vanderford Bros., is the 
regular successor or continuation of The Democrat 
and Carroll Counts/ Repuhlican, which was estab- 
lished by William Shipley, in February, 1838. Mr. 
Shipley continued its publication until April, 1840, 
when he sold out to Joseph M. Parke. Josiah T. 
H. Bringman bought a half-interest in it on March 12, 



1846. The name was then changed to The CarroU 
County Democrat, and in 1848 Mr. Bringman pur- 
chased the remaining half-interest from Mr. Parkei 
Mr. Bringman published the paper until Oct. 2, 1851, 
when Augustus C. Appier became its owner, and he 
sold it to George H. Randall, on May 15, 1855. In 
July, 1856, Joseph Shaw became its publisher and 
editor. It was merged into a new paper called the 
Western Maryland Democrat, in May, 1861, of 
which W. Scott Roberts was editor. Joseph Shaw 
shortly afterwards again owned and controlled the 
paper. On April 15, 1865, on the reception of the 
news of the assassination of President Lincoln, the 
most intense excitement prevailed in Westminster. 
A large mass-meeting of its Republican citizens was 
held at the court-house in the evening, at which reso- 
lutions were adopted to notify Mr. Shaw, of the Demo- 
crat, " that the publication of his paper would no 
longer be permitted," on account (as alleged) of its 
containing articles abusive of the late President and 
Andrew Johnson, the Vice-President. At midnight, 
long after the meeting adjourned, the office of the 
Democrat was visited, and the type, cases, printing 
paper, and in lact all the material, were taken into the 
street and burned, and the presses, etc., in the build- 
ing broken with axes, crowbars, and other means. 
On Nov. 22, 1865, The Demoa-atic Advocate was 
established by W. H. Davis, who sold it to Joseph 
M. Parke in 1866, and on Nov. 28, 1867, Mr. 
Parke sold it to Mr. Davis again. In March, 1868, 
W. H. Vanderford, one of its present proprietors, pur- 
chased the establishment. He assumed control on 
March 12th following, and in connection with his 
father, H. Vanderford, published it until November, 
1878, when be disposed of a half-interest to his 
brother, Charles H. Vanderford, H. Vanderford then 
retiring almost entirely from editorial duties. 

In November, 1868, at the beginning of the fourth 
volume, W. H. Vanderford enlarged and otherwise 
improved the paper, and increased its subscription 
price from $1.50 to $2.00 per year. Under the 
management of himself and father the Advocate 
began to prosper rapidly. Its circulation increased, 
its advertising and job patronage expanded, and new 
material was added from time to time as necessity re- 
quired. 

At the beginning of the eighth volume, in Novem- 
ber, 1872, when Charles H. Vanderford, who re- 
mained with the paper six months, became half 
owner, the paper was enlarged to its present size, a 
Cottrell & Babcock power-press and an entire outfit 
of new type was put in the ofiSce, including a large 
amount of job type. 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



961 



The Advocate continued to prosper, and its patron- 
age necessitated constant additions to its stock of 
material. The need of additional room became ap- 
parent, and its energetic proprietor purchased the lot 
on the corner of Main and Centre Streets, and erected 
the present Advocate building. It was finished in 
October, 1877, and the part occupied by the printing 
establishment is twenty by eighty feet, two stories 
high. The other part, twenty by forty feet, is occu- 
pied by James M. Shellman as a stationery store and 
news depot. 

The building is of a very substantial character, 
well lighted and admirably adapted for the printing 
business. The first floor front is occupied as a busi- 
ness oflSce, and the back room, fifty-six by eighteen 
feet, as a press and job room. In the second story is 
the editorial room, nicely carpeted and furnished and 
containing a library. It is connected with the office 
below by a dumb-waiter and speaking-tube. Back of 
the editorial room is the composing room, the same 
size as the press and job room. Under the latter 
room is a large cistern, from which, by means of a 
pump running up into the printing-office, water is 
obtained for the uses of the establishment. 

The four presses — two new Universals, a Wash- 
ington, and a Cottrell & Babcock — are run by steam, 
and the four rooms of the office are heated by steam. 

The Advocate o&w in its appointments and equip- 
ments, and all the appurtenances necessary to a first- 
class establishment, is unequaled in Maryland outside 
of Baltimore, and the labors and enterprise of its 
proprietors have been generously appreciated by the 
people of Westminster and the county. 

Henry Vanderford, editor and journalist, the father 
of the present editors and proprietors of the Advocate, 
was born at Hillsborough, Caroline Co., Md., Dec. 23, 
1811. He is of Welsh descent, and was educated at 
Hillsborough Academy. He acquired a knowledge 
of the printing business in the office of the Easton Star, 
which he continued to publish after the death of Mr. 
Smith, the proprietor. He was subsequently em- 
ployed on the Easton Whig. From 1835 to 1837 he 
published the Caroline Advocate, Denton, Md. The 
press and type he transferred in 1837 to Centrevilie, 
Queen Anne's Co., Md., and founded the Sentinel, 
which, though independent in politics, took a very 
decided part in the reform movement of 1836 and 
'37. He removed to Baltimore in 1842, and pub- 
lished The Ray, a weekly paper, and also the Daily 
News and the Weekly Statesman. In February, 
1848, he bought the Cecil Democrat, enlarged the 
paper, quadrupled its circulation, and refitted it with 
new material. In 1868 he founded the Middletown 



TiuHscript, which was transferred in 1873 to his 
youngest .son, Charles H. Vanderford. From 1870 
to 1878 he was associated with his eldest .son, Wil- 
liam H. Vanderford, in the publication of the Demo- 
cratic Advocate of Westminster. In 1 870 he was elec- 
ted to the House of Delegates from Carroll County, 
and re-elected in 1875, and in 1879 was elected a 
member of tiie State Senate, which office he still holds. 

Mr. Vanderford married, June 6, 1839, Angeline 
Vanderford, a distant relative of his father. She is 
still living, being the mother of twelve children, — 
eight sons and four daughters. Only three of the 
sons are living, the eldest and youngest of whom are 
journalists, the former being William H. and the lat- 
ter Charles H., late publisher of the Old Common- 
wealth, at Harrisonburg, Va. They are now the pub- 
lishers of the Advocate. The second son, Dr. Julian 
J. Vanderford, is a dentist, and at present pursuing 
the practice of his profession in Stuttgart, Germany. 
Henry Vanderford and his wife are communicants of 
the Protestant Episcopal Church. He is a member 
of the Masonic order, and was formerly a member of 
the I. 0. 0. F. 

The following is a list of persons living in West- 
minster in 1879, and within a radius of five miles 
thereof, wlio had attained to the age of seventy years 
and upwards. The list comprLses one hundred and 
twenty-one persons, ranging from seventy to ninety- 
five years of age. There are omitted from the list the 
names of twenty-six persons above seventy years of 
age whose exact ages could not be obtained. The 
oldest inhabitant died at the almshouse, aged one 
hundred and twelve years.' 

Jacob Stone, 95; Ruth Frizzell, 95; John Yingling, 94; Ja- 
cob Marker, 93 ; Joanna Biggs, 92; Henry Stonesifer, 90 ; Mrs. 
John Biggs, 89; James C. Graham, 89; WilMam Grouse, 87 ; 
Miss Snider, 86; Mrs. D. Baumgartner, 85; Mary Beaver, 85; 
John Abbott, 84; James Williams, 84; Mrs. Jacob Snider, 84; 
John Grouse, 84; Mary Burke, 83 ; Mary Grammer, 83 ; Belsey 
Adelsperger, 83; James Hook, 82; Mrs. Wm. B. Grouse, 81; 

' Becky McCormick, colored, familiarly known as " Old 
Becky," died on Sunday, March 9, 1879. It is impossible (o 
give her exact age, but as far as can be ascertained, she was 
about one hundred and twelve years old. She had been an in- 
mate of the almshouse for twelve or fourteen years prior to her 
dtath, and was a religious monomaniac. The most of her time 
was spent in singing and praying, intermingled with pleadings 
that her Good Master would take her home. She had been 
anxious to die for some years, saying that she wanted to go 
home to her people, and would sometimes get in paroxysms of 
excitement when any one would tell her that she would not die 
soon. 

The "Beck" McCormick who was hanged in 1859, and who 
was the first to suffer death upon the scatfold in this county, 
was a granddaughter of this old woman. She was hanged for 
the murder of a colored boy belonging to William Orndorff, 
residing about one mile and a half from Westminster. 



962 



IIISTOUy OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



M. Baumgartner, 80 ; Samuel Young, SO ; Joshua Sellman, SO ; 
Joseph Keller, 79 ; Daniel Stultz, 79 ; Andrew Reese, 79 ; Wm. 
Stansbury, 79; Julia Gallandette, 79: Rev. T. Gallandette, 7S ; 
J. Henry Hoppe, 78 ; Isaac Meyers, 78 ; Mrs. Mary Beaver, 77 ; 
George Barbour, 77 ; Thomas Monahan, 77 ; Mrs. Andrew Reese, 
77: Samuel Snider, 76; .Tames Blizzard, 76; Sarah Kuhns, 76; 
Rebecca Roop, 76; Nancy Blizzard, 76; Henry Dell, 76; H. 
H. Harbaugh, 76 ; Jacob Babylon. 75 ; David Wentz, 75 ; Dr. J. 
L. Billingslea, 75j Thomas Williams, 75 ; Mr. Brown, 75; Eliza- 
beth Shacffer, 75 ; Mrs. Isaac Meyers, 75 ; Susan Gist, 75 ; John 
Babylon, 74 ; Sarah Leekins, 74 ; Henry Shreeve, 74 ; George 
Blizzard, 74; John Smith, 73; Catharine Stonesifer, 73; Mary 
Williams, 73 ; Mrs. Sarah Fringer, 73 ; Peggy Adelsperger, 73 ; 
David Wantz, 72; David Zepp, 72 ; Samuel Unger, 72; Mary 
Royer, 72; Catharine Meyers, 72; Daniel J. Geiman, 72; Polly 
Shaeflfer, 72; Margaret E. Gerke, 72; Charles Meyers, 72; Jo- 
seph Newson, 72; Thomas Goodwin, 72: David H. Shriver, 72; 
Mrs. Horatio Price, 71 ; Daniel Shaeffer, 71 ; J. W. Swartz- 
baugh, 71 ; Henry Weiman, 71 ; Dr. Francis Butler, 70 ; B. W. 
Bennett, 70 ; Mrs. Mary Shriver, 70 : Harry Bailie, 70 ; Jesse 
Yingling, 70 ; Elizabeth Price, 70. Colored People. — Samuel 
Robinson, 90; Philip Briscoe, 88; Philip Leman, 87; Robert 
Bell, 83; Henry Anthony, 82; Serena Parker, 82; Samuel 
Thompson, 79; Wm. Parker, 79; Rev. J. B. Snowden, 77; 
Grace Paraway, 76 ; Elizabeth Harden, 72 ; Charlotte Troupe, 
71 ; Ellen Robinson, 70. 

John L. Reifsnider, a prominent merchant in West- 
minster, Carroll Co., Md., was born in Taneytown, 
Oct. 19, 1836. He has been twice married, — Dec. 
10, 1861, to the eldest daughter of Dr. J. L. Bil- 
lingslea, and Jan. 12, 1871, to the eldest daughter of 
Augustus Shriver. Mr. Reifsnider began business at 
a very early age, and at the age of eighteen was a 
member of the well-known firm of Reifsnider & Son, 
of Westminster. He is the president of the West- 
minster Gas Company, the success of which is due 
more to him than any other man. He has accumu- 
lated large wealth by his own industry, intelligence, 
and business judgment, and has retired from business, 
and lives in an elegant mansion in Westminster. 

The traveler along the Westminster and Meadow 
Branch turnpike will find his attention pleasantly in- 
vited, at a point about two miles from Westminster, 
to " Meadow Brook," the comfortable-lookiug and at- 
tractive home of Samuel Roop. The house (a semi- 
Gothic structure) stands upon a gently-sloping emi- 
nence close to the highway, and is approached by a 
sweeping drive from either side. A prettily kept lawn 
makes a charming foreground to tlie picture. Mr. 
Roop's great-grandfather. Christian Roop, came from 
Switzerland to Lancaster County, Pa., during the 
eighteenth century. Four of his sons (Joseph, Chris- 
tian, David, and John) removed to Carroll County at 
difierent periods soon after the Revolution to find new 
homes. John located upon the present Samuel Roop 
place, on which stood a small frame house when he 
purchased the property. About 1805 he built a brick 



house, — (he one now occupied by Samuel Roop, who 
has by material iiaprovements and tastefully-contrived 
embellishments made it a bright, cheerful-looking 
abode. Of the large land tract owned by his grand- 
father John, Mr. Roop is now the possessor of two 
hundred and fifty acres of as fine farming land as can 
be found in the county. The barns, outbuildings, 
and general equipments are well constructed, and are 
kept with an eye to their appearance. Since 1878, 
Mr. Roop has devoted considerable attention to the 
breeding of short-horned cattle, with highly encour- 
aging results. The Westminster and Meadow Branch 
pike, which pa.sses his place, was built largely through 
his efforts. Mr. Roop's farm is one of the best man- 
aged and most inviting estates in this section of the 
county, and he is justly regarded as one of Carroll's 
most useful and substantial citizens. He is an ener- 
getic and progressive agriculturist, and takes a keen 
interest in everything pertaining to his occupation. 

Stonersville is three and a half miles from West- 
minster, thirty-two from Baltimore, and near the 
Patapsco Falls. It takes its name from the Stoner 
family. George W. Stoner is postmaster. The store-, 
keepers are Noah Stansbury and D. H. Crouse. 

Cranberry is on the Sullivan road, five miles from 
Manchester, and six from Westminster. Samuel i 
Snyder is postmaster, and Snyder & Gummell, store-j 
keepers. 

Avondale is on the Western Maryland RailroadJ 
three miles from Westminster, and thirty-four fron 
Baltimore. James W. Beacham is postmaster. 

Tannery is on the Western Maryland RailroadJ 
one mile from Westminster, and takes its name fron 
the leather manufactory of A. P. Baer & Co., 
Baltimore, which is here located. James S. Baer 
postmaster. The Methodist Episcopal Church has i 
neat chapel. 

Warfieldsburg is three miles from Avondale,! 
and four from Westminster, and near Morgan's RunJ 
The merchants are J. W. Sellman and J. B. Allison ;| 
the latter is postmaster. The resident physician 
Dr. J. P. Somers. Of the Church of God located 
here. Rev. Lewis Solby is pastor. David Baile and 
Washington Nieodemus are millers. The village take 
its name from the Warfield family, one of the first i 
settle in the county. 

The following is the vote for local officers froml 
1851 to 1861 inclusive : 

lissioner : Jacob Matthias 
a Bachman 122, John B. 

317, J. H. Hoppe 287, 
n 246, Otho Shipley 217, 
iirnes 169, Wm. A. Wam- 



1851.— Vote for Primary School Co 
225, Francis Shriver 137, Wil 
Summers 189. 

1853. — For Justices ; Jesse Mann 
James Keefcr 217, F. 0. Friir 
Wm. Sullivan 244, Wnshingto: 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



963 



plor 320 ; Constables: Wm. Oursler 240, J. T. Diflenbaugh 
294, Emanuel Gernand 355, Wm. H. Mourer 151; Road 
Supervisor: Michael Lynch 266, Geo. Shade 199, William 
Koontz 174. 

1855.— For Justices: H. B. Grammer 269, E. Gernand 289, 
Jesse Manning 278, W. A. Wampler 295, Wm. Crouse3;)6, 
J. H. Hoppe 312, Joseph Matthias 318, F. 0. Franklin 
291 ; Constables : J. Diffenbaugh 302, Geo Webster 287, 
Thos. B. Gist 299, John Blizzard 303 ; Road Supervisor: 
Wm. Miller 312, Wm. Koontz 299. 

1857.— For Justices: W. A. Crouse 382, Joseph Matthias 371, 
F. 0. Franklin 350, J. H. Hoppe 317, W. A. Wampler 289; 
Constables : S. M. Gist 283, John Blizzard 330, J. T. Diffen- 
baugh 280, G. Sheets 105; Road Supervisor; M. Lynch 
344, Noah Mitten 249. 

1859. — For Justices: Joseph Matthias 428, Wm. Crouse 369, 
Chas. Denning 286, Jesse Manning 193, W. A. Wampler 
350, James Keefer 178, Emanuel Tuni 187, J. Henry 
Hoppe 400; Constables: J. M. Tingling 335, Levi Evans 
278, R. W. Stem 306, David Kuhn 351 ; Road Supervisor: 
Jacob Beaver 356, J. Shanebruch, Jr., 308. 

1861 .—For Justices : J. Matthias 467, J. H. Hoppe 415, E. Ger- 
nand 424, W. A. Wampler 455, W. J. Mitten 53, William 
Crouse 256, Daniel Byers 259, Jesse Manning 224, J. B. 
Summers 243; Constables: G. W. Plowman 416, R. W. 
.Stem 459, Ira E. Crouse 206, J. M. Yingling 249, David 
Kuhn 76; Road Supervisor: J. L. Wampler 450, Philip 
Turfle 264. 

The public school trustees for 1881 and 1882 are 
given, together with the names of teachers and num- 
ber of pupils : 

1. Grammar School.— Elias Yingling, F. A. Sharer, Geo. W. 
Miller. 

2. Primary, No. 1. — David Fowble, Wm. B. Thomas, A. H. 
Huber. 

3. Primary, No. 2. — Elias Yingling, F. A. Sharer, George W. 
Miller. 

4. Primarj', No. 3. — Same as Primary, No. 2. 

5. Primary, No. 4.— David Fowble, Wm. B. Thomas, A. H. 
Huber. 

6. West End, No. 1.— B. F. Crouse, E. J. Lawyer, Milton 
Schaeffer, 

7. AVest End. No. 2.— Same as No. 1. 

8. West End, No. 3.— Same as No. 1. 

9. Warfieldsburg, No. 1. — Joshua Sellman, David Owings, 
Albinus Poole. 

10. Warfieldsburg, No. 2. — Same as No. 1. 

11. Shades. — Jesse Sullivan, A. Gieman, Charles Schaeffer, 

12. Mexico. — No trustees, 

13. Mountain View. — David Warchine, Uriah Bixler, John 
Baust. 

14. Meadow Branch. — John D. Roop, David Reese, Ezra 
Bisch. 

15. Cranberry. — Noah Schaeffer, William H. Reese, Lewis 
Schaeffer. 

16. Friendship. — William Fenby, Frederick N. Hook, Joshua 
Stevenson. 

17. Wm. Bachman's. — E. Bixler, Wm. Leas, William J. 
Biggs. 

4. West End (African).— Alfred Bruce, J. M. Snowden, Reu- 
ben Woodyard (all colored). 

The teachers for the term ending April 15, 1881, 
were: 



1, C. H. Baughmnn, 32 pupils; 2, C. H. Spurrier, 31 pupils; 
3, Belle M. Matthews, 29 pupils; 4, F. W. Shriver, 36 pu- 
pils; 5, Maria Pearson, 37 pupils; 6, George Batson, 51 
pupils; 7, Mattic Vf. Beaver, 34 pupils; 8, Laura K. Mat- 
thews, 37 pupils; 9, Stanley R. Still, 36 pupils; 10, C. Belle 
Poole, 30 pupils; II, Henry L. Shriver, 29 pupils; 12, 
Geo. H. Gist, 19 pupils; 13, G.W.Sullivan, 45 pupils; 14, 
D. L. McSwiney, 52 pupils ; 15, Laura A. Everhart, 24 pu- 
pils; 16, F. A. Diffenbach, 55 pupils; 17, H. B. Burgeon, 
42 pupils ; 4 (African school), Fannie E. Balls, 58 pupils. 

UNION BRIDGE DISTRICT, No. 12. 
The Twelfth District of Carroll County, generally 
known as Union Bridse, is bounded on the north by 
Middleburg District, on the east by the districts of 
Uniontown and New Windsor, on the south by the 
latter and Frederick County, and on the west by 
Frederick County. It is the youngest district in the 
county, having been created by an act of the General 
Assembly of Maryland, passed Maich 14, 1872, out 
of portions of the territory embraced by the districts 
of Middleburg, New Windsor, and Uniontown. In 
area it is also smaller than the other districts, but it 
is by no means the least important. It is magnifi- 
cently watered by Sam's Creek, which forms the west- 
ern boundiiry line between the district and Frederick 
County, and by Little Pipe Creek, which flows directly 
through the centre of the district from east to west, 
and by a number of smaller streams which are tribu- 
tary to those just mentioned. The soil is exceedingly 
fertile, and the Western Maryland Railroad, within 
easy reach from all parts of the district, furnishes 
ample facilities for the disposal of produce and com- 
munication with trade centres. The population in 
1880 was 1235. It contains within its limits one of 
the largest and most prosperous towns in the county, 
and a large share of the manufacturing establishments 
of this portion of Maryland. The metes and bounds 
of the district, as prescribed by the act of Assembly 
which created it, are as follows : 

"Beginning at Sam's Creek, the boundary line between Carroll 
and Frederiok Counties, and at the point in said Sam's Creek 
where the tail-race from McKinstry's mills empties therein, and 
running thence by a straight line to intersect the middle of the 
public road from McKinstry's mills to Linwood, and at a point 
in said public road opposite the stone house now occupied by 
D. F. Albaugh and brother; thence by and with the centre of 
said public ro:id to the bridge over Little Pipe Creek, near Lin- 
wood, being a corner of Election District No. 2 ; thence through 
said district by a straight line to Reuben Haines' dwelling- 
house, excluding said premises ; thence by a straight line to in- 
tersect the public road from Union Bridge to Union Town, at a 
point in said road opposite the centre of a lane leading off 
therefrom towards the public school-house, being between the 
house and premises of Abraham Harris and the premises of 
Abraham Stoner^ thence by a straight line to the spring at the 
head of Log Cabin Branch, being at a corner of Election Dis- 
trict No. 10 ; thence down Log Cabin Branch to the centre of 
the road leading from Union Town to Middleburg; thence along 



964 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



the middle of said public road towards Middleljurg until opposite 
a lane known as Haines' lane, being now between the lands of 
Abraham Shirk and .Joseph Roop ; thence down said lane to the 
south end thereof; thence by a straight line running by Lewis 
Haines* dwelling-house, and including said premises, to Pipe 
Creek, the boundary line between Carroll and Frederick Coun- 
ties ; thence up said creek and Sam's Creek to the place of begin- 
ning." 

The first survey was that of " Kilfadda," for a large 
tract of land patented in 1729 to John Tredane, and 
afterwards to Allen Farquhar, being then in Prince 
George's County. This land embraces a part of 
" Union Bridge" and the farm of E. J. Penrose. 

E. G. Penrose was born in the township of Wash- 
ington, York Co., Pa., the 10th of the 9th month, 
1817, the second in a family of four children of Jo- 
siah and Rachel (Garretson) Penrose. The family 
in this country spring from two brothers, who emi- 
grated from England with Wm. Penn at his second 
voyage. They settled in Pennsylvania, and have scat- 
tered to different States, mainly Ohio, Illinois, Iowa, 
and Kansas. The only one who settled in Maryland 
is the subject of this sketch. 

Thomas Penrose, his grandfather, born 4th day of 
the 1st month (old style), 1749, married Abigail Cad- 
walader; the latter was born the 18th of the 1st month, ' 
1752. To this worthy couple were born seven chil- i 
dren, — five sons and two daughters, — -viz. : Amos, 
Thomas, William, Hannah, Ann, Josiah, and Cyrus. 

Thomas moved to Illinois, and died there ; William 
lived and died in Bedford County at the homestead ; 
he raised a large family ; Hannah married Jesse Ken- 
worthy, a farmer near Brownsville, Washington Co., I 
Pa. ; she died .there, leaving two daughters ; Ann and 
Cyrus did not marry ; lived and died at the homestead ; 
Amos married and raised a family of eight children, he 
resided at the homestead and died there ; Josiah, father 
of E. G., was born in York County, Pa., 28th of 3d 
month, 1790 ; married Rachel, daughter of John and \ 
Mary Garretson, 18th of 5th month, 1815. Her father ; 
was born 5th of 4th month, 1741 ; his wife, Mary, 
16th of 10th month, 1745. They were married 9th of 
6th month, 1763, at a public meeting of Friends at j 
Huntington. He died 15th of 12th month, 1810; ' 
his wife, 3d of 7th month, 1827. j 

Rachel G. Penrose was born 8th of 12th month, 
1788. When E. G. Penrose was seventeen years of i 
age his father moved with his family to Menallen j 
township, Adams Co., Pa., and settled on a farm; 
both himself and wife died in Adams County, the ' 
latter 25th of 12th month, 1824, the former 7th of 
1st month, 1860. 

Eliakim Garretson Penrose lived at home until he 
was nineteen years of age. His education was limited ' 



to an attendance at a private school. In 1836 he went 
to Baltimore, where he was employed as clerk in the 
grocery-store of Isaiah B. Price, with whom he re- 
mained four years. He then engaged on his own ac- 
count in the meat business on Hillen Street, near the 
Belair Market, and continued in it four years, making 
it a success. 

For the next three years he was engaged in the 
coal trade, in company with James Johnson ; firm, 
Johnson & Penrose. In 1847, in company with Jona- 
than Shoemaker, — firm, Penrose & Co., — he carried 
on a grocery on Pennsylvania Avenue, corner of St. 
Mary Street. At the end of three years the firm was 
dissolved. He then engaged in his own name in the 
grocery and produce business corner of Franklin and 
Eutaw Streets, first renting and subsequently pur- 
chasing the store; remained therefrom 1850 to 1855. 
In the latter year he entered into partnership with 
Thomas Russell, and for three years, under the firm- 
name of Penrose & Russell, carried on a store at 153 
North Howard Street. At the end of that time he 
purchased Russell's interest, and took into partnership 
Wm. A. Simpson, under the firm of E. G. Penrose 
& Co., which partnership continued for twelve years. 
Upon its dissolution he took as partner John Russell, 
brother of former partner, the firm-name continuing 
as before. In 1878, Russell withdrew, and a partner- 
ship, under the firm-name of Penrose, Nelker & Co., 
was formed ; his associates in this partnership are J. 
F. Nelker and A. H. Nelker, which partnership still 
exists, the business being carried on in the old place. 
Prom all his business transactions intoxicating liquors 
have been excluded. 

In politics he has been identified with the Whig 
and Republican parties. He is a member of the So- 
ciety of Friends, and although living in a slave State, 
has always been opposed to slavery. During the late 
war he was a stanch friend of the Union cause. He 
married, 24th of 2d month, 1853, Susan, daughter of 
Abel and Elizabeth (Roberts) Russell. Mrs. Penrose 
was born in Frederick County, Md., 7th of 1st month, 
1828. They have had three children, viz. : Lizzie, 
born 5th of 10th month, 1860, died 25th of 3d month, 
1866 ; William, born 16th of 6th month, 1862 ; now 
engaged with the firm at Baltimore ; Mary, born 22d 
of 1st month, 1869. 

In 1868, Mr. Penrose purchased the well-known 
Shepherd farm, one hundred and eighty-one acres, 
near Union Bridge, Carroll Co, Md., and moved 
there in 1869. LTp to 1879 few men enjoyed better 
health or possessed a more vigorous constitution, and 
none who gave closer application to business. At that 
time he withdrew from active participation in the 





I 



CAUllOLL COUNTY. 



965 



business of his house in Baltimore, letaiiiinsr. however, 
as a uuiiciiil |iaiiiiiT. his interest in the same. 

During the time he has been engaged in busine.«sin 
Baltimore his house has passed successfully through 
three severe panics, which sufficiently attests his pru- 
dence and excellent judgment as a business man. 

Many members of the Society of Friends settled 
in Union Bridge District prior to the war of the Rev- 
olution, and formed a " particular meeting," but the 
society never gained a strong foothold. Some of the 
descendants of the first Friends who settled here are 
yet living in this region. 

Among the early settlers were the Farquhars, 
Wrights, Rineharts, Wolfes, Shepherds, Thomases, 
Husseys, and Benedums. These pioneers were men 
of unusual energy and intelligence, and they gave an 
impetus to this section which it has ever since main- 
tained. Their experiences, some of which will be 
found in the introductory chapter of the history of 
this county, were very interesting. They evidently 
appreciated the natural advantages which the country 
offered, and availed themselves of them without loss 
of time. Mills, factories, and other necessary im- 
provements were speedily erected, and many older 
settlements in Maryland might have profitably imi- 
tated their example. The first nail-factory in the 
State, probably, was established in this district, and 
the first reaping-machine was invented by John B. 
Thomas, in Union Bridge, the machine which Hussey 
used as his model, and from which all others gener- 
ally in use on this side of the Rocky Mountains 
derived their origin. 

The first Farmers' Club in Carroll County of which 
there is any knowledge was formed in 1817, in the 
vicinity of Union Bridge, at that time a portion of 
Frederick County, by Thomas Shepherd, Daniel 
Haines, Ulrich Switzer, Samuel Haines, David Eng- 
lar, Philip Englar, Henry Rial, and Israel Rinehart 
(whose son, Israel C, is still a member of the organ- 
ization). It was a society of producers for their mu- 
tual benefit and protection against the middlemen, and 
was the germ of the organization now known as the 
Patrons of Husbandry, which has recently reached 
out with its Briarean arms and embraced the whole 
United States. The plan of the club, or, as it was 
more generally styled, " the company," was to produce 
a first-rate article and deliver it directly to the con- 
sumer. They made "gilt-edged" butter, and got fancy 
prices for it. A person who did not make a good 
article could not be a member of the club, and they 
established a first-class reputation. 

The club ran a wagon, which conveyed the produce 
to the Baltimore market every week. The members 



took turns in going : the one accompanying the wagon 
furnished a horse his week, and acted as agent for 
the association in selling their produce and buying 
goods for them. At their annual meetings they set- 
tled their financial business, and had no commissions 
to pay to agents at a distance. 

The club is still in existence, and is sending produce 
to Baltimore every week. The excellent character 
established for its members enables them to command 
the highest prices for their produce. 

A second, or Junior Club, was established in or 
about 1853, similar to the older company of 1817. 
It has been in successful operation ever since. 

In 1864 there was an association organized at 
Union Bridge, under the name and title of " The 
Union Bridge Agricultural and Scientific Club." The 
first permanent officers were elected Feb. 20, 1864, as 
follows: President, Granville S. Haines; Recording 
Secretary, Joshua Switzer; Treasurer, Daniel Wolf ; 
Librarian, Thomas W. Russell ; Executive Commit- 
tee, Warrington Gillingham, Solomon Shepherd, and 
Pemberton Wood. The meetings were held on the 
first and third Saturday of every month, at seven 
o'clock P.M. In 1868 there were other features in- 
troduced which materially enhanced the usefulness of 
the society. The club now meets at a member's 
house every month, and half the membership are 
ladies. The farmer's wife is as much a member of 
the club as he himself, with the same fights and priv- 
ileges. 

The first duty after organization is usually to ex- 
amine the farm, buildings, fencing, work, etc , criti- 
cising and answering questions, after which they re- 
turn to the house, where essays are read and questions 
discussed, after which they repair to the table bounti- 
fully supplied with the products of the farm, nicely 
prepared to suit the palate. The company having 
partaken of the feast, select the subject for their next 
meeting, and adjourn to meet again next month at 
the house of some other member. The plan of hold- 
ing circular meetings has been adopted by all the 
wide-awake neighborhoods in the country. 

The town of Union Bridge has a population of 
576, and in both a commercial and social sense is the 
focal point of the district. It was to this spot that 
the early settlers flocked, a hardy, energetic, and re- 
markably intelligent race of people, who have given a 
distinct character to the community. The country in 
the vicinity of the town was very fertile, but in many 
places it was swampy, the woods and undergrowth 
were almost impenetrable, and ravenous wolves, made 
dangerous by hunger, were constantly prowling about 
the clearings to pick up the unguarded produce or the 



966 



HISTORY OF WESTERN iMARYLAND. 



stock, and even to attack the unwary passerby. The 
remarkable fertility of the soil had evidently attracted 
the notice of man long before the settlement of the 
whites. Upon the site of the present town large 
quantities of stone arrows, hatchets, and other im- 
plements referable to the stone age have been picked 
up, as well as numerous skulls and other human bones, 
indicating that sanguinary conflicts had taken place 
for the possession of this favored spot. William 
Farquhar and his wife Ann, with their children, an 
interesting account of whose settlement in the district 
has already been given, were probably the pioneers of 
Union Bridge. They settled upon a tract of land 
given them by Allen Farquhar, upon which much of 
the town now stands. On Aug. 7, 1747, a tract of 
land called " Forest in Need," containing one hun- 
dred and twenty acres, was granted to William Far- 
quhar, in which is included all that part of the town 
south of Elgar Street. That portion of the town 
west of Main Street and north of a line struck from 
the intersection of Elgar Street with Main Street to 
the intersection of Broadway and Canary Streets was 
Moses Farquhar's. All that part south of the above 
line belonged to Samuel Farquhar. The portion east 
of Main Street and north of Elgar Street was Allen 
Farquhar's. The dividing line between the property 
of Samuel and William Farquhar became a road, 
which was subsequently placed on the county, and 
eventually became " Maiu" Street in the town of 
Union Bridge. During the Revolution and for some 
time afterwards the neighborhood was known as the 
" Pipe Creek Settlement," the word Pipe Creek being 
a translation into English of the Indian name 
" Apoochken." The inhabitants at that time were 
mainly Quakers, whose tenets were opposed to war ; 
but their enthusiasm in many cases prevailed over 
their peaceful principles, and they contributed largely 
of their means in aid of the patriot cause, and not a 
few oflScers and soldiers were recruited from their 
number. 

Benjamin Farquhar, a grandson of William, at the 
close of the last century, was the first to make use 
of the abundant water-power of the town by building 
a saw-mill and an oil-mill to utilize the seed of the 
flax which was grown in the neighborhood. This 
was on the site of what is now the Union Bridge 
Hotel, and is the same watir-power used by the 
Western Maryland Railroad Company in operating 
its machine-shops. Peter Benedam, an enterprising 
German from Lancaster County, Pa., came to Union 
Bridge at the beginning of the present century and 
purchased five hundred acres of land, which included 
all of the town site north of Elgar Street and west 



of Main Street, a large portion of which he cleared oflF, 
drained, and brought under cultivation. He appears 
to have been, from all accounts, a thoroughly useful 
man in the community, and gave a healthy impetus to 
farming and other industries. He constructed at his 
own cost an elaborate, costly, and durable footway 
across the creek, which remained as a monument to 
his judgment and skill and proof against the ravages 
of time and floods for more than half a century. 
His residence was the premises now owned by Gran- 
ville S. Haines. Joseph Elgar was the first merchant 
and manufacturer by machinery on the site of the 
town. He also built the first brick house in the town, 
in which Joseph Wilson now lives. The pioneers did 
not pass away without leaving their " footprints on the 
sands of time." A well-paved wagon-road was made 
across the swampy ground northward from the town, 
and a substantial bridge was built across the creek, 
done by the united labor of those who lived on either 
side of the stream. After its completion, while the 
builders were still assembled, it was proposed that the 
bridge be called by some name to distinguish it from 
other similar structures. " Union Bridge" was sug- 
gested, and its peculiar appropriateness secured its 
unanimous adoption. The bridge gave the name to 
both the town and the district. Peter Benedam sold 
out in 1814 and removed to the Valley of Virginia, 
and Jacob Switzer, the father of Joshua Switzer (the 
very able centennial historian of the district, to whom 
the author of this work is indebted for valuable ma- 
terial), purchased one hundred and thirty-eight acres 
of his land, embracing that part of Union Bridge 
west of Main Street and north of Elgar Street. The 
war with Great Britain created a demand for agricul- 
tural products, and Union Bridge and its vicinity en- 
joyed a season of great prosperity. All that part of 
the town west of Main Street was a clover-field, which, 
plowed up and put in a crop of wheat and followed 
with a crop of rye, would produce enough to pay for 
the first cost of the land. At this period the village 
contained but four houses, — one upon the site of 
Hartsock's Hotel, which was taken down to make 
room for the hotel in 1870; one near the site of 
Capt. Isaiah Lightner's- dwelling-house, which was 
removed in 1814, and is now the central part of the 
dwelling-house of William Stultz ; one on the present 
site of William Wilson's store, afterwards for a long 
time used as a shop, and taken away about fifteen 
years ago ; and the brick house built by Joseph 
Elgar. All save the last were built of oak logs, and, 
though not strictly ornamental, were comfortable and 
durable. The brick cabinet-maker's shop, in which 
the fir.st reaper was constructed by Jacob R. Thomas, 




JOS. MOORE. 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



967 



was subsequently converted into a dwelling-house. 
George Cox succeeded Elgar as a merchant, and took 
butter, eggs, and other produce in exchange for goods. 
He started a huckster-wagon and created a local mar- 
ket, and from the quality or quantity of butter sold 
here the town was called " Buttersburg," a name which 
has clung to it and by which it is sometimes known to- 
day. There was no post-oflSce nearer than Taneytown. 
The growing condition of the "settlement" required 
better postal facilities, and in or about the year 1820 a 
post-office, with a weekly mail, was established between 
this point and Frederick City. In the selection of a 
name that might also designate its locality, the name 
of Union Bridge was chosen, after which time the vil- 
lage began to be called " Union Bridge Post-office," and 
then only " Union Bridge," and the name of Butters- 
burg was disused. In 1821, Jacob Switzer removed 
the old oil-milt, and built upon its site a brick four-story 
grist and merchant-mill, forty by forty-two feet, the 
stone basement of which is now the basement of the 
" Union Bridge Hotel." A part of the brick dwel- 
ling-house now the residence of Joseph Wolfe had 
also been built. But very little progress was then 
made in buildings for the two succeeding decades. 
In ] 846, Joseph Moore, having become the owner by 
purchase of all that part of the town site west of 
Main Street, laid out a series of lots along the whole 
length of said street, fronting thereon and running 
about fourteen and a quarter perches, which he after- 
wards sold from time to time, and building then first 
began on the west side of Main Street, the first dwel- 
ling-house being that now owned and inhabited by 
Reuben Sayler. 

Joseph Moore was born in Taneytown District (now 
New Windsor), Frederick Co. (now Carroll), Md., 
Sept. 26, 1802. His grandfather, John Moore, was 
a native of West Cain township, Chester Co., Pa. He 
married Hannah Hollingsworth, of Birmingham town- 
ship, same county, April 13, 1749. Their children 
were David, Joanna, Enoch, John, Jehu, Mary, and 
Abigail. David married and settled and died in Pe- 
tersburg, Va. Enoch and John were neither married ; 
both were soldiers in the war of the Revolution. 
Enoch died at his father's residence, at Union Bridge. : 
John died at his father's residence, near Westminster. , 
Mary married a Mr. Stephenson, moved to Illinois, 
and died there. Soon after his marriage John Moore 
moved to Baltimore, where he carried on milling. 
About the time of the Revolution he moved to West- 
minster, and subsequently purchased a farm about two ; 
miles from that place ; he died there. Jehu Moore, ' 
fourth son of John, and father of Joseph, was born in 
Baltimore, Oct. 8, 1757, married Hannah, daughter of ' 



Joseph and Jane Hibbard, of Pipe Creek, March 23, 
1796. Mrs. Moore was born in Willets township, 
Chester Co., Pa., March 3, 1768. Their children 
were Ann, born Feb. 3, 1801 ; Joseph ; and Mary, 
born Aug. 9, 1804. Ann died June 22, 1822. Mary, 
widow of Isaac Dixon, is a resident of Baltimore. 

Jehu Moore settled in Union Bridge District (then 
Taneytown) in 1794, and engaged for several years in 
merchandising in company with Solomon Shepherd. 
Selling out his interest in the store about 1808, he 
purchased a farm east of the village, which he carried 
on to the time of his death, which occurred Dec. 11, 
1841. His wife lived to the advanced age of ninety- 
six years, and died May 3, 1863. Both are buried in 
the Friends' burying-ground at Pipe Creek. 

Joseph Moore lived on the home-farm from his 
birth to 1865. His education was limited to an at- 
tendance in summers at the common school of his 
neighborhood. In 1837 he purchased of David Swit- 
zer the tract of land known as the " Rich Indian Gar- 
den," consisting of forty-one acres, a portion of which 
he allotted, and upon which all that portion of the 
village of Union Bridge lying west of Main Street 
has been built up. The home-farm, which came into 
his possession by will, he sold in 1865, taking up his 
residence in the village of Union Bridge, where, with 
the exception of two years spent in Baltimore, he has 
since resided. He built his present residence, a fine 
brick mansion, on a site commanding a fine view of 
the village and surrounding country, in 1879 and 
1880. In religion Mr. Moore belongs to the Society 
of Friends ; in politics, first a Whig, then a Repub- 
lican, and took an active interest in securing the con- 
struction of the Western Maryland Railroad, which 
has been the means mainly of building up the village 
of Union Bridge. He married, June 8, 1871, at 
Troy, N. Y., Hannah P., daughter of Elias and Mary 
(Bryant) Lord. Mrs. Moore was born Oct. 3, 1837, 
in Colchester, Chittenden Co., Vt. She received her 
education at Burlington Female Seminary and Mrs. 
Wooster's Ladies' School, Burlington, Vt. They 
have had two children, — -Mary Hannah, born July 3, 
1873, and Archer Joseph, born July 20, 1876, died 
May 23, 1877. 

About this time the railroad which is now called 
the Western Maryland Railroad first began to be 
talked of (previous to which a connection with the 
Baltimore and Ohio Railroad had been supposed to be 
the most feasible after the unsuccessful attempt to 
secure the passage of its main stem through the place), 
but it was not until ten years afterwards, or in 1855- 
56, that work was actually begun on it, and in the 
month of May, 1862, the first passenger-trains came 



968 



HISTORY OF WESTERN MARYLAND. 



to Union Bridge. During this period but little addi- 
tional building had been done in the town, other than 
the brick depot and warehouse built by Moses Shaw 
and David Hiltabidle, and some buildings by the rail- 
road company preparatory to the opening of the road. 
On the completion of the railroad to this point, which 
remained its western terminus for six years, and the 
erection of the .company's machine-shops here, an 
active demand sprang up for dwelling-houses for its 
employ^^s and their families. That part of the town 
nearest and most convenient to the depot and machine- 
shops, being east of Main Street and bounding on 
Elgar Street, could not be obtained either by pur- 
chase or lease for the purpose of building thereon by 
reason of the occupants having a life estate therein. 
On Tuesday, June 30, and Wednesday, July 1, 1863, 
the Second and Fifth Army Corps, forming the central 
column of the Army of the Potomac, passed through 
the town on their march towards Gettysburg, being 
about the only local incident to recall the memories of 
the great civil war, and in this the town did not suffer, 
but rather prospered. In 1864 a telegraph company 
located an oflBce here, which has since been maintained. 
In the same year Moses Shaw and Joseph Moore 
opened that part of the street since known as Broad- 
way Street from Main Street westward, and this gave 
access to the remaining portion of Joseph Moore's 
premises, a great part of which he has since ,sold by 
the acre or fractions of an acre, in such quantities as 
were desired by the purchaser. About the same time 
the first public primary school-hou.se was built. In 
1865 all that part of the town south of Elgar Street 
and east of Main Street which could not heretofore 
be procured was brought into market, and it was laid 
out into lots and sold by the executor at public sale, 
Feb. 3, 1866, and purchased by Jesse Anders, Jasper 
C. Shriner, and Thomas T. Norris, who have from 
time to time sold the lots upon which the dwelling- 
houses are built. The town now made a more decided 
progress in improvement. In 1868 the Methodist 
Episcopal church was built, and also Anders & 
Lightner's store and public hall. On the 3d day of 
December, 1868, at eight o'clock p.m., the machine- 
shop, carpenter-shop, blacksmith-shop, and all the 
other buildings and local improvements (except the 
engine-house) of the Western Maryland Railroad 
Company took fire and were burned. The fire 
originated in the oil-house, and so rapid was the con- 
flagration that the tools of the workmen, the books 
of the railroad company, and all the finished and un- 
finished work, including a new locomotive engine in 
process of construction, therein were destroyed and 
lost, but by extraordinary labor and vigilance all 



other contiguous buildings in the town were saved. 
This was the first experience of a loss by fire in the 
town, and was severely felt by the railroad company, 
then in its infancy, and was also felt as a public local 
calamity by the inhabitants of the town and vicinity, 
the mutual character of which being manifested by 
the local and substantial pecuniary aid contributed 
and the energy and enterprise of the railroad com- 
pany, which being combined, all of the said shops and 
other buildings were forthwith rebuilt in a better and 
more substantial manner. In the same year the rail- 
road began to run its trains westward from Union 
Bridge, and about that time much of the building 
on Benedam and Farquhar Streets was done. A 
" Building Association" was formed, by the aid of 
which twelve of the dwelling-houses in the town were 
erected. 

An act of the General Assembly of Maryland passed 
in 1872, to incorporate the town of Union Bridge, in 
Carroll County. An election was held on the first 
Monday in April ensuing for a mayor and Common 
Council, and Reuben Saylor was elected the first mayor 
of the town, and John Hartsock, Philip B. Mej'ers, 
Joseph Wolf, and J. Calvin Wentz were the first 
elected councilmen, and John B. Eppley was its first 
bailiff, and Joshua Switzer its first clerk, and also 
treasurer ; and what had been prior to that time a 
" settlement," a " burg," and a " village," at once rose 
to the dignity of a town, clothed with a municipal 
government. 

At a session of the mayor and Common Council, 
held March 31, 1874, the same mayor and Council 
mentioned above, except that John M. Furney had 
been chosen in place of Joseph Wolf (who declined 
to serve), the following preamble and resolution were 



*' W/terens, The streets in the town of Union Bridge have 
heretofore had no legal name, and some of the said streets have 
been called by different names, causing much ambiguity and 
misunderstanding in their location and description, 

•' Therefore Resolved. That the principal thoroughfare 
through the said town, being the Liberty and Pipe Creek turn- 
pike road, be called Main Street ; and that the street next 
westward thereof and running parallel therewith from the 
county road No. 80, at the southwest corner of the school-house 
grounds, past the premises of William H. Rinehart (the Ameri- 
can sculptor) and Thomas Russell, Philip B. Meyers, and others, 
be called Whyte Street ; and that the street next eastward from 
Main Street, and running nearly parallel therewith from the 
ground for the track of the Western Maryland Railroad, past 
the premises of G. T. Grumbine, Margaret Spurrier. Joshua 
Switzer. and others, to intersect the said county road No. 80 
(the southern boundary of the town), be called Benedam Street; 
and that the street near the eastern boundary of the said town, 
and running parallel with the said eastern boundary from the 
ground for the track of the Western Maryland Railrcad. along 
past the premises of Capt. Isaiah Lightner, J. Calvin Wentz, 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



969 



Edward Kelly, and others, to intersect the said county road 

No. 80, be called Farquhar Street ; and that the street running 
from Main Street eastward at the corners of the premises of 
.John W. Diehl and Howard D. Hartsoek, crossing Benedaai 
Street at the corner of G. T. Grumbine and others, and crossing 
Farquhar Street at the corner of J. Calvin Wentz, Isaiah 
Lightner. and others, to the eastern boundary of the town, be 
called Elgar Street; and that the wide street crossing Main 
Street at the residence and stores of Jesse Anders, Anders & 
Lightner, William Wilson, and John N. Weaver, and running 
through the town from east to west, be called Broadway; and 
that the street next southward from Broadway Street, and run- 
ning parallel therewith from Main Street at the corner of the 
premises of Jesse Anders and E. 0. Mannakee (now M. C. Kin- 
stry), and crossing Benedam Street to Farquhar Street, be 
called Thomas Street ; and that the short street next wcstwjird 
from Whyte. and running parallel therewith and connecting the 
west end of Broadway Street with the afores.aid couuty ro:id 
No. SO, as the same is marked and laid down on the plat, but 
not yet opened, be called Canary Street. And that the clerk 
be and he is hereby directed and authorized to write, mark, and 
designate the names of the said streets on the plat of the said 
town, and also cause the same to be written on the records of 
the said plat in the office of the clerk of the Circuit Court for 
Carroll County, in Liber J. B. B.. No. 42, folio 241 ; and" the 
aforesaid names shall be the established names by which the 
aforesaid streets shall be respectively known, called, and de- 
scribed ; and the clerk is hereby directed and ordered to enter 
upon the records of the proceedings of the mayor and Council a 
brief synopsis of the meaning of the said names, or the reasons 
why the said local names were given or chosen and applied to 
the streets of the said town." 

All of which has been duly done, and the general 
answer is, because they are historic and intended to 
perpetuate the local history of the town. " Main" 
Street, because it is the oldest, and is the principal 
traveled thoroughfare through the town ; " Broad- 
way," fifty feet wide, although not wider than Bene- 
dam and Whyte Streets, because it was the first wide 
street opened through the town ; " Farquhar," " Bene- 
dam," " Elgar," and " Thomas," for the obvious 
reasons given in the preceding pages; " Whyte," so 
called for the Hon. William Pinkney Whyte, who was 
Governor of the State, and who approved of and 
signed the charter at the time of the incorporation of 
the town, whilst His Excellency vetoed all other town 
charters except one passed by the General Assembly 
of Maryland at the same session ; " Canary," so called 
for the first railroad locomotive that came into the 
town of Union Bridge. It was a small engine with 
only two driving-wheels, but did all the work in the 
construction of the railroad to this place. It was 
called the " Canary" because of its diminutive size 
and its restless and constant activity ; and while the 
town of Union Bridge is largely indebted to the rail- 
road for her growth and prosperity, the railroad is also 
indebted to the town and country immediately sur- 
rounding it for the very large and liberal stock sub- 
scriptions which were made and paid up, thus making 



the construction of the road at that time a possi- 
bility. 

In 1875 a separate passenger-house and depot was 
built by the railroad company, the town contributing 
$100 as a corporation, and private individuals $.500 
additional. In the same year another produce atid 
freight depot was built by William Zimmerman and 
H. D. Hartsoek, on the west side of Main Street. 

In September, 1875, Messrs. Nock & Snyder in- 
troduced a printing-press and materials, and beyan 
the publication of the first newspaper in the town, 
called the People's Voiee, which supplied a very im- 
portant link in the chain connecting the town with 
the more advanced civilization of the age. On the 
4th of July, 187G, the centennial year of independ- 
ence was celebrated with imposing ceremonies in the 
town of Union Bridge. Hon. Joshua Switzer de- 
livered an address which embodied the history of the 
town. It was admirably prepared, replete with valu- 
ble information, much of which has been utilized by 
the author of this history, and exceedingly inter- 
esting. 

In April, 1875, John Hartsoek was elected mayor, 
and John W. Furney, J. C. Wentz, P. B. Meyers, 
and Jesse Anders, members of the Council ; J. Switzer, 
secretary and treasurer. In 1876, D. Rinehart was 
elected mayor, and M. C. McKinstry, Jesse Anders, 
P. B. Meyers, and Peter Hollenberger were chosen 
members of the Common Council ; J. Switzer, secre- 
tary ; John Hartsoek, treasurer. In 1877, John 
Hartsoek was elected mayor, and Moses Shaw, Jos. 
Wilson, D. R. Fogle, and William Kelley, councilmen ; 
and John B. Eppley, secretary and treasurer. In 
1878, John Hartsoek was elected mayor, and Moses 
Shaw, Joseph Wilson, William Kelley, and D. R. 
Fogle, common councilmen ; John B. Eppley. secretary 
and treasurer. In 1879, John Hartsoek was elected 
mayor, and Moses Shaw, Jesse Anders, William 
Kelley and John N. Weaver, Common Council ; Jcjhn 
B. Eppley, secretary and treasurer. In 1880, John 
Hartsoek was elected mayor, and Moses Sliaw, Jes.se 
Anders, D. Rinehart, and J. C. Wentz to the Com- 
mon Council ; John B. Eppley, secretary and treasurer. 
In April, 1880, a new act of incorporation was granted 
by the Legislature, to take efi'ect June 1, 1880, when 
under its provisions John N. Weaver was elected a 
member of the Common Council, making five in that 
body. In 1881, D. Rinehart was elected mayor, and 
Jesse Anders, P. B. Meyers, J. C. Wentz, and E. 0. 
Mannakee were chosen as the Common Council ; John 
B. Eppley, secretary and treasurer. Jesse Anders and 
P. B. Meyers refused to qualify, and a new election 
was called, resulting in the selection of C. F. Reck, 



970 



HISTORY OP WESTERN MARYLAND. 



Thomas Grumbine, and E. W. Leeds, who compose 
the present Council. 

Strawbridge Methodist Episcopal Church was formed 
under the supervision of Rev. Thomas Slicer. A few 
years prior to 1868 they held their services in the 
public school-house until the erection of their churcji, 
which occurred in 1868. The church was named in 
honor of Robert Strawbridge, one of the pioneer 
Methodists of the county, and is a very neat frame 
structure, capable of holding about four or five hun- 
dred people. Rev. Thomas Slicer was succeeded by 
Rev. Montgomery, who was followed by Rev. William 
Ferguson in the year 1870. Mr. Ferguson occupied 
the pulpit only for one year, when the Rev. C. D. 
Smith was chosen as pastor. He remained in charge 
of the congregation until 1872, when he was suc- 
ceeded by Rev. Reuben Kolb, whose pastorate expired 
in 1874. Rev. Edwin Koontz was the next pastor, 
and served in that position for three years, and was 
succeeded by Rev. J. J. Sargent until 1881, when 
their present pastor, the Rev. Wright, took charge. 

The present trustees of the church are Edward 
Kelly, A. L. Beard, Joseph F. Snavely, E. Ingleman, 
Jesse T. Cleary, David Ogle, Dr. J. McK. Norris. 

Steward, P]din Ingleman ; Leader of Class and 
Exhorter, Jos. F. Snavely. 

The church numbers about thirty-eight members, 
and it formerly belonged to the New Windsor charge, 
but is now in the Linganore Circuit. A very pros- 
perous Sunday-school, numbering about one hundred 
and sixty members, is under the control of the church. 

Through the united efforts of Capt. Isaiah Light- 
ner and James M. HoUenberger, a dispensation was 
granted to Plymouth Lodge, No. 143, A. F. A. M., 
on Jan. 12, 1869. On that date an organization was 
effected, the lodge working under the charge of A. T. 
Geatty, W. M. ; Isaiah Lightner, S. W. ; John J. 
Derr, J. W. ; and D. E. Bucky, S. D. pro tern. ; 
A. L. Beard, J. D. pro tern. ; J. M. HoUenberger, 
Sec. pro (em. ; J. T. Hedrick, Treas. pro tern. ; John 
M. Furney, Tyler. 

At a meeting held Feb. 12, 1869, the first applica- 
tion for membership was received, the applicant being 
Ephraim B. Repp. 

February lOih, E. B. Repp was received in the 
lodge and initiated at this meeting. 

March 23d, E. B. Repp was raised to the degree 
of Master Mason. 

On May 10th the charter was granted, empowering 
Isaiah Lightner, W. M. ; J. M. HoUenberger, S. W. ; 
John J. Derr, J. W. D. E. Buckey was elected sec- 
retary, and J. T. Hedrick, treasurer. These ofiScers 
were publicly installed June 30, 1869, by Brother 



William H. Moore, of George Washington Lodge, 
Westminster. 

The oflBcers from December, 1S69, to July, 1S70, were Isaiah 
LightDcr, W. M. ; John J. Derr, S. W. ; A. L. Beard, J. W.; 

D. E. Buckey, Sec. ; Abraham Stoner, Treas. During this term 
Mr. Buekey removed from tlie (own. and A. T. Geatty was ap- 
pointed to fill the vacancy. From July (o December, 1S70, the 
officers were Isaiah Lightner, W. M. ; Johu J. Derr, S. W.j 
John M. Furney, J. W.; A. Stoner, Treas. ; A. Geatty, Sec. 
From December, 1S70, to July, 1S71, Isaac Lightner, W. M.; 

E. 0. Mannakee, S. W.j J. M. Furney, J. W. ; A. Stoner, Sec; 
John D. Myers, Treas. From July to December, 1S71, the offi- 
cers were Lsaiah Lightner, W. M. ; E. 0. Mannakee, S. W.; 

C. Kimball, J. W. ; A. Stoner, Treas. ; J. M. HoUenberger, See. 
The officers from December, 1S71, to July, 1872, E. 0. Mannakee, 
W. M.; J. M. Furney, S. W. ; J. D. Myers, S. W. ; J. M. Hol- 
lenberger, Sec. From July to December, 1872, Isaiah Lightner, 
W. M. ; E. 0. Mannakee, S. W. ; J. M. Furney, J. W.; A. 
Stoner, Treas.; A. T. Geatty, Sec. From December, 1872, to 
July, 1873, J. M. Furney, W. M. ; J. M. UolKiibcrger, S. W.; 
L. W. Partridge, J. W. ; A. T. Geatty, Sec. ; E. 0. Mannakee, 
Treas. From July to December, 1873, the officers of tht-- lodge 
were J. M. HoUenberger, W. M. ; J. D. Meyers, S. W. ; Isaiah 
Lightner, Sec.: L. W. Partridge, J. W. ; and E. 0. Mannakee, 
Treas. From December, 1873, to July, 1874, the officers were J. 

D. Meyers, W. M. ; L. W. Partridge, S. W. ; Wm. J. Crabbs, J. 
AV. ; A. L. Beard, Sec. ; E. 0. Mannakee, Treas. From July to 
December, 1S74, John M. Furney, W. M.; A. L. Beard, S. W. ; 
George W. Love, J. W, ; J. M. HoUenberger, Sec; John D. 
Meyers, Tre:is. From December, 1874, to July, lS7o, J. M. 
Furney, W. M.; A. L. Beard, S. W. ; Wm. J. Crabbs, J. W.; 
J. M. HoUenberger, Sec; J. D. Meyers, Treas. From July to 
December, 1875, J. M. Furney, W. M. ; J. D. Meyers, S. W. ; 
W. J. Crabbs, J. W.; J, M. HoUenberger, Sec; A. L. Beard, 
Treas. From December, 187o, to July, 1876, the officers were 
J. M. Furney, \V. M. ; J. D. Meyers, S. W. ; W. J. Crabbs, J. W. ; 
J. M. HoUenberger, Sec; A. L. Beard, Treas. From July to 
December, lS7fi, J. D. Meyers, W. M.; W. J. Crabbs, S. W.; A. 
L. Beard, J. AV. ; J. M. HoUenberger, Sec; J. M. Furney, 
Treas. From December, 187G, to July, 1877, J. D. Meyers, W. 
M.; Wm. J. Crabbs, S. AV. ; W. T. Penrose, J. AV. ; J. M. Hol- 
lenberger, Sec; J. M. Furney, Treas. From July to Decem- 
ber, 1877, the officers were J, D. Meyers, AV. M.; A. T. Beard, 
S. AV. ; AVm. J. Crabbs, J. AV. ; J. M. HoUenberger, Sec. ; J. M. 
Furney, Treas. From December, 1877, to July, 1878, J. D. 
Meyers, AV. M. : Oscar Stiner, S. AV. ; Granville Crousc, J. AV.; 
J. M. HoUenberger, Sec ; J. M. Furney, Treas. From July to 
December, 1S78, they were J. D. Meyers, AV. M. ; Oscar Stiuer, 
S. AV. ; G. Crouse, J. AV. ; J. M. HoUenberger, Sec. ; J. M. Fur- 
ney, Treas. From December, 1879, to July, 1880, the officers 
were J. M. HoUenberger, AV. M. ; G. W. Love, S. AV.; Henry 
Crook, J. W. ; M. C. Stoner, Treas. ; J. M. Furney, See. 

The lodge holds its meetings in the Mechanics' Hall, 
and their members in good standing number sixteen. 
The present ofEcers, for 1881, are John D. Meyers, 
W. M. ; Harry Crook, S. W. ; George W. Love, J. W. ; 
John M. HoUenberger, Sec. ; E. O. Mannakee, Treas. 

Olive Council, No. 50, of United American Me- 
chanics, was organized and received their charter on 
March 31, 1875. 

The charter was issued to W. H. Alorningstar, John M. Fur- 
ney, H. Clay Devilbiss, J. M. HoUenberger, J. H. Hooker, J. 



CARROLL COUNTY. 



971 



C. Wentz, P. B. Meyers, David 6. Ogle, Clinton Mnjnard, 
Theodore Clay, Wm. Kelly, Basil Metj, John Dclaplane, Eli 
Hillbidlc, John D. Meyers. Edward Kelley, L. L. Wiler, James 
W. Ogle, S. J. Garber. 

Their first ofl&cers were elected in July and served 
to December, 1875, and were : 

Jr. Ex C, P. B. Meyers; C, W. H. Morningstar; V. C, Eli 
Ililtbidle ; R. S., H. Clay Devilbiss ; Treas., J. C. Wentz. From 
December, 1875, to July, 1876, Jr. E.x C, W. H. Morningstar; 
C, R. C. Billmeyer : V. C, E. H. Hooker ; R. S., H. Clay Devil- 
biss; Treas., J. C. Wentz. From 1S7G to 1877, Jr. E.\ C, R. C. 
Billmeyer; C, E. H. Hooker; V. C, Basil Mentz; R. S., H. C. 
Devilbiss. January, 1877, to July, Jr. E.x C, E. H. Hooker; 
C, Basil Mentz ; V. C, D. E. Little ; R. S., J. M. Hollcnberger. 
July, 1877, to January, 187S, Jr. E.\ C, Basil Mctz ; C, D. E. 
Little ; V. C, M. C. Stoner ; R. S., J. M. Hollcnberger. From 
January to July, 1878, Jr. Ex C, D. E. Liltlc ; C,